Report Review
23 Reviews


ieh
ieh rated it
The New Gate
November 12, 2017
Status: v6
This started out with promise where you're experiencing an unfamiliar world with a seasoned main character who is a legendary blacksmith/super katana Jesus that saved the world. I eagerly waited for the 3rd and 4th volumes to be translated but it was all a huge letdown. Reading this LN is like watching a dull slow-motion montage of Superman saving people out of resigned obligation. There is no tension, no heroics, no danger, no threats at any point, and most importantly no human connections or character depth beyond a basic physical... more>> description.

Pretty much every problem or fight is solved by the main character pulling a legendary item, ingredient, or releasing his self imposed limiter. Fight a monster? Gotta pull out a now mythic level sword that will eventually break because the main character is just too cool and strong and good and stuff. You might be thinking, "Oh he's a legendary blacksmith so it's going to go into detail about him making or repairing gear!" No, he just hits it with a hammer a few times and it's magically fixed and so strong that it makes normal gear look like wet limp paper.

Everything is glossed over and incredibly shallow including major characters in the story arcs. We have Sword princess, pale spearman, foxtails girl, visions girl, older elf maid, younger elf maid, and Beastmen #1 to #5. You don't even have to learn any names because the only role they serve in the story is by being shocked and awed by the main character's actions or an excuse for the main character to hide his powers. I don't even have to mention other characters because they all disappear shortly after introduction.

What a disappointment since this LN has a very nice English translation. It just drops the ball so hard by having the story go nowhere with endless and meaningless exposition that has nothing to do with the overall plot. I read the first 5 volumes and all that's really happened is the main character found his servant whos still guarding his house and leaves to meet another servant. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
The Book Eating Magician
January 1, 2018
Status: c214
How I learned to stop worrying and love the fortnight.

Started out great about someone struggling to attain their wish with all their might. Took a nose dive when the MC became a true book eating magician. The MC being able to ask a question to a living book from the age of mythology is wasted and glossed over. No real structure or rules in the story outside of circles for magic makes power levels very vague. The story goes straight into comically cheesy territory where they repeatedly describe each adversary... more>> as the second coming of Christ for paragraphs. Then cuts any buildup of tension by going "Oh, of course, they are nothing compared to the MC and his pals." After that arc ends every monster is a world shaking, hell on earth abomination bent on consuming every living thing. Which the MC coincidentally can survive and kill because of his newly found powers from the last arc. The side characters are all 1-dimensional cardboard cutouts. Even the love interests are flat and nothing ever happens. Our hero can stand against mythical beasts but go to a party and talk to people?? OHHHHH NOOOOOOOOOO. The author just doesn't know how to write people or relationships. Most people instantly like or fall in love with the MC. Those that aren't instantly kind to the MC are supposed to be viewed as mysterious threats but come off comical because of the power of MC's plot armor.

The biggest problem with this novel is you're told so many things that the author wants you to completely believe but the character interactions don't reflect what happened at all. We're told repeatedly that the MC is a hardworking genius but the only difficulty he runs into is getting a headache from reading. Oh, he's going to die in a few years, nvm it's been solved already because he went outside for a few months. He doesn't really do anything to reflect his genius, everything is given to him on a silver platter by the limitless knowledge of the book or from repeated once in a lifetime chance encounters. No matter what the MC does, a rare event happens that propels him to a higher power level or solves his problems. Each story arc ends with the MC getting a treasure that becomes what saves his life in the next arc. The MC also hates socializing or meeting other people and is essentially a book reading hermit. However, everyone instantly falls in love or want to support him because of convoluted reasons. His first love interest falls in love with him because he's not afraid of talking to her like a normal person. Show through actions, don't just rely on telling or large exposition dumps from side characters otherwise your story just feels hollow and filled with lifeless dolls.

Everything gets a bit absurd and inflated like a Michael Bay Transformer sequel. Thousand or million tons monster who's momentum is enough to destroy mountains. People that move so fast they can outrun bolts of light. The best arc was when the MC and Randolph are mutually helping each other to become stronger. It actually felt like something human beings would do in the story setting. Imagine if this story actually revolved around the MC's natural learning abilities/genius. Him tricking the grimoire with intelligent questions that allow him to surpass his human limits. All the while having to hide his growth and demonic grimoire from others who might want to gain his powers. Or even ideological crusaders that come after the MC for trying to transcend humanity. Maybe the MC solves some of his problems with words, not with his newfound overwhelming power? MC was originally powerless and bullied, how did he use to solve his problems? All of that gets brushed over and never mentioned again. Black magic and slavery in this world is a taboo enough sin that the entire continent will pool their forces and erase them but a grimoire that grants unlimited power and knowledge is a-ok and relatively unknown even though multiple grimoires have almost destroyed their continent. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
The story starts out pretty great but after reading they should just rename this story to "The most moronic sage in the world". First off this isn't a isekai story, the main character is a several hundred year old sage who found a way to reincarnate himself so he can get a more combat orientated 4th crest (he originally had the first crest which is mainly used for enhancing/making gear). The MC is from the same world so shouldn't have any common sense issues and share some of the values... more>> or beliefs in the world.

That's just wishful thinking, the main character isn't smart, he's dumb as a bag of rocks. Everyone else is also written to be so stupid that by contrast, he seems smart because he has ancient knowledge. How does a several hundred year old sage not understand anything about his surroundings several years after he's reborn? Why did a man who lived for nearly 1000 years have no critical thinking skills or problem solving experience? Multiple characters repeatedly tell him that the level of magic and fighting are a lot lower now than his previous life but he JUST DOES NOT UNDERSTAND THIS, HE DOES NOT UNDERSTAND THIS AT ALL IT DOES NOT GET INTO HIS BRAIN AT ALL.

Not only that but his old friends from his previous life are all now insanely famous and legendary world renown heroes but the main character somehow doesn't understand this either. He thinks its all a coincidence and wonders why test questions asked about sword style/etc sharing the same name as his old acquaintances. His briefly mentions how in his past life with the first crest he could make weapons with ~20 augmentations, then he goes to a weapon shop in a large city and makes a 2 augmentation sword which dazzles everyone around because 2 augmentations are National class treasures that belong to the Royal Treasury. Somehow the MC doesn't realize that the world is in decline he just thinks the blacksmith is hiding his real gear in the back because stores don't like selling products. The MC is so dense and so stupid I don't even understand how he's alive, I'm pretty sure he could drown by looking up while it's raining.

A boring MC can work if it has colorful and interesting world or side characters. I can't even remember the name of any side characters in this story. They are such cliche and stereotyped characters they are effectively invisible in the story and only serve to be impressed at how amazing the MC is at everything under the sun.

The other huge flaw in this story is that they repeatedly talk about how much better the 4th close combat crest is so much better than the 1st crest but... you're never really shown or told why its so much better. The MC just uses the same few basic skills, they are just a bit easier to use but that's about it? He gave up his previous life and thousands of years just for this and you don't see the pay off on why he'd go to such drastic lengths to get this crest. He defeats everything he could defeat in his previous life just as easily and fast. Yet he still complains about how it took him almost a minute to beat some super strong monster in his previous life so he needs to be even stronger so he can defeat it in a few seconds because otherwise ???? They never mention why this matters or where these super ultra strong monsters are. Why the human world hasn't been ended by these god like beings that the MC thinks might exist but has never seen or heard of them before.

Everything seems to be made up on the spot as they go. Nothing is really set up and there are no real payoffs to any subplots. The combat is boring and ends with everything getting super murdered. There's a general plot about how the demons intentionally weakened the human world by spreading misinformation about how to use magic and the usage of magic crests. However you never really find out how or why they do this, or why they didn't just take over the human world with their power when no one can even hope to stand against demons. The MC and the author don't even care about any of this he just goes around killing demons for no real reason or benefits to himself. It's not because he's practicing or testing his limits, he just does it because the story needed him to while other times he refuses because... well just because?

The MC also immediately builds a giant anti demon barrier with the full support of the entire school by chopping at the dungeon walls and somehow refining the ore in the walls then tapping into a vein of energy under the city that powers it all. Wow, that was anticlimactic and everyone from the King to the school's staff places their absolute trust in a random ~12 year old kid wanting to do what they think are absolutely impossible and unheard of things.

I don't know about you but I have no interest in reading about a super dense and idiotic MC with even worse supporting characters that are just hallowed pits of lazy writing. I challenge any of you to describe any of the characters in this story without mentioning their physical looks or gender. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
That Person. Later on…
November 12, 2017
Status: c147
Really poorly written and translated about a man that abandons his little sister after being heart broken by his childhood friend. He magically becomes insanely strong after a very short time because the story needed him to continue. I really regret reading this for as long as I did and the final straw was the main character's sister. Jesus Christ that entire thing is so awkward and corny even beyond the typical "MC goes around collecting a harem."

The fight scenes are so half assed which is fine if it's going... more>> the slice of life route but the MC never grows or changes. He's about as dumb as a bag of rocks and all women everywhere including deities, swoon at the sight of him treating them like a person. I hope you like the usual Japanese cliches of an as*xual overpowered yet somehow still a doormat of a main character who never learns or does anything with his harem! <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
In a Different World with a Smartphone
November 28, 2017
Status: --
Japanese teenager becomes comically OP and goes around collecting a harem because he didn't immediately try to brutalize every single woman he meets, except this time he has a smartphone! MC is also a super doormat that has no will of his own and just goes where other people tell him to go and does things because that's what good guys do.

No tension, no threats, no character development, no desires, no real plot, no one has to face any real threats or overcome anything to grow as a person but... more>> now with a smartphone!!! Another MC who has everything handed to them and does absolutely nothing with that power except travel aimlessly. This story only feels like a slice of life story because the MC is so shallow and devoid of any motivations that it never goes anywhere except when he meets a harem girl that needs him to go somewhere. At least this guy willingly helps less fortunate people I guess.

Also the following:

Hahahahaha he says his last name first get it OH MY GOD GET IT??!?!?!?!? Hahahahahah this joke is so funny that you'll see it everytime the MC introduces himself hahahahahha last name first hahahahahahh they added an O in front of every word in the fake Japan of the fantasy world so its OEDO instead of EDO Wow this novel has jokes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Magi Craft Meister
November 12, 2017
Status: v7
This entire story can be summed up by "Man builds aircraft carriers and jet fighters with lasers in a knight/magic world and does absolutely nothing with his infinite wealth, knowledge, and power." Yet another incredibly cliche Japanese protagonist that faces no real challenge or threats with no personal desires. The main character lacks any motivation to do anything except get dragged around by side characters across the countryside. The MC is so soulless and boring that his metallic robots have a stronger character arc than him.

I thought this story would... more>> be filled with details about crafting or making things to improve the quality of life of the citizens but he just kinda builds a bunch of incredible things from his never ending stash of materials. Maybe some kingdom building or neat interactions using modern outlook/methods to make a different kind of golem? Nah better just make a frail looking maid demi god who can level entire nations if commanded.

As the story progresses it starts skimping on the details until the OP MC just makes entire modern units in the span of a few hours and sentences. Like ~300 Naval, Air force, Army units and transportation took him a few days and a short chapter. He even stops inventing useful things to spread to the population. There is no tension or consequences for anything in the story, everything is solved shortly after the problem is introduced by an overwhelming show of force by the maid and teleportation gates.

Translation quality also dips around volume 5 where the story vaguely threatens to introduce a plot or an antagonist for the main character to defeat effortlessly. The individual kingdoms are so lifeless and interchangeable that they might as well be the same thing. The world is somehow both a tiny fraction of the size of Earth but still has huge parts of unexplored areas even after thousands of years. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
November 28, 2017
Status: --
Yet another stereotypical Japanese protagonist who is incredibly overpowered but wants to avoid any and all recognization. The only reason to read this is to see what kind of food the Main Character chooses to make on this slice of life web novel.

The main problem with this story is that nothing ever really happens. Problems are solved as effortlessly and easily as they suddenly appear. There are no interesting fight scenes, or satisfying character growth, or interesting gotcha moments. It's just MC goes to a new city, things happen in... more>> the new city, MC leaves for another city, repeat forever. The MC is also a 29 year old computer programmer that accidentally genocides the entire valley of elder dragons right after he goes to the fantasy world making him Lv. 300+. He is almost 5 times the level of even the strongest previous legendary Heroes.

You'd think oh levels then he'll have interesting abilities! Nope, in this story, you get 10 points per level up (Only for the MC, other people get less) and every skill is on a 0 to 10 rating, where 10 is extreme mythic level. Not to even mention how boring every skill is, from close listening, bargaining, to spear, sword, cooking, just really boring mundane abilities that the author doesn't even bother keeping track of and there are a ton of them. This web novel gets a 10/10 in being as boring as watching paint dry. The MC pretty much maxes everything he can. I don't even know how many points he has remaining because the story doesn't even care about its world's rules or limits. Why would I as a reader care more about the story than the author? Why would I continue reading a story that goes nowhere, with no real tension or threats at all? Even demons who can wipe out entire kingdoms are maybe level 40~60 to give you an idea of how powerful and effortlessly the MC will defeat all his enemies. The worst part is the constant parade of women (most of them either physically or mentally underage 11-14) throwing themselves s*xually at the MC because he had the bravery to treat slaves like a human being. It pretty much happens every single chapter after the initial story arc, so unless you enjoy reading about multiple 11 to 14 year olds trying to have s*x with a 29 year old man every chapter for hundreds of chapters I'd avoid reading this.

For a fake merchant who just wants to travel the world living a laid back life, I was expecting more... merchant skills, nonphysical difficulties/challenges, or character development. I would've loved it if they made it all about cooking, that also works. This story has none of that, he's pretty much King Midas everything he touches becomes gold and goes his way almost instantly and effortlessly. In fact, most of the time, the only obstacle to getting something done is because the MC just doesn't want to do it because he finds it to be too troublesome. Oh, his only flaw is being unable to use normal magic but he can make scrolls that are just as good, usable by anyone, and worth an insane amount of money. Also from him killing that valley of dragons he has a ton of legendary weapons, more money than most kingdoms, magic laser guns (Yes I'm serious), he can even run faster and longer than a galloping horse, he's pretty much the most powerful and rich person/nation the world has ever seen.

I don't understand how anyone can defend this MC, he is so devoid of any character, passion, drive, or desires. He even treats saving people like its a huge burden. What the hell else is he going to do? Hell, he doesn't even bother to put in the effort to set his large underage slave harem free even after talking about how he abhors slavery. There is no plot, the story goes nowhere, he's afraid of people knowing his true strength so prepare for a bunch of hamfisted attempts of pretending to be a normal weak merchant. Of course, every woman falls in love with the MC after a short chat and every other characters' only role in the story is to lavish the MC with compliments. The MC is a self insert Gary Sue and I wish I could fall asleep under my desk and never wake up or if some comets could hit me so I can finally forget all about this poorly written story. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Dragon Maken War
December 12, 2017
Status: c30
What happens when you combine Korean values into a wuxia esq story with life rings and cord masters set in a western fantasy world with knights and dragons? Why you get a clusterfuc Dragon Maken War! However, I really like parts of the story and I get a quick laugh whenever the author mentions meditation because I picture European knights meditating while sitting in the Buddhist lotus position wearing full plate armor. It's just very difficult to continue reading when portions of each chapter feels like the author is getting... more>> paid by the word so is dragging it out to fill space. Reading is extremely jarring at times, taking you out of the story's pacing and flow multiple times per arc. Here's a quick summary of the story:

Spoiler

Main Character is the Hero who defeats the Demon King but is forced into a deep slumber. He awakens in a protected crypt 220 years later in a now unfamiliar world where everyone he's known and loved has died. He is a shell of his former self but takes the gamble to rebuild with the vast amount of knowledge gained from his adventures with his closest friend Carlos.

[collapse]

It's a new attempt at blending the genres but the author tends to go on wild tangents often times paragraphs long awkwardly attempting to flesh out his fantasy world. Unfortunately, it amounts to "because magic" because of how dull and pointless the explanations are, leaving you with more questions than answers.

An example from the start of c19:
Spoiler

Contrary to Azell's fear, the Dragon's Shadow didn't attack them even when the day brightened. They had failed to capture the party again after the party escaped their surveillance.

It wasn't an easy task to find a lost target in a vast forest. Moreover, Azell and Arrieta spent sufficient efforts to evade the enemy's attention.

Arrieta was impressed.

"Your Art of Concealment is very mysterious."

Azell was great at using his ability to hide his body. He used his Art of Concealment to hide himself, and he also used it to hide his party members. For a short amount of time, they basically ceased to exist. Even the most sensitive demonic beast passed by without seeing them.

[collapse]

Azell is so good at hiding his body that just by being near him others will cease to remember you exist also! I wish all the ladies told me I have a mysterious art of concealment in the middle of a forest too Azell. It doesn't help that the author is poor at explaining and writing descriptions but the story reads more like a screenplay where you're trying to brute force the much need visual and background effects with text spam.

An example from the start of c27 :
Spoiler

He had a dream.

It was a dream about the distant past.

However, his dream was vivid as if it had happened not too long ago.

It was that kind of dream.

'This must be a dream.'

Azell dumbly thought to himself.

[collapse]

After reading this me too Azell, me too. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
November 17, 2017
Status: c135
Starts out pretty great because you're just waiting for the lazy swordmaster to show off his serious side to the world and stop moping around like a tear stained mixed tape. Well, get prepared to wait forever because this main character never changes, content to living life being a lazy idiot.

The MC is devoid of any life that, everything he does seems made up on the spot. Hey! He knows flawless super sword magic now because flashback to fighting demons in somewhere? He even admits that he's never touched a... more>> sword in his new life but is able to do the same things as his previous life without an ounce of effort or strength training. The author never explains what kind of world the MC originally comes from but mentions a goddess that hands out holy swords to fight demons implying a fantasy sword world. However it's also described as a world with filled modern skyscrapers with modern conveniences but they also had fantasy like towns with walls? What is happening did I just have a blackout and miss a few chapters? Nah, I'm just reading terrible and inconsistent writing from someone who wrote themselves into a corner early in the story and ran out of ideas. I'm waiting for the chapter where he knows Tiger Woods who destroyed the world with his golf super powers. Then it turns into a post apocalyptic Professional Golf Association revival light novel because why not everything else seems to be made up as we go along. In 130+ chapters after the introduction chapters the only things we learn about the MC is that he's haunted by a past life and he likes soda. I don't mind characters that hide their strength but this MC does it in such a terrible way he intentionally hurts everyone that loves or cares about him. He mocks his elderly butler, who's spent his entire life hoping that the MC becomes the good man he sees in him. Instead, the MC just disappoints every single expectation and acting like a spoiled baby. Wanting everyone to cater to his needs while acting pompously, barely acknowledging other people's existence. The MC is also more than willing to watch anyone other than his mother die because otherwise it's too much effort. Yea, yea I get that he had trauma in his past life but he was a hero that saved the world right? He even has nightmares about not being able to save certain people. Good thing he forgets all those previous life lessons immediately after the story doesn't need him to anymore. At least go about being lazy in a smart way. Instead he just sleeps until his father tries to disown him for being worthless, goes to the capital to and plot armors his way to an achievement. Oh did I mention the MC loves his mom really super much and he's going to win everything when he needs to for the story? The main reason the MC actually went to the capital was so he could drink some fizzy soda. This is pretty much all you're going to learn about the MC's motivations. This author needs to find a basement filled with drugs like in his story. Go on a weekend bender and think of a story with characters that go somewhere, anywhere, just any character progression at all please. Reading this novel is like reading endless chapters of an irrationally grown man going "You're not my dad you can't make me" while living at home as a complete manchild shut in who doesn't know how to communicate with anyone other than his mom. If I wanted to read a story like that I'd go to reddit.

Murdering your family members, watching your father come back an incomplete person, seeing your older brother plotting against your own family, watching madmen murder innocent people. Apparently, none of this makes a difference to the MC and it doesn't affect or change his outlook, he's too busy caring about sleep, soda, and his mommy who enables him. This a very frustrating and dull reading experience of yet another hapless mary sue character. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
I didn't like death march but I liked this light novel. The MC is a pretty relaxed and a laid back person who decides to start following his heart instead of running away like his life in Japan. The MC isn't another doormat that gets dragged around the world by his harem. The MC actually does things that reflect his values and beliefs. I've read some criticisms about how the MC doesn't just spend all his time powering up. You have to remember he only wanted enough to live a... more>> peaceful life. He never wanted to be a hero or someone insanely strong. He just wants to get word that his sister is safe back in Japan. Any monsters he kills is just incidental for the most part, the fighting and the power leveling isn't the main focus of the story.

Unfortunately, the main love interest and slavery existing as a story device is the low point of this story. Haru the love interest who shows up pretty early doesn't really have a character and feels like a cardboard cutout. However, that's made up from how colorful the side characters are. I sometimes wish the MC's sister was the main character, then I realize the story would prob get stale fast if that happened. She's great because she isn't the main character or the main focus of the story. Centaur and the comedic duo become pretty great recurring characters. They even grow and get their own party members as the story progresses.

The MC's party members serve as the info dump guide by providing background information and helping the MC familiarize himself with the new world. There are even other Japanese people and they are pretty great weirdos in themselves.

I like how the hero of the world has to be kept hidden by the church because he doesn't live up to his heroic image. The part where the old heroes team shows up is neat. So is the way you get tidbits of lore that fleshes out the world as the story unfolds. I just like how there are essentially 3~4 groups of people with their own stories that sometimes intertwine and then go their separate ways. You know they're eventually going to run into each other and it's something you really end up looking forward to. It's not to the level of Baccano or Snatch but it's a nice change from the normal light novels. This is the slice of life, easy going novel that Death March wishes it was. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Overlord (LN)
January 5, 2018
Status: v11
A bit frustrating when you realize the MC is a stereotypical Japanese light novel protagonist. Too afraid to do or say anything that changes the status quo. However, the side characters carry this story with detailed lives and quite amazing world building. Except it all goes down the drain when you realize all these interesting characters with fleshed out lives and their own motivations are all going to be horribly murdered by the MC. Usually in increasingly comical ways as he blunders his way through his OP life as the... more>> leader of a cult. I found myself wishing Sebastian was the real focus of the novel as he struts around town breaking everyone's heart. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Tensei Shitara Slime Datta Ken (WN)
December 4, 2017
Status: --
The story has potential but is quickly overwhelmed by the erratic change of pace/tone by the author. The start is pretty well paced and fleshed out but quickly goes off the rails when the author throws every shonen cliche at the wall hoping something sticks.

MC goes from cute slime monster trying to build a peaceful equal city to mercilessly murdering tens of thousands of people back to a happy go lucky slice of life oh my pet dragon rampaged on accident but killed no one.

Also way, way, way too much... more>> backstory of every character even if they appear for 1 chapter and quickly die. It's followed by chapters of backstory then you never hear about them ever again. The Ogres and demon lords who make up a large part of the story has very little character. The ogres are instantly Japanese-esq and just blindly follow MC's orders. While the demon lords are either comically evil or moe lolicon comedy characters.

Useless tournament arc where nothing happens, a dungeon building arc where nothing happens, Adventures guild arc about teaching little kids that goes nowhere. Not to mention the other problems of comedy computer sage that does all the fighting and thinking for the MC. A loveless weird kiddy story filled with bouts of extreme violence as the story suddenly ramps up power levels because it's time for the climax! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
So cliche it hurts, lazy protagonist that's only worldly desire is to sleep all the time, falls into an urine soaked fantasy world where his only skill is to yell at people until they piss themselves. However, since the MC sleeps all the time and has no other characteristics, motivations, plot, desires or thought other than sleeping and eating. The author decides to turn his house into an anime spirit wife who acts like a mother/bang maid to fulfill every one of the MC's desires and needs.

The story never goes... more>> anywhere, the MC rarely leaves his house or does anything other than sleep and yell. This is like reading the author's weird desire of being a fully grown man that reverts to living the life of a man child in a house where a pretty girl does all his chores/work/everything for him including s*x "to improve herself". Oh and the author has some kind of intense urine fetish he keeps writing into the story. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Oukoku e Tsuzuku Michi
December 12, 2017
Status: c106
I want to like the plot of this story but the excessive erotic writing is so stilted and Gary Sue that it grinds at your soul. Story reminds me of Conan the Barbarian movie. He's amazing at combat but is smart enough to knows his limitation and surrounds himself with people that compliment his skillset. Most people have their own motivations and values before but they as the chapters continue they all get brain controlled by the power of MC's penis. I've come to dread all the non plot chapters... more>> because they are always filled with awkward s*x where the MC makes women join his ever growing cult. Every arc is followed by an interlude where the Author has to write about the MC having s*x with every single member of his harem after every event. This gets extremely tedious when his harem closes in on double digits. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Takarakuji de 40-oku Atattandakedo Isekai ni Ijuu Suru
December 4, 2017
Status: c87
Starts out pretty decently, Main Character wins it big in the lottery and escapes from people who want handouts by hiding in a mountain cabin. I'll even give the fact that he escaped people who vaguely knew him harassing him for his lottery winnings to take care of a bunch of starving strangers as the author showing the MC's compassionate side in the face of life threatening issues.

However, this MC is too bland and useless. The MC has no other redeeming qualities, he's not good at anything and he really... more>> doesn't have any talents or traits. Every problem is solved by him going back to modern day Japan and buying products or contracting professionals. The MC's only character is that he has money and will not ignore suffering if it's in front of his eyes. He's also physically and mentally weaker than starving villagers and most people in the story.

When the story moves beyond the scope of the village it derails and goes a bit off the rails when the MC meets the local noble's underage daughter in the city. The story also introduces information about the pending major war that threatens the very survival of their entire country.

Did I also mention the MC is ~26 years old and in the story the author suddenly writes about how he's shocked speechless at the beauty of the 15 year old daughter of the local Lord? It was super creepy just how many of the story characters were lusting after a 15 year old all of a sudden. All we know about her is that she is 15, loves money and wants to marry a rich man to live in luxury. She falls in love with the MC because he gave her a cheap modern day necklace worth a fortune in a fantasy world. Ultimately she is just a character who's only defining characteristic is that she loves the MC. Which in this story's case is.... money. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
World Teacher – Other World Style Education & Agent (WN)
November 28, 2017
Status: --
The teacher was the world's best secret agent and gave his life at age 60 to save his beloved students in his last job. He's reincarnated in another world and raises siblings and teaches them how to defend themselves. Sounds good right? Except for the MC who is supposed to be ~70 years old total now is written and acts like what a young person thinks an old person is like completely destroying the entire premise of the entire story.

The MC acts and feels like a 20 year old stuck... more>> in a teenagers body. The story is slowly paced and the MC is a stereotypical Japanese MC do gooder who is also an extremely passive doormat. Usually, only the MC is OP but in this story, both the MC and his students are so incredibly OP that the tension comes from the MC seeing life threatening threats coming at him and deciding that he's gotta be passive and waits to do nothing until after the damage has been done. Has too many Japanese MC cliches and fails with too many stereotypes, all women want to be with him, all men want to be him.

The story also shifts the character focus later on to side characters who you really don't care about. It feels like the author was grasping at straws because they ran out of ideas and didn't really plan out where this story was headed.

Write what you know, if you don't know what you're writing about it shows. So please if you're going to be an author at least do some homework and research to make your setting and characters more relatable to normal human beings on the planet Earth. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Release that Witch
November 12, 2017
Status: c532
I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of this story and how it sidesteps a lot of cliches that run so rampant in the light novel world. It's not perfect but it's the best written story I've read so far.

I see other reviews comparing this with Spice and wolf or Maoyuu Maou Yuusha but it's like comparing apple to oranges. Those other 2 novels are heavily focused on the economic side as an excuse to flesh out a vibrant fantasy world. While RtW focuses more on a steady army building... more>> and technological growth for the final confrontation with monsters that threaten to eradicate what is left of humanity.

Personally, I don't think the main character Roland is as flawed or overpowered as some other reviews make him out to be. He has no physical or magical powers and is just a smarter than average human being with a current day University education and work experience. You have to understand that this was written by a Chinese author and in China they focus excessively on memorizing information in school. Also, he never outright builds a current day gun or technology right off the bat. The first good chunk of chapters he is hindered by the lack of resources and being unable to refine metals. He basically made brittle iron tubes with handles and saltpeter as a propellant to use as makeshift muskets (Think 1700s matchlock muskets with a rough iron ball that takes forever to manually reload). Steam engines were also invented in the 1600s before even matchlock muskets with the first steam engine in a mine made in 1702. Roland brought the fantasy world out of the dark ages to the age of enlightenment.

He also uses simple tactics like hiding his staggered gun lines behind a dirt wall made with a basic understanding of present day building techniques and knowledge from University science classes for science majors. You don't have to be a genius to balance chemical equations, remember the uses of acids/bases, or even to memorize the periodic table since you'd use that regularly for years until it became second nature.

RtW is almost a step by step story of how our actual technology progressed throughout the years except aided by magic. By later chapters and close to 2 years into the story, he's brought the town close to the industrialization era (Assembly line, specialization of skills to improve productivity) with near equivalent weapons for that era (Gatling guns, both occurred in the mid 1800s). I think the parallels to real history has made the story very satisfying and given it a touch of realism to make it more believable. Not to mention that there are witches whose magical powers are used in creative ways to bypass certain technological bottlenecks and speed up progress.

The flaws of this story are mostly the uninspired evil Church and High Nobles. I completely agree that the finances and gold royals in this story are glossed over, but that's fine because I don't want to read 100 chapters about a guy using double entry bookkeeping and balancing a checkbook. The speed of the town being built is a bit excessive on top of everything else but that's a minor nitpick to speed the story along. I wasn't a fan of the special boat they've built, I just keep picturing the CSS Palmetto State (also built during the mid 1800s!).

I'd highly recommend reading this story! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Re:Monster
December 4, 2017
Status: --
Reads like a dry checklist for a power tripping "NO YOU CAN'T MAKE ME DAD" story.

Main character's cheat is that he learns and gains ability from what he eats. You'd think it'd be limited to actually edible things but the MC can eat metal, giant ancient bones, poison, pretty much everything under the sun that he can fit in his mouth.

Each chapter represents a day in the new world and reads like a terrible checklist of abilities with casual mentions of torture and lots of horrible rape. Rape is almost... more>> the currency of this fantasy world, every difficult situation is either solved by rape or the other side gives an offering of rape slaves.

No characters are fleshed out and every woman has horrible rape-induced Stockholm syndrome while men have horrible torture-induced Stockholm syndrome. Since everything is written like a dry grocery list just listing out the skills the author gained that day from mostly cannibalism. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
ieh rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
November 28, 2017
Status: --
I keep hearing how amazing this LN is and how great the story is. I've tried quite a few times trying to read Blastron (best English translation) version but can never really make it that far. I just don't find the MC very interesting or her internal monologue very compelling. I had a far better time reading the manga version because the comedy and energy really come through the drawing.

I really wish I could read the 150 chapters or so where she's just grinding to where the story takes off... more>> and becomes more but I just don't want to read 150 chapters of dull grinding to get to the real meat of the story. I just wish I could see a point or a plot to compel me to be invested in the LN in the beginning. I personally think the manga is a much better version because they concentrated the story and action but each chapter comes out at such a slow pace. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ieh
Started out pretty great, nice translation. Tomboyish MC who devotes herself to magic studies and becomes so powerful it's mentioned she kills a dragon by herself when she was 6 years old.

However I was creeped out that the MC (a high school girl) swapped bodies with a 3 year old baby and they even seem to exchanged mental ages? The side story talks about how the 3 year original Otome girl is now in the MC's older Japanese body. Then mentions how she gets a lover after a year, making... more>> her mentally 4 years old in a grown up body.

The MC doesn't even realize her childhood friend was in love with her until he told her repeatedly and forced her to hear it! She is somehow both the strongest magic user around but also the damsel in distress. I had to drop this novel when the MC had to be rescued yet again because she didn't have her magic tattoo or drank wine becoming so helpless she was almost raped. The MC's love interest is more like an abusive husband by his constant spying and keeping tabs on her like she's an invalid. The story also drops pretty much everything set up in the first ~2 volumes in favor of multiple povs of the having the MC be rescued by her lover then act all embarassed over and over again. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report