Report Review
8 Reviews


jadelin
jadelin rated it
Number One Zombie Wife
June 30, 2018
Status: Completed
Once I read the first few chapters of this by polarbearadise, I found the Chinese raws, and started MTLing -- and I couldn't stop for a week, despite there being 376 chapters. It's THAT amazing. The story, in a way, reads in a similar style to 'Rebirth of MC', but the ending is one of the best danmei endings I've ever read.

The MC and ML don't fall in love right away, given their circumstance described in the first chapter, but the romance develops gradually. There's a lot of focus on... more>> worldbuilding and plot related to abilities of various characters, and the 'villains' aren't flat, 2d characters but people with motivations and tragedies in their lives. Also, once the MC and ML fall in love with each other, they are ultra fluffy!

Spoiler

The MC also later has a baby from ML's 'red bead'. Also, towards the end, Zhàn Běitiān (ML) finds a way to turn Mù Yīfān (MC) back to a human with a vaccine. Unfortunately, it brought about a reoccurrence of his bone cancer, so Mù Yīfān ended up dying shortly after their marriage.

After Mù Yīfān's death in the story world, he returns to his 'real world', but Zhàn Běitiān--with his spatial abilities--finds a way to cultivate and cross the worlds to Mù Yīfān's real world. He ends up being 'reborn' without his alternate world memories in the original Zhàn Běitiān. Later on, after protecting Mù Yīfān from a car, Zhàn Běitiān ends up in a coma where he gets his memories back. There's a bit of drama with the MC thinking his sister and Zhàn Běitiān were engaged, but it turned out to be a fake engagement. It turned out that the original Zhàn Běitiān and the story Zhàn Běitiān were the same, and both loved the MC. The MC actually subconsciously also always admired/loved the ML, but never fully realized it until entering the story world, due to their past rivalry. Zhàn Běitiān helps the MC avoid any drama by paving the way for their families to accept each other. The ending is super, super sweet and romantic.

Also, I didn't summarize the 'ending' in the story world since the fighting and plotting is pretty large-scale, and it would take many paragraphs to describe. Just trust that it's very awesome.

[collapse]

I hope the translator sticks with this all the way to the end, since the ending is mindbogglingly good. There's a lot of characters, and they're very well written as well. I half predicted what would happen, but the other half I totally didn't expect. :D The story is pretty epic and totally worth your time. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jadelin
jadelin rated it
Palace Full of Delicacies
June 23, 2018
Status: c1
Prepare your heart for some massive fluff... and CATS! There will be some angst and hardship in the story, but this story will feature a lot of sweetness, delicious food, and tons of cute. I've MTLed a bit of the original novel, and I'll update this review more as the wonderful translator releases more of this delicious story.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jadelin
jadelin rated it
The Aphrodisiac-carrying Man
July 22, 2018
Status: Completed
This is a VERY meng story! Though it is short, it is utterly sweet, fluffy, and a bit smutty at the end. I'm so excited that 自带春♂药的男人was picked up! The title is a bit clever in Chinese, as without the "♂" it is translated as The Man Who Brings Herbal Medicine, but if you take it away, it becomes An Aphrodisiac Man (literally, as Bringing Aphrodisiac Man).

The main character is a tsundere, proud uke and yes, the seme is definitely gentle and super, super tolerant as the summary above mentions,... more>> LOL!

Regardless, the main character, Ling Maoer (凌猫儿) is a Siamese cat spirit who poses a a model for his day job. One day, he meets a photographer, Mu Mu (穆牧), having a smell that is utterly irresistible. Later on, Ling Maoer finds out that Mu Mu lives closeby. Mu Mu's scent bothers him so much, that after the photoshoot, he turns into a cat to sneak over to find out the source of the smell. Mu Mu, unaware that the cat he finds is the very model he's been collaborating with, spoils the cat to bits.

I won't spoil too much, as there isn't that many chapters--but you can be assured the ending is happy and very, very smutty. There is a surprising twist that I didn't see coming though!

Spoiler

Mu Mu turns out to be a Silver vine plant spirit (Actinidia polygama) that is known to elicit euphoric response in cats.... This is why the ending is smutty...

[collapse]

Also, it's worth listening to the audio drama which is... amazing. You can find the link to it here: http://blreview. tumblr. com/post/172009474507/ <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jadelin
jadelin rated it
Reborn As a System
January 25, 2018
Status: --
This is an amazing start for an amazing danmei/BL series that has a pretty epic plot. The quality of the translations is also very nice! I don't want to spoil too much other than saying (and you know from the story summary) that the main character is the System and the ML is a bit yandere, but sweet. If you're curious, the summary spoilers are here:
https://forum. Novelupdates. Com/threads/reborn-as-a-system-bl.51880/
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jadelin
jadelin rated it
The Royal Fiancé -White Prince-
June 19, 2018
Status: Completed
Wow, this is one of the crappiest romance interests I've ever read. Kurosaki basically treats the Shiori like a blow up doll. I can read stories with mostly smut, dub-con, or even some non-con -- but this one has a main romance interest that doesn't really care about the main character's low self-esteem or psychological issues.
Spoiler

Any time the main character attempts to resist in any way against the him, Shiori essentially forced into s*xual submission and emotional abuse/manipulation. Regardless of whatever justification in the plot the author wrote for his behavior (which is barely any), it's a stretch of belief that they could have a supposed happy ending.

[collapse]

The manga 'The Royal Fiancee', which Kairi is the main character there -- at least he was treated better -- less threats / forced behavior. That one is more worth reading. This story, however, depends on your tolerance for psychological abusiveness.

I would have at least liked the story more if the Shiori made the Kurosaki grovel for his behavior in some way.
Spoiler

Supposedly, everything the Kurosaki did was 'justified' in the Shiori's eyes somehow, wrapped up in Chapter 7.

[collapse]
The relationship dynamic is too messed up. The translation (the edited parts) are fine.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jadelin
jadelin rated it
I Want To Enjoy A Country Life!
January 7, 2018
Status: c1
Read this more as BL smut, and you won't be disappointed. Don't expect serious plot or characterizations, but the s*x scenes are pretty amazing.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jadelin
jadelin rated it
Runaway Guide
December 29, 2017
Status: c2
So far, the story seems to have much promise; the MC (Ji Ran / Xi Wei) is an interesting character who seems like he would be the alpha male type, but very quickly in his reincarnation, he's established as an Omega in the new world. I suspect his 'assistant' might but the other guy reborn as the alpha born on the same day.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
jadelin
jadelin rated it
Anata no Shiawase wo Negatteita
August 29, 2018
Status: --
This short story has a twist in the end that is rather sad. That being said, it's a wonderful short story that left me wishing that the author had written a continuation to this story. I definitely want to read more! The author took a slightly different take on an omega protagonist's situation that I hadn't read before~ 😭
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report