Report Review
12 Reviews


leva
leva rated it
I’ve Led the Villain Astray, How Do I Fix It?
January 24, 2018
Status: c32
Spoiler

To reiterate some points:

  • MC and ML aren't blood brothers.
  • MC isn't homophobic, considering laws and values in China it's miraculous he accepted his little brother.
  • Spanking has been and still is a form of punishment in some Asian countries. Yes, I'm Asian.
    [collapse]
The summary is a good one to sum up this novel: MC is the doting older brother with a brocon streak a mile wide. He's privy to the novel's ending where ML was tortured to death and vilified, but through his own thinking he found plot holes, and he doesn't agree with that. He resolved to raise his lil bro, the villainous ML, to be a good man.

Surprise surprise, the ML turned out to be the ML from original novel's ending, rebirthed. He's suspicious of his doting older brother, but after some events, he took him as god's gift for every bad thing that ever happened to him in his previous life. Starting from there he grew possessive of this good older brother of his.

This novel is hilarious, because we get both MC and ML's perspective; MC was determined to raise this little brother right, but he has like really thick tinted lenses because of his brocon and already thought of him as the softest, stickiest, best little brother anyone could ever have--despite other people warning him of ML's manipulative/vicious streak. ML's perspective started out really angsty, because he died a painful death by torture, but after he got attached to MC he stuck to him like glue, and tried to keep other people from interacting with MC at all.

I'm looking forward to how their relationship will shift as they grow older, especially considering MC's very heavy brocon glasses. ML has a long, long road ahead of him hahaha. Of course, as of current translated chapter, there's no romance in this--be assured.
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
leva rated it
Golden Age Legitimate Fei
February 26, 2018
Status: c35
A steady marriage life in the court story (with the usual side of court intrigue and a bit more military).

Selling points so far:

    • MC totally a relatable, middle-aged woman living a quiet life. The image that comes to mind is that old aunt who married a scary military man, who gives out jam jars in family gatherings. You're forever wondering how the sweet mild aunty can marry such a terrifying man.... you just didn't know your aunty used to be MI6.
    • MC and ML's relationship takes off quickly (compared to a heck lot of chinese novels).
    • They actually talk out their differences, and there's none of that frustrating misunderstanding cliche. I can't stress this enough. They're actually friends who trust each other, help each other, and in the process of living together fall in love with each other. RELATIONSHIP GOALS.
    • Loveable side characters who has actual character growth. Particular spotlight on the Xu brothers, and their relationship with ML... too precious.
    • Villains can be more fleshed out but lbr I'm not here for them.
ML's character did veer into the cliche possessive ML syndrome later, but as his background gets fleshed out, his warped character reveal is understandable.

If I were him I'd have strung the scum emperor by his guts, emperor or no.

My only regret is after this turnabout, the writer pushed the cliche too much, irrational jealousy, PDA and all. I'd go so far as saying his previous character was like another person altogether--but then again he did say he deliberately hid that yandere part of him, so I guess fair's fair.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
A hilarious YY novel turned BL. If you're not familiar with the term, imagine the standard trope of cultivation genius, a harem full of girls, and villains to faceslap. Except because of MC, the author turned the story down the dark path full of betrayals. MC is transported into the novel with only one ability; he gets restored back to his initial state each midnight.

I'll be honest and say behind the truly funny writing, this novel is heart-wrenching and liable to make you cry. At a glance it seems like... more>> one of those Japanese webnovel about entering an otome game, but

    • MC hasn't finished reading the story. His omniscience stopped where he last read the webnovel, and the longer he stayed the more things change.
    • He tried so hard to change ML (protag of the novel) 's fate because of his guilt over the author twisting ML's fate, sticking up for ML every single time, giving him everything. But with his poker face and social awkwardness it kinda backfired and made him seem distant and out-of-this-world for ML, causing more mental issues later on.
    • He already got peeks of a future where ML destroyed the world because he lost someone. Foreboding continues throughout the story.
    • The development of his relationship with ML will make you cry. And you'll feel the same guilt as him for ML's turning black. And when you get over that, another bomb is dropped....
    • The smut is hot ofc what are you expecting??
    • Really, really neat wrapping up of loose ends. This is far more than I can say for lots, lots, lots of random transport-to-another-world novels.
Overall an excellent read. Props to translation team, thank you guys for this gem, this highlight of my day. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
leva rated it
Grabbing Your Hand, Dragging you Away
September 18, 2017
Status: c26
This story is a very fresh take on the reincarnation/transmigration trope, since the MC insists on acting the fool to protect herself from palace intrigues that she unwittingly knows. At the same time, her unassuming demeanor makes her a confidante to a lot of people and that just adds to the secrets that she knows and has to keep herself. Through all that, she's still a very self-possessed person who can deliver witty, stabbing comebacks at the most opportune moments, which makes for a lot of humorous situations.
If you're... more>> used to most chinese webnovel's sledgehammer-crash-and-destroy plot, this one is far subtler, from the perspective of the MC who holds palace secrets but refused to be included. There are a lot of foreshadowing of the trouble since the prologue but we are only seeing the start of the conflict now.
I also wonder who tagged this with comedy--although there are indeed a lot of funny situations, and the MC's rendition of events with tsukkomi added in is hilarious, the overall tone of the story turns very melancholic and tragic rather quickly. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
leva rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
September 16, 2017
Status: c238
This is a cute and easy read. Compared to a lot other xianxia/xuanhuan novels, the romance is far smoother and natural, and the side characters are not just stepping stones/faceslapping targets.

You do need to have a relatively thick face to read this through the first ~200 chapters. Because the MC virtually can't oppose the ML and is pretending to be ordinary, low-talent disciple in front of everyone else, he comes across as kindhearted to the point of stupidity and so soft he might as well be spineless. He gets better... more>> and better as they adventured, and although I cried myself stupid when it ended, I loved the ending and the bond MC shared, not only with ML but with his contract beasts, his friends, his senior brothers... this novel is full of heartwarming and hilarious moments.

Another thing that I like from this novel is the very real feeling of being stranded in a foreign world with zero foreknowledge about it. From cultivation things like the level of violence to everyday life like financial condition, the MC basically has to learn everything about that world and cope with the differences compared to the modern world, and it's conveyed wonderfully without wall of texts filled with facts. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
leva rated it
Reign of the Hunters
August 28, 2017
Status: c126
At a glance, this seems to be a generic reincarnation story with OP female MC, but in actuality the only part of her reincarnation that she used to cheat were regarding which people to befriend (in theme with her effort to actually keep some positive social relations, despite the utterly selfish reasons she scouted them), some dungeon glitches (as expected), and in-game real estate developments (I'm just???? dude).

... more>>
Spoiler

She's not even the strongest hunter in the game

[collapse]

Because she does a lot of new things it ends up very fresh; quests she hasn't even heard about, treasures she didn't get the first time around, feuds and friendships with a lot of people.

The dynamics with other players, as well as exploring the game world, are the main attractions in this novel for me. The conflict of interests are engaging, and her impulsive bravado and ruthlessness makes for a lot of interesting situations.

Granted, the writer could expand some more on her friends' perspective... like literally her guildmates, but well...

A light read, with overarching plot clues scattered from the start, don't expect extreme complications (... uh, well, maybe except the last plot twist), but very enjoyable nonetheless.

Last but not least, one of the best light novel TL I've ever read; reads very smooth, props to TL team. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
leva rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
October 7, 2017
Status: c167
This is a slice of life story that can be savored anytime you want, in my opinion. You'll notice the narrative is from Reika's point of view and she's a very very quirky common girl behind her ojou-sama persona. Her ojou-sama acting, compared immediately to her inner monologuing, makes for humorous read. However, she's also a very very unreliable narrator, and it's exposed in the rare side character POV chapters that what she thinks of herself and what the people around her thinks of her are vastly different things (at... more>> least in the beginning). As the story progresses, Reika makes a lot of friends everywhere, but sadly no romantic relations. She bemoaned this fact rather frequently and would often compare herself to her peers. All in all, Reika is a very relatable female MC while not being boring at all. I just wish author-san would take pity on her love life... xD <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
leva rated it
The King’s Avatar
March 15, 2018
Status: c987
Best gaming novel I've ever read.

MC Ye Xiu has the personality of someone who's beyond good (godly, even) with the self-assurance and mental strength you'd expect from repeat champion. Add to that his shamelessness that's on par with FOD's Wei Wuxian, he makes awesome focal point of the story. A good chunk of fun in this novel is from Ye Xiu's interaction with people in-game.

Grinding and the detailed fight scenes can get repetitive, but it's not so bad. Again, largely because Ye Xiu is literally God in game skills, he... more>> quite easily gets around situations... you can say it's like the staple faceslapping scenes, done in Wei Wuxian's shamelessnes. He's someone with lots, lots of depth behind the casual savagery hidden far, far, faaaaaar down inside it only surfaced every hundred chapters....

A very good direct quote from translation to illustrate Ye Xiu :

Spoiler

"To think you'd be able to pick up two players like this in the tenth server. With the blessings that the God of Glory has bestowed upon you, you'd better return to the Alliance and win that championship." Wei Chen puffed.

"God of Glory? You mean me?" Ye Xiu replied.

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
leva rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
November 6, 2017
Status: c576
This novel started out very promising (and boy do I still remember that, 570 chapters down the road) because of the inverted trope and the multiple villain protagonists. The worldbuilding is magnificent and the main character, since he was indeed still low in the power scale, out-schemed stronger cultivators and sects. It kinda went downhill from there after the first arc is over, though to be fair author-san did warn us (through MC's insistence about being low-key and lying low before being able to stand for himself) that someday he's... more>> gonna be the ultimate faceslapping godly martial saint. One thing I got to give though, he does that with style. I mean it. You know it's faceslapping but it's... so tastefully done it's all feel good, look good, who are you people??? <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
CUTEST. ML. EVER. I need to say that first because, duh, he is.

If you're ever tired of MC who's shunned by family, angsting super hard about just about everything in their life, and cultivates like there's nothing else in this world, this may be the novel for you. The quintessential face-slapping and plot twists, as a result, are far more lighthearted in tone (although be forewarned this novel can get quite descriptive in violence), and the MC frankly is also adorable, with hilarious interactions with people around her. Her revenge... more>> on people who wronged her and her friends can range from unfortunate death to funny prank, and since she's the righteous type, I don't foresee that happening a lot. Scratch that, it's still a dog blood cultivation novel, lotsa people gonna die... but only author and translator-san knows.

Major selling points for me:

  • MC and shameless sister being shameless girls, facing shameless people, and out-shameless-ing them
  • MC unintentionally picking up handsome boys like flowers
  • Her glorious, glorious pranks
  • ML being his sweet, caring, strong, handsome, perfect self. Seriously. He's struggling with health but he tries so hard, always goes above and beyond, always supporting her, WHAT MORE CAN A GIRL ASK
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
leva
leva rated it
Assassin Farmer
October 11, 2017
Status: c43
The cute, feel-good novel you want to read when you're down.

This novel will also make you feel 'I want to have a relationship like that, too' (excepting some outlier preferences).

Yes, they're that cute. Rather than the intrigue/fighting that's vaguely mentioned as background, the focus is on their day-to-day life after MC rescued ML. Granted the element of luck on her part is rather... super, and the ML comes across as affection-starved (or just kindness-starved) poor sod in that he's so quick to adapt to the utterly mundane civilian life with... more>> MC and taking care of her, but other than that they're super cute and lovey-dovey and why do I not have a relationship like that?!?!?! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report