Report Review
11 Reviews


iampheng
iampheng rated it
Chongfei Manual
May 29, 2018
Status: c147
Honestly, I'm invested in the story because it's 1.) not that long and 2.) the translators do a really good job of updating.

I liked the story in the beginning... and the middle...I think it only went downhill for me once the two leads got married. I think the characterization of Ah Luo, well, I don't really like her. As for the ML.... well, I don't really like him either (LOL). In fact, the ML is crazily obsessed with the MC since when she was a child. He's the type of... more>> guy that is good to the people around him but then is unreasonable to those he dislikes. I'm not saying that he doesn't have a reason to dislike the people that he dislikes, but they also have their own reasons to dislike him. Since he's ML though, he's basically impenetrable. I find him to be petty and heavy handed at times.

As for Ah Luo, hmmm. I think that the author is doing their best for us to be impressed with her beauty and grace, but she's really kind of petty and narrow minded. Again, she has a reason to dislike the people that she dislikes, but I can't help but feel that... actually the good women around her are better "feel good female protagonist material" like Liuli or Liang Yurong (it's nice that the MC has good girlfriends though). That is, the love story of some of the side characters, who go through more obstacles to be together, are slightly more heart warming than that of the main characters. I have less of an issue with the ML being interested in the MC from when she was young. The romance just didn't really resonate for me.

I happen to love second chance and rebirth stories. I don't ask that the MC and ML be good people necessarily, but I want to root for them too, esp when they're being nasty. Ah Luo just wasn't an MC that I could root for in the long run. That's not to say that other people won't enjoy this piece, after all, I spent so long reading it and will continue to follow the story until the end. I'm just saying my love for the story fizzled out towards it's last arc. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
iampheng rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
June 20, 2018
Status: c449
EDIT: I meant to give this 4.3 stars, but dang I forgot to press the stars again...

After reading 449 chapters, I think I'm qualified to have an informed opinion on this novel. I didn't really wanna read this novel because 1.) I don't really like Xuanhuan and 2.) the characterization of the MC like dumb, weak, door mat like those. On the first point, the world building is consistent and rich. The pace that the world is introduced, to the MC and the reader, is good. I did have to... more>> do a couple of double takes here and there.

Second, the characterization. I'm not sure if these are completely true (that the lead is dumb or weak). In front of the ML, well, these are not completely off, but I think the MC's behavior comes from a place of... complete faith in the love of the ML for him. That is, the MC can choose to ask questions that are not so smart, can choose to be cowardly, and can choose to relinquish control because he knows that the ML will hold up both of their portions of the sky. The couple is very much in love, and it is not one-sided.

Also, the MC is not dumb or weak, in fact, normally it is his contracted beasts and ML who think or say these things. Just think about it... many of these beings are much MUCH older than the MC. So the MC is not dumb or weak at all, he's just young and mortal. Compared to other rather "normal" people that we encounter, very few can best the MC in talent, intelligence, and ability. That the MC seems less cunning that others in this world (at least in the beginning) is because he comes from a world like ours, Earth. We experience less hardships compared to the ancient times, and if we're lucky enough, we've never had to wonder if someone was trying to cheat us (yay, Americans).

The Legendary Master is the ML. He's okay. I personally wouldn't tolerate being teased as much as the MC, but it works for their dynamic. The ML only jokes around with MC. We never see him have a complete two-sided conversation with another person. Although the ML "bullys" MC with s*x (which is mutually enjoyed), most other people are treated with distance or hostility. MC humanizes the ML. ML knows his boundaries with the MC.

The beginning of the novel reads very "slice of life" Stay to witness how the MC grows through his own hard work. Yes, he's got some cheats, but without these cheats, he'd probably still be an amazing mage albeit slower to be a legend (which is he is, in his own right). To be frank, the cheats are what the make the story entertaining. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
iampheng rated it
Genius Doctor: Black Belly Miss
November 21, 2018
Status: c1977
So I've read up to the latest release by Misty Translations.

I found this to be a really entertaining and fast paced read albeit repetitive. What I like about the MC is that she's matter of fact and pretty unassuming. She's pretty stoic, but has odd cute quirks here and there. Some points I don't quite understand are how there are so few female characters int he novel. Also, I don't get why people always tend to be super prejudiced against the MC. It makes me wonder that whatever face mask... more>> she's wearing to change her appearance must be super unlikable! I figure, if everybody everywhere you go has a problem with you...a part of the problem must partly be you, right? I'm only half serious on that point.

I don't find the ML as creepy as other reviewers did... perhaps this might be a weakness of the novel here. I just don't feel attached to any of the characters as I have had in other stories. So, treat this piece lightly. Something you go back to when your other novels are being updated :-) <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
I love this novel because of how savage and cunning the MC is. The only complaint I really have is that either the arcs are too long of the chapters are really short... its at chapter 120 ish and only on the second arc. If you go into the novel with a really moral or self-righteous mindset, you might take issue with the MC's action. However, if you read it as a revenge novel, it's quite satisfying.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
iampheng
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
May 2, 2018
Status: c13.1
EDIT: I meant to give this 4.5 stars, not sure if I successfully did that or not haha...

I wasn't going to read this because I'm not a huge fan of BL... and I don't always trust reviews HAHA. For this particular novel, do trust the reviews. The ML finds himself in all sorts of interesting characters, scenarios and worlds, and each of them are compelling and fascinating in their own way. As that is, despite going through 12 different arcs, I haven't found the general plot line to be repetitive.... more>> Although the MC does seem kind of OP, but how he approaches each specific world is different and surprising. The ML usually ends up being some strong powerful guy that helps him---I like that actually. The MC can handle his own and the ML is basically there as his support structure, but never takes over the MC's actions.

As for the love story... in the beginning it was very much about the MC trying to remedy whatever cannon fodder situation the original character was in, and slowly the OVERARCHING love story gets built into each timeline. I found this to be unique and sweet. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
iampheng rated it
A Mistaken Marriage Match: Record of Washed Grievances
May 21, 2018
Status: Completed
I liked this one better than the other time traveling sister one (Gu Yun). This is mainly because the MC and ML know that they want each other and own up to it. The MC, yes...., can be described as cold, but that's just her front. The lead couple have just the right amount of push and pull to be alluring to readers.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
Honestly, this is one of the best second chance stories on the site. The translator also did an excellent job. Neither of the leads are particularly romantic types as there has been too much pain in both of their lives. That being said, they don't necessarily struggle with that pain either, especially not the MC. She's out for revenge mainly because the people who have harmed her in her first life aren't letting go of her or her family. What I appreciated about Shen Miao is that she learned that... more>> she needn't be bullied into sacrificing herself like she was in her last life. It's not her job to save those that are unrelated to her, and yet she is not a completely abn unfeeling or unsympathetic person either.

Okay, the MC and the ML do come off a bit too powerful in comparison to other characters. There isn't a feeling of urgency in the hurdles they face until after they get married as that's a new life setting for Shen Miao. Instead of angsty cliffhangers, it's more like the reader look forward to the strategy that the MC and ML will use... and dang they are satisfying!

Honestly, if this is your first second chance novel, many others that seem similar will pale in comparison. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
iampheng rated it
Doomed to be Cannon Fodder
May 21, 2018
Status: Completed
This is honestly one of the best stories in it's genre.

The MC is great, the ML... becomes better. I love that the premise of the story is actually less about surviving and being successful and more about just trying not to die in a miserable way. The second half got a little bit complicated with other characters but by then I was already rooting for the main characters.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
Sometimes, I found the story to be really hard to move through. Although the MC is really cool, but her stubbornness was a bit insufferable in the beginning. In real life, I tend to dislike this type of human being lol, but that's a personal pet peeve. This is not really a story about a cute and fluffy leading couple... doesn't really get there until the really final scenes. It's hard to compare this to the other story... Record of Washed Grievances (I didn't read the third one), which I... more>> also read because the characters, personal dynamics, and contexts were quite different.

So, this is a good quality time waster. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
iampheng rated it
Sansheng, Wangchuan Wu Shang
May 21, 2018
Status: Completed
I meant to rate this like a 4 or 4.5.

This is an easy read. Sometimes, I felt that the novel wasn't really THAT amazing, however, when I felt that, then the author would write a beautiful and compelling emotional scene. So there are some stories where you read and find the events unforgettable... this is not really one of them. lol. But, I will say this: even if the feelings don't linger after you finish the story, there are lots of feels during the reading.

To be clear, I'm a jaded... more>> old lady, so it's hard to squeeze tears out of me; I did bust out laughing a few times. Don't read it in chunks because that affects the momentum of the story, imho. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
iampheng
iampheng rated it
Grabbing Your Hand, Dragging you Away
May 21, 2018
Status: Completed
I'd say, 4 stars or 4.5 if you're very generous?

The second half, as others have mentioned became a bit much for me. Please read others review for why. Honestly, the MC has some great patience to be able to pretend to be a fool. This characterization set up for some rather funny conversations and dynamics between her and the other characters. The only thing I found really questionable was the intimacy that was demonstrated towards her by particular characters. Namely, if she's a fool, then wouldn't that be taking advantage... more>> of her?

I mean, it's a good read but it's not amazing or compelling. Let's be real, with the genre and premise of the novel, that's already good enough! <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report