Report Review
20 Reviews


fireutsie
Volume 1 was pretty good. However flaws in characters were already starting to show and volume 2 is just bad imo.

MC is an absolute whimp and tries to push his worldview of girls and other things onto other characters. His second (the human) mom is just a bad, a tsundere sadist. As of v2c17 I can't stand these two characters anymore and am dropping it. I really hope that it gets better in the future.
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Youjo Senki
December 20, 2016
Status: v1c5
This novel is good, if you love strategy, warfare, magic and world-war 1/2 settings. Then this novel is absolutely something for you. As many other people pointed out, they didn't like the info dump as well as philosophy. But this is good in my opinion. I don't want a story where x and y do this, then they won with incredible odds and got tons of prestige from it. No, I want a detailed story where I can immerse myself in, knowing what different characters think and why they behave... more>> like that, as well as the necessary world-building. And even so, I think the info dump wasn't as bad as Mahouka where they literally went on for pages about how magic works.

All in all it's a good story, well written, and certainly enjoyable. If you like a version of this story without too much information dump, but still get the action scenes as well as story development, I would recommend reading the manga, which has superb art btw. And the anime which will be airing soon. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Starchild Escapes Arranged Marriage
August 3, 2017
Status: c74
First off, don't go into this novel thinking that you'll get a super serious and well thought out piece of masterwork. The novel is more on the comedic and rediculous side.

With that out of the way I will now describe the feel that I'm getting from this novel. And it really does feel like a darksouls crossover with a dating sim. Everytime the MC has to fight an enemy he's always lower levelled in crappy gear while going against superior boss level waves. He doesn't magically one hit ko them,... more>> rather, he has to suffer a lot to best them.

In this novel, the MC is and probably will always be overshadowed by his yandere gf's in terms of power. But that's what makes the story fun. It's about a person desperately trying to survive his harem of OP yandere gf's in rediculous circumstances with a plot that doesn't take itself too serious. Oh and it has got some ecchi in it. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Slow Prison Life
February 17, 2019
Status: c4
This is pretty good. Instead of the usual otome villainess cliche and tropes we have a psycho noble daughter who defies common sense and just does whatever she wants.
The humor is pretty funny too. I'm looking forward to more chapters
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
86
March 2, 2018
Status: v2 prologue
This novel really did a good job on showcasing a variety of emotions; cruelty, hopelessness, despair, foolishness and optimism. It's a grim and dark novel, not grim and dark like those edgy novels, but one that paints those themes in a slightly more realistic manner. People die, sudden and without warning. No sh*tty monologues in the middle of battle, hours of chanting magic while the opponent does nothing, nobody shouting his skill while executing it. It feels like a real battle without all that bullsh*t.

The worldbuilding is decent as of... more>> volume one, but. The real thing is that these characters grow on you. And that makes reading this novel rather painful as you reach the end of volume 1. Character development was not that elaborated and a lot of the characters weren't even explored fully. But I guess that volume 1 was only a prologue to the real story. So it can't be helped.

Imo this novel as of volume 1 could stand alone as a oneshot. Because it's written that well. It's so good and I can't wait for the other volumes to be translated. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Nejimaki Seirei Senki – Tenkyou no Alderamin
August 24, 2016
Status: --
This novels will suit you if you're looking to a novel that handles things a bit more mature than the usual jp novels. All of the characters are being developed and have actual backstory. Relationships get explored, battles are fought and blood is being spilled.

This novel is mainly about warfare strategies. And thus I would compare it to a more of a mature version "Altina the sword princess" with a MC that has bigger balls, is very smart, less dense, and an overall cast that somehow creates a very comfortable... more>> feeling when they are together, as if you were together with your own friends joking around. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
The World of Otome Games is Tough For Mobs
February 17, 2019
Status: v2c10
Would've been a 3.5/5 otherwise but this suffers heavily from the JP good two shoes MC who doesn't/can't kill the bad guys.
... more>>
Spoiler

Oh, you just declared war on my country, invaded, took my girl hostage, tried to kill my fellow classmates and fired cannons with the intention to kill at me?

Best I can do is to knock you out with rubber bullets and let you live! I can't kill anyone, this is the best I can do!

At some point he even outright says that he can't kill and wonders how long he can let the bad guys off lightly. All while subjugating pirates who steal and murder.

Then there is this hugely inconsistent plothole. Why is the head of the country the king when it's supposed to be a matriarchy? This literally doesn't make sense.

A ton of stereotyping about the women too makes it really weird. Why do I feel as if there is incel tier stereotyping towards women?
I could look past these two flaws but the first one really pisses me off.

[collapse]

What a waste of time <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Still, Wait For Me
July 19, 2017
Status: c43
First things first, you won't be able to find anything revolutionary or mind blowing plot in this reincarnation story. But it certainly is refreshing from all of the cultivating reincarnations as it's set in the modern times. The pacing is ok and won't make you fell like it's rushed or too slow.

The MC doesn't have superpowers or OP brains for revolutionary inventions ect., just his own life experience. Which gives the story a more realistic vibe. And if you're familiar with the Chinese/asian culture around highschool and studying then perhaps... more>> you will able to relate yourself to particular things that happen in the story.

The supporting characters all get an introduction and some background here and there. And although the key supporting characters seem to have their own personalities, they aren't exactly very deep. But that could change as more chapters get translated.

As for the romance, it will not be a harem, (the tag is also not there). The MC only loves this one girl while he does handle the other girls quite good (nothing inappropriate).

The translation is done very well, as usual from Volarenovels. Though it has some minor errors, which is probably due to the mass release.

All in all I think it's a good and solid read. 4/5. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
My Sister the Heroine, and I the Villainess
February 14, 2019
Status: c111
This story feels inconsistent from what I've read so far. More detailed thoughts but contains major spoilers about the story:
... more>>
Spoiler

First arc is how Chris (the female mc) meets her sister and dotes on her. This is fine and all just like the summary portrays.

Then comes the 2nd arc of Chris falling in love with the 3rd prince and her literally taking 2 years to come in terms with her feelings and express it well. Like what? Completely not in sync with how her character was portrayed at first.

Then comes the intermission of her and her "friends".

And finally there is the 4th arc from chapter 80 on. Where Chris decides to play the villain for the sake of her sister only to reconcile with her sister who sees through the scheme and manipulated everyone in order to make up with Chris.

At this point I'm very confused. What about all those future snippets of her becoming the real villain. What about this entire overthrow the nobility thing that gets mentioned? Is this even the world of the Otome game? And above all, why is Chris still acting like a kid even though she has the memories of her previous life and lived so long in this life? It makes no sense.

Her sister, who was bullied according to Chris' memory, isn't meek at all. She is a yandere with some very high scheming skills like her mother. Whom we also know next to nothing about but keeps being mentioned as a dangerous person who can manipulate everyone around her and trying to cause a revolution.

At this point I have no idea what is even going on anymore or where the story is headed. Is it supposed to be a tragedy like a certain other brocon story or is it just a story about a foolish girl (Chris) who tries to make her sister, who actually needs no protecting but only cares about having Chris by her side, happy?

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Swamp Girl!
March 1, 2018
Status: Completed
This story had a great kick off, action packed, decisive MC, great mystery about what exactly happened, a goal the MC has set for himself and tries to reach. But that's only for the first few chapters, then it just takes a whole other direction. This novel isn't an action novel. I would say it's more of a psychological, drama filled romance novel about a person trying to find himself/herself, what he/she is, and a place to belong to. It's about coming to acceptance of who you are while you... more>> don't know who or what you exactly are and coming in touch with things that contradicts with your own existence. Kind of like having an existential crisis. If you're into these kinds of psychological novels then this is a great read.

However, if you're not into that kind of thing and expected this to be one of those typical reincarnation stories then you're wrong. It's not like that at all, hence why you see some of the lower ratings. This novel probably wasn't what they expected it to be.

I'll say that it was a decent read for me personally, I enjoyed it. But there are some issues. The main one is that the story was simply too short or at least it felt too short. This resulted into a lot of things feeling rushed or unexplained. A side issue is that the plot just slows down after the initial kick off and only starts to pick up near the mid-end of the novel. These two issues combined made it so that the ending left me with quite a few questions. There was too much rush which left a dent in the world building, character development, character motivation, background stories ect. Which is a shame, especially for a story which tries to tackle a hard theme/setting like this one.

My verdict is 3.5/5, if it was less rushed then this would've been a solid 4.5 if not 5 star. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite
July 31, 2017
Status: --
This novel is quite good. The pacing is a bit fast here and thete but the longer chapters make up for that. The setting is not revolutionary but the writing is refreshing and interesting enough to make up for it. Some of the more complex and difficult things get skipped way too fast though imo.

There is one thing that really ruined this for me. As certain others have said, the MC is a gigolo in the first story arc.

There is literally no reason for the MC to sleep with/seduce other... more>> women in order threaten/coax them for information afterwards. Even if the author tries to justify it with MC wanting to protect his dear ones. That left quite a bad aftertaste in my mouth. Because it just feels like a cheap and forced attempt to make the MC alfa. To make things worse, this change in personality came out of nowhere in the span of a single chapter. I was really surprised as the MC wasn't portrayed as a person who would do this during earlier parts. From the main female interest pov she's just getting constantly ntr'd as the MC is hanging around other women for "the greater good". <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Your and My Asylum
July 23, 2017
Status: v3 afterword
PSA: I feel that the author is a huge pervert who has a foot fetish and likes masochism play. The story is littered with the feet licking, petting, "servicing" and humiliation play (the MC is the M) during the dialogues as if it was a normal conversation... If you find this disturbing then I would not recommend this story, however if you do, then go wild, I won't judge.

If you like crafty schemes with a physically weak but mentally strong MC. Then this is the novel for you... more>> as it differs from the usual underdog cultivation - beta harem MC settings.

The MC is a cunning and wicked person who schemes to assure his own survival even if that means controlling others by holding on their weak spots. The side characters all have a certain depth to them with their own backstories, but just like the MC, most of them are wicked too. And you'll get to know the cast more as the story goes on, because the story is quite descriptive. You'll miss a lot of things if you skim it, which I strongly advise against.

All in all I'll give it a 4/5 <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
I Favor the Villainess
February 19, 2019
Status: c102
To clarify on the other review, there is no NTR in this novel, NTR basically means cuckhold, usually related to s*xual acts. And there is none of that in this story. You can rest assured.

The 2nd thing that needs to be said is that this novel is very politics heavy. Both from the authors view on homos*xuality, gender indentity to society. And the plot in the novel being about the MC solving political issues. This really isn't a school yuri romance after the initial chapters.

Onto the review then:

The good parts... more>> are that it's a decently written yuri novel. The characters show development in their feelings, they become much more likable later. The MC works hard towards winning over the villainess while she tries to "fix" certain events of the otome game. I like mc's that work hard for their goal. The villainess is also an interesting character. While at first glance she might seem like a selfish abusive tsundere, later on she becomes a bit more dere, starts opening up more and shows character growth as she tries to solve the issues that she is burdened with.
There are also some fights here and there, but not really the main focus of this novel. Therefore you shouldn't go into this novel expecting great fighting scenes. Though, sometimes the references are hilarious.

Now there are some bad points too. Mainly because I feel like I'm being spoonfed about the author's views on s*xuality, gender indentity and politics. Like I get it, you want to preach about it, it happens in a lot of novels, but if you dedicate entire chapters to it then I'll start feeling that it's a bit excessive.
Other than that, a lot of the time certain developments feel forced and rushed. Major plot events get introduced on a whim and end way too quick. And some of the major characters fade into obscurity for seemingly no reason. I felt like they should've taken a bit more time to flesh the world building out a bit more. But this story takes place in the world of an otome game, so again, it's not like you could've expected much.

Some spoilers and more clarification about the bad parts:
Spoiler

The MC is a masochist who throws herself onto the villainess, (an actual child and not a mentally mature person like the mc), with emotional scars. It literally became s*xual harassment at some point. But lets put that on the side shall we since it gets better later on.

In this story we constantly get fed on the political views of the author. Monarchy is failing, and thus it is concluded that everyone should be treated equally. I mean it's fine and all but with how the MC is "guiding" the villainess love interest on her political views I really feel like I'm being spoonfed politics. Which isn't what I was looking for.

Another thing is the authors view on homos*xuals. Yes, I get it, homos*xuals aren't accepted everywhere, there is need to preach about it, and since this is a yuri story I was expecting some kind of talk about that since it is part of the character development. What I didn't expect was again, the authors political views on homos*xuals being spoonfed on us. Also, they mentioned at the start of the story that homos*xuals were RARE, then how come we keep getting important people introduced that are homos*xual? Or is it just purely for the yuri harem the MC creates unintentionally?

Also in the later chapters we get a bombshell dropped on us that one of the males is actually a female and we get an entire lecture arc about gender identity. Like why? How is this even relevant to the plot of two girls trying to love eachother? The MC didn't even know that since it wasn't in the original Otome game.

I have no problems with homos*xuals, otherwise I wouldn't be reading this novel, but I was looking for romance, not politics.

[collapse]

All in all it's enjoyable as long as you don't mind the excess amount of politics in this novel.
It's a 2.5/5. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Kenkyo, Kenjitsu o Motto ni Ikite Orimasu
February 17, 2019
Status: c227
In this novel the main character stays true to her goal. She remains as much uninvolved with the main plot as possible. At some point she does become friends with these people but that's all.
Even though this is shoujo and has an otome setting. After 200 chapters there is still no romance in sight. So I really am wondering where the story is taking us.

If I were to say it, it really reads like a diary of an oujo-sama going through her normal school life.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
I Swear I Won’t Bother You Again!
February 16, 2019
Status: c15
I like it, the MC realizes that she had done wrong and repents for it. And after time looping back to the past she doesn't suddenly become OP or start living her live happily again. She tries to slowly overcome those depressing things which had pushed her into despair and doing horrible things. She is learning and struggling with all her might. I like this kind of MC. I feel like that there is a lot of room for her character to grow and I'm looking forward to that.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Is it Tough Being a Friend?
February 15, 2019
Status: v2
Like others have said. This novel is a bait and switch. The summary had me completely fooled and while the plot twist was kinda unexpected. I didn't really like it and the plot soon became generic afterwards. This wasn't what I had signed up for. Such a shame too since the original premise was kinda unique and plenty fun.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Goblin Slayer
January 29, 2019
Status: v5 epilogue
I'm not entirely sure what the author intended with Goblin Slayer. When I read volume 1, I was thinking that this was supposed to be some sort of dark fantasy novel with a MC, goblin slayer, who was ruthless due to a rather dark past and fixated on revenge. The setting was dark, the world seemed grim, and hope was at an all time low.

Then I read volume 2 to 5. And the story takes a much lighter tone, with each volume becoming more lighthearted. He is now surrounded by... more>> "friends", party members and women who have (romantic) feelings for him. His party members joke around during battles, they party around, and the elf forbids him from using certain tactics that she deems as too vile. At some point in volume 5 they even have a dead weight tagging along while infiltrating the enemy HQ, and they still joke around. This is not what I had expected after reading volumes 1. I know, Goblin Slayer still only cares about killing goblins, but there has been a change in him, a change I didn't want or expected to see.

The story has become "generic" now, just like how The Faraway Paladin took a nosedive after the first volume. Some will probably disagree with my opinion, but these are my honest thoughts

This story is not that kind of dark fantasy novel. It's a novel about a broken man and his surroundings who try to help him in slowly recovering from his "PTSD" so that he can start enjoying life again. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai
January 22, 2019
Status: v11
This novel started out ok. It had some character growth. It had interesting characters. It had a decent setting. It was nice to read if you wanted to read something relaxing. However none of that matters as the ending (volumes 10-11) ruined it all for me. Some things got resolved and I was genuinely happy about that, but certain other things which happened are so bad that I'm mad about it. Sure, I didn't expect a masterpiece ending out of this highschool SoL harem. But the last two volumes of... more>> this novel were absolutely garbage.
Who knows, maybe the author will redeem himself with Imōto Sae Ireba Ii. But I feel betrayed after this ending.
The spoiler contains no spoilers but a note about the translation status.
Spoiler

You can still find translations for this novel despite it having been DMCA'd. Translation for volume 11 is still in the works however. Hint: reddit

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
I liked the novel for the first 100 chapters or so due to it's nice pacing, world building and character exploration (mc) and side characters. But recently it has taken a turn I don't like. MC has become more and more like those ruthless Wuxia/Xianxia mc's who just stomps everyone and everything. I really liked her character in the beginning but it has changed. Not only the MC, but the general setting, the instructors lines of thoughts, all have become too much like those cliche Wuxia/Xianxia battle wn's. I'll update... more>> this review once we're further down the line. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
fireutsie
fireutsie rated it
To Be A Virtuous Wife
May 21, 2016
Status: c123
It was a very satisfying read. I would recommend this to anyone who likes slow paced mature romance which develops over time.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report