Report Review
Report Reason:
14 Reviews


faerro
faerro rated it
Special Forces Spirit
January 20, 2017
Status: c20
Read up to chapter 20. The WN was pretty good up to this point, but seemed to go right off the deep end all of a sudden.

... more>>
Spoiler

1. MC is sent on first mission with fellow troops while still in training. Does Delta Force send its trainees out on missions before they even prove they are worthy to be in the field?
2. MC selects Sniper Rifle as his main weapon only to give it to someone else to use during the mission, leaving the MC with his side arm and knives only. If you aren't going to use the rifle, why did you oggle over it for 10 minutes as if you were going to rape the entire jungle with it?
3. Eliminate terrorists only to have f**king American and Japanese special forces come out of nowhere to surround and ambush Chinese special forces. Like American and Japanese special forces have nothing better to do in the world than use terrorists to lure Chinese SF out for the sole purpose of starting a good old fashioned special forces team deathmatch. I think perhaps the author just wanted to write about the Chinese curb stomping Americans and Japanese in a very powerwank type way. Unrealistic and over the top dumb.

[collapse]
<<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
The Ultimate Evolution
February 23, 2017
Status: v6c11
Held off on reading this because I thought it would turn out to be Terror Infiniti 2.0. I was wrong.

While there a few things that get on my nerves about the writing style, the story itself is quite epic. If Terror Infiniti is people being driven along on rails down a specific story path by the system, than Ultimate Evolution is the system giving players a main objective and letting them loose into the sandbox to accomplish it is they please. In many cases it is even possible to ignore... more>> the main objective so long as the alternative path changes the plot enough, or provides rewards that offset the losses. All in all, UE just seems to have a bit clearer sense of freedome and adventure compared to TI.

Both TI and UE are good, I intend to read both to the end.

Edit: Also wanted to say that the first volume is relevant to future chapters to a certain degree. If you skip the first volume, characters will be introduced and events will go down in future chapters that won't make as much sense. Anyway, I am glad I read the first volume. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
January 22, 2017
Status: c19
For those that are hoping that the tutorial will only amount to the first major arc, I am sorry to burst your bubble but it looks like the tutorial will be the only real place that the MC and other selectees can grow. The following is an excerpt from the second chapter:

"The Tutorial is made from Floor 1 to Floor 100 and Players who were able to reach Floor 100 are sent back to the real world. And those Players who are strengthened through the Tutorial become 'The Awakened' and... more>> protect the earth from monsters.

How the Awakened grow is not through experience or training but through level ups like in a game and they can no longer become stronger the moment they leave the Tutorial. They may become more experienced and efficient, but that's the limit.

The evolution of their skills and growth of their stats simply become impossible."

I really hope I am reading too far into this, but unless the author changes his mind part way through and decides to implement some special post tutorial growth system (like the shop from 'Life Mission'), the chances of the author taking this story beyond the tutorial look to be pretty slim.

As for the story itself... it is ok. Probably closer to a 3.5 than a 4 so far, but it is still early. There is too much inner monologue and debate. At times it seems the MC is describing what he is feeling with each and every footstep he takes in the dungeon. At this point I am starting to skim a bit. Hopefully things will improve in later chapters. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
MC's strength is that of an average human. By using magic, the MC can, for a short time, increase the strength of parts of his body to that of an above average human. Author cuts off ability for MC to increase internal strength from the start.

The hook that is supposed to draw us to the MC is his usage of guns in an era of might and magic. Unfortunately his is only average. He ends up making guns for all of his companions (as far as I have read),... more>> and in each case his companions end up utilizing the weapons as well as the MC or better. Now considering that these companions also have their own personal abilities that leave the MC in the dust before even adding firearms into the mix; why should I be endeared to this type of low potential character laacking in strength character?

He isn't really that smart or wise. He isn't amazingly brave or charismatic. He lets others lead him around on a regular basis. His companions eclipse him even in his own battle specialization... but he can make guns and come up with winning strategies from time to time...

Boring. Frustrating. Underpowered and underwhelming. A side character to his own side characters.

I really had hopes for this WN during the first arc, but considering the MC has already reached his growth potential already, why should I continue reading? <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
More than just smut. There is actually a not so bad plot forming up.

The MC is ruthless in combat and can be considered approaching OP. His abilities are all restricted in some way and he cannot use magic, but he makes up for this with strong combat abilities and accompanying tools (smoke screen plus binding wire trap so far).
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
Battle Frenzy
May 22, 2017
Status: c108
Filler filler filler filler. So much filler!

If the author watered down his plants like he waters down his chapters his plants would be dead in 3 days or less. There are so many useless descriptions, predictions and commentary that enire chapters are wasted on them. For example, the MC decides he wants to fight a match because he is a little drunk and charged up. Two and a half chapters of nonsense later, the fight finally starts.

This story has so much more potential, but the author is really blowing it... more>> for me. Stellar War is much better so far, though it still has its filler moments as well.

Everything else aside, the TL and editing quality is great. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
The Godsfall Chronicles
July 10, 2017
Status: --
Think 'Mad Max' meets 'Desert Punk' meets 'Fallout' meets 'Forty Melleniums of Cultivation' meets 'Monarch of Evernight' at a party and they make a strange baby named 'The Godfall Chronicles'. It is freaking awesome so far, but it is still early.

The setting is post-apocalyptic New York City where the atlantic ocean has desertified. The MC is a 14-15 year old boy who has to hussle every day scavanging through the ruins of New York City just to eat. One day the MC is recruited by a mercenary band to do... more>> a somewhat dangerous job, and so the adventure begins. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
Evolution Theory of the Hunter
May 11, 2016
Status: c100
I stuck with it until chapter 10, but I am going to drop this one unfortunately.

Given the writing style it feels to me that the author is a bit on the young side... perhaps high school age. The story concept is good, but I find myself suspending my disbelief frequently enough that it is getting on my nerves.

Edit: I picked this back up out of boredom and I have to say that after hanging in past chapter 20 or so the writing quality improves enough that I will continue to... more>> subscribe to this WN. I still largely stand by my origInal post though. The world building in the beginning is pretty terrible. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
Single Player Only
May 30, 2017
Status: --
Great! This is the type of WN that will have you constantly trying to guess the underlying mystery of the world. This WN has a bit of a MATRIX feel to it, set in a mix of ancient China and the modern world. The stakes are also life and death, where death in the game means death IRL. Stat gains in the game reflect in real life as well, but the prime focus of this WN so far seems to be on the game.

Translation and editing quality is top notch.... more>> Give it a try! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
Star Rank Hunter
January 22, 2017
Status: c60
I want to give this a 4, but after reading this far I am finding that the chapters are becoming increasingly laced with filler. There are only 450 chapters. Why then, author, are you wasting so many words on reactions, predictions, worthless descriptions of things that do not need to be described or worthless explanations of the most self explanatory things. I don't care what this minor side character and his whole group of friends thinks about the small consequence tournament match the MC just won. Move on with the... more>> story already! Entire half chapters are wasted on this, and I am finding myself skimming more as the chapter count increases. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
Top Management
March 19, 2017
Status: c40
This WN is really great.

The only major problem I can see at this point is the handeling of the premonitions. Every time the MC has a premonition he stares into space like a zombie for seconds to minutes, and almost every time a premonition ends he finds himself face to face with some character or another being asked if he is drunk/asleep/daydreaming/dizzy/sick or whatever. I start to cringe every time a premonition pops up, wondering how far we will make it into the story before one of the other... more>> characters finally asks him if he has a brain disease as he stares at walls so often.

I also hope the TL speed will pick up as I really want to know what happens next. Will there be romance with Songhua? What happens with Neptune I the future? Eh, so many things I want to know! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
Aim the Deepest Part of the Different World Labyrinth (LN)
October 28, 2016
Status: v2c1 part5
Pretty good so far. The translator is from Japan and is clearly translating in english as a second language, but even so the quality is still good enough to read.

The MC is OP, but not infallible. Both he and his partner have almost died once and while we still see him exhibit some typical Japanese weak willed MC characteristics, he is still smart enough to seperate from trash characters while seeking companions that will help him climb to the top. He also does not shy away from fights or constantly... more>> cry and whine thanks to the faithful 'Confusion' stat, which can be compared to the 'Gamer's Mind' stat in "The Gamer" webcomic.

All things considered, I will continue to read this novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
Perfect World
July 27, 2016
Status: --
Those of you that are dropping this series early I really feel bad for you. The battles in this series are some of the most epic blood pumping scenes of any xianxia that I have read, and I have read ALOT. The world building is epic and immersive, yet does not cross the line into excessive (borring). The main character is funny and interesting, unlike so many flat and generic MCs out there.

I only wish the TL speed would pick up a bit, but aside from that the TL and... more>> editing quality is excellent. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
faerro
faerro rated it
He’s the Legendary Guard, Isn’t He?
August 1, 2017
Status: c18
3 stars for now, will adjust in the future depending on the story.

At this point it feels as though the innate skills provided by the MC's "Ward" class are worthless. The skills themselves can be considered as OP, but the activation restrictions require that the enemy be a convicted criminal. How often when dungeon crawling or going through day to day life will the MC encounter a convicted criminal outside of the prison he works at? Of course there will probably be an arc where he has to chase down... more>> an escaped awakened criminal or something, but so what? Unless the activation restrictions are lessened, he is just going to be a stronger than average adventurer most of the time. Hopefully his locked skills will address this problem in the future. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report