Report Review
26 Reviews


kingtape
kingtape rated it
Immortal Mortal
August 14, 2017
Status: --
I don't know what the previous reviewer was reading, but the MC in this novel DOES offend everyone. He literally never knows when to stop, even to people who have literally never done him wrong.

its incredibly annoying and repetetive.

For instance, there is a scene where he books the only remaining hotel room at a hotel. I was completely expecting an arrogant young master to pop out of nowhere needing a room and then trying to arrogantly rake it from him.

Sure enough, it happened.
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Monarch of Evernight
April 29, 2018
Status: --
The author clearly has not planned this story out. At all. He clearly is just having random ideas every 2 chapters and decides to abandon his old idea to go for his new one.

"Okay, I think I'll have my MC be trained to be some sort of special ops soldier guy. Wait, but wouldn't it be cooler if he were a vampire? Okay nevermind, he's suddenly a vampire now, and then he leaves the continent. I liked that one book with that bartender... bartenders are so cool. Why not make... more>> him a bartender in this new continent? Oh, and I'll just throw in virtual reality for some reason too because virtual reality is cool."

Clearly this author has no clue what he's doing. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Legend of the Cultivation God
August 8, 2016
Status: c90
I saw the 5 stahr reviews and decided to take a chance with this novel. Who knows, maybe it's actually good despite being slow! NOPE. First 60 chapters is about him farming in his town. Then the next 20 are about him traveling, failing to get into a sect, and then FINALLY being able to learn the BASICS of martial arts. Throughout his journey, he gets bullied and completely accepts that. His character is naive, and he never takes the initiative to correct anyone or bother anyone at his own... more>> expense. Also, through all of that torture, you'd expect him to have at least some talent for cultivation. Nope. In fact, he's so bad at learning martial arts that his own teacher is shocked. 90 chapters in and I'm tempted to DNF. What a waste of time! In short, the author purposefully makes his character painfully average and at times extremely mediocre. Also, he makes him a dunce as well. There is no enjoyment whatsoever to be derived from reading this. Don't waste your time. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Womanizing Mage
October 1, 2017
Status: --
This author has never spoken to a female before.

This makes literally no sense. Nothing makes any sense. The characters act in completely retarded ways. I have VERY low standards for Xianxia and Xuanhuan stories, but this story has both utterly crap plot and utterly crap writing.

Honestly I wouldn't even approve this as a torture device. Too inhumane. I wouldn't want to force reading this garbage on anyone.
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Way of the Devil
December 2, 2017
Status: c29
Wow.

This kid is reincarnated into another world never having killed someone before. 10 seconds later, if someone so much as glances at him wrong, he chops their head off.

He's a psycopath of an MC. When his employees try to flee for their lives because they are afraid to die, they are killed one by one. This isn't "cool, " if anything it's stupid. Senseless, pointless brutality.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Advent of the Archmage
May 17, 2018
Status: c158
The author has not planned this out clearly at all. He changes settings at least twice for no reason because he didn't plan out how he would start his story correctly.

Also, everyone sucks the MC's d*ck. Hard. The MC is somehow amazing and super stoic and gives an aura of awesomeness even though everyone says he's plain looking af.

I can't even list the amount of cringy sh*t. For instance, the author goes on a one paragraph tangent fro the POV of a side character about how "cool" the MC is.... more>> All the MC did is say "hey can you stop shouting at the guard" to him when he was getting mad at the guard. Then this side character is like "WTF THE MC IS SO GODDAMN LEVEL HEADED HE IS SO COOL" and then I sh*t you not the author says "he would remember this moment for years."

Goddamn author. Jesus. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
June 28, 2017
Status: c757
The fact that this book only has a 4.1 overall rating is a travesty. It's simply fantastic once you get past the initial stages. The MC is rational, sometimes cruel, yes, but completely rational. He does what is SMART instead of the idiocy other authors pretend is "smart." This MC is more realistic, too, because he knows when to back down and when to attack.

Just read it. This is the most perfect form of a realistic book in the Xianxia genre. Still wish-fullfilment-y enough for those who want it, and... more>> it also breaks so many tropes of the genre in fantastic fashion.

I have not been motivated to write a review for a long time, and I am very selective with what I think is really good. This book is. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Pivot of the Sky
July 30, 2018
Status: c55
This novel does not know what it wants to be.

The author attempts to create a vast, rich fantasy world through irrelevant and pointless details and unplanned plot. This novel believes itself more sophisticated than it actually is.

Firstly, the writing quality is poor. Writing paragraphs of pointless exposition does not make you a good writer; it makes you a wannabe Tolkien. You aren't Tolkien. Stop trying to be him. Stop writing words just to write words.

I am perfectly fine with long form fantasy novels; hell, my favorite fantasy books are thousands... more>> of pages long. Wheel of Time has a ridiculous amount of exposition, but that serves a purpose. Here, it's mostly fluff.

This novel is trying to join the "Sanderson/Tolkien/Kay/Le Guin" club of quality fantasy writing while also trying to maintain the form of a standard Chinese webnovel. It does NOT go well.

All of these "5 star, 4 star" reviews speak to the readers' ignorance of quality writing more than it speaks to the actual caliber of this story's writing.

Just because you see big words and long sentences and lots of exposition does NOT mean this story is good. It's a mediocre attempt at great writing at best and a half-baked sketch of the author's overinflated ego at worst.

Secondly, the plot makes no sense. The author got so caught up in creating worldbuilding details that he didn't stop to think of one event would logically lead to the next. Sidequests pop up sloppily and pointlessly, and this author could build a firearms empire to rival the Winchesters' with all of the Chekhov's Guns he has lying around.

Don't waste your time. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Reverend Insanity
June 11, 2018
Status: c165
A refreshing break from myriad sh*t Xianxia novels.

This isn't a typical Xianxia, repackaging the same old formula with different names. The MC is truly evil, and he acts the way you'd expect a truly evil MC to act. He's most similar to the MC of Warlock of the Magus World in his ruthlessness.

Moreover, the world does not miraculously bend to the MC's will. If he desperately needs one specific magical treasure to achieve a goal, he doesn't just stumble upon it because of plot armor; he obtains it himself. Luck... more>> does not suck the MC's d*ck just because he's the MC, which is, sadly, almost unheard of in this genre.

The MC's brother, a foil to the MC, demonstrates perfectly what a cliched webnovel would do. By subverting expectations in later scenes which I won't elaborate on due to spoilers, the author masterfully separates this gem from any generic Xianxia. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Murdering Heaven Edge
July 19, 2016
Status: --
This story had such a promising start. Then he goes into politics for no apparent reason and it becomes boring... and it transitions in the most random manner. Ugh. It had so much potential!
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Castle of Black Iron
May 9, 2018
Status: --
This is not a masterpiece, like one reviewer said. Not even close. This is garbage.

The only reason I would read this is because the first 250 chapters are fine for killing time. They aren't good at all, but they're kind of like popcorn, you can just consume them and it won't be painful.

Sadly it gets REALLY sh*t after 250.

... more>>
Spoiler

He meets a girl who doesn't want anything to do with him. This author clearly has never met a girl before because he makes every girl some dandy flower who is incapable of fighting back against anything or anyone. The MC literally runs after her and tries to rape her. She could easily beat him up, but she chooses not to because she's this dainty girl, apparently. She just keeps running. Then the MC eventually somehow catches up and forces a kiss on her.

*facepalm*

This author clearly has not met a girl before.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Swallowed Star
September 25, 2016
Status: v7c32
5 Stars easily. This novel is something that seemed slow to me at first, but it's very good. Took me 2 tries to get into it, but once I did I never looked back. Like all IET's novels, this one is fun and about a straight-forward morally just character on his path to achieve greatness. Although unlike his other novels, this one's actually set in the future, not just a mold of standard xianxia in a future setting. It's similar, but there are refreshing changes. ... more>>
Spoiler

The story only truly picks up after the MC gets the Golden Horned Beasts' body, but thats not yet been translated :P it's ~v7c35. That's not to say that the prologue isn't good, it is.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Beast Piercing The Heavens
September 11, 2016
Status: --
Simple review: Beginning seems illogical as he gets beaten down more than a normal person justifiably should be, but past that, his rise back up is extremely gratifying because of the foundation. Just have to endure a couple chapters of being pissed off to enjoy that sweet sweet gratification. 4/5
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Chronicles of Primordial Wars
April 24, 2018
Status: v1c60
Too often, long-winded, snail-paced stories are associated with well-written literature. People think that the classics, like, for example, The Great Gatsby, or The Odyssey, or even Lord of the Rings, were all extensive, slow-paced tales.

However, sometimes a story is slow-paced for no other reason than the author squeezing in more dough from meeting his chapter quota with boring, boring, useless sh*t.

From what I've read so far, this is it. I am bored beyond belief. There is so much information and storyline that is utterly pointless and could have been circumvented... more>> early on.

Just because something is long and detailed does not mean it is good. This is not good. This is boring. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Praise the Orc!
September 24, 2017
Status: --
This novel is infuriating.

The MC is supposed to be a battle-hardened soldier, yet he is a complete moron when it comes to tactical and common sense. He makes decisions over and over again that literally kill those he values the most in scenes that are supposed to be "touching" but are really infuriating because they could have been avoided IF HE JUST USED COMMON f**kING SENSE.

Also, his idea of "honor" is literally just being a moron. He is supposed to be a WAR VETERAN but he acts like a child.... more>> He will literally rush into insane danger which he cannot possibly avoid without extreme plot armor on multiple occasions because of his "honor" even if it's because of something entirely trivial.

Utterly enraging.

Spoiler

people literally try to KILL HIM but he doesn't kill THEM because of his "honor" (some bullsh*t about how it's not honorable to kill a disarmed person)

You seem to be forgetting that this person just BACKSTABBED YOU and tried to KILL YOU!
Inevitably this comes to bite him in the back in the future. He does not realize his mistakes and continues to be a dumbass.

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Thunder Martial
October 19, 2016
Status: c14
It doesn't depart from generic xianxia too much, but does give an intriguing enough of a premise to keep the reader interested. At least for the first 14 chapters or so. Generic xianxia is a solid foundation in novel cultivation, but in order to comprehend the true dao the author has to branch out. I'll update my review once the author (or translator) is further along the path of novel cultivation.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Emperor of Solo Play
September 22, 2016
Status: v1c27
What's with all the hate? Honestly, this story is amazing. The point of these novels isn't to be shakespeare or create complicated but fantastic literature. These are translated novels, it's not like you can expect Jane Austen from them. No, the point of these novels are to be engaging, fun, and to capture the imagination and this has done exactly that. I was so immersed and engaged by this story that I couldn't put it down. 5 stars, hands down, at least from where I'm at. It's unique, as well.... more>> Great break from reading cookie cutter xianxia. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
Conquest
July 27, 2016
Status: c15
Beautiful. I usually don't review based on the first 15 chapters, but his "aesthetic view" really threw me for a loop. This story is original, which is something I've failed to find in all but 4 wuxia novels. Hilarious and written well based on the beginning, at least.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
World Defying Dan God
July 21, 2016
Status: --
This novel is probably one of the worst webnovels I've ever read. It fits all of the tropes of xianxia without any originality, and that makes it ridiculously boring. Also, the characters are all 1-dimensional af. Waste of time.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kingtape
kingtape rated it
True Martial World
July 11, 2016
Status: --
So good. The character development is decent, the plot is good, but the main thing that sets this story apart to me is that the MC isn't flashy. With the possible exception of the "10 sins" scene early on (no spoilers) he mainly keeps to himself, and when his power IS revealed, it's so satisfying. There are few deus ex machina moments as well, which is a plus. Overall a very good read.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report