Report Review
20 Reviews


ludagad
I see a lot of positive reviews, so apparently people like this. Here's a counter opinion to give some variety: This novel caters to a niche fantasy, so if it's not your thing, you better find something else to read. To me, this wasn't a romance but a nightmare. I only felt irritated as I was reading it, especially since it was presented as a humorous romance, when it's more like Stockholm "romance". I'm not going to give a rating, since I can't be objective about this.

Some spoilery details to... more>> give you an idea:

Spoiler

    • The male lead kidnapped the main character, who already had a man she loved and didn't want anything to do with the ML.
    • The ML has a temper, so after some repeated escape attempts by the MC, he rapes her. They're not married, so there's not even that flimsy and entirely misguided excuse that his wife is obligated to have s*x with him. They have no actual binding relationship to speak of. He just keeps her at his house.
    • The MC's fake friend is giving her "bad advice" and setting her up to get caught in order to make the ML mad and drop the MC, so fake friend can slide in and marry ML (flawless logic).
    • The ML gets mad and in return takes away MC's freedom, rapes and abuses her, confines her at his home, making her more like a pet than a human.
    • In her second chance, MC wakes up after the first (?) rape, so the deed is done. The ML is irredeemable to me at this point. The MC then promptly decides to stop listening to the fake friend and to treat ML better so she can have some freedom (like going to college). She blames fake friend for her suffering, even though the actual suffering was personally caused by the male lead. I guess she needs to misplace the blame somewhere, in order to accept the ML as her lover.
    • The MC decides to treat the ML nicely and tries to convince him to take this slow with the promise they'll end up as lovers. At this point I can't tell if she's serious. She does seem to be warming up to him.
    • The MC was convinced by fake friend to wear heavy make-up and fake tattoos on her face to make herself look ugly and unappealing. The ML still raped her and doesn't seem to mind her appearance (which makes him the only non-judgmental person in this novel, wow).
    • Everyone around the ML - friends, subordinates, home staff - seem to despise the MC for two reasons - one, she's too ugly to deserve any sympathy, respect, decency or trust; and two, because she used to always throw tantrums and try to escape (gee, I wonder why she'd do that).

So, we got a criminal male lead, a helpless MC who might fall for him, unlikable judgemental idiots as side characters, and a plot that twists all its issues around and presents itself as a romcom. It's fine if you enjoy the novel, but you gotta be blind not to see it for what it really is. One reason I can think of for myself to keep reading is to see whether there'll be some justice served eventually. To all the characters blindly supporting a rapist kidnapper, to the ML who needs jail time, to the MC who needs to get her life back and find a decent lover.

Oh, right. Forgot to mention the ML is super gorgeous, rich, and influential. So I guess that makes everything alright then, heh.

[collapse]
<<less
139 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
I'd honestly give this novel a 3, but seeing how many 1's it has, I decided against it. It's not a stellar novel, but I'm getting sick of seeing the hypocritical hatred towards this type of novels. That aside, the story is both exciting and annoying, and here's why:

... more>>
Spoiler

The romance is the exciting part and it tends to get rather hot. The author is not too shy, let me tell you.

I've only read around 800 chapters in, so my opinion is based on that.

Spoiler

As far as I've read, they don't do the deed, so it's not up to a R18 rating. And the descriptions are somewhat vague, but give you a good idea of what is going on, heh. I'd go with R16.

[collapse]

So, it's worth it if you're reading this for the love story between the leads and you enjoy the push and pull game. Oh, and there's good quality drama too. It sure kept me entertained for a good while.

Now the annoying part. Without giving out spoilers, it's all the misunderstandings that get dragged on and on and on. That is still acceptable though, it can be entertaining on its own. People with more patience than me would be able to get over it.
My main gripe is how often the author changes her (well, I'm 99% certain it's a female author) mind and throws in twists out of thin air just to change the direction of the plot. I wouldn't say it's done to a ridiculous level, I've seen worse. It still annoyed me. To give one example:

Spoiler

The emperor bestows marriage on ML and MC. Out of nowhere later on, some character reveals that ML already had a fiance that disappeared somewhere that he also forgot about. Also later on, the emperor changes his mind and now thinks the MC is not suitable for ML and wants to break the marriage. And so on and so forth. It gets annoying. All the reasons the author comes up with to smooth it over seem too thin. There are plenty other examples to a lesser degree than this. Most often it's characters' reactions, motives and changeable IQ to suit the plot progression.

[collapse]

Also, personal opinion here, I don't like the main leads. The MC is my type in the sense that she's smart and can take care of herself.

But she disregards innocent lives. Same for the ML, though he's a lot worse than her.

Spoiler

He had 7 previous wives that he ordered to be killed on the same night they got married. What did they do, except for threatening his 'purity'. Gosh, I hated him the moment I reached that part in the novel.

[collapse]

It's like only the two of them matter in the world, and the rest can go die a dog's death. You better be their personal friend in this world, because you don't need to be their enemy to die. As long as you find yourself it the wrong place at the wrong time.

Putting aside the typical cold, overbearing, jealous and doting ML, the MC has a strong flavor of Mary Sue. It's like the author couldn't decide what to make her good at. She's a genius doctor, but she's also a killer and an expert in poisons, but she's also a CEO at a company (maybe the assassin's guild?) and also got a doctorate at MIT in Math when she was 17. Make of this as you will, I only find it rather chaotic.

Spoiler

She can also assemble an erhu and play decently well, one of her many talents I assume.

[collapse]

All things combined, it's a 3 star for me. And I'm generous because I like romance and grade those higher when the main couple is loving and the ML is not abusive. Despite the annoying twists, I would've given this a 4 if I found the main characters decent as well. As it is now, I only feel like I'm reading about the crazy love story of two insane murderers. Not to be too negative about it, it has its merit. And it is entertainment. I would recommend this read when you're in the mood for a hot romance, lots of twists and turns, face slapping, retarded villains with selective amnesia, misunderstandings that spice things up, and you don't feel like looking into things too deeply. It is somewhat addictive, too.

[collapse]
<<less
46 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
The Fierce Illegitimate Miss
July 17, 2017
Status: c1
I read further into the raws, but I'm not going to spoil. I just want to say, I got the impression that the author read one too many revenge novels with female leads who have to speak their way out of trouble and trap their enemies with their wit, to the point that she (assuming it's a female author) got sick and tired and decided to vent her feelings in this novel...

It's highly unrealistic that a weak-bodied girl would be able to beat up people with martial training, it's even... more>> more unlikely that she won't be jailed, but just let go to run rampant. But I didn't read the novel expecting realism. To me, it's a pure venting tool. An example of 'What if...': what if things could be solved swiftly with a few fists, instead of dragging on and on in a fight of who's more eloquent. What if the lady simply beat up her enemies and lived with a light heart. Wouldn't it feel nice? I've had similar such thoughts when reading other novels, leading me to daydream about a violent badass heroine. That's why I was so satisfied with this novel. <<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
I've finished three arcs of this novel. I like the fact that they're not longer than 30 chapters each (so far). It's just enough to enjoy each story without dragging.

The translation reads smoothly, though it's sometimes obvious that it's an MTL when I see certain word choices. The translator has yet to earn the MTL's black belt. In any case, I think readers mostly won't be confused reading the translation, so it's safe to proceed. It didn't bother me (as a proud black belt wearer) since I went and MTL'ed... more>> further into the novel anyway.

The first two arcs are pretty similar, leading me to think each arc was going to follow a similar formula, but the third arc proved me wrong, so points for that.

The female lead is a bit of blank slate. I can't catch her character yet. She adapts to the host's original character, but very little is shown about her inner world, at least to me. She's more reactionary. She makes mistakes sometimes, though they further the plot, so I excuse that as the author's necessity. But still, she's not annoying to read about even with my picky standards. She's not stupid or naive or innocent, but more calm and reserved.

The male lead (s) is the doting type who chases his wife. The romance develops quickly, but it's also satisfying in its progression. There are some hints here and there as to why, but I'm not going to write my guess here and possibly spoil this for anyone.

I'm currently enjoying the novel, it's easy to read and entertaining. Hopefully, things won't derail later on. For the first three arcs, it held my attention quite well, so I'd rec this for people who like QT (quick transmigration). <<less
35 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
The Path of the Cannon Fodder’s Counterattack
March 17, 2017
Status: c71
I'm so grateful to translators who pick up some good BL titles to introduce to us.

The story is entertaining and keeps your interest. The MC is not exactly the type I like (ruthless, cold-blooded, and expressionless), but he's also not the type I dislike (stupid, victim-complex). He's cute and quick to fold to power (a certain emperor), but he's also smart and has his priorities straight. I think most readers will like him.

The plot is mostly easy-going, without excessive drama. It will put you in a good mood.
30 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
Need to Propose to Seven Men What to Do!
April 26, 2018
Status: c179
It's been a while since I've read this, but I still remember it, which is proof enough that it's worth a read if you're into BL. What I liked most was the MC. He is exactly the type of MC I go for - smart (scheming master), cool-headed, detached but not emotionless. He's also petty, which was a plus for me. Since he's a writer, he's a pro at spinning dog-blood drama and made me cry a few times, even though I knew it was all the MC's scheme and... more>> I had the system's cute antics to cheer me up.

For those who want to know about the male lead and whether this is a harem:
Spoiler

It's a 1v1. It's part of the reveal at the end of the novel, so no further spoilers, go read. Just be assured that it's not a harem situation exactly, though it certainly gives that feeling while reading. It's a bit of both, I guess. Personally, I was happy with it.

[collapse]
<<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad
The Captivating Crown Prince
January 5, 2017
Status: c7
Since I've read further in the raws, I'll try to give you an idea about this novel.

First of all, it's a reverse harem in the truest sense. I liked the guys and the character interactions, and it's nice to see a female equivalent of a somewhat typical harem story. I personally found it satisfying, especially after reading heaps of harem stories with male MC's... This one can let girls experience what male readers usually do.

The plot itself is about struggling for the Imperial throne, but I felt it got a... more>> bit weak after a hundred chapters. Hmm, the best way to explain it is, I felt like the plot is there for the sake of the romance. So don't expect a thriller. I enjoyed it for what it is.

The main character is exactly my type. Cold and ruthless, the type no one dares to bully. The male leads are also to my liking and I can differentiate between them, which has to count for something in this genre.

Overall, I loved the novel. If what you read above got your interest, then maybe you'll like it too. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
The Script is Not Like This!
January 24, 2019
Status: --
Okay, I've only read chapter 1 and gave this 5 stars. Why?

One, it's well written. You can feel the sarcasm through the words. The narrator/author sounds so fed up with the scum top/trash bottom genre (similarly for the boy-girl novels - the abusive CEO and poor victim do-M female lead). Much like the author, I'm also fed up with such novels. Their unreasonableness gets on my nerves and I derive no enjoyment from them, merely wondering what's their merit and why they keep getting written.

Two, the main character seems to... more>> be my type - cynical, has enough self-love, reasonable. I'm looking forward to what other traits I'll see from him in the future chapters. The author said there's a pairing, so I'm also looking forward to the male lead and his character. Having a cool-headed MC thrown into an unreasonable setting makes me anticipate how the plot will develop and the MC's quips.

Three, the author promised smut? Sign me right up. It's a nice little bonus to an already intriguing novel.

Four, the premise, the writing, and the pace managed to hook me in with only one chapter, which is always a great sign to me. Anyway, BL lovers, give this a try. I'm off to MTL it now. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
Isekai De Rippa Na Inu Ni Naru Houhou
March 16, 2017
Status: c38
It's a cute story with a cute protagonist, and a bit of a twist regarding how he ended up as a dog. There's not much smut, most of the story is pretty safe to read. Maybe I'm too used to hardcore stuff, but I'd categorize this as shonen ai rather than yaoi. It's a sweet and fluffy, enjoyable read that would satisfy most BL fans.
Spoiler

Also, the MC doesn't always stay in the dog body, but I'm not gonna spoil this further. Go read it :9

[collapse]
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
The Good for Nothing Seventh Young Lady
July 11, 2016
Status: c380
This review is based on my reading a bit further in the raws.

The chapters are short, I'd rather call them parts rather than chapters. The action also takes a while to build up. However, it's worth reading on. The story gets progressively more interesting, especially when the MC starts going to school. It's non-stop adventure, competitions and power ups. And also making powerful allies.

300+ chapters in, and there's no romance or crushing on the boys, which I can appreciate. I have no doubt there will be mushy stuff at some... more>> point, but I like that it takes its time. The story is really more adventure oriented. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
Chongfei Manual
June 18, 2016
Status: c80
Light-hearted story with fun kids doing funny stuff most of the time. There's a time skip later on, when the story turns more into the romance genre.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
Can't believe I forgot to rate and review this! I fell in love with the novel from chapter 1 and then I had to keep reading the raws and I couldn't stop. Simply because of this, it's a 5 star for me. I know I'm not being very objective. Who is anyway?

The MC, while I wouldn't call her vicious, is very meticulous and plans ahead. She doesn't let anyone push her around or bully her. She's had enough of that her previous life, so this life she retaliates when someone... more>> tries to step on her neck. I like that she's cold and smart, that's basically the type I go for in a female lead. Her revenges can get hard to stomach though, and I think it's because we're presented the revenge parts from the point of view of the antagonists. A lot of times I felt it was too suffocating and even found them pitiful. But a lot of times they push against her bottom line so hard that they deserve what they get back. So I don't really pity them, but I wish the revenge wasn't spread over several chapters with so much detail. I'd be fine if I just knew the end result. That's merely my personal opinion on it though, I'm certain others may enjoy it better. (Strangely enough, I can enjoy horrors and slasher flicks just fine, so I have no idea why I felt so squeamish here...) If you're faint-hearted, take this as your warning.

The romance is not too prominent in this novel. It really concentrates more on the MC's growth, development, and revenge. Though the ML does appear from time to time and he's absolutely as dreamy as you'd expect. The MC's love life is only the spice in this novel, not the main dish, so keep that in mind. I found it highly entertaining and interesting regardless, and I'm mostly interested in romance stories. It's a very addictive read. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
The Cry of the Phoenix Which Reached the Ninth Heaven
January 22, 2017
Status: c14
This is a wonderful revenge themed novel. The author is bold and managed to surprise me, which got my admiration. I liked that the MC sacrificed a few things in order to place herself in the perfect position to scheme against her enemies. It perfectly shows that you can't get what you want unless you commit, and she does so resolutely. I really was in awe when the story reached that part, because I never imagined that it would go there. I can really sing praises for this MC all... more>> day long. She's smart, determined, kind of an S. Exactly my type of heroine. The male lead is adorable, and I love their interactions, and the way the MC teases him. It only gets better with each chapter. I had to read the raws further on, because the story grabbed me so much. Highly enjoyable read. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
Rebirth of Chen An
January 13, 2017
Status: c14
I've read the raws, so I can say this: It's a very entertaining read! It had some weak points, sure, but it was enjoyable nonetheless. We have two yandere male leads, one overbearing comedian (think Charles from True Star), and one normal dude who's there to balance things out. They're all so cute, I can't put into words. And I'm weak to yandere boys. The MC is cool-headed and heartless, but changes as a person throughout the story, which I find refreshing. BL fans won't be bored reading this. I... more>> know I spent a couple of days marathon reading this novel without minding my food and sleep. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
Xian Wang Dotes On Wife
March 26, 2017
Status: c26
I am very satisfied by this novel. We have a kuudere MC (my favorite), who's a crafty little fox. The ML treats her with respect, decency, and gentleness. The romance is exactly what I want to read about. I'm also excited for the future palace intrigues, because the MC has such refreshing ways of dealing with schemes. Altogether, this novel hits the bullseye for me.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
I Am A Matchmaker on Taobao
May 8, 2019
Status: c1
I've read up until chapter 102 (untranslated), so I decided to write a review at this point.

It's a very sweet and satisfying story. It won't burden your emotions, I'd say it's very positive and light and will leave you feeling happy. The author has an excellent way of describing the feeling of being in love. I'm certain it comes from experience, because it managed to bring me flashbacks :) and it made me believe the sincerity of the characters.

Furthermore, there is enough tension in the story so it won't be... more>> boring and too smooth sailing. There are villains and there are friends, and they mostly appear like real people (not one dimensional cliches). I'm always happy when the female lead makes a female friend in a story. It's tiresome when any new female role is designated as the MC's rival or enemy, haha. I'm sure most readers are familiar with such novels. Speaking of breaking that particular trope, the author broke a few more annoying tropes here, which left me pleasantly surprised. It's like she read enough "Overbearing CEO Romance" novels and decided to write one with more reason, better characters, and more realistic behaviors and decisions. Personally, it's a major plus that the novel also has a supernatural element (the marriage system of the heroine), since I would've been bored with a straight up modern romance.

A bit about the characters. The MC is smart, but not OP and overly talented in everything. She's like a normal human being with feelings and fears. I found her very relatable. She's reasonable and doesn't cause unnecessary drama - she has believable and has normal reactions. She also has her pride and doesn't let others trample over her. In any case, I was very satisfied with her character. She's simply not a victim, not easy to bully.

The male lead is very refreshing. Like he's the typical cold CEO type, but when you look again, his upbringing is really good. Basically a decent human being. He's thoughtful, considerate, a little awkward. Most importantly, he's not pushy or rapey. I was really impressed with him somewhat early in the story because of his sense of responsibility and not turning away from people who are in need of help. He's not the arrogant cold type who ignores everyone like they're beneath his notice. You can actually see why people would respect him, trust him, and like him.

The story itself is a mix be of entertainment business, CEO romance, and marriage divination over the internet. I found it interesting enough to keep wanting to read the next chapter without getting tired (even losing some sleep). The romance is extremely satisfying. Trust me that you won't be disappointed at any point. Not to give out spoilers, but the author really avoids some annoying cliches, and I applaud her for it.

I'd recommend this to readers who love reading romance novels. And especially to readers who are tired of the typical CEO romance novels. This one will really leave you refreshed. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
Epiphanies of Rebirth
April 8, 2019
Status: --
I've already read this, so I can say with confidence that it's a very enjoyable read. It's the type of novel you can read when you want to relax and don't feel like tragedies or drama or endless brainless villains who only raise your blood pressure. There's no blood pressure raising here.

... more>>
Spoiler

The MC in his original life was taken advantage of right after he lost his closest relative, and that spiraled into him losing direction in life and losing opportunities. He wasn't a loser though, so he picked himself up and found a job and constantly improved himself. But he never quite felt like he had fulfilled his potential. In his second chance at life, his mind is already mature and his choices come from hindsight, so he quickly betters his situation. The MC is smart and collected, not bent on revenge. He wants to help his friends as well. Altogether a very likable character.

The ML is interesting and quirky. He gives the impression of the typical cold and expressionless guy, but his inner world is a complete riot. So it's fun when he's in the scene. The relationship is pretty wholesome as well, certainly no complaints there.

The story is concentrated around the MC building up his business empire along the ML. The romantic subplot is also well-developed. It kinda slows down near the end of the novel and you're served abundant dog food (lots of displays of love), but I enjoyed it and needed it to relieve my stress.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
Dimensional Sovereign
January 10, 2017
Status: c76
Honestly, the initial chapters need some patience, but the story gets progressively better. It's entertaining, and makes you eager for the next chapter. I like how the MC builds his military strength, and it looks like there will be a large scale war in the future, which will be fun to read about. I also like OP characters, and he works hard to get his powers.

I'm usually generous with my rating. As long as I don't get bored mid-ark, enjoy the story, and look forward to more, I give it... more>> a 5 stars. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
ludagad rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
June 18, 2016
Status: c89
This novel is pretty unique, I just don't get tired reading it. It has its ridiculous moments, but those simply enrich the reading experience. It is, after all, a snarky comedy in its essence. The character is hilarious, his thoughts can sometimes leave me speechless and clapping. What I most enjoy at this point, is how it introduces poems and literature in the story line. It can really broaden one's culture in a very entertaining way, so that the reader himself/herself will try to find out more, and feel the... more>> urge to read some of those works.

It's also very easy to get hyped while reading it, and get sucked into the plot and the characters (just read some of the top comments after each chapter...). In one word - impressive. It's no wonder it's taken the top spot in the original publishing site. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ludagad
It's a nice and funny short story. There's a little angst to spice it up, but not to the point that it takes over the novel. It was rather quick in fact. There was also a little tension, but this novel is mostly a feel-good novel poking fun at censorship, with a twist. I'm happy I read it. I don't want to reveal too much for such a short novel. The MC is likable, the ML is kinda pitiful, the couple is loving, and ... more>>
Spoiler

they do get to be intimate, even if the scenes were merrily skipped over in the spirit of real-life censorship.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report