Report Review
14 Reviews


dosithee
dosithee rated it
Tales of Herding Gods
August 18, 2018
Status: --
Best Chinese web novel I've read. Characters are noble like in original wuxia. Characters are funny, clever, and diverse. MC actually has personality. More plot than most, not just arc after arc, is one plot, at least up to latest 296.
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Advent of the Archmage
June 6, 2018
Status: c179
None of the nonsense you would expect from a normal Chinese novel (no offense, just a different in preferences based on culture). No constant stroking of MC ego and describing how perfect everyone looks and acts etc.

Plot is amazing, magic isn't mechanical though it seems so at first. 1# best cn novel I've read!
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Second Life Ranker
October 6, 2019
Status: c88
Better than most. Mc's brother sounds like a more interesting person though... But I like how bad ass MC is, though I agree with other reviewer that references to mc's past in Africa seem lame when compared to the thousands of other worriors that are also in the tower and must have more badass backgrounds than just some special forces warfare in Africa. but action is good, and story moves quickly. I like how clever MC is too.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Nano Mashin
April 26, 2020
Status: c274
Spectacular. Absolutely. Gets better and better as it goes. Author clearly planned the whole world and plots from the very start.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Way of the Devil
April 1, 2020
Status: c682
The best of the best. 2nd best? Mystical Journey. 3dr? Advent of the Archmage.

Your welcome.

Really. Rather than rinse and repeat, this author uses tons of varying plots and characters.

Ok, characters arent amazing. But action is non-stop and story will keep your attention. MC is most bad ass of all stories I've read and isn't you usual dumb arrogant MC. That's right! He's badass without being arrogant!

Good stuff.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Dragon Maken War
May 4, 2020
Status: c97
Not bad. But quickly starts to spend too much time on side characters and huge amounts of time on dialogue.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Nightmare’s Call
April 12, 2020
Status: c275
If you liked WAY OF THE DEVIL or MYSTICAL JOURNEY, check this out!

Spectacular. From the other of Way of the Devil and Mystical Journey. This a more well thought out and much more consistent story than his usual works. The dialogue is also much smoother. It's generally a more slow and well explored story.

I like it even more than Way of the Devil. It's much more like a regular novel than his normal works which lean more to the lite side of novels..... Lol. It's a Dark Novel!

... more>> Highly recommended.

I LOVE YOU GET LOST! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
Unusual. Low on fights. Only three or so as far as i've read. But lots of character development and humor. Heart warming as LN frequently are.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Max Level Newbie
April 30, 2020
Status: c35
MC is dumb. Over and over other's tell him super obvious things and he is like "WOW! That's a good idea." and I'm slapping my face at his s*upidity.

Focus is heavily on pretty boring drama so far. There are fights, but they lack the kind of charm that makes a fight fun.

Closer to "This dungeon is Too Hard, " than to any of the other good Korean stories.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Weapon Master
May 3, 2019
Status: c63
Bad. Very thin characters and world is very simple. Past plays little role as forging in this world is little more than socketing jems.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Hachinan tte, Sore wa Nai Deshou! (WN)
January 2, 2017
Status: c13
Super verbose. Walls of text every chapter. All characters are bland and one dimensional. Not worth it for me. I also don't like the majority of LNs for similar reasons, so take my opinion with a grain of salt!
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Martial God
April 30, 2020
Status: c16
Pretty standard Xianxia fare. Not bad, not good. If you like other Xianxia, this isn't much worse than anything else out there.

Lots of cons, but ultimately it's Xianxia. So most of these are par for the course...

  • Personality-less characters
  • Battle's are formulaic, cultivation + skill level and comprehension = power level
    • Battles decided by direct punch to punch, because that's how people fight....
  • Full sentences repeated in the same chapter and full paragraphs repeated between chapters to fill up space.
  • Unnecessary exposition in order to fill space.
  • MC unrealistically s*upid in order to nerf himself
    • Can learn a technique in an hour, but chooses only to study two instead of all of those available...
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Rebirth of The Heavenly Demon (Jang Young Hun)
April 26, 2020
Status: c64
Great. If you like it, check out Nano Machine.

Very complex and realistic world. Characters are mature and have good personlaities.

Hidden gem.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dosithee
dosithee rated it
Rise of Humanity
August 24, 2018
Status: c200
Disappointing. Fight scenes are just not interesting. After 50 chapters or so, each chapter became more and more fluffed with filler descriptions and explanations that got in the way of the flow and action. Cool systems, techniques, and even plot and mystery, just poorly executed. Also, the much of the plot felt forced, MC knew a few secrets that could destroy his enemies, but never told them even to his trusted friends even though spreading the info could only have been helpful.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report