Report Review
42 Reviews


fltstrt
I really like the premise of the story.

However, the translations are a little frustrating... It feels to me like the translator might not be entirely fluent in English- phrases are worded weirdly and incoherently.

For example in the chapter I am reading currently, chapter 12:

... more>> "Everyone had a pile of materials by their hands, by their materials were usually two adornments of outer space cups.

Even if some people left, it would be hard to defeat using a pile of review materials to occupy the seat by force, as to prevent being driven away in the middle of the library room."

With a bit of inference I can make out roughly what the translator is trying to illustrate, but it really takes out the enjoyment of reading the story...

To the translator: I really appreciate the effort taken for you to translate novels, especially with a language that you aren't familiar with. But I truly had a hard time trying to understand your translations, perhaps an editor might help?? <<less
9 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
I Seem Unsuited for Dating
April 21, 2017
Status: c31
My prev review was written in April 2017 when I'd only read chapter 5. Now Jan 2019, after 1.5 years, I finally picked up this series again after accumulating the chapters.

I usually don't read much rom-com, I favour heavier/ darker story plots. But at times, I wanna take a break and just relax with some light hearted read!

I've liked this story the moment I'd read the synopsis. It's the classic enemies turned lovers trope but it's done well and v enjoyable to read! Bonus- No annoying side characters!... more>>

The dialogues are sooo witty and relatable, I find myself laughing at times. Also, the description of food had me salivating and made me hungry.

-Translations are great and concise. I'm praying for fixed schedule releases. But at this rate.... the story might take another 1.5 years to complete or worst still, left incomplete. Please continue translating this story! I will wait patiently! Thanks! 馃檹 <<less
9 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
I’ve Led the Villain Astray, How Do I Fix It?
May 24, 2019
Status: --
I decided to write this review today even though I'm only at c30.

I received news today that the China Govt (Xi) is cracking down hard on certain themes in media. Danmei and snu snu are two of the many banned topics. Repercussions will be enforced (jail time) if restricted materials remains published.

Publishing platform JJXWC (where this novel and many others are also currently under) already announced a blackout of new content for 15 days to take down all incriminating content... These genres of stories will cease to exist on the... more>> platform v soon.

Its truly a sad day for the community and the authors...

Many read translations and raws for free. Don't take these stories for granted. I implore that you support your favourite authors and Translators while you can.

~~

Story 4/5, TL 4/5

The premise is really really cute and it's my first danmei Transmigrator vs. Reincarnator combo.

So far really liking the interactions between the MC and ML. It's hilarious and also slightly sad to see the ML so guarded against the MC initially. But the fun truly starts after ML begins suspecting the origin of the MC. I will never tire of the wolf in sheep's clothing act, I look forward to reading how the romance between these two progresses!

My biggest con is probably the author's writing style. Too draggy with needless explanations. There's no need to account so clearly for every single actions made by the MC and ML. If everything is laid out bare in the open, the anticipation and suspense element is missing. As the reader, I much prefer and will have more fun if I come to realisation by myself through foreshadowing hints and incidents in the story. <<less
6 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
If the Deep Sea Forgets You
January 23, 2019
Status: c158
Story: 3.5/5, TL: 4/5

Started off well but ended poorly.

The plot set up isn't realistic as the MCs' sibling relationship happened abruptly and forced initially. I keep waiting for their romance to take off but they barely communicate their feelings/problems which caused a host of lame ass misunderstandings. At times I feel the story borderlines onto slice-of-life as there are many redundant moments about them eating, sleeping and watching tv. I would much rather the author focus on the actual plot than include all these excessive fillers. Further into the story,... more>> I actually have many criticisms. I feel that dialogues are lacking and the writing style is report-like. I often feel disengaged when reading as the events are written in a touch and go manner with little elaborations.

As the story progresses, the MCs behaved increasingly out of character. The plot veered off tangent and I thoroughly lost interest. ML is supposedly a capable barrister but I did not see an ounce of intelligence from him. Ending seemed forced and the whole mystery surrounding the FL wasn't fleshed out well. A pity, as I like this premise and it has potential to be A LOT better.

I highly recommend 'Memory Lost' if you're looking for a better amnesia/mystery romance story. <<less
6 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
Story 1/5, TL 4/5

I gave it a chance as I wanted to know the reason behind ML's incomprehensible decision to imprison FL but 1/3 into the story nothing has been properly explained for, yet I already feel like vomiting blood at the drama.

ML is a yandere and a bloody annoying one too. I truly think ML is the worst kind of 'lover' ever- utterly selfish and self entitled. I question his IQ too for his methods are appallingly dumb.

He may inwardly 'care' for FL but outwardly he is always... more>> dishonest. Never clearing things up with FL, leaving her in the dark and sending her on a rollercoaster ride of hurt and betrayal. Always wants to validate his love by forcing himself on her physically... uh wtf? So much wrong in this story.

Being with this ML, FL never feels understood, love or assurance. I want FL to pack up her bags and leave this possessive jerk behind.

If you love to torture yourself then maybe this story is for you but it's 鎷滄嫓, adios for me.

This translator on Webnovel did a great job w the translations but I wish you would choose a better project next time. <<less
5 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Poison Genius Consort
March 29, 2017
Status: c700
MC is a smart protagonist. MC isn't entirely formidable, she has her flaws and weakness but she overcomes them with her knowledge (poison, medicine) from her post transmigrate self. I really like her character development, its realistic. I've read other similar stories but most MCs are either too powerful or too revengeful, which makes the story arc too predictable and boring. Don't expect a lot of romance as of ch102, the romance is slow building as its a long novel and theres 1000+ chapters left. Male lead is likeable in... more>> my books, he is the tsundere type鈥 slow and indirect show of affections. Not complaining yet from the lack of romance as storyline is interesting thus far. I've been thoroughly enjoying MC's antics and adventures.

Translations are done really well. (No matter how good the original story is, I will drop it if the eng trans are horrible). Conversation/dialogues are very witty. 5x chapters per week, a fairly good schedule. Chapters are long and adequate in quenching my thirst for more. I hope to see till the end of the entire novel! <<less
5 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
As of C154 I will give story a 5/5 and TL a 4/5.

I've been rather let down by a number of lackluster historical cnovels recently but I've been thoroughly revived by this story!

It fits the bill of what I want to read in a story鈥 character development, believable romance and an interesting succinct plot.

This is FL's third reincarnation and thus she had learnt from past experiences what she ought to do to ensure a better life. However with this cheat, she is still met with all kinds of tribulations as... more>> she is unable to forgo kinship/ friendship, has a strong sense of justice and is warmhearted by nature.

I like that I was able to see the character development from when they were young'uns to established individuals. <<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
April 14, 2019
Status: c299
Probably the most slice of life story I've ever read- story follows the MC from the time she's 6 to teenage years.

Many hilarious and heart warming moments. There are also certain parts where it's too slow for me and I ended up skimming through them.

For the first 299 chapters, romance is practically non existent and yet the plot kept me invested.

Unfortunately just when the romance is finally picking up (I think), the author went on a hiatus... thus an angonising wait ensues... at this point, I'm not positive... more>> that this story will be completed. <<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
The Beautiful Time With You
February 27, 2019
Status: c349
Story:

4/5 (c1-c200)

3/5 (c200-current)

... more>> Did YFY really penned this story?? I find it hard to believe. Lol. I didn't think that she is capable of writing something that doesn't torture us readers. This story has some of the most passionate fans around on Webnovel. I wouldn't have read this if it wasn't so highly recommended.

This story is no doubt very cute. Reminds me of A Slight Smile is very Charming w the gaming elements and campus romance. A must read if you enjoy pure fluff!

I am halfway into the story at 349 and it's becoming toooo draggy. Too many meaningless plot filters! The repetitive text messages, and predictable seemingly endless banter between ML and his older Sister or roommates that can span several chapters has became stale. It was funny the first few times but not when the same formula is recycled throughout the story countless times. I will enjoy this story much more if it was more concised. I highly recommend 'You're beautiful when you smile', a story about e-sports and romance between professional gamers! <<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Hello, Mr. Major General
January 25, 2019
Status: c555
Story: 5/5, translation: 4/5

I am surprised to find that the plot is fast paced and action packed right off the bat. Veteran readers of e-novels will know that many qidian authors love to drag out key story arcs excessively with mindless dialogue-padded scenes to increase their word count, such isn't the case for this story. The writing is super solid and the plot pacing is very good too! Please read this addictive story!

I'll try my hand at summarising the premise and keep it spoiler free:

ML is a high... more>> rank military man, he holds the position of General Major of the Empire's 6th division. 6 years ago, he was assigned to young, orphaned and amnesiac FL, and had taken on the role of her legal Guardian before she comes of age. FL's past and family background is a mystery that the government wants to unravel.

I highly recommend this story for ppl who likes their romance sweet and steamy 馃檭with a huge dash of blockbuster style action and political intrigue. Forget about low level face-smacking w a bunch of sheltered white lotuses, I'm talking about civil unrest, compromised state cybersecurity, cross border missions, lawsuits, etc. Core characters are all high society, influential elites and professionals with brains and/or money.

It's a very complex and well written plot. Every arc is new and refreshing, it will leave you on the edge to find out what happens next.

The story concluded after 2263 chapters, it's pretty much a given that their romance is a slow burn. But I promise when the time comes... you'll explode.

The older, taciturn and self proclaimed war-machine ML insists the naive but intelligent FL address him as Uncle. Outwardly, he treats her as a mission he has to fulfil and keeps a distance from her, employing his trusted men to safeguard/ care for her while monitoring closely from afar. Lonely FL is dependent on ML for emotional/familia support but doesn't realise her romantic notion for him right away as she is young and inexperienced in matters of love.

WARNING: There's a controversial and medically questionable scene at the very beginning, where FL was poisoned with a lethal drug that had aphrodisiac side effects and the only relieve was to have sexual intercourse. The ML being the best and safest option did the indecent deed unwillingly whilst the FL is unconscious. I can see why many is turned off by this. Personally, I feel that the scene did contribute greatly and set the tone for the overarching story. For us readers, It revealed a layer of the disciplined and inexpressive ML that would have otherwise been left hidden and untouched forever. Perhaps that unpleasant incident was the catalyst/ turning point for the ML.

If you're ok with the above, IMO try and read till the FL's USA internship arc to decide if you like it or not, as things are a lot more exciting from that point on. From chapter 186 onwards, is where the main MCs' romance picks up and it's also the start of one of my fav arc. Yay

Edit: In the end, I directly downloaded the Qidian app. I'm listening to the book with the preset audio function. Its my first audio book (鍚功) experience and its so relaxing.

The author is v witty and has a way with words, her eloquent descriptions are so emotive!

Honestly the large amount of chapters are a little daunting but I must say, I'm really amazed by the author... she updates twice daily for 3 years. How is she able to concoct such a complicated and well thought out plot that is equally entertaining? She is an idea bank and writing machine. As I'm only 20% into the story I just hope it doesn't get too draggy and messy further along. <<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress of Military Lineage
January 23, 2019
Status: c179.2
Translation: 3.7/5, Story: 5/5

The translation isn't the most refined. I almost abandoned it halfway, so glad I came back to it.

The story is super solid. Love love love the antihero MCs!!

The back story of both FL and ML are extremely complicated but it's woven into the plot seamlessly and revealed gradually. Story is very engaging and addresses profound themes. Author is masterful at portraying human self preserving nature as various characters' and especially the MC's motives and agendas runs deep. All characters big or small are multifaceted, their actions are... more>> accounted for and written in a very believable way! Not once did I feel that they have deviated from their personality. Some arcs can be rather draggy and initially the author has a habit of repeating stuff excessively (I suspect to lengthen and hit word count on qudian) but just skim through those and it gets better and better as you read on! I promise! Slow burn romance, but so so good! The chemistry between the FL and ML is palpable!! I'm rooting so hard for them! <<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Muchuan and Xiang Wan
January 23, 2019
Status: c84
Story 4.5/5, TL 4.5/5

It's been some time since I've read a cnovel of this genre with good translations! I wish there were more crime/mystery novels translated! In the story, crime solving takes front center seat and is the main catalyst that spurs the MCs interactions/relationship. Plot is pretty thrilling and suspenseful with many twists and turns.

Similar to Ding Mo's 'When he comes, close your eyes, ' the series of criminal activities are not standalone cases but seems to be intrinsically interlinked with the MC.

I like the odd pair-up of an... more>> over imaginative, budding e-Novelist (FL) and the perceptive Detective (ML). This unusual combo made solving crimes take on a unique angle with slightly unorthodox means. No annoying side characters too. Which is a major plus. I hope I didn't jinx this. The ML makes me swoon, he is definitely the tsundere type, which is right up my alley. I have a feeling the romance will be a slow burn.

I hope as the story progress, it will gradually take on a darker tone and amp up on the mystery and thrill! <<less
4 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
The Scum Shou’s Survival Guide
April 25, 2019
Status: c20
As of c20 (end of first arc) I'll give the story a rating of 3.5/5 and TL: 4/5.

I was inducted to the Quick Transmigration genre rather late, I gather it's because there are more translated yaoi QTs than cannon ones and I don't usually prowl about in the yaoi section... anyway I am enlightened and eagerly exploring this whole new world hoho.

Arc 1 is more melodramatic than I would have like. I wanted it to end quicker as it honestly felt longer than the 20chapts.

I felt like I was watching... more>> a train wreck happening and the worst thing is it's all orchestrated onehandedly by the MC. In order to complete the Mission, MC puts the ML on an emotional rollercoaster; expertly manipulating his thoughts and actions and trapping him in his huge web of lies.

I gained zero emotional satisfaction by the closure of the first arc. I almost wished I didn't pick this story up.

I'm conflicted by the MC. For now I am unable to discern if he has genuine feelings for the ML in the first arc. This is due to the fact that the author gave him contradicting monologues.

MC would wholeheartedly act out his pitiable role鈥 his inner thoughts would also reflect his emotional anguish however that sob narrative would soon be overwritten by 'comedic' banter with the 888 system where MC mocks the ML's love/situation.

I feel the author really missed the mark here, or maybe this story is just not my cup of tea. I am unable to enjoy the supposed heartbreaking romance panned out due to the 'cruel fate' as the entire plot from start to end has been schemed by the hands of the MC.

The author should stick to one stronger narrative and not attempt this half baked Scummy Sh貌u with a white lotus tendency. Its quite annoying and hypocritical. Either wholly invest in being a villain MC keen on achieving his goal or be a relunctant participant swayed by love in this system's Mission.

Overall the story is unique but the freshness wore off before the first arc even ended. I'm already tired of the formula. I much prefer other stories of this genre (eg, The strategy of clean washing a slag sh貌u.) <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Fish Playing While Trapped in a Secret Room
April 11, 2019
Status: v4 epilogue
Story 5/5, TL 5/5.

I procrastinated writing this review as I was deeply affected at the time of reading... It made me introspect on my own bittersweet youth days where I lived recklessly for my passion just like the characters in this story.

I have a feeling, I will revisit this story again at the next milestone of my life...

... more>> Heres a dialogue I copied from V1P30:

"Some people have a lifetime dream which will make their blood boil. You will never be content with yourself, Ai Qing, if you haven't won the actual world championship or you haven't tasted the grand slam, or you haven't carried the national flag for your most loved game."

Not content with myself? True."

The discontentment... I think many youths and adults carry with them this heavy emotion...

I relate so much with FL and the numerous characters fighting for the sake of their passion, so many sacrifices had to be made.

Outsiders may scorn and belittle your dream but only you know how important it is to persevere on this lonely and unlit path.

The unbridled raw emotions in this story can overwhelm you as everything that is depicted is very very real. The friendships, the betrayals, the lost love and new love... the pressure from society... the mistakes... You will laugh and you will cry as you read.

A very poignant story that almost reads like an autobiography. A story that spans over a decade about the life of an esports pro gamer. (I do think this story would adapt well into a cdrama, pls someone make this happen!)

Please read the prequel it is an absolute must, to be able to appreciate and understand fully.

Shoutout to DHH translations, you're the best! <3

Check out "You're beautiful when you smile", it's another esports story also translated by DHH! <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Princess Medical Doctor
April 11, 2019
Status: c137
Story 3/5, TL 3.5/5

This story is rather bland.. my ratings of 3/5 is quite generous.

The story is loaded with the usual plot armours like reincarnation, medical system, 'capable' FL, Tsundere ML and palace politics. Basically it has all the tropes that I love YET the story still falls flat.

... more>> I feel frustrated reading. I conclude that the author simply isn't clever enough and it is reflected by her insipid characters and simplistic story plot.

The political schemes and ploys are lame/ Low level... None of the characters, even the MCs strike me as particularly smart. I keep waiting for some suspense and mystery to egg me on to read, however even after 137 chapters I don't feel invested in the story at all.

Romance wise- it's super meh. The ML isn't entirely unlikeable but neither is he particularly charming....

I usually love Tsundere MLs and have no problem with slow-burn romance. I get that ML has to keep his guard up against FL and this is a typical hate-turns-love trope but he simply has too Low EQ. ML often regrets his actions but even behind the scenes he does nothing much to redeem himself because he is utterly clueless on how to handle FL.

Spoiler

FL saves ML from being poisoned by sacrificing herself. ML doubted her intentions and imprisoned her. Even after knowing that she was injured badly, he refused to part with his pride and withheld treatment. I simply don't understand his train of thoughts. FL almost died, but luckily she has her medical system which saved her life.

If ML is wise, he would have secretly sent the doctor to treat FL in the prison first without letting anyone know. Afterwhich he can continue to investigate the incident and determine if FL is truly guilty as charged.

FL (and I) definitely lost trust in ML for abandoning her when she needed help most.

[collapse]

I might continue reading this to fill up the void that Poison Genius Consort has left behind. I truly hope the story takes a turn for the better.

Please read Poison Genius Consort as it excels x100 in everything that this story hasn't deliver鈥 truly intriguing plot, medical system, witty characters with depth, Tsundere ML, OP couple, hate-turns-love romance. <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Rock Sugar And Pear Stew
March 12, 2019
Status: c41
Story 5/5, TL 4/5

Only halfway into the story but it's already panning out to be a great coming-of-age romcom! Truly light hearted and fun read with the ability to cause this old lady (me) to inevitably reminisce about my own childhood. What a bittersweet feeling...

I really like FL, she's very lovable and charming in her own way. She has the ML wrapped around her fingers in the past and present. Haha I look forward to the day ML 'tame' her. FL's loyal sidekicks/buddies are so funny too! I ship the... more>> two together!

I'm excited for the release of the drama adaption鈥 "Skate into Love' too! It's gonna be good! <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
C1- C400: 4/5. Starting was pretty good and fresh!

C400- C800: 3/5. From here onwards the story went downhill. A lot of filter chapters that were pretty boring and lame. I resorted to skipping the work/family drama and only read chapters that focus on FL, ML and the twins interactions.

Typical orphan girl with CEO cum showbiz melodrama. Don't think too deeply and just read for entertainment.

Youyou, FL's Son is such an unrealistic cheat character being a certified Mensa genius at age 6, heading a large corporation. I simply adore him. He... more>> is the main reason I'm reading this story. Of all the little buns I've ever came across in various stories, Youyou is one of my favourite together w his older twin bro. His intelligence and situational awareness caused him to act mature beyond his age. He is burdened by the need to protect his Mother from harms way (incl his own father) as he recognises that his Mother is rather stupid and defenceless. His interaction/antics w other ppl other than his Mother is shocking and at times beyond hilarious, esp w his subordinate (love this character too) ! I really feel so much for this multilayered character! Honestly this shy, black bellied, precocious cutie bun will evoke your maternal instincts haha. I esp enjoyed the first face to face meeting he has w his Father, the ML at the hospital, so heartwarming! Youyou denied his older twin bro's affections initially too. But he soon succumbed after realising that his bro cares for him deeply! ML and FL romance progression is pretty smooth sailing as of c800. Their interactions w the twin buns are pretty adorable too. The slice of life family moments are the best parts of this book.

The reason I gave a rather Low score is because I felt that the story has potential and could be written better with more depth. <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Transmigration: Of Mysteries and Songs
January 23, 2019
Status: c99
I usually check out all Volare's works as they usually take on good stories and their translations are top notch. This story unfortunately, lacks depth and isn't very well thought out.

The reason I continued reading is because it is a transmigration story sans the typical revenge/scheming plot and the annoying cannon fodders. I also came to like FL's group of friends. You can enjoy it if you don't take it too seriously. Just follow the FL as she navigates her new life, makes friends and tries to complete her 'Mission'... more>> in order to go back to the 21st century.

The romance isn't well fleshed out and the chemistry between the leads is quite lukewarm. I find it funny that the author takes time to set up various romantic scenes only to time-skip and leave readers hanging. Why?? I'm so puzzled by the author's writings. Very little elaborations and details are given, we are left to imagine and fill in the blanks ourselves. Lol. It's like baking a cake but not being able to eat it. So frustrating. So if you're looking to read passionate/ fluffy interactions, you will be disappointed like me. <<less
3 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
fltstrt rated it
Poison Genius Consort 2: Emperor’s Swallow
May 9, 2019
Status: c16
I'm such a mega fan of PGC. It's one of those books that made me want to brush up on my subpar Chinese to binge read the raws.

I'm beyond excited that the prequel is being translated!! I have so many questions, like how is our FL related to the MCs of PGC (mother of Gu Beiyue?) as it's not explicitly revealed yet but I guess I will find out when I read on.

PGC is set post war between the West Qin and East Qin dynasty. And now we get to... more>> see what happened exactly that led to this war! I have faith that it's gonna be one hell of a crazy awesome and romantic journey.

So far our FL's personality is v feisty and she is
Spoiler

a reincarnated? Soul, this needs more clarification. Atm I'm pretty shocked as I didn't expect the prequel to also have a reincarnated FL like in PGC.

[collapse]

I see that the story is still ongoing at 1k chaps now, praying hard that this project will be completed till the end! Huge thanks to wordexcept!! <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
fltstrt
As of chapter 200,

Story 2/5

One word to describe this story: draggy. The author is so creative to be able to repeatedly paraphrase the same thing over and over again (eg, how adorable the ML finds the fox.) Utterly tiring having to skim through the fillers chapters...

The story had a cute silly premise going on and would have been a nice relaxing read, but the author single handedly ruined it by being excessively Long winded. I honestly believe that this entire plot can be condensed from 2k chapters to 200.... more>>

This is the result of Qidian's system, where authors' payout are dependent on word count/locked monetised chapters. <<less
2 Likes 路 Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3