Report Review
9 Reviews


kyn
kyn rated it
Waiting Upon You
August 21, 2018
Status: Completed
4.5 Stars for this well written BDSM Chinese BL Novel. Complex and compelling storyline with a touch of mystery. Sweet surrender, tender dominance.

The image below got my attention while I was surfing Youtube.

It was a Chinese slash (Boy's Love) audiodrama called 等你仰望 by 易修羅. I knew I had to read the novel by all means and I am glad I wasn't disappointed.

The book carries a BDSM theme and has TPE 24/7. The dynamics between the dom and sub is well written and explored. I greatly enjoyed the chemistry between the... more>> two. The surrender is sweet and the dominance is tender yet satisfying. I believe this book would appeal to both dominants and submissives. The author seems to know what makes a dom and a sub tick.

I would have happily given this book a full 5 stars if not for having a tad bit difficulty on accepting how the major conflict towards the end was resolved which nearly cost the life of the protagonist. I think it was unreal for his master to not know what would become of his pet should his pet heard news of that devastating incident. Therefore I am settling with a 4.5 stars.

Other than that stumble towards the end, I commend the author for handling the romance and s*xual desires of the MCs well. There's no fluff and the romance is slow burn with gradual acceptance and indulgence. You'll get to witness the whole progress of the bonding between a new master and his sub. Besides that, the character development was also praiseworthy. I like how Feng Hou slowly strips Ling Lang's protective shell which he had created over the years to hide his dark desires out of shame and confusion towards this own deviant s*xual nature. I had much fun watching the dom's creative pet/sub training method. There's a lot of focus on animal-roleplaying which the MC devotes himself as a loyal adoring dog to his doting but firm master.

As a side note, this is the first time I have read a Chinese BL novel with a BDSM theme. I hope to be able to find more of such books in the future. And I would love to know more of this author especially the gender since I really couldn't tell from the writing itself. Most of the times I am able to do so with other M/M books but not with this one.

P/S: I know it's rather odd reviewing a Chinese novel in English. I think I must be the first one to ever do so. Odd really.

* Reviewed on October 9th, 2015
**Read via Cantonese TTS** <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kyn
kyn rated it
Runaway Guide
September 9, 2018
Status: Completed
An entertaining ABO (Omegaverse) novel with super slow burn romance. The premise is pretty interesting where the MC transmigrated along with his previous life memories intact into an infant in another universe where he is considered as rare breed important for the continuity of his species. As an omega he has to live with oppression as his freewill and freedom was taken away due to his unique status in society and even had to conform to arranged marriage. What is worst is that he is essentially a straight male, the... more>> very idea of marrying another male and giving births makes his skin crawl and turns his stomach. Basically the story is focused on how the seme who has transmigrated along with the uke (the MC) tries his very best to wins over the uke whom he has loved long before their reincarnation into this ABO universe. To the seme, it's like he is given a second chance to capture the love of his life which he was not able to in their previous lifetime. This new and unique environment has given the seme new hope as he could now freely pursue the MC without suffering society's condemnation.

I really like that the MC is not a pushover and could totally takes care of himself even though his breed is supposed to be the weaker s*x. He is headstrong and defies the very definition of an omega. He is strong, feisty and highly spirited. Even all those alphas around him are wary of his presence. At times I did pity his devoted and loyal wannabe-seme for having to cater to his willfulness. But that guy is a super resilient and patience even though he knew his chances are rather slim since his target is a highly prideful heteros*xual male. The slow burn romance is frustratingly slow but I have enjoyed the seme's undying devotion and passion towards the uke.

Besides the main couple's lengthy courtship, the story is adequately peppered with some action scenes such as mech and airspace battle plus political conspiracies. It also has interesting side characters with their own set of romances to keep us readers entertained.

I gave this novel a 4 stars because there are some questionable plotlines and I find that the wrap up of the main couple's difficult courtship was too abrupt and hastily done hence a little killjoy there.

* Reviewed on 9th September 2018 (read the original Chinese version via TTS) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kyn
kyn rated it
Hua Hua You Long
August 21, 2018
Status: Completed
Sadistic lover. A devil with the face of an angel.
A twisted romance of brutal and dysfunctional relationship. Be ready for multiple stab wounds on your poor heart.

This book left a bitter aftertaste. Yet I am appreciative of the author's skill at manipulating the fragile human heart. I am also grateful for the author's effort to keep the story real. So real, it left an indelible mark on my mind. To me this meant the author is successful in his/her work since their main aim should be to grasp the... more>> reader's mind and mold it to their own desired shape. A book that is able to control the psyche of its reader is a winner. That's how I see it. And this book had subjected me to various onslaught of intense emotions of amusement, joy, fear, anger, sadness, disgust, frustration, anticipation, surprise, expectation and last but not least love. Yes, love even-though this is a very brutal romance story which I had nearly lost hope of finding a flicker of romance within its pages. Some might reject the ideal of romance in this story due to Jing's (seme/antagonist) violent and selfish way of pursuing love and also Lu Cang's (uke/protagonist) seemingly masochist acceptance of abuse from his lover. To be fair, I too could not exactly shake off the possibility of Stockholm Syndrome in play as I did find it hard to see how Lu Cang as broken as a battered rag doll could ever find in his heart to forgive Jing's incessant cruelty upon this mind and body. Nevertheless how ever twisted their love is, love is still the catalyst of their tragedious joining. Sigh such highly dysfunctional relationship this pair has. I am still worried for Lu Cang's future even upon finishing the book. Afterall, to serve the king is like accompanying a tiger. (famous Chinese proverb).

The version I read was in Chinese Text via TTS (text-to-speech). For the record, I have also read the manga adaptation up to volume no. 5 and am keen on reading its next installment. The artwork is not bad and so far the story sticks with the original novel.

* Reviewed on October 3rd, 2015
*:--☆--:*:--☆:*:--☆--:*:--☆--:*:--☆--:*:--☆:*:--☆--:*:--☆--:*
**Read via TTS in Cantonese** <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kyn
kyn rated it
Advance Bravely
September 2, 2018
Status: Completed
Awesome entertainment. Charismatic couple. Action packed story with enough mush and smex in the mix although realism might be tad bit wonky. The courting part was really fun especially in the beginning. That man was super persistent, super superglue-type, super patient, super caring, super doting, super passionate and importantly... a super beast in bed. That uke has no way of escaping such a perfect man and he even cooks like a 5-star chef! And and and looks like a supermodel. What more could you ask for? Come here my McDreamy!... more>> Muaks!

* May 25th, 2017 <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kyn
kyn rated it
A Round Trip To Love
August 22, 2018
Status: Completed
Makes me laugh, cry, angry and sad over and over again but also tremendously touched from time to time. Most of the story is pretty realistic, too realistic that it pains my heart. Yet there are some parts that is rather hard to believe and somewhat unrealistic. Overall I have enjoyed the story and it successfully made it on my hard-to-forget-story list.

The story consist of the love life two loving brothers with their respective lovers. Both of them aren't gay from the start but each fell in love with two... more>> men with entirely different personality and had contrasting views towards love. The eldest brother's lover is possessive, dominant, abusive, selfish and excessively obsessive. His rough treatment of his lover scares me sometimes. To me, he is like borderline psychotic. The second brother's lover is such a darling. Total opposite from that brute. He is charming, loving, understanding, generous, faithful and supportive.

The eldest brother is quite a doormat. He's soft spoken, considerate, self-sacrificial, filial, loving and caring. His meekness makes him a prime victim for abuse. Therefore pairing him with that total brute is asking for trouble. Hence their love life is filled with pain and tragedy, one after another. All thanks to that abusive jerk he loves so much.

The younger brother is very different from his older sibling. He is firm, assertive, carefree, with a vibrant personality. He totally dominates his boyfriend. It's rather cute seeing how his boyfriend rolls over to cater for his every needs. S*xually, he is the bottom in their relationship but totally top his boyfriend otherwise.

Truthfully I have enjoyed reading both romances but I did like the first story which is of the eldest brother with his brutish boyfriend more than the second story. Perhaps it is much more intense and soul stirring.

I found that the novel is not as cliche as the film-adaptation. Not that I disliked the film though cos I did liked it well enough to want to read the novel after it. Although I did bemoan of that unsatisfactory ending. That's why I am very glad I decided to read the novel because it had a way better ending and closure than the film. I need better closure especially if the story is one filled with tragedies.

I have read the Chinese version of this novel instead of the fan-translation in English. I usually prefers to read the raw version instead of translated version to get the full impact of the story.

* Reviewed on 2nd November 2016

***************************************

October 30th, 2016:

I've just watched the film adaptation of this novel today (A ROUND TRIP TO LOVE). Now I felt like I had to read the novel as well.

The two main actors are very handsome. I like my BL that way. Plus, the body size difference between the couple is exactly my cup of tea. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kyn
kyn rated it
Yandai Xie Jie No. 10
August 21, 2018
Status: Completed
3.5 stars for this cute gay for you story. That straight dude is pretty dense to be a successful author though it did makes him a funny and adorable guy. His boyfriend had to suffer tons before able to settle down with him. One thing for sure, his boyfriend would never ever get the chance to be bored with him. He is frustrating but endearing at the same time.

* February 5th, 2017
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kyn
kyn rated it
True Star
August 21, 2018
Status: Completed
I have thoroughly enjoyed this. And safe to say this book would definitely be on my to-reread shelf.

I like the maturity and sensibility shown by Tang Feng (protagonist). He is such a level headed and clever person. At times manipulative as well. His powerful lovers are no match to him. Tang Feng sure lead them by the nose. That's the funnest part.

Another element I love about the story is the interesting characters created by the author. Each have their story and unique personality. It is also fun watching the interactions... more>> between Tang Feng and his lovers and also his lovers' interactions with each other. Because they are all trying hard to get into Tang Feng's pants, lots of amusing things as well as dangerous adventures happened.

Tang Feng is a steadfast and hardworking actor trying to make it big in the dog-eat-dog entertainment industry. Needless to say he encountered lots of unpleasant incidents along the way. I enjoyed following Tang Feng's growth as an actor and a reborn person. I like how he stays true to himself and does not easily bow to pressure.

There are stories within this story. Mostly stories of films Tang Feng acted in. I think it's included to show us Tang Feng's ability as a talented and dedicated actor. Some of those stories are pretty interesting as well. I read this book in Chinese but if you are interested, there is a fan translation in English over here;. But the translation is still ongoing though.

By the way if I am to choose amongst Tang Feng's lovers, I would pick Lu Tian Chen. So who would you pick?

* Reviewed on August 20th, 2017

Note: I have read this book in Chinese, not the English translated version. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kyn
kyn rated it
ABO Cadets
October 15, 2018
Status: Completed
It's a military themed scifi fantasy story with mech combats and political intrigues. It is an enjoyable mpreg story with different sets of couples to ship. And I liked the slow burn romances plus those tender doting alphas towards his omega partner. All of the alphas seems to go above and beyond for the sake of their chosen omega lover. Feels good and I do appreciate that very much.

* October 4th, 2018

Note: Read this in Chinese via TTS.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kyn
kyn rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
September 2, 2018
Status: Completed
Around 3.5 stars. Not a bad story but I have trouble following a story with too many characters and places. The romance part is very subtle and you wouldn't even get s*x till very very late. The lovey dovey part was also at a late stage. It's a good story though. It's a supernatural theme with magic and fantasy in the mix. The story mainly focused on solving a huge mystery with a bit of crime investigations here and there while dodging dangers, slaying monsters and zombies. Lots and lots... more>> of zombies in this book. It's a first time for me reading Chinese-period-wuxia story with zombies in it. That's refreshing.

*Reviewed on March 29th, 2017 <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report