Report Review
11 Reviews


knightandstars
knightandstars
I Shall Seal the Heavens
September 28, 2016
Status: --
It was alright and interesting in the beginning until around chapter 300. Fights began to be incomprehensible and nonsensical, just a bunch of bull. The characters were interesting at first, especially the interactions in chapter 200 which were hilarious. All downhill from that point on though.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars rated it
King of Gods
May 2, 2017
Status: c104
An honest review by your average reader.

It's a mediocre novel. I don't know why it's rated so high. Descriptions of things especially the fighting are terrible.

Fight scenes goes as follows: [Insert name] uses [movement/offensive skill]. [Insert name rival] counters by using [defensive/offensive skill]. That's literally it. Sometimes the author will say they fight for 10 moves. But how? Dunno, just 10 moves. Or even sometimes the author will use "Ding. Deng. Tok. Bang." and the fight is over, I'm not even joking.

Plot: Main character joins sect/new master/city/ whatever it doesn't... more>> matter. There will be a 10 rank system. With usually Rank 1 guy as the main antagonist. MC will beat them all, become number 1 and then move on to a new place and rinse and repeat. SO GENERIC.

A good novel with good fight scenes would be something like World of Cultivation. That's my metric on measuring if something is good now. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars rated it
Undefeated God of War
July 20, 2016
Status: c98
I read all the up to chapter 98. The story and everything weren't that engaging for me. I mostly read this novel until now because novelupdates listed World of Cultivation as a shared universe, but that seems like a bunch of bullsh*t because nothing about these two are the same at all. Not the world building, not the techniques, or style of cultivation or organization. World of Cultivation is one of the best novels out there, this one is probably a work he did before he did World of Cultivation.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars rated it
Instant Death
December 15, 2017
Status: v2c22
Translations by Saku are 10/10. Understandable, readable and flows naturally. Sad Hoovy's while I appreciate him trying, his translation of the work is a 5/10 at best. Basically boils down to being a pain to read. Like his English sucks and some of the story especially fights don't make sense until it's all over.

Edit: Alright translations got better after awhile 7/10
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars rated it
Zhanxian
May 19, 2018
Status: c135
Cultivation/power ups, etc in this novel is pretty boring and doesn't make too much sense. I basically skip all the power up chapters.

Plot is alright though
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
May 12, 2017
Status: c115
Not dissatisfied because it's not a parody anymore after chapter 100, I'm just not enjoying it

All the fights are almost all the same

While the MC is smart in a sense he's basically the same as all other generic MCs.

Plot is meh, no downtime just all go go go. Boring is the final judgement
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars rated it
Emperor’s Domination
March 3, 2018
Status: c1154
It's pretty good to binge, if I was reading this with 3 chapters a day I would've dropped it a long time ago. Things move very slowly, and there's a lot of cliche's but the plot does eventually move forward.

I really like the characters introduced into the novel, especially the lore and history of the MC and people he trained over the countless years.

If you want to see how beautiful the girls are just google search them. Emperor's Domination has its own Wiki with the girl's pictures (Sometimes multiple different... more>> interpretation) but also be wary of spoilers! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars rated it
World of Cultivation
September 28, 2016
Status: c890
Best cultivation/chinese novel so far.

Sure, MC is greedy but he was greedy from the start, no surprise there.

Side characters get a lot of development and are periodically mentioned from time to time. Not like Coiling Dragon where they all just disappear. You know a lot of the side characters in WoC will be back at some point or another.

... more>> Villians aren't all one dimensional. Rivals can become friends in this novel and aren't all killed off

Update after chapter 890. Seems like the ending is super rushed. Many things are left unresolved it seems... And yeah a lot of things are stated instead of shown which is disappointing. First half 1-400 was 5 stars. Later ending a 3.5-4. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars rated it
Girl, I’ll Teach You Cultivation
May 11, 2018
Status: c41
It's like combining Cultivation Chat Group + Emperor's Domination in the sense that it's based on the modern world and the main character pretty much resembles Li Qiye from Emperor.

Not a bad read to be honest if you're looking for some great face slapping
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
knightandstars
A Will Eternal
May 8, 2017
Status: c1
A honest review by an average reader

To sum it all up this novel is pretty good.

Main character's main motivations and morals are clearly defined and he doesn't stray from them. In fact when he does go against them, it makes perfect sense not like other novels where the MC are "kind, naive, or innocent" etc. And totally act greedy (Prime example being MC from Perfect World. I despise that little sh*tter)

The story and MC in this novel are hilarious. He's mischievous in a very fun way that won't make... more>> you hate him. Story is really slow at first but really picks up. Also I like the side characters as well

5/5 <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
knightandstars
Maybe reading it isn't as fun for some people but the manga is a lot better but if you don't like the novel. Seeing the MC and her lovable charms is way better than reading it without the visuals.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report