Report Review
83 Reviews


ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Lucia
June 18, 2019
Status: c110
Quite honestly, I don't know why the reviews are so low! I've read the complaints, but I got a different impression from reading the story.

I actually really like the ML; he's cruel and thinks little of killing people, but the premise is a lot of his madness is due to his genetics, and he himself even hates that side of him and wants to end his entire lineage. You see him changing as he goes through life with the MC (although frankly I feel like it was a biiit fast,... more>> and the catalyst was that he liked her body, but it's not that bad). Honestly, the whole thing with his genes and thus incest needs to happen for his lineage to continue is weird but it's easy to ignore since it's not the focus of anyone's relationship. He is possessive, as MLs in novels tend to be, but personally I love such characters as long as they don't go overboard. Furthermore, I really appreciate the way he handles woman; yes he's arrogant, but he's made it clear what he wants and he doesn't and he never forces a woman to follow his way. If they fell in love with him and he couldn't return the feelings, I think it's better to just cut it off right away.

I also appreciate his attitude in bed. The novel emphasizes, especially during their first night, that he hates forcing a woman etc. Although a lot of the scenes highlight the MC's lack of stamina to keep up with ML, and so has some refusal, he really does respect her and her health so it's never a situation where she genuinely doesn't want to. From the ML's PV, it's also clear that he's holding himself back a lot in order to not hurt her, and admonishes himself whenever he does and whenever he thinks of his frivolous past self. It does resemble the captive situation that happens a lot in novels, but it's more because the MC just doesn't want to go out. Of course, it makes him happy that that's the case, but he doesn't really refuse her.

I enjoy the pacing of the story itself. It's not driven by drama (lmao), so there's not a lot of crazy things happening but it follows their daily lives and I feel it's quite interesting although it's inarguably quite slow. Definitely targeted to the female audience. I really like all the characters as well, which is something rare. Particularly Damien, Roy, and Jerome (he's really the best butler hahaha). Frankly my least favourite character would be the MC, but even then I wouldn't say I actually dislike her. I also like that they don't drag on situations that could potentially be super messy and dramatic.

Spoiler

For example in the case of Anita, the Countess of Falcon, you see her plotting starts early and the novel does talk a lot about it. But at the climax of the event, Roy handles it super cleanly and doesn't even leave a trace for something dramatic to drag on. Even the Countess of Wales, during the party break arc, it didn't go on for too long and show all sorts of plotting and petty schemes.

[collapse]

Smuttiness-wise, there is quite a lot, but I didn't read the novel for that. To be honest, I just skipped most of it so I can't really judge the quality (although a lot of relationship-building occurs during it, so I read the important dialogue and thoughts). I feel like it would be enjoyable for someone that likes to read it but even the people who don't would be able to ignore it? It does happen quite a bit though, but I'd say it's always consensual.

Anyway, I really liked this novel. It enraptured me pretty early (I read the webtoon, which at this time has 11 chapters) so I would recommend trying it out. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
If You Are a Dodder Flower
July 1, 2019
Status: c35.2
So good!!!

Characters: MC is a lil listless and weak, but it's alright even for someone that hates weak female leads. Her self-awareness certainly helps, although it's kinda over-emphasized in the story, but it's true eg. In the situation with He Lili and Cao Yang. I actually really like the other characters and her relationships with them all, especially ML. I love the building of building familial ties with this group; I would have loved if there was more detail about how she bonded with each member, not just Cao Yang... more>> and Cao An (like we know why for the others, but it's not really as thoroughly explored, especially with the second brother). The side character Hu Xuan is also really good. I like that the author portrays both the beautiful and ugly side of her characters, acknowledging relationships and people is a flighty thing (Hu Xuan is the best example, and even MC's relationship with Lady Fang).

Yes there's definitely chauvinistic elements, but personally when I read this story I chalk it up to that particular family's interests as well as the reality of the upper-class social circles of this setting. In the beginning it is especially irksome, when the author describes the mother, but MC herself has tried NOT to be a dodder flower. There's two outlooks on the author's real opinion: (1) MC is trying not to be that white lotus stereotype, and author is making a small protest against the chauvinism or (2) since MC "fought" her last life and failed and is more obedient, similar to her mother, this life, author is condoning it. Either way, even as a girl growing up in a society that teaches all to be independent, I don't really find this affecting my enjoyment of the story (after the part of the mother).

Plot: Definitely a slice of life story, but it's basically as the synopsis says. A girl was taken in by a rich and powerful family; she caused a lot of trouble for these people that cared about her in her past life, so now all she wants to do is listen and not worry them. As she grows up with them, the lines between familial and romantic bonds slowly become blurry. I'm excited to read more as her past gets increasingly revealed!

It does feel like there's a little bit of inconsistency in her past life though since she was supposed to be super thorny yet somehow the brothers still liked her? Oh well

Writing: Pacing is good, great writing and translation! Very little translation error and some passages even show literacy beauty. The update speed is also quite good right now, thank you to the translators!!

Overall, this is definitely a recommended read for those that like this genre! <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
June 19, 2019
Status: c229
Cute read! The pace is quite slow, but basically it explores her world of as an upper-class noblewoman who wants to stay as detached as she possibly can while maintaining all images of superiority.

Honestly I really love the MC's character. She's silly and hilarious, yet quite relatable even as she (rather) successfully plays the Perfect Ojousama. It helps that half her thoughts are about food, which I find personally very relatable. The story's focus isn't on romance I would say, but rather about friendships and building relationships with others in... more>> a complicated relationship dynamic.

The story is also refreshing in that she doesn't actually have a harem of the main male leads, which is quite different than many other similar stories. In fact, she really doesn't try at all to establish relationships with the handsome boys beyond the very bare minimum (which tbh is a lil upsetting as a shoujo fan haha but original nonetheless), very much the side character in all attributes except status. The slower pacing of the story allows for quite a thorough exploration of all the different characters in the story; there's quite a lot, but none of them feel very shallow. That said, even though I appreciate the slower pacing that isn't at all "fell in love at the drop of a hat", sometimes I do wish to read more of her romance haha. Quite honestly, it wasn't clear until very far in the story who the likely male would be.

Spoiler

The "drop of a hat" thing might not necessarily apply since it seems like Emperor fell for Wakaba pretty quickly, but it doesn't really matter. Even though from the beginning I wasn't rooting for him, to see all the hype that the author built up based on the premise of the "Kaburagi Group's heir" and yet he loves someone else is still quite disappointing haha. Although he's written so pathetically it's alright he doesn't end up with her. I would like some more hype built around the family of the probable male lead though, but I think it's coming.

[collapse]

The other characters are all enjoyable too. Oniisama (he's definitely hiding a girlfriend!! :' (), Yukino, Imari, Class Rep, etc. And of course, especially later on, her thoughts when she's with Kaburagi and Enjou is just too funny!

I recommend giving it a try, but if you're hoping for strictly romance be prepared to be very patient. ALSO the translation by Oniichanyamete is amazing! They really put a lot of effort into explanations of cultural contexts referenced in the chapter and pictures of the things she's talking about (ie. What food it is). HUGE props. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
This World Has Gone Crazy
August 4, 2019
Status: c37.1
SOO FUNNY HAHAHA I cried laughing a couple times, especially chapter 12. Also, I read the low-star review by dtyfg and am thoroughly convinced that person is talking about a different story or slandering this novel. This is hilarious BECAUSE the MC is kick-ass, both witty and strong. ML is genuinely very deeply in love and has patiently waited 10+ years, and is still waiting and protecting.

Characters: 5/5

MC is SO funny, the schemes and lies he comes up with are hilarious and the way he handles crazy situations is ingenious.... more>> ML is so far much better than classic novel MLs who are crazy possessive etc., he's proving himself to be protective but caring and patient. He's never used force and immediately stops when he senses MC is uncomfortable, genuinely wanting reciprocatory love. Once they start doing the papapa, he might become more stereotypical though...

I also love all the side characters. They're all crazy and unique in their own ways, and it makes for crazy situations and laughter. All the characters are so colorful and well developed, they're great.

Spoiler

Also, I really can't dislike Ning Xiao. Yes, it was pretty cruel of him, but in his position, I would also be upset and want nothing to do with the person. How he chooses to live his life is none of my concern, especially since he makes it pretty clear to his partners that there are no feelings involved on his end. It's not like he ever treated anyone forcefully, even after he becomes interested in MC (yet at least).

[collapse]

Plot: 5/5

It's pretty slice of life, there's nothing really melodramatic about this novel. It mainly relies on its crazy characters as MC tries to navigate through his new life safely. I usually hate stories with misunderstandings, but the MC lies his way to hilarity.

Spoiler

One reviewer disliked the story's attitude of rape, and they're not entirely incorrect. Of course in the real world rape is rape and it's not okay. Personally, I didn't really mind what occurred in the novel, mainly because in the end rape didn't actually happen. Regardless, I don't think it's a key part of the story since it was the concern of a side character. In the story, it's more the general ambiance is light and humorous, not that the author wanted to treat this topic very lightly.

[collapse]

Writing & Translation: 5/5

No problems with the translation and the translator has an amazing translation speed. Seriously, I'm in love.

OVERALL: A REALLY good and funny story, definitely give it a try!!! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
For My Healing Life
July 18, 2019
Status: c18
First of all this is definitely targeted towards a younger audience. It's a pretty cheesy harem story. It's very true to its target audience.

That said, there's still some annoying points. MC's thinking is just too hard to believe; he says it was all his fault but he also blames the members for being two-faced? This MC seriously doesn't know how to communicate at all, especially in his past life, not at all like someone who's been an idol for many years (why on earth did he think his last 3... more>> years were a good idea if he wanted to repay them?? And the years before that too, why'd he hog when he didn't even wanna go solo??).

He's also such a pushover MC, very very passive. Honestly the whole premise is too unbelievable, why would the company like one guy who doesn't even score high on appearances take up the whole spotlight for the group? And if that's the case, fans would typically blame that person for not letting others shine. His personality is far too detached from the one the story implies. This setup is contradictory and ridiculous.

Also, the harem was way too easy. Basically he goes back in time and they're all in love with him already, even though that wasn't the case the first time this happened. Furthermore, what's up with his image of a tiny person?? How would company have let that type of person center, and it just feels too much like the story is trying to push the typical image of weak tiny bottom x all the tall strong tops. The height and stature difference is just too much.

However, target audience would definitely still find this an enjoyable read. It's very light. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Who Touched My Tail!
July 11, 2019
Status: c72
Not one of the better world-hopping novels, unfortunately. People were comparing it to QWFOD so I was pretty excited, but although there are similarities it fell short for me.

Firstly, the characters. I don't like how the MC treats the ML; expects to be spoiled, super selfish, and always waiting for ML to chase them. Unreasonably gets mad and blames ML for situations out of his control. ML always spoils MC to the heavens, yet the way MC shows his love is always lacking in comparison. It's fine in the first... more>> few arcs, but I was really irritated with how the MC treated the ML when he was the General.

He's also always OOC (out of character) too. He always acts the exact same, even though the premise is supposed to be that he's supposed to act similar to the actual character he's playing, and honestly, it gets tiring. For example, in QWFOD, the MC does a really good job of playing the character while still being himself; here, it's always just the MC's selfish personality. There's also no real plotting, just a lot of OP-ness that solves everything for him.

MC is also pretty hypocritical. He enters a world with a rebirth character, who eliminates their opponents before they turn black because they know what will happen, and MC admonishes them since his character is usually cannon fodder. But MC does the exact same thing! Although I guess it's just a strong eat weak world.

Regarding the plot, I haven't really felt anything was particularly amazing about the arcs. They're very classic, and I haven't felt that much from them.

For writing and translation, it's actually pretty annoying, especially in the first few chapters. I'm pretty sure this was MTL, since sentence structure and wording is strange.

All in all, not a really good read. It's not terrible, but there's better. Tbh QWFOD is better in pretty much every way... <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
Plot: Two parties meet across space and time through a "game" called Exclusive Lover. One is a young and struggling novelist while the other is a great General of an interstellar empire. The mysterious game reenacts the general's painful past as a laboratory experiment; except this time, the young novelist also appears in the role of one of the Orphanage's cruel employees.

Oh my goodness, too much meng. Tbh I didn't really understand the synopsis but read the story anyway, and so far it's worth it. Excited going forward.

Thanks for the... more>> translator's hard work! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
As the Minor Gay Rival in Het Novels
July 5, 2019
Status: c3.1
Characters: 4.7/5

The MC is humorous and logical, refreshing compared to many MCs where they remain a dense white lotus. He has his tasks and wants to accomplish it, and reacts appropriately when things don't go as planned. I also like the author's slow revealing of the MC's true feelings towards ML. The ML is definitely super black-bellied, very much the classic might and possessive ML troupe of Chinese webnovels. Their relationship at this point has yet to deepen, so I'm excited to read future chapters.

Also I'm SO happy that, so... more>> far, we see ML gradually falling in love with MC in every world (hopefully this continues / isn't a misunderstanding!!). Like it's the same person but his memories don't come back to him until some point? Or maybe he's just acting the character of someone slowly falling in love with MC every time, but either way it makes me happy since many other stories it's "ML and MC immediately pick each other out". I fear that this story will probably become like that too, but at least up to now it's not.

Plot: 4.5/5

It's the classic world-hopping troupe. So far, none of the worlds has been particularly unique and special, but I'm a su**er for the classics anyway. Most importantly, there's no inconsistencies within its setup, so it flows pretty smoothly (compared to eg. I'm Scattering IQ [..] where ML always has full IQ the moment he sees MC anyway). MC reacts realistically in the situations he faces, given the circumstances and his feelings, and it doesn't feel forced by the author. The over-arching explanation of his actor role is also coming earlier than other world-hopping novels, and seems quite interesting.

Writing / Translation: 5/5

No problems at all, clear and coherent. The story flows smoothly and the pacing is good. As always, Chrysanthemum Gardens does a good job of explaining the subtleties of Chinese language where relevant to the story to enhance understanding and enjoyment. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
Pretty good! It's funny how they actually make legendary BL romances everywhere they go, whether it's a BL world or a BG one LMAO even when all MC wants to do is hide hahaha

Characters: 3.7/5

Because of the premise, it feels like MC is too much of the naive white lotus that somehow makes everyone fall in love with him. Honestly I love these types of classic troupes, but I feel like his dimwittedness is still a little much. On the other side, ML is a little too possessive and inconsiderate.... more>> However, I quite like his character and feel it's totally understandable. He's lived through COUNTLESS lifetimes and hadn't cared for anything, but suddenly found a person he did care for; imagine what type of boring life he had lived before! A lot of commenters are complaining about his aggressiveness, but he really does genuinely care for MC, more than MC can even care for him. I do think it doesn't make MUCH sense that he liked MC so much, but oh well. I would've loved to see more flirting and teasing scenes that led to MC "falling in love", but it's fine anyway. I like that it's not really a "fell in love at first sight", but rather a gradual progression.

Side characters are also all decent. I'm especially happy that females aren't portrayed to be evil, as is the case in many BL romances for some reason.

Plot: 4.5/5

Definitely a plot-heavy novel, but lives up to it. Each world is explored quite well, and they all have their charms. The overarching plot of the Origin and setup of the "actors" is also starting to reveal itself, so I'm excited to learn more about that. I also like the epic (the technical definition) finishes of the novels, very in line with "legendary BL romances everywhere they go". The author is able to use the characters' deaths to tug at readers' heartstrings.

Writing & Translation: 5/5

The quality of the translation is very good, to the point that I'm pretty surprised. Especially in the early chapters, it really captures the "this is a legend" mood with eloquent writing and error-free translation.

Overall, not bad at all. As for genre, although it's yaoi there's only a feel scenes that are yaoi, and the rest is shounen ai. They're also very easily skipped. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Love Rival Romance System
June 28, 2019
Status: 39
Super cute and funny! Under-rated but very worth some love. Thank you so much to the translator's hard work!!! This current release speed is too amazing.

The MC is the cold and aloof type, easily angered, which is refreshing compared to some white lotus. However, he really doesn't hold back in interactions with ML, which are so cute and funny because they just bicker back and forth! Later on in the story, it's cute watching the ML think up ways to eat the MC's tofu hehe (ie. scheming situations to be... more>> close to him, go on a trip with him, etc.). The side characters are also pretty great. On top of the "school's beauty", the cross-dressing man, the friends are funny and distinct too.

The plot is very enjoyable. I really love this idea, and so far execution has been great. Definitely a slice of life story, the pacing is consistent and the translation is awesome (and translation speed!!!)

Recommended!!

Spoiler

I really want MC on top (even though it's probably not gonna happen...) hehehe

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Rebirth of the Wolfish Silkpants Bottom
June 25, 2019
Status: Completed
Their relationship is sooo cute. Overall the story is definitely interesting and worth reading, but I have a couple key criticisms.

Funnily enough, I feel like the story was way sexier before they started doing "the papapa" lmao, but that's besides the point.

The first key criticism is that I personally think Shu Ning's / the author's character is a little too ruthless; every single person that wronged him literally meets a fate worse than death. It's honestly sad, especially those high school classmates (Wang Cong and that Tian guy). Yes they... more>> were bad people, but damn that's a cruel end. A girl tries to flirt with the ML and her career gets subverted. Idk, some might enjoy seeing them suffering, but I personally was uncomfortable with that level.

And speaking of the MC's ruthlessness, the worst was how he treated Shu Yao. Yes he was a devil in the past life, but he wasn't even born yet for the MC to discard him completely!! In that situation, I would have much rather seen Shu Ning personally help his upbringing and ensure he didn't become what he did in the past life. That's a child starving for love, spoiled to the point of destruction, but I'm a nurture > nature type of person so I don't think it was unavoidable!!

The other key criticism is that every single female character, other than the two aunties that looked after Shu Ning in the capital (who appear for like, 2 paragraphs the entire novel) is bad. Every single one, without exception. Actually maybe Xuan Er, but she only got one sentence. Like it's way too ridiculous; the author couldn't make a SINGLE good female character??? And their flaws are all the same; greedy, shameless, gold-digging.

Overall it was a pretty good story. Smaller criticisms include the ML fell for MC a little early I think, it went like "what a cute little child" to "I want to do him hurry and grow" pretty much immediately. I do appreciate his care of MC though, being "patient" (can you call that patient?? Lmao I loved those flirty scenes though hehehe)

Translation was okay, certainly understandable and no big grammar mistakes other than crazy long sentences. Like I think maybe the translator's keyboard is broken so half the time they try to use a period it comes out a comma. I got used to it pretty quickly though. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
DAMN THIS IS SO GOOD! I'm at the best part so far right now, so I apologize if my review is biased due to emotion haha.

First of all, I read some spoilers in the comments and I really don't suggest others doing the same. It seems that at some point this novel becomes terrible, dragging on and whatnot, so I decided I would read the beginning and then stop when that occurs. Therefore, since so far it has been excellent, I can only enthusiastically praise this novel.

I really love all... more>> the characters, which is extremely rare for me. The character development is genuinely fantastic, and many different sides of them are portrayed. In regards to people claiming the MC was "grooming" the ML, the claims this is unethical is entirely unfounded. She obviously treated him with the affection and care of a mother, hoping to prevent the catastrophes of his previous self. For people who were disgusted with the "sexual feelings" of the young characters, it's nowhere as crazy as the comments seem to imply. Yes it's strange, but not only was it suitable for the era they were living in, the emphasis also was always about and love and NOT the lust. Also, don't forget that she's not actually blood related siblings with anyone.

The MC is awesome!! She's definitely a strong female character, yet without the arrogance and unnecessarily aggressive attitude I find many other Chinese novels portray strong females with. From one perspective people might say she's too soft-hearted since she treats the people that ruined her in her past life so kindly, but it's because in this "new" life she recognizes that they're just children and shouldn't be treated wrongfully for things they won't necessarily do. I LOVE that even with all her strength and her past experiences, even though she knows better than anyone the scheming nature of humanity, she's still at heart kind, genuine, and forgiving. And the people that she forgives don't betray her trust a second time.

The plot is also so interesting!! I have a deep appreciation for novels that don't drive its story through misunderstandings and solves them cleanly, and even with all the scheming in the palace this is one of them. It carries itself through the brilliance of the MC's adventures.

A few warnings. The initial premise is quite uncomfortable since this is her THIRD reincarnation. On top of that, she has some "lotus" storage space that I guess she was born with, which makes her seem way too OP. Due to these things, the first few chapters, in particular, have some strange inconsistencies. Honestly, just ignore it, and you'll be glad you did. The focus also isn't on martial arts or cultivation, so don't worry about that (unless you're looking for it, in which case go elsewhere). The only thing I'm disappointed about is how cruel and cold at heart the ML still is to everyone else; give me back my cute lil pup!!! I really wanted to keep rooting for him, but with all the other characters and his cruelty, it's making it too difficult!!!!!!

All in all, it's a great novel so far, and I expect it to be great for quite a few more chapters at least. Give it a read!! The translation is mostly pretty good, except they use a lot of exclamation marks which honestly is a little irritating. However, I just got used to it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
I Am Troubled That My Fiance Is a Villain
June 20, 2019
Status: c18
Ok, firstly I think I'm usually an easy to please commenter, especially towards genres I'm currently interested in (like this one). But I really don't think this story was that enjoyable, so I really don't know how it scored so high.

Firstly, I felt that the story was really hard to follow, not just because of things like grammar but the way that scenes flowed was weird. It's hard to describe, but it makes me feel like I missed reading whole chapters or something. And this isn't a once or twice... more>> occurrence, but rather my impression of the writing of the entire story.

As for romance, there's not that much "falling in love". It's like, you blink and they're already in love (not necessarily love at first sight, but eg. Not in love then time gap then amazing relationship or scenes the reader doesn't see in the background), which is fine for those who like that. The relationship dynamics are also kind of strange, and honestly I'm not a fan of how complicated and dramatic the author wrote this to be. I mean there's a LOT of drama suggested, probably to build suspense, but it's not really skillfully done so I'm just confused a lot of the time.

There's also limited exploration of character, so it doesn't feel like there's any character development (rather, it's like "wow this character is so much better than the OG one", but we don't really see that process). I think the setup for ML is supposed to be the typical desperately-in-love ML, but he's over-affectionate sometimes yet not others? Either way almost all of the characters feel quite shallow up to the point I was reading. It feels more like the author tells you the complex personality the character has, rather than showing it through a process (does that make sense??). MC is really annoying because she's so wimpy and push-over. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
July 9, 2019
Status: ex1.4
AHHH THIS IS SO AMAZING!!!! AMAZING!!! Seriously, definitely on my favourite's list.

Characters: 5/5

I LOVE. MC is smart and witty, ruthless and merciful. ML is strong and mighty, cold yet loving to only the MC. I also love the way their relationship is depicted in the story; depending on the "person" the MC plays, he really does take on a slightly different character, but in each world it feels like ML was the perfect match for him. It also makes me ECSTATIC that it's not a "love at first sight" in... more>> every world, but in every world they fall for each other anew (yes there's some influence, but still).

The side characters are all very deep. Character development is excellent for all members involved, especially the "blackening" of the protagonists. I do dislike how the protagonists are almost always evil, but oh well. I also like that although the MC is vicious to those who harm him, he does give people chances and if they can't take it they'll just fall to hell. In every situation, he makes the characters' retribution a result of their own actions, although he is heavily involved in blackening lol. I also have an emotional attachment to Xue Zi Xian, AHHH my love.

Plot: 5/5

They're very classic plots, but written beautifully. We follow the MC as the worlds he encounters become more and more interesting / difficult. The circumstances he faces and breaks through all have their own unique problems and characters, and every story is woven beautifully. There's depth, there's character, there's variety and complexity.

Some of these stories are ridiculously rich, like the "western fantasy" or the "intergalactic demon invasion" one. Even simpler themes like "twins of different fates" and "the next supermodel" are amazing, nevermind my favourite "end of the world duplication". Seriously, for this zombie world alone I want to give this story a 100/5 rating, DAMN that story broke my heart. And of course, from "twins" there's Xue Zi Xuan, I can't breathe.

The entire setup is brilliantly done. Many similar stories don't really address the "why is the MC world-hopping" that well, but this one wraps it neatly as the main plot that we see coming through in every chapter. I beg the author to release more random arcs.

Writing / Translation: 5/5

No complaints, many passages are written beautifully and it's easy to see the effort the translator put into explaining the differences in cultural context or further enrichment (eg. If a musical piece is discussed, translator has included a link to the piece the author was likely inspired by).

All in all, an AMAZING novel.

Ps. If I didn't know better, I'd say this story is an advertisement to smoke and drink milk haha <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Cannon Fodder Cheat System
July 7, 2019
Status: c75
Honestly, it's not terrible, it's a passable read but compared to all the other similar genre novels this one is nothing special. In the end, even though it's called cannon fodder cheat system, we don't really see anything of the system (other than when it makes MC OP).

Plot: 3.8/5

The settings are interesting enough but nothing special. Most importantly, that system doesn't actually appear that much but just makes MC too OP. Like, they're in a world where musical skill is most important; MC has the system give him amazing musical... more>> skill, oppressing all others and happy ever after. In a world where gaming is the most important; MC has the system boost all his attributes, oppressing all others and happy ever after. There's no other exploration of what it is, just that it gives MC OPness in anything. Because everything happens so easily and predictably, we don't actually see that much of MC's scheming or plotting, but basically just crushing through brute power.

The settings are also too strange. Like in one world, musical skill is actually EVERYTHING. In another, they're stuck in a game and they'll die in real world too if they die in the game, but even though they can contact people outside the game freely for some reason the operators still make them fight battles?? Instead of just safely waiting for rescue.

Characters: ?

Honestly, the way the story is written, it feels like you're just reading about the situation happening around the MC. We don't really see his thoughts, and since he kinda plays a different character in each world, I'm not really sure what type of character MC is. Like yes he's vengeful and scheming-but-not-really, but there's no character development at all. ML is very much the class possessive and absurdly in love type, but he's less tyrannical than other MLs in similar genres. Their relationship is pretty typical of this type too. Basically falls in love on first sight in each world; seriously, I wanna see more of the falling in love!

Writing & Translation: 4/5

Translation is decent, I haven't found any mistakes. Writing feels like I'm just watching a scene, not really feeling anything. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
I’m Scattering IQ to the Protagonist
July 3, 2019
Status: v3c50
Not a yaoi story, definitely shounen ai.

There's some funny scenes but overall it's a pretty typical world-hopping story. That also means although it has the same virtues, it also has the same faults.

I won't go into much detail about the characters and the plot; all points are satisfactory. Just like the other story, it benefits from being able to jump from story to story and so nothing is needlessly dragged on. That also means it is not as fully explored compared to if each world was actually a full novel... more>> on it's own. However, the pacing doesn't feel rushed and it doesn't feel as if pieces are missing.

My main complaint is that MC and ML are too clearly tied to each other in each world. Only the first world really shows them falling in love, and every time after it's more like ML goes "oh I know this person is the one now how do I establish that with him" at first sight and MC can tell it's him from the start. I wish there was more of "only one side knows and has to woo the other".

Furthermore, the whole premise of "scattering IQ" completely goes up into smokes. It's more like "mission in every world", which wouldn't be bad! ML falls in love with MC almost immediately and wakes up from his stupor; there's really no difference between ML before IQ and ML after IQ. It bothers me how far off from it's initial premise it is; the author should've set it up differently.

And I wish they were a reversible couple... hehehe am I rotten? uh-oh
(there's definitely no bed scenes in this story though, it's a "they jump into bed and then it's morning")

All in all, pretty good. I especially like the way MC is teasing ML in the ancient dynasty story haha (MC is def lil S while ML is more than a lil M) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
Why the heck is this tagged yaoi? Clearly it's shounen ai, not a single bed scene or anything PG13+

It's a pretty decent story though! I was worried about stories where MC goes to multiple worlds, but I'm kinda changing my mind due to this.

Characters: 4/5

MC and the system are pretty funny together. MC has moments when he becomes very smart, and unravels the entire mystery in pretty much one go. ML... I feel like he really wasn't worth mentioning in any worlds other than the first two lol, he's just... more>> "very powerful", "very possessive", and "loves him at first sight". I wish this had more romance in it honestly, every time the ML just falls for him immediately and MC reciprocates immediately after he realizes it's his lover. I wish it were something like only MC knows he's the lover, and he has to win ML over every time (and maybe ML would be the protagonist or doting male lead #1 or something).

My biggest problem with this story is the "protagonist" always ends up being a bad guy! Why can't he actually be a good guy who is protagonist-worthy?? In fact, sometimes I feel like they're not actually bad but end up being bad after being oppressed by MC at every turn; especially the actress and An Chengjie. Reading their stories, you would definitely feel bad for them, but then they end up twisted from dealing with MC and all.

Plot: 4.8/5

Definitely a story driven by the plot and drama as the MC goes through all kinds of situations in each world trying to unravel the mystery behind the protagonist's "true" circumstances (every time, things are not what they seem, especially with the zombie situation and the kidnapped child). Quite interesting, and since they can just move on to the next world after one story ends, none of the stories feel like they're dragging on unreasonably. Pacing is consistent and good; the first story feels a little like slice of life at the beginning, almost like preparing the reader haha. They were definitely all interesting and original scenarios due to the unique perspective of our MC and the whole "hidden situation" of the protagonist.

Writing: 4/5

In the beginning it was decent but at some point it became clearly MTL-edited, although it got better after that. Nothing special about the original writing (or maybe the use of literary prose wasn't able to replicated after translation), but besides that period of clear MTL-ing no real mistakes. Thanks to the translator!

All in all, interesting and worth a read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
If You Don’t Fall In Love, You’ll Die
June 25, 2019
Status: c18
HAHAHAHA TOO CUTE

It's a real pity about the translation though, I think it's MTL, but it's still kinda understandable. Honestly, I just loved the synopsis and story too much I had to push through haha. It's very similar to Don't You Like Me?

Although the MC is a lot less likeable cause I mean he's kinda useless lmao

But he's funny hahaha
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
ike_00000 rated it
Tensei Oujo wa Kyou mo Hata o Tatakioru
June 22, 2019
Status: c114
Not bad at all! Although in the beginning it's a bit rushed, the overall pacing and flow are quite adequate. I also really like the characters, and their development is not bad at all.

Of course, it's very true to its genre and age target. It's very much a reverse harem, but at least it's not "fell in love at the drop of a hat". The author mostly shows a reasonable process the characters go through to get to that point. It helps that the MC is really quite loveable, even... more>> for readers.

To be honest my main complaint is why the heck does she like the Commander the most???? Especially now that she's got so many good options, GAAHH!! Since she's still young in the story, it makes it much weirder. I do appreciate that the Commander has a realistic perspective and they eventually address her feelings in a way suitable given their circumstances. But but... Klaus.. Lutz.. Theo.. Georg.. Especially Klaus, I feel so bad for him lol but I really do love him.

On a side note, what's up with the art??? All the childish feminine characters look really great, but I really hate the art of the Commander???? He's the least attractive male!! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ike_00000
The story is clearly targeted to very young audiences, but even so it was a little annoying. It started off poorly, but after a while it got somewhat better.

There are some things I appreciate about this, such as how the POVs actually feel quite true to character. Like when the characters that are flawed have a realization towards becoming a better person, it's not all at once, but rather it just becomes less flawed.

It's got so many chapters, but character development is almost nonexistent for everyone besides the MC and... more>> Yugo, who are basically forcefully developed. Even with the MC, honestly it feels kinda forced, but I appreciate the author trying to minimize that (see my note about POV).

My main problem is that I hate all the interactions of the MC and the ML. Separately as characters they're fine, but when they're together the MC stammers every. Single. Time. It's honestly ridiculous. The ML puts on crazy offense and the MC just shrinks like a mouse. Not that the ML ever pushes too hard, but the MC's responses are just too irritating. Basically I skip almost all their dialogue because of this.

I really like Luke though, and I hope he ends up with Chloe.

Spoiler

Even though I think she might be pushed down the Victor route. I just want to see Victor turn into a siscon haha.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 5