Report Review
26 Reviews


graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
A Returner’s Magic Should Be Special
December 4, 2018
Status: --
This serve as a place holder with the 5* from reading the Manhwa. So far there are around 10 chapter translated and the MC as well as the story is solid but give and take around 20-30 chapter for the flaw to start building up. I will change my rating accordingly when problem creep up but check out the Manhwa first since it already has quite a head start.
39 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
November 12, 2016
Status: c171
This is some how considered as one of my favorite novel and I can't really say why. The story is laid back, MC is OP but passive, don't go out of his way unless something forced him to. It is just the type of novel which you follow the MC on his way to live a normal life in another world. Since he is simply too OP
... more>>
Spoiler

Basically he is a God now at this point

[collapse]
he could do whatever he want but he simply choose not to and live his life the way he felt like it. Reading the review I see people complaining about harem. What harem ? Lately everything have been labeled harem just because the MC meet new girl. The only girl that fall for him by this point is Mio and but by now she is more about respecting the MC than just simply "KYAA NOTICE ME LOVE ME" like most annoying girls in harem gerne. About MC being naive, well that's true. He is a 16-17 yrs old boy that get thrown (kidnaped) into another world. And since violence isn't his nature, those that don't know his strength why try to pick on him since he all in all a highschool student that try to do business in a medieval like world with threaten, spy and subversion being the norm. But the good thing about that is he learn from his mistake. He is not the kind of moron that keep falling for the same thing again and his follower help him learn from his mistake as well.

All in all I find this novel quite relaxing to read. At first it's just a thing to pass time but as I progress further, it grew on me. Truly quite enjoyable to read <<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
NEET Receives a Dating Sim Game Leveling System
October 7, 2017
Status: c30
The novel has a good start with describing the MC, his personal motivation and his new body history. The author also slowly go through how the MC change and how he is trying to fix his new body and reputation. But then thing went f**k all.

... more>>
Spoiler

The author doesn't seem to know spacing. MC drop like 30-50kg and become a fit strong handsome young man in like a weeks or so (max 1 month). I know the author go with thing like "game mechanics" but that is kinda stretching here. Combine with the fact the MC is so handsome that his landlord (young beautiful single mother with a 16yrs old daughter) has a "she would has s*x with you if you ask" in the description around a month after he try to change his way.

[collapse]

My main reason with giving up on the novel was that the author seem to lost sight on what the hell his early story goal was. Granted the MC has no goal when start but at around chapter 20, we got introduce to a new female EVERY CHAPTER. Just because the novel has "dating sim" in the name doesn't mean we need a large cast of 10 or so female characters when 0 of them get developed. You heard me ZERO. The only thing they got in common are that they look beautiful which count for literally nothing.

Spoiler
  • Landlord daughter: above average look, like by guy
  • School president: holy beautiful, the most beautiful (imagine Mahouka Res level of beauty cause that how I feel while reading about her)
  • Landlord daughter friend: tomboyish, beautiful
  • President of the drama club: feminine, beautiful, elegant smile
  • The random girl that drama club press bring back (she will also be in the harem I swear on that) : cold looking, beautiful

There are like 2-3 more I haven't introduce but you get my point. New beautiful girl with 0 characteristic give nothing to the story but word counts and bored readers

[collapse]

Again with the spacing, MC just grow too fast for no given reason. Again game mechanic aren't a thing. You won't grow 10kg of muscle in 1 week and people don't look at you and ask "what drug you been using". MC also a herbivore for some reason. Considering he was a 30yrs otaku before he get this new game otaku body, he has 0 interest in girl and keep using the reason "I am an otaku" to chase away girls. I am not saying he should go around raping girl and such

Spoiler

he can reload "saves" so he can basically have his way with every girl and found out who suit his taste the most but being a moral busy he is, he decide to not use it

[collapse]

but at least pick 1 and stick with it. Worse is, he know they like him and he ignore it.

Surprise, surprise, all the boy in his class hate him cause he so handsome, talented and can literally do everything thus stealing the attention of all the beautiful girl. A normal man would just go "f**k it I am friend of the lady" but our manly man character here want a male friend and he would gladly cast all his female potential girlfriend away in search for that one single male friend. I know friends is important but who said your friend can't be female. Plus MC is 30+ so a bunch of 16 years old kids doesn't qualified as "friends".

td, dl: A missed opportunity for a slice of life novel with an interesting cast of characters, a MC that can "insert special ability here" while casting away his old otaku self while being hated by all but the one that understand him. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
My Girlfriend is a Zombie
August 27, 2018
Status: c85
This is a self fantasy about a dude with super power in a zombie apocalypse that want to f*ck his hot zombie girlfriend all the while picking up more hot zombie girl and also hot/cute girl to add into his collection in the name of "saving them from the zombie plague and return their humanity".

... more>>
Spoiler

He can mind control zombie

[collapse]

For the first few chapter where the MC is still a normal dude with a special quirk, this series deserve 5* due to an interesting start, relatable MC, and a unknown world. Slowly but surely, the gloom that haunt most CN novel creep in: cultivation/similar thing for power up. However, I read many cultivation type novel before and the reason I give this one a 2* by the time of this review is that the MC become a major hypocrite and a random harem seeker out of the blue.

With that power, the MC life is as comfortable as he can get in a zombie apocalypse scenario. At first we see him struggle to learn and control such power as well as scavenging for food and other necessary and imo, the best part of the novel.

Skipping ahead, the MC and his zombie gf find a group of survival which is lead by a badass girl surround by useless leechers (remember the badass girl part). To tell the hypocrisy of the MC, I gonna tell the treatment of the MC to this one specific dude spoiler-ish but it happen quite soon in the story and I won't be telling name so read if you want. In short, a normal dude in a team that isn't a badass, pull his weight and try not to be a burden and MC view him as useless.

Spoiler

He is just a normal person in highschool, has a brain for common sense, can tell people emotion by facial expression, do whatever it take to survive, not physically fit but try his best not to hold down the team and did whatever necessary to not be seen as a burden in the group. Quite a normal guy don't you think ? Well f*ck you cause MC straight up think he is a useless leecher and don't give a rat ass if that dude die or not. When the dude has a chance to leave MC to join another group, he didn't say anything about the MC special power and try his hardest to not do anything that would make up ended up a liability but still, MC is a hypocrite

"In this world, strength make right. If you don't have strength, you are dead weight" - MC word

Spare me the crap MC, you have special power and convenient ass pull power and now you look down on normal people huh. In the end, dude got forced into a petty squabble between MC and another bad-ass girl (more badass). The MC s*xually harass the girl and feed the dude to zombie. To clarify, he feed 2 guy to zombie and s*xually harass the girl. But in his mind, he didn't "kill him", the zombie did. Later on, MC control a zombie to kill other person and yet he said "this is the first time I kill and it feel disgusting". What a load of crap. You put a human in a room with a chained hungry rabid dog, set the dog free to eat the dude and feel nothing but when you actually do it with your own hand you feel disgusted ? MC also said "this is the first time I kill people". First time really ? Hypocrisy at the highest level. Oh the reason he kill ? To protect another badass but currently sick girl so MC feel sorry and has to take care of her.

[collapse]

In his mind, MC don't see any person beside hot badass girl useful. Why girl you say ? Cause every single badass in this novel so far is a girl. Also if it is a dude, MC just gonna hate his ass for no reason anyway cause he is a prick. The more I write the more I hate the MC. If what you seen so far is your type then this is a novel for you. I don't hate cruel and cold heart MC but I want a MC that act true to his nature. Not some wishy washy that look down on other because "you don't have super power there for you are sh*t" but still think he is a "good" person for some stupid reason. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
First let get the premise out of the way. This is a cookie cutter novel straight out of most the recent Isekai/Fantasy novel with game like element. In short, God give blessing/job and you are stuck with it till you die. Not sure if you can advance like from apprentice blacksmith to intermediate or so but you get the jest. These type of novel live on few key things: the execution, characters, interaction and the MC ability to carry the scene.

So far so good is what I gonna say. The... more>> first 10 or so chapter is quite slow but from the name, this is a slow novel. MC sometime belong to the type of missing common sense but in ways that I can believe for a person been raise in royalty/savior of the world type. The equivalent would different value between civilian and government. A normal civi might spend years of his saving for a $100k car while the government can say that a $30 million jets cheap. If you were in a medieval age where the king IS the government, your sense of value would be quite skewed and the MC sometime display something like that.

Spoiler

Doesn't bat an eye a person try to swindle him a gold bar but being calculating with a few copper for daily needs

[collapse]

Romance, the flag that kill many novels. I hate force harem and romance where it doesn't belong/under cook. Realist Hero is a great example of it. So far, the MC has committed to a target and if you read the description, you would found out who. Reading their interaction was fluffy and heart warming because I don't really have high demanding for romance writing. Just make it feel normal, believable and loveable. Real life relationship isn't that flashy anyway.

What else there is, MC is competent, interaction is believable, relationship is nice and character is nothing bad so far. Rating might change if author f**k thing up but as of now, go read it. Just remembered this is a slice of life novel so don't expect any fast development or so.

Edit: NO HAREM. The author said it himself. Huzzah. The story is still solid, character interaction is better than ever, world building got deepen and overall a solid and enjoyable experience to read. Of all the new novel I pick up recently, this is no doubt one I enjoy the most. I have no beef with harem when done right but with japanese author writing style where all girl are equal and get treated normally by the MC and sometime even declare themselves to be in the harem, it never fly well with me since most of the time, their personalities consisted of at most 2 generic trait that can be found anywhere. True harem need some sort of hierarchy else it would just going down a cluster f*ck, arguing and other nasty thing.

c54 Edit: Kudos to author, this chapter is great. I suggest you to read yourself to this chapter and not read the spoiler but for those who developed motivation to read after reading a spoiler go ahead. What has happen in this chapter is a respectable thing from the author. Truly one of the best romance/fluffy novel I had the honor of reading in recent year.
Spoiler

MC meet up with his sister at the end of chap 54 surprise me. In these type of "looking for an important person" type novel author like to tease the meeting with "near miss" to the point of frustration but here, like the romance, short, straight to the point and lovely.

[collapse]
<<less
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
The World Online
August 21, 2018
Status: c145
I came due to the highly rated review but left feeling disappointed. The thing that just make me lose any attachment for the MC is his arrogant declaration. You can check the spoiler for the quotes else just think of something really arrogant that most wuxia MC has ever said.

... more>>
Spoiler

All the beauty women belong to me

[collapse]

What make me annoyed at that statement is that the MC did not earn thing. All of his achievement was stole blatantly from other people he knew from his 1st run and yet he think everything he has right now is by his blood and sweat. Pathetic.

The guy describe by the author is a dude who was surround by luck and wealth but didn't see it the first time due to his short-sighted and idiotic believe. After he reincarnated, his "coincidence" with future powerful and strong character get to the point of comical.

Spoiler

Top beauty from high school has a crush on him since first time she seen him due to his "silence" and "pure" eyes (it is always the top beauty). Oh she is also the soon to be most famous knights and rank top in most beautiful girl in the game in the future. His aunt is the leader oh the soon to be most famous mercenary group. His roommate is a cute girl that study construction and will soon be employed by him due to that "coincidence".

[collapse]

Also what with the deal of only beautiful girl play games or is it in the future, normal looking girl die out ? None of the top female ranker has normal face. They are all "beautiful" and "gorgeous" that make men drool for them.

So taken out his connection, stolen achievement and luck, what did he accomplished on his own ? The expected of a veteran gamer. For example, you don't congrats a veteran CS:GO player for scoring a 80-90% head-shot rate, remembering the spray pattern, you expect him to do so since his life is depend on the game. Same for this dude, He live in the game for 5 years straight so to not know the minimum of what expected of him is just an embarrassment.

What I want in the future is a part where he lost big time, sitting down bawling his eye out screaming I was too arrogant. That stupid statement came out of no where and just annoyed me more from this dude who was basically born with a golden spoon in his mouth but act like he is the man for some reason. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
December 3, 2017
Status: v4c1
I have a love hate feeling for this novel. If I rate the novel without the tack on "harem" then it would make a 4/5. As other state before, this novel is good but not to the point of perfect. Some bash that "if you can't enjoy this novel then you have no brain and like to read novel with OP MC" which I wonder, is the name calling necessary ? I find this novel enjoyable because it did everything it needed to a mediocre level (minus the romance that... more>> is). Seriously though, those who praise the MC as "smart" and this novel has deep political stuff properly haven't read much novel resolving about said genre. The so call political stuff is dumb down to a level where kids can understand and hold no realistic value. It just the same old Isekai king and his band of dumb government board trying to tackle the evil noble trying to destroy the country. It is so bare bone that you would realise if you read similar novel or think about it hard enough.

The romance is pure BS. The author tack that on to just lure people who have no idea how romance work.

Spoiler

This girl is in command of 5000 harden marines who could order an ambush on an army of 30, 000 men and laying trap to hinder and inflicting massive casualty on their army flustered at a mere thing as a lap pillow and developed feeling for the person give her a lap pillow. She might have other interaction with said guy but I either don't see it or it is too bland to even considered it a "romantic" or "flag raising" interaction

[collapse]

The reason I think this novel has many praise is mainly that it is an Isekai that done to a bearable level and that is actually an achievement considering how many sh*t isekai out there. An enjoyable Slice of Life as it is and don't let any body tell you otherwise. But bloody political struggle, war with demon, corrupt noble you said ? What ? The author granted us the "View and thought of the people in the future". I don't know why he think that is a good idea but that throw the risk out of the window. Oh the fight is getting bloodied, the enemy is charging at our MC ? Why should you care, the future vision said that he live happily and enact many policy that benefited the country so why should he died. Injured ? He live healthily AND happily AND died of old age, the future vision said so so why are you doubting ? An utterly stupid decision.

All in all, an average slice of life novel that dumb everything down to a basic level to make the reader feel smug since "hey I can understand politic, its so easy". Really though, all the "politic" so far describe in the novel are child play compare to real politic. Go and read "Risou no Himo Seikatsu". That novel has an adult MC that at least understand real politic to a minimum level. Even your way of speaking and how you walk has to be considered when engaging in politic present or past, not a bunch of 16 yrs kids outsmarting old noble in a battle of wits. In real life, grand noble control young emperor/king/general not the other way around. Modern education doesn't teach you how to deal with noble politic back in the 1600s so don't think you can just run around doing everything you please. For real cut-throat politic, I suggest Dungeon Defense. The politic in that novel is just flat out better that this but more dark, gritty and realistic. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
The one thing I can say about this novel is that it did Healing Magic justice. Most novel I read about hero being a healer would just downgrade to the fact that healing come with a hidden power up or the guy have too much mana/plot armor that he will be throwing fireball around the battlefield while mass healing his army at the same time. The power is set in stone and is what you expected from healer just like in most games, they can only heal. However, they healer... more>> know their weakness and choose to train their body to the max. They are basically always on steroid. You might draw similarity to other novel and I can't blame you, most Isekai novel has roughly the same mechanics so it all came down to the execution and in that I can say everything is solid so far. No cliche "I am a bad guy cause of the setting" or the like spotted so far. The summon group is similar to "Isekai Mahou wa Okureteru!" but with MC role is reverse. I check both the manga and novel already and seem solid enough to continue reading in the future. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Nidome no Yuusha
August 29, 2018
Status: c113
Edit: Reduce fromm 5* to 3* due to most of the current chapter drag out for way too long describing random unrelenting event. Also I am sure this problem are mostly made during translation and that is it get very confusing figuring out who the hell is doing the talking when the number of speaker go above 3. Japanese speech have way of addressing themselves that got lost during translation and the translator either don't put much thought during translation or didn't notice but during big conversation, you could easily... more>> get lost figuring out who is doing the talking. Scene change willy nilly and fact are thrown around with little to no foreshadowing making reading scratch their head wondering "when the hell did this happen.

Spoiler

In c112 or 113, our bunny girl is suffering from disease due to plot convenience. MC spew some monologue saying it is relating to vampire but it is impossible cause he in the only one with the vampire lord bloodline remaining which confuse the heck out of everyone reading the chapter. He also said the cure can only be found in the fairy kingdom but I already destroy the fairy kingdom - a thing which has never been mention and wasn't even clarified if happen in the current timeline or the last timeline.

[collapse]

Also the cliche: when main girl got sick and MC is caring for her, random female stranger charge in claiming "you are doing indecent sh*t to the girl in the middle of no where oh and also I know the girl so leave her be or die" happen which is a blatant attempt to create drama and stretch out the novel. No doubt there would be 1 or half a chapter of fighting, another for explaining and then expositioning about that random girl background and then we would never hear from her again thus wasting all our time. Original Review: 5* rating

People nowaday throw word like edgy at all the manga/novel that show even a tiny hint of "revenge" theme in it. Hell even know how to kill people can even be call edgy by others. Let me be blunt, you either like these type of novel or you don't. This novel is about revenge and the author know his reader well. So far every chapter has been a an enjoyable ride for me. People call the MC crazy altitude edgy, annoying, I find it fun and from the rating, most people who like these kind of novel agree with me.

Now to the actual review. This is a Isekai with the "return back in time" trope that been going around lately. In short, after the summoned hero killed the demon lord, the world turn on him. For more details click the spoiler, it won't hurt much if you read it too.

Spoiler

Living as a fugitive for a few years then in the end, know everything he live for is a lie. To summon him, his classmate and teacher who were near him dies, his family whose he share similar blood dies so their blood can be made to open the portal. Knowing that he is basically broken and hell bent on revenge.

[collapse]

I can see why people compare this to Kaifuku (Healer Hero Revenge) but to me, Kaifuku is terrible. The writing are all over, author forgetting his own story line:

Spoiler

In the last chap author said the dude turn back to normal after he drink the poison but in later chap, the dude is still under the same face and had to wear a mask to hide his shameful face. Other similar instance happen too.

[collapse]

The MC in kaifuku is a hypocrite keep saying sh*t like "I am a good guy". Also the amount of s*x is just a pain to read. Every chapter is like: "we had a lot of s*x", "drink up so you can get more powerful", "let brew up this bullsh*t potion that make women very horny then mind break her to be a s*x slave". MC can't go on for over 2 chapter without having s*x and every fight that has a beautiful women involve MC killing all the dude, drug the girl crazy and rape her.

MC in Nidome however, see s*x as a needless prospect won't waste time doing such activities since it would not gain him anything. He will obviously blush and react if having a beautiful/s*xy/cute girl actively courting for him but he doesn't go around banging girl randomly like the dude in Kaifuku. He acknowledge he is evil and acknowledged it is necessary for him to do it to achieved the revenge he want. That doesn't make him relate-able but at least better than that psychopath "I am a good guy" in Kaifuku. He won't go around killing people willy nilly but if you are sadly drag into his revenge skim, the term acceptable casualty exist for a reason. Other character also getting fleshed out as the novel proceed such as his first companion Yandere bunny girl Minaris (the lovely girl on the covers) and also his revenge stuff is very interesting to read unlike Kaifuku "rape her till she break" or "drink this x100 pain effect" approach. Obviously I am giving Kaifuku a lot of flak but to be fair, it started out great but turn into a s*x fes later on. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
To Be a Power in the Shadows!
May 4, 2019
Status: c43
If you like the gag, repetitive jokes, misunderstanding taken to the extreme then look no further than this novel. A story about a guy suffer from extreme chuunibyou syndrome. It started out quite interesting with MC spewing crap about a secret cliche organization in a typical Isekai world whose goal is to revive the long dead demon lord. After years of picking up orphans, destroying countless of their lairs MC brain is still too stupid to even think of the mere chances his crap may have so truth in it.... more>> I mean after the xth cave you blow up that all of your "underling" claim it contain sign of demonic summoning, blood sacrifice, every enemy you fight spewing stuff like "you can stop me but you won't be able to stop his revival", MC might have figure out something but nope, nope not happening. He is still the idiotic moron who think everything is a elaborate play made by his lovely underling and all the villain he kill also suffer from extreme chuunibyou syndrome.

The reason why all of his underling never found out why he is a moron cause everything he did miraculously turn into a good thing. Got lost after entering the bad guy cave ? The big bad boss came running straight at you. Don't know what the villain up to ? Spew some crap like "if I am them, I will be kidnapping the princess" and what do you know, the castle got blown up and the princess been kidnapped. This dude don't "do" anything. He just say crap and the author make it happen. If you are here to follow the gag then sure it is a nice read but after the umteenth time it happen and the MC is still behaving like a blabbering buffoon, I just give up. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Shingan no Yuusha
May 20, 2018
Status: c3
An utter piece of self-fantasy and wish fulfillment. I also notice the MC name is Makoto and he is also dump by a god after being called "trash" and "conveniently" getting gifted power by another god. If only the character is not name Makoto, I would have missed this detail. It feel like I am reading Tsuki ga Michibiku OP but with less details and character.

"Makoto is a recluse (hikikomori) " who can pick up a 50kg or more log and use it to clear a town infested by zombie... more>> 30 minutes after he got dump by the goddess. The other goddess gifted him "better eyesight"... wait, this is the same as Tsuki ga power but more or less OP (it came with future vision, stat viewing and can also see back into the past) and doesn't help explain why he can use a 50kg log as a weapon while being a useless slob 30 minutes before.

Spoiler

I ran over and read the manga and so, the "hero" the goddess summon is a blond, arrogant asshole just to make us hate the 1st god for being a d*ck to the MC. The MC try to view the hero stat and get punch doing so. Thus the MC hate the hero for punching him WHILE trying to view his stat BEHIND HIS BACK. It is like having another person hacking your account, viewing your history and thinking of how to blackmail you in the future. That is basically what the MC trying to do and he has the ball to complain why is he got punched

[collapse]

If you like no brainer MC, non-sense story and progression and MC who just "act" like what the "cool" kids nowaday expect: no bullsh*t, can bang a girl when needed, you might see this MC as "cool". For me, this is too boring. Compare to other novel I read, this MC feel lackluster and just another average run of the mill character to chased the "no bullsh*t" trend. Go read Tsuki ga Michibiku if you want something this a similar start like this. I had a review for that novel so check it if you need some confirmation. Or you can see other review on that novel. I advise sticking with it until 150 or so chapters if you want to see real changes from the MC cause before that, all his growth are very subtle. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
The Legendary Moonlight Sculptor
August 11, 2017
Status: v46c8
I would give the first 20-30 or so volume a 5* and a 3.5-4* rating afterward. At first, the MC was the driving point of the novel. Weed personality carry the whole novel through out BUT that is also what hold the novel back. Weed had ZERO character development even until vol 40+.

... more>>
Spoiler

Weed and his family up victim of loan shark.

[collapse]

Weed family is very poor, so he become stingy to the max. That guy would jump into the sewer to dig up a $1 coin. It start out believable but as time pass, his personality become unbearable. He literally become millionaire with private TV show contract, streaming and even buying real estate. Yet he still care for the smallest digit in his bank account. He earn MILLIONS of Yen each time his show got broadcast but still complain about the 200 Yen more expensive salt he bought 2-3 years ago. The author might think it is a trademark for Weed but I got bored of it already.

He is quite distrusting of people because of his circumstance but even when his friends come with him, saves him and even die trying to revenge him, he still treat them like crap. Well Weed might think he is treating them good but from how I read it, he treat his friend SLIGHTLY better than a stranger asking you for direction. He call them friends while exploit them of everything from strength to money and even drag them into dangerous mission. One part is because his friends also want to go and help them and he cook to them as compensation but from what I see, it was never a fair trade since Weed always get 60-80% of the total profit. You can say that they only get those small cut because Weed did the majority of the work and is the one who found out about it but that doesn't make him less of an prick.

The romance is all over. The fact women interested in a person like Weed is absurd. Weed is an asshole based on the way he treat other human and even his friends yet a shy, silence and World Class beauty is attracted to him. The way she developed feeling for Weed is understandable but I see zero reason why she still stay with him after 1 month. Any person with common sense would likely stay as far away from Weed as possible and yet Seoyoon see it as Weed being considerate, kind and other goodies. The only worthy that could be consider a romance was with Weed and Dale and that lasted for like 3-5 chapter and never to be heard from again. We get piece meal of information about what Dale is doing and other stuff but it is all just fluff and there was one time where his sister mentioned Dale being the best fit for Weed and that's everything about Dale. I have no idea why the Idol even like him. It just feel like the author slap it on and be like "Weed is even liked by an idol".

Spoiler

The idols "friends" betray Weed for some land and stuff happen later but it seem like that doesn't have any effect on Weed or his friends since they sometime even chat with each other after that.

[collapse]

Side characters got at least some development. While some people say this novel have no dedicated characters that exist as cannon fodder, they are right because beside the main cast which are around 20-50 mostly mentioned characters the rest ARE cannon fodder. They have nothing better to do than playing games, worshiping Weed, charging head first into battle and die while screaming "Grass Porridge". It was funny how it came to be the few first time but it got developed into something ridiculous as time pass. Weed got his own cult of millions of players that worshiped him and it make me wonder are normal people in this world that stupid. Even retired general, military and intelligence personnel join and lead the Grass Porridge. Grass Porridge is just a lazy excuse for Weed to get his personal cannon fodder army.

Weed complain too much. He keep screaming how sh*t his class is despite the fact that because of his class that he got to where he is now.

Spoiler

Unless you think the story don't have enough foreshadowing, his class is the same as the first Emperor that united the continent so yeah good luck finding out who would be the first to become Emperor of the whole continent

[collapse]

Just constant bitching "My class suck, wish I had a better class and then go full 180 few chapter later with sh*t like if it weren't for my job, I would have never finished this quest or I love my class yada yada".

All in all, the novel is a solid 5/5 for the first few dozen volume and enter a steady decline afterward. I do hope the author pick up something is off and proceed to address them cause I lost all interest as of vol 46 and is trying my hardest to digging through the rest. I could reread the novel the beginning but not sure if I can continue reading cause as I said, unless you no qualm with no MC development, questionable romance, a stingy millionaire that still treat his friend like crap even after all they been through then it could still be a good read. Plus the battle scene are still good so that is a plus. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Hyaku Ma No Aruji
October 16, 2018
Status: c52
This novel has potential though it look like author has inspiration from "Faraway Paladin" with the summon as kids training and view the summoner as parent. Though may be because the author want to make his work unique or want to make his character OP without saying he got gifted power a god like in most isekai, instead of 3 like Faraway Paladin, we got 100. You can already see how this decision hinder the characterization onward. At the end of vol 1 in FP, I feel emotionally committed to... more>> the MC "parent". In this novel, it like a countdown about how much the MC learn from the other spirit and when that number hit 0, something gonna happen. Same goes for what happen after he leave the mountain. Instead of 3 or 4 companion, we got hit with around 20+ with most serve as background filler and only 2 to 4 get developed.

The other problem of this novel is that it is too boring. I am finding myself skimming through chapter to find something worth reading. We are 50 chapter in but still nothing happen. MC is still running from the 1st enemy that appear in around chapter 10. MC also has zero personality as in trying to make us "immerse" ourselves as the MC. While the writing is good and some character is solid, I just gonna drop this novel due to how boring I am while reading it. Plus MC is so OP that I don't feel like there would be any enemy worth for a good 1v1 action. So far we seen like 3 to 4 skill of his total 100 so expect more stuff to be pull when MC get into trouble. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Goblin Kingdom
September 23, 2018
Status: c86
Good start but it the MC behavior is starting to wear on me. This will be a spoiler heavy review though I will try my best to not actually spoil any story related thing, only character interaction but just a head up, MC get more attached to a random girl more than his fellow goblin that dedicated their live for him and that pissed me off.

... more>>
Spoiler

Reshia is a side character the MC captured from around chapter 10. She is a special girl that is like by the god, having a Saint title and may be related by blood to one of the god. Basically she is a powerful healer that is important to the human kingdom. Why did she wander into a forest full of monster with a group of 10 amateur I will never know. MC being a human reincarnated as a goblin didn't kill the man and rape the women like Re:Monster but keep them as convenience healing machine as well as craftsman to produce goods. MC has a hard on for her for some bloody reason. At first he is under an influence of her "Saint" effect but after the effect is removed, he still fell attached to her cause "love". In every bloody fight where MC is about to lose his life while Reshia is safely tuck in village doing god know what and contributing nothing to the battle, MC think of her name and got a massive power boost to kill the foe. Even when the MC left of a 1 month expedition to subjugate another goblin tribe and while being beaten to dead, scream his lovely "Reshia " and proceed to chop off the enemy head. The author try so hard to make her relavent and every time I see MC utter her name, I got annoyed as hell. Think of your soldiers who are sacrificing their life for you. You are throwing their life away so you can get back you lovely healing doll, put her in a room and look at her pretty. Get rid of her, build up your goblin strength do anything productive. She serve nothing. She is a healing device that you call for whenever your guy get a cut. She have zero effect on politic, planning and personality of the MC yet the author keep making her the primary source of MC strength when MC hit depression. I am finding myself skipping all the part where MC start calling "Reshia" just get a power boost and I hope that author stop overlying on her. Author can write good supporting character but the one he choose to give MC emotion support fall flat on their face and make me more annoyed than believe in the stake that is happening

[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12
Your and My Asylum
February 23, 2018
Status: v1
I usually don't write review after reading at least 2 vol of a novel but I just want to get this point across: The main heroin deserve to die. I don't care what wishy washy thing the author pull, the last volume should be the MC driving a knife through the main heroin, her acknowledging her crime and commit suicide or someone given her a death sentence. If by any point the ending "hinted" the heroin has achieved redemption and thus, live happily ever after I will change the rating... more>> to 1 star. Period.

The heroin torture people for fun. FUN. She is a serial killer, a sadist, a murderer and should be given no redemption.

Spoiler

According to the novel, she has been doing this for at least 4 years now. The amount of people she personally torture and kill should be way above 100 already

[collapse]

Not even half way through the first vol we are given a sneak peak at the heroin back story thus, the reason why she developed a tendency to torture people for fun. But for me, it isn't enough and isn't justified for her to just kidnap people and torture them for fun. The backstory point may isn't be for us to sympathies with her but the way the author set up for the side character to react seem otherwise.

The only interesting so far is the MC. The MC backstory alone is solid and give us plenty of reason how he could behave the way he is. So far the novel is a 4/5 for me but if I see any hint about the heroin turning back to a cheerful, loving, cute girl that deserve to live happily every after, this review will be change into 1 star. No matter what the author pull, that girl deserve death. Painless or painful, regret or peace I don't care but dead is a must. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
December 27, 2017
Status: Completed
I rate the novel a solid 5/5 for some of the first arc but as the story drag on, you can clearly see the author running out of ideas to write. It doesn't help that the more OP the character become, the more boring the fight get. We used to get fight that drag on for few chapter at a time and though some of the fight aren't always struggle for survival and most are just a one sided slaughter and it make sense in a way that why would... more>> you want every fight become a struggle for survival. We all want every fight is for the MC and the villain duke it out between each other, trading blow but realistic fight is always one side cornered the other. I would recommended reading up to before the last arc "World of Gods" cause the quality goes down after that. Fight become short and character started to become boring and phase out almost immediately. You can clearly see the author boredom while write the novel cause he seem to just want to rush to end it at soon as possible.

The fight near the end just boil down to who shine the brightest who has more fuel to duke it out. No finesse and little to no strategy. There are unresolved plot hole and unsolved story line left behind after the ending.

Spoiler

The author remembered the old character when MC goes back to the south continent to clean up his past. We got a closure for many old character who we stick with for around 500+ chapter but that goes out the window with the ending. So many question left unanswered. He basically left his family to go playing god and never look back. The guy got the balls to say "I will spend more time with you after I get what I want" and he forgot it after he got what we want. We never heard from his family ever again. I mean looking forward is a nice thing but that the point of getting stronger when you are the best in your galaxy. The MC can blow up planet by sneezing but yet he run around trying to get stronger and the end.

[collapse]

Disappointing ending. Recommended to read everything until the last arc but in a sense, the quality of the novel been on a steady decline the closer you get till then so just drop at whatever point you desire. I understand that you would have a hard time writing fight for character that could blow up planet with a flick of a finger but at least try. The author just want to give up and write new story so he choose a lazy but kinda fitting ending for the MC in the end. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Nine Star Hegemon Body Art
January 18, 2019
Status: c180
A typical CN Cultivation novel - Read one and you read them all.

Start off in a small insignificant corner of the world, have knowledge about some OP god tier power that nobody ever heard of. Have an engagement with a girl that will grow up to be the most beautiful and strongest girl ever live in the whole world but somehow born in that remote region of that world. Every arc is independent of each other beside 1 or 2 side character that are either lucky or unlucky enough for... more>> author to keep throwing them in to go "hey you remembered this one right ?".

Like the start but it soon devolved into a typical harem mess where MC "love" main girl and still running around raising flag and flirting with other cute girl. The dude even said "I have a girlfriend in the sect next to us" and the girl still go "I respect your love and will still love you".

If you like novel with similar style then go for it. I already burn enough IQ reading stuff similar to this so I just gonna drop this sooner rather than later <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
Hero? No, I’m an Ordinary Citizen (Monster)
October 11, 2018
Status: c19
So far I been enjoying this novel. If you want a Isekai with active MC going out if his way pulling political maneuvers that make no sense and magically fixing everything, this is not your style. This novel is about a guy going in his 7th Isekai but this time as a add on. I used to have a problem with old age character acting out of age but my friend said this phrase that had me thinking: "With age doesn't always come with wisdom" and if what you been... more>> doing for the past hundred odd years are warring, following orders and the usual riff raft, you won't be gaining much wisdom out of it. MC obviously had experience in politics stuff but choose to look the other way cause "annoying". His instinct also developed to a point where he can instinctively understood some hidden trick is being pull behind his back. With MC being a beta despite he could kill everyone, I mean would you do it just because some dude look at you with contempt ? He know for sure that no one there could put up a challenge to him so why wasting his breath correcting them.

It just like when you play a RPG, of course you could quick save, kill everyone that look at you funny while making an enemy out of the faction and proceed to kill every single one of them but what is the point ? He objective this run is to have fun. Plus in other people eyes he is a random dude with super power that just kill a popular and well known politician, would you then kill all the citizen after that ? Also if you do the "but I have damming evidence that this dude is working for the demon and is trying to do blood sacrifice our virgin princess to do bla bla bla", who would believe you ? You are a add on waste in a hero summoning ceremony that is stronger than the actual hero, if anything people would be calling you a monster and demon lord servant at that point. As for him blushing with girls like he still a virgin, well that is for the person but I wouldn't put past an old man in a 20yrs old body to feel the hormone kicking in if a big breast cute girl proceed to sit next to you and lean onto you for bed time story. tl;dr: Slice of Life isekai with passive but not naive MC who wouldn't go out of his way to kill people just because they dis him. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
December 8, 2017
Status: c108
The start is nice and even though the tone of the novel change after the "revenge/bloody" start, the novel still keep it interest for me. However, the recent chapter is slowly grinding my drop bar. The MC doesn't show any changes in his way of approaching things. He just doesn't learn. The novel keep going back and forth between creating what most Japanese who got throw into another world do: "creating Japanese cuisine" and random politics with in short: "ha ha you fool, imma kill you" to "you monsters, save... more>> me, noooo, spare me, mama" and "i shall take all of you under my wing, come with me and all shall live". Stuff like that

Spoiler

The MC actual age is 16 on earth, 10-20 in 2nd life and 6 or so in 3rd life. Considering his first life was like a country boy who got devoid of technology and social interaction with people and being lock in a cage as a lab rat on his 2nd life. I can understand him for being a wee bit kind and naive but compare to other Isekai with OP naive MC (which are a lot mind you), I take Tsuki ga Michibiku as an example. The MCs are similarly (though Tsukiga MC is younger) naive, OP, have OP companion and striving to create a world of their own in their Isekai world. They MC in Tsukiga pay some what for his nativity and is taught by his companion and also trying himself to learn and improve himself.

[collapse]

Van learn nothing, granted he hasn't suffered yet but still, everything he does come with a "Van-sama is the best" and everything he make has a "never before seen/best thing ever" tag next to it. He kill over 10, 000+ soldiers so far and yet keep getting spook by the smallest of thing and still doesn't understand how OP he is despite having people scream at his face for being too OP. He could just stop and ask a powerful creature he met something like: "Hey, how OP am I" while giving him death threat and stuff and you could get an answers even if it is somewhat exaggerated, just cut it down yourself and you got quite an accurate answer yourself.

Spoiler

He has GOD under him and that god know he is OP so just a question would solve everything but no.

[collapse]

The novel is currently in the middle or it run time and most mediocre author doom their novel at this point. The current author seem to know what he is doing but if the annoying cliche and current trope keep up, I might drop it in the future. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
graydragon12
graydragon12 rated it
The Dungeon Seeker
March 3, 2017
Status: v3c4
Alert: This novel is not for everyone. It have a very dark setting with rape, murder, killing and torture being the norm. Also the author is very detail in describing the torture, amputation and experience scene so if you are someone who don't like that, don't give this novel a try. It is not your everyday "everything will be fine, people will live and be saved by the last minute" novel.

People keep comparing this to Arifutera but this is a whole league above it in term of the darkness of... more>> the story. While Arifutera go downhill quite quickly after the leave the dungeon and just turn into a adventure/OP MC, this novel stick to its core as the MC advance deeper into the dungeon. He will kill everything that even remotely pose a danger to him (cute girl, loli, hot elf). He still has his humanity and will tend to help if someone in needed if helping them don't get him into trouble that is so don't expect him to kill a noble and or wipe out a underground guild for a kid.
Spoiler

About the part the the MC get capture by the first girl he met in a dungeon everyone keep complaining about, the story stick to its setting so what do you expect. Junpei is a weirdo that only put point in his dodge. His only damage power come from the weapon and he doesn't expect that. He was still an amature at that time. He let his guard down and she just grab him like that. Try asking your friend to grab your hand unexpectly while you two are talking. Even with godly speed, you can't dodge it if you are not expecting it

[collapse]

I do wish the artist that draw Arifutera manga switch to draw this manga cause the art in Arifutera is good. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report