Report Review
14 Reviews


justice41
justice41 rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
December 1, 2017
Status: c96
---At the time of writing this review @C67

One word, bullsh*t. Have you ever wondered what a movie with an interesting premise of hard-core fantasy only to become a cringy romance? This is it. This is basically Gamers! without the comedy. To make matters worst instead of 'death flag' it is becoming 'harem flag', that I do wonder that why authors think that this is always good for novels, aside from fanservice that will become frequent. /sigh

A lot of plot is being left behind the scenes... Like really a lot. Introducing... more>> an important character only for them to be washed away when the plot demands it, awful writing there... And things that are already said is always being retold that the Author thinks the readers are bollocks that can't comprehend the novel. Redundancy at it's finest... :U

So here's the thing. This novel is a miss or hit. Either you'll thoroughly enjoy it or suffer the same pain as I did.... And also the MC is here is quite dense, and is on his way reaching the League of Dense MCs.

---At the time of writing this review @C96

After powering through till C96,

Spoiler

Everything fell apart. Plotholes here and there, characters getting washed away further, and finally.... the story broke. From a hard-core fantasy to cringy romance, and now to a sh*tty adventure trope.

[collapse]

One of the big plot holes that went deep in the abyss
Spoiler

In Harold's mind, Erika hates him. Because she thought that he killed Carla and Collette (the servant and her daughter), when infact he saved them from execution. Although this was kept in secret, Erika one-sidedly investigated and found the truth, but she did not revealed it to keep Harold's effort and pride. After a long-long chapters, Collette and Co. are in the Sumeragi Household for a particular matter. There, Harold, Erika, and Collette are present BUT IN WHATSH!T BULLSH!T, , , Harold didn't even mind Erika and Collette seeing each other..... LIKE WTF,.... and afterwards he still thinks Erika hates him due to that event (rumored killing)... yeah the hell, Erika saw Collette alive infront of Harold, but like nothing happened..... /sigh Cr4p

[collapse]
... a long rant... but anyways, if you think the premise will continue with these background schemes and dealings.... but no.. it wont..... like the story narrates itself, It went out of the flow...... <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Outaishihi ni Nante Naritakunai!!
October 21, 2017
Status: c55
I've read a lot of r-18 novels before, some of them are really hardcore, but albeit they're much better than this. Reasons may vary, mostly due to my taste but let me point some things that are bothersome.

1. Male protag. is so overly possessive. If you have read ' The White Cat That Swore Vengeance Was Just Lazing on the Dragon King's Lap ', you'll more or less understand the implications of this over-possessiveness. And the fact that the first reasons for him liking her is the looks and virginity,... more>> (s*x prowess?)... and lol how deep for a romance story.
2. Female protag. is an ideal Cinderella/Princess. She wants to prevent or voice something but is very indecisive to do so, and is always written as a 'damsel-in-distress'. (Why do ****ing! competent female lead are always in those dark stories.)
3. This is R-18, of course it will contain 'sex' stuff. But I daresay better watch a real p*** or hentai if you just want to know the s*x scenes.
4. Plot kicks-in at later part which kills most readers that come to see a good plot writing. (Only Akuyaku Tensei has the capability to start the main story @ C204 but still hook-in readers... It's good, my ideal female protag.)

This is a fluffy Cinderella r-18 novel without deep intrinsic plot but nor is an edgy one.
The time of this writing is @ C55. Review may be changed depending on further developments. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
March 15, 2017
Status: c297
Yes, this novel just fits right into those who grinds and digests long thoughts. It is not for those that wants the MC to conquer the world in just one chapter. It is not a wish-fulfillment series even. The initial start is a very cliche one, and with a bland taste at that, but what makes this interesting is on how the author takes the development into a natural and almost realistic point of view. What it means to hold power when you are just a ****ing average Joe Schmoe.

And... more>> something to mind... it's not a harem troupe that wants the MC's D constantly but his servants has actual personality... something that other acclaimed harem series always don't have.. and it's not even harem to begin with. That cliche falls to TrashMoki, the other summoned hero, your wish-fulfillment character that was slapped with the Reality Train by the MC.
Spoiler

A keypoint to understand the story is that the MC is not a human but a hyuman. So in a sense it is not just an isekai but a reverse because the MC is one of the otherworld's denizen to begin with. His immense mana is just the same on how Goku trains hundreds G levels but on a daily basis.

[collapse]
AS of CH.290
This novel already blew my mind with its narrative aspect. Though if wants the story to get fast, it does, but also in reverse just like the ***cough*** Lorel Arc which is darn long and not even half-interesting. And yeah. The MC's character development is just so darn brilliant. He's not a hero nor a hell-bent fiend. He is a pure, unstable double-edged sword. A third power in the world instead of the cliche. And to boot, a polarizing MC. Someone you'll hate and like constantly.

All in all, this is by far the best isekai novel the genre has to offer to me. It has the right amount of gray areas to explore, and the gritty and grime world like ours that is both fantastic and sh*tty...
Just Author-san, don't make these seemingly long and boring arcs often.. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Only Sense Online (LN)
July 31, 2018
Status: v11
Gender-bends are perfectly fine if handles carefully... but in this novel it serves no purpose than to self-insert a moe-blob scene and iterating sh*tty scenes.
... more>>
Spoiler

MC is a man in real but becomes woman ig... OK.. but MC always says "I'm a man" yet his girl power beats every other ****ing girls, acts like a girl, looks like a girl, story is centered in his game avatar... WHAT'S the point of being man in real anyway!.

[collapse]

Anyways, I'm a hardcore MMORPG player and mainly built for crafting, support, smith, and merchant that's why I find the novel really fascinating even tho some game mechanics are missing (HOW COME people can easily go into your store and touch things. NO restrictions? THEFT insues)... And since the MC is also built in those chars. I can more or less relate but seriously...
Spoiler

after become a one-of-a-kind support (AoE Enchanter, Range DPS which is rare, Consumable tank) you still don't know why people want you in their guild / party?? Is your brain that small? And even more always saying "I'm a support / crafter. I'm not strong. Why me?" COZ YOU'RE A ****ING SUPPORT! MORON

[collapse]
And the fact that our MC here is so ****ing re**** he almost beats Shirou (FSN UBW) to their chronic hero syndrome.... I get it you're kind and an all caring person... BUT SERIOUSLY
Spoiler

Giving away recipes nonchalantly, rushing in to help newbs when there's PKs and the cost-performance is greater, and an absolute re**** for always showing you're sense build. THE GAME IS TITLED 'ONLY SENSE ONLINE' and purposefully wants you to find your only and own build yet.... auuuugh.

[collapse]

Its such a waste that this novel is not being taken seriously with it's underlying narrative potential. It feels like a 10y/o author's self-insert fantasy, to back with a childish illustration really cements it. I can only give it a 3 at most even tho I liked the craft-ton infodumps and most of the time I'm just skimming through the boring fight scenes (author-san MC is crafter not front liner, why feature sh*tty fights). Maybe you can like it better than me. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Monster no Goshujin-sama
February 11, 2018
Status: v3c4
5 / 5. Amazing. It's not perfect though but just the story hooks you right away.

    • If you're here for flashy action scenes, you won't get those here.
    • If you're here for awesome OP MC and party members, you won't get those here. In fact those are too much clich nowadays so why ask for another wish-fulfillment?
Particularly the MC is my cup of tea. I always got my brain shot when other MCs are so trusting but here the MC is on a different level. He has PTSD on humans and that's what amazing, he's neither a hero nor anti-hero, he just have a big sense of doubt on humans since humanity itself is.... you know... :D. The MCs and his party's character developments goes side-to-side as the story goes on. Yes, they're not sub nor flat characters. All of them have weakness and flaws on which they complement each other that makes the 'monster family' a real family.

Also the MC is not a stupidly OP edgy teen protag. that you can find anywhere nor his party members aren't OP either. This makes a good hook because they are in a survival and tribulations in another world that makes the story credible. The vagueness of the MC's power or "cheat" as he calls is also a nice take. While he is a 'Monster Tamer' not all monsters are tamable. Some are even hostile which makes the MCs power even subverted and really weak in physical combat.

-At the time of this writing: V2C15

I hope it gets picked-up by some translators. It's a good ride :D

Spoiler Alert

Spoiler

Since nobody did picked-up this series, I powered-thru few chapters. And just like I said the MC is neither a hero or evil lord. Interesting developments such as another transference having the same cheat as out MC, tho different because it's "obedience/subservient" not "companionship/loyalty". Learning more world-building and the MCs character development, like his trust issues and human relationships.

[collapse]
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
I Was a Sword When I Reincarnated (WN)
June 15, 2017
Status: c71
2/5: Near Average
Premise is good, quite unique and striking MC (Fran and Teacher) but why I rate it 2/5... well sort of it has few issues.. mostly on the author....

First the first few chapters was way too fast of a development for the sword, even though the intention was to be an OP, it's pretty plain and dull. No further explanations and just poof... OP sword

Second might be to the inconsistent characterization. On analogy, if you portrayed a stoic, anti-social like MC (Fran) you should stick to it while... more>> adding few char. developments as story progresses. But.... this doesn't happen here. It's quite the reverse, OP sword gets more char. dev. than Fran.

Lastly, unconceivable setting. If you introduced a society with political plots and manipulation, and have an MC with anti-social and trust-issues (once a former slave), be thorough with it. If I'm the OP Sword "

Spoiler

Why the hell would I say to reveal that I'm an intelligent weapon to someone who I just met a day ago, quite bullsh*t. Didn't I came to thought that person would secretly say it to the higher ups? Way too trust in this kind of setting.. Why the hell would I openly enter the scheme of the Guild Master when I have felt it moments before... Why oh why for the sake of plot it was made like this, damn author.. oh went 4th wall break.

[collapse]

So as of now it would be 2/5.... don't get me wrong.. the series is good, even the manga (though it felt rushed).. but it lacks careful writing preparation and suffers potential plot holes and no end goal, rather feels slice of life than adventure...
Nevertheless I highly recommend it for a good read... <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
5/5. Glorious misunderstandings, and just with that the story is superb. The MC is not OP nor genius nor has any superpowers, but whatever he does, by means of coincidence, is misunderstood as a prodigy. And that what makes this novel great.

... so stop reading and this is not for you if you want to read a mind-breaking hardcore ultra-nationalistic novel, because this one is full of loopholes (and to one review made here, you just shown that you never understood nor read the genre of the novel, stop... more>> fooling around, this is a "misunderstood protagonist" kind of novel, facts are just a matter of coincidence). <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Seirei Gensouki ~Konna Sekai de Deaeta Kimi ni~
March 25, 2019
Status: c128 part1
This series is so full of sh*tload damsel in distress pile of garbage that should just be burned..... No? Well I just summarized the novel in one sentence..... Isn't that great?

Like seriously... The character, plot, world building all feels too much artificial to read... If you can have a CringeFest this is the perfect novel to read..
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
November 30, 2017
Status: v7c14
A miss or hit novel you'll unusually find. Either you'll drop it or like it. Has a fairly good narrative foundation and fleshed-out characters (except for the MC :l)... Read the synopsis and read other reviews but long story short this is Overlord in the premise but flipped inside-out.

> OP MC that is skeleton outside but something else inside
> NO OP NPCs, sadly
> MC has more humanely thoughts than other similar MC (I mean stealing stolen goods. xD)
> The story has no overall goal... more>> and is composed of small Arcs (pun intended.. haha MCs name is Arc)
> Hence the plot is not contained but is loose, though that justifies the adventurer-type the MC is.

Overall this is either a pop or flop novel in your tastes.
For my personal enjoyment its fairly good, but what made it 5 / 5 is that, Ponta is the real MC and why I keep reading this... haha ~kyun~

Wait... The MC is OP but just in brute force.... I mean in pure practical swordskills he's fairly a novice. Which I found amusing since it subverts some OP MC tropes and is able to introduce characters that can dominate him in pure skills. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Magi Craft Meister
June 11, 2017
Status: v6c4
3/5. Average

Story-wise it is a good and refreshing one but the main problem of this type of novel is to the MC. If you read further and further, you'll only get annoyed and annoyed more on how the MC acts. He's like a walking genie that doesn't even mind his surroundings and can't read the air, how he just whimsically spreads new technology without minding the repercussions and effects it would make. It would had been better if the MC is like Shiba Tatsuya from Mahouka or Makoto from Tsuki... more>> ga.

It is good to do charity work but sometimes, in an isekai that like this doesn't go well so easily. People like those are the type to be easily manipulated like our MC here. It's very cringy but at least there is her automata to save the day. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Yuusha Isagi no Maou Hanashi
February 24, 2017
Status: v3c10
Wanting to rate it to 3 for just another rather generic isekai-theme but rather, past few chapter, its plot-twists are superb. The introduction progresses slowly that you may feel to drop it out, but past that point, the world goes rotating. MC is not such an ass harem-king, though he's "a popular one". MC is also OP but not a world-breaking fag.

... more>>
Spoiler

MC is a former hero which had him resummoned on the demon's side but after 20years of his hero time. Reluctant at first on what he will do. Wants to find his former companions / first love, only to find out that his first love invades the demon castle. He has no choice but to stop her to protect the demon's side.

[collapse]
After passing out this point, the hype goes on.

There are some comedic parts, but the tragedy is what really stands out. The overall world-building do takes time though. Aside from that, it's a good reading material.

Recommended to those who seeks a hero-type MC that will experience some tragedy. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Murabito Desu Ga Nani Ka?
August 5, 2018
Status: --
While I liked the characters having a real characterization and not just blank slate to project on, I cannot say exactly to the story. Multiple reincarnations for the sake of plot is not necessarily a good idea due to messing with timelines if not handled carefully.

A Deus-ex-Machina granting powers, isekai tensei MC and a damsel in distress heroines every arc is just as cliche as it can be. Also weakest job turning into a badass job has already been done already.... cmon
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
justice41 rated it
Shinwa Densetsu no Eiyuu no Isekaitan
February 7, 2018
Status: v2c5
3/5: Fairly Average
Story and premise was interestingly good. Having a summoned hero become an emperor, went back to Earth then transported 1000years afterwards again. And the MC is not self-delusional that thinks murder is always bad but instead is a war maniac.

However the MC is extremely bland when it comes to dealing with females. Like how he easily becomes flustered with them, becomes beet-red when sees them naked... and even after he already remember who he was, he's still you're average edgy Japanese teen protagonist. Cmon be the badass... more>> Emperor already !!!

The world-building is also slow and bad. The first volume is disjointed and quite confusing. And MC feels like a side-mob in the plot, like how he gets badmouthed and trashed by others, which might be OK in the beginning, but should be having his attitude and pride be a bit more later on (which never does).... Then again a Jap teen protag.. -_-

I'm still holding for a while to read this. I hope it gets good, but might drop sooner or later. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
justice41
This series is a hidden gem. A good, decent and well fleshed-out setting. However it's too much verbose, redundant and unrelatable. Also sadly to say that the MC is incomprehensible as you get started from the first chapters, it's cringy. Not what you expect from a person that lives in a far future from ours. His hindsight is too shallow. Its like the human logic of reasoning has been removed from this series. And what do you usually expect from a jap. novel?
.... jap beta MC

Although aside from that,... more>> it's a good read for someone who waits for their fav. novel to update. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report