Report Review
29 Reviews


cyndor
Sigh... I didn’t really want to drop this but I had to. I don’t know if the author thought a turtle MC would be a way to keep this story from being like the rest, but I personally want no part in it.

... more>>
Spoiler

The way I see it Wang Lu had no reason to take that pledge and make himself a walking fortress who can’t attack. It was a stupid school competition that they had already won and he really wouldn’t be affected if he lost to his female apprentice. Sooooooo yeah after that he is basically a turtle, worse even. Turtles can bite you if you piss them off, but Wang Lu basically can’t do sh*t. He has some kamikaze technique he can use and that’s it.

Wang Lu could easily have become the fastest (strongest?) practitioner in the novel, but now he’s going to be the most indestructible turtle the multiverse has ever seen. All because of a stupid inter-school competition with no life and death stakes.

[collapse]

The reason I’m disappointed isn’t just because I don’t like the way the MC is being developed, but because of the reason that he was forced to take this road. I would honestly be less annoyed if the author just wrote ‘tough, deal with it’ instead of that retarded story line.

I liked the story before that point, and I’m sure the author can still write a half decent story even after that, but this is where I jump ship. <<less
63 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
My Daoist Life
November 8, 2016
Status: c352
This is a well written story, that is, until about chapter 200. What can I say? I guess good things don't last forever.

This story started out great. There was very little I could complain about during the "Village Arc"; this was truly where the author was at his best.

... more>>
Spoiler

Things start going downhill when he goes to the city, but you don't immediately notice it, or necessarily care, since the story is still keeping you wanting more.

By the time Jing Yan enters middle school, you start thinking if this is still as good as it originally was, and you can find flaws/annoyances that you would have had to deliberately look for before.

Then you read about his high school days, and you know the story is going downhill. The storytelling takes a hit and you start wondering why some of the stuff happening is happening, or why some choices were made. (I personally think he was much more worried during this time about people pirating his work rather than trying to get back into his groove.)

Next comes his time during university. By this time, the story had pretty much turned into your generic xianxia and you're left wondering just what happened. This was no longer the story you read and you are honestly disappointed, but you keep reading because there's less than 100 chapters left.

p.s. His recurring childhood enemy (teacher's ex-bf) must have turned over a new leaf and took a job at a walmart or something since the author never resolved the conflict between him and his faction.

[collapse]

I can't exactly tell when the author decided to start ending the story (maybe around c320 and as early as c300) but out of nowhere the MC just starts acting completely out of character, and doing crazy sh*t, and at that point you know the story is coming to an end without needing anyone to tell you. The way the author abruptly ended the story, and the ending itself was fairly disappointing. I honestly felt cheated (the same way we cheat them out of money) but at the same time glad it was over.

If I were to have rated this story based on where the current translations are (c47), I would have no problem giving it a 4.5 (if that were possible with this dumb rating system), but having read the whole story I can give it no higher than a 3. <<less
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
The Wizard World
April 2, 2017
Status: c64
yada yada yada WMW. It seems this novel came out first though, so I guess WMW copied this? I'm current at chapter 64 and this is waaaaay too similar to be a coincidence.

... more>>
Spoiler

MC comes from a place that has no wizards and eventually heads off across the sea to where the wizards live/train. On the way he meets someone he gets along with but they go to diff academies, yet they still keep in contact (sorta). He ends up at a 'evil' academy that has gone down in the world, and is soon about to be involved in a losing war. He starts having s*x with a bad talented sorceress so she doesn't get sent back and he gets resources from her family in return. Oh, and he is doing pharmacy for money. Now he is essentially running away to live among mortals so he won't become involved in the war, and if WMW really copied this novel then I'm guessing the next thing to happen is that he will discover a sorcerer's vestige or something.

[collapse]

If anyone has read WMW then u can see they are identical from my description. If there is any difference, then it is that this is faster paced. I'm giving this a 4 instead of a 3 or 2 because if this did come out first then it shouldn't be affected by me reading warlock of the magus world first. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
December 30, 2016
Status: c23
Disappointing. For all the reasons those 1 & 2 star reviews said, and also because the MC seems like a schizo to me. The first 3 chapters were hard to get through and just when I thought I had shut off my brain enough to enjoy this story, I finally couldn't take the MC's fluctuating moods/thoughts. Korea seems to have a real problem making quality fantasy novels, but it might just be that too few are featured here, and those that are picked up are meh. Don't be deceived by... more>> the high ratings like I was, the people giving out 5's in this site are the same ones who give high ratings to things like 'My sister's boyfriend is a cat' on MAL. <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Wortenia Senki (WN)
June 25, 2017
Status: v2c3
I tried to like this, I really did. Unfortunately I guess I don't get the appeal of this because of cultural differences maybe?

I agree 100% with everything ongoingwhy said in his review, and I would also like to say that this WN suffers from the typical JP MC fuccboi syndrome. It does not matter if this guy is 4 meters tall and breathes out fire, he is still constrained by what seems to be a rampant Mary Sue all-around-good-guy JP trope. Seriously, this guy is shaq size and breaks necks... more>> for fun but he simply does not know how to say no (especially to women). His interactions with people are painful to read, and it is not because he is unaccustomed to his new surroundings.

Spoiler

What broke the camel's back for me was the beginning of volume 2. He ends up finding out that he has no way to go back and he breaks down. Pretty normal, is it not? Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeell, that's okay, because he's fine again soon enough and back to mindlessly doing quests.

The very next chapter he is forced to accept a quest that screams out DANGER! DANGER! DANGER!, because he has apparently checked his balls in at the counter. Of course, this quest is just a way to forcefully move the plot towards the direction that ongoingwhy mentioned, and he is like a fish in water in his new environment that I'm sure will cause him to inexplicably become involved in some world changing b.s.

[collapse]

This review (rant) might make me seem angry, but I'm really just disappointed. Disappointed in the direction, and consistently same character archetype that is prevalent in each new JP novel. The authors try and disguise it with different types of smoke screens and fire works but we can all tell.

Just to be fair, I'm not solely ragging on JP WN as I also believe CN WN are equally disappointing but in a whole other direction.

TLDR; Nothing new here folks, don't be deceived by all the shiny mirrors and the flashy lights. The story is just as unimaginative as the description makes it sound, and I'm sure you've already read something that resembles it. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Trafford’s Trading Club
June 13, 2017
Status: c59
I went into this novel with good expectations since it reminded me of tsukumodo antique shop (they're really not that similar) and I wasn't disappointed. What I enjoyed is how quickly (and seamlessly) this story got things started. From the very first chapter we discover this mysterious shop that sells anything, and everything. That was quick wasn't it? Well, guess what? The second chapter he is already the owner and has his first customer.

The first 100 or so chapters deal with fairly normal trades, and the story of the people... more>> who make those trades, and the MC's day-to-day life. We see how he is a completely different boss than the previous owner, and how he is trying to maintain his humanity and the 'color' in his world.

Someone mentioned how well suited he is for his position as the club owner, but that is not only because of his original interests/personality but also because the club makes it so (I wont spoil it). Both he and his mechanical assistant do change throughout the story (although slowly) so do not think they will remain static and make the story boring.

This story not only deals with humans, monsters, and spirits, but it also takes us to different countries (1 thus far). No matter how accurate the portrayal is, at least the author tries to get out of his comfort zone and show us something different. This is a definite recommendation from me, and I would say to read the first 10-20 chapters to decide whether you would like to continue reading. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Dragon-Blooded War God
December 1, 2015
Status: --
Disappointing. I felt no joy nor interest when reading this web novel. Everything that you can expect to happen, happens. There are so many cliche's and uninteresting dialogues and fights in the 30 chapters I read that I was completely turned off. I had previously put off on reading this novel for a while because the description sounded just oh so cringe and I was worried the author wouldn't be able to deliver.

Maybe I have read too much xianxia but this felt like a combination of every other xianxia (including... more>> the bad aspects) done in a very bland manner. Might try to pick it up after a while due to the long chapters but I can't recommend this as a good read. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Seeking the Flying Sword Path
November 3, 2017
Status: c82
I was not disappointed, but then again I also don't stay waiting up for Santa anymore.

This is more of the same from IET;nothing more, nothing less. And at this point it is pretty obvious to anyone that IET is churning out these novels at about the same rate and quality of a McDonald's meal.

I do have a problem feeling any sort of connection to the characters like some of the others have stated. That said, the main problem I'm having is that like many of IET's other novels the MC... more>> always seems to able to power up just when he needs to. Defeating one antagonist means nothing because there's one more right around the corner who will do something way out of character and eventually be taken out mostly because of his own stupidity.

Spoiler

The new governor actually went and made himself an enemy of a guy who spent 3 years on the front lines AND just finished killing a monster who had terrorized their territory for 200 years. Still, I guess it was worth risking his cover (he works with/for the evil monsters) so that he can get some cultivation item

[collapse]

Wait until the chapters pile up, don't think too much and enjoy. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
No Fatigue: 24-jikan Tatakaeru Otoko no Tenseitan
March 31, 2016
Status: --
Not as great as I expected from the reviews. The style of writing used feels lazy and a bit amateurish. When I'm reading the story I can't help but feel as if I'm reading a journal or a list of things the MC did during the day.

Now let's talk about the MC. I always thought the dumbest idea was to make a MC that was reincarnated because they jumped in front of truck-san, but I was wrong. This MC at age 30 couldn't even articulate his own situation and ended... more>> up being shot because he ran towards cops with a knife in his hand and acting like a bumbling fool. He's a cookie-cutter Japanese character. The rest of the (few) side characters like Mom and Dad aren't much either. Anyway, there isn't anything new (or good) to see here so I would recommend this only to people who are searching the bottom of the barrel and don't mind monotonous stories. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
The General’s Little Peasant Wife
July 25, 2017
Status: c142
I agree with paputsza; so far all the antagonists seem to have extreme autism.

No, seriously though, the author keeps using the same 4-5 recurring people going after the MC chapter after chapter just to increase chapter count. I'm on chapter 142 atm whereas it should be more like chapter 20.

This is an okay read but expect your usual cold on the outside but warm on the inside female lead.

Oh, and paputsza, the female lead is not teaching that chick all her techniques because she's an ungrateful bitch. It's one thing... more>> not to teach others just because they won't kiss your ass, but if you go out of your way to spend your time and effort to teach someone who is selfish and unreasonable then you're just an idiot.

EDIT 1:

I am now at chapter 343 and much of the same has continued. Everyone who goes against the male and female lead do idiotic stuff that they never would have done before. At this point it is my belief that they are infectious and are transmitting some kind of disease. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Beauty and the Bodyguard
April 10, 2016
Status: --
I have to agree with jwang. I read ahead and couldn’t help but drop it because of this. The MC is also one of those guys who can’t say ‘No’ to a woman (or anyone who is his acquaintance) and ends up doing their bidding. The more I read on, the more the MC diverged from his child soldier persona to that of a butler/yes-man. All in all I found this novel to be increasingly making me want to bash my head into the wall, and I wasn’t even close... more>> to 1/10 through the novel. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
The Lazy Swordmaster
December 25, 2016
Status: c30
LOL @ the people who are so gosh darned pissed off. I guess it's true what they say, huh? The more you like something, the more u hate it once u feel disappointed. I won't say this is the best story I've ever read, what I will say is that the story has consistently maintained the "slice of life" style it started off with. Some people might have been confused because of his back-story of being a summoned hero in a different world who lost everything in his quest to... more>> slay the demon king, but let me tell you right now, this isn't the kind of story where he struggles step by step to become stronger and be acknowledged by everyone (knock on wood).

While I myself was a bit miffed at the reason he decided to show his talents to Ian and Sera, I guess it was a lighter, and unexpected way to do it than let's say, him having no choice but to do it once something happened to his mother. You also have to remember, he did this in front of Ian, who is his own personal butler, and would take his orders above everyone else, including his father, and Sera who is mother's personal maid. Someone pointed out that he should just show a bit of his talent and hide in his brother's shadow, but that is just not possible because of one simple reason: his mother. Why else would the baron allow his shenanigans if it were not because of his mother. The baron's first marriage was one of benefit, while the second was out of love. I'm sorry to break it to you all out there, but your parent's have a kid they love more than the other (s). The satisfaction, hope, and effort they give one kid is above the rest, and the amount given is even more different with those who have different mothers. If Riley were to even show that he could defeat a novice, the amount of attention and expectation the baron would give him would be suffocating to him, and his brother's would probably hate him even more (and tried to get rid of him earlier). This story has some dark elements that will affect the MC's behavior from time to time, but remember, he's "The lazy Swordmaster" not "The Incognito Swordmaster" so he will do things that seem 'out of character' to get something he wants as long as it doesn't affect his lifestyle too much. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
The Mighty Female Immortal
November 22, 2016
Status: c10
This is obviously a very early review, and so you can take it however you want.

So far this looks like the other generic xianxia being churned out every day. Her cheat isn't some sort of 10000 year old spirit or a magical cultivation nose ring, instead she is able to make pills and talisman's as easy as counting 1, 2, 3. ... more>>
Spoiler

All signs are pointing to this being a very bland and tedious story. The very first thing she decided when leaving her village and going to the capital was to not be exposed to her clan. The next few chapters some arrogant (surprised?) and stupid girl picks a fight with her and she gets exposed. You can imagine what happens next. No, really, just think a little and you're probably right.

A lot of times I skipped cultivation explanations and descriptions since they felt very tedious and made me sleepy.

At this point of the story she's channeling her inner Anne Frank, and taking a very roundabout way in order to not get killed by her ninth uncle (?).

[collapse]

The story might be an okay read to waste time, but I wouldn't expect great things out of this from what I've seen so far. I'll try and read a bit ahead in the raws, but I'm not sure I can last until her love interest is revealed and she inevitably becomes a meek kitten in his hand. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Heaven Awakening Path
July 9, 2016
Status: --
This was a nice read for the first 200 or so chapters. It felt different; this wasn't your normal go to school-piss off random jerk rinse and repeat, but after chapter 200 I feel as if I've started reading fillers. Anyone who though the first 40 chapters were slow haven't seen anything yet. I read 100 chapters and not even a week had passed in the story (and it mostly felt like filler)

This is a nice story, but I have no idea where the author is taking this.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Everlasting Immortal Firmament
January 26, 2018
Status: c100
I enjoy this-sometimes; the problem is that there are too many convenient or lucky circumstances. So far the MC has had everything going his way (even when it seems it's not) and I find myself having to stop reading for a few minutes. What I really had a problem with was how everyone who was not on the MC's side is portrayed. They are basically just there to make the MC look good. They could have been lords of hundreds of thousands of people, but as soon as they face... more>> off against the MC they are made to look like incompetent children. This is, of course, a poor way to make the MC look like a genius, and it shows inexperience. The last thing that bugged me was how the MC quickly went from knowing almost nothing about cultivation to being able to arrange arrays that could defeat people two stages higher than him. It could be that the MT was bad, but that is something to think about. It is so far a decent read, but I had expected much more (not really) after seeing all the 5 stars. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
Ah.... another one of these web novels on Syosetu. Needless to say, I read the other reviews and took into account the blinders that people seem to have when it comes to this type of genre + the #HYPU around it and started reading without too much expectation.

After reading the 6 translated chapters and a bit ahead I have to say this story is pretty average (at best). The MC is your typical Japanese nice guy who is so virtuous the pope would feel ashamed, add onto that he's dense... more>> and OP and you have one frustrating fellow.

Spoiler

Everything in the story seems to be leading up to him inadvertently saving the very country that banished him and tried to kill him (which being the nice guy he is doesn't seem to be a problem).

[collapse]

Anyway, if you're bored and the updates to this are frequent, then it's not unreadable. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
December 10, 2015
Status: --
This is a refreshing read (up till chapter 50 where I'm currently at), the author hasn't tried to make the MC some grand hero or protector of the universe or any such thing. It is a story (so far) where the MC simply does his best for his own benefit without taking on some faction or enemy at every single turn. While I dislike MC's that have to get themselves into trouble because of their holier-than-though attitude I also like the fact that the author kept some human decency in... more>> the MC. He won't take on the responsibility of everyone on himself, but he will give help/give advice as long as it doesn't negatively affect him.

Overall this is a pretty good read and I hope it continues to be. Seems like the MC has no interest in being with anyone and he just hooks up randomly when he needs to take care of his urges (only with 1 girl so far) so don't expect any romance. If I had to say something bad about this novel it would have to be about the author's quirk with exclamation marks. Almost every sentence where characters are speaking to one another ends with a ! And when I'm trying to picture what's going on I keep imagining them yelling at each other. I like OP characters but not so OP where everything is a breeze and an arc ends in 10 chapters so here's hoping to the author knowing how to keep a proper balance. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Cataclysmic Transformation
June 29, 2018
Status: --
Definitely overrated.

I don't even need to make this a long review, the best way to describe this WN is as common. Oh, and apparently the author really liked the "arrow to the knee" meme.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Immortal
August 25, 2017
Status: v4c83
My review of this novel is much like ninthlite. I feel like so many of the MC's choices, and actions are based on this being a harem. So much time is spent on the MC 'inadvertently' wooing some beauty who is much stronger than himself that the story feels like it's dragging.

The world building and empire aspects of the novel are fairly decent/good but I don't know if the "fairly large harem" as Mibuokami calls it will ruin it for the rest as you as it has started to for... more>> me.

I can't recommend this since I think I have a good feel for the story and will probably drop it, but I'm sure someone won't mind the problems I had with it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cyndor
cyndor rated it
Destroyer of Ice and Fire
August 7, 2017
Status: c249
I very much enjoyed the lightheartedness and comedy in the beginning, but my problem now is that the MC seems very flat. I guess I should have expected it from the shounen-style review the TL gave it, but this is really going as one would expect it. MC goes to school>MC joins tournament>MC joins the fight against evil.

The only thing unexpected for me thus far is who the romantic choice ended up being. I did not see that coming.

An overall okay story just don't expect to see any twists and... more>> turns. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report