Report Review
17 Reviews


lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
July 10, 2016
Status: c136
Regretful. That's my opinion towards this LN. I will say this I liked this novel (at the beginning), it had potential but it got sadly worst later on (around chapter 20). So, this isn't an unbiased review but an opinionated one (well no sh*t, I am writing this to blow up some steam and all reviews are opinionated anyways).

This LN suffers from the generic problems in this genre. The following beta/OP MC, one dimensional antagonists and overall asinine nonsense. The story is also strange and one step away from... more>> being awful. To this day I still don't know what this story is supposed to be about. It isn't a fighting shonen type, it isn't a slice of life (I refuse to accept stories about going another world or reincarnating in a world where monsters exist as slice of life), it isn't a coming-of-age a story or about commerce either, so what is it about? Is it about Makoto's life? Yes, and no. Well, the MC takes the most of the story's focus, but it isn't really about him since we know next to nothing about him. This is the the main issue with story. Makoto is perhaps (definitely) the most boring character in the entire story, and in this genre except there are worst MCs than him. Makoto, takes the word naive to a whole new level, he acts irrationally to the point that immersion is utterly impossible. He is strong to the point of being nonsensical, but what is more nonsensical is that he doesn't seem fully realize such obvious fact. A story with an OP MC, can be interesting if done well it can be interesting, but sadly it isn't the case in this novel. If done right, this story could be about the dangers that comes with having having great power. Or how one could be slowly consumed by it and how he tries to deal with the loneliness, inner conflicts and the world in general. But sadly nothing is ever explored. Makoto, isn't trying to do anything. Not really. He just goes along with whatever he is faced with. He meets a merchant, then decides to become a merchant and get his license in one or two chapters. He meets a group of adventurers, then decides to become an adventurer as well and to give/sell them better weapons etc... To make my point come across easier, I would say that he is bland, like most LN MCs. Even Kirito had more personality in Sao, he just doesn't feel human or anything as matter of fact. A good character, doesn't need to be complex he just need to be balanced. We need to understand how he thinks, and that will make the transition easier with the actions he takes in the story. We are people because we have desires, flaws and goals. But in the case of Makoto, he has flaws for the sake of having flaws and strengths for the sake of having strengths. Like I said before a bland MC is nothing new. If the author could just give more context about him, he could fix most problems and keep his "personality" consistent. Then we wouldn't be so surprised why he helps a little girl out and tries to protect some people he just met, or why he doesn't bat an eye when his subordinates destroy an entire town and kill people right in front of him. But the worst offense the author committed was during chapter 136. During that chapter, the MC has started to realize the stupidity of his actions and his overall personality. I thought the author, perhaps wrote Makoto this way so he could make a commentary on how naive this archetype really is but nope. Instead of trying to finally getting some balls and act like a man, he states that acting that way is too difficult and goes back to being an imbecile. It is at that moment I realized something, this author wasn't just stupid, he was also lazy as f**k, he knows full well that he is writing crap and he just doesn't care. This is the same bullsh*t like in naruto, when Naruto told Nagato that if the main character changes it isn't the same story (like the story did at the end, and instead of becoming ninja king, he went the Jesus/ninja king road to find peace). Fine (Bullsh*t) dialogue from kishimoto (AKA less sh*tty Tite kubo) indeed, which is complete nonsense since his series was about a coming of age series/ shonen. If the MC character refuses to change grow or do anything, then your entire series is a waste of time. But the worst is that the author had the audacity to later portray the MC as if he changed a bit in his actions. That now he will act more selfishly, which is total nonsense since he refuses to listen to the options presented to him by his subordinates. He helps a bunch of people before the sh*t hits the fan, under the pretext that they will be under his debt. Which is once again complete nonsense, since you do not help someone until after they have being attacked if you want them to owe you. The worst part is that is subordinates told him that one before this crap.

The antagonists in this story are also bad. Someone once said (can't remember who, and I'm not googling it) that a hero is only as good as his/her villain (gosh, that is some weird thing to say). Well, here the MC is bad and so are his enemies. It's just that there aren't any real antagonists because the MC refuses to do anything, by not picking a side or screw both parties. The worst example of a badly written antagonist in this story is the princess. She wants revenge because her mother died in the war (or some nonsense, insert cliche backstory here) , and that the war was caused by the goddess. First, the goddess doesn't do sh*t (another amazing character). Second, people fight for diverse reasons, especially for dominance. So even if the goddess hadn't instigated this fight it was likely that the demons and the hyumans would have been fighting at some point. Third, for someone that was being painted as smart and cunning, her motives are childish at best. She is an over-privileged brat and because her mother died she wants to kill god (the saddest thing anyone has ever written, it isn't like you don't live in a castle and don't have tons of people taking care of you). Fourth, her plans seem to be stupid at best. If her ultimate goal seems to be the death of the goddess, I'm pretty sure the demon race has a better chance at that, since they seem to be more advanced and understand the goddess powers better than anyone else. I understand that this is also stupid, but she is trying to kill a god (AKA the secret top dog of the food chain), no matter how many times you think about it, it is nothing short than insane. She also seems to be the one pulling the strings from behind the hyuman army. I'm sure she can avoid wasting the lives of her people by making a deal with the demon race, and then after killing the goddess go back to kill each other. The worst part is that she is the closest thing of an antagonist but she doesn't even close to be one, it's just like the story portrays her that way. I also won't mention all the other possible antagonists because none of them tries to get in the way of the MC (some of them don't even know he exists or don't think highly of him), so yeah there's definitely a lot going on in this story and since the MC is nigh-invincible, who gives a f**ks anyways.

Lastly, the POVs are useless (lazy) exposition dumping, since they are only used to give backstory and motivations not actual progress. Also, because we later on learn whatever stuff they pulled out of their asses, through the MC's eyes or it is mentioned in the main part of the story, who gives a damn. Because of the POVs, we always know who did what or with whom as well as why before the conclusion it kills all possible intrigue. So, once again making it truly pointless.

In conclusion, the MC and the antagonists are the worst part in the story. His cast is alright, they are way better written than him which makes us wonder why the author doesn't try to focus on them instead. However the only reason for that it's because we rarely get to know anything about them, and are simple archetypes of other archetypes.

The world, magic, commerce and politics are crude (nonexistent). All that is just part of the setting, and the "magick" (magick in this series is everything as long as the plot is cool with it) is there for deus ex machina moments (because god forbid anything bad ever happens without them not finding an easy way out). The story is unfocused, for example the MC is trying to rebuild a city because of two girls he just met and isn't attracted to asked him, while his own city in the world he created is not even half completed. There is much more sh*t going on, but it doesn't matter because he just keeps putting himself into situations that he has no reasons to be involved into out of the goodness of his heart (remember the all the people they killed and let get killed, I still remember a certain destroyed town). He doesn't realize but he just f**ks everything in the story, he is the ultimate villain. He has no reason to do anything but f**ks everything up because he is an imbecile. He kills and destroys everything people fight for in this LN for no reason at all. So, to finish the MC is the biggest asshole/hypocrite that just ruins everyone's sh*t because he is a f**king idiot. The worst part is that this story has the guts to present itself as light-hearted at times, when all this crap is just shrugged in the background.

Another f**king example why LN authors are bad writers, everything they touch turns to sh*t in the long run. It was the same with mushoku tensei, arifureta, and all the other light novels, except tate no yuusha (it is also crap but fun to read) and that is only because fans had to f**king complain to get a proper ending. <<less
115 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
I don't think the author has never met an old person in his entire life, you know besides his/hers (who are we kidding, it is obvious the person who wrote this pees standing up or at least likes to pee while standing) parents and occasional old person in the streets. Beside the lack of research and mismatched personality of the MC (TYPE-7-JESUS-KUN), with his backstory that mesh as well as dirty oil and c*m, there is nothing great about this story. It has the same problem as most LNs in... more>> this genre. It is the waifu of the month story (the waifu of the week is more like those r*pe novels, I mean mature novel since the love here is supposed to be pure).

I wouldn't have any beef if this LN novel just limited itself at that (the stuff I just described) however it has the audacity of pretending that it's fights are epic while they are among of the worst fights described ever (he is like a poor man's deva path Pain, and yells "impact" like a deranged person. That fight against the principal was so forced into the story, that you could feel the entire novel bleed from the a*s thrusting it just got), also the name Sirius teacher is just ridiculous. It 's like I just decided to name myself (insert stupid name here).

Fails as power fantasy for nerfing it's hero for no adequate reason. Fails as an action action story. Fails as an assassin for obvious reasons (powers and personality). And finally, fails at most things for following the flawed LN formula. However it is probably getting an adaptation because japan's low anime standards in the future.

All in all it is not that bad. As a first LN, it could be passable since it is a good introduction in this genre. It isn't inoffensive in anyway really (besides the fact that it really has nothing of substance), if you are into fluffy stories with a bit of action and overall a casual read, you might as well read it. <<less
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
The New Gate
January 25, 2017
Status: --
FAIL.

Most disappointing LN the displeasure of reading. This LN doesn't do anything different (though the story is a bit different from most LNs but it is all just dressing (if you read my reviews you probably know of my salad dressing metaphor). You can smooth talk a "lady of the night" as much as you want but she is still paid to cough* "pleasure" you at the end of the day. Conclusion, you are just wasting everyone one's time, you wanker.

I guess I need to give some kind of... more>> real review, otherwise I'm nothing but just a troll.
The problem with this LN, it's just that it is really unremarkable. It is trapped by all the tropes of this genre and never tries to do something different. Although I stopped reading around volume 2 or 3 it still had the potential to become better since everything was so underdeveloped, however I'm not willing to take the risk of ever continuing reading because the characters and the story are platonic and uninteresting (not kidding but the MC is soooooo bland and dense I'm afraid he may attract planets). Overall, avoid it like the plague~~~ or the mouth of a toothless hobo, if you find a copy burn it, and wash your eyes with acid too, for having the misfortune of ever seeing this satanic "book". real score is 1.5 I could have gone for 2 (not that it really matters) but, it just need some few things changed and it could have become better (mainly replacing the boring MC, I hate Sato from Death March the most of all LN MCs, but this one is so bland like air you could throw something at him and it would go right through that's just how bland he is. YOU MONSTER) <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Konjiki no Moji Tsukai
January 25, 2017
Status: --
Quite a good start, however it became obvious to later on that the story really had nowhere to go. It tricks the audience into thinking that Hiro is different from other lightnovel MCs, unfortunately he is not. Everything in this LN is similar to other LNs (all the LN tropes are in my other reviews getting tired of writing the same all the time), unfortunately no matter how many times you try to serve me sh*t in with different kind of dressing, it doesn't change the fact that it is... more>> still sh*t. He still shy, lacks personality and no matter how many quirks the author tries to push on him, it changes nothing. He is just another OP protagonist with an ability so broken that literally breaks the entire story. It gets worst when he agrees out of the blue to create a country because of someone else's dream, which contradicts his paper-fin "personality". This came out as the author way of adding a plot. However like I said before, it doesn't matter how evil organizations and cram different plots in the story, if it doesn't affect or has anything to do with the MC in a personal or essential level it doesn't matter.

Like I said before the MC is so overpowered that you know that he can undo most things. There is nothing at stake here. Plus the author did a weird time skip to justify a power up. If we know that the MC's abilities can increase by him grinding monsters by using his cheat abilities then what is the point of introducing foes around the same level has him? In 6 month he managed to enter the top of all the best fighters in the world. What is there to stop him from taking 3 months off and do some intense grinding alone and become lvl 300 or 400? Oh right, nothing! Since LVLs seem to not have a limit. If he was able to increase by almost 150 lvls by taking care of some little kids, you can only wonder how much stronger he can get alone. So because he doesn't do that he comes out as an idiot with a death-wish. Also why is the author trying to nerf his abilities in the later arcs for no reason. The story can't even serve has a good power fantasy anymore. Also for someone who has the ability to do almost everything he wants it seems pretty tamed, especially the fights, it is as if the author never heard or played games like dbz, bayonetta and dMC. True score is 2.5 but again not possible in this site. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Legend
January 25, 2017
Status: --
Criminally underrated, best portrayal of human characters, and amazing world building and... nah I'm messing with you. Literally fails in almost all aspects possible, if it is possible to fail in any area you can bet your juicy derriere that this LN will try its hardest to not disappoint you. Slow as hell, I can't believe that I would literally rather read Death March (I'M GOING TO BE SICK) than read this LN. At least that abomination (Death March) does what is meant to accomplish (although it is to... more>> slowly "unalive" (deadpool reference and everyone looooooves deadpool) otakus in a lonely life full of negativity for the glory of his highness the prince of lies), however this one can't even manage to tell a good story, it is just a bunch of events happening (yeah yeah all stories are just stuff that happens with almost no correlation but be quiet! you know what I mean). It is just so boring and slow, I felt myself age with every line. It fails in the most crucial part, and that's to entertain~~. Don't recommend anyone to read avoid it like a guy with herpes.

But really this novel is truly slow I understand wanting to flesh out your characters, but you do not destroy the story narrative and pacing in order to accomplish that. from the most recent translated chapters they have been in a dungeon without anything really exciting happening for more than 10 chapters, and we keep listening to stupid banter from the cast. It is literally the definition of purgatory, suffering for eternity by nagging teenagers. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
To Deprive a Deprived Person
October 12, 2016
Status: --
Started out decent (for a LN). However, went downhill real fast. The characters are "meh", there's nothing great about any of them (they are stereotypical especially the side characters). The main cast is nothing to brag about. The heroines are underdeveloped and bland (i can't see any future waifu wars coming out of this novel). The MC is from the same bargain shop as Sasuke (broody, red eyes and steals abilities), and with family issues too. The MC's parents are impressively evil, no, incredibly evil. All they need to do... more>> to be more evil is buy mustaches at a pawn shop (as well as eating babies), so they can twirl it while they torture the MC (seriously like straight out of a cartoon or the mind of a child). And, because of their amazing parenting skills, our MC became the second most popular LN archetype in this genre, an edge-lord (although a sh*tty one). So, we have an MC that is edgy but caring, murderous but compassionate. Can't say that he is very consistent beside the broody part (they can't even write a proper antihero, not saying that an antihero can't be those things but it is so badly portrayed).

The story is mediocre at best, especially when it starts to get a plot. I have criticized a lot LN for having no plot. However, if your plot is to defeat a sketchy empire because the top brass are evil, I don't think you'll get many readers caring about it. I understand that finding a plot is difficult since the novel will be centered around it, but when your plot consist in defeating the 12 blahblahs and a church/empire, all I can say is don't bother. Overall, the novel is nothing to praise or criticize. It starts to fall apart when the LN tropes start to sink in (oh boy! They sink deep and hard), and the lack of good characterization and writing make it hard to keep being interested for the long run. The author tries to ad fluff in a story that is kind of dark but not really. All I can say is that the story isn't really comfortable with the changing tones. It doesn't hurt the overall story and characters since nothing is really developed even after 160+ chaps.

Why do I write so much (and badly), to explain these bad novels. I just wish I could find a good one, however I know that it ain't gonna happen. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Shinka no Mi
August 6, 2016
Status: c42
Shinka no mi is an interesting story (at first). The first arc was the best, and sadly everything that came after was kind of interesting (garbage). I mean the first arc had an awesome premise. The story of guy going to another world (pff so generic) and gets to marry gorilla (what?!!!!). The arc had a good (pretty generic but funny because of all the jokes) conclusion. However, that is also the main problem. The climax and most of the interesting parts happened in the first arc. Everything that came... more>> later is pure LN nonsense, with a few quirks. Most characters are generic for the most part, except the main cast (more or less), the antagonists are badly portrayed (especially the bullies), and the rest of the cast are mostly weirdos or never truly go beyond their roles. I didn't include the demons in the list as antagonists because we barely know them, and they seem split between idiots with shticks, honest or one dimensional villains.

Spoiler

In the first our main character goes through something called character development (a word alien to most LN writers, they cant even grasp the concept). The school setting is idiotic to the point of being insulting (seriously, a school for mostly idols). The concept behind this particular school is beyond baffling (Idk what the author was smoking to come up with this setting). Such setting could be explained in a shoujo or slice of hell type of LN, but here it just seemed out of place. I understand that it was to contrast it with the MC, which the author made him look ugly and fat (at least for the first). Was he trying to convey that beauty inside type of sub moral? If he was he did a terrible job since our MC was not likeable at all. He was neutral at best. You could sympathize and understand at best, but he wasn't without fault in the matter. Although, it is perfectly understandable for him to act the way he did after thee death of his parents, but his friends truly cared about him and wanted to support him for most matters he faced. I don't know much about japanese culture and laws but did no one made him go see a shrink, or at least have someone taking care of him? But in the end all of that doesn't matter since his classmates are irredeemable assholes, and our protagonist ends in the wild and emotionally tortured to death. He then meets a gorilla that falls in love with him because she thinks that he is strong (kind of works here because she is a gorilla). Then he starts to fall in love, and proves his love by fighting a demon ghost skeleton (complicated and sounds ominous, he's a pretty good guy), while his common sense is being push over the edge. He defeats the guy gets the girl and everyone is happy. The story could have ended here for the most but sadly it doesn't. Everything in the later arcs is pure LN garbage.
After the first arc, the story embraces all the LN garages tropes shamelessly. It still has that kind of charming sense of humor, but the originality (ok, I'm using that word loosely here) of the first part. I knew that Saria (the gorilla girl) and the MC would become attractive in the future, that much was a given and also that the MC would become OP. I mean I knew that this series is typical LN by nature, so they would want to sell waifus and a cool or handsome MC later on. But ignoring character development of the MC for him to become and bland OP self-insert and push Saria in the background to introduce new waifus, was a bit of a shock (it wasn't, I knew it would happen eventually).
Shinka no Mi is the perfect example of LN shooting themselves in the foot, for the sake of a prolonged story that panders to otakus. It had the possibility to differentiate itself, but falls into the LN type of genre hell. It was never really praise-worthy type of writing or story telling, but it tried to differentiate from other LN and tell an amusing story. It also suffers from a bit of genre clash in the overall story, since it tries to be dark and comedic fantasy harem story. I could go further and talk about the lack of plot and the lack of information of the world/setting or lvl up system, but the first arc makes it perfectly clear that those things don't matter. Heck, the plot is pretty much what happened in the first arc. It was a if the author wanted all of it out of the way first, so that he could do something else. I didn't mind it too much since the story was trying to be a comedy before anything else, so I could excuse most things, but the dark undertone of the LN keeps reminding me that the story isn't pure comedy. So, it is kind of a mess.

[collapse]
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
How did this ever get adapted into a manga, is a mystery to me. Perhaps this is proof that there is a god or something, because it is just mind boggling. I am no prude. I know what kind of sh*tshow this was, heck the title says it all, however only in japan something like this would ever be published. The story is clearly aimed at a younger audience due to the art style, story, characters, dialogue, world and overall setting. However, the plot or the meat of the plot,... more>> or overall undertone is clearly not.

It is bad, like real bad. Well, you know what to expected of this, from reading the title and still decide to read a few chapters. Let's just say that anyone that came here to read this LN wasn't looking anything deep (besides the MC getting deep inside the cast).

The story is a mess, but to be fair everything kinda is in this series, things just popup when you need them and etc.. The MC is unlikable beyond belief and still manages to have no personality (I am actually amazed by it). He doesn't to enjoy deflowering *cough (r*pe) besides satisfying his carnal needs but still he continues to do so with several partners. He seems to have suffered some deep traumatic experiences but nothing will ever redeem him (especially since he comes from a country as wealthy as japan and he is a high school student, it is not like he has lived in a poor country ravaged by war and had to fight to survive each day), besides he doesn't seek redemption. Universe-wise it does make sense most high school boys would love to have s*x with any women in theory (I'm saying most cuz you no not everyone is a dog in heat), but this is still a story so we are meant to sympathize with the MC. Nevertheless, this aint happening since he has no personality and has no back story (unless u have grudge against women or something), so we end-up following a teen's s*x fantasy and nothing more. All other characters don't matter they're just cliche and unimportant (I'm including the harem)

This is such a really, really stupid novel. As if all of the women that have been violated by a guy will just feel good and have no traumas, and not have their lives ruined forever by this single event. This novel is just that disrespectful to all women, and all readers as well for thinking we are all just morons. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
After reading the synapse (and now 2 chaps, because my idiotic friend tricked me into) , my best guess on how to enjoy this LN is by taking your brain out your skull (somehow without dying), then step on it and then throw some horse wastes at it just leave it there for eternity.

I haven't read this novel, thus I cannot judge it fairly (I have now but still won't rate it because... well, 2 chaps, it seems kinda hard to judge after 2 chaps without sounding like a... more>> snob, cuz the story hasn't established itself). This is why I will refrain myself from grading this novel (I am not a troll, at least that much of a troll in this regard), but also leave a piece of commentary regarding the synapses.

I planned on reading this novel since it is currently regarded 5th best novel of all time in this website, however after reading the description I can only think that several crucial details were omitted.

First of all, I am amazed by the cheer number of ludicrous points in the summary. Why would a king ever relinquish his duties to a complete stranger? Not only that, but this stranger is a child (ok, he is not a child but he really kinda... is) of unknown origins, but not only does he not know the history and political stability of the kingdom he finds himself in.

Second, there would be an outcry from almost anyone residing in the country from this absurd resolution, that would probably bring the downfall of the entire kingdom (I would complain more but he is almost seen as the MESSIAH or something but hesus, he is not).

Third and final point, how would a child have the necessary knowledge to know how to create a country. Even with the help of the best people in the kingdom he resides in, he would undoubtedly fail. This is lunacy at best, most of us have the general idea how some objects may work but it doesn't mean we can easily recreate them. Countries take an extreme amount of time to implement a single game changing policy. let alone those big policies we already have problems with smaller ones, and are often met with extreme difficulty to pass. Thus for a child who finds himself in an alternate reality closer to the middle ages of our world, and somehow becomes monarch just because he appears to have interesting ideas, it is simply ludicrous. Any contrived explanation, such as him looking like the dead prince that wasn't officially reported dead, would have been more plausible than the one given in the summary.

This summary, took away any chance of me believing that there would be any serious attempt of good story telling. I felt myself not only getting dumber by reading each line, but as well questioning the author's sanity in writing such as story. I may be wrong about the book overall, however if the description I got is the closest to summarizing the book's story, I would beg to differ. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Astarte’s Knight
October 12, 2016
Status: c11
The overall premise and story are interesting. However, everything feels fast-paced, convenient and underdeveloped. The only saving trait is the character interactions (although some are borderline cartoony, I'm looking at you count), but every character feels distinct which is helped due to the novel's small cast. Overall, this novel is nothing special or worth of praise. All I can say is that the author has a good feel about the overall story, s/he knows what the story is about which makes it a decent read.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
Real score 2.5/5 Not the worst novel I have read so far that honor goes to either death march, slave harem, Legend (but this one is more because it goes like this after 100 chaps it's Helena orgasm time, Helena, Helena, Helena, Helena, Helena...I call it the Chaika effect (I'm so sorry if you get that reference, because you were forced to watch an anime where half of the dialogue consist of Chaikas)... also there's almost a 1, 000 chaps... be real people the LN will be getting axed wayyyyyy... more>> before that) and hachinan (definitely the worst) something.

I'll be frank here; it's shi-I mean crap. As someone who has been writing sh-I mean crap for years and has read crap for years (ex: death march)... all I can say is...I know sht when I see it. You may feel bad for liking something I criticized (but I don't really care for what u feel u-u weak-as- I-I mean u poor thing) and think there's more and... you'd be right. At some point in my life I actually somewhat enjoyed... death march (ok I'm pretty much lying here but I found it somewhat funny... nope there's no redeeming qualities in it but for the sake of what I'm about to say next let's say I did). There's a time for everything in someone's life but that doesn't mean that you nor I have/had no taste (but seriously after 100 chaps of this sh*t and the story is this incompetent... just... idk).

The story has it's good parts and the reason we may enjoy some stories at different points in time usually comes from novelty or the fact that we tend to focus on only the good; and ignore the amount of trash in the background. Nonetheless, at some point you gotta take out or the sh** pile or it will start to crumble on top of you? (idk where I was going with this analogy, or why... see still writing sh**... don't be a writer kids, choose accounting... it's safe. life 101)

There's some good to come out of this... seriously. It is dark, edgy, pure wish fulfillment. I mean, the main character looks so good that people think he is a girl (ooh), has white hair (haaa), heterochromia, with an eye being red (I can't take this much stimulation; my narutard side its, its comin... oooooh) and is a chick magnet (pretty sure preteen me would have died from all of this). It was pretty much my teenage fantasy although I wanted to be a Dante kinda as*hole but each its own. (though now he looks like a hobo, from edgy teen to whatever the fk the dMC reboot tried to do, to a hobo...I'm starting that he never was a good role model)

The story is "creative" (ok this a biiiiiiiig overstatement, but hey I'm trying to be nice here... before the real beating starts... gona tear this series a new hole and its fans.... gotta be gentle... and when I'm done can't wait and see all the the bu*thurt fans), and the premise itself is "interesting" (*wink *wink).

But really all in all it is not so bad the world itself seems to be fleshed out to some degrees; glad there are actually different races, rather than your traditional elf and dwarf (although they are still there), but more obscure races... even though some of these races are NOT really what they claim to be HMM!!! (I'm looking at you ghoul race...I buy more the ghouls from tokyo ghoul being ghouls than whatever the fck ghouls in this series are), too bad it's all nonsense and seems to become irrelevant with each superior evolution in some cases (not even digimon ditches the weaknesses of all their monsters with each evolution... IDK I don't watch Digimon its d*mn too long I was only interested in that sweet, sweet digirap OOOhhh... but its better than pokemon, fight me).

The story has some redeeming qualities being a gritty revenge story and not your average isekai; where the protagonist doesn't give 2 cents about their previous life and are stuck in this bizarre otherworld try to f everything via the authors pent up desires (moving to a different country is already pretty hard, imagine moving to an entire other dimension).?

Spoiler

Ok... are the butthurt fans gone?... ok ranting time. Damn is this sh*t stupid! We have someone picking a fight against gods and still has the time to f**king do some cooking, is this f-ing precure?!! Those gods are after your a*s and send enemies to get rid of you every other week and what does the guy do? Oh! I know, they'll cook some sushi or whatever japanese dish the author wanted to eat that day! Just who in all the 9 circles of hell picks up a book like this and then asks to read about poorly explained food recipes?!! But seriously here are the 3 options.

A. Try to create an elite force of monsters to be your meat shield.

B. Get stronger at a faster pace so that way you can take care of them, and focus on building a stronger nation with all your spare time.

Or C. half-a*s doing the 2 of the above and try to help in random weirdos in some weird random misadventures in hopes some of the people that are coming to kill you will hesitate to kill if you become a noble (what?? since when being rich and powerful has ever stopped anyone to try to take anyone out)... when the gods they serve are promising to give them anything they desire if they can get rid of you. Arrgh, this is so stupid, this Twilight levels of bad fiction!!!

1 word, priorities... biaatch. Da*n it, is this really the same guy that crawled away as a baby to survive and killed people for revenge and was almost ready to unleash hell in a town for the sake of revenge.?

Also, there are way, waaaaay too many characters trying to fight for relevancy in this da#n book!! Are there any, anyyyy major differences between Vigaro and Borkus? Can anyone truly tell them apart from just reading their lines? Probably can't, cuz they are the freaking same guy. Besides the later being a more completed and relevant character than the former. No wonder why they get along so well they are literally the same guy!!

Is there any real reason why there's a godda*n harem if nothing is mainly explored or the MC doesn't seem give a damn about who joins in?!!! People, that have committed atrocities are allowed in, people that he met a second prior are allowed in; in the future people that have 6 giant di*ks and have more tentacles cthulhu and probably like to mol*st babies will also probably be allowed in (even H*tlr would probably be allowed in... if he wore a skirt). No one seems to care there's no interaction besides: "oh I want a baby" or "look at me"some other nonsense. They are like those weird fan girls Gary Oak had in the beginning of Pokemon; and there's a reason why they got left out.. cuz its just freaking stupid. They all have basic characterization at best and or one trait at worst. At this point in time they just join because every story arc we have 1 0r 2 more baby gold-diggers that want to f a child.

And Oh boy why don't we talk about the giant sleeping elephant/goddess in the room; let's talk about Vida. To be fair Vida isn't a real character at least not yet, but she sure is a fat B sleeping on her a*s that is used as plot device all the time and painted as this force for good. When in fact she is perhaps the worst thing in the entire series. I could go on and talk how Vida is the biggest monster in this goddamn series (creating monsters that are incompatible with the denizens of this world, using the broken soul of the Demon Lord and her f-ing vassals to create a new weapon, ultimately dooming half of the continent when they can always f-off to another world, mating with demon gods that probably killed the other gods/monsters and million of inhabitants) but no... NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!.. enough of this nonsense there are far greater problems that I haven't mentioned.... cuz I don't care.

Other facts include how the MC has close to no personality and seems to lose more personality as time goes on, losing that spark (all that ambition is pretty much gone). Now replaced by cooking and f-ing gag about muscles. And his weird relationship with his cartoonlly evil uncle; that made his tragic backstory into comedy gold.

Also, tired to hear the overly convoluted exposition dump to justify why Rodcorde is so stupid and incompetent, or why Alda is pretty much the good guy and the story still portrays him as somewhat of a villain (The guy wants to take back the parts of the continents that were originally peaceful and not infested with monsters, wants to get rid of monsters that are pretty much designed to cause the extinction of mankind in different ways, and get rid of a possible future demon lord timebomb), or at least a stuck-up fool. (to be fair the guy is a twat and a sneaky a-hole.. hard to root for dat; he is also like 1 of those nerds u just want to beat up for almost no reason)

The story doesn't portray the MC as the good guy but it is hard to refute that when he acts as Vida's proxy, and every other guy in the Alda's camp is either a drone, maniac or shady a-hole or the 3 at the same time (looking at u high priest Gordon).

I could go on and on and on... but I'm tired there's only so much bullsh** a person can tolerate... not only that but the story is always defeating some evil a-hole and then try to give some half-as*ed back-story each time... at this point they are all the same guys. (I don't care about him fighting a rapist for 68th time or helping a damn Orc or goblin find some chicks. Conflicts should be grandiose about clashing morals or grandeur but noooo... those damn rapists and babies-eating written villains ain't gona write themselves)

Also they just keep repeating the same things every chapters to explain all the a*spuls sometimes they repeat the same explanation from a chapter or 2 prior. Magic is poorly defined and the author tries so hard to justify his own incompetence. Listen with magic there's only 2 ways to go about it, either go a la to aru magical index and explain everything or just don't.. don't explain sh*t.

[collapse]

As I have been saying there's far more but I don't care... don't waste your time reading this trash. It is not going to get better, if you think so.. then you my friend are delusional. The writer is pretty much a hack. A hack with a tiny bit of talent that got lucky and doesn't know where to go with his plotlines (that's why there's so many r*pists, each rapists is trying r*pe us, the audience of our time). They just don't go anywhere and then are conveniently brought back whenever needed. An example of this done right would be One Piece, even though there's no real reason narratively for Luffy to fight Doflamingo and Enel 2 guys that barely had anything to do with his goal on a personal level; he still had to face them when the opportunity because he wasn't willing to go beyond his limits and fight guys stronger than himself... he knew he could never become pirate king. This is why the arc connect to each other so well there's a narrative reason for most of it. (but that's mainly because they are in a ship traveling). However, here unresolved plot points are brought back then discarded then brought back, then brought back again then resolved or discarded with another brought back plot point... it's a mess.

If you have to follow the story for realz then just try to read the LN if it actually gets translated in the future (I wouldn't count on that, but even Death March got translated and has atrocious anime with slightly better CG than Berserk 2016 but not Berserk 2017). At least until then a real writer can perhaps co-write this into an understandable mess.

PS: as a westerner the entire premise of this novel is a bit dodgey. White guy being the savior of mostly dark-skinned people... oooh... hey its Japan. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Hachinan tte, Sore wa Nai Deshou!
January 25, 2017
Status: --
If you ever dreamed to follow the sick imagination of an otaku's wet dream (besides the otaku bible Death March) search no further. Do you want a story that you get to talk about little girls "upper parts'" and training your perfect bland/slave waifu (you could probably ask her to do anything in a kamasutra book and she will or even partake into "nighttime activities" with several gentlemen such as 30 people), and side cough* "easy women" plus money, you have come to the right place. Everything is just given... more>> nothing is earned. You don't feel attached to nothing in the story because of that. There is no real tension everything just feel artificial from the world to the character interactions. Drop it, drop it like your life depends on it~~~. This was clearly written by a man-child/sociopath that has never had a real interaction with a living being~~~.

Probably getting an anime in the future too, because Japanese businessmen don't give a quite "easy" (as in they lack any integrity but don't we all). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
The King of the Battlefield
December 7, 2016
Status: --
I'm ashamed to admit that I like this light novel. It is just shallow so shallow. Plot, characters, fights (fights are ridiculously, poorly written or perhaps its the translator's fault wink wink. Sorry translator-sama I worship you like the good peasant that I am, take my money) and everything is as deep as a kiddie pool. This tricks you to think that there is world building, however it is more akin to world setting. You have no idea for about half of the time where the characters are, when they... more>> are talking. You have the general location but nothing precise. More than half of the time when Muyoung talks to someone, I have no idea where they are. For example, I remember a part in a chapter when Muyoung was talking to some of the humans in the that village he built. However, when I tried to recall where they were exactly, I had no idea at all where they were. Was Muyoung having conversation outside? Perhaps in his Kitchen? Heck it could have been on the moon for all I know. The second aspect that hurts this story is the lack of real struggle. Do you want to read a story of an underdog or someone who has a tough time in his conflicts? F**k that, Muyoung is jesus and you should worship the ground he walks on.

I guess the last straw would the characters especially Muyoung, however you see the reason why a lot of people love Muyoung, it's because he actually does things. He actually has ambitions and goals. They may not be very deep or anything, but you can feel his greed and desire to grow strong, and people can relate to those things and cheer for him. Because of that, although he is a far cry of a human being he still has some base of humanity. Unlike, those OP good for nothing beta male bland LN protagonists. Muyoung acts instead of reacting.

if you are looking for good fights, deep story or anything of real substance this isn't the light novel for you. Story arcs end as fast as they begin. Nevertheless, they are short and straight to the plot. My guess is that the author knows that we know that Muyoung is going to survive no matter what, so s/he doesn't bother with the process. I wouldn't call that good writing or acceptable, but chapters are short enough for me to not care that much. It also helps that Muyoung isn't a horny teen, or a brain-dead MC that we see in others LNs. So yeah, Muyoung, although he has paper thin personality, is entertaining enough to keep interest into continuing reading. He is like a One piece character, always moving around which keeps people interested into knowing what sort of other shenanigans he might get himself into, and who will he piss-of next.

I know I was kinda being a fangirl/boy about Muyoung and stuff but it is really kind of entertaining read, I would give this a 2.5 out 3 however since that's not possible gonna give a 3 (fanboy/girl, Muyoungtard I know I know). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Because Janitor-san Is Not a Hero
October 12, 2016
Status: --
I read this LN because I heard it was bad, and to my surprise it turned out to be real bad. The s*it is all over the place like you've never seen before. I'm starting to think that finding a good LN is like trying to find a unicorn. The only way to either find one is go to another world (ironically).

A mixed bag of good and bad (mostly bad). I won't be complaining about how unoriginal the premise is or how the world isn't fleshed out, the first few... more>> chapters made it very clear that those things aren't the focus. However, the rest isn't worth praising either.

The janitor set up isn't that much utilized (such a waste it could have been a book with many janitor type jokes AKA a gold mine), it's just extra baggage. The MC feels more like a teen than an adult, but it could get more interesting as things progress. However, I wont be reading it cuz like the words of a famous man of letters I'm dropping this LN like its hot. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
I was told that this story got better as it went along and... no, it didn't. However, in my first review I didn't explain the reason why very well (well, I'm always mostly intoxicated for most of the times, in fact I still am right now).

This series suffers from what I would call the "Bleach Effect" (does anyone even rbr Bleach anymore T.T). I have read about like 70-80ish chaps, since my first review (I'll keep my previous simpleminded thoughts in the spoiler section). What I mainly mean... more>> by the Bleach effect (look at this smug a*s making fun of multi-million dollar franchise, to those I say... Twilight was the same and people still sh*t on it.), the bleach effect, is simply a story that has no drive to it. The story has nowhere to go. It doesn't have a narrative like: pirate king or hokage. The story will continue for the sake of continuing, with the next thing to beat or the next problem. A plot is an end goal, it is where you, no, the story will eventually finish or keep trying to achieve even if it ends mid-way or things just change. So this story is purely an endurance test; you will read it till you get tired (with 343+ chaps and still going, huh? I guess I'm not wrong). I'm not saying that the story will never have a plot in the future, I am saying that the plot will not be the center of it. One of the only series that does this more or less competently is... well, One piece. It has a vague, plot characters with the motivation and reasons (very important) to follow the said plot.

My second gripe with the series is all the a*s-pulls, I mean the magic in the series is out of control. It just does everything the author wants it to do, I mean it tries to be a video game as well as real life. I mean even Donmachi, had a more believable magic system. If in this world some can regrow an arm and leg with high enough healing magic, what is there to stop people from being able to resurrect people from the dead? You know, there was another story that started like as well? DBZ. A manga so infamous for characters sabotaging themselves for the sake of creating tension. If you can revive people from the dead, most dangers after that are kinda meaningless. So, in this world if you don't know a good healer, you're f***ed.

My final gripes are with the characters and tone. Tone is all over the place. It really doesn't know where it wants to be. It doesn't know if it wants to be very childish or edgy and flip flops all the time sometimes even in the middle of life and death situations (in some fights they have very stupid banter, even when their enemy is super strong). Characters are stupid, bland and archetypes. They have a screwed personality, especially the protagonist and have no defined morals. Even after like what 80 chaps, all I know is that cat girl loves food and fight, and sword is a lolicon/father archetype.

Spoiler

How bad can a story really be? This is a question that all writers must face during the making of their craft (it's obvious that I have no idea where I wanted to with this nonsense). It's bad. Real bad.

I can only guess that this was written by a man-child (also definitely a deviant with anger issues), who has basic education (like middle school perhaps high school? if it is high school god plz help him). Really disappointing when you can feel that there is a lot of heart in the story, however I also play the guitar with a lot of heart and nobody is hiring me.

Might get better, might get worst. However, I got all I need to know from a few chapters. It isn't for adults or children but teens. Escapist teens that is. If you like that sort of stories well you might like it.

[collapse]

<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken (WN)
October 31, 2016
Status: --
The story of this LN was rather interesting, but as always with LN... it got worse. I won't this is true for all LN, however it really kind of is for the most part. Most people believe the beginning was good, but sadly it really wasn't. Don't get me wrong it was entertaining, sadly to call it well-written it would be an understatement.

... more>>
Spoiler

One thing that became sadly obvious is that halfway through the story, Rimuru and the author became the same person. The story would be twisted to suit Rimuru and the plot. The weak lvl of danger became almost non-existent, stupid power-ups started to become norm and characters became overall worst. Things just got worst. The things that made the characters and the story a decent read such as exploration, adventure or character development were just gone. The MC became passive, and became all-knowing for some reason.

Ultimately, the story became a fluffy (although all the people the MC kills would disagree), interesting (piece of trash) couple of misadventures designed to pander to fans instead of a decent story.

[collapse]

The things that make no sense are the marriage between Benimaru and that bitch momiji. The way Yuuki got his stupidly forced power-up. Lastly, everything with that hax wisdom raphael ability, which has too many offenses to be counted. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lonewolf93
lonewolf93 rated it
Youjo Senki
April 4, 2017
Status: --
OVERALL SUPERFICIAL. Sound story structure.
Sound events progression.
More or less decent characterization (at least for the main character). Quite enjoyable read, but nothing more than that (if you enjoy psycho lolies).
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report