Report Review
12 Reviews


ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
Lawless Gangster
January 5, 2017
Status: c37
What to write. It's a story about school teacher Qi Xiu Yuan falling for heteros*xual gangster Xiao Yang at first sight. There's a lot of gore and mentions of cut of body parts, killing, drugs, prostitution. On plus side the underworld is portrayed quite realistic, non of this brotherhood romantic crap or should I say people who believe in it die early in this novel. Still trying to make heads or tails of Qi Xiu Yuan. You would think that gangster with dark past will be complicated one. So far... more>> I'm starting to think of him as naive cute white bunny compared to that teacher, when said person has to do anything dark yet. This story is dark, more complicated than you think, different compared to others stories from yaoi genre. So WHERE'S THE FLUFF I'm asking you !? It's yaoi for @#$% sake. Exactly that's the problem no fluff so far, no funny moment's, nothing nada.
So not my cup of tea.
Spoiler

and no s*x ;_; so far

[collapse]
<<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
Reading this story is like watching beautiful psychological train wreck in the making. Protagonist is caught in infinitely repeating time loop. Every time she has to watch her beloved fiance fall in love with her little sister, struggle to change her future usually making everything worse, then die horrible death. After all this loops she thinks herself worthless and goes with the flow no matter how painful it is, wearing smiling mask of well breed lady. Some will call her saint disposition maturity, I call it your psyche being ground... more>> to dust.
Spoiler

I understand I bit why she can't stop loving her fiance even after all this loops trying desperately and unsuccessfully to gain his love. If your parents didn't love you and basically ignore you it's perfectly natural to imprint on first nice person that is your fiance (supposed to love you, marry you and to not leave till death apart).

[collapse]

Recommended to read with big stack of tissues. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
Soshite Fumetsu no Regunare
August 28, 2016
Status: v1c3
Entertaining, but completely ridiculous. Plot holes big enough to drive truck through them.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader
A World Worth Protecting
June 1, 2019
Status: c79
Bai Xiaochun from 'A will eternal' reincarnated. All the plots reincarnated too. They are so similar it puts me off.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
Doomsday Wonderland
April 21, 2017
Status: c12
I'm giving it four since there are only 12 chapters translated. There's good chance I will change it to 5 stars in the future since it is really promising.

From what I read so far the story is about post apocalyptic survival in the world turned into "Hyperthermal Hell". Add parallel worlds, special abilities and some equivalent of zombies to the mix.

What I think about it so far? The scariest post apocalyptic novel I read so far. It should get horror tag added thanks to ch12, one of the creepiest things... more>> I ever read. From that alone I think author really mastered suspense to the point I find this story a little disturbing. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader
Cool Goddess Special Agent
January 30, 2019
Status: c191
Good points:

  • Heroine is likable, her harem also although their personalities could be more distinct.
  • Some mysteries mentioned in beginning still waiting to be unveiled (ch191).
  • Lots of action.
  • Lots of face stomping.
  • Wordbuilding is so-so.
Bad points:

  • Novel feels a little bit immature, it's like author is venting all his bad emotions through it. Heroine is a free person unconstrained by social norms, responsibility and consequences. She literally follows her hearth and takes no sh*t. She's a person that will call her boss idiot to his face and tell her grandma that she doesn't want to eat. Someone most of us dream to be, knowing we can't afford to be like that.
  • There are lots of evil, rich and spoiled girls that "accidentally" get in conflict with protagonist only to get repeated bashing and face slamming (definitely venting here).
  • Heroine golden finger is so big she basically experiences no setbacks.
  • Romance a bit lackluster. There's a lot pretty boys around and I though someone so free should by now (ch191) do something more than just kissing.
  • There's also that ridiculous accident
    Spoiler

    when super powerful evil guy dies because of laxatives. He would go back and forth because he's to ashamed to defecate in public. Yes, the same public he plans to kill. In the end he grows so weak that 10 year old would be able to do him in.

    [collapse]
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
Eight Desolate Sword God
March 22, 2018
Status: c22
Typical xianxia novel, poor protagonist gets a cheat and conquer all. So far I have only one complain. You find fresh brain in mystery box and poke it with your finger? Seriously? (-‸ლ) Edit. I read raws up to chapter 26 -> so far protagonist managed to save from rape 3 potential girlfriends on two separate occasions. Apparently this is the only way to impress girls according to author (-‸ლ). Personal rating : 4 stars->3 stars
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
Apocalypse Rebirth: Chief, Don’t Move!
October 30, 2018
Status: c891
This novel has one major flaw : TOO MUCH DRAMA

Both MC and major male interest has whole harems of unwanted powerful and/or good at manipulating people insane murderous girlfriends/boyfriends wannabes AND girlfriends/boyfriends wannabes also have their own girlfriends/boyfriends wannabes that want to get rid of their love rivals (generally MC).

So novel is really good lots of action, MC is very rational and doesn't make stupid mistakes so that's why I gave it 4 stars, but I don't think I'm going to finish this novel - all the good points by... more>> now had drown in the drama ocean. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
Omni-Magician
January 10, 2019
Status: c59
Novel suffers from eight grade syndrome that's the major reason I'm dropping it. Beside that:

+ good solid wordbuilding

+ interesting and almost original concept (look up Rick Cook Wizardy series it's the same basic idea) about how the magic works

- interaction between people is on level of ten 8 years old

- villains are idiots with no self-respect
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
Fishing the Myriad Heavens
September 20, 2018
Status: c355
The mayor reason I like this novel is that it looks like author has no idea where is he going with it (beside powering up MC). So if author doesn't know I don't know either which makes it mismatched surprising read. Among advantages is also he may be really bad-ass on earth, but out there he's just small shrimp scavenging with his fishing pole. Protagonist is too realistic to be likable. Let's get real, power corrupts and most of us would turn into arrogant asshole in such circumstances.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
The Rebirth Waste Strikes Back
April 14, 2018
Status: c20
I love dialogues, they are funny, witty, engaging and lighthearted. Plot seems to be a bit shallow but dialogues make up for it in my opinion. Good read when you want to relax and forget about everyday problems.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ferociousreader
ferociousreader rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
September 17, 2018
Status: c755
I wonder why I'm still reading it? First 100 chapters are really interesting, with a bit different take on genre. In the later chapters novel goes steadily downhill. It's resembles computer program with few procedures. First procedure protagonist want's something or dispels doubt about his false identity. First he calls to (insert name) in double meaning words, gets misunderstood as pervert, diagnoses what that person suffers from (cultivation/health), offers solution, turns out he's not a pervert, gets patients undying gratitude. Second procedure : accidentally/ or not destroys buildings, cemeteries,... more>> arrays, landmarks etc. Third procedure : I will take master exam in (insert name) guild but first where's the library. Protagonist mentally copies all the books in few hours and aces exam. This three procedures get repeated over and over and over.

pros

-funny

-lighthearted

-enjoyable read at least in beginning

-no harem

cons

-REPETITIVE to extreme

-no character growth (at least in my opinion) <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report