Report Review
47 Reviews


earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Founder of Diabolism
September 26, 2018
Status: c70
This was one of the first translated LN's I've ever read, and boy, it still maintains its spot as one of the best ones. There is almost nothing badly done in this novel. It's just top notch at everything: story, characters, MC, ML, relationship, EVERYTHING.

I can't believe how 3-dimensional all the characters are. From good to evil, practically every single side character, have their motivations, their conflicts, their own hopes and dreams.

Also, the romance is amazing. Like seriously amazing??? Even after reading a ton of other novels, I still find... more>> this MC and ML my favorite couple of them all. I think it's because their relationship was built on friendship, conflict, suffering, trust and faith. There is no 'super-possessive-jealous-overbearing-forceful' cliche ML in this story. Even better, the MC also isn't constantly being outshone by the ML, whether through abilities or intellect or status. It's a story about equals who make compromises but also stay true to their own beliefs.

I've never been so obsessed as to search for fanfiction of a web novel before. Seriously! And now I'm even keeping up-to-date with the anime and the newly drawn webcomic (beautiful art, highly recommend). <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
September 26, 2018
Status: c545
The beginning was my favorite because it had the makings of a traditional xianxia with the MC starting off weak but working really hard to become stronger. The mystery behind the ML was really intriguing as well! Another reviewer wrote 'Farmville' (I cracked up) but that's exactly the type of story I wanted to read. So read this if you want to see the process/every step the MC takes to build power, gather treasures/cheats, powerful pets, cultivate to the top!

This is a very lighthearted almost purely entertainment read. Don't look... more>> too deeply at things, the characters are all pretty shallow, and there isn't a lot of development. There's no angst, it's all fluff and face-slapping. The MC is also almost never in any real danger.

I only wish the ML and MC had a better/different? relationship. First, from the way the ML treats the MC (basically like a pet or servant) it's hard to tell why he even likes him. Second, the ML literally beats the MC in everything. Skills, smarts, power-ups, etc. and pretty effortlessly as well (the MC will probably never catch up). And the ML is super dominant in the relationship. The MC listens to him for everything. Same with the physical intimacy. The MC is always written just 'enduring' it.

I wish the MC became more independent from the ML sometimes. And unfortunately, it might be the translation or the author, but some of the relationship parts between the MC and ML kind of cross the line and aren't actually that comedic?

Things I wish were different:

Spoiler

  • The ML does not seem to respect the MC
  • The ML is not tsundere but still manages to brutally mock the MC
  • The running joke that the ML thinks the MC is stupid is seriously getting old after 500 chapters... (FYI the ML is literally thousands of years old, the MC is not; of course he doesn't have as much experience with the schemes as the ML!)
  • The ML makes the first move every single time; 10/10 times bullies the MC for s*x; there's not much 'affection' otherwise.
[collapse]

It's better to not marathon this story after a certain point because that's when the MC and ML relationship gets the most annoying. In episodic/bite-sized pieces, it's more comedic and enjoyable. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
If you are a cat person... damage over 9000.

Seriously cat-centric, multiple world/transmigration story. MC has a system, a 'golden finger' in that he's the author and pretty much is favored like crazy by each world's Rules, but he's not as focused on face-slapping or missions like many other similar stories. Instead, he's pretty much a lazy pet-owner. The story is more focused on the MC and ML's relationship progression and enjoying the change in scenery/worlds. While there are some good emotional variations and a bit of angst, most of the... more>> story is overwhelmingly fluffy and pet-focused (which is really... not a bad thing for cat-people ok?)

Time to scroll through my phone for more kitty photos... <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Lucia
November 17, 2018
Status: c67 part2
While this is in the genre of 'trashy Harlequin romance, ' the plot and characters are surprisingly gripping. There are plenty of twists and turns with the characters and motivations. I was definitely surprised by the ML's family/bloodline background and some of the worldbuilding.

I did not have any hopes for either the MC or ML in the beginning because they started out cookie-cutter. However, both surprisingly break out of their molds. Their interactions actually feel pretty real and the ML doesn't have the stereotypical "cool 5ever" mask over his dialogue.... more>> The MC also doesn't go out of her way to bend to the ML's preferences, so it's quite entertaining to see their relationship progression.
Spoiler

The ML goes very quickly from an arrogant/cold/alpha male stereotype into a helpless regular guy trying to figure out his wife.

[collapse]

I do agree with other comments that the MC could have been way more active towards her own future in the beginning. However, if you're able to make it past the slow start, the MC unexpectedly starts to shine. She's very relate-able because of how low-key she is and how simple things like walks in the garden please her a lot more than expensive gifts of jewelry etc.

The smut/s*x is very very plentiful. (To the point where I started skimming/skipping because I was too eager to find out what happened next in the plot.) Good/bad? <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
[Rating/Review might change as I'm in the process of reading this]

So far really enjoying the story! The arcs are pretty fun/awesome and super comedic, especially the misunderstandings between the MC and the ML from the beginning. There's a lot of character development and the ML has a bit of a mysterious past cliche, but I didn't mind it much. This one is a good contrast to QWFOD because the side characters are awesome! The 'love rivals' are generally good people, and it's so refreshing to read BL with non-misogynist,... more>> likable female characters. I think the set up for this story allows for more freedom with the plot & characterizations (since the MC isn't typecast into a vengeance role) so there's less repetition. I understand the POV of some reviewers mentioning that the ML bullies the MC and causes him a lot of trouble in the arcs. I dislike bully!MLs or overly dominant/oppressive!MLs, but that's not the case so much in this story. Due to the MC's origins (which is a spoiler), the MC himself wasn't actually traumatized or emotionally hurt by the ML's actions, just annoyed at his 'strange' colleague.

The MC isn't too good with emotions or understanding people's feelings, which contributes to the way the ML has to act very extremely for the MC to even take notice of him.
Spoiler

The MC will eventually think about how he feels towards the ML without coercion and it's a really touching arc with a lot of things getting cleared up, and I think the MC also successfully gets revenge for some of the stuff the ML pulled in earlier arcs, haha.

[collapse]
Translation is fantastic, the flow of the story represented very well! High re-read factor. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Reborn into a Hamster for 233 Days
November 14, 2018
Status: c115
Really good so far. Since I haven't finished the book yet, there might be changes to the final review.

Excellent story, excellent translation. I might end up with a soft spot for "humans-transformed-into-animals" genre. This one is just so good! If you are a pet owner, I highly recommend. The ML is equivalent to one of those extremely passionate pet owners who takes pet photos all day long and mercilessly spoils his pet. If you liked movies like Ratatouille, I highly recommend. The MC is an extremely intelligent person-turned-hamster and... ... more>>
Spoiler

his identity as an 'intelligent' hamster who can understand humans, play games, and chat online eventually gets revealed to his 'owner' and there are even more ridiculously fluffy moments between human and hamster bonding together.

[collapse]

There's a great balance to the fluffiness between human and hamster with the background mystery. The MC who was a famous chief designer, in his previous life was greatly suppressed by a mystery designer who he thought was plagiarizing his ideas. As a hamster, he becomes a bit of a detective!hamster and tries to find out the identity of that person. There's corporate sabotage, spying, hidden identities, long-term coma patients and all kinds of dramatic reveals scattered in the fluffy background of pet owner.

Very exciting; I'm looking forward to all the twists the story has to offer. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Earth is Online
January 30, 2019
Status: Completed
Good translation, excellent story/writing. It's a rare apocalypse/survival story that involves mysterious towers appearing around the world, forcing the entire humanity to participate in its games. Humans also start 'leveling up' and essentially gain a very varied superpowers (think X-men). The games are a mix of different logic puzzles, psychology, and wordplay elements, inspired from fairytales and classic games like Monopoly. They're very cleverly written and the clues to figure them out are scattered in the text to enable the reader a try before the reveal!

While it's a BL story,... more>> the story mostly focuses on the puzzles and plot, with the romance being very subtle in the background. It's definitely slow burn as the MC and ML go from strangers to friends to partners through the story. The MC is extremely intelligent and competent (as is the ML), so it's a pleasure for the reader to follow his progress. There are plenty of three-dimensional side characters and lots of interesting personalities with hidden motivations. It was a difficult novel to put down once I started reading. I highly recommend this for a very refreshingly different survival book!

P.S. I really admire the translator for making steady & super fast releases for over a year. One of the best translators we have here on NU. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
God of Cooking
October 31, 2018
Status: c200
Being a big foodie and all, I was pretty skeptical when I first started reading this. It surprised me and surpassed my expectations. This is a very good cooking focused novel with only a couple minor issues. The writing also gets better and better the further you get. A lot of longer novels tend to drag on; so far this is absolutely not one of them! The pacing is fantastic so far and I even feel that the story has just started to really pick up.

The characters are fantastically well-rounded... more>> and 3-dimensional. They are also a wide range of personalities (though the female lead is classic tsundere), and the character development is done very well. There will be people the MC meets that dislike him on sight, but that doesn't make them bad people. It's very rare to have complex characters like this and makes the novel world feel very deep and realistic!

It's also nice that the MC, despite having a system cheat, is not instantly a top genius. You really get every step of the journey with him building up his skills. He also doesn't have the best stats of everyone starting off and has many idols he looks up to. He's also very humble and not a 'genius, ' but works harder than anyone to make up for his deficiencies. This also adds another level of realism and inspiration to the novel. I absolutely enjoyed the cooking aspect. This is definitely a novel with fantastic food descriptions and cooking techniques. When reading this novel, I had an urge to re-watch episodes of Iron Chef. When watching episodes of Iron Chef, I had an urge to read more of this novel.

While the author is probably not a chef, they have definitely done a lot of research regarding various ways of preparing food, recipes, and so on. Although the author's perspective can be a little limited regarding Korean vs. Western cooking, it's clear within the story that there are many types of western cooking, from French to Italian to Brazilian, etc. I imagine the 'western' label is probably just a generic term that is influenced by the Korean origins of this novel. In many countries in Asia, there is a tendency to lump all 'western' influences together in speech, but that doesn't mean that people in Asia don't know that Greek and Italian are different things. I'm sure in the West, there is a tendency to lump 'Asians' together the same way when speaking about it, but people still know that Korean and Japanese aren't the same thing. Thus, I wouldn't be too concerned about these labels, they definitely do not reflect the range of cooking represented inside the novel.

The translation is pretty good and the translators have my respect for figuring out all those industry/professional cooking phrases. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Chongfei Manual
September 24, 2018
Status: c160
Translation is 5 stars. One of the best translators I've seen who makes really good choices regarding the historical terms and actually aims to make the story readable instead of leaving in tons of jargon for 'cultural accuracy' BS. I've read novels that were practically 25% pinyin in historical settings (which is just awful to process, and this is coming from someone who's watched historical Chinese dramas, is familiar with historical terms, and understands pinyin. So I can imagine how much worse it can get for less fluent people!). Love... more>> the translator notes and image links as well.

This book is a fluffy, slice-of-life ish light entertainment in a fictional historical era, which can be quite fun to read if you ignore the problematic parts. The pacing is not bad, and with such excellent translator, it was definitely a smooth read. Be warned though, the MC and ML are both truly awful people. They both have bad morals. The MC is also a very spoiled and vain white lotus type.

I didn't like that the punishments for the villains, minor and major, don't reflect their deeds. It can be argued that this is a reflection of 'reality' where not-so-bad people can have horrible endings while truly-bad people can have happy endings, but it didn't feel like the author wrote that intentionally. Considering the other inconsistencies in the writing, it's more than likely the author was trying to spice up the romance and tried to throw in some revenge spots. Unfortunately, that means truly disturbing paragraphs would appear abruptly in the middle of fluffiness with no transitions.

Spoiler

Things that got pretty old:

    • over-the-top bad cruelty towards women (some people can 'rationalize' this to say that historical eras are commonly misogynistic and women have no power etc. but also keep in mind the author clearly chose to put those things into the novel and chose to write the outcomes of some characters much much worse than other characters. If we look at the male character (Li Song) who helped ruin the MC's family in the past life and also offended the MC a ton of times after her rebirth, he ending is pretty good compared to the ending of MC's half-sister who pretty much only avoided her or sniffed at her after her rebirth; that's the definition of misogyny.)
    • prejudice against children (I get the idea about getting vengeance against bad people that insulted you, but they've literally done nothing to the MC in her past life except exist or were spoiled by the MC's stepmother/enemy, yet the MC still wants to get revenge on 5 year olds?? Is it too radical to want see a MC that is not narrow minded or more generous/forgiving? Even if you disregard basic human decency, from a practical perspective, if you remove the bad influence, you can easily influence your enemies to be good to you since they're so young??)
    • inconsistent characterizations (the MC is reborn, so she's actually close to the age of the ML, but she literally treats all the kids around her like they're the same age as her, so it's clear that the author forgot that the MC is not actually 10-12 and has her flipping between 10-12 or 20/her true age whenever it's convenient. This is especially disturbing when the MC was just reborn and acting like 5-6 yr old... dude you're like 16...)
[collapse]
<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Blazing Sunlight
November 15, 2018
Status: c40
This one has some similarities to My Sunshine/Silent Separation, but the relationships between all the characters are more complex. The MC's friendship circle is also very deep/harder to fathom and she doesn't have any stand-out allies (esp with her school friends), so the reader is left to infer a lot about the history hinted to between the lines. I really enjoy this way of storytelling (showing us the characters and not over-explaining and having us draw our own conclusions), so this is definitely a very engaging read. I'm eagerly awaiting... more>> the next book...

Spoiler

No matter what happens, there were too many unresolved issues in this one. While the ending was sweet, and I understood some symbolic actions such as getting a new phone indicating moving on etc. I didn't get the feeling that the MC had truly put the past behind her to walk a sunlit future with the ML. So I hope the next book will give us/the readers the true satisfaction of the MC letting go or freeing herself and no longer suffering in silence/misunderstandings.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Flash Marriage
October 14, 2018
Status: Completed
Overall, cute novel, slice-of-life-ish. MC is a pretty foolish but straightforward girl. Even though she is teased to be super average, not-good-looking, etc, her personality still attracted handsome men. Although this trope was a little overdone, the oneshot moments looking through the men's eyes made it pretty believable/reasonable how they each fell for her.

There were some surprisingly good and emotional moments between the ML and the MC. Both had been hurt in the past, so it was touching to see how they struggled with that.

It would be really nice to... more>> read just ONE story where the MC is smarter than the ML in a C-novel. This will never happen, unfortunately (might be a cultural thing??). Instead, we have an overabundance of 'dumb-but-purehearted' MCs who are pretty much always under the ML's thumb. (And it would be nice if the MC would stop putting herself down in her thoughts too.) I'm really starting to appreciate K-novels more now... <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The King’s Avatar
October 7, 2018
Status: c1100
It's far from perfect, but it is really really really good.

I started reading this after watching the anime, which I have recommended to countless people. I generally dislike super long 1000+ chapter stories because they tend to suffer from pacing issues, many details about nothing, etc. The anime helped me gain a quick understanding of the story and skim past a lot of the more boring parts (especially in the beginning when the author goes overboard with the descriptions of every class/every move).

The novel does suffer from pacing issues up... more>> to a certain point. The first time I read this, I quit during the Deception arc because it felt like 100 chapters of describing a couple hours of in-game events, which was dragging on and on. However, I couldn't stop thinking about this story and returned to it a couple months later. After making it past that section, the rest of the novel, especially the Returning League arc, has much better pacing and much less grinding.

Despite all of it's flaws, I haven't regretted reading this. The characters are all 3-dimensional, the world feels very real, and the reasoning for the game is pretty logical. (The complaints about APM and other mechanics described are true only towards the level of modern games we have right now; it absolutely has no bearing on the game in the story, which is more similar to Blade&Soul with more advanced mechanics. It's not like League or Overwatch.) It's completely worth the awards it won.

P.S. Everytime I read this, I get hit so hard with MMORPG nostalgia. Makes me want to pick one up again. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Mr. Dior
October 5, 2018
Status: c12
(Rating & Review may change later as it's still early)

So far, 10/10 on the humor. Incredibly funny; I cracked up (to the point of rolling around on the bed) practically once every chapter. MC and ML are incredible together. A big chunk of the humor is owed to the fact that both are extremely capable people and respectable CEO's of their own companies... which means when ML's delusions appear, family, friends, coworkers, hardly know what to do with themselves! Misunderstandings abound!

The premise is that despite being married for... more>> 7 years, the MC is slowly uncovering more details about the ML that he hadn't known before or the ML had hidden from him. There are some minor angst from misunderstandings that provide a good balance to the top-notch humor; none of the angst is dragged on for too long. The relationship development so far is incredibly cute and sweet (diabetic inducing) ! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
I Heard You Like Me Too
October 4, 2018
Status: c41
Cute story! Lighthearted romcom (with tiny dashes of angst) about modern day A-list actors. Pacing is good, MC and ML have great misunderstandings together. Their antics are super cute and funny, especially with the fun cast of characters around them (especially their agents). If you're tired of 'iceberg' MLs, this one is very refreshing 'frenemy'/'rival' ML. MC is awesome, she's confident, gives it back as good as she gets, not a frail/doormat FL. Love her!

Overall plot is pretty standard with some misunderstandings to spice up the romance; still it's an... more>> enjoyable read. Translation could be better. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
The Heartbeat at the Tip of the Tongue
September 28, 2018
Status: c76
The author's writing and the translation are absolutely gorgeous. It's very rare to find a LN that has such excellent pacing and 'tightness' in terms of the writing. There are no rambling plots or unnecessary/filler pages. This book highlights the author's ability to create extremely beautiful emotional progressions between the characters, especially the romance and friendship between the main characters. The other highlight is the food. I was drooling and craving the wonderful descriptions. The author definitely did their research about cooking!

Also can I just say, a ML with a... more>> (permanent) physical disability in a C-Novel? AMAZING. Too many novels have a 'temporarily disabled ML who is cured miraculously and becomes perfectly fit with martial arts ability' or something ridiculous. The ML's disability is written really well and his strength/determination shines brighter because of it instead of being diminished by it. (Actually I had a blind professor in college who is literally just as amazing as the ML is in the book so it wasn't unrealistic at all.)

Spoiler

I definitely almost had second lead syndrome for this book. It makes me crave to read a successful romance with a childhood-friend-teasing ML! The author did a really good job making the reader sympathize with both MLs and tbh, even I can admit that the MC is best with the chosen ML.

[collapse]

There were a couple of minor things, and as another reviewer said, all the females other than the MC are her rivals or competing for attention for the MLs and scheming against her.

Otherwise, solid read, SUCH good writing (so hard to say this about LNs...) ! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Let Me Tease You
September 20, 2018
Status: Completed
The novel started out with strong potential but unfortunately went down as the story advanced. The translator also could benefit from editing.

The beginning was the pretty good -- the humor and tension between the characters made for some great lines, especially the System. The side-characters also had potential and personality, especially that smart and cool-headed girl. Unfortunately the ML and MC's relationship is too standard. Not only does the MC almost completely revolve around the ML (yes there is a mystery/plot but it doesn't really keep the reader's attention), he... more>> also doesn't encounter much friends/family, so everything starts dragging on.

The ML is pretty standard as well: OP, bad rep (but treats the MC well), arrogant and cold at first, super possessive later. The ML's bad rep reminded me a bit of FOD (way better story), so it had a lot potential, but... unfortunately, the author didn't utilize it well.

Overall, it was just difficult to care much about any of the events, esp since most of the time, the MC didn't care about the plot either and was just completing tasks set by the system for the sake in order to get away from the world. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Befriending The Most Powerful Person
September 14, 2018
Status: Completed
Picked this up after getting addicted to QWFOD/quick transmigration novels. The setup was a refreshing contrast to QWFOD (which was all about revenge/face-slapping). Our poor MC just wants to successfully complete his tasks.

The MC is the earnest type (like in "It's Actually Not Easy Wanting to be a Supporting Male Lead" which I recommend more) but he's way more going-with-the-flow and accepting of whatever the system wants him to do (which can get a bit frustrating sometimes when you want the MC to stand up for himself for once).

This is... more>> NOT a harem novel (the ML's identity is the final spoiler!) and MC is weak through his stomach and is warmer to the ones that treat him to good food haha.

Spoiler

Pretty much every system target that the MC is "assigned tasks" for falls in love with him and chases after him. They definitely fight over him while the MC's own feelings toward all of them are just lukewarm; most of the time he basically treats them as his job/assignment (because they are). Also the vast majority are really intense yandere/obsessive/crazy MLs.

[collapse]

Some of the storylines and worlds are done pretty well, esp. the first mech one (bc the MC is so awesome in that one!), and there are dozens of plot twists upon plot twists.

As for the ending... it's a happy ending, but I wouldn't put too much hopes on it... just enjoy the worlds as they come.

Spoiler

Shao Ci's "first world/origin" and the relationship he had with his family could have been more satisfactory, as in it didn't feel like it had that much impact on him even though he supposedly had that shadow on his heart for a long time. It really fell short of the events in some of the other worlds.

[collapse]

Spoiler

I wish there were more epilogues or something. TBH the ending was so abrupt; I was pretty disappointed because it felt like a complete cop-out. There were a bunch of hints regarding the ML's real identity with ice powers, mirrors/lakes, and certain eye colors, but in the end, it felt like the author couldn't think of a good way to end the series and just picked the most abrupt/ridiculous ending ever...

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Doomsday Wonderland
February 12, 2019
Status: c429
This is a thriller-type survival novel with multiple worlds/species/civilizations. Translation is 10/10. The beginning arc seems like it's a pure survival/apocalypse arc, but more and more strange things happen, so I wouldn't categorize it completely as a pure survival novel. Some challenges also have a bit of a horror theme.

This is really quite an amazing story. And one of the extremely rare stories where the MC has good morals/human rights awareness and generally maintains that throughout the story (up til I've read so far). Her morals don't make her stupid,... more>> rather, it's more of a slight hero complex in protecting/rescuing innocents or kids. The side characters are very fleshed out as well, including the enemies! Some unexpected enemies become allies and vice versa. It's not a very predictable story.

Spoiler

The side characters have their own backgrounds and mysteries, and even the MC's friends have their own goals that do not necessarily align with each other. It's not a one-dimensional world where the MC's friends are 100% good and supportive. It's also not one of those stories where you can judge the character by its cover.

[collapse]

The character development, world-building, puzzle setups, and the absolutely weird sh*t that happens only get more and more great. In the beginning, I was a bit thrown by some of the seemingly super random and a bit scattered new ideas that kept popping up, but the author was able to flesh them out and connect them together, so everything made more sense as the story continued.

Spoiler

So far, I'm relieved that there's not much romance. C-novel MLs tend to be 100% perfect or better than the MC at everything so I did not want to see any of that making MC's hard work pointless.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Rebirth of the Wolfish Silkpants Bottom
February 10, 2019
Status: Completed
I won't go on and on what everyone else has said already. The issues in this story can fill a line of trucks!

... more>>
Spoiler

Aka, the incest/pedophilia, the bad morals, the misogyny, the victim blaming, the status oppression, the prejudice against lower income people, treatment of servants, the guilty until proven... well, they're just guilty, including the unborn infant, etc.

[collapse]

However, the timetravel/business aspect was pretty intriguing. I also liked the main family dynamics (minus all the revenge parts). It was interesting to see how he tried to obtain the adoration of his dad & grandpa the 2nd time around. I wasn't too much a fan of the romance, even though it was tooth-rotting fluff, because it got more and more repetitive and turned into infantilism play.

Spoiler

The MC is carried around everywhere, told when to eat, what to eat, when to sleep, hand fed, bathed, toweled, dressed etc. by the ML.

[collapse]

Overall, fairly entertaining if you skim all the problematic parts or just wear an eye patch because you'll be permanently squinting. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
earlgreyt
earlgreyt rated it
Unrepentant
December 30, 2018
Status: Completed
Very angsty read! I enjoyed it because it was a good short break from other historical novels. A very refreshing MC/female lead who is very different from typical female MCs found in other C-novels along with a childhood love/romance which is pretty rare as well. I cried my eyes out for sure! The translation is excellent.

Spoiler

I wish there were more epilogues or a HEA but the ending was very impactful and fit well.

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3