Report Review
18 Reviews


evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
Prodigiously Amazing Weaponsmith
May 29, 2017
Status: --
The title is misleading.

A misleading title is almost tantamount to fraud for readers and is punishable by 2 stars deduction. This ain't weapon'smithing'. Its magical refinement of bullsh*t copy-paste mindless xianxia Deus Ex objects (Love Disciple Died Yet Again but the world mechanics are bullsh*t intentionally).

Lack of original concept: -1 star

Lack of style: -1 star

Good Translator: +1 star
27 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
I would give this 1 star except that I like the idea of OP MCs. Even then, this piece of sh*t is horrible by any standards and I hesitate to call it a 'novel' or a 'story'. It might be acceptable that people lost their knowledge of magic over a long period of time given the idiocy of the masses but the mechanic that the imbecile writing this sh*t used makes no sense. The background behind how the world works is sometimes subject to change, and really, nothing is all... more>> that enjoyable because there are way too many Deus Ex Machinas EVERYWHERE. You get mithril from f*cking walls for the love of all that's [email protected]$&%^) ^*&@#*%$!!!!!!!!!!

As others have stated before me: the chapters are too short. You literally have a single chapter devoted to the preparation of a meal and, unlike Death March, there is no running around for ingredients across a continent, it's just cutting up food to put in a pot. Nothing happens and a whole chapter is devoted to a single sentence or paragraph's worth of ideas.

There is no character and the MC is f*cking slice of life-rom-com except that the WHOLE PREMISE OF THE STORY is that he's supposed to be a fighting maniac. WHERE TEH F*CK DID THAT GO? Person doesnt know how to write or whatevertf they're doing. The only redeeming feature is that sousetsuka is translating, cuz he's great. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
History’s Strongest Senior Brother
August 10, 2018
Status: c733
not enuff comedy, that's all. When a writer sets out to poke fun at a genre, he needs to know when to stop. Now, at this point in my reading, it's already stopped with the 'being the antagonist' and he's a full blown protag without any junior martial siblings.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
Mei Gongqing
May 29, 2016
Status: c72
WWWHHHHHHYYYYY TTTTEEEEHHHHH FFFFFFFFFF is this a xuanhuan?!?!?!?!?!?! I thought xuanhuan had magic and sh*zz?

Izzall political and stuff though, maybe cuz I gots problems, I want the protagonist to be more ruthless? I mean I'm expecting more blood ya know?

My rating still holds. Its not bad, maybe a bit confusing since it tends to dance around things. I'm Chinese and I dun gets all the etiquette refs. Also Im curious if Lachiel is referring to me in his review, cuz I dun get the criticism
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
The Tutorial Is Too Hard
January 26, 2018
Status: c143
Its a great story. The only thing it suffers from is an inadequate author. Not that I'm criticizing him, but that the style he uses is insufficient. This is something that I hold against many writers: First Person POV. Using 1st person makes writing extremely easy and allows for a writer to get the flow going, but it fails in that you cannot present a different perspective cleanly with out a WHOLLY separate perspective. So we see that in the beginning, when things are tough and the transition is the... more>> greatest that the confusion and break of the narrative enhances the feel of the protagonist, but when the author tries to give emotional development, he goes too far with objective information that the MC has no right knowing. I didn't really mind the simplistic style until when he suddenly became all emotional, because you can't--you just cannot have a 1st person perspective talk in explicit detail about how he is feeling in the present tense. The MC is extremely immature as a person who is devolving on a base, emotional scale and yet he keeps talking about how he RECOGNIZES THIS FACT. In that case, he should either regret his actions or confirm them, ESPECIALLY when he goes on and on about his sudden epiphany that what he's doing is evil or morally repugnant or whatever. The main reason why I kept reading was because the fight scenes were decent and felt good just going through them. TL;DR: 1st person perspective makes the style immature but the fights are okay. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
Skeleton Knight, in Another World
August 10, 2017
Status: --
He stopped being overpowered at some point. Like, he's supposed to be like onepunch man, but they nerf him at some point where skill can beat him.

I was looking forward to an overlord with no responsibilities. Now he's turned lame with no personality; just another cookie cutter romcom protag.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
One thing I hate and so I declare: There is no way the artist of the covers for the LN version is the same person. Should they be so then I apologize, but the covers suck. Also, read the LN version, it flows better even though it has infodumps. Because the LN tries to be more light, it leaves gaping holes in plot progression and characters. Same as what a few other people have said.

Again, this I declare, the art on the covers suck and ruin the atmosphere by making... more>> everybody look like a sh*tty shoujo character. Every time I see that art, it infects my reading of the LN and makes everyone look more generic. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
February 7, 2018
Status: c70
It started out as a decent timekiller read, but the sheer amount of harem members got to me and I just cant read anymore. It might just be me but I started to lose track of the female characters' names around chapter 55 with the sheer number of potential harem candidates. Were it not for the harem, this would be a pretty good read IMO, props to the translator (s). Also, I really have to ask at this point: Is there an actual FEMALE LEAD? I cant tell if there... more>> IS a main female character and that really hurts the Suspension for me. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
It started out interesting but then the author was all "nope~! MC has no backstory! He's just got data downloads!" and then it gets creepy with the whole daughters thing. Also the drama feels so stiff and manufactured. Bad plot flow going on with those obstacles that pop up. It might just be me, but the pacing and the style by the author puts me off, there's too much arbitrary BS about the differences between characters.

This is terrible grammar, I know.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
Honestly, the story isn't really all that good, BUT, and this is very important, this was among the FIRST large scale LNs to exist. Literally any other web or light novel will have drawn from LMS at some point just like how Shakespeare is considered a literary genius. He's not but we venerate him cuz he came first. There's just something about this story that draws you in and makes you root for the underdog who manages to stand up against the obstacles that he has to face.

It gets tedious... more>> to read as you pass volume 20, but I highly recommend that you read this just for the classical value. Past V20, you can stop cuz it just stops doing much. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
A Will Eternal
August 2, 2017
Status: c100
It's really 'bout 4 stars but who really cares, it's an Er Gen story. A Thought Through Eternity/A Will Eternal is great in its pacing with a amusingly silly protagonist. At least for the first 120 chapters, ATTE/AWE is almost as funny as Disciple, kinda like the humor portions from ISSTH but better planned and strung together more cleanly. So far no scifi BS, so it reads like a nice classical story, not like Panlong or DE (IEatTomatoes' works).
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
It seemed like a nice premise except that the author started to add additional game mechanics to, I dunno, make the MC less OP or something. Then the author makes the MC into a bit of an asshole.

It's one thing to f**k with a villain, but at least let him make a kill switch or something so that he can actually kill her if necessary, and then, later, he actually haremizes a character that isnt an antagonist for no reason, its one thing to show someone ugly truths and a... more>> whole other thing entirely to mindrape them after that anyways when they WONT be your enemy anymore, especially since he's acting as if he's supposed to be a good guy.

Basically, inconsistent, or non-extant character building. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias
Stunning Edge
June 24, 2016
Status: --
its just kinda disappointing that the mix of western and eastern elements is so bad. The names alone make me want to puke cuz of how weird they mix. And, honestly, it jumps way too fast in speed: they meet/tame a dragon 50 chapters in and the MC is still weak. Plus the interactions between the characters seems a bit forced and the story itself is mostly unplanned. Her first (idiot) suitor falls in love with her strength, but when compared to his introduction/backstory, it just feels awkward.

I did have... more>> fun at first but it died after the 1st arc for me, now its just wait and see. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
May 18, 2018
Status: 189
it drags on with some random ass plot that it never alluded to before and honestly has too much hanging on the idea that the MC is too lazy to invest his effort in defeating all the annoyances before the annoyances pop up. The protagonist is supposed to be an adult, so even if he were lazy, he should be able to IDENTIFY and eliminate threats. Then he gets retconned so he's no longer OP. The premise was lost.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
What you have here is a ruthless OP ex-super secret agent assassin at the level of a demigod who is never actually ruthless. It would be understandable that he, as an old man, has an extremely soft spot for children, but at the same time, that in no way excuses the theatrics if he is a serious person, nor should he procrastinate, as a super serious agent, and he DEFINITELY HAS TO BE RUTHLESS which he is not. This could have been good.

It had the early start and was among... more>> the first WN to be translated plus its nice and solid premise, then the story dies as it tries to be wholly and entirely light and fluffy. When the MC is a killer, you have to make him the darkness that protects the cuteness, not have him be sucked in until he's a pacifist. It says something about the story when a super assassin feels out of character when killing some antagonists. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
It doesn't actually deserve a 5 star review, but it's certainly better than a 4. This's been going since 2015 for all you people sayin' this's bland. This WN's been around since before anything y'all compare it to.

He does everything to make things more convenient for himself since this is meant to be his vacation. This is not for people wanting something deep. This is meant for those times when you want to sit back, turn down the tension, and just watch, kinda like the old cartoons. It's a bit... more>> on the seinen side. This ain't no shounen. If you think so, you must be reading the LN, go post there. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias
I Shall Seal the Heavens
July 24, 2017
Status: Completed
This novel rates at least 4 stars up until book 4 chapter 387, then it loses the original plot and the story gets so twisted up that it died. After that, its still, IMO better than most xianxia, but not worth more than 3 stars. The true spirit of the story is fulfilled at the chapter I have mentioned. I give this 4 stars up till that point. After that, whether you want to read it is up to you---it's a whole different story from there.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
evvoiathssofias
evvoiathssofias rated it
Zhanxian
January 12, 2017
Status: c242
2017-01-12

The strong start was fun with the idea of him getting a headstart being really unique since he got it legitimately by hearing the last wills of countless heavenly beings rather than randomly picking up some artifact, but the main weakness is the lack of direction in the story as well as some minor fudging in the details such as changing the greatness of an object over time so that it seems to grow more powerful but is then retconned by being described as unique rather than just specially refined... more>> (his main weapon) and this glaring flaw is really hard to accept when, honestly, the origin of his destined weapon is apparently normal. The story is kinda just being put together as it goes and, with the slowing pace of the story, it has gotten a bit tiresome. Nevertheless this is a great concept and fun to read for the first 100 or so chapters before you really start noticing the incongruities.

Recap: the basis of this story is that he has access to a number of unique, GODLY, techniques and treasures that have been lost to the world but he still has to grow like a normal cultivator, which takes massive amounts of time.

4 stars.

Edit: 2018-08-05

Yeah, so at around chapter 230 the author loses track of what made this story unique, the premise of a special cultivator who moves forward with exponential momentum. Now he's fallen into the pit of all other massproduced xianxia where he's wasting time on side plots that add nothing to the story with all this BS avout wine all of a sudden at around 240. Now its just another PoS that drags on for nothing. Now 3 stars <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report