Report Review
23 Reviews


kedar080340119014
First off this LN has 5000+ chapters. My personal opinion is that no LN should be this long. Its just gonna get repetitive with stereotypical characters appearing in different forms... sigh....

The development of story is quite slow. And in my opinion the novelty value of this new theme OP farming power wears off rather quickly. By chapter 80 it did not excite me anymore on how this farming power will evolve. But I guess its gonna be something off the charts in future (become too OP). The development of MC... more>> is too lacking in imo. This LN has probably the thickest plot armor I have seen in LN since I started reading LN. The whole world building is done by author in such a way that the MCs OP farming power in secular & CULTIVATION (later on in the story) world looks relevant. This in and of itself is a thick plot armor. I have read spoliers for later chapters till chap 1000. Let me tell u this the MCs farming power basically becomes tooooooo OP and its like one stop solution to all matters. There is not much subtle politics involved like Chu wang fei or nor is there an intricate overarching story here like transcending nine heavens. You would think that in the world where MC cannot cultivate and pretty much every other f**ker out there including kids in teens are more powerful then him he would act more humbly or be more cunning in his actions but NO. That would be asking too much. By later chapters MC just becomes a tyrant MC like usual xianxias such as ATG or MGA. He kills off millions just for going against him or standing in his way. I don't have anything against that but still he CANNOT cultivate he doesn't have any strength himself and he has balls to go against powerful sects from even the higher planes.... seriously like can this LN have any more thicker plot armor.... OP farming power... seriously LOL!

Don't get enamored by the synopsis first 100-200 chapters might bring some novelty value (to me this novelty value of OP farming power was exhausted after just ch 80 but some people might find is entertaining for more chaps) because apart from this OP farming power and its one stop solutions it does not bring ANYTHING new to the table. All the other characters are standard xianxia characters incl MC....
Worth casual read if u r awaiting chaps of ur fav LN. <<less
90 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Against the Gods
June 15, 2016
Status: c600
This is a horrible LN. One of the worst CN LN I have read in a long while. The LN had so much potential at the start but the author basically drove the LN to the ground. By chapter 300, it is just got repetitive and stupid. I found myself cringing while reading the LN. I have read it till Ch 600 and I advice you to absolutely not read this one.

What I HATE in this LN:
... more>>
Spoiler

1) So much potential initially. The LN had interesting thematic areas initially which seemed interesting. There was time travel, mysterious origin of MC and that chick in the pearl and so on. After reading it till ch 600, I can say this without doubt that it all turned absolute stupid crap.
2) The MC and the villians are all soooooo stupid. They are all basically pyschopaths and sadistic egotistical genocidal maniacs. The MC basically kills of 70, 000 innocents just because one of the idotic young master of the rival clan kidnapped the MCs grandfather and aunt (although they treated them nicely).
3) It seems all the good luck of all people seems to fall in hands of MC. He has phoenix blood, Phoenix Ode skill (high level skill), Two absolute heaven defying treasures which are just TOOOOO OP, he has evil god's blood (INCREDIBLY OP), he has evil god's seed (water and fire seed which make him 100% invulnerable to any type of flames/fire attacks from ANYONE as well as water based attacks invulnerability from ANYONE), he has dragon god's blood, dragon god's marrow, he has OP sword, skills and techniques from God realm from an OP teacher who resides in one of the MC's treasures and the teacher of MC herself is too OP. Apart from this, do not get me started on all the other different treasures and skills which just seem to fall on his lap and also his luck with the ladies. It too much.
4) The MC is basically a pervert, he raped a women who was basically completely defenseless and she then becomes an expert later on but then her fate turns out really pitiful bcoz of MC's rape gets her pregnant and she is crippled by her own sect master for going against sect rules and having relations with man (not allowed in her sect) and she is kicked out and is missing.
5) The MC is basically so powerful with his divine skills and abilities that he can defeat someone who is two whole F'ing realms higher than him (20 stages above him). Even though author repeatedly stresses that the difference between two realms is like heavens and earth.
6) the cultivation system is never really explained at all. How is earth profound realm any different from sky profound realm except that they have more profound energy??... There is almost no distinction between the cultivation realms except just more energy.
7) Author made MC so OP from the start that he is now struggling to keep him at lower levels deliberately so that tension can be retained in the novel.
LIKE SERIOUSLY, in chapter 500 or so, MC is rewarded tyrant profound pill which if taken then it can help the cultivator no matter which realm he is in to immediately break through to tyrant profound realm. Currently, MC in chap 500 or so, when he is offered this pill is already in 10 stage of profound sky realm and he can already kill 8th stage tyrant profound ream expert. If he had taken the pill, then he would have immediately become an overlord of entire profound sky continent and demon realm. BUT, he just gave away this pill to some no name relative who had appeared for no more than a dozen chapters for no reason at all.... WTF. I mean, its fine if author wishes to deliberately keep the MC weak to retain tension but atleast do it in more logical and rational manner.
8) Author always finds ways to justify the cruel actions of MC in good light which even a person who had IQ lower than 10 would not accept. I do not have any issue with anti-hero MC or even villianous MC. But author constantly tries to portray MC in heroic and just way which just feels annoying and frankly, it just feels like author thinks the readers are just plain stupid.

[collapse]
In nutshell, please do not read this LN. It is absolute worst LN I have read like EVER. What makes it worse is that the LN had so much potential initially which was completely destroyed by the author. <<less
88 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
A Step into the Past
May 7, 2016
Status: --
The story is quite epic in nature. Rather than going in to long review I will give my likes and dislikes.

LIKES:

1) Epic story which progresses over a time of 10 or so years with amazing scope and mix of history and fiction (one of the trademarks of Huang Yi)

2) Dynamic character and environment development. As the novel progresses, with passage of time you can see a change in personality, behavior, attitudes and goals of MC and various support casts and villians. Friends do not remain friends and enemies may... more>> become allies. The MC becomes more mature, cautious, cunning and intelligent as the time passes. From naive and horny young inexperienced soldier who was transported and permanently stuck in 248 BC he becomes a cunning, fearless and powerful adviser of the first emperor of the unified China. Cool sh*t. Most importantly, this change in personality is subtle not abrupt like ur usual xianxia or wuxia novels. The personality of MC and characters change with their experience which is flawlessly displayed in amazing manner. There are also some subtle deeper psychological and philosophical themes within the story. For instance the MC as a person from future knows the events that will happen from 248 BC onwards. So in a sense, he knows fate and end results of all people EXCEPT himself. In a sense, he also initially suffers from identity crisis struggling to find a place for himself in this ancient chaotic times with vastly different culture. There are also some philosophical debates here and there about ideologies and real world appropriateness of certain Confucian and Mohist principles. 3) Some of the most tragic moments I have read in a novel. For ex:

When Zhao Ya after years of yearning for MC finally come to Qin to MCs house. The MC is away at some campaign. When he finally returns, Zhao Ya is weak and ill and finally dies in the arms of MC. The scene described in that chapter is seriously heart wrenching. I personally felt some very complex emotions at that point. And so will u if u read the novel to that point.

4) Lots and lots of political struggle, espionage and sh*t like that.

5) Finally, one of the best melancholic and satisfying endings (atleast of all the LNs I have read listed on novel updates).

If u like the author’s writing style but did not like some of the themes in this novel then I advise you to try out Da Tang Shuang Long Zhuan. One of the longest LNs I have ever seen. It has more than 50 volumes and over 8000 pages long. Till now I believe 11 volumes have been translated on spcnet. Tv. Try it out. As for dislikes, I think initially there are frequent NTR scenes. I personally do not have any strong dislikes but I can understand how some may find it annoying. Additionally, towards the end the novel does seem like it has been stretched for slightly longer than it needed, especially in book 4. And apart from some minor plot holes here and there no real strong dislikes. <<less
80 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
The Desolate Era
June 7, 2016
Status: v42c2
This review will be quite controversial. I have read every popular IET novel I could get my hands on. How Should I say this.... The Desolate Era looks, reads and progresses like EVERY OTHER IET NOVEL EVER. There is ABSOLUTELY no divergence from other usual IET novels like CD, ST, Lord Xue Ying and so on. If you have read CD or ST then by volume 20 or so you will start to see some tremendous similarities to CD or ST.

... more>>
Spoiler

Objectively speaking only talking about Desolate Era, it is a decent novel till volume 11. Afterwards, it starts to become boring. The fights described in the novel are poorly done with just bang bang sfx and no imagination put to them at all. Secondly, there is lack of any proper story. And readers will start to feel this towards end of volume 24. Volume 24 is when the civil war in Grand Xia Dynasty ends. After that till volume 42 (till what I have read), there is no substantial story AT ALL. Its just usual progression with no real substance. The MC only wishes to resurrect his lover. But for this to go through 20 WHOLE volumes with 30-35 chapters in each volume is asking too much from readers. This is one of the flaws of all IET novels. They are usually too long with story development happening too far and few in between the chapters. This happened in Stellar transformations, Coiling Dragon and Lord Xue Ying. Plus, if you have read other IET novels that you will know that all the MCs are interchangeable. There is no difference in the personalities of MC in ST, CD or any other IET novels.

You could put Qin yu in CD or Linley in DE and it would hardly make any difference. Plus, the entire story is just about MC. There is hardly any interesting side characters. If you are looking for casual read go on ahead, the LN is OK till volume 24. After that it just gets progressively worse with author just expanding the power realms and world building as story goes on. Oh you think Daofather is most powerful??! Oh but wait till you reach volume 24 to realize that they are nothing but regular guys when you go beyond three-realms.... WTF...

[collapse]
<<less
53 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
May 7, 2016
Status: --
Rating 4.5/5

One of the the best xianxia novels I have read since I started reading LNs. Including CD or ST.

It has a really good mix of humor, romance, action and mystery within the story. Especially the bigger plot within the story is mysterious enough that it can incite curiosity in the reader. One of the best part of the novel is that unlike the usual xianxia novels where good luck and opportunities just falls in the lap of the MCs without them doing anything here the MC actually usually takes... more>> incredible and daring risks to come across fortuitous events. Additionally, some of the scenes and chapters within the story are just amazing and awe-inspiring to imagine. For instance, in the crow divinity tribe arc where Ji Clan’s Ji Nineteen uses Karmic Annihilation Magic to try and completely erase the karma and existence of MC. Just imagining such an OP magic and that scene gives me goosebumps. There are many such epic scenes which if you imagine and visualize are just treat to read. I really enjoy reading this LN. And that is saying a lot. Since I am not a big fan of xianxia novels. I usually like LNs with more drama or politics involved (if cultivation is added into mix than even better) such as transcending nine heavens, galactic dark net or chu wang fei and so on. So for me to give such a high praise to this LN means if u r a fan or even remotely like cultivation/martial arts LNs then u will definitely love this one. Enough said. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Stellar Transformation
June 10, 2016
Status: v18c45
The LN just got translated completely. I have read the whole LN and I must say. As with all the IET novels, ST starts off strong but stumbles in the middle and completely falls apart towards the end. The author is so FREAKING LAZY THAT HE LITERALLY COPIED THE ENTIRE ENDING OF THE COILING DRAGON IN THE STELLAR TRANSFORMATION (or vice-versa, don't know which one was written first...). Seriously guys, this is one of the most laziest writing I have ever seen in my life. The author literally copied the... more>> ending of the coiling dragon almost to exact same ending in Stellar transformations.

Anyways, the ST is interesting till book 11 (which is somewhere midway) and after that it just gets progressively boring as there is ABSOLUTELY no story. A trademark of pretty much all the IET novels. No overarching story, no interesting side characters to speak off and whatever side characters are there, they are always boring and plain. Even the MC is boring and plain. Seriously, its almost like MC is a plain sheet of paper or a robot. MC has same basic personality that every other IET novels has i.e. honest, hardworking, talented and filial. Nothing wrong with that but if u read CD and then read ST then it will just seem like u are reading the same novel.

ST and CD similarities:
-Same type of MC personality. Literally interchangeable.
-One or two 'pets'. In CD, it was Bebe and in ST it is that eagle and monkey
-Some sort of sh*tty story revolving around family like revenge for the family or protecting the family.
-The MC in both CD and ST become too OP halfway through the novel. BTW this is an issue with even Desolate Era and Lord Xue Ying.
-MC almost never suffers from any hardships or setbacks
-The story finishes off too quickly towards the end for both CD, ST.
-Literally the same ending with almost no difference
-Side characters which are forgotten later on in the LN because the MC basically becomes too OP compared to his friends.
I could still go on and on. But I think the review has gone on for too long. Anyways, if u have read CD dont read this one. Save yourselves some time. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
May 15, 2016
Status: c189
My personal rant:
This is my all time favorite Xianxia/xuanhuan novel even placing it above ISSTH which is my 2nd fav in same genre.

Disclaimer:
My personal likes may give rise to bias so keep that in mind. Personally, I like LNs which have politics, word play, action and backstabbing in the story. And this matches my preference.

Review:
I have read the spoilers and story summary for the 3 books. Currently the story is just in 1st book. So I will assure you that the story of this LN is... more>> interesting. I will not say that it is amazing bcoz its not. But it is definitely a good story with excellent ending. The story development and ending is definitely better than other Xianxia novels I have read.

The LN has a LOT of politics and subtle maneuvering and manipulation rather than just full frontal all guns blazing Gung-ho Call of Duty style action like ATG or MGA. Throughout the story (till now atleast), the readers feel like they are walking on a tight rope with MC and one misstep and u will die. This kind of tension along with occasional and excellently placed comedic outbursts in the story makes it an emotional rollercoster. There is always a sense of anticipation and tension thinking what is MC and antagonist going to pull out now from their bag of tricks.

There is something for everyone here. There is politics, romance, comedy, full gung ho rambo style action, excellent world building and good story. The plot armor is there but the LN is written in such a way that plot armor despite acting up occasionally is not annoying.

The Tag [Second chance] placed here is truly well deserved. The story is written in such a way that it TRULY feels that MC is living the second life to NOT making same mistakes again unlike....*cough*... ATG, TDG & other crap. Yeah.....:) I said it.... TDG is CRAP when put against this LN apart from ISSTH, Datang Shuang Long Zhuan and may be couple others, u can find few other LN which are better WRITTEN (note the emphasis) than TTNH.

Anyways, this is definitely worth the read for excellent writing, good story, good character development and excellent side characters, well written antagonists, good written female love interests, twists and turns in story. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
True Star
June 13, 2016
Status: c101
Oh man, this novel really shows the dark underbelly of the showbiz. The story starts off really strong however, I quickly realized that I had misunderstood the theme. I thought that the story, as the synopsis suggests will be a struggle of MC to rise to the top of showbiz world. But it is not. The LN focuses more on the weird and completely f**ked up AND sometimes forced type of relations between MC and other characters. The people applaud the pragmatism of the MC but to me it just... more>> makes me uncomfortable. You see too much pragmatism just makes it feel like the man has no feelings at all and this is where one of the major flaws of the LN is. The MC is described as a too much of a pragmatist and has a 'heart of steel' which just makes feel like a distant character and makes it difficult to connect with him. To me till now it just feels like 's*x for favors' part is what author concentrates on in the showbiz rather that showbiz itself. Its not that it is necessarily bad LN its just not something for me and its not because it is yaoi. I have read few yaoi before so I don't mind the yaoi part so long as the story is good. But the MC's thinking is way to pragmatic and makes him feel to distant and detached from everything happening around him.

Anyways, its worth a read. Especially if you like love-triangle-esque somewhat drama filled story. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Galactic Dark Net
June 7, 2016
Status: c90
Definitely worth a read. It is hard to dislike this novel. Till now, I have read very very few LNs with story revolving around thematic areas of patriotism. This LN gives a new spin to the survival theme. Our MC is an esper who has awesome SSS type power. Unfortunately, he is from Earth. Which is one of the weakest planets in the Galaxy Union (union of all the human planets which are called 'countries'). So there is always pressure from other bigger planets to colonize earth. There are a... more>> very few novels which can get your blood boiling when you read them. But this is one of those LNs. There is definitely some big overarching story here apart from the Patriotic 'earth vs other big bad planets'. This will probably be revealed later on. Still too early to say where the story will be headed. However, it is sheer joy to read this cathartic action packed bloody violent LN.

LONG LIVE TOUGH BONE HAN>>>>>> <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
World of Cultivation
May 15, 2016
Status: c201
For a xianxia LN, you could say that it is somewhat different and does not follow the regular path that usual Xianxia LNs do. This is mostly attributed to the unusual MC. For me, this LN is a bag of mixed good and bad. I like to think that I am a patient man and I really am. I like reading and have read a lot of fiction and non-fiction novels. However, World of Cultivation is too slow. I started feeling this right off the first chapter, however, I still... more>> read till chap 201 and will continue to read further. However, it still does change the opinion that WOC is just too slow. There are two reasons for this. Firstly, author tries to extend the length of chapters by elaborating on spells and techniques too much and it just starts to feel boring after first few times. Some of the chapters are just author rants about pill refining, formations and sword scriptures which I cannot make head or tails of. Secondly, 200 chapters in out of 900 chapters and still there is no trace of story development. I cannot understand where the story of the LN is going at all. Don't get me wrong, there is a plot. The main plot is to find the history of MC (who are his parents, family etc). However, after initial mention of this in first few chapters there is no further development at all till now.

If you like OP MC or MC who likes to fight head on with cultivation progress story then you will definitely not like this LN. The MCs cultivation development is very slow and he does not like to fight and when he fights, he does not fight head on. Till now the LN just feels like a slice of life Xianxia novel.

Even though I have dissed a lot on this LN. It has one VERY VERY strong point. That is the MC. The MC is hilarious. If you are smart and like subtle humor, then, you will enjoy following the shenanigans of MC and humorous situations he is put in to. His 'Zombie' face in certain situations is hilarious. I will not lie, the only reason that I kept reading this LN till now is for MC and this clever and subtle humor. This shows author is talented (at least in writing style if not story...). Hopefully, the author in later chapters can start unfolding the story little bit.

This LN is worth a read if u are patient reader and like this kind of subtle humor. Otherwise, my advice is to skip this one. All I can say is that, this LN is not for everyone. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Reincarnator
June 19, 2016
Status: c110
This novel started off pretty strong. It has some very unique elements which are, by no means new but still the author does give them a new spin which makes the LN an interesting read.... at first.

First talking about unique elements, we have a combination of time travel, apocalypse, dark undertones of humanity showing its dark side but still vanilla enough that people who do not like it too dark can also enjoy the story and finally we have game elements of leveling up done in a very unique and... more>> interesting way. All of these things give rise to a LN which has a decent potential to be an interesting read and making readers curious enough to see how the LN story will end.

Basically, the story of the LN is nothing new. The MC is sent back in time to just before the start of the apocalypse so that he can save the world. As I said, nothing new, but since there some unique elements in the story, it was interesting at first. But the problem is that the LN is just too fast paced. There is not a moment's respite in the story telling to properly develop characters and the world. The MC is on a very very tight schedule and he has to do all the hidden quests and stuff like that which can make him powerful quickly. But the problem is that MC, after 30-40 chapters just becomes plain boring. He has almost no interactions with other people, he is incredibly passive to everything that happens around him. He is just plain absorbed in furthering his own strengths. The fast paced action type story telling looked interesting at first and it genuinely felt that there was a tension and the MC was up against clock. However, the author just maintains this fast paced narrative without any respite whatsoever and after 50-60 chapters, the readers just go numb feeling... bored.

The LN is worth a read but I just got tired of it after 100 chaps.... <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Murdering Heaven Edge
May 14, 2016
Status: --
Just casually started reading it... waiting for new translated chapters from my other novels. Who would have known that I would stumble upon something so interesting?! Now, I have to say before my review that this is not one of the best xianxia novels I have read. However, it is still better than most.

Firstly, this novel does not bring anything new to the table at all. There is no innovative story telling here. Its the same old sh*t where MC is trying to find his parents and he stumbles... more>> upon a mysterious powerful expert master from higher planes (MC is in mortal plane). And so the story starts. So.... yeah ain't nothin new here. However, in every sense even though story is only average along with average characters it is still interesting to read.

One of the most interesting aspects of the story is about concept of secular world (monarchies/countries) vs sects and how the people of sects usually look down on secular nations even though they depend on these nations for resources (f**kers think they are immortals). And there is always this tension between kingdoms and sects and their interdependence on each other. This is an interesting aspect which has never been viewed in other novels. Additionally, at least for the first 60-70 chapters the MC is really adorable and naive. Then, his personality changes as he experiences the dark side of the cultivation world and realizing that the sects are not as high and almighty as he thought them to be and the secular nations are not as weak as he thought them to be. All in all the development of MC (while sometimes too abrupt) is still logical and there are some likable side characters which keep the things fresh. There are a lot of things going on in the background in the story such as internal political struggle in the empire, spies of the foreign nations and their struggles, pressure of the sects on the royalties and nations and that constant friction between sects and nations. Keeps things fresh and decently fast paced.

All in all, I would recommend this novel for casual readers who are not looking for something too serious. The LN is not excellent in any ways but is above average in all aspects (at least as compared to some of the pure crap like Martial god asura, Against the gods (ikr, but I have read raws, believe it sucks later on) and so on).... <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014
Terror Infinity
June 15, 2016
Status: v14c12
This is an interesting ln with horror, survival, action themed genre. I will only say this, if you like action packed novels with edge of the seat moments which make you go 'WOAH WTF'... then this LN is for you. As for the story, others have already elaborated on it before me so I will not reiterate it. I will only say that it is definitely worth a read. You will get hooked to this LN immediately, I guarantee it. Do not be mislead by horror tag. It is much... more>> action packed. But there are also horror moments here and there. There is also a decent romance element. In nutshell, there is something for everyone. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Long Live Summons!
May 7, 2016
Status: --
This novel is a special case for me. In a sense, this novel has more negatives than positives. But still, somehow, I like reading it.
Positives:
1) Hilarious situations which will make u laugh or at least smile. And there are lots of em.
2) The concept of using beasts as summons in combination with combat techniques is not a new idea but somehow in adding cultivation and martial arts to it, it gives a new spin to same old concept. Certainly not new but still somehow refreshing from usual... more>> xianxia crap.
3) Interaction between MC and harem members is interesting

Negatives:
1) Very Poor world building. Some of the things are too confusing. The relations between various kingdoms, sects and other associations is too vague. What the hell is Tong tian tower? Never explained. What are relations between the harem members? Vaguely touched upon. Who was poor guy's mother? Or Father? Never even touched upon (I know that they are probably a part of some greater plot point. But still some info would have been nice). In nutshell the world building is all over the place. Half of the characters that drop in have some deep relations with MC or his parents or his harem members but no info is ever given. 240 chaps in, we still don't know anything abt most of harem members or hell even the some of the family members of the MC till now. 2) No explanation on cultivation system: WTH is innate? How is different from the others?After all the battling and using grimoire multiple times against strong enemies along with his beast, why does he still remain at level 2 bravemen. His sister yue bing already went all the way up to Level 4 Hero. WTH!

In essence, the incredible lack of information on basic world building and characters and additionally poor explanation on cultivation system while constantly giving indication of some greater plot in background only gives rise to confusion rather than actually creating intrigue and interest. However, I would still recommend the novel for the enjoying the sheer antiques, bad assery and shameless behavior of MC for some laughs. Decent translation speed, excellent translation also add to the value. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Zhan Long
May 7, 2016
Status: --
For a story based around VRMMORPG, The story takes itself too seriously. It is quite obvious that the author, once upon a time was a gamer or has some knowledge in gaming. But considering that this is futuristic VR game with apparently 90% realism (don't get what it means) the entire VR game is designed in way in which MMO games were in early 2000s, promoting hogging of resources, boss stealing or loot stealing. Nowadays games are not designed like that. If u have played guild wars or new MMO... more>> games that u know what I am talking about. Anyways, author focuses on too many things at the same time and it gets hard to understand whether it is a slice of life or is there some greater plot behind the scenes. IMO this LN is a good filler material when you're waiting for some other LNs.

For better options within same genre (VRMMORPG or real world with game elements) I would recommend Legendary moonlight sculptor, Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari, The Amber Sword or Gate of revelation. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Forty Millenniums of Cultivation
April 15, 2017
Status: c97
Whew.... after reading the likes of Martial World, TMW, MGA, ATG etc... kind of similar stories centered around cultivation, I have to say that the author of this LN is more rational. I believe it is too early to pass on any judgement but I will say this. This LN is similar to pretty much all the other cultivation LNs (imo) with only difference being that it is set in a weird techno-cultivation modern setting. That is not to say that there is anything bad with it. I don't think... more>> there is a need to come up with unique story every time. However, one of the main strengths of this LN is a more rational story building. The power ups are not to far and few in between & it is not too fast as well.

Strengths:
1) Rational MC
2) Excelling Pacing
3) Not trying anything new but improving upon current Xianxia trend (which is perfectly acceptable to me)
4) Pretty good translation quality (one of the best I have seen yet. Kudos to translators)

Weakness
1) There is no indication of any over arching story line as of this moment (unlike world of cultivation or TTNH)
2) Weird techo-cultivation concept, while sounds good, imo it does not read good (difficult to visualize or imagine such a world leading to disconnect between author & readers)

Worth a read <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
God and Devil World
June 26, 2016
Status: c583
I will only give good and bad of the LN. GOOD:
1) Fun read to see how MC will level up and what items he gets from killing zombies and mutant beasts.
2) It is fun to see how the MC captures cities one after another and becomes overlord
Overall, it is just a plain and simple fun read.

BAD:
1) This novel shows how author views women. You get the feel that the author simply sees women as weak, helpless and fickle beings who will do anything for survival. The... more>> women in this novels serve only two purpose. Firstly, as s*x slaves, seriously, all the women are basically s*x slaves of sadistic and twisted man. Secondly, the women are harem members of MC. MC comes along, shows off his awesome powers and all the women fall over him left and right.
2) I have read ahead till chapter 583 and let me tell you, this discrimination does not just end with women. In the later story, the MC goes vietnam, japan and Indonesia and let me tell you. The vietnamese, japanese and Indonesians are portrayed as cruel, racist, sadistic, womanizing jerks. It almost seems like after apocalypse, only china is the good guy and the rest are just racists or supremacists. The author does it in a very heavy handed manner. I do not like this. But still as I said, I have a love-hate relationship with this LN. For all its major flaws, it still is a fun to read. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Tales of Demons and Gods
June 19, 2016
Status: c330
This LN just like almost any other CN LN started off strong but just fell apart very quickly after 200 chaps or so. The initial story according to the author is that the MC died in his previous life but due to some weird treasure he had on his person at the time he died, his soul is transferred back in time to when he is 13-14. The story from there on is that MC knows all the future events and he knows that the city that he lives in... more>> will be destroyed by a demon horde in near future and he needs to get stronger quickly to save the city. Thats it. That is the story that is suggested by author. In accordance with this purported story, the first 100-200 chaps are interesting (atleast for a CN Xianxia novel). The MC gets stronger, pursues his love interest (girl he loved in his previous life.. although it is quite uncomfortable, since, MC has a soul which hundreds of years old but still is infatuated by a girl who is 12 years), MC also makes his friends stronger so that they can fend for themselves and if possible help him (MC) in future. Soon afterwards, MC manages to save the city from the demon horde and discovers the main person behind the demon horde. However, afterwards, the story just goes downhill from there. MC enters a major sect in some other plane and all of a sudden, we have an expansion in cultivation realms and super powers which we did not know of. Then it just becomes a standard Xianxia LN.

The reason why I gave this LN only 2 stars is that the LN had a lot of potential at the start, just like against the gods. The story started of strong and just falls apart not even 300 chaps in. This is more infuriating that reading a crap LN from the start as, atleast reading a crap LN will not build up strong expectations. This LN builds strong expectations at the start even though it does have its flaws (such as poor side character and MC development, poor romance, average and dry writing style of author and so on... but lets be honest these flaws are present in... like 90% of xianxia novels... not like it is exclusive to this particular LN... after all it IS an LN not a mainstream fiction so we cannot expect an excellent writing style) but after building strong expectations it just crashes through. To me this is more infuriating and hence the low rating. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Evolution Theory of the Hunter
June 15, 2016
Status: c67
Imagine God and Devil world but only more light hearted and much much less dark than GDW. Thats ETH for you. The writing is average, no story to speak of as of now except for dungeons appearing across world and people who use 'skill' from 'skillbooks' dropped by monsters in dungeon. These people are called 'hunters'. The only difference in this LN and other such game elements themed LNs is that leveling here is much more difficult and level 5 is considered quite high and most of the 'hunters' till... more>> now are around level 3 at most (at least those that have been introduced). The MC has a somewhat powerful skill called 'effort', where basically, when kills monsters or other hunters, he gets reward points and he can use these reward points to increase his strength, speed, reflexes, defense, focus and such attributes. A powerful skill but nothing new here. Read this for fun. But expect nothing more from it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
kedar080340119014
kedar080340119014 rated it
Chaotic Sword God
May 7, 2016
Status: --
Its a good filler while waiting for chapters from your favorite novels. ... more>>
Spoiler

The author goes to a whole lot of trouble to make various plot points which can be then used for future story. However, they are rarely touched upon. For instance, the mystery behind the annihilation of the MC's mother's paternal clan. It is mentioned on and off in few phrases through out but it is always the same content. After it introduction to this plot point in chapter 40 or 50 it is hardly touched upon and now we are at chap 450ish. This is ridiculous. Secondly, the some where down the line, MC starts aiming to build strongest mercenary corp in continent but that too is hardly ever mentioned after that aim of MC is mentioned. Thirdly, in just one chapter, author completely blows open entire world building. I.e. When MC's soul and sword spirits merge in chap 300 or 320ish (don't properly remember). The Sword Spirits communicate with MC and tell him that they can increase in power after he absorbs chaos energy. But unfortunately, this world (i.e. The plane of existence in which MC is currently) has meager chaos energy. Also, the cultivators of this world are too weak in strength. This gives an indication that after MC becomes strongest in this world, he will probably ascend to some higher plane (my speculation) (and bear in mind we are already at chap 450ish). This is too long content without any plot development.

[collapse]

--->Worth a casual read if u r bored or waiting for translated chapters of ur fav LN. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report