Report Review
21 Reviews


darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
September 20, 2016
Status: c610
Spoiler

MC was the usual "thrash" at the start, but was hated by his grandmother because of some reason with his parents (maybe he was a bastard?) and she decides to enslave him to his genius cousin. MC tries to escape and in the end gets tortured by another group (after being betrayed by a friend) and left for dead. He sacrifices his lifespan to becomes able to train sword skills super fast.

[collapse]

I usually like game like settings + revenge and so far, I am enjoying this. The world building seems to be good, too early to talk about characters. Waiting for more chapters to update rating. My only concern is that he might end up forgiving his asshole grandma due to "filial piety" Confucius ideas almost every Chinese story has, and if that happens, I will be super pissed.

Edit: It's everything I wanted it to be and has a great TL. Worthy of 5stars.
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Chronicles of Primordial Wars
September 1, 2016
Status: c55
Some people complain about lack of humour or romance, but please note that this is set in an alternate universe stone age where everyday is a struggle for survival. Not sure if it makes sense for people to be that much concerned about romance when they can barely survive. It is true that that the story telling is a bit dry, but that's just the authors style and it's humorous in its own subtle way (how people think of food like gold etc). On the "action", looks like things are... more>> picking up. I am giving it a tentative 5 just based on the very non-standard world building and theme for this website. <<less
19 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Divine Throne of Primordial Blood
July 4, 2017
Status: c97
Great novel and I am particularly happy with it because it really breaks away from the "filial piety" filled MC trope found in almost every Chinese novel. The cultivation system etc. Are not that new but still somewhat different. Still a bit too early to tell, but a promising start.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Destroyer of Ice and Fire
August 18, 2017
Status: c60
What makes this series different from many of the other Wuxia/Xianxia novels is that the MC is genuinely nice and naive. This makes you want him to succeed more than with all the other cold blooded arrogant assholes out there. Even the side characters are pretty interesting and the ensemble provides a lot of humor.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Second Life Ranker
May 8, 2019
Status: v1c23
This novel is similar to "This tutorial is too hard" and "Tower of God" but it has its own unique charm. The MC seems great and although it is a bit confusing how his twin gave him all this info and power while other people are not able to do the same, accepting this premise leads to a very interesting story. I hope the TL will find a place in the wuxiaworld official site as this story deserves it!
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Kuro no Maou
March 5, 2016
Status: --
Too slow... hate the random slice of life sh*t & povs that keeps happening.. MC keeps thinking he should get stronger but remains weak.
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Spirit Hunters of Maoshan Sect
February 6, 2018
Status: c53
This is a very different type of novel from the usual Xianxia stuff. It is set in modern day and is sort of a Chinese version of Ghostbusters, but of course with the MC using Daoist magic to perform exorcism etc. There seem to be several incidents (ghosts, sprits etc.) which are solved and the MC is more like a spirit/ghost detective. While I enjoyed reading it so far (c53), I am not sure what developments can happen, so not sure how it will continue to keep you reading and... more>> wanting more. It is definitely worth trying to see if you like this genre of novels! <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Acquiring Talent in a Dungeon
March 23, 2017
Status: c17
So far, the MC seems to be more interested in improving himself in "reality" than in the dungeon. In that sense, the dungeon can be thought of as a VR, but in which training/events makes you stronger & skilled in RL as well. I am really interested to see how long MC will keep this mindset and I think this is in some way similar to Dimensional Sovereign in that both have an alternate reality & the normal real world. However, I find the sense of danger and unpredictability to... more>> be much better done in this novel, in DS at some point early in the story, I was pretty sure MC could never fail and became (relatively) OP wrt his enemies. I hope this one doesn't follow that pattern, and we see hard fought battles. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
I Alone Level-Up
January 13, 2019
Status: c92 part1
As the title/summary indicates, the MC has "gamer" powers while in a "Dungeon gates appear in the real world" setting. I binged through all the chapters released so far and it has been a fun read. At 270 chapters, it seems like a short novel so I will be happy if the TL can complete it. Overall 4/5, a nice fun read and good translations especially if you like the gamer+dungeon genre but nothing special/new to give it a 5.

I am surprised the novel is only on google docs because... more>> it deserves to be published in Wuxiaworld or Gravity-tales etc. &Amp; the TL could make some money. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Castle of Black Iron
June 11, 2018
Status: c507
2/5 for the first 200/300 chapters. It really became sh*t after around 500+ (after a demon fight, you'll see), but even before that, I was getting sick of the constant conspiracy theories and anti-science bullsh*t the author was trying to propagate (not to mention the Chinese supremacy).
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Abyss Domination
March 9, 2018
Status: v1c20
First of all, I am really glad GT decided to translate this after it was dropped. The settings seem quite similar to "Night Ranger" and both MCs are following the "Rogue" character style. Yet, this plot and priorities of the two novels are quite different and I have enjoyed the first 20 chapters a lot. Rating will be updated with more chapters as many novels start of strong but then fall off.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz
Shadow Hack
January 4, 2018
Status: c20
Seems interesting, and I am not sure why people are calling it racist. I didn't see any discrimination or hate vs the other races, just surprise/wonder at the different appearance which makes sense considering the MC had never seen a non-Asian human before that one time. I will have to read more to see if he actually is racist.

Plot-wise, the "hack" item seems OP but only as OP as most xianxia novels.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Legend of the Great Saint
June 18, 2017
Status: v2c69
What a gem! Realistic characters and interactions, along with a unique writing style, makes this one of the best novels I have read on this site. The unique cultivation style is the icing on the cake.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
The Legendary Mechanic
February 21, 2019
Status: c69
At first, it seems like a typical regressed/reincarnated into game world type story. However, what makes this plot unique is that the MC is literally in the game as an NPC after his "rebirth", that means that the players are still around. The interaction of the MC with the players makes this novel really unique & exciting! The mechanic class also makes the combat system interesting. Currently, this has become my favorite ongoing Chinese novel.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Omnipotent Sage
February 16, 2019
Status: c295
The biggest problem is all the non-sensical names by the translator. Half the words make no sense and I see that it might be hard to give suitable names but many other translators seem to do a great job and this one just fails. Coupled with info-dumps (most of the info again involves random technique names) that never stop it's super hard to follow. Otherwise, the characters and plot are actually decent but I stopped reading as at some point it didn't seem worth trying to decode the meaning of... more>> all the terms. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Battle Frenzy
March 23, 2017
Status: c70
Similar to the related series "Tempest of the stellar war" in the sense that the MC has some sort of special training from a powerful entity and becomes extremely skilled. What both series do well IMO is that the characters are interesting and the way the MC is OP yet underestimated often is quite satisfying to read. What BF does better is
1. Not Sci-Fi! This is great because, in the other "sci-fi" novels, people are still super-powered.. And this is not really scientific, personally I don't like the pseudo-science... more>> they use. I prefer plain fantasy. Additionally, the cultivation elements are always interesting for me.
2. The MC is actually weak in terms of "power", his skills are OP, but his actual power is low. This leaves room for progression and I enjoy reading weak to strong. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz
Swallowed Star
July 4, 2016
Status: v6c24
Probably my favourite IET work along with CD and DE; then again most of his works start out interesting.. Like the modern twist and my only problem is the super slow translation speed. (It is like 1/3 or 1/4 of other "hot" novels which have a new release one per day)
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Legend of Legends
January 18, 2019
Status: c300
Starts off a bit weak, but I really like where it gets to. Powers like in a MOBA and so there is some sort of "balancing" and the MC doesn't get OP as each ability/skill has its weak points/counters etc.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
Invincible Level Up
April 4, 2018
Status: --
The novel was probably written by some kid or someone who just copy pasted a lot from other novels.. Cliche young masters/thrash MC etc. With a game system that is not even well explained. Honestly, one of the worst novels I've read.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darthpsykoz
darthpsykoz rated it
The Human Emperor
January 21, 2018
Status: c280
I really like this novel, several other reviewers have disliked this novel because it has a lot of politics, no romance etc. (Be warned). Also, if you are here for a typical reincarnation = op story, you will be disappointed. The MC uses his reincarnation to gradually become stronger but his power level is still weak although he has managed to win the respect of several strong people using his brains/strategy + knowledge of the future. His main regret in his past life was that his country/family were all lost... more>> so expect the MC to be working towards saving it and not being a selfish asshole who just tries to get power for himself. Overall I like the pacing of the story, the MC, and the translation so I am giving it 5 stars. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report