Report Review
48 Reviews


icecream
icecream
Max Level Newbie
October 18, 2016
Status: c3
Yeah, I feel the synopsis is kinda confusing. Basically the MC was a guy who got transported into another world, got game system, completed quests, and reaching level 99, which is the highest in that world. That is just the background that's covered for 1 chapter, it's not important. But what's interesting is we'll see the story when the MC enters Asgard, where levels of 3, 4, 5.... digits exist. So this guy with level 99 up against lets say level 800? yeah, he weak af, but I like how... more>> the author is taking the previously strong, to weak, to growing strong again idea into an unique type of premise! <<less
43 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
First Marriage Then Love
October 2, 2016
Status: c69 part2
The characters are alright at the start. But after a while I find the female lead really really REALLY cringe worthy and I have too much angst. I tried, then tried again to read just to see if it turns around, but it doesn't for me. Yes it makes sense to be alert and warry of a stranger you just married. But honestly how long should this last when she was the one that went head first into the situation she is in anyway!!! Besides she knows he has a... more>> decent personality, she knows he is stable with money, she knows he will not betray her and cherish her. AND THIS was from the very start of the story that she knew, or at least should have, yet what she does feels kind of rude. She always acts so reluctant and opposed, but like I said before, she SIGNED up for this, and I feel so bad for the male lead that's putting all his effort into being with her. I don't mind if she isn't as doting and lovey dovery for the male lead, as he is to her, but she can at least try harder and not make the situation always so awkward and unnatural with the MC imo. And I can't see how the male lead is head over heels for such a character that has such a shabby and insecure personality. Although the story justifies why in the later chapters, I was already too cringed and annoyed at her to even care at that point. Overall this novel just makes me feel salty and sour, not sweet. It just rubs me the wrong way and I can't enjoy anything about this female lead <<less
33 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
The King of the Battlefield
October 7, 2016
Status: c61
If you are looking for an MC that is soft hearted, kind and considerate to people (aka spoon feeds them), has strong morals to save people, takes mercy on his enemies, Likes to build friendly relations and strains the importance of trusting others, this is not the story for you!!!!!

What I like about this MC is his principles are consistently directed (the gist of them is to stop acting weak and get your crap together because no one is, especially the MC are gonna help you in this hellish... more>> world). He's consistent because he never discriminates against anything in terms of his principles (for example won't give a crap even if a person may be a hot chick, young or old, disabled, sick, just plain pitiful, surrendered enemy, unarmed enemy etc). I find that absolutely refreshing and like how his morals aren't applied so shallow, like how some other characters who are written to be cold-hearted, but their actions always show softhearted and naivety. AND it's also a plus that the reason he kills a lot and is ruthless is not because his mind is a kill-driven fanatic/psychopath. He does it because he is just a realist and not some idealistic nor righteous moron. <<less
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
HOLY CRAP!!! As one reviewer already said, this is probably one of the best if not the best Yaoi/shounen ai I have ever read. All the main characters are sooooo good and the romantic development seems so much more real than any romance I have read about. It is first built on trust instead of lust. This is the best kind of romance, where you really know how much the characters love each other and the depths of how much they will grow their relationship. Obviously this is a slow... more>> burn romance, and this is slow burn in the best way. It scorches my heart because everything is too hot even with the smallest interactions, or contact, or smile. Like my heart is freaking burnt to a crisp right now, how am I alive???!!! How the hell will I continue this amazing story if my heart's already not working!! <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
June 28, 2017
Status: c3.9
This is one of the most addicting novels I've ever read. It's hard to put the awesomeness into words but the quality of the story to the characters to the translations... holy crap. It's so fantastic I couldn't stop reading since the first chapter. The author writes each scenario within about 10 chapters, so I greatly applaud the amazing effort of the author and translator for the high quality of well worded phrases, nice thought out premises, plot, characters, romance, and thrill that is packed into the story, even with... more>> the limited number of chapters to write it in. I also love how the whole transmigration things is taking classic set ups and adding small twists here and there to keep the story fresh... that just makes it all the more satisfying. I LOVE THIS SO MUCH that this is definitely not a story to miss out on!! <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Reverend Insanity
October 8, 2017
Status: c47
I love how malicious this MC is. He simply is doing what he can at the time he can do it. So while his actions are morally questionable, I still really like him as a character because they writing makes it to where I can empathise with him, although I can't sympathise. The other characters are also interesting and aren't just shallow minded 2d characters you can find anywhere. So the conflict is something to look forward to between all these great characters and I think the world building is... more>> also well planned to make this story become even more "alive" and captivating. <<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Dimensional Sovereign
September 18, 2016
Status: c8
it's an ok story. But the MC is really uninteresting imo. He isn't funny, witty, shameless, hot-headed, cold-blooded. He really doesn't have any identifying personality in these 8 chapters, which makes it hard to understand and connect with him, although I can see him become more cold-hearted and ruthless as the story progresses. I don't mind if that happens, but he needs his reasons. His reasons aren't strong enough for him to act like a power-hungry person wanting to dominate the world. So far, I just don't like the vibes... more>> coming from him <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
My Fiance is in Love with My Little Sister
October 23, 2016
Status: c2
This is insanely good and i've read just 2 chapters. I feel a great emotional attachment to Ilya already. This story is really fresh because the "villainess" MC still has a love for her cheating fiancee after she keeps reincarnating. You might think that's dumb, she should just not try anymore and live a different life, but this makes total sense because it takes time to get rid of love (even if he cheated) if we're talking realistically. The story is written with taste, so her unrequited love and sadness... more>> isn't annoying but understandable. And I like how this story hits you in the feels in a sad but good way. I really love this character and just want her to be happy! <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream
Hated Young Lady Accepts Her Fate
October 14, 2017
Status: character intro
This reminds me of the novel "my fiance is in love with my sister" however very different in a lot of aspects. Alsothe the setting similar to an aristocratic otome, although this definitely isn't an otome reincarnation novel

... more>>
Spoiler

While "My finance is in love with my sister" plays on our emotional strings and the heroine's dilemmas of her unrequited love, this MC struggles with her sanity in experiencing the time loops. This MC is always condemned no matter how she acts like being arrogant, cold, distant or even really nice. None of it matters, so in the prologue she is driven to escape the country (but she dies immediately doing so) or even to committing suicide.

[collapse]

Just judging on the prologue, this has a lot of promise and I expect that it's going to be significantly different than other romance stories I've read. So far this story can go on many directions. It can go a slightly more intelligent and political route where the MC becomes a true badass villainess. Personally hope for something like this. Or it can take the typical "fluffy direction, which would make for interesting interactions considering the mc's prior experiences in the loop. Or if it wants to be dramatic, it can take that turn. Whatever direction it takes, I can totally see all of them be fairly interesting and this story needs to be checked out <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
I’ve Led the Villain Astray, How Do I Fix It?
October 14, 2017
Status: c6
I dislike the main character so much that it just brings everything else down to an otherwise good concept and here's why

... more>>
Spoiler

Already in the synopsis it explains how regretful he is towards raising his real brother because his real brother turned out gay. Then he tries really hard to make his novel brother straight, trying to dispel "gay" actions of the novel brother. Already I'm disgusted by this character's outlook on homosexual people. It's like he thinks being gay is a shameful thing (as he says he's regretful of his real brother being gay), then he thinks he can change or guide someone's sexuality through influence (as he's trying to make his novel brother not gay), which I think is soooooo f*cking disgusting. If the kid turns out gay, he turns out gay. Accept it.

[collapse]

Others may think nothing by his actions, but I can't handle my frustration, which is the major reason this scores so low. I don't expect the MC to be gay or open to having s*x with a guy to make this story acceptable. If the author wants it, the MC should be straight as a pole, but definitely not so narrow-minded like this one in the novel.

Spoiler

Sometimes the MC says it's fine to like "pink" and it's fine if my real brother was "gay", but I can actually see the MC isn't fine and is just a f*cking prick that is clearly repeled by homosexuality. SO, if there was just a bit more respect and consideration for homosexuals in the mc's actions, it would have made the character 100000000 times better. But judging by his initial reactions and tone of the story, I bet there's going to be a lot of "laughs", then shock and cursing on MC's part about the ML sexuality coming out. Thus I don't expect any sort of character growth and the kind of mind set change I want to see happen

[collapse]

There were also some morally questionable things that may or may not disturb people

Spoiler

For instance it says the siblings aren't related by blood on the tag because I guess the MC is not blood related to the ML mentally. But, they are actually related biologically by half-blood since the MC did TRANSMIGRATE into the ML's half-brother, thus it is incest.

Also in order to initiate obedience into the novel brother, the MC "spanks him". Spanking was accepted back in the day, but what time period did this guy come from? Spanking is still physical abuse, anyone who disagrees with this statement, look it up. So, I don't know when this guy came from, but I assume that he should be within this later decade so he should know that spanking is detrimental to a child. Maybe it's a culture thing in China still? Whatever I'm still peeved about this character's moral behaviour

[collapse]

Other than all this, the translations are written well and coherently. Like I mentioned I liked the transmigration part into a BL cultivation novel, where the ML is reborn and there was potential in this story. However as I dislike the MC a lot, there's no way in hell I'm continuing.

Edit: After reading comments, I understand more clearly on people's point of view of this novel, and I really do appreciate some of the constructive responses that were written and perhaps my "standards were put too strongly on a place like china" as a reviewer mentioned. However, I wrote this knowing I'd get hate by seeing the obviously high ratings. But, I went out on a limb so I can say my piece on the subject as I feel strongly about it (although it's fictional). I still hold my opinions and that's all I will say. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Reign of the Hunters
February 8, 2017
Status: --
This is so good so far, It's really refreshing to read this kind of novel with a female MC. I was also worried they were going to butcher the romance in the later stages, but from what I'm seeing I think the romance is actually going to develop nice and slow like it should without being the focus of attention. Additionally I really love the female mc's personality.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
God of Music
August 7, 2016
Status: c21
It's really interesting. The MC has the cheat of knowledge for the future. However he doesn't just easily choose to manage people who were assured success based on the future, he actually takes some risk and select to manage different people if that means they are better than the originals. So It's really refreshing to the story and adds unpredictability for the future!
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
God of Crime
April 15, 2017
Status: c22
I feel like the potential was just burned. I know I haven't read that far, but if the story and characters can't even keep me interested at this point, then I'm not regretting to drop it now. I felt like the plot's exciting aspects is dropping really quickly and I can't see it coming up, and whatever characters are now introduced seem extremely boring (i know they are cannon fodder or weak, but even cannon fodder's should have an interesting personality, but these characters are really boring af). Besides the... more>> character doesn't act like the once badass criminal. Although he never was a criminal originally and was a normal guy before, in the very least he would learn something from being in such a harsh prison in those ten years, but he really doesn't have that aurora to him. Idk? It's probably just me. But don't get me wrong, the MC is still pretty good, and it is a decent read, but just really disappointing for me, especially when I loved the first few chapters immediately. But sadly I cannot continue on. Maybe someday I will try again, and see something that I didn't before and love this. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Spectator
October 8, 2016
Status: v1c6
This is super interesting. The MC is such an intricate and great character. When looking at his past struggles and grievances, like his wife cheating (present life) and other stuff (in past life), he is mature enough to see the greater picture of it all and not have outbursts like what other MCs would do in his situation. He knows the world isn't black or white, but all grey. His decisions, views, and temperament are so rational and wise, that the character is very refreshing. Plus his character is like... more>> a side character, hence spectator as the novel title. But regardless it does not mean he is any less dull or exciting. In fact more so because we are viewing the story from a different and new type of perspective and he's also a very awesome character to boot!

The story is so promising with so many possibilities and ways to advance, it's too bad it doesn't look like translations are coming any time soon. But reading 6 chapters is worth the time even if it's not a lot of story because each chapter is cool! <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Dominion’s End
September 12, 2016
Status: v2c4
Some people hate the mc/story, because MC is serious and cool for the action scenes, then turns silly (in a stupid or cringeworthy way (assuming how other people see it?idk though) in other scenes. It's not really a character problem imo, because the MC is not pompous/loud-mouthed/extremely rude at all, I think it's more a problem on the taste of humour in the story. The thing is, the struggle with her sexuality and fantasising about her other world brother is the comedy of this story, which I guess could be... more>> a turn off for certain people and therfore not like the character, finding the MC annoying (but no prob for me, Its extremely hilarious! Lol). But, give it a chance. If it's not your taste of humour, then move on because I don't think that's changing. However setting aside the comedy, the action, story, and other characters are really likeable and good. The MC isn't bad, just her way of thinking (which is the humour for the story) is not what some people like. So because of how controversial the MC is in this novel, it's probably better for you to read some of it yourself, than reading other people's reviews on this before deciding if its yay or nay <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Game Market 1983
September 10, 2016
Status: c9
Instead of IRAS, this feels more like god of music or I am the monarch. For example the atmosphere of the story is totally different as:

- The premise has the MC travel back to the past in the same timeline
- The way the MC approaches and handles situations is different. The MC is very calm, mature, and experienced.
- The story has its own style and plot structure is not as simple as IRAS. The style isn't simply a reactionary type story. It is more realistic and mature. Regardless,... more>> it is not dry because it is realistic, it is still humorous and entertaining in its own charming way
Overall its really good and very worthy of your time! <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
October 22, 2017
Status: c113
In the beginning, the story was hilarious and the misunderstandings were cute, however after the same thing keeps happening over and over again, it's getting boring and predictable. The interactions of the MC and ML are about "oh he's so scary but so hot" and "she's so cute, I want to do her" and there's really not much more to that. The author is going for a malicious/cold ML and simple-minded sweet MC. And while these kinds of characters should be perfect together, they aren't because their interactions are too... more>> forced. The MC is just stupid. Not dense. PURE STUPID.
Spoiler

She doesn't see the obvious signs of the ml's love. So she is just misunderstanding all own her own because the story needs an excuse to continue the conflict. I would be okay with some prolonging since novels just need to do it for obvious reasons (cash, more drama, etc), but it's been happening since forever. Everything is becoming tedious to read.

[collapse]
<<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
The MC is really amazing because she is so different from other female villains. She owns her badass-ness not only because her ability but her attitude. She just dominates like a true villain while being nonchalant about it. I have regrets reading this. Regrets that there isn't more chapters to this story and I am left wanting more. So if your looking for a fresh take on the reincarnated villainess trope, I highly recommend you to read this one-shot.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Avoid the Death Route!
August 20, 2017
Status: c10
This is a really light and fluffy type story from the most that I've read. Usually I don't read this kind of novel because there isn't much depth to work with but surprisingly it's fairly nice. I gave it such a high rating because although this story is a bit typical, admittedly the MC is really cute. Additionally I find the translation and flow of the story good, whereas sometimes I feel really drained and bored by other "fluffy stories". The MC also doesn't continuously repeat the phrases "eh?!! ;... more>> You know~, right" or the super typical reincarnation-like language, so the text reads more like a normal person which I like. Overall I think it's a cute story to pass the time and smile from. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
icecream
icecream rated it
Stolen Love
October 4, 2016
Status: c10
This is a really enjoyable read! The MC is awesome. Calm and collected, Doesn't take sh*t from no-one, isn't niave and has street sense. Her peculiar personality also make for really humorous and interesting interactions with characters too!
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3