Report Review
30 Reviews


darlingv
darlingv rated it
Who Touched My Tail!
April 3, 2019
Status: Completed
If you like to fantasize about how it feels like to be chased by a man again and again or how it feels like to have different romantic settings with one person then this is the story for you.

It's been fun reading what MC and ML go through each world. It reminds me a lot of [As the Minor Gay Rival in Het Novels] but a little easier to read and a lot more repetitive. The worlds are the standard, there's face slapping if that's your cup of tea. BUT... more>> and this is a big but, the whole novel feels like a story about MC's cry for attention. There's a standard routine- MC meets ML > teases ML by acting hard-to-get > MC waits for ML's confession of his undying love (I'm rolling my eyes here) > ML says some really sweet, touching words > MC and ML roll in the sheets. Don't get me wrong, it's not bad or boring but after a few worlds, it really got me rolling my eyes, which is almost impossible since I'm essentially the biggest sap when it comes to love. Overall, this is a 3.5 but I rounded it down for the above reason. It doesn't bring anything new to the world hopping genre but is a decent read. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
I Just Want to Be in a Relationship
July 4, 2019
Status: Completed
With so many similar themed novels out there, this one seems rather inconspicuous, but don't let that stop you because this understated novel is like a ray of sunshine that warms the heart. In fact, I can say most definitely that this is the best one out of all the rebirth/entertainment novels.

First off, what makes this novel so special is the characters. Seldom have I come across a novel with both MC and ML that are equally endearing. Alone, they are great characters, but together they are the perfect unit.

The... more>> way these two complement each other can be seen by the effort they both make to understand the other party. ML, being on the spectrum, struggles with emotions and social situations, is often misunderstood by the world but still willing to open his heart to MC, whereas MC takes into consideration ML's difficulties, slowly learns to understand ML's way of thinking and starts to let go of his past insecurities.

The cherry on top is the way the author writes and creates each scene. There are so many scenes in this novel that have moved me to tears, not out of sadness, but from the renewed conviction that love definitely exists!

I'm a huge sucker for love stories, but few have moved me as much as this one. I wish I could put into words how amazing this novel really is and the emotions it'll leave you feeling.

All I can say is, read it for yourself and find out. I promise, you won't regret it. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
This is somewhat different from the usual transmigration stories out there, where ZZ (the fanfic version) transmigrates into the "real" world and starts to reexamine what he considers to be true about his life. The entire novel is pretty lighthearted, with some funny scenes here and there. Although everything serves to drive ZZ and YX's relationship, there is adventure and mystery to keep me interested in the story. Sure ZZ is OP but that's not the point. It's how ZZ and YX act given their strength or given the situation... more>> that makes this story a good one.

Why I loved it:

Spoiler

What is true love? Is it forcing him to be intimate even when he says no? Is it being overbearingly possessive all the time? Is it manipulating him to love you the way you want him to?

I find a lot of BL novels involve possessive MLs that are borderline psychos when it comes to expressing their "love" for MC. While it's not entirely off-putting, it's certainly a breath of fresh air to have an ML that is different. ZZ, being from the fanfic, is written to be exactly that way, but when he transmigrates into the "real" world, he starts to think a lot about the motivations behind his actions in the world he left behind. As it is, his love for YX is so much stronger than his desire to possess YX. We get a glimpse of how much he really cares for YX through his actions and how he considers the situation from YX's POV. He's constantly turned on, and it's unbearable, but he refuses to give in because he wants YX to feel the same way before they get intimate. Both YX and ZZ never invade the other person' sea of consciousness to try and find out what the other person is unwilling to talk about because they trust and respect each other.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
Brother
April 11, 2019
Status: Completed
This was the first translated novel that I ever read and till today it remains one of the most memorable. I won't talk about the wrongs about their relationship except to say that many things are required to be experienced in person or seen from another's point of view before being judged.

I completely understand how they fell for each other. When you only have one person in your life that you're close to, that you love, that you've been taking care off/ has been taking care of you, that person... more>> is your everything.

The story is tragic but also extremely beautiful. The struggles of life are abundant, but the resilience of the human spirit is not to be underestimated. And, as cliche as it sounds, sometimes, love is really all you need to soothe a weary soul (even if it is one that is taboo). <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
Picked up by the Protagonist of a Tormented! MC Novel
March 28, 2019
Status: Completed
This story really struck a chord with me. It's a story steeped in human emotion and raises the question of what it means to love and trust someone. What do you do if the person you love has emotional baggage they can't put down? The author could've chosen to go down the usual route of ML possessively demanding MC's love and compliance, and MC giving in all the time instead of helping ML grow out of his insecurities, but this is so much better!

At first I was a little confused... more>> at what MC was trying to do, but as the last few chapters played out, I started to understand what MC's thought process was. I find myself concurring with how MC decided to handle the situation and get ML to face up to his feelings and deepest fears. I don't think it's "noble", to say the least. His method of dealing with the matter was bold, risky and also selfish. But then again, in love, sometimes we can't help but act selfishly.

Spoiler

Going through the worst thing you thought could happen and then finding out that it's not as bad as you thought after all, and gaining the strength to deal with your fears in the future is a gift that not everyone has the good fortune of receiving. MC knew that by "betraying" ML, the outcome could go either way; he could end up losing ML or he could finally gain ML's unconditional love and trust. By betting so, MC essentially shows his own trust in ML, because he believes strongly in ML's character and their relationship. This is definitely one of the best written endings I've come across for this type of novel.

[collapse]

MC and ML's characters are so wonderfully fleshed out. I wasn't impressed with the villain, and the side characters are more or less only there to push MC and ML along the plot, with little development. I'm not too bothered by that for this story because I feel like the focus of the author from beginning to end was to weave a story about MC and ML's love, and that was accomplished. This novel isn't the most interesting or most unique or most memorable but it's definitely one of the few that resonates deeply with me. I'd really like to thank the translator for introducing this novel! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
The Antelope and Night Wolf
March 18, 2019
Status: Completed
I waited a long time to read this, but I'm glad I finally got to it. I actually finished reading this within a few hours because I wanted to find out what the big misunderstanding was! I thought the BDSM was actually rather mild, so, don't let that stop you from reading this!

I really like MC's personality. He's strong, optimistic, kind, witty but also vulnerable. It's very easy to connect with such a character because he feels very real. I wasn't completely sold on ML, it's probably a personal preference... more>> but I felt that I liked MH (childhood crush) more. But, MC and ML are definitely made for each other, with MC's tendency to be a flaming M and ML's need for control.

The story is written in a way that keeps you in suspense over the events that led MC to the point when the novel starts. As different characters are introduced, we get to see how each character is connected to the other and the role that they play in MC's life. There aren't any unnecessary misunderstandings or complicated plot twists although MC does lie a lot and hides a lot of secrets.

But I have to say:

Spoiler

This story has made it clearer than ever, how one tiny misstep/ misunderstanding can change your whole life and how easy it can be to lose somebody because of that. Whether it is for the better or worse in this story, I guess that's up to each person's interpretation. At first, I felt like I wanted MH to be with MC but upon thinking it over, I realized that the kind of trust and tacit understanding MC and ML have is something that is very rare. ML may not be perfect but he is perfect for MC. Sure, MH is very devoted to MC and it's not MH's fault that they fell out BUT I think when it comes to loving someone, ML has the upper hand. It's too easy to argue that MH couldn't reach MC and there was "nothing" much he could do. If his feelings were stronger, he wouldn't have waited six months to find him. What, you're telling me he can't ask his parents where MC lives and crash into his dorm and clear the misunderstanding? If you love someone, you'll try harder. ML may have only known MC for a short while but he is very clear about his feelings and what he has to do (even with all the lies between MC and ML)

[collapse]
<<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
Never Marry a Man With Two Tintins
February 22, 2019
Status: Completed
I disliked the main plot enough to sign up and write a review lol. If not for the extras I would've given the story one star. In fact I think the author should've just made the extra into the main story!

What I hated:

... more>>
Spoiler

I hated how Cheng Nuo was completely biased towards Bai Rui. Sure, the author tried to balance out the time spent between Bai Rui and Liu Guang, but it's clear Cheng Nuo was more into Bai Rui based on their interactions. I feel like the author should've just let Cheng Nuo end up with Bai Rui to make Cheng Nuo's character less detestable. He just seems selfish and greedy.

[collapse]

What I loved:

Spoiler

I love how we get a glimpse into Li Yue's character. Even in the main story, I found it hard to completely hate him. I, too, felt that he deserved a second chance at life to experience the warmth of Cheng Nuo's love. Cheng Nuo's character and interations with Li Yue were much more lovable. In fact, among the three MLs I feel like Li Yue was the gentlest and most sincere. Imo, Bai Rui only claimed to love Cheng Nuo, but he never truly warmed up to Cheng Nuo, perhaps only during the papapa scenes. It felt more like lust than love.

[collapse]

If like me, you feel empty after finishing the main story, I guarantee the extras will make your insides all fuzzy again!

I also want to add that the translations are really well done! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv
The Rebirth Waste Strikes Back
May 17, 2019
Status: --
I'm halfway through the novel now, at chapter 101, and I'm not sure if I'll continue reading it. This novel is mostly about romance. It's funny, MC is smart, sassy and likeable. If it was just this, even based on the fact that there's hardly any focus on cultivation or business elements, then I could still give the novel 4.5 stars.

BUT, I've a HUGE problem with ML. The author intended for him to be single-mindedly devoted to MC, which is great and all, except for the fact that even 100... more>> chapters in, when ML already realizes how great MC is and has started to chase him, he's never properly apologized for his mistakes, arrogant assumptions and blatant dismissal of MC since the very start.

First, he has some vague idea about the cancellation of their engagement (irresponsible), gives a disinterested explanation about it (indifferent), then when he finds out MC is the great doctor he's in love with and amazingly talented, he forces him into reengagement (selfish, thinks he's above everyone).

He forcefully gets MC to be his fiance once more through some dubious marriage contract that he can't withdraw. If this is supposed to be romantic, I really can't see it! MC is an outcast who had to find other people discarded by their families just like him, to build the life that he has now. Seems to me like ML is no different from MC's hypocritical family. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
Kaleidoscope of Death
April 28, 2019
Status: Completed
Horror, with a little comedy and romance thrown into the mix really is the perfect combination. I'm a big fan of horror movies and novels, but only when it's done right. Kaleidoscope of Death is such a novel.

MC enters the world inside the door and has to survive by avoiding all sort of creepy things that go bump in the night, while solving the mystery to each key to go back to the real world. The doors are all very exciting (except for the minotaur one, that was just plain... more>> disgusting) and we get to see how much MC grows throughout the story. MC is smart, calm, and has a keen mind and good intuition, which makes him very well-suited to deal with such frightening, tension-ridden situations.

ML is very experienced, intelligent, cunning and extremely shameless, but shows two different sides to his personality when he is in the door and in the real world. ML brings humor to the story when he is being full-blown shameless, which balances out the scary bits. One moment you experience heart-racing, jaw-dropping terror, and the next you're laughing out loud, wiping your tears.

The romance between MC and ML is really the cherry on top. The tacit understanding these two have make them the perfect partners when they're challenging the doors. It feels completely natural when MC and ML finally get together, especially after the harrowing life and death experiences they go through together. MC indulges ML a lot, playing along with his crazy antics (which provides more comedy for us readers).

I didn't care much for the supposedly "mind-blowing" reveal in the extras, mainly because I felt the explanation was not exactly necessary. It didn't add anything to the story for me, and I could've done without it.

All in all, this is the most riveting horror novel (on novelupdates) that I've read so far. It makes me feel a little sad now that I've finished reading it. I was completely invested in the story, its characters and the emotions... the angst in the last part really got me tearing up! It's a must read that deserves the 5 stars! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
Reborn As a System
March 8, 2019
Status: Completed
Another must-read BL novel! MC is super cute, ML is crazy possessive. Despite that, there's no rape/ dubcon, which makes me like the ML so much more. The worlds are pretty interesting and the overarching plot was well-thought out. I hate system stories that don't explain how the characters transmigrated or how they're granted powers etc. The intimate scenes are tastefully done as well.

What I really liked :

Spoiler
  • Cute panda MC
  • From the Save Disk mission, Su Rui. He was a perfectionist, easily irritated and disgusted by little mistakes but he chose to give up his life for his friends.
  • MC and ML got married in the omegaverse world! I thought that was super sweet.
  • It's really heartwarming how MC and ML share the power to become a God because MC truly understands ML's insecurities, and fully trusts ML.
  • MC and ML get to spend time with MC's family as cats!!
  • The last scene. We have each other. That's all we need.
[collapse]
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
One Useless Rebirth
June 20, 2019
Status: Completed
This has been a really enjoyable read. MC gets reborn only to find that he somehow turns into ML's lucky star and their interactions are really hilarious. From the start of the novel, ML is warm and super shameless towards MC, which is a nice change from the usual cold, stoic MLs. The romance is slow, but once MC realizes what he wants, there's no beating around the bush.

The thing that I didn't like was the fact that MC would deliberately ignore or blacklist ML's number when he got irritated... more>> with the latter. This was a huge part of the novel, which I think makes the MC appear really childish (for a 30 something soul) although ML is the one being called childish. He throws a little bit of a tantrum when ML gets to clingy and then gets soft-hearted when ML does or says something sweet. This sort of push and pull of emotions is why I would rate the novel a 4.5 rather than a 5.

I rounded it up instead of down because although it isn't perfect, the intrigue kept me interested the entire time and ML is the real star of the novel. He's gentle, thoughtful, caring but also vulnerable - very endearing. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
I'm usually not super critical when it comes to small discrepancies in the plot and characters but there are just too many glaring ones in this novel. It makes it very difficult to grasp or like MC and ML.

First off, MC transmigrates and she INSTANTLY accepts the situation and treats her 'new' parents exactly like her own, just because they look like her real parents. The possibility of never seeing her real parents again doesn't bother her AT ALL.

Then, MC finds out she's about to be married off to a... more>> monster and plans to escape. But as her escape is thwarted, her parents, who claim to love her, are easily appeased by a few laughs and words of comfort, forgetting that they're about to marry off their beloved daughter to a monster!

MC and ML's interactions are supposed to be 'cute'. MC tries to act like a cute 10 year old, except she's also this super cunning, super witty 20 something modern woman, which sometimes works well, IF the author bothers to put in a little effort in writing out such scenes properly. BUT it turns into another sad, disappointing case of MC being the innocent, doe-eyed 10 year old whenever it suits the author (of course, this is when it suits the plot so she unknowingly entices ML) and next moment she's a wise philosopher when speaking about life and her three views and then she's a sharp-tongued, quick-witted, face-slapping badass. The huge problem with this, is the timing is wrong, it's always overdone leading to a huge contradiction in her character that ultimately makes you think that either the author got really lazy or MC is really just a mentally challenged person.

And then there's ML, who's supposed to be this intelligent, imposing, cold GOD that's descended from the heavens. One moment it's ooh, I'm so mysterious, next moment it's "b**ch, I'm so smart I have my own plans, don't need your meddlin". But really, he's not smart at all. I know, every girl loves to be romanced by a man who throws out BIG gestures to show their affections but it's too soon for someone who is supposed to be cold, it feels wasteful for someone who's supposed to be wise and resourceful. And nope, he definitely doesn't have the situation under control, since MC gets hurt by the stupidest, lamest things that even a child could see coming a mile away.

These are just the main issues that bothered me, but there are like a dozen more contradictions that I won't bother going into.

I really wanted to like this, even giving it a chance until I was 75 chapters deep, but it only got worse as the novel, progressed. This is definitely one novel I won't be completing. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
I haven't given a rating because I'm not yet done with this novel, but I wanted to leave a review just in case some of you get discouraged by the other reviews like I did at first!

Based on the other reviews, I thought I wouldn't like this novel but wanted to give it a try anyways. And I have to say, I really like MC so far! In terms of the plot/arcs, there really isn't anything new but they read more like a mystery novel since the system is terrible... more>> at figuring out the original plot and MC has to use his IQ to navigate his way around.

MC is smart, manipulative and a bit of a sadist but I really can't hate him at all. He plays naughty pranks and sometimes gives ML a hard time for "play" purposes, which could be a red flag for other people, but imo ML is a willing party; aka a masochist. I quite like the dynamic of their relationship! <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
Blooming Romance
June 2, 2019
Status: c53
I really wanted to like this because in the start MC and ML's relationship is really sweet but I was disappointed with how the author chose to create more "plot, " if you can even call it that. But really, it's misunderstanding after misunderstanding; one avoidable mistake after another!

I like drama and even a bit of tragedy, (anything that get the tear ducts working) which there is plenty of, BUT I don't like stupid, dog-blood scenarios!!!
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
The Strategy of Washing Clean a Slag Shou
June 1, 2019
Status: Completed
It's good but it's just not great. I enjoyed reading it because some of the arcs were just heartbreaking and frankly I'm a sucker for tragic endings!
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
A Guide to Raising Your Natural Enemy
April 11, 2019
Status: Completed
This is a really cute, fluffy story with no angst and some pretty satisfactory face slapping. MC retains most of his innocent hamster traits throughout the story and ML is always sweet, thoughtful and super loving! I gave this 4 stars for two reasons:

  1. The first part of the story is really good, maybe even 5 star quality but after MC and ML returns to the capital planet, the story turned into the generic rich, good looking prince ML falls for innocent but helpful OP "cinderella" MC.
  2. There are some minor but irritating discrepancies in the story. I won't list them out, but you'll find them easily if you pay the slightest attention to the story.
Other than that it's definitely an enjoyable, light-hearted read!
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
You Boys Play Games Very Well
March 28, 2019
Status: Completed
I wish I could give this novel an extra star!

It's really hard to come across a novel that's perfect, for lack of a better description. It's hilarious, I found myself laughing out loud the entire time. It's got a cute, extremely likeable, shameless MC and a sweet, driven, doting ML.

The gaming aspect is really well done; not too much, not too little and fun to read (you won't find it confusing even if you don't game) ! MC and ML's fans are super supportive and just great entertainment.

The romance happened... more>> so naturally and the ending was simple but beautiful. It reminds me of what it feels like when you fall in love with someone who also loves you just as much; there is tacit understanding and the ease of being together that only comes along with that. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
As the Minor Gay Rival in Het Novels
March 26, 2019
Status: Completed
The novel was very interesting in the start, then things got sort of stale in between and started getting interesting again towards the end. It's cute how MC would get annoyed with ML because of the constant plot deviations in his missions. ML is the typical OP, possessive, overbearing type, which at first was a little endearing but towards the end it was a too much for me. MC likes being spoiled by ML and gives into ML's possessiveness eventually. I just didn't like how ML doesn't allow MC to... more>> like or care for anyone or anything else (he's not allowed to have friends, family, pets that he cares for). The worlds are your standard ones, with little variation. Overall this is more of a 3.5 but I rounded it up instead of down because the novel has its funny, cute and fluffy moments. I'm just disappointed that some questions remained unanswered about MC's past.

Spoiler

I wanted to know more about his past when he was known as Danwen.

[collapse]
<<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
Holding On to My Man
March 7, 2019
Status: Completed
I completely fell in love with this novel! Among all the multiple world stories I've read, I have to say this is my favorite. I really liked how the final arc tied together the whole story. It has all the makings of a great love story! There's the smart, cute, shameless MC, s*xy, possessive ML, mysterious, tragic past, HE ending and loads of fluff in between. This is one novel that I'd definitely read again, and I hate rereading!
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darlingv
darlingv rated it
The Heartbeat at the Tip of the Tongue
March 6, 2019
Status: Completed
This is probably one of the BEST romance novels I've ever read. The pace is really smooth, the way they fall in love feels so natural. The ML is the personification of pure, unpretentious love. I really liked how the MC continues to grow throughout the story. There was no unnecessary drama, everything that happens serves as an opportunity for the MC to grow and for the ML to prove his feelings to her. This ML is one who backs up his sweet words with actions that made my heart... more>> melt. All in all, this is a beautiful love story that touched my heart. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report