Report Review
114 Reviews


ike_00000
Plot: Two parties meet across space and time through a "game" called Exclusive Lover. One is a young and struggling novelist while the other is a great General of an interstellar empire. The mysterious game reenacts the general's painful past as a laboratory experiment; except this time, the young novelist also appears in the role of one of the Orphanage's cruel employees.

Oh my goodness, too much meng. Tbh I didn't really understand the synopsis but read the story anyway, and so far it's worth it. Excited going forward.

Thanks for the... more>> translator's hard work! <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Lucia
June 18, 2019
Status: c110
Quite honestly, I don't know why the reviews are so low! I've read the complaints, but I got a different impression from reading the story.

I actually really like the ML; he's cruel and thinks little of killing people, but the premise is a lot of his madness is due to his genetics, and he himself even hates that side of him and wants to end his entire lineage. You see him changing as he goes through life with the MC (although frankly I feel like it was a biiit fast,... more>> and the catalyst was that he liked her body, but it's not that bad). Honestly, the whole thing with his genes and thus incest needs to happen for his lineage to continue is weird but it's easy to ignore since it's not the focus of anyone's relationship. He is possessive, as MLs in novels tend to be, but personally I love such characters as long as they don't go overboard. Furthermore, I really appreciate the way he handles woman; yes he's arrogant, but he's made it clear what he wants and he doesn't and he never forces a woman to follow his way. If they fell in love with him and he couldn't return the feelings, I think it's better to just cut it off right away.

I also appreciate his attitude in bed. The novel emphasizes, especially during their first night, that he hates forcing a woman etc. Although a lot of the scenes highlight the MC's lack of stamina to keep up with ML, and so has some refusal, he really does respect her and her health so it's never a situation where she genuinely doesn't want to. From the ML's PV, it's also clear that he's holding himself back a lot in order to not hurt her, and admonishes himself whenever he does and whenever he thinks of his frivolous past self. It does resemble the captive situation that happens a lot in novels, but it's more because the MC just doesn't want to go out. Of course, it makes him happy that that's the case, but he doesn't really refuse her.

I enjoy the pacing of the story itself. It's not driven by drama (lmao), so there's not a lot of crazy things happening but it follows their daily lives and I feel it's quite interesting although it's inarguably quite slow. Definitely targeted to the female audience. I really like all the characters as well, which is something rare. Particularly Damien, Roy, and Jerome (he's really the best butler hahaha). Frankly my least favourite character would be the MC, but even then I wouldn't say I actually dislike her. I also like that they don't drag on situations that could potentially be super messy and dramatic.

Spoiler

For example in the case of Anita, the Countess of Falcon, you see her plotting starts early and the novel does talk a lot about it. But at the climax of the event, Roy handles it super cleanly and doesn't even leave a trace for something dramatic to drag on. Even the Countess of Wales, during the party break arc, it didn't go on for too long and show all sorts of plotting and petty schemes.

[collapse]

Smuttiness-wise, there is quite a lot, but I didn't read the novel for that. To be honest, I just skipped most of it so I can't really judge the quality (although a lot of relationship-building occurs during it, so I read the important dialogue and thoughts). I feel like it would be enjoyable for someone that likes to read it but even the people who don't would be able to ignore it? It does happen quite a bit though, but I'd say it's always consensual.

Anyway, I really liked this novel. It enraptured me pretty early (I read the webtoon, which at this time has 11 chapters) so I would recommend trying it out. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
The CEO’s Villainess Childhood Friend
August 27, 2019
Status: c110
Childish and a classic case of "if they're the enemy of the MC, they must be bad thus let's blacken them" and "since she's MC, let's twist it so she's actually a good character and they all should have loved her". Like XY, I don't blame him for treating MC the way he did in the beginning (other than the lunchbox thing, that was a bit overboard... at least he didn't throw it away in her face?). It's really really annoying having someone bother you every day chasing after you,... more>> especially for him since he's busy, and I'm sure he made his feelings clear to her in a respectful manner in the beginning. Plus, she bothers the woman he actually likes. He didn't know she was the one who saved him.

Similarly, his sister seems like she'd be a great character to befriend (until she started blackening). In the beginning she's described cheerful, positive, and assertive; all the characters of a powerful female role model. Plus she's very supportive and loyal. If I were her, I'd have hated MC too since all I know is she bothers my brother to no end.

And then QR... why did she have to be a hateful character??? It shows the author's inability to portray complexity in character and relationships, making all MC's enemies too easy to hate!! A more interesting story would be if they were all actually good characters yet our MC has to struggle to establish herself in all that.

And more on MC having it way too easy; what the heck is up with that koi fish physique?????? She's supposed to have come from an ordinary world right, why is there cultivation elements???? Everything flows smoothly from her from the start since she coincidentally has a super unique background (with the martial arts) that perfectly suits what she needed. Like uh, cheat. Although the Taoist stuff is kinda funny, why is that necessary... like her ship gets super powerful supporters because of her natural physique, what a cheat.

All that said, I did finish the chapters available, so it is a light and fairly entertaining read. Just beware, it's pretty shallow and childish. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000
Lord of End of World
August 13, 2019
Status: c54
Honestly, it's not that bad? It's a pretty classic zombie apocalypse novel, except the MC is actually "ordinary" but is very strong due to his cultivation and there's a lot of MLs. I don't see why this is classified as smut since even up to this point there hasn't been any intercourse (although I imagine that'll change), so for people interested in the story but not willing to see smut you can just skip those scenes.

The relationships between MC and ML are not bad at all for a harem novel.... more>> Although at first glance the MLs are attracted to MC, the feelings are developed over time.

I like that the MC is strong, but he's a bit too cute?? Like he acts like a small child even though he's supposed to be 16. I mean I get it, given his background, but I find it weird how he's so attractive to all these MLs because of it.

Also, it makes me really sad that the sister is treated as she is. Yes she is cruel to the MC, but she does have her own reasons and if it hadn't been for MC's betrayal, she would have given everything to help him. If she were the main character of her own story, Lixin definitely would've been the bad character. She already suffered so much in her past life and she wants to use all of that to help her loved ones and live a good life this time, and yet now she became the bad guy doomed to suffer again :/ <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
If You Are a Dodder Flower
July 1, 2019
Status: c35.2
So good!!!

Characters: MC is a lil listless and weak, but it's alright even for someone that hates weak female leads. Her self-awareness certainly helps, although it's kinda over-emphasized in the story, but it's true eg. In the situation with He Lili and Cao Yang. I actually really like the other characters and her relationships with them all, especially ML. I love the building of building familial ties with this group; I would have loved if there was more detail about how she bonded with each member, not just Cao Yang... more>> and Cao An (like we know why for the others, but it's not really as thoroughly explored, especially with the second brother). The side character Hu Xuan is also really good. I like that the author portrays both the beautiful and ugly side of her characters, acknowledging relationships and people is a flighty thing (Hu Xuan is the best example, and even MC's relationship with Lady Fang).

Yes there's definitely chauvinistic elements, but personally when I read this story I chalk it up to that particular family's interests as well as the reality of the upper-class social circles of this setting. In the beginning it is especially irksome, when the author describes the mother, but MC herself has tried NOT to be a dodder flower. There's two outlooks on the author's real opinion: (1) MC is trying not to be that white lotus stereotype, and author is making a small protest against the chauvinism or (2) since MC "fought" her last life and failed and is more obedient, similar to her mother, this life, author is condoning it. Either way, even as a girl growing up in a society that teaches all to be independent, I don't really find this affecting my enjoyment of the story (after the part of the mother).

Plot: Definitely a slice of life story, but it's basically as the synopsis says. A girl was taken in by a rich and powerful family; she caused a lot of trouble for these people that cared about her in her past life, so now all she wants to do is listen and not worry them. As she grows up with them, the lines between familial and romantic bonds slowly become blurry. I'm excited to read more as her past gets increasingly revealed!

It does feel like there's a little bit of inconsistency in her past life though since she was supposed to be super thorny yet somehow the brothers still liked her? Oh well

Writing: Pacing is good, great writing and translation! Very little translation error and some passages even show literacy beauty. The update speed is also quite good right now, thank you to the translators!!

Overall, this is definitely a recommended read for those that like this genre! <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
I Am Troubled That My Fiance Is a Villain
June 20, 2019
Status: c18
Ok, firstly I think I'm usually an easy to please commenter, especially towards genres I'm currently interested in (like this one). But I really don't think this story was that enjoyable, so I really don't know how it scored so high.

Firstly, I felt that the story was really hard to follow, not just because of things like grammar but the way that scenes flowed was weird. It's hard to describe, but it makes me feel like I missed reading whole chapters or something. And this isn't a once or twice... more>> occurrence, but rather my impression of the writing of the entire story.

As for romance, there's not that much "falling in love". It's like, you blink and they're already in love (not necessarily love at first sight, but eg. Not in love then time gap then amazing relationship or scenes the reader doesn't see in the background), which is fine for those who like that. The relationship dynamics are also kind of strange, and honestly I'm not a fan of how complicated and dramatic the author wrote this to be. I mean there's a LOT of drama suggested, probably to build suspense, but it's not really skillfully done so I'm just confused a lot of the time.

There's also limited exploration of character, so it doesn't feel like there's any character development (rather, it's like "wow this character is so much better than the OG one", but we don't really see that process). I think the setup for ML is supposed to be the typical desperately-in-love ML, but he's over-affectionate sometimes yet not others? Either way almost all of the characters feel quite shallow up to the point I was reading. It feels more like the author tells you the complex personality the character has, rather than showing it through a process (does that make sense??). MC is really annoying because she's so wimpy and push-over. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
June 19, 2019
Status: c229
Cute read! The pace is quite slow, but basically it explores her world of as an upper-class noblewoman who wants to stay as detached as she possibly can while maintaining all images of superiority.

Honestly I really love the MC's character. She's silly and hilarious, yet quite relatable even as she (rather) successfully plays the Perfect Ojousama. It helps that half her thoughts are about food, which I find personally very relatable. The story's focus isn't on romance I would say, but rather about friendships and building relationships with others in... more>> a complicated relationship dynamic.

The story is also refreshing in that she doesn't actually have a harem of the main male leads, which is quite different than many other similar stories. In fact, she really doesn't try at all to establish relationships with the handsome boys beyond the very bare minimum (which tbh is a lil upsetting as a shoujo fan haha but original nonetheless), very much the side character in all attributes except status. The slower pacing of the story allows for quite a thorough exploration of all the different characters in the story; there's quite a lot, but none of them feel very shallow. That said, even though I appreciate the slower pacing that isn't at all "fell in love at the drop of a hat", sometimes I do wish to read more of her romance haha. Quite honestly, it wasn't clear until very far in the story who the likely male would be.

Spoiler

The "drop of a hat" thing might not necessarily apply since it seems like Emperor fell for Wakaba pretty quickly, but it doesn't really matter. Even though from the beginning I wasn't rooting for him, to see all the hype that the author built up based on the premise of the "Kaburagi Group's heir" and yet he loves someone else is still quite disappointing haha. Although he's written so pathetically it's alright he doesn't end up with her. I would like some more hype built around the family of the probable male lead though, but I think it's coming.

[collapse]

The other characters are all enjoyable too. Oniisama (he's definitely hiding a girlfriend!! :' (), Yukino, Imari, Class Rep, etc. And of course, especially later on, her thoughts when she's with Kaburagi and Enjou is just too funny!

I recommend giving it a try, but if you're hoping for strictly romance be prepared to be very patient. ALSO the translation by Oniichanyamete is amazing! They really put a lot of effort into explanations of cultural contexts referenced in the chapter and pictures of the things she's talking about (ie. What food it is). HUGE props. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
The Bumpy Road of Marriage: The Ex-Wife Is Expecting
November 26, 2019
Status: c32
The heck is this trash? I've read overbearing, tyrant CEOs but this ML is on a whole other trashy level.

He effectively kidnaps and blackmails MC, and then traps her in the apartment. She physically can't leave and her cellphone is confiscated. He totally invades her privacy and pretty much subjects her to media blackening. Literally, every conversation they have ends with her raging mad, but she shuts her mouth because she has no power. But because everything is done since "he wants to protect her", it's all good????? Omg.

Manipulating and... more>> controlling her at every turn. Every single character, including her own favourite mother, doesn't treat her as a person and tries to control the direction of her life. I was hoping it'd get better, but it hasn't and I'm tapping out. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Tensei Oujo wa Kyou mo Hata o Tatakioru
June 22, 2019
Status: c114
Not bad at all! Although in the beginning it's a bit rushed, the overall pacing and flow are quite adequate. I also really like the characters, and their development is not bad at all.

Of course, it's very true to its genre and age target. It's very much a reverse harem, but at least it's not "fell in love at the drop of a hat". The author mostly shows a reasonable process the characters go through to get to that point. It helps that the MC is really quite loveable, even... more>> for readers.

To be honest my main complaint is why the heck does she like the Commander the most???? Especially now that she's got so many good options, GAAHH!! Since she's still young in the story, it makes it much weirder. I do appreciate that the Commander has a realistic perspective and they eventually address her feelings in a way suitable given their circumstances. But but... Klaus.. Lutz.. Theo.. Georg.. Especially Klaus, I feel so bad for him lol but I really do love him.

On a side note, what's up with the art??? All the childish feminine characters look really great, but I really hate the art of the Commander???? He's the least attractive male!! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
The Lady is a Stalker
October 6, 2019
Status: c6
Okay, no. I really really tried, but I seriously can't. I'm not kidding when I say it reads like it's written by a 10 year old. Grammar and spelling and whatnot might be okay, but it really gives off a childish feel. Tbh I'm okay with the premise, but the execution feels like something I would write at 10 years old. Seriously, the cringes are uncontrollable. The MC gives off the feel of being smart but actually isn't, and they're both clearly children. A genius Commander at age 12? Uh,... more>> smh.

That said, if you're in junior high or lower, I would imagine it'd be interesting. Up to you. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
I Refuse to be a Supporting Character
September 1, 2019
Status: c1
A shallow story about a girl that transmigrates into an even worse shallow story.

Very fanciful, seriously melodramatic. Another example of different perspectives leading to entirely different conclusions about characters; people that MC likes are friends and MC's enemies need to become horrid for sure. Also, it's a show of the author's cheap writing that the OG MC is written to be so shallow and arrogant. Of course it's easy to hate those characters but depicting MC going against actually likeable and genuine characters shows an author's ability. Basically, how do... more>> you expect me to believe the original novel the MC transmigrated actually existed???

Also, ML is overbearing president, with each word in "overbearing" capitalized. He basically falls for her at first sight for inexplicable reasons, even though she was just doing what a normal person would do. But because she's the beautiful MC, of course he gets attracted. The president part can be capitalized too because his talents overshadow the world.

Pei pei at this kind of unoriginal, childish story. Tbh I actually enjoy these premises because I'm childish too but only when the story and characters are complex and wellwritten. You won't find that here.

Actually, the story's standards are clear from the first chapter. But for some reason, I kept reading, and kept getting more and more mad at this as I read lmao. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Thrive in Catastrophe
August 14, 2019
Status: Completed
MC AND MLS RELATIONSHIP IS NOT AT ALL AS BAD AS SOME COMMENTERS MAKE IT SEEM. I also read other people's comments, and I regret that it deterred me from this story for a long time. I'm hoping to give another perspective to avoid others making my mistakes.

Characters: 4.5/5

I really love the MC and his development. He starts off quite weak and ordinary, but he becomes incredible and strong and we see his growth every step of the way. He's smart and not afraid to move forward. Furthermore, the ML... more>> supports him and pushes him onwards. He protects MC but doesn't coddle him, and instead believes and trusts him and helps him accomplish his dreams. I really really love that about their relationship, since many other stories have MLs that don't believe in their partner or just keeps them in their cage. In this story, it's ML that leads him into the world, and it's this as well as MC's trust and reliance on him that develops their feelings.

Now about the controversial topic of their relationship.

Spoiler

First of all, I think ML's self-control is praiseworthy. The premise of the story is that their body type experiences uncontrollable sexual urges, and yet ML holds himself and reins him in every time because he doesn't want to hurt MC. The hallucinations MC sees, that's not ML's fault at all. Like one of the characters said, "he can stop himself from f*cking you but he can't stop himself from wanting to" (in maybe not exact words).

Next is ML's jealousy, and honestly he's not really a jealous character at all, especially compared to typical MLs of other stories. He doesn't stop MC from getting close to his friends and building relationships with others of any gender, including a friendship with his goddess or play flirting with others. The thing about the dislocating his arm was to use pain to help MC break free from the hallucination he was trapped in and to warn him to be careful in future situations. The decisive action is more due to his character than jealousy; he would've acted the same for another comrade even if he didn't love them.

Lastly is the thing about the subconscious. The reason he always went is mostly because he enjoys the peace and calmness of the place, as he said, and not because he was trying to manipulate MC's feelings. He went for the environment, but the things that happen there were mostly the initiative of the MC. At that point, ML is heartbroken that MC won't be able to remember anything that occurred, and due to his physique none of this can happen in real life, so he uses pain as an anchor point so MC can feel that even in that fake reality Heine is there.

However, although I've defended ML a lot, after they have reciprocatory feelings I'm kinda unsatisfied. Like I know he's controlled himself so much that everything starts to break loose and he really can't stop himself, but he's still way too rough lmao, even if it turns out that MC likes it rough.

[collapse]

The side characters are great, especially the ambiguously good characters. There's quite a host of side characters and they all have their own distinct personalities, although we don't see the story of many of them.

Plot: 5/5

The world of this story is built so thoroughly, I'm seriously impressed. I also like that this starts in a civilization "after the apocalypse", which is interesting. Every arc (pretty much) feels original and engaging. This is a seriously great story. Even though the character can carry the story, the plot doesn't shame it at all.

Writing & Translation: 4/5

Not bad, thanks for everyone's hard work. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
This World Has Gone Crazy
August 4, 2019
Status: c37.1
SOO FUNNY HAHAHA I cried laughing a couple times, especially chapter 12. Also, I read the low-star review by dtyfg and am thoroughly convinced that person is talking about a different story or slandering this novel. This is hilarious BECAUSE the MC is kick-ass, both witty and strong. Seriously, DANG I love how at critical moments MC shows his sanity and ruins ML's schemes hehe. ML is genuinely very deeply in love and has patiently waited 10+ years, and is still waiting and protecting (although now he's also scheming lmao).

Characters:... more>> 5/5

MC is SO funny, the schemes and lies he comes up with are hilarious and the way he handles crazy situations is ingenious. ML is so far much better than classic novel MLs who are crazy possessive etc., he's proving himself to be protective but caring and patient. He's never used force and immediately stops when he senses MC is uncomfortable, genuinely wanting reciprocatory love. Once they start doing the papapa, he might become more stereotypical though...

I also love all the side characters. They're all crazy and unique in their own ways, and it makes for crazy situations and laughter. All the characters are so colorful and well developed, they're great.

Spoiler

Also, I really can't dislike Ning Xiao. Yes, it was pretty cruel of him, but in his position, I would also be upset and want nothing to do with the person. How he chooses to live his life is none of my concern, especially since he makes it pretty clear to his partners that there are no feelings involved on his end. It's not like he ever treated anyone forcefully, even after he becomes interested in MC (yet at least).

[collapse]

Plot: 5/5

It's pretty slice of life, there's nothing really melodramatic about this novel. It mainly relies on its crazy characters as MC tries to navigate through his new life safely. I usually hate stories with misunderstandings, but the MC lies his way to hilarity.

Rape:
Spoiler

One reviewer disliked the story's attitude of rape, and they're not entirely incorrect. Of course in the real world r*pe is r*pe and it's not okay. Personally, I didn't really mind what occurred in the novel, mainly because in the end r*pe didn't actually happen. Regardless, I don't think it's a key part of the story since it was the concern of a side character. In the story, it's more the general ambiance is light and humorous, not that the author wanted to treat this topic very lightly. Edit: The whole topic is treated perhaps too humorously and too lightly. Personally, I still enjoy this story, but definitely be careful if this is a sensitive topic for you.

[collapse]

Writing & Translation: 5/5

No problems with the translation and the translator has an amazing translation speed. Seriously, I'm in love.

OVERALL: A REALLY good and funny story, definitely give it a try!!! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
For My Healing Life
July 18, 2019
Status: c18
First of all this is definitely targeted towards a younger audience. It's a pretty cheesy harem story. It's very true to its target audience.

That said, there's still some annoying points. MC's thinking is just too hard to believe; he says it was all his fault but he also blames the members for being two-faced? This MC seriously doesn't know how to communicate at all, especially in his past life, not at all like someone who's been an idol for many years (why on earth did he think his last 3... more>> years were a good idea if he wanted to repay them?? And the years before that too, why'd he hog when he didn't even wanna go solo??).

He's also such a pushover MC, very very passive. Honestly the whole premise is too unbelievable, why would the company like one guy who doesn't even score high on appearances take up the whole spotlight for the group? And if that's the case, fans would typically blame that person for not letting others shine. His personality is far too detached from the one the story implies. This setup is contradictory and ridiculous.

Also, the harem was way too easy. Basically he goes back in time and they're all in love with him already, even though that wasn't the case the first time this happened. Furthermore, what's up with his image of a tiny person?? How would company have let that type of person center, and it just feels too much like the story is trying to push the typical image of weak tiny bottom x all the tall strong tops. The height and stature difference is just too much.

However, target audience would definitely still find this an enjoyable read. It's very light. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Who Touched My Tail!
July 11, 2019
Status: c72
Not one of the better world-hopping novels, unfortunately. People were comparing it to QWFOD so I was pretty excited, but although there are similarities it fell short for me.

Firstly, the characters. I don't like how the MC treats the ML; expects to be spoiled, super selfish, and always waiting for ML to chase them. Unreasonably gets mad and blames ML for situations out of his control. ML always spoils MC to the heavens, yet the way MC shows his love is always lacking in comparison. It's fine in the first... more>> few arcs, but I was really irritated with how the MC treated the ML when he was the General.

He's also always OOC (out of character) too. He always acts the exact same, even though the premise is supposed to be that he's supposed to act similar to the actual character he's playing, and honestly, it gets tiring. For example, in QWFOD, the MC does a really good job of playing the character while still being himself; here, it's always just the MC's selfish personality. There's also no real plotting, just a lot of OP-ness that solves everything for him.

MC is also pretty hypocritical. He enters a world with a rebirth character, who eliminates their opponents before they turn black because they know what will happen, and MC admonishes them since his character is usually cannon fodder. But MC does the exact same thing! Although I guess it's just a strong eat weak world.

Regarding the plot, I haven't really felt anything was particularly amazing about the arcs. They're very classic, and I haven't felt that much from them.

For writing and translation, it's actually pretty annoying, especially in the first few chapters. I'm pretty sure this was MTL, since sentence structure and wording is strange.

All in all, not a really good read. It's not terrible, but there's better. Tbh QWFOD is better in pretty much every way... <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
As the Minor Gay Rival in Het Novels
July 5, 2019
Status: c3.1
Characters: 4.7/5

The MC is humorous and logical, refreshing compared to many MCs where they remain a dense white lotus. He has his tasks and wants to accomplish it, and reacts appropriately when things don't go as planned. I also like the author's slow revealing of the MC's true feelings towards ML. The ML is definitely super black-bellied, very much the classic might and possessive ML troupe of Chinese webnovels. Their relationship at this point has yet to deepen, so I'm excited to read future chapters.

Also I'm SO happy that, so... more>> far, we see ML gradually falling in love with MC in every world (hopefully this continues / isn't a misunderstanding!!). Like it's the same person but his memories don't come back to him until some point? Or maybe he's just acting the character of someone slowly falling in love with MC every time, but either way it makes me happy since many other stories it's "ML and MC immediately pick each other out". I fear that this story will probably become like that too, but at least up to now it's not.

Plot: 4.5/5

It's the classic world-hopping troupe. So far, none of the worlds has been particularly unique and special, but I'm a sucker for the classics anyway. Most importantly, there's no inconsistencies within its setup, so it flows pretty smoothly (compared to eg. I'm Scattering IQ [..] where ML always has full IQ the moment he sees MC anyway). MC reacts realistically in the situations he faces, given the circumstances and his feelings, and it doesn't feel forced by the author. The over-arching explanation of his actor role is also coming earlier than other world-hopping novels, and seems quite interesting.

Writing / Translation: 5/5

No problems at all, clear and coherent. The story flows smoothly and the pacing is good. As always, Chrysanthemum Gardens does a good job of explaining the subtleties of Chinese language where relevant to the story to enhance understanding and enjoyment. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
My Wife Always Thought I Did Not Love Him
June 29, 2019
Status: Completed
The premise was okay, like the idea of "I felt like I pressured my bf into a relationship so when I go back in time I won't do it again". However, it's still hard to believe that MC would think ML didn't like him after staying with him for so long???? This story is full of unnecessary angst.

And here is my biggest problem with this story.

Basically, I really can't like MC. He's such a typical weak, naive and helpless bottom that it is really very irritating. He's seriously throwing the... more>> ML around as if his feelings don't matter, one-sidedly pressing his feelings on him and thus causing all sorts of unnecessary misunderstandings. Honestly, the whole time, it's clear that ML really likes him but MC just sat there waiting to be chased!! Very selfishly not considering ML's feelings basically at all. Does he even like him??? Or just the idea of him?? Or just the "him" from the past life!!

And, of course, the parents suck. But all the commenters have covered that sufficiently. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Heaven Official’s Blessing
September 8, 2019
Status: c24.5
Characters: 5/5

A lot of very interesting characters and relationship histories. Given the premise of the story, it's inevitable, but it's still very interesting especially because of Nan Feng and Fu Yao. I can't wait to see how MC's relationships with his Generals play out and with the rest of the Heavenly Officials as well. In addition, there's a couple other interesting characters with promise, like the bandaged teenager (and of course the "demon king"). I also like that although these main characters can't really be killed, the author isn't afraid... more>> to kill off other characters, giving the story a sense of realism.

Plot: 5/5

A very interesting and unusual premise, and so far the arcs have been pretty good too. A setting like this undoubtedly has a lot of promise.

Writing / Translation: 5/5

No problems. Thanks for the work! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
I Don’t Want You To Be Responsible!
August 19, 2019
Status: c34
The misunderstanding is way too annoying, I couldn't bear to finish it. The development of feelings for both parties doesn't really make sense; how the heck did ML fall in love with MC?? Literally the reasons are just "he's male, he has my child, he's stubborn to death". And for the MC, even in the past life obviously it would've been hard for ML to believe you but afterwards, it's clear that he softened a little bit. Why does he still stubbornly refuse to believe ML even in the face... more>> of all that pampering??? It's ridiculous. The author is too focused on the premise and thus the misunderstanding really ruins the story. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
A Guide to Raising Your Natural Enemy
August 9, 2019
Status: c75
Characters: 4.5/5

I really like MC and ML, as well as their relationship, particularly in the beginning. Maybe MC is a lil too stupid-cute, but it's not too bad. It was definitely love at first sight for ML, but we see the process their relationship progresses through. MC is also a huge glutton, which is pretty funny.

The side characters aren't that well developed, but they're still quite enjoyable. Later one we see the imperial family and Jones, and I particularly enjoy the arc on the Fallen Beast Planet. Actually, as a... more>> whole, the focus is not really on the characters but what the characters do, if that makes sense.

Plot: 5/5

Again, I particularly enjoy the beginning. It's still not bad later on though, and the author interweaves the story's main plot quite well throughout. The arcs are also alright. I'll say that nothing is really that original, but the simple-mindedness of MC makes it different.

That said, even at this point MC's child hasn't been born, so maybe the title of this novel isn't entirely accurate lol. He hasn't started raising his natural enemy yet!

In regards to H scenes, there's not that much. There's a couple of ambiguous scenes, but overall not that much.

Writing & Translation: 5/5

No problems, thanks to the translator! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 6