Report Review
24 Reviews


emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
A Star Reborn: The Queen’s Return
January 22, 2019
Status: Completed
I think that many people will rate this novel very differently due to different opinions and/or different reading preference. However, this review is just based on my opinion. Therefore, please forgive me for ranting.

I started reading this novel after reading and waiting for the Chinese manhua. At first, I was really attracted of this plot where I was hoping to see that the female lead can become stronger mentally and slowly build her career which then cause me to start reading the novel. I have read many comments on the... more>> manhua saying that this novel is 虐 which just shows that it will be a painful romantic novel. I honestly rarely read this genre of novels but I pressed on to read (by skipping some chapters when I can’t take the simple misunderstanding becoming a big issue) hoping to see the female lead grow as a person.

However, after reading, I didn’t like all of the main characters.

The female lead: I realised that the female lead didn’t become stronger mentally at all or well even after reading the entire novel. I felt that the female lead technically is very weak, mentally and physically where she can’t solve her problems herself. She always relies on someone to solve her problems.

The male lead, Li Lei, I had good impressions on him before even though before he really start to like the female lead he was not with good intentions and just wanted to 包养 (where it means taking in (lover)).
Spoiler

this is where he even made the female lead forced to make hard decisions just so that she can give in to him and accept his request.

[collapse]

The second male lead, Bei Zi Heng, is someone where I believe everyone would agree is pretty much a j€rk. He tortures the female lead so that she will not escape and hoping she will get Stockholm syndrome and never leave him again. Well, I hated this character from the start for not only making poor decisions but torturing the female lead. However, after a while, it is true that I can tell that the love for the female lead is strong just that it is not in the right way. As the chapter goes on, I slowly pity him because no matter how he tries the female lead never love him again.
Spoiler

There was a period of time of their marriage where he forced the female lead to marry him just to save the Male lead. He tried his best to save the marriage and the love life however it was to no avail. After the female lead went back to him, she realised she was pregnant with LL’s child and begged BZH to keep the child. BZH wasn’t willing but slowly he was willing to take care of the child that the female lead had given birth but the female lead was still fearful and didn’t give up escaping.

Even though, eventually, they were forced to divorce because of the female lead’s brother’s threaten, he still loved her.

I guess the saddest part of his story was shown on the extras at the end of the novel where he died alone dreaming about if he didn’t make certain decisions and made extra effort to correct his mistakes. I guess this part was to comfort readers by showing a different ending.

[collapse]

Even though I really disliked the main leads. I still enjoyed some characters from the novel. Firstly, the female lead’s brother. Not only does he help the female lead, but he is mentally strong or well he has some abilities as well. He “punish” the main lead because of their immaturity which is harsh but I believed they should be “punished”. Secondly, the two producers. The two producers, once again, helped the female lead throughout her career as a singer by giving advices and shelter when she was in trouble. Thirdly, the female lead’s son and LL’s other fiancée son. The female lead’s son is really cute and mentally strong since he was taught by the female lead’s brother. He knows when to make sacrifices and persevere to have a happier family. He helps LL’s (ex) fiancée son or his ‘brother’ even though his mother (LL’s ex fiancée) has caused him and his mother harm. This ‘brother’ then slowly with the help of female lead’s son become stronger mentally and they become good brothers eventually. I believe the female lead’s son is my favourite character out of the whole novel.

Honestly, other than these characters, it is true that the writing isn’t that bad. It is just that since the side characters were the only characters I liked, it was hard finishing the novel even after skipping some details in the novel. I honestly think this novel is currently the most painful I have read. Therefore, I believe this novel may be liked by some but may be hated by some. It is just of different opinions where it may be liked by some readers who enjoy many misunderstandings and heart wrenching moments. <<less
38 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Rebirth of the Film Emperor’s Beloved Wife
July 16, 2018
Status: Completed
I enjoyed this novel a lot and read it all very quickly maybe because I was very tired of novels that is too “dramatic” as in where the main lead would meet with a lot of problems one after another. I feel that the novel is sweet and very cute.

Personally, I think novel is quite unique since although the female lead is cold in nature but when she expresses her love and thoughts to the male lead it is unexpected cute. The entire novel also explains their train of thought... more>> which always makes me smile, especially when it comes to the female lead’s train of thought. I felt some parts were very entertaining and I couldn’t help laughing by myself.

As I said earlier, the novel isn’t too dramatic in my opinion. This is where the female lead seeks revenge for the people who harm her in her past life or whoever that harms the female lead or the male lead in the present life. The revenge part is not really the main part of the novel. I think that the building of the female and male lead’s love, trust and character development is the main part of the novel. It really suits my current “needs” with novels currently which made me enjoyed it a lot.

I feel there’s quite a sufficient amount of character development where the main leads would grow differently based on trust, which is mainly a good thing for the female lead since she was really too cold in the beginning. And that’s why I found some parts entertaining too since she still tries to make an effort to change.

The translations I have read for the first few chapters are very good to me as it is similar to the raws. As for the raws, the only cons I feel is that there’s always typo errors in the vocabulary but then it does not affect the reading since it’s read in the same way.

All in all, I really recommend this novel to those seeking for novels that contains mainly the fluffy love. I would not recommend this novel if you are looking for a book that has a fantastic revenge plot. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Hello, Wife!
September 5, 2018
Status: Completed
This author is really amazing. I feel that her novels always teaches me something new, like a new mindset. I really learn quite a lot just by reading Eight Treasure Trousseau and this novel, Hello Wife.

What attracted me to read this novel at first was how the plot sounds interesting, the reviews and that it is the same author as Eight Treasure Trousseau. What made me want to continue to read this novel is because I totally respect and agree with the mindset of the female lead. The mindset and... more>> the actions of the female lead is very respectable. I honestly feel like I learnt a new lesson based on the decisions she made.
Spoiler

For example, when the woman who stole her ex boyfriend always tried to look for trouble with her, she always stayed calm and wasnt angry.

Another example would be a phrase that was stated in the novel where it goes along the line that “As woman, we don’t need to live on men.” Honestly, this phrase is something that I agree very much on. This is because I think even after a breakup, it is not the end of the world. Yes, you may be sad, disappointed or even angry but is it worth it? I think anyone can just climb back up and live on their lives and embrace new opportunities other than love to have the happiness that you want.

[collapse]

In this novel, I think there is not much romance in my opinion. It is mostly the male lead chasing the female lead, which is super sweet and dreamy in my opinion. When they are together, I think it is not much of a new romance blooming but it is like the romance of an old couple that are together for a very long time. This relationship is based on trust and respect for each other. The trust summarised most of the chapters
Spoiler

When there was a love rival appeared where a woman who liked the male lead for a long time appeared, the female lead still acted very calmly. After that, she had to go on a trip for a signing event for her novels, in the plane she has sudden random thoughts and worries for whether the male lead would have a change of heart. But quickly, she told herself that there is no point in worrying about that and what is done would be what is done. She would only need to go back to face it and solve it. And she trust him this once.

I think this part is very memorable and very true in my opinion. If the male lead were to have a change of heart, the only thing she can do is face it. It taught me that if you trust someone, you should just stick to that decision and if something goes wrong just clean it up and there is no point in overworrying.

[collapse]

In conclusion, I would recommend this novel to anyone that is looking for a change where it is not the typical weak girl with her fragile mindset but a female lead with a strong, practical and logical mindset. I think this novel brings out a lot of new “teachings”. However, I would not recommend this novel to someone who is looking for very intense and passionate romance novels. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
The Rebirth of an Ill-Fated Consort
September 1, 2018
Status: Completed
This story is rather similar to The Rebirth of the Malicious Empress of Military Lineage (TRMEML) in a sense of the story progression and a bit of how the romance progress. However, there is very obvious difference. TRMEML is much more lighter in the plot compared to this book. This book’s plot is very heavy and there is lesser romance with more scheming and enemies.

The progress of the romance of this book is rather similar to TRMEML where they don’t trust each other at first. However, the difference is that... more>> the male lead is rather attracted to the female lead earlier on the book. Both books are rather sweet in the romance.

The female lead in this book is rather vicious and confident. Her main goal is to get revenge on all of the people who made her suffer. And the list of enemies are rather long and much longer than TRMEML. As readers, we can feel her desperation and sadness through her actions and thoughts. Since unlike TRMEML, she has a vicious and uncaring family members. She does not receive any care and love other than from the male lead and her maternal family.

The male lead however is rather mysterious throughout the book. He helps the female lead whenever he knows she needs help willingly. That is also why the female lead slowly trust in him. He is very understanding to the female lead and is willing to sacrifice for her as well. The male lead is also described to do things very efficiently.

The plot on the revenge part of the novel contains tackling many enemies that just keeps trying to make use of the female lead or just to prevent the eighth prince success in what he plans to do. To me, I think all of the antagonist deserves the revenge since they just plans to use her as a stepping stone for their progression in better success.

The translation of the novel is great and accurate.

In conclusion, this novel contains a lot of scheming and how the female lead tackles on it. It shows a bit of the romance of the female lead and male lead and the romance of the side characters. However, it is rather little compared to TRMEML. I found this novel a little too heavy and I would prefer TRMEML instead. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Every Vicious Woman Needs a Loyal Man
June 18, 2018
Status: Completed
I really love this story. It is short and very sweet. Instead of the typical revenge story, the female lead tries to change and live for the better. It shows her development in realising what is love and the male lead determination in loving her. It is really very touching. :’)
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Why Harem Intrigue When You Can Just Raise a Dog Instead
May 26, 2019
Status: Completed
I got to know of this novel through another novel of the author’s named 忽如一夜病娇来 where the novel is about a fake sibling love which I really enjoyed as well. So I thought I should try to read the author’s other novels and this title and the ratings of this novel happens to attract me which I started reading and I’m very glad I read it.

I love the female lead’s personality and character. She’s very logical and she knows what she is doing well. She accepts the fact very quickly... more>> and adapt to it. She treats her position like a job and acts like the character she is supposed to which is a pampered consort. Even though she knows the emperor is just using her, she isn’t dishearten about it and enjoys her life to the fullest. With her logical mindset, she is able to think ahead and climb her ranks that is though she insists that she shouldn’t give her heart.

Honestly, I kind of think that the emperor is stupid from the start. Well, he may be a good emperor but he is bad at seeing who is worth loving and who is just using him. He only realised it after becoming a dog. He got attracted to the female lead because of the care he received as a dog. After he got back into his own body, he started chasing the female lead and it was hard for him. Haha, I kinda think he deserves it after pushing the female lead and using her so that the person he supposedly love won’t get involved in the drama between consorts. Well there was only one time, when I truly pitied him.
Spoiler

I believe it was when the emperor found out that the female lead was pregnant or when the female lead has given birth to a boy and the male lead crowned the baby as crown prince. The female lead flared at him saying that he can use her but not the child. (This is because there will be a lot of rejection if the child grows up to be not suitable and/or that she wants her child to live happily in his younger days)

The Male lead got hurt because he realised that after so long the female lead hasn’t truly accepted him. But he slowly gave in and agreed that he shouldn’t be that rash in the decision.

But to be honest, I can sort of understand the female lead. She’s living in such a tense environment she only wants the best for her child.

[collapse]

Anyways, this novel ends on a good note where the female lead slowly accepts him. I really enjoyed this novel just because it is hard for me to find a female lead with such a strong personality.

To conclude, this novel is a much innocent or happier version (in the sense of the romance) of 妃嫔这职业 which is by the author of To be a virtuous wife but both female lead has strong personality. I will recommend this novel to anyone who is looking for a Imperial harem (宫斗 novel that is not too dramatic or cruel and someone with a strong personality female lead. However, if you are looking for a traditional imperial harem novel that is literally competing for the ranks, I would suggest reading 淑妃. If you are looking for something similar to this current novel, the above mentioned 妃嫔这职业 would be the best novel to read. This is because of the writing style, foreshadowing and the female lead’s personality as well. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
The CEO’s Villainess Childhood Friend
March 28, 2019
Status: Completed
This novel is really really cute. What attracted me to read this novel is because of the baby, Luo luo. He’s so cute omg. From the summary, I thought that when the female main character transmigrated into the book it was way before she gave birth but in reality, she transmigrated and found herself in the second Male lead’s office. She took many precautions and from then try to help the original owner of the body to take revenge on the second Male lead and to become a film empress.

The... more>> female lead, Mo yu, is a very happy go lucky person. She is very lucky so whenever people touch her they tend to pick up money. She loves children and that is why she showed a lot of care to Luo Luo after she transmigrated. And Luo Luo is the one who made her feel accepted in this world. In career wise, when she first started she didn’t really know how to act well and she tries her best and take criticism well. Her personality helped her to be more accepted in the crew. Even though, she is happy go lucky but she is not dumb nor very smart. She knows that some people want to try to harm her and she tackles it on. I feel that her personality is someone who is very happy go lucky and will only worry about things when it is faced.

Our Male lead, the film emperor, is someone who is very cold to strangers but is a very meticulous person. I would say he has will power as well since he is persistent in chasing the female lead. The Male lead was attracted to the female lead because on the first drama they acted together the female lead suddenly passed her a box of cake and said that someone asked to passed to him. The female lead also wished him happy birthday and after seeing he is not willing to take the cake. She ate it happily in front of him.
Spoiler

In actual fact, before this incident the female lead received this box by an assistant of the second Male lead’s sister in hoping to frame her so that the Male lead will be angry and flare at her as she knew that the male lead just received a call from his father.

[collapse]
The Male lead got attracted to her interestingly because of how happily she ate and she slowly noticed her then.

The relationship development in this story isn’t very detailed honestly. Throughout the novel, the Male lead helps the female lead whenever she is in need of help. From the start, the female lead was very stiff in front of him to slowly accepting him. The Male lead then got attracted to her actions and then finding her slightly familiar which later proved his suspicion.

In actual fact, the writing style of this author isn’t very fantastic if compared to other authors like the author of Eight treasure Trousseau. It does not have a complicated and exciting plot like the novel, Princess Weiyang. But what I actually enjoyed the most is that it is not too complicated where problems don’t always come one after another. It is very sweet and heart warming.

In conclusion, if you were to compare with other novels this may be a 4 star but since I really enjoyed this novel I would rate this a 5 star. I would recommend this novel to anyone who’s looking for a heart warming and not complicated novel with a super cute baby. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
I Am A Matchmaker on Taobao
May 26, 2019
Status: Completed
This is a very sweet and lighthearted novel. Throughout the novel, the female lead was love and pampered by the male lead though she didn’t know that at first. The female lead focuses on her career and helping others by tying strings together. She has helped many people with their relationship problems. There were some funny parts as well. This is especially so when the Male lead’s mother asked about his son’s marriage life.

Although it is sweet and light hearted, there are actually a few flaws to this novel.

... more>>
Spoiler

1) The system

The novel doesn’t really explain too much in depth of the system. I feel like there was a lot of focus on the start of the novel but as it progresses the system is forgotten.

2) How the love sprout

There was not much mentioned about how the male lead started being attracted to the female lead. I feel it is sort of sudden to be exact.

3) The acting

Not much is explained about how she improved her acting as well. I feel like it is more of what is “tell” than “show”. And I know that the female lead gained some acting points from the system and from her practice, but nothing in depth was stated in the novel.

[collapse]

Well, a defence to these flaws may be that the novel focuses a lot on the romance between the female lead and male lead. However, I honestly think there should be some description for some completeness.

To conclude, this novel is sweet and light. However, if you are looking for a novel that is ‘complete’ and sweet I would honestly recommend Return of the Goddess by the author of To be a virtuous wife or 亲爱的爱情 (Dear Love) which is way sweeter and of better writing style. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
National School Prince Is A Girl
October 2, 2018
Status: c1447
I started reading this novel mainly because it is very popular within the Chinese community and I wanted to give it a try. By “giving it a try”, it lead to many sleepless night of continuous reading. My review may contain many spoilers, please read at your own risk.

Firstly, even though I have and am still reading the raws, I have re-read the novel by reading the translations. I find the translations really good. Honestly, even though I am able to understand Mandrian well, it is not to the point... more>> of understanding their online terms and certain vocabularies to perfection. By reading the translations, it technically allowed me to find out what I didn’t understand or skipped out from the raws. I think the translations will be exceptionally perfect when they explain the game in the chapters later on. (Which I will be anticipating for).

Secondly, the plot. The plot is rather complicated I must say. I feel that this entire novel is dissected into several different parts. When all of the different parts are pieced together, it shows progression of the character and their romance. One of the example in where the author has dissected the story (where I won’t spoil too much of the novel)
Spoiler

The story is technically dissected into before Qin Mo knew that Fu Jiu (Bao Jiu) is a girl, after Qin Mo knew that Fu Jiu is a girl, Qin Mo suspicion of Fu Jiu is Hacker Z and after Qin Mo confirmed his suspicion on Fu Jiu (Bao Jiu) to be Hacker Z.

Before QM knew that FJ is a girl, the entire story is rather hilarious. FJ has to hide her secret in close proximity since QM always keep her close by. As readers, we can feel how tense she is whenever her secret may be exposed. It is quite understandable on how she is always nervous and worried since our male lead, QM, is very sharp and smart. FJ then lived in fear of being found out. As slowly, QM falls in love with FJ where he even thought he is gay. The scenes were very hilarious. At this part of the story I find the story still rather light.

After QM knew that FJ is a girl, he openly shows his affection even though people who didn’t know misunderstands him. Regardless, he shows his utmost care and love. Which slowly progressed into his susipicion of FJ to be Hacker Z. At this point of the story, I rather feel sorry for the male lead since both of them have to live with misunderstandings. On the bright side, Qin Mo and Fu Jiu still stick together regardless of the misunderstandings

[collapse]

One of the parts of the plot I enjoyed reading is the descriptions of the game. Well, honestly, the descriptions weren’t very explicit. But as a reader and someone who played games, I can feel the excitement and tension just reading these scenes. The competitive matches reminded me of MOBA games such as League of Legends. It made me want to play LoL even though I haven’t played in a very long time.

The romance in this story is a romance that is sweet but it may consist of misunderstandings and suspicions. This is especially for our main characters’ romance. I would say that FJ (BJ) and QM romance is rather complicated. For QM, his love is consistent throughout the novel
Spoiler

except for one point of the story. But don’t worry, his subconscious actions still shows his love for BJ.

[collapse]

The romance of the side characters were included as well. Compared to the main characters’ romance it is less complicated but it still contains misunderstandings and loyal love to each other for some couples. Reading the side characters’ romance do live up the mood in the novel when the novel is too dark at some point of time.

Other enticing reasons why I continued to read the novel is it contains some inspiration quotes and teaches some value. This novel contains rather quite a few inspirational quotes. One of the quotes I exceptionally love is “正义也许会迟到,但不会缺席”. This quote can be translated into “Justice May be late, but it will not be absent”. This quote is very inspirational to me because I feel like it is very relatable to real life where the innocent may be waiting and persistently living on just to prove their innocence.

In conclusion, I would rate the novel about 4.5 stars. I would recommend this novel to anyone who is looking for a gender bender novel that is patient to read 1735 chapters+ (as of today) and a reader that may have an interest in gaming. (Since the competive scenes may take up quite a lot of chapters later on) <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Midnight Cinderella
August 26, 2018
Status: Completed
Are you tired of overly dramatic novels where the main characters will meet one obstacle after another? Are you looking for a novel where the main characters are sweet and funny at the same time?

If so, this novel is totally recommended for you. I was hesitant to read this novel at first due to the body swap. However, after reading a few more chapters it is very funny where I can’t stop giggling and laughing after reading.

The plot pretty much focus on the male lead point of view although there... more>> is some parts of the female lead point of view. It also mainly focus on their interactions as well. The plot isn’t overlydramatic where honestly the obstacles they faced are solveable. Therefore I think in its sense it is rather relatable and realistic.

The body switch is the funniest part in my opinion where it explains the struggles of the male lead.

The romance of the novel is pretty much the male lead being attracted to the female lead both during the times when he was Er Huang (the dog) and when he was in his own body. The female lead however was attracted to him after watching his movies where at first she wasn’t a fan of. It slowly sparked after many interactions with each other. Throughout the novel, both of them trusts each other a lot. The female lead is very mature in my opinion and she still trusted the main lead even after certain situations happen and slightly doubted their relationship. The male lead however was really concerned with the female lead and he usually shares a lot with the female lead. I would say this romance isn’t the type of romance that is super romantic nor cold but it is a relationship of trust and being blissful with each other.

The translations are really well done in my opinion and I honestly hope they will continue translating this novel.

In conclusion, I would recommend this novel if you are looking for a “not complicated” novel or a novel that just contains sweet, trusting and funny romance. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
I really love this novel a lot. The main female lead is very smart and uses her brains to attain what she wants. The male lead may be ruthless but he still cares a lot for the female lead. I think this novel is very unique and I truly enjoyed it.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Eight Treasures Trousseau
August 23, 2018
Status: Completed
In my opinion, this book is an amazing piece of work. I personally think of this novel as a literary piece rather than an e novel. The writing style is amazing. For once, I was motivated to read just because of the writing style in the sense where there is a lot of foreshadowing in this novel rather than reading for the romance of the female and male leads.

It is true that this novel does not explicately explain every single details but by not explaining it gives a sense of... more>> mystery and suspense in each chapters. As readers, we would have to interpret what certain actions and words meant. It was really interesting to me honestly since most novels would explicately say how they feel while this novel just hints certain information for the readers to interpret.

It is true that this book may be dull to some people. However, what attracts me to continue reading the book is the suspense, and how the male and female lead handle certain issue. They are both level headed and smart characters. I have to agree with the other reviewers that this novel is very realistic since I personally agree with most of the mindset of the male and female lead. I think it shows a very mature way of thinking and handling matters which actually taught me certain mindsets.

The romance of the female and male leads are rather different from other books to be honest. The romance shows more of a trust relationship amongst them and not a perspective of one or both being blinded with each other. It teaches me that love may not be only that both are being blindly in love with each other but it can also be in a case where both trusts each other as life partners. In the novel, it is clearly evident that both of them trust each other in their decisions and their mindset on how to handle certain things.

In conclusion, it was a pleasant read. I have to thank the translators for translating the novel really well and the author for making such a fantastic novel. I have to also thank the comment section in the translations as that really helped me to clear some doubts regarding the interpretations. I have not read TBAVW so I am not sure whether they are similar but I will read that for sure.

I would really recommend this novel for someone who enjoys reading and learning about “politics” and I would not recommend this book if one is looking for a very romantic novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
I Refuse to be a Supporting Character
March 29, 2019
Status: Completed
This novel is alright. What attracted me to read this novel would be the female lead’s personality.

The female lead is a very calm and someone thinks ahead and plan ahead type of person. An example where it shows that she is of such personality is when she first met the male lead after the incident in the restaurant. Even though it is true that she is harassed, she still stayed calm and she only agreed to the terms with the male lead because she thinks he is of useful value... more>> where it would be easier to distance away from the second Male lead and female lead.

As for the male lead, well, it is true that the male lead sexually harassed her, that part I can’t deny it. But our female lead is still strong and defend herself by hitting him back like their first meeting. The Male lead is somewhat similar to the female lead. They are both cautious and manipulative. It is honestly funny to see how they ‘plot’ against each other though each party actually knows what the other party is thinking. The Male lead after falling for the female lead is very possessive and persistent in chasing her.

There were many funny parts in the relationship where the female lead will dare to do certain actions when others wouldn’t dare to do to the male lead which is hilarious. Honestly, there is no clear description on how they fell in love but from what I infer I think they got attracted to each other because of their own personality.

The writing style of this author consists of a bit of show no tell which is exciting to read and anticipate. Though it may not be as complicated to infer as other authors, but it is exciting to see especially when they ‘plot’ against one another. I was a bit disappointed with the ending though. It is a bit abrupt but somehow still makes sense as there are extras to complete the story. It made me wanted more though.

In conclusion, it is a good read I would say. Though it may not be as fantastic and exciting as others, what is attracting of this book would be the female lead’s personality and interactions between the female and male lead. I would recommend this novel to anyone who is looking for a novel who has very mentally strong personality. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Rebirth on the Doors to the Civil Affairs Bureau
March 27, 2019
Status: Completed
I have read the raws instead of the translations. Therefore, I am unable to judge the translations.

I came across this novel by recommendations of some Chinese netizens. My first impression was that the female lead was so bold. That was something I am very impressed with but because of her boldness she managed to take a step to develop a relationship with the Male lead. In my opinion, she dares to love and dares to let go. That is something I learnt from. My impression of the Male lead is... more>> someone who is a bit traditional. If I remembered correctly, he has this mindset where that once he is married he will let go of his past. That I something I truly respect and agree on.

Throughout the whole novel, the female lead tries to improve her life. The reason why the female lead wanted to marry the male lead was that she knew that 10 years later the male lead would be successful in completeing his research, where then he would be a very successful person and well known doctor. The male lead wanted to marry to let her mother who was ill to not worry too much. Therefore, the two leads married and the female lead and male lead live together. Whenever the Male lead visits his mother, he would bring the female lead. The female lead is well loved by his parents because of her personality. From the start, their relationship isn’t very close but the female lead sometimes teases the male lead which is rather hilarious. The female lead also managed to get a job as a DJ. Even though, she wasn’t popular at first. She slowly gained fans because of her advices to some listeners that called. Her advices were really practical and encouraging. On the other hand, the Male lead was busy doing his research. Both were rather busy that even the Male lead didn’t notice his wife worked late until one day when he came home late and his wife wasn’t at home. They slowly showed care to each other by simple actions such as the male lead waiting for the female lead to come home or fetch her home after work and the female lead continuously encouraging the male lead when the male lead is feeling low that his research would be successful.

If you would to ask me whether it is realistic, I would say rather so if there are people like the female lead and male lead. The female lead’s advice is very realistic and some things can be learnt from.

In conclusion, I would recommend this novel to any readers who are seeking for a rather light novel which doesn’t include too many dramatic plots or someone seeking for a heartwarming novel. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Dear Love
February 7, 2019
Status: Completed
This novel is my absolute favourite. After reading this novel, I just couldn’t get out of it. It made me cry, laugh and melt in happiness and envy. It is the most romantic novel that I have read.

Our main character is Gu Bao Bei where her nickname is Xiao Ai. She had a lonely and sad past life where her ex boyfriend, Jay, left her for another woman. ... more>>
Spoiler

In her past life, she dated Jay after meeting him from a drama. The nickname Xiao Ai is given by Jay. From that drama, she joined Jay’s management company and was under the same manager. The manager was in love with Jay. After knowing about the relationship, she continuously to try to separate them by cutting resources of Xiao Ai. After a while, she was criticised as being the third party in the relationship where in reality it was the manager who continuously to seek for Jay’s attention and love by threatening suicide etc. Before meeting the accident, she received a call from Jay where he told her that the manager has given birth to a child. Xiao Ai was really sad. Then, she suddenly met a car accident and died and was reborn.

When she was first reborn, she thought she was still in her past life so she used her phone to call Jay for help. However, Jay wasn’t the one who answered the phone but it was Bao Jun Yan. Bao Jun Yan then approach and help Xiao Ai immediately.

[collapse]
Xiao Ai is very sheltered and showered with love by our Male lead Bao Jun Yan.

Bao Jun Yan who is our Male lead is someone who is also reborn. Even though it is not very obvious from the start, but it was slowly revealed in the extras. His story is really sad and touching. He is rather mysterious throughout the novel but it is slowly revealed. He is smart, cautious and someone who cares and treats the female lead like a treasure. Throughout the novel, you can really see how much he cares for the female lead.
Spoiler

One example, where I won’t reveal too much details, is when they were stuck in the desert, he gave all his water to the female lead without letting the female lead know by adding sand to his bottle instead. The female lead only knew about it after he was unconscious in the hospital.

That few chapters made me cry buckets.

[collapse]

Xiao An is Xiao Ai’s neighbour’s son. The neighbour was a single mother. After the accident, Xiao Ai was persistent in adopting Xiao An. Xiao An is a really cute and filial boy. He is very attached to our female lead and male lead (later on). Honestly, even though the female lead takes on the role by name as the elder sister but I feel that she takes on the role of a mother. This can be seen where in her gigs, she cares about Xiao An first right before finishing work or taking a break. Later on, Xiao An became a good elder brother which is really cute. Though the sad part for me was the extras in the novel... (but don’t worry it ended on a happy note! It is just that I felt pained for him.)

Jay, who is Xiao Ai’s Ex, well I find him a rather idiotic person. He is greedy for love. He confesses that he likes Xiao Ai but don’t consider about the consequences for his action. That is, letting the public know and causing problems for her when in reality she doesn’t agree to be with him. Even though, he may knew that the manager of his is very attached to him, but just because she helped him when he was down and saved him from situations he didn’t know how to cut her off completely. Which then cause him to be together with the manager. If he truly loves the female lead, he would have cut her off completely and be grateful in a different way. I believe this was stated in the novel. He fell in love with the female lead at first sight. The nickname, Xiao Ai, was a nickname she wanted her lover to have. (In the present life of our female lead and male lead, it was used commonly to call Gu Bao Bei after Bao Jun Yan continuously uses that nickname.) Also, after it was known to the public about possible affairs of the manager and him, he continues to confess that he loves Xiao Ai even though Xiao Ai rejected him. It was rather annoying with his selfishness.

The novel is rather sweet. Though, it has its ups and downs. Throughout the novel, the female lead and male lead are still together and they overcame the problems together. It is true that Bao Jun Yan did sacrifice a lot for the female lead but it is very touching the actions he showed. In my opinion, his love for the female lead is much stronger than the female lead’s love for him.

In conclusion, I would really recommend this novel to anyone who is looking for a very sweet and romantic novel. I would not recommend to someone who is looking for a very smart female lead as Xiao Ai is very sheltered throughout this novel. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Divine Doctor: Daughter of the First Wife
January 22, 2019
Status: Completed
This was my second Chinese novel that I have read. I really enjoyed reading the novel and the manhua.

Honestly, this novel is lacking a lot of romance. Therefore, it is not romantic as other historical novels. It is a novel that is full of plotting and defeating their enemies. The romance of the novel I guess is very solid since our male lead, XTM trust her and FYH trust him a lot too. They help one another or mostly the male lead helps the female lead mentally and physically.

The plotting... more>> is exciting but after a while it gets annoying. Maybe because the novel is of 1.2k chapters or my stamina in reading long novels is bad. It is true that the female lead is overpowered where she has the space and many items. I feel that she practically lack any weaknesses except one of the situation and being scared of birds.
Spoiler

If I remembered correctly, it was when the real FYH soul came back, she started hesitating and worrying which caused her to fall ill. After a while, she got over it with the help of the 7th prince and 9th prince.

[collapse]

I love all of the Male and female leads and there were some character progression for some. Which is for example, Feng Yu Dai and Zi Rui. Feng Yu Dai may be annoying at first but we can see her character growth to be a better person. Zi Rui is someone who really trust FYH and I admire his trust even though certain situation where Yao Shi doubted FYH, she still stick with FYH. The best Male lead would be 7th prince, XTH. He really feels like a perfect character that has a very good heart which I believe won’t exist in the real world. XTM is funny at times, I admire him for being daring and giving FYH a place where she feels happy.

In conclusion, this novel is great for someone who is looking for a novel with a bit of romance and a novel full of plotting. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Just Blame Me For Being Blind in the Beginning
September 18, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel is sweet and very hilarious. Well if you have that kind of sense of humour. Anyways, this novel indeed has its good points and flaws. However, character wise, it is rather realistic I guess you may say.

I have read some reviews criticising that the male lead is too pushy. That is indeed true but I think he still tries to correct the attitude.
Spoiler

There is one time where he took the female lead’s chance in acting a particular drama/show (I can’t remember) due to it having many intimate scenes. The female lead was mad which is understandable. This lead to them arguing and having a Cold War. At first, the male lead didn’t understand why but he slowly found it lonely without her. Even with the Cold War, he still protected her indirectly.

[collapse]
To me, I think it is realistic I guess since he lived a sheltered life. Honestly, the female lead has flaws as well. She may be stubborn in her decisions and she doesn’t really like to give in (in fights).

Although, both of them have flaws. They are still a cute and funny couple. It is more of an overprotective male lead and an optimistic and practical female lead. However, like what some said sadly, this type of romance will be so rare to see in real life. :__:

The plot is still entertaining due to the funny scenes. And this feeling of entertaining may differ on different opinions. But, I found it funny and light.

All in all, I would recommend this novel to anyone who is looking for a light novel that is funny (but can also take certain extent to how the male lead is pushy).
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Return of the Goddess
September 10, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel is a very enjoyable read. This is the third novel that I have read from this author. Honestly, unlike the other two novels that I have read from this author where they are Eight Treasure Trousseau and Hello Wife!, I feel that this novel is not as “dramatic” as compared to these two.

The plot isn’t too heavy in this novel. I have always admired the author’s “teachings” in the other two novel. Although this novel doesn’t consist as many “teachings” as compared to the other two said novels,... more>> I feel that the novel isn’t lacking at all. There is foreshadowing in this novel it may not be as much as ETT but it still keeps the suspense. As readers, you would want to know what happened to the female lead and why she is acting this way. It is quite exciting that it made me read finish this novel in a day (with lack of sleep). This is clearly thanks to the amazing author. The novels by this author is written so well and I am very excited to read the other novels.

The romance in this novel is sweet especially regarding how caring the male lead is.
Spoiler

I honestly love the part on the confession the most. The hesitation and the built up energy to confess after hearing what the female lead said and wanted. It is very sweet. Other examples would be how the male lead did not hesitate to trust the female lead. Of course, there was once he hesitated but he slowly realised that it is not worth thinking about since he only can’t bear to part with the female lead.

[collapse]
I believe the male lead loved the female lead ever since he was young hence it starts from a crush and it deepens slowly by his care and concern towards the female lead. The female lead however even though it is not clearly written on how she fell in love but by reading my interpretation is that she fell in love because she knows and sees that the male lead’s care and love in his eyes which I believe made her think that it is hard for her not to love the male lead. I feel that this novel is written in a way that is to show and not to tell. That is why, at first I have also thought maybe the female lead didn’t really love the male lead. However, seeing her actions in reacting to the matter clearly shows her concern.

Also, even though it is a bit off topic, I have read the reviews that some compared this novel to Hidden Marriage. And here are my thoughts regarding their similarities and differences.
Spoiler

I am also a huge fan of HM. But I would say that this novel is indeed better than Hidden Marriage in certain ways. This novel compared to Hidden Marriage contains less drama. Ning Xi in this novel is calm, collected and is someone who is meticulous. She may be counted as cold and less passionate to some but she still express her love and affection even though she doesn’t really show it. The Ning Xi in this novel is more realistic. Ning Xi in HM is much more outgoing and passionate in showing her love. Her personality is much more open and daring. Other examples of similarity would be how the male lead treats the female lead with utmost care. However, there are obvious differences. In this novel, it is honestly not written based on the dramatic scenes that she faced when facing enemies and in her work life as seen in Hidden Marriage. This novel, Return of the goddess is based on snippets of their life and even their love life is not described in details. That is why, I think both novels are good it is just based on what you as a reader like.

[collapse]

In conclusion, this novel is sweet, straightforward and the plot is enough exciting to keep readers to continue reading. The number of chapters is just right as well. I would recommend this novel to anyone that is looking for a novel that has a loving male lead that is “clean”, where he has no other third party involved, and/or readers that are looking for plots that is not too dramatic and over the top. I would not recommend readers that are looking for novels that is focused on the drama of what has happened. This is because as I have stated, the novel doesn’t state all of the details in totality but it is based on important snippets of their lives. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Assassin Farmer
September 3, 2018
Status: Completed
This book is so cute and fluffy!! The ratings are very fitting to this novel. Honestly, my first impression of this novel was “oh it is going to be a novel with a lot of killing” since I assumed it is the life with being with an active assassin. However, after reading I realised that to be more accurate it is of an Ex-assassin. Both main leads are super cute with each other. Haha. I guess that’s why people say not to judge a book by its cover. Anyways, the... more>> second title of Picking up an assassin to be a farmer pretty much suits the title even more in my opinion.

The plot is mainly on both of the female and male leads. The first few chapters describes how the female lead struggled with her past life, missed her mother and brother from her past life and overcome difficulties living in a mountain by using her knowledge from reading books in her past life. It pretty much continues till she meets the male lead. The relationship between the male and female lead was awkward at first. Slowly as the story progresses, the male lead got attracted to her, which I assumed is by her happy and helpful personality and they got out of the mountain. The female lead is attracted to the male lead as well and the story goes on. Other than the romance of the main leads, it has also included the romance of the side characters.

The relationship between both the female and male lead is very honest, straightforward and both are very caring towards each other.
Spoiler

When the male lead agreed to live together with the female lead, the female lead was very happy but hesitant. And that’s when the male lead confessed to the female lead of his real feelings. This is because the male lead thinks that for a couple to work it is best to be honest towards each other. And of course, this ideology is similar to the female lead which can be shown in the chapters later on.

[collapse]
Honestly, the main thing that touches my heart the most is one of the chapters in the extras of the novel where the female lead and male lead faced some mountain bandits and was stuck in a very dangerous mountain when they were travelling and I believe fell the cliff, the female lead went back to her previous life. She was really very sad since she couldn’t let go of her relationship with the male lead and even written in a notebook of how she lived in the past ten years. Her family of her previous life reminded her that she has to marry her fiancé at that period and she was very reluctant because of not wanting to let go of the love with the male lead. She later know that her current fiancé in that era is the male lead when the male lead visited her and she happily married. It was explained that the male lead followed her soul and found out that they are in a different era and that the body she returned to is her original body. His soul lingered in the hospital for days and later found out a body that has faced an accident, that is also similar in age to the female lead, has passed on. As they were about to announce the time of death, the male lead’s soul entered that body and it happened to be the female lead’s fiancé of that era.

I think it is honestly very touching. And I was honestly hoping that they will have a continuation of that extra but sadly there is. Anyways, it just shows how much they love for each other and this is just one example.

All in all, I would really recommend this book to anyone that is looking for a very cute and sweet romance that is very straight forward and with no scheming or climbing for power. Once again, I would totally recommend this novel! It’s a must read! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
emmyazzy
emmyazzy rated it
Life After Marriage
September 1, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel is a sweet and happy novel. Honestly, this novel is a bit dreamy and I would say it is a novel where it shows how a happy and lucky couple are together. Why lucky? This is because in my opinion, not everyone would accept the reality of marrying a stranger and falling in love.

This novel’s style of writing is similar to a diary except without the dates and time. It is written in a first person context where it is like the female lead explaining about her thoughts... more>> and what happened. We still get to see the complete picture except for the thoughts of others including the male lead.

The plot is great in my opinion. The entire novel is really funny and I can’t stop laughing. There is not much drama and some issues are somewhat realistic. Therefore I think this novel is realistic in a sense whereas it is somewhat not realistic in a sense as well. Why so? This is because the mini issues they faced may be what couples really think about. However, most of the couples in this novel is accepting of the idea where they are very open minded. In reality, it is true that there are many people who are open minded while there is some that aren’t so. In this novel it mainly shows the side where people are accepting of the idea. (Hahah this may sounds so confusing but you can just ignore this opinion)

In conclusion, I think this novel is much to my liking. It is a sweet and dreamy novel with many funny scenes that will make you feel happy reading it. I would recommend this novel for a reader that is not looking forward to dramatic and scheming scenes. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report