Report Review
14 Reviews


kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Sha Qing
August 21, 2018
Status: Completed
Can't believe there's no review yet for such an outstanding novel (perhaps because it's relatively new?).

Oh God, if only I could give more than 5 stars...

It's a story about 2 heroes: there's this righteous hero - a young, handsome (duh), rising FBI agent, and his counterpart the dark hero - a serial killer hunting serial killers, worshipped and loved by the people.

They're hunting the same criminals, but want a different end for them. One wants to follow the law and put them behind bars, the other one wants them to... more>> have the same ending as their victims. Both for the same reason, they just do what they think they should do.

Despite not being able to be more contradictory, they find themselves tangled with each other with a different feeling than hate, as they should have.

There's also another critical character beside the FBI agent, the double-edged sword. You'll figure out along the story (very easy to notice I think, I had my doubt since the first case lol).

The plot is full of twists, with very good details and expression. It has American style of writing so I find it more comfortable to read and easier to imagine.

Each character is thought well, the author enables us to properly understand why they do this and that. Don't forget to mention how conflicted their feelings are toward each other, my heart ached for them! The feelings are actually very human, I believe them. There are many happy moments as well, until one point when things seem to have gone too far without no return.

The only things not fitting my taste are (1) we won't be able to solve the mystery in some cases due to insufficient clue given and (2) too much detail on other people's perspectives and stories which are not that significant and could even be removed at all with no impact to the story.

Other than that, I would say this is very well done by the author. This novel succeeded in pushing me stay all night to finish the chapters during weekdays when I had work the day after, when I normally have enough self control lol

The ending is highly satisfying, couldn't think of a better one honestly (don't worry it's not a tragedy!). At the 3/4 of the stories I just wanted everything to be revealed fast so they could find their happy ending, which they truly deserve.

You won't regret trying this novel, trust me ;) <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Don’t You Like Me
December 9, 2018
Status: Completed
It's fun and refreshing!

Definitely not a shounen-ai haha..

More than half of the story focused on the romance and relationship. The serious plots were like thrown here and there to balance.

... more>> ML is the typical perfect husband.

I would say that there weren't many significant obstacles, everything just went smoothly. Even where there was a hurdle, it was quickly solved, just like that.

There were some developments that I couldn't grasp, like why the ML just fell in love with the MC, considering the cold treatment he was receiving since Day 1. There were many misunderstandings at the ML's side, I think it's a bit unfair. This was brought up later near the end of the story, but yeah as I said everything just went smoothly it almost felt unrealistic.

Well, I still found it quite enjoyable for a fun, quick read :) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst
Gaze at the Scenes of Debauchery
December 2, 2018
Status: Completed
;____;

So heart-wrenching....

Terribly realistic..

I think this is a perfect novel when you're heart-broken and need to cry your heart out.

The ending was satisfying for me, although I for sure hoped for a different end. Kind of suspected it from the beginning.

The extras also complement the main story very well..

Totally worth your time!
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Ti Shen
August 21, 2018
Status: v2
Love it!

Love the MC, his attitude, his awesome skills and brain.

Love his friends, how strong their bond is and how they are willing to help each other to such a great extent.

... more>> Love the ML, his swift actions and honest love.

And love the story, it's amusing and very enjoyable.

I had to MTL after the translated part, which was very difficult for me as many sentences just didn't make any sense (unlike the other novels I MTL-ed).

I stopped at the end of Vol 2 after making sure that our main couple finally got together (mission done), and now I'm waiting until the translation is completed to continue haha.. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Thrive in Catastrophe
August 4, 2018
Status: Completed
A GEM!!

Just finished the final chapter and couldn't wait any longer to write my review lol

I read from Elpis translation then MTL-ed till the end cuz I was not patient enough haha..

... more>> The characters are intriguing, especially MC and ML (duh), but the other characters also play their roles very well and everyone has his/her own story that we can't just deny, that makes us understand his/her point of view and the decisions taken along the story.

The author really has an impressive skill in building the story, the characters' development and relationship. The pace is almost perfect, you'll never get bored. The suspense and the romance are at just the right dose.

What amazes me the most is how the ML puts such high confidence in the MC's potential abilities. He patiently led the MC from a lazy, half-assed researcher into a responsible genius that could not only protect himself but also save the world.

Try a few chapters and let the MC surprise you ;) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Till Death Do Us Part
June 13, 2019
Status: Completed
Oh my God, this is truly a masterpiece.

;___;

One of not many novels that I would love to give more than 5.

... more>> Even if you skip all of the smut parts (I did on my second reading), this is still a masterpiece with no less magic.

It felt so true, so beautiful, so heartbreaking and so warm.. The words pierced through my heart and I just felt like crying.

If true love is real, then this must be it.

Even when you don't believe in one, you will want to after this journey :""

I read this after Living to Suffer (what a ride too, that one *phew*). What can I say, this is a perfect redemption after such a tragedy.

I feel so much respect towards the author and the translator, the words are just splendid! Many times I found myself stopping to re-read some parts because I just wanted to let myself immersed in the beauty.

Will definitely read again!

Here are some parts where I felt so touched T^T

Spoiler

Yet, he had the strange feeling again that he was lost in space and time. It was as though he had been blindfolded as he wandered along the path, touching each blade of grass and each tree trunk until his destination, but when he turned around to look back at the way he had come, what he saw was not what he had pictured in his mind’s eye.

[collapse]

Spoiler

It was summertime in the dream. He was sitting with Ch’in Ching on the couch in the lounge; it seemed to be the scene of their first farewell.
However, what he said were the words he could not say the second time around...
“Ch’in Ching, I love you. Don’t leave.”
“But Shen Liangsheng, ” the Ch’in Ching in his dream retorted as though surprised, wearing a peculiar expression. “Why would I want that?”
He didn’t know how to answer and, indeed, felt there was nothing more to be said.
Oh, so that’s not what he wanted.
But if his heart was not what the man wanted, then he really had nothing else to give.

[collapse]

Spoiler

“You say I should go...”
Shen Liangsheng was on his knees like Ch’in Ching and was at a loss. Then after what seemed like minutes, he asked in a puzzled tone as though he really did not know the answer,
“But with you here... where else do you expect me to be?”

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Deceive
December 31, 2018
Status: Completed
I think the story has potentials, but I find it too short to let me believe in the couple's relationship and love...

It felt like I did not get enough time to understand their feelings and suddenly it just ended...
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Living to Suffer
August 28, 2018
Status: Completed
It's. So. ****Ing. Good.

And heart-wrenching.

T0T

First of all, the novel is beautifully written and the translation is superb. Every word is carefully chosen.

Second, the MC who couldn't escape his cruel fate and faced it with his unique characters. Couldn't help but empathize with him but still kept questioning the truth behind his words and his original intention.

Third, the ML who suffered no less. I was so struck by his words at the last chapters:

... more>>
Spoiler

"After you die, I will live on.

Every bit of pain you suffer now was given unto you by me.

And I have witnessed it with my very eyes and memorized every bit of it.

From this day on, I shall remember it every day and dream of it every night.

So that I may live in pain every single day for the rest of my life."

[collapse]

Oh, God.

Prepare a lot of tissues, this story will leave a deep mark in your heart. You've been warned. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
True Star
August 21, 2018
Status: v1
The MC is the typical "proven" brilliant person who has a rebirth opportunity: calm, indifferent, focusing on career and attracting a lot of males/females without doing much.

It's quite nice for a light, fun read. Not much tense and you will see an MC who is very mature and self-controlled in handling situations (no wonder considering his actual age haha).

Reading this still left me with a good feeling. I stopped reading because harem is not for me (well, at least I tried) :)
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Cold Sands
March 4, 2019
Status: Completed
Just, brilliant.

I had been saving this one because of the reviews, wanted to give it full attention when my heart and mind were ready.

I actually paused a bit after the MC and ML's first farewell because after that their story went independently for quite some time and the plot just went seriously real. I thought it would be boring until their next meeting and I would have to skim some parts, but I was totally wrong. The MC's character development was just so engaging with a sense of bitterness and... more>> loneliness as the main theme. I honestly sympathized with him.

The story-telling is really an art, every word is written beautifully, the translation is also extraordinary.

The story is ironic in some ways, since the MC was trapped into a situation far far beyond his expectation right after he decided to leave all of the good things he could have for freedom, that was never meant to be his. All of the good things he would love to come back to and yearn for until the end of his life.

The ending is terribly realistic. It is painfully sad, but it's the kind of sad that you cannot really complain about, the kind that you understand and have to accept involuntarily. I would not choose a different ending. Every "they could have..." is a violation of their sacrifice.

After finishing the story, it left me with such a lingering feeling.

Please trust me and the other reviews, this is so worth your time.

Note: you can finish without reading the first 2 extras and you'll still feel satisfied. Frankly speaking, I was quite disappointed about how the MC treated his loyal partner-in-crime who fought side by side with him, after the war. I believe this man deserves so much more : ((

Here are some heart-wrenching parts of the novel:

Spoiler

"Go." He passes me the reins and closes my palm. I look up at his bitter expression.

"You wanna live like the wind and I know you're not that obedient. You'd never just stay by my side like that. And I'm your enemy no matter how you look at it. We might've reached intimacy... and I could make you stay but your heart would be gone."

[collapse]

Spoiler

I squeeze the letter in my right hand as my heart begins to ache.

After years of overcoming hardships and obstacles and putting my life on the lines battle after battle, I have longed for someone to be there, for someone to understand me, for us to support each other with all our heart and share our feelings.

Yet the person I have chosen ended up leaving me.

[collapse]

Spoiler

My enemy's enemy is my friend.
I let out a deep breath and start feeling disgust towards myself.
Calculating and plotting every step of the way, abandoning my true self, becoming heartless, becoming coldblooded, tirelessly disposing of anyone who gets in my way.
And that includes the love of my life.
In the dark, gloomy palace hall, I tilt my head back and feel the warm fluids drip down my
face.

[collapse]

Spoiler

I'm not a good emperor.
I can't save everyone.
I'm tired.
It's as if I'm walking through a foggy night. From the skies above, an ocean of blood comes roaring towards me to drown me.

Where are you, Murong Yu? Why have you still not come yet?
I don't want anything. I just want you to come and take me away from this terrible nightmare.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst
Notes from the Grey Tower
December 20, 2018
Status: Completed
Spoiler

I am so disappointed with the ending : ( ( ((

I know that it's probably the best realistic scenario, but I just can't help feeling betrayed, so unfair..

The author said it's a happy ending, but not for me.

If I stopped at 8/9 of the story, I would definitely give it a 5.

Highly recommend this though, very very compelling!! However you may want to consider whether to go until the end or not.

[collapse]
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
The Daily Life of Being the Campus Idol’s Fake Boyfriend
December 1, 2018
Status: Completed
It is indeed funny, cute and sweet :)

I think the synopsis here is a bit misleading:

"He got himself (fake) girlfriends all throughout school, literally playing himself into being branded as a skirt-chaser."

since the ML seemed to be a very warm gentlemen in nature and perhaps was a bit clueless in younger age, remember he had never had his first kiss before.

Anyway it was an enjoyable quick read, recommended for those searching for a light read with which you can smile and say "awww" many times haha
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
War Prisoner
August 21, 2018
Status: Completed
Overall I'd give this only 2.75.

I waited 95 chapters and 2 extras long, and still didn't get what (I think) I deserve : (

The great general has this high pride and compassion towards the country's people, but I honestly couldn't find his capabilities to even save himself and write a different story, a story that is not that painful in such a long time. Maybe the author wants his characters to impress us but sorry, doesn't really work for me, I only feel pity. Well, maybe this is just not... more>> my taste.

Couldn't help but compare this to Cold Sands, in my opinion the latter wins. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kiraluvst
kiraluvst rated it
Honoo no Mirage
October 14, 2017
Status: v15
It's difficult to describe in words..

I really love the depth of Naoe's and Takaya/Kagetora's feelings toward each other, the complication, the angst, the mess. So full of emotion that I'm about to burst.

Totally recommended!
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report