Report Review
19 Reviews


lohwengk
A fair rating would be 3.5 - above average. I gave 4.0 because 3.0 is too low. I didn't read this for a long time because the title and the old summary gave the impression that the MC would be one of those OP assholes. The R-15 and slaves tags didn't help any. But after I got around to reading it, I found the story to be not bad. IMO, there is some slight resemblance to Mushoku Tensei. It's better in that the MC is more mature, more thoughtful, and... more>> doesn't have Rudeus' creepy borderline pedophiliac tendencies. On the downside, Otoko Nara is written in a somewhat dry first-person perspective. In the latest chapters, we even see increasing amounts of stream-of-consciousness text walls, though I don't know how much is due to the author and how much is due to the translator.

Some readers have criticized the MC for not doing more to bring 21st-century civilization and technological progress to his new world. I would counter that the average person does not have enough real knowledge or expertise to re-create even basic Steam Age technology, much less anything more advanced. As for agricultural improvements - how many of you can actually turn a bare plot of land productive even with the help of the internet, google and wikipedia? In Otoko Nara, the MC brought some progress to his village based on his limited background knowledge in a realistic manner.

Readers have also criticized the author for an unrealistic depiction of societies acceptance of the MC's genius. They claim that the MC should have had people accuse him of being demonspawn or some such. Honestly, their complains are nonsensical. This is a fantasy world with magic, beastkin, monsters, a Shinto-like religion with many gods but not much of a presence in the world, and NO demons. Life is hard, the literacy rate is low, the supernatural (magic and gods) is known and a part of common sense, and people face real threats from monsters - they have no need to imagine ghosts and demons, unlike the real world. Furthermore, when the MC forgets to hide his intelligence, he is only around children. The adults only hear of it 2nd-hand, from a bunch of little kids, while dealing with the aftermath of real danger. Even in our world, prodigies are accepted outside of medieval Christian societies. People used words like heaven-sent or touched by the gods to describe such geniuses. <<less
54 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
A WAFFY, somewhat fun read. Started off a bit bland, but becomes a lot more engaging after 10+ chapters.

If you want action, go read some xianxia instead. No harem hijinks, no thinking with his d*ck, no emo crap. This is largely a slice of life story. There are no major antagonists, and the few times they show up, they are quickly bundled off the stage.

MC is a bit beta and largely goes at his own pace, but is not spineless. He can appreciate beautiful women when they show up, but... more>> he doesn't turn into an emotional wreck, and neither does he lose self-control to go molest them. He is OP, but doesn't realize it at first. Later on, he reluctantly accepts it. There is the typical Jap WN obsession with japanese food, but it's not obnoxious about it. The author even presents a reasonable explanation for the apparent lack of food culture.

Spoiler

It's not that their food culture is backward. They just never bothered to develop fancy methods of cooking because they have an abundance of fresh and high quality ingredients. In our own history, a lot of fancy cooking techniques were developed in order to overcome food shortages by re-processing stale food or food that has gone bad, e.g. Thailand's tomyam, Korea's kimchi, Chinese fried foods, various types of Asian curries, etc.

[collapse]

A reviewer complained that this fantasy world is backward. If he means that they don't have nuclear weapons, then yes, that's true. But this is a world that is in the medieval age. They have knights wielding swords, and magicians who cast magic spells. Obviously, they won't have soldiers wielding guns.

The same reviewer complained that the people of this world are so stupid they don't even know how to boil rice to cook it. Except that to these people, rice is used as feedstock for farm animals. Why would they bother to learn how to cook rice? It's the same thing in our own history. In some countries, radishes are used as winter feedstock for farm animals, not for human food. The people in these countries don't cook radishes for food, yet people in other countries have numerous recipes which use radishes. Radishes aren't the only such crops. Others include barley, corn, alfalfa, etc.

There's also a criticism that the twins still speak like little kids after 55 chapters. That's only natural. After all, these twins are only 5 years old and were formerly uneducated slaves. Furthermore, the 55 chapters don't even cover one year. As for the accusation that everyone is utterly stupid - there aren't that many characters. Although some of them are stupid, most are just normal people - flawed, with some stupid moments as well as clever moments, but mainly plain and average. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
A fun, light-hearted read. If you want something dark, serious or heavy, go elsewhere. It's not that bad things don't happen, but they are glossed over. Comedy is understated, not slapstick. If you want slapstick or lots of tsukomi-boke styled comedy, go elsewhere. Though there is some black, s*xually-biased humour.

MC's character starts off more or less mature, so there's no classic shounen-style character development. Instead, you'll slowly uncover the reasons (more or less) behind his motivations. MC starts the story already OP. His growth happened in the past, off-screen. So... more>> if you want DB/Naruto/Bleach-style power-ups, go elsewhere.

Most of those who rate this story low seem to dislike comedic and lighthearted slice-of-life stories. They've rated other stories of this style quite poorly. I don't know why they came here in the first place. They're like people who don't like to eat apples complaining that some famous brand of apple pie doesn't taste good. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
The Boy Who Swore Revenge On The World
March 5, 2018
Status: c26
My rating: 1*

There are too many sudden changes in PoV. It might be tolerable if the pov switched to a supporting character, but a large number of these went to new characters, some of whom give the feeling of being one-off cannon fodder characters.

On top of that, the story doesn't feel that interesting. Parts of it read like the developmental diary of a villain-in-the-making. By rights, the story should be quite decent, yet I can only feel disappointed when I read it. I can't put my finger on the reason... more>> why, though. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
108 Maidens of Destiny
May 14, 2018
Status: c248
Started out pretty fun, with a bit of humour, plentiful action with the MC showing lots of guts and some hints of potential romance. Gradually turned into a harem, but that was still fine. It was clear who the main girls were, and they still received plenty of screen time. On the downside, the MC started becoming cocky and started jumping into battles he shouldn't win, but cleared them with lucky breaks. By the (chapter) 200s, his cockiness started turning into arrogance and over-confidence - he even starts to look... more>> down on superior opponents. His lucky breaks turned into outright deus ex machina. His harem turned into pokemon collecting, with even the original main girls losing screen time. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
The Strongest Guild Master Founded a Nation in a Week
February 23, 2018
Status: c138
I can't call this a good story. It is almost definitely a Gary Stu wish-fulfillment self-insert story. Yet the author shows enough self-awareness to poke fun at his story avatar on a regular basis, helping to save the story. Every time I think of dropping the story, the author pokes a needle at the bubble of hubris that was forming, leading to somewhat hilarious outcomes.

In theory, the MC is building a country. In practice, I can't see it as anything but the country building itself under the MC, with the... more>> MC only going with the flow and only able to take enough action to keep his head out of the water. He's so OP he makes kingdom-building slice-of-life-ish.

There are reviewers who complain that this isn't Overlord. To me, this is a good thing. I dropped Overlord because the MC is a villain. The MC in this story starts out somewhat similarly to Overlord's MC - overwhelmed by circumstances and put on a pedestal by his followers - but never develops the mean streak that made me drop Overlord.

This story is a light-weight read. To me, it's a lighter-weight kingdom-building version of Satou's adventures in Death March. It's arguably around the level of the Smartphone story, just a little more adult, though the adult scenes happen off-screen - hinted at, sometimes heavily, but never explicitly stated.

There is no melodrama here. It's just a 5 to 10 minute read of a straightforward but not childish story to help me forget the troubles of real life. Not everyone's cup of tea, but exactly what I need. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
Infinite Competitive Dungeon Society
May 21, 2018
Status: c352
The start of the story was fun. The ending was not bad, either. All else being equal, I would have rated this story a solid 4. But 2 issues made me drop 1 star:

1) The MC's irrational hatred and criticism of Ciara, one of the characters in the story. The author provided some reasons through the MC's internal monologue, but it's pretty much a bullsh*t reason, IMO.

2) From around the middle of the story, as the plot started becoming deeper and the MC started becoming OP even when compared to... more>> other high-rank explorers, the author liked to make the MC play the "Tricked you! I already knew you were plotting against me and I'd made my own counter-plans." Except that from the MC's previous internal monologue, he didn't have a clue.

Do I regret reading this story? No. Would I re-read this story? No. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
Valhalla Saga
October 30, 2018
Status: Completed
Can't call it great, but I definitely enjoyed it.

Does the MC get too many lucky breaks and power-ups? Heck, yes! But unlike the xianxia tropes, it's somehow NOT irritating. I guess it gives a feeling like the original Dragonball franchise? When Goku powers up, it's just so matter-of-fact without excessive melodrama. There's none of the excessive praise and stroking of ego you often see in Chinese xianxia. There's no hard power limit pushed on us by the author, e.g. Bleach and Naruto, then the MC impossibly breaks that limit just... more>> because of his MC aura. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
A surprisingly nice story. Mainly SoL, generally lighthearted exploration of MC's new situation. Not much comedy, though.

Some reviewers criticized the GB theme, and complained how MC accepted the change so quickly. IMO not everyone has a dire attachment to their old lives. There are many who can change and adapt to a new situation.

Overall well written by the author; generally good translations by both translators.

Many people's self-perception is tied to their own body. Consider the common story of teenagers who start suffering from acne, or the stories of people who... more>> become crippled in some way. Even the stories of long -term employees who lose their jobs. Don't they change?

The MC is somewhat similar. Except she got something she wanted in return for losing her old body - her parents. Furthermore, she was rather as*xual in her old life, without much attachment to being a boy. It's not like she was some macho playboy who stuck it into anyone wearing a skirt. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
It was interesting at first, and had some hidden plots (involving his classmates) which gave some depth. But those plotlines seem to have fizzled out and the story has become half-baked.

The MC is OP but doesn't actually achieve anything, plot-wise. If you call the story slice of life, it's boring without being soothing. Action? Adventure? But there's no excitement. Romance? There's only his numerous slave girls worshipping his OP-ness. There is barely any flirting. Harem? He has certainly picked up many slave girls and there are definitely some girls surrounding... more>> him. But he gives the feeling of Ash "gotta collect them all" Ketchum in Pokemon. Sadly, the girls are about as useful as most of Ketchum's Pokemon. They don't even work as comic relief. Loli? At least he isn't a pedophile. But lolis in average stories at least have cute scenes, and those in good stories even show some growth. Here? He sees them, he pets them, he hugs them, he feels soothed. Rinse and repeat every few chapters. That's it, other than the lolis he decides to tease and/or bully. He's building up a large group of slave adventurers and seems to have enslaved the queen of a small kingdom but the story has no kingdom-building.

Overall, it's neither here nor there. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
Praise the Orc!
October 2, 2017
Status: Completed
Story was interesting except for the last few chapters. The ending devolved into the typical shounen-style stuff that I dislike. Enemies turn into friends, and a deus-ex-machina shows up so that the MC gets to save the world with his passion and the power of friendship, turning truth into lies while changing his own self-satisfied wishes into truth.

If you don't mind the shounen-style ending, most of the story is reasonably good. The MC is properly fleshed-out. He has his own motivations, and like everyone he has his core character while... more>> putting on different masks for different occasions. In front of his younger sister, he is a doting and over-protective big brother. In his daily life, he is a kind and gentle (plus good-looking) cafe owner and boss. To his martial arts master, he is a diligent and somewhat dutiful disciple with good morals. In his previous job, he was a skilled and merciless mercenary. In the game (other world), he matched the behaviour expected of the perfect orc warrior of that world.

There is some comedy in this story, just not the slapstick variety. The humour occurs naturally, without being forced. That said, I'm not sure there is enough comedy to justify the comedy tag, although this feeling may be coloured by the final arc of the story.

I enjoyed much of the story, and rather liked the MC until the final arc. His flaws made him realistic and not some kind of self-insert Gary Stu character. Then came the last arc. His flaws didn't change, but the change in setting made those flaws more glaring and less forgivable. He acted as he liked, being "manly, " playing Hero by plunging headlong into trouble while the author keeps on letting him get away with it by introducing increasingly obvious and heavy-handed acts-of-god. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
Real score should be 3.5. I give it a 4.0 because 3.0 would under-rate it. This story is a lighthearted, heartwarming read - more of a kid's adventure story set in fantasy, though sometimes briefly touching on slightly mature themes. If you want excitement or seriousness, you shouldn't read this.

In terms of food, this story would be the light, sweet snack you eat at tea-time. Don't eat this, then complain that it's not filling.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
Not bad. Reasonably enjoyable overall. Basically an adventure story in a fantasy world. Expecting politics an intrigue is unreasonable. The characters are engaging, and show some degree of growth.

It's not the type of story that I can binge-read. The translator released 3 chapters at a time, so reading those at a steady pace was just right for me.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
Other World Assassin Life of a Man who was a Shut-in
February 1, 2018
Status: c88
Not bad, but nothing outstanding. MC is the Gary Stu SI type, and is a bit of a pedophile, with a thing for 10 year old girls. I say "a bit" because his strike zone includes beauties in their twenties as well as the "loli babas". I don't recall any actual s*x so far, but the s*xual undertone is sometimes pretty thick - unfortunately, this includes the pre-pubescent girls.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
September 13, 2017
Status: afterword
Early arcs in the story were fun to read, though later arcs were not as fun for me. This story is totally about Yu Ilhan's journey to OPness, with the aid of a number of side characters. IMO, the side characters have unique personalities (though coloured by the characteristic humour of the author). That said, the side characters don't have their past histories fleshed out, which is only reasonable when even the MC doesn't have his past revealed. Afterall, this isn't a drama.

The story is a comedy, which happens to... more>> have some apocalyptic elements. There is no drama, though there is plenty of action, especially in the earlier arcs. However, in the later arcs, many fights are resolved easily, with an explicit anticlimax, implicitly poking fun at the typical shounen-style "filled with too many climaxes" boss fights.

Spoiler

A representative example of this is the Final Boss fight, where the MC had over-prepared to the point that he was able to whack the boss easily.

[collapse]

There is plenty of foreshadowing in this story, with more than a few cases where the MC directly points it out. However, it's not breaking the Fourth Wall, but because
Spoiler

the MC has some prophetic powers, which we (and the MC) learn in the later parts of the story.

[collapse]
Furthermore, the MC is pointing out these foreshadowings to his party, not the reader.

There are levels and skills and other game-like concepts, but by the middle of the story, it becomes clear that
Spoiler

the MC is on a completely different evolutionary path than everyone else.

[collapse]
Other than the MC leveling up, we also get to see his emotional growth. From being the ultimate loner, he learns to build relationships with other people, and even has romantic relationships leading to marriage.

Christians probably shouldn't read this story, especially if they can't handle criticisms to their God. "God screwed up" is a complaint the MC makes quite often in the story. Later on, we learn the truth behind this, which is
Spoiler

God's position was usurped by his archangels, and the MC's trials were almost all plotted by his "real" father. (Actual details redacted).

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
First few arcs were a lighthearted and fun SoL suitable for all ages. But after that, the story obviously became targeted at kids and some parts made me cringe with their simple-mindedness.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
Hakai Me no Yuuri
September 10, 2018
Status: c111
A decent read with its share of ups and downs. There's both tragedy and comedy, though not at the same time and not in excessive amounts. Depending on your philosophy of life, there are all sorts of disturbing stuff in the story. There's nothing that bothered me personally, but YMMV. The ending gave us proper closure, which I greatly appreciated.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk rated it
Sword Art Online Alternative – Clover’s Regret
January 11, 2018
Status: v1 afterword
The story itself was quite nice. Unfortunately, the author himself repeatedly mixes up the two main female characters, causing endless confusion in their respective speech as well as actions. Based on the translator's notes, who double-checked against the raws, this is actually the author's own error.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
lohwengk
lohwengk
The King’s Avatar
May 1, 2017
Status: c617
One of my favourites, with plenty of humour and excitement, and even some "feels." This isn't a drama, so don't expect every scene to advance the plot. It's also not a thriller, or a romance. The genre is slice of life, action and comedy, all three of which are delivered well.

If there is a flaw, it is the descriptions of the action in-game as if it was real-life or in a VRMMORPG. In reality, Glory is a 1st-person shooter-style action MMORPG - many of the scenes are patently impossible in... more>> a real game. They also don't suffer from lag - I have yet to play an MMORPG that doesn't have lag.

The MC is mature and serious, "my-pace" in real life, OP in the game. As for side characters - some are enduring, some have their day in the sun and only get some cameos once in a while after that, some temporarily fade away but leave us with hope that they will be back.

There are complaints that the MC smokes, doesn't exercise and has an unhealthy lifestyle. I'm speechless. Is that even relevant or important? Do you complain that James Bond always gets the girl at the end of every movie? These are just stuff that flesh out the MC as a person. There are also people complaining that the MC is a NEET. These are probably people who describe online stock traders and entrepreneurs setting up a new business as jobless. Then there are those wondering why the MC doesn't use his in-game skills to earn money. That's obviously because the MC has more important things to do than spend all his time and energy farming for cheap drops off small-fry mobs to sell for a pittance. Rare drops that sell well are only dropped by bosses, and these are largely monopolized by big guilds.

Some reviewers complain that TKA is grindy. IMO, if you consider Dragon Ball, Naruto, Bleach and One Piece to be grindy, then yes, TKA is grindy. The MC grinding in-game is a mechanism meant to show a few things: early-on, it illustrates the MC's OP skill and shows the MC's personality; then it shows the growth of various side-characters; it is also used to introduce some of the other characters - antagonists, rivals, allies, etc.; it shows the MC advancing his goals. There is no grinding for the sake of grinding. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report