Report Review
14 Reviews


icerror
icerror rated it
When A Mage Revolts
December 11, 2017
Status: c267
Pretty good IMO. The novel is single-minded in its depiction of a mage fantasy ignoring all other development. I don't know for sure where the others complain about, but it is a refreshing work. The quality of the translation is a minus though.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
January 10, 2017
Status: c122
The finest piece of chinese fusion novel I've ever read on the site. An easy sense of humor that can always lighten up the serious moments yet never cheapen nor dilute it. Okay-ish plot, but somehow are full of surprises and makes you wonder how much times you've spent reading. EPIC character portrayal, the author rarely went out of his way to describe, opting to make full use the long series and building them up by impression to impression. The game elements are realistic and polished. You'd get the sense... more>> that there are mutiple heights when it comes to power and the MC is a 300 yo badass veteran both in his thoughts and conducts. (And how much 300 years of experience shaped him)

The first few chapters might feel weird but give it some time. I guarantee you won't be able to go back to stale jokes where there is a need for obvious punchline after you get a taste of this. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
An overachiever invested in the wrong skill, he got mad over various things and turned back time.

He got a chance to redo his life, and he chose to live befittingly. Not just his talent, but also for the experience he got from his previous life.

So? No more loner BS, no more crawling in the dark, no more "I want to do this, but for my dream, I can't".

... more>> What does that mean as a piece of writing? It's refreshing, unrestrained and fun.

Story is there is no story. Characters develop well, the use of trope is well thought out. Though battle scene doesn't quite shine and the technical explanation about magic is a tad unclear, but you can chalk it up to slice of life or game element. The slightly jarring part isn't hard to ignore - 4/5. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
Seirei Gensouki ~Konna Sekai de Deaeta Kimi ni~
September 5, 2017
Status: --
Frustrating. It's just one downward spiralling encounter after another. There's no plot sure, but that doesn't mean you get to turn some 40+ chapters interim into a slice-of-life halfway.

You get all this setting, but no effort to expand on it. Then somehow it became some nondescript novels you compare the good ones to.

It's somewhat good if you're new to the genre. Writing is decent, there's satisfying character development cause author really likes his half-dark bs. Weird pacing, and I get the feeling author crammed too many qualities in MC, but... more>> those could be biased. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
MMORPG: Rebirth of the Legendary Guardian
August 23, 2017
Status: c56
Stale as stale gets, you got an MC whose sole power is a glorified failure. You got convoluted back story that is tragic in a very Chinese way, with writhing nepotism, corruption, knock-off value and one pissy cucked MC who vowed to make it right (for him).

I won't make it long: game's mechanic makes little sense (arguable), lots of (lol) politics, no interesting plot, typical condescending MC, typical chinese cast characters, no worthwhile antagonist... You could mistake yourself reading a cultivation novel.

3/5, in consideration of the 200+ chapters that I... more>> didn't read. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
Assassin’s Chronicle
August 15, 2017
Status: c36
It had a 3.6 average rating when I wrote this review, which was a bit harsh. The story portraits the element of professionalism of an assassin somewhat well. It's not the stunning secret martial art or technique that explains his edge over other, but the mentality of a miser. You won't see the protagonist kills on equal ground unless he can't help it, does things without prior consideration in mind or let plot armor secures his escape route.

Its only demerit, IMO, is its dryness. It's too down to earth at... more>> times. I can't tell where exactly it is sub par yet you couldn't shake that it gets bland after a while. The writing also feels a bit self-centered, which is classic for chinese novel that doesn't have comedic undertone.

All in all, good stuffs. Hopefully, it will add more fantasy elements and character developments in the future. 4/5. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
January 3, 2019
Status: c36
"It could have been great" 4/10

Too many genres and too many tropes, though I blame the author writing talent equally. For a feel good slice of life LN, I find the complicated and dark intro unnecessary and a letdown. It was like being promised the heartstopping, insurance-not-guaranteeing, fatally thrilling ride - only to be shown after that 200 meters nosedive is a traffic jam. And you don't even get to crash rear fenders! Boring, yes, and safe! And completely beside the point. Don't put all your eggs in a basket?... more>> Meet too many baskets spoil the broth.

Ofc, it could have been premature of a review, but 40~ chapters (3 volumes worth) in and I still have to wait for satisfaction? If you wish to read it, avoid my mistakes and start from the 2nd or 3rd volume. Wait till there's actual development before you turn back and read the 1st volume (or don't, I skimmed 60-80, it doesn't get better). Better yet, read slime tensei or dead march. They're better example of this type of novels.

Spoiler

P/s: And that's why I was pissing on the author's writing talent. That dark episode of parenticide could have been a ****ing flashback, gradually introduced to expand and explain his ****ed up attitude, with the added bonus of not ****ing up the story and not ****ing with readers expecting intense dark and gritty stuff, or at least tie both aspects of the story closer together and make actual sense of it.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
Monster no Goshujin-sama
September 30, 2017
Status: v1c8
I read the 1st 8 chaps and I have to stop and complain. MC should have really considered monologue school back in his world. Damn his muttering, damn his philosophy and damn that edgy try hard attitude. It cringed so hard I felt embarrassed for the guy. If that was intentional to be MC lowest then the author sure have me fooled for sux ass writing. (Shouldn't be a tls problem, good readability, though confusing where it's cringey)

Edit: I take back what I said. Tls messed up something down... more>> to earth like thank you for your hard work.

Enjoyable read, good drama and nice character development. Just treat the 1st half as a blur, translators got used to it by then and improved a lot. 5/5. IDK how to change the previous rating though. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
God of Crime
September 29, 2017
Status: Completed
All the same, it's interesting to read about modern crime and how a slight advantage can change the game. The writing is creative and expansive, especially before the protagonist can straight up hard-carry. I also enjoyed the atmosphere. Still, I felt like the author could have done so much more with this setting. It would have been much better if it weren't serialized and instead a web-novel IMO.

... more>>
Spoiler

You could smell the scent of something being axed with a clogged nose. There were a lot of potential development, the possible romantic interests that directly tie with MC stats, the exp grind, the supporting cast, the drama, the rushed mafia game arc, the double rushed ghost of framed past arc, and that finale...

The ending also didn't really tie up all the loose end, but I felt like being a sore loser for holding it against the novel, so 4/5 would recommend.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror
History’s Strongest Husband
March 11, 2019
Status: c7.2
It's a good read. The author did great to make the story realistic and the MC likeable and relatable. The translation is smooth and fluent. I'd give it a solid 4/5 enjoyable read though it's still to early to say whether the series is gonna let me down big. Only peeve, currently, is how the translator didn't earmark the patreon wall chapters here in NU. I expected enough to form an opinion, not limbo.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror
Galactic Dark Net
October 16, 2017
Status: c63
In the distant future, intelligence took the re****ed route. The surrealism was manageble, but I f-ing lost it when the story took a more serious path.

Let's be real, the only one reason why we liked this novel was the MC. You have to hand it to the author for that loveable, almost too-good-to-be-true MC: as a friend, he's dependable. As a hero, he finds the good in his allies, no matter how cynical they were being. As a love interest... I haven't read that far, but I'm sure he's... more>> no worse. Such moments become so scarce as the story progress.
3/5, the first 30 chapters are much better.

Spoiler

Cause making index by hand is too damn difficult... What, you expect real economists to punch 3 buttons and have the data digested for them? You really have a low opinion of desk work.

And the suspension of disbelief will keep surprise you: space pirate with fixed address, political columns that actually suck, ambushing means air dropping 15k combatants and fielding them to fight war like it's the age of 3 kingdoms...

Imagine that over a distance of 1.5~3km, the density upon landing would be at least 5 men a meter. Without drop ship, which a frigate can't bring, and you expect me to believe it happens in the span of 5 minutes, with the ship under heavy bombardment from both the ground and the air? How many times you're gonna die in that 5 minutes? The **** is 2000 casualties to a superior force 15k?

The battle mentioned a tactical force circles around the opposition army and seals off their retreat (their ships). How is that possible? Sure those pirates have no idea how to fight as an army, but isn't it common sense to stop the enemy from destroying your base? Let's assume that it's possible, due to the pirate lack of organization and the merrymaking they couldn't respond meaningfully to such a strategic attack, but the mere act of moving 2k people around you should have raised some warning flags, no? Such an overwhelming victory should be impossible.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
Dragon-Marked War God
October 2, 2017
Status: --
Yeah it sounds better than other xuanhuan, but god, just knowing that it's better than xuanhuan only makes it worse. It no longer has that strange, disgusting vibe to it that makes you expect less and the fact that it's halfway there stops it from being so bad it's good it's just plain bad. It's like that man of steel movie. It's not a problem that it's bad, it's a problem that it's raising ppl expectation before taking a gigantic sh*t on it.

Read it if you like, not that many... more>> xuanhuans have an average rating better than 4 so this ought to get something right. 3/5 out of me, on grace point that I don't like xuanhuan in the 1st place. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
Omae wo Onii-chan ni Shite Yarouka!?
January 5, 2019
Status: v2 epilogue
Refreshing read, tho probably axed. TL is kinda questionable but still good. You can expect all the things that make a title like this appealing, and the fact that it has an ending is a plus.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icerror
icerror rated it
Maou Dakedo Yuushano Koto Kokuso Suru Kotoni Shitakara
October 23, 2017
Status: c118
The drama and setting, to me, is a unique take. The fact that you can directly connect it to modern society makes it's closer to life. Good mystery, too.

But:

... more>>
Spoiler

It's a bit odd how the the story doesn't fan out, given the amount of setting and characters. The structure is a bit of a lull. The author should have swapped the timeline and POV, like how he did it with the prologue, to spread interest across the story, not just a few moments. The comedic value is rather too thin to help and so is, aside from the heroine and, to some extent, MC, the lack of character development.

[collapse]

Tl;dr: Had this been a short story it would have been perfect. Instead, the author wished to expand but then fell short. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report