Report Review
Report Reason:
14 Reviews


freezray
freezray rated it
Emperor’s Domination
October 26, 2016
Status: c210
Look I really wanted to love this story and for the most part I still like it but I can't help but feel so frustrated by this novel at times.

Let's start with the good:
+Interesting MC with a crazy past
+World and lore is so far well built
+interesting characters if a little generic (but that could just be me having read too many xianxia/wuxia)

Now let's get to the bad:
- I would rather have had the story from from his past then what... more>> I have now clearly he was far more interesting then. Perhaps its just me but a MC can only be so aloof before it gets downright irritating.
-Its already suffering from too many generic bad guys as the MC starts out OP. I don't really care if the MC is OP but after the 6th guy I get it the guy's a badass.
-Now its not really a harem since he's not romantically involved with any of the girls. That said its close enough when he's CLEARLY collecting women.
-There's no real reason for what the MCs doing I mean there's supposedly an overarching bad guy but aside from the first few chapters and a name drop here and there you will forget they even exist.

The worst:
The fact that I skipped close to 40 chapters just because I felt the story was dragging went back because I thought maybe I missed something and found out most if not all of it was irrelevant. I hate that filler chapters are literally the worst. Unlike a filler episode for a TV show which has the MC going of on some Ultimately meaningless adventure at least there's an adventure. For a filler chapters are just walls of text that do nothing for the plot and are usually filled with information the author has already said before. Garnished with a little whip cream on top so the author can feel like he got some real work done. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
Breakers
February 13, 2017
Status: c74
There's a reason I put 3 stars its not because the novel is supar or just alright. If I had written this on chapter 50 or 40 it would be a solid 5/5 and its completly able of getting back to that. Here's my reasoning though thus far the author is moving too fast. The MC is acquiring everything in just these few chapters.

I'll explain
... more>>
Spoiler

the MCs game like power allows him to acquire every skill that has been used on him. In the beginning this is fine as he's learning things like beginner sword techniques and healing magic. This very quickly transitions to acquiring SS Level techniques that are given to him. With as much reasoning as "he seems like a nice dude" keep in mind these are serious clan secrets that aren't suppose to be taught. These are given to him by people who were complete strangers to him just a few days ago. In actuality I was completly fine with this as just acquiring this skill didn't make him op since he still had to train in it. Its everything that happens after.

He acquires these conquest powers, Gauntlet that was made by a god like dragon an obviously OP item. Then he gets a piece of the heart of another godlike dragon which powers him up and gives him a whole bunch of levels (did I mention there were levels?). After that he goes into a battle that he get another power boost from. These latest chapters he meets someone who gives him a super awesome technique (again for "reasons") and he somehow combines this technique with another to create a technique even MORE powerful then the other two previous S rank techniques.

[collapse]
(made one edit and now it won't hide *sigh*)

Its things like that which make me wonder what the author is doing. Where is the story going if all of this happens now what more is there to the story. Don't get me wrong its a fun read its just currently I doesn't seem like the (for lack of a better phrase) doesn't know how he wants the story to go. He sets up all these events with no rhyme or reason for them happening. I could be wrong though maybe I don't see the whole picture. I hope so. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
Goblin Kingdom
February 25, 2017
Status: v1c74
A fantastic piece of work it really took me by surprise. There's serious dept here that you absolutely wouldn't expect. The reason that I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is because I found myself bored towards the last 15 or so chapters. This is far more a personal reason and not a serious negative. It's just personally I enjoy the kingdom building, enemy fighting and evolution portions a lot more then the (in my opinion) trivial diplomacy, Different character perspectives and "quest" like parts of the story.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
History’s Number 1 Founder
November 20, 2016
Status: c104
On this site novels tend to be overwhelmingly liked even if they don't really deserve that score. This is one of those novels I think deserves its rating. Anyone familiar the webcomic Transfer Student Storm Bringer will find a similar feel in this novel. Although unlike the MC of TSSB it isn't all purely luck and misunderstanding this MC has a real wit about him that most xianxia fail to enact. It's also Ironic how much I like this story this considering the stories like BTTH, PW and RI are... more>> stories I couldn't stand BECAUSE of their MCs. The only negative I care to talk about is the lackadaisical nature of the translator.

<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
May 26, 2017
Status: c312
Even though I have given this novel five stars you need to know what you're getting yourself into.

Pros

    • Cool power
    • Somewhat interesting MC
    • Humorous interactions with other characters
    • The fact that he is a teacher makes the story very interesting and makes you constantly wonder what going t happen next (this is the most important part)
Cons

    • Constantly rehashed jokes.
    • Horrible cliff hangers and I don't mean in the "ahhhh but I want to know what happened next" type of cliffhangers. No, every chapter has to have a cliffhanger it doesn't matter if the situation the MC is currently in is very interesting or not (like choosing a herb for instance) it WILL end in a cliff hanger. (Because why not I guess)
    • I recommend waiting for a decent amount of chapters to be translated before reading. It doesn't matter if the chapter is long or short somehow not much gets done in a single chapter. It can make you feel like your wasting your time when reading chapter by chapter.
    • Did I mention the same lame jokes are constantly being reused like seriously I stopped laughing at misunderstandings ESPECIALLY with s*xual undertones YEARS ago. (I'm pretty young but manga and anime have ruined that for me)
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
Absolute Choice
March 5, 2017
Status: c228
If misunderstandings, super arrogant MCs and "filler" rustle your jimmies don't read this. I put quotations because a lot of people reviewing this novel use that word not knowing what filler really is. A short definition would be a stand alone story not a part of the plot. Up until this point nothing I have read really matches that description so I don't really understand why people are using the word.

The story is about a 13 year old kid who travels to another world not unlike his own but... more>> the people their have powers. On top of this some mysterious force is constantly giving the boy choices he must make with rewards attached to them with varying difficulties. In the beginning The author parodies a lot of character from anime/manga this soon dies down after a while. The MCs goals up until this point has been to increase his strength. Nearly every chapter focuses on this there are no major deviations from that point. Especially nothing that could count as a stand alone story. Hell the author even changes the story a couple of time going so far as shortening one story arc because his readers were complaining.

This is a fairly entertaining read I recommend it to just about anyone. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
Swallowed Star
March 3, 2017
Status: v10c8
Ok so I am writing this review mainly because of the few one star ratings reviews to this story. I gave it a five but its more like a 4.5 I have a love-hate relationship with IET. He constantly uses the same story tropes over and over. He creates important seeming characters and throws them away a few chapters laters. Sometimes its like you can feel when he gets bored and creates a time skip because doesn't want to deal with it etc. That said what this story isn't is... more>> "a slice of life" or a story "without struggle". What's most striking about this is the few amount of chapters these people read to come to these decisions. One person boasting about only reading 26 chapters.

The beginning is slow the author doesn't want immediately slam down your throat the imminent danger these people face. The MC gains a few power ups but isn't immediately overpowered. He struggles but we know he's going to win as we know 99.9% of MCs are going to win but its not always without consequence. In any case the story is far from perfect but I find it highly entertaining. This was made to mostly clear up any confusion people might have made with their reviews.

Spoiler

My one real gripe that bothered me about the story is the extreme nationalism the author creates despite the situation seeming like it should have the opposite effect. The MC in the beginning is constantly talking about his love for his country it gets kind of nauseating after a while. It's made even more annoying when the story is on the galactic scale but he's still f**king talking about china.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
Legend of the Great Saint
May 5, 2017
Status: v1c84
It's far too early to make a score but I can comment on the potential of the story and so far it's looking really good. I really recommend adding this to your reading list. Although there have been plenty of stories with great beginnings only to disappoint later on so take this with a grain of salt.

Update

Definitely Five Stars
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
God of Thunder
February 18, 2017
Status: v8c4
A fairly enjoyable read. The author goes out of the way to make you think you know where the story is going and you end up surprised in the end. Now does this mean the story is devoid of cliches? No it still has them but they are a bit more spaced out between each other.I like the MC as well he is (for the most part) cool and calm headed and really takes a look at things before acting. It's a good pick up chock full of entertainment its... more>> not perfect but really scratches that itch. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
The Ultimate Evolution
October 14, 2016
Status: v3c68
I absolutely love the infinite element genre and The Ultimate Evolution is shaping up to be a great addition. Admittedly the start is kind of slow and I can't wait for more character development for our MC but the sparks of greatness are evident.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
Age of Adepts
May 13, 2017
Status: c69
The first thing I noticed was that it was way more gamelike then WMW with EXP, stats (strength, agility, physique and spirit) and limited amounts of spells that can be learned. That's not to say these are bad because the aren't. There's a bit more vagueness than I would like but it's not a deal breaker either. I'll probably update this in the future but as of right now I would recommend adding this to your reading list.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray rated it
Conquer God, Asura, and 1000 Beauties
January 19, 2017
Status: c74
Man I don't know at first I was really enjoying it but lately its becoming a bit grindy to read. You think there's this story here but the more you read the more you realize its not so much more then the same three cycles rinse and repeat. Weak to strong, followed by some shenanigans which WILL reap some kind of reward, Followed by being weak again. This is highly entertaining at first but now its just seems like it will never go anywhere. The harem and loli tag don't... more>> really make it better. They bog the MC down in unnecessary cheesy dialogue that can be pure torture to read. Not to mention the fact the lolis in this story are actual children like 9-12 year old (MCs like 100+ even if he appears younger) its really hard to read some of the dialogue with that in mind. I wanted give this a 3.9 but its either 3 or 4 so I rounded up. Read at your own discretion if you are easily annoyed at harems and lolis this probably isn't for you. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray
God and Devil World
November 26, 2016
Status: c312
Look this is an author's take on the apocalypse of course its going to have hyperrealism and some things are going to be outrageous (zombies evolve for christ sake). That being said I cannot and will not stand by those who obviously defend this novel simply because of criticism and rating it 5/5. This novel has faults and to try and defend that like this is what the real world is like is utter ludicracy. For instance after the MC goes to the village seemingly everyone he meets Is a... more>> HORRIBLE HUMAN BEING statistically this is IMPOSSIBLE. Everyone the MC meets is literally just a stepping stone, a reason to be beat down upon.

I digress, this story has faults, these have been expounded upon over and over again by other reviewers. I wrote this review after reading the obviously reactionary reviews of people who love the novel. I will admit the story can be very entertaining but after a while it drags on you as the MC does everything in cycles rinse and repeat. Nothing feels like progression sure he gets stronger but what is it all for? You think know until the author whisked away the MC to a new random area. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
freezray
freezray
Ancient Godly Monarch
March 1, 2017
Status: c201
Not crazy good but definitely not bad either. What baffles me is the one star reviews with little to no reason other then they disagreed with the people who gave it a five star review. Even though they themselves have only read 40 or so chapters. Like everyone else says there's a strong start and it almost immediately heads into generic mode after that. That said the characters are well fleshed out nothing feels very forced and the world building is also a plus with a cool cultivation mechanic. If... more>> you looking to add a novel to you already long as hell list I definitely recommend this. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report