Report Review
15 Reviews


darkclouds
End of arc 1.

A hackneyed plot with one-dimensional characters, lacklustre romance, pathetic villains, a system that attempts to sound cute but can only be cringe-worthy. It was a tedious journey. The good translation was the only redeeming factor.
26 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Shift! The Side-Character Heroine
March 6, 2018
Status: c20
At first, I couldn't understand why the novel was picked over Sinister ex-girlfriend which seems to have a much more compact plot and a larger fan base, but I know now.

Besides the fact that the original publisher is Qidian, there is a blatant and ad nauseum mention of Qidian throughout the story.

It is severely lacking in dialogue while having paragraphs and paragraphs of descriptions and explanations that have constantly put me to sleep. Greatly dissatisfied with the writing style. None of the characters stand out, including the MC, though it... more>> might be too early to judge.

The confusion with the lack of cohesion in the story, instead of adding mystery, only made it seem haphazard and without purpose. Reaching up to chapter 20 was a laborious task, even when I was only skimming through them. It might show an improvement in the later chapters, but this is where it ends for me. <<less
25 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Xianggong, Please Divorce Me!
January 3, 2018
Status: c10
It’s too early for a rating and a review, but I’m hoping leaving this here will encourage more people to read it and also increase the frequency of the releases.

It’s another typical arranged marriage in the historical times. But what’s striking is the flowery and poetic prose, the analogies that will have you in stictches with all the laughter.

We have here a strong MC, not constrained by the rules and impositions of her time. She is clever and makes the best of her circumstances. Her forthright behaviour might partly... more>> have stemmed from the repeated tragedies in love she has been struck with since childhood. She is a star, and her unique way of thinking makes this all the more enjoyable. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Legend of Fu Yao
December 30, 2017
Status: v2c6
4.5

The description above is lengthy, unremarkable and stale. Ignore it.

If you're wavering, stop, and begin reading this novel at once; this is a well-written story. It's been a while since I've read it so I cannot recall much of the plot and the finer details. The plot is quite complex, even though it is not apparent at the start. The characters are intriguing, the dialogue is entertaining. The political machinations seem to flow easily enough.

Read this novel, or fear retribution from Master Yuanbao.
Spoiler

The adorable, revengeful pet in the story.

[collapse]

I plan to read from the start again, when there are more updates. I'll add a more comprehensive review then.

The drama adaptation is being processed with Yang Mi as Fu Yao. I hope this encourages more people to give this a try.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Bringing the Nation’s Husband Home
November 18, 2017
Status: c140
The MC and ML are two different species incapable of verbal communication. It might seem quite obvious to the readers how they feel about each other, but the OTP remains oblivious and are barricaded from each other by pride, trust issues, lack of self-confidence and so on. The misunderstandings and the angst are awfully frustrating. It’s another story of childhood friends turned lovers. Nothing outstanding, but as someone else has mentioned, it is cathartic. There isn’t much of a plot so far and it’s mostly depressing.

My favourite parts would be... more>> the OTP interactions during their movie shoot, the only time they can be unrestrained with their feelings and true to themselves.

The translation is good, but I hope there will be character development for the pitiful OTP. I’m looking forward to their interactions once they have some semblance of peace in their relationship.

If those misunderstandings didn’t seem so inane, the story could have fared better. It’s decent enough for those seeking angst. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Trial Marriage Husband: Need to Work Hard
November 18, 2017
Status: c34
The plot is silly, really. (Sadly, not silly enough to get you laughing). I kept reading, chapter after chapter, hoping something would stick out, but no.

It is a fairy tale for kids with the added benefit of the prince helping his princess plan a little revenge for some inept negative protagonists. Everything is smooth sailing. There doesn't seem to be any challenge, cleverness of dialogue, suspense, intrigue or even gratifying romance. No fun side characters, just some supportive irrelevants.

Suspended logic is a common requirement in many novels, because it's fiction... more>> and leeway is allowed, but this is just meh.

It is unfortunate because the translation is good. I hope they pick up better stories next time. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
The Lighter and Princess Gown
March 11, 2018
Status: c36
An unmotivated, easy going, and smart girl who would rather curse in her inner monologue than voice out her true thoughts is drawn to a prideful, uncompromising, undaunted, and clever boy. Their interactions are so real that it gives life to the story.

It is a delightful and amusing read. More information after completion.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Hey, Don’t Act Unruly!
January 3, 2018
Status: c15
Rating: 3.7

Accused of being a lesbian and violating work ethics and other nonsensical rules, Gao Yu Lan finds herself unemployed and miffed with all the injustice against her in the world. She decides to drink her sorrows and find herself a man to prove everybody wrong. And that's where the biggest twist occurs.
Spoiler

She gets drunk, finds a man, injures him and steals his dog away instead.

[collapse]

She thus begins her extremely taxing journey of being entangled with the mysterious Male Lead and his life.

The MC lacks strength and lets herself be bullied by others. She isn't exactly a pushover but finds herself helpless in testing times. The ML, with his glib tongue and flippant attitude, and the added benefit of serendipity (for the ML) /a series of unfortunate events (for the MC) quickly worms into her life. But with time, we realise he is more than that. His family members are equally adorable and black-bellied.
Spoiler

My favourite character so far is the little girl, Niu Niu. She wants to eat at McD, but is denied at home. She conveniently places herself outside the eatery, pretends to be lost and cajoles the MC into buying her food with her adorable and pitiful looks.

[collapse]

I'm looking forward to seeing the growth in character and confidence in the MC under the influence of the devil in disguise. This is a light romance with hijinks and likeable characters. Translation is decent, ignoring the gripe with typos.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Konyakuhaki ni Zettai Kioku de Tachimukau
December 28, 2017
Status: --
It was good, but awfully short even for a one shot. It felt like reading a book with the last few pages ripped off. It has potential for continuation.

I was surprised and delighted with the simple and reasonable explanation for the change in her aura.
Spoiler

Usually, the sudden appearance of courage would have been reasoned with reincarnation or transmigration.

[collapse]
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
The Adonis Next Door: 100 Days of Forced Love
January 5, 2018
Status: c103
This reminded me of Bringing the Nation’s Husband Home. Turns out, they were written by the same author.

The tags are an accurate description of the story.

The first hundred chapters will mostly serve to incite rage, pity, sorrow and more rage. The ML isn’t evil in a handsome-bad boy-you love to hate-way. He is simply detestable and a mad man. His actions are deplorable and it is hard to understand why the MC perseveres in putting herself through the guillotine.

Someone mentioned that the MC and ML only met once in the... more>> past. That is not true.
Spoiler

They have a long history which is slowly revealed in the later chapters. But not having the ML’s point of view during those times is a drawback. Maybe that will be talked about in the succeeding chapters.

[collapse]

The ML had a tumultuous past which seems to have caused him to be twisted and violent. At the point where I am, his behaviour is deviating from his usual norm, which he himself seems conflicted about. He doesn’t understand what he is feeling. I don’t understand what he is doing.

The story is well written, the plot driven, without any unnecessary embellishments. If you like melodrama, and are able to stomach angst and injustice, this is a good read. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Cold King’s Dominating Love, Genius Medical Consort
December 29, 2017
Status: c40 part2
This is a pretty common trope but it mostly reminds me of Poison Genius Consort. The leads are the dull and blunt versions of Long Feiye and Han Yunxi. The ML even flies the FL around like LF.

There’s still the big mystery of FL’s origins and her relationship with the owner of the famous restaurant. This is the only part that interests me at the moment. The rest seems pretty standard so far.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
I’m Back in the Other World?
December 29, 2017
Status: c57
I’d actually give 2.5 stars if it was possible. This was an interesting premise, having the MC return to a world instead of being transported to a new world. And conveniently, she still retains all her skills from both worlds.

It was alright. No big surprises, no scary villains, no complicated thoughts or plot (?No plot?). Mostly bland and at times cute, but not enough fluff to sustain the story on just that. Nothing stands out. And the long paragraphs tend to bore. What can I say? I had too much... more>> on my plate and no will to clear it up. Hence, this light novel. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
After reading numerous reincarnation novels this story simply fell flat to me. It was unremarkable. I lost interest the moment she said, ‘I’m yours? Then you’re mine’. I was truly disappointed at the absence of the chase and a decent courtship. But I persisted and read up to 83, hoping for something better.

The MC is god. The world was moulded for her to trample upon at a whim. No interesting wing men. Haven’t found one character I like. I was simply bored. Maybe the story and the characters will gain... more>> a personality with the story’s progression, I will never know. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
Not sure if it’s the translation that is lacking or the original novel. From this translated version, I found it inferior. There is hardly any effort put into the dialogues. There could be beauty in simplicity but I don’t see it here.

The story is nothing new, the usual transmigrated girl with superpowers that surpass all with hardly any hiccups; Saves the ML who instantly becomes obsessed with her. I skimmed through the chapters and profanities. Honestly, I wouldn’t mind the repetitive tropes if it was better written. Dropping it.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
darkclouds
darkclouds rated it
Refusing to Serve Me? Then Off With Your Head!
February 23, 2018
Status: c63
Rating: 3.5

This was a journey of two lost souls that find solace in each other after a myriad of experiences. Only, the ML discovered the signboard first and slowly directs the MC towards it.

The female MC is unreliable and biased with her narration. She is also whimsical and quite amusing with her twisted logic. This is mostly a result of her years of hardship, betrayal and an after-effect of the war.

The ML has had his share of misery and despair but is more headstrong in his pursuit of happiness, which... more>> at times (or was it always?) is despotic. It would be unfair to characterise a person based on one aspect of their personality. Ultimately, it was his love and devotion that saved her.

Spoiler

I only pitied the second ML a little bit. Time and place have always played an important role in determining the progress of relationships. More importantly, it only works when the right time and place of two people intersect. It is only rarely that missed opportunities provide a second chance.

[collapse]

I’m satisfied with the resolution and have been left with a smile on my face. The epilogues were also quite fun. Worth a read. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report