Report Review
27 Reviews


grandplex
TLDR?

1st arc: 5/5
2nd arc: 3/5
3rd arc: 1/5

Author started out with a vibrant story, there was a jarring transition to the 2nd arc that doesn't match the genre of the story at all, 2nd arc was less interesting, 3rd arc is like watching someone else play a 20-year old RPG.
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Tsuki ga Michibiku Isekai Douchuu
March 26, 2016
Status: --
Read up to Ch. 70. The story is switching viewpoints for no reason too much. It is dry, and the MC is dull, which is definitely not helped by switching viewpoints to too many characters, too often. It isn't written that badly, but it is quite boring and you can't empathize with the MC, which is a story-killer.
28 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Ancient Strengthening Technique
October 7, 2016
Status: c263
This story has diverged to an incredible degree after it gets into the 150s+, it started as a xanxia with a unique cultivation technique, and turned into a slice-of-life harem building/new production skill grinding book. To say the least, the new change isn't done well and is really annoying to read, as it doesn't progress the overall plot-line much at all, it is basically the most filler I've ever seen, practically 100 chapters straight. 1-star is well deserved. Dropped.
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
The Man Picked up by the Gods
July 30, 2016
Status: v3c10
This novel got stale fast. I agree with the review below, volume 1 was good, then it fell apart. No direction with the MC, no overlying plot, little action. It is really clear the author had no idea where he wanted to go, which is why I really doubt the author will pick the story back up after he dropped it in volume 5. What a waste of potential.
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Versatile Mage
March 14, 2016
Status: --
Definitely not a 4+ worthy series. There is extremely thin character development, lots of plot holes, to the point where you cannot empathize with what the MC is doing, he just looks like an idiot more than half the time. There is attempted humor many times, which all falls flat. The world building is weak, it just says some elements are strong, while others are weak, with no explanation, as the story develops, it doesn’t become any clearer. Somewhat related, the translation is fairly bad, it is basically a machine... more>> translation with correct formatting.

It isn’t to the point where I would consider it one of the worst series out there, as it at least is keeping up a decent pace of weak to strong and avoids some of the absolute worst mistakes that pop-up in some fairly bad Chinese light novels, such as extreme racism towards a certain island nation, but this should probably have an overall score around the low 3’s, which is within the range where it is barely worth a read, to some people (anything below a 3 average rating I would consider trash level where no one should even bother reading it). <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
In a Different World with a Smartphone
August 16, 2016
Status: c80
Indeed, a light-hearted harem, typical tension-less MC. Unfortunately, this falls into the typical trap that often comes with light-hearted stories, there's basically no plot, and since this doesn't bring in anything new, the only thing going for it is admiring the side characters. I'll give it a 3 for at least not having any huge negatives, but it isn't worth reading as anything more than filler.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
The Novel’s Extra
August 18, 2018
Status: c45
Not many stories get a rating 4.5+ on NU that aren't Josei, I guess male readers are generally a good bit harsher with their ratings. This story deserves the rating because it is just that well written. It takes the Korean cliche of going into a world the MC know's about, then screws with him on a regular basis with the plot device of there being changes to the original story.

There is a good bit of humor, plenty of action, well-developed character's, both the MC and tons of side ones.... more>> It does not use the horrible side character alternate viewpoints that generally just end up padding the author's chapter count rather than really developing the story. All around, it has no major weaknesses. Most importantly, it is a story that makes me want to keep reading chapter after chapter, and those are rare. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Acquiring Talent in a Dungeon
May 21, 2017
Status: c55
So, this started out pretty interesting, despite it being clear the MC really has a screw loose or two after just the first few chapters, but after 30 chapters or so, the events do not flow smoothly, there is no foreshadowing of what is going to happen, and there the progression of the character seems to come to a grinding halt, except for one thing, the MC is growing gradually more psychotic, and the author gives no particular reason why the MC (and everyone else) is acting that way. ... more>>
Spoiler

Also, the special ability he triggers at the start, and how he triggered it, make absolutely no sense, I lost a lot of respect for the author's storytelling ability when I saw it finally revealed later on.
In what way does enduring extreme self-mutilation have anything to do with being mentally suppressed by others, it doesn't, the author is an idiot.
His unique ability was supposed to be connected to what happened to him on the 1st level, but instead is used to magically give him a random, completely unrelated ability that completely counters generic future super side-kick's super powerful attack.

[collapse]

The fact that all the characters are psychotic is fine, but combined with a story that seems to be going nowhere, it isn't the type of development I'm interested in seeing, instead of it being a grand dark world, it feels like the MC is turning into a huge Edgelord heading nowhere. I'll see how this develops for a little while longer, but it isn't looking good. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Re:Monster
August 28, 2016
Status: c270
This developed much worse than I was expecting. The unique format/storyline was quite amazing in the first 100 chapters, but it started getting old fast after that. Aside from the MC having practically no redeeming features to make you like him, his development, and the stories development, comes to a screeching halt after he leaves his initial area. Sure, he picks up new skills left and right, and pops out babies, but nothing relating to the overall storyline progresses at all. It turns into a ruthless dark version of Death... more>> March (a light-hearted OP MC who goes around doing whatever he likes, with lots of fluffiness), which completely clashes with the story was going before. Finally, what on earth was the author thinking introducing hundreds of characters, and constantly referring back to them left and right for no reason, the story becomes a pointless information stuffed mess past 200 as a result. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Tales of the Reincarnated Lord
November 2, 2017
Status: c231
This is seriously good. It has a distinct western medieval feel to the story, with a bit of xuanhuan cultivation thrown in. The MC has deep interactions with those around him, the action/strategy is pretty good, and it doesn't focus too much on any of the reincarnation/cultivation cliche's, it is pretty obvious the author is trying to avoid them. Everything does not always go the MC's way, he occasionally goes through a few situations that aren't much worse than dying. There is obviously some plot armor, but it isn't too... more>> extreme. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
January 30, 2017
Status: c138
Quite good. The author's starts it out with an explanation for why this MC will be the typical fanatically training MC that ignores all romance like the plague. And that is fine, as long as the author doesn't build a garbage repetitive story like occurs in so many webnovels. From the looks of it, the author will not go in that direction. The story has good pacing, continuously progresses, at least some of the characters are well developed besides the MC, the story is not overly s*xist/racist, and the MC... more>> is not an incredibly annoying self-righteous psychopath despite having his emotions neutered. It is a good read so far. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Lord Xue Ying
November 14, 2016
Status: v6c20
I am a fan of IET, so it is not surprising I like this novel as well. It is really similar to quite a few parts of Coiling Dragon, which is definitely one of my favorite novels. The plot is smooth and keeps you wanting to read more without putting it down, there are no places where you feel dissapointed with the MC, or feel like the chapter was just there to increase the chapter count, unlike a lot of popular xanxias.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Against the Gods
August 30, 2016
Status: c593
Almost 600 chapters in, that's a lot of chapters, unfortunately, that included a LOT of filler. ATG is filled with repetition, at first, it was hard to predict what the MC would do, but in the last couple hundred chapters, practically everything could be predicted, because it was the 3rd of 4th repetition of something that happened before. It isn't quite as bad as MGA, where it not only has repetition, but the most nauseating MC ever, but the MC is not enough to makeup for a plot that can... more>> just be flipped through in 2 minutes to figure out almost everything in the chapter, flat side characters, and no plot twists. I give it an extra star above a 1 star for the MC. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Swallowed Star
August 5, 2016
Status: v5c5
Amazing, one of those stories that you can't stop reading until you've caught up. It is a scifi xanxia with a MC that is well developed, with a good amount of conflict and worldbuilding. One of the very best web/light novels out of the hundreds I've read.

Can't even remotely imagine how anyone can rate lower than a 4.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Age of Adepts
April 25, 2018
Status: c235
I really liked the 1st arc, but I'm having a lot of trouble staying interested in the 2nd arc. There was a huge style/setting/character change, all of which for the worse. The story turns into a non-stop pointless action-fest, the MC is not particularly growing, and is in fact turning into a stereotypcial villain character, and the information about the setting/scenes get very repetitive, the same type of fight happens over a dozen times, for no particular reason.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Max Level Newbie
February 16, 2017
Status: c38
Haven't seen a review beyond the intro phase basically, so I'll write one. This is actually pretty good. In the beginning it seems a little generic, and the personalities are a little flat for the first 10-15 chapters, but then it really takes off, the characters start having interesting personalities, and we get past the MC being really weak. The only small downside is it is actually going a bit too fast almost, I hope the MC does not reach the point where he is OP and then it spends... more>> a bunch of chapters with him stupidly messing around before he moves on to the next area like in some bad chinese novels. Not expecting it though since this is a korean novel where the author's aren't whoring their consciences to pad their chapter count into the 1000's. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Sovereign of Judgment
June 17, 2018
Status: Completed
This is basically an action story that focuses heavily on the characters, mostly the MC's, rage over his world's circumstances, and the relationship with other races. The overall story has promise, but the way it plays out made it really boring, and I had trouble picking it back up multiple times. The biggest problem is the MC is one-dimensional, he is basically a wooden board that gets angry often, similar to Seoul station master. I honestly don't like one-dimensional MC's with a huge screw loose the whole time, it really... more>> makes it hard to get into the story and want to keep reading what happens next. On the good side, there a lot of side characters, and some are fairly interesting, there is some intrigue, and the antagonist is not brainless at all. But in the end, the one you have to read about 90% of the time is the MC, so I give this 3 stars. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Reincarnator
March 14, 2016
Status: --
Top 5 novel. Badass MC, story line is consistent, enemies with a deep background, side characters get an appropriate amount of development, idiotic/stale humor is avoided, fairly unique story, some parts of it are quite similar to Gantz.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
November 19, 2017
Status: c49
Wow, so good. MC is interesting, there is a good mix of serious and funny parts. There is an overall plotline and it is good at giving you a little bit of it at time. There is a heavy does of RPG to it, so you will have to at least sort of like that kind of thing. Normally I hate switching viewpoints, but it keeps it to a minimum, and uses it properly to foreshadow some things that will happen, rather than split the novel into an obnoxious series... more>> of short stories. The only gripe is his leveling is a bit slow, I can only guess that either this is going to be a really long series for a Korean novel, or there will not be much of an outside the tutorial arc. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
grandplex
grandplex rated it
Seoul Station’s Necromancer
July 30, 2017
Status: c150
This is not a 4-5 star novel, quite simply. We are 150 chapters in, for a supposedly 200 chapter novel, and the plot has barely progressed.

Character development? None. The author has used the excuse that the main character was brain damaged in his previous world, so it is hard for his personality to develop, yet it talks about him "changing" a number of times despite him acting the same way as usual the whole way through the novel.

There are no significant side characters.

Enemies? Supposedly, he hasn't even gotten past all... more>> the bottom feeder bosses yet. I cannot even imagine how much content skipping the author is going to be doing to suddenly arrive at confronting the last boss in just the last 50 chapters.

But, at least the action is decent, even if it feels a bit like a never ending Chinese novel at this point where the story is barely progressing despite one fight after another occurring with not much build up. So it is still interesting enough to get a 3, but, this story is simply filler level.

Edit after reading ending: So yea, the ending (lol), as expected, it was extremely rushed, one of the worst endings I have ever read. This edged down to 2.5 stars for me after seeing just how badly the author screwed up finale. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report