Report Review
16 Reviews


dniv
dniv rated it
Praise the Orc!
July 12, 2017
Status: c62
This is the best Korean novel I have encountered. This is an incredibly moving journey and if you're looking for something completely different from what you've read before then I strongly recommend this novel. It deals with Virtual Reality in a way that surpasses what I've read in LMS which was primarily comedy and Ark which was more focused on action and I think the novel is better executed than Reincarnator. When I read Praise the Orc, I feel like I'm actually consuming something meaningful, but at the same time,... more>> every step of the way, I'm still enjoying it to the extreme and there's a lot of hype. The latest chapter even made me tear up.

Anyway, I don't want to sound overeager, but so far this novel is turning out to be unexpectedly amazing (and even the weird name gets cool after you understand its true meaning). The setting, the plot, the characters, the character development, the themes, and the wide range of perspectives and experiences that this novel seems to encapsulate makes it into something that I hope will end up as a true masterpiece. If you want to read something pragmatic that is also idealistic, something dark that is also measured in its philosophical views and themes then look no further!

5/5 stars

Edit: (7 chapters later)

The writing quality is actually still going way up. I underestimated how good this novel is. 5.5/5 stars. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Nine Star Hegemon Body Arts
October 24, 2018
Status: c134
After maybe the first 6 chapters which seem misleadingly generic but are actually cleverly setting future plot points in place, this novel quickly establishes itself as a solid 4.75/5 or so far as one of the top xianxia novels I've read on this site. The writing is quite strong, the characters are strong, the cultivation method is interesting, the plot armor isn't too excessive, the scheming is well-written, the translation speed is very fast (and also very high quality) like 4 chapters a day on most days and the story... more>> is simply very interesting, and the alchemy is also good. We've seen a bit of the real plot so far and it's quite fascinating. Also there have been a lot of refreshing twists that counter normal Xianxia tropes.

Spoiler for some very early story details about the fiancée:
Spoiler

Question, can you compare this to ATG when 1. The girl who was going to break up her marriage agreement with him, is reluctant to do so because she doesn't want to make him look bad or hurt his feelings while he's in a bad situation, takes him outside of the city to do so because she wants to help him save as much face as possible, doesn't mind him pursuing her afterwards and even has a good attitude about it afterwards? This is not BTTH and it's not ATG. This is original and interesting.

[collapse]

As far as the circumstances relating to his mother and father, they are very well-thought-out. There's a very good reason things are as they are. It's NOT poorly written. In fact, it's done a refreshingly good job of being a great story. And the mother and father both become relevant in fact.

Another spoiler about Fiancée's attitude:
Spoiler

And the fiance DOES care about the MC and does a LOT for him. The fiance isn't shallow. She didn't like the idea of pre-arranged marriage. That ISN'T shallow.

[collapse]

The other thing I really like about this work is that the MC is OP, but not too smart. Like he's strong, but also a normal cultivator in terms of intelligence. Unlike the usual sort of reincarnation xianxia tropes. This time around, the pill god's soul literally mixes with the guy he appears in, so they blend together and he doesn't retain a lot of his memories which makes the story more interesting since you get to see someone with powerful techniques that doesn't have much of an idea about the cultivation world and it combines underdog suspense with OPness in a pretty good combination.

Spoiler for something protagonist learns after the end of the first major arc
Spoiler

Also in TTNH's fashion, MC does indeed seem to probably come from some insanely OP background he never knew about before which makes this all the more interesting. Because this really opens up and broadens the mystery of just who the f*ck stole his spirit root, blood, and bone and why.

[collapse]

This is truly a solid 5/5 and I feel bad for the people who miss this gem because of some dumb poorly researched early review. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
MMORPG: Rebirth of the Legendary Guardian
May 7, 2017
Status: c39
I don't understand the harsh reviews. I find this novel fun to read and the MC is intelligent. Not only did he go back into the past, but he makes decisions based on the fact that he's aware that if he changes things too much or does things unproperly, the future won't be the same and the stuff he knows would be essentially useless so he's both intelligent and careful.

I also like his personality, and find him to be a fun character. I think the writing is also pretty... more>> good.

This is almost completely different from TKA so I don't understand the comparison...

All you need to know is that if you're on the fence, then this is definitely worth reading. I almost didn't read it, but decided to and am glad I did. I am finding this very enjoyable, and the quality has in fact gone up rather than down, so I recommend people try it and stick around for the ride.

Edit: c 140 ish

Yeah, this got worse. Still isn't *that* bad though. But would bump my review to 3.5 stars. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Gamers
April 15, 2017
Status: v2
This novel is surprisingly refreshing and is honestly one of the best Japanese Light Novels I have ever read. While the premise initially seems generic from the title, it's actually quite captivating and all of the characters are extremely well portrayed and interesting. I picked this up a few weeks ago and since then this has become one of my favorite series. I can't wait until more of it is translated. The quality of both of the translations are great so I really recommend this one.

The protagonists are really insightful... more>> and refreshing. No derpiness involved at all and the misunderstandings are never annoying, only hilarious when they happen. This is a solid 5/5 stars, one of the most well-written novels I've ever read.

Also, another plus is that the chapters are REALLY long so there's actually already lots of content and it's all at a really high quality, so I'm a huge fan of that.

Edit: This is a really creative and innovative novel IMO even if it is actually an oldie. This is so godly. I just finished volume 2. I can't wait for Volume 3. This is one of the best light novels I've ever read. Good lord lolol. I literally died laughing at the end of volume 2. This author is a troll (in a good way).

Also, I endorse the above review. I also really appreciate the originality of many of the characters and the interactions between them. So far, I've found that while this novel has many stupid misunderstandings, they're actually never annoying and never go outside of my suspension of disbelief since they're always refreshingly completely justified, and they play out in very unexpected ways that I don't think I've seen before. If you want something new (that I haven't been able to find in other translated rom com novels or anime), then try this out! <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
This is a surprisingly well-written story with a well-developed cast of characters that have a lot more depth than how things might appear at first appearance. Also, rather than a generic setting, it looks like a lot of very interesting things are happening behind the scenes.

I like the main protagonist a lot and also enjoy the other characters. "Side-characters" don't really feel like side-characters and also have proper development. The story starts out slowly, but appears to be setting up bigger things very nicely.

I also really appreciate how the romance... more>> is being handled. All in all, a recommended read. I wasn't sure when I first saw the summary or the title, but this story holds a lot of promise and I'm actually very excited to see how things develop later on since a lot of interesting things seem to be in play. 5/5. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Tada, Sore Dake de Yokattan desu
July 23, 2017
Status: c7
This is actually very well written; well the translation isn't perfect, but it's above-average and the plot itself is incredible. Very intriguing. The second best Japanese Light Novel I have ever read. 6/5

Never did I think I'd read anything quite like this. And never did I imagine I would like it.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Reincarnator
February 7, 2017
Status: c256
This is one of the best stories I have ever read. I was a bit unsure at the very beginning about how good the writing was going to be since it seemed as if the side characters weren't going to be properly developed... but after about chapter 14 I realized that certain things which had come up earlier in the story, were actually foreshadowing deeper things to come not just for the plot, but also for the characters. Since then, after I stuck with reading this, and have gotten to... more>> the latest translated chapter, I have to say that this is an incredible masterpiece.

I think this novel spends a good amount of time questioning morality/motives, exploring various emotions/feelings/sentimentality, inspiring excellent worldbuilding, having a lot of foreshadowing that actually ends up mattering, and is just an excellent story with super great characters. While there are some rare times that in the middle of a long arc, for some individual chapters, one might feel sort of lost, but actually I think that's part of the intention. When you try to figure out what's going on, it actually makes sense, and it makes for an interesting style that makes you piece things together and that doesn't show you the whole story, but shows you enough to make it incredible.

The story is highly unconventional and uses very interesting mechanisms to create a sense of urgency in the otherwise super OP protagonist who in the face of what he has to do isn't very OP tbh (even if he is certainly "OP.") He is also focused on a larger goal, and he always has to do more than everyone else, and his actions are meaningful, and the meaning behind them are slowly expanded upon, which makes for a truly delightful read. In spite of being somewhat amoral, Hansoon is actually one of my favorite protagonists. He's resilient, intelligent, crafty, determined, stoic, mysterious, soft-hearted (I say that he actually is sofhearted underneath it all), wise, meticulous, and frankly just a crazy sort of badass. He has a lot of good qualities, but none of them feel too exaggerated or over the top since they all make sense given the circumstances.

This is one of the extremely rare cases in which I've seen a reincarnation novel do it right. Every time, the protagonist goes back to the past in other novels, the knowledge he has about the present trivializes what he is doing, and it feels totally fake since the protagonist doesn't really have to work for anything and has all of it in the bag. But in this case, Hansoon doesn't actually know everything about the past, there is a whole lot that he doesn't know. He does have a lot of experience and knowledge about the past, but at the same time, he lacks really important details that end up mattering a lot all the time that keep the suspense up and that make everything very interesting. There are also other constraints that make his time-travelling self much less OP than you'd expect and that manage to keep the story extremely interesting.

The novel does an excellent job of presenting scenarios in which there are many conflicting interests and in which taking certain actions can lead to better outcomes in making people fight against each other so that a path is open for you to be able to get what you want. I make it sound simple, but what's happening in this novel is just crazy in comparison. Every zone, the sheer genius behind all those of plans to change the past for the better, are amazing. It's also much better because he doesn't forget the reason he goes to the past as the story goes on, that has always been an extremely integral part of the story, and at the same time, he didn't go back to the past for just himself, which also made things very interesting.

I just think that this novel handles a lot of things extremely well that I rarely see done even half as well almost everywhere else. The author clearly has an amazing capacity for how he plans his stories. But yes, I definitely suggest you wait at least 14 chapters before you judge this prematurely, since I remember myself that at first I was a bit skeptical about this work's quality until I saw a certain scene that had a character act in a certain way that changed my whole opinion about the series in that moment. (This happened around chapter 14 IIRC.) <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Forty Millenniums of Cultivation
May 9, 2017
Status: c108
This novel is amazing. It's honestly a breath of fresh air.

It takes a few chapters to establish itself. At first it seems as if it's not sticking to one major theme and was a bit all over the place... but it came through. Masterfully executed, volume 1 was quite strong, and I'm also enjoying volume 2.

The thing that stands out the most about this novel is that it actually puts forth a deep message for the reader rather than appealing to all this shallow, poorly handled destiny crap like most... more>> other Xianxia do. The side-characters are definitely a strength of this novel, and the MC is also great. I really find the world-building and the overarching storyline quite interesting.

The only perceived weakness in the storytelling is that we sometimes get short info-dumps (though they're relatively rare and they they're well-incorporated into the story flow). There is a LOT of attention to detail in this novel. It's refreshing. This is the sort of novel that seems to be getting much better the farther it gets along, and I find that to be a wonderful strength.

I recommend this to anyone looking for a high quality novel. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Toaru Majutsu no Index
March 12, 2016
Status: --
The greatest masterpiece I have personally experienced--the most impressive work I have encountered in the 1000's of works I've read/played/watched. I can't give it a rating. Even though it has its flaws, it innovates so much that I find it dearer to me than other near-perfect works that play it safe and have less to say.

It's pretty unknown in the West even though it is the fourth highest selling light novel series of all time.

This reviews has no spoilers. I'm only spoilering for size/concision. ... more>>
Spoiler

In my eyes, there are generally two kinds of strongest works. The first kind stays entirely true to reality; the author does so because he is talented enough to do so and doesn't have to create anything fantastical in order to tell a good story. The second kind is anything but true to the reality of everyday life; the author is able to create compelling and innovative original characters, ideas, and situations, and juggle them in a sophisticated way that allows him or her to convey something that often can't be conveyed as masterfully by talking about the world as it is because it is easier to understand the world by looking at what it would be like if some aspects of it changed.

Index is in its own category. It describes reality by both being more realistic and more crazy as a gigantic clash of ideals than anything else. Its strength lies in its originality. It fully engages ideas and situations that other authors would be afraid of tackling either because they're so controversial or simply so hard to faithfully represent. But Kamachi Kazuma is a true super-genius.

In the sprawling cast of 100's of characters are many of my favorite fictional characters. There is no such thing as an unextraordinarily well-written character in index. It has the best worldbuilding, the best motifs/themes, the best plot twists, characters, etc. and it's deep, not a waste of time. The author anticipates what the fanbase wants and always throws curveballs. He is extremely prolific and is a true genius, and he genuinely cares more than I've ever seen another author care. He bucks all tradition and develops his plot in every which way possible and does so exceptionally masterfully. He already has three side-stories that introduce main plot elements because his series isn't a normal one, and it has its own way of presenting a brilliant world. The strongest point is that he'll teach you things even while you just read it for pure enjoyment in a crazy fantastical story whose match you might not find in any other novel on this site including all the CN's, LN's, and KN's. However, it's definitely the case that if you pore through every page and try to figure things out more, then you'll be rewarded and you'll notice tons of tiny details that are subtly introduced and never outright said until they might come into play 5-10 books later.

There are many times when people stick with something after an unextraordinary start and see it become truly amazing. And they really wish that they could find the right words to convince other people that they'd truly stumbled upon something amazing. The anime for Index sucks in comparison. If you've seen the index/railgun anime and concluded that this series isn't very good, please reconsider and try reading the novels. The novel is primarily interesting because of the motivations of our protagonists and their underlying principles and how they clash in a gigantic clash of ideals. That is completely discarded for action in the anime. This makes the anime fun for people who've read the novels, but unfortunately it doesn't work the other way around. If you agree with some of my other reviews, please give this series a chance. I feel frustrated that it isn't popular. It deserves to be much more popular. If it weren't for its underwhelming anime and for the fact that it was written before LN's were written in such a way that considered how easy it was for anime to adapt them, it would have probably become one of the most popular series in the world.

[collapse]

Some advice about what to expect quality-wise from the series (in terms of when it starts to get really good and then get even better) :
Spoiler

The books aren't too long, and they start off way better than the anime. There are a few turning points in the series. Starting from the epilogue OT 6 the story improves dramatically. At the beginning of OT 13 Index truly gets into its own, this is where the season 3 material would be if it ever happens... From there on it's better than anything else I've read. Volume 20 and on is another improvement. And at the end of NT 6 and on is another dramatic improvement it improves in quality again. NT 17 and on is an even more dramatic improvement. There is no filler, no wasted content. Only true genius. Please give this story a try if you have the free time--you likely won't regret it.

[collapse]

TLDR: Ever read a long story with spaced out awesome climaxes and meh filler in-between those amazing highs and wished the story always delivered in reading value? Index is one of the longest series out there standing at 42+ main series volumes + 3 canon spin-off manga + various other media and it is always amazing. It has a bit of a slow start, but even then it is already as good as anything else is, it's just that it eventually surpasses everything else. Just know that Index can't be compared to anything else because that'd just debase the other works that I love (much less than Index).

Edit: (10/4/2017) Season III of the anime is coming out too so come join the hype train (another reason to read this) ! <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Omniscient Reader’s Viewpoint
August 25, 2018
Status: --
Excellent story. Very interesting setting. Developed side-characters. Creative. Good worldbuilding. And the MC is especially unusual for a KN in the sense that he still retains much of his humanity. Overall, it's been very satisfying and exciting so far. 5/5
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv
Lord of All Realms
July 23, 2017
Status: --
This is one of my favorite novels. I read it when Xianxiaworld was translating it. I didn't realize that the new novel wuxiaworld picked up was actually the same one since I hadn't gotten around to reading it yet. But one of the reviews that talked about how annoying it was that the MC's thing didn't seem that special made me realize this had to be the same one. This is an extremely good novel. Mysteries are abound and the side characters get so much love and character development. It's... more>> actually extremely interesting. As opposed to Great Demon King and Spirit Realm, I like this novel a lot more since it's written with the same depth and care as those two novels, except this time around the MC is a team player and doesn't necessarily feel the need to never forgive past grudges or slights. He actually has some emotional control and cares about the other people around him.

This is a fun story to read, and it's also quite interesting and well-written. I heard Xianxiaworld translated it poorly. But even then, it was really fun to read. I can't wait to see WW's better quality translation. 5/5 Top recommendation. I remember liking this as much as or more than ISSTH back in the day. It was about as good as AWE was when Xianxiaworld was translating it (that is to say extremely good). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
The Inverted Dragon’s Scale
June 10, 2017
Status: c67
This novel is amazing. It is very unique. I seriously recommend this novel to people who want to read something emotional and interesting. It's extremely well written. I don't know if it's quite Ze Tian Ji level, but this is truly an excellent novel. It has that spark of creativity that I first found in ISSTH when I started reading it. Of course, the feel is very different, but the character development for all of the characters as well as the depth and lack of normal assholeness found in Xuanhuan... more>> makes this a wonderful read.

Don't get me wrong, some characters are douchebags, but many characters who first seem like they might become that, actually end up being more complex and really interesting. I really love the characters in this series. It's quite charming. 10/10 Please read this! Don't be discouraged by the few 1 star reviews. It does indeed feel a bit awkward at the beginning for those people looking for immediate wish fulfillment, but even then this series really is just amazing.

I just love how it breaks out of so many of the overused xuanhuan tropes and presents itself in an original, thoughtful manner. TLDR: Read this if you want something fresh, thoughtful, emotional, and amazing. Is TKA/ISSTH level so far, tho maybe not ZTJ level. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
This is a really solid series. I just started reading it, but I like it a lot. It's much better than expected. I'm only a few chapters in, but the MC is interesting and seemingly likable. I recommend this series to people looking for something fresh and different to read. The translation is also top quality. :D
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Running Away From The Hero! (Remake)
August 2, 2018
Status: c33
I just binged this yesterday+today. It's very solid, extremely good/fun. It's a little slow at first, but characters seem to have real personality and character-development and it has funny references to other series. The translation isn't perfect, but it's very good nonetheless and it's clear that the translator is putting in a lot of effort especially to find all the references to CN/WN/LN/KN stuff... Hmm, other than that I'd say that this series is very interesting and fresh and different. Give it some time since it actually has a lot... more>> of surprising development and all of the characters introduced seem to matter. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Gekkou
October 4, 2017
Status: Completed
This story is pretty simple, but it's a recommended read. It'd probably be an interesting experience for most people.

Put simply, the story has "how an unordinary person might interact with an extraordinary person and what might happen as a result" as an underlying theme as it tells the tale outlined above. It's executed fairly well.

5/5
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
dniv
dniv rated it
Talisman Emperor
September 12, 2017
Status: c46
This is an solid new novel. It has great translation quality, the cultivation system so far has more nuances and has spirit cooking which reminds me of the beginning of awe and is apparently a taste counterpart to alchemy. There seem to be dumb + smart antagonists in this alike and the MC is likable. I think this is definitely a cut above the average series. It's a very enjoyable read and I like how all of the cards are being introduced early.

4.5/5
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report