Report Review
12 Reviews


criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Red Envelope Group of the Three Realms
December 10, 2017
Status: c10
At first, I thought that this was the same novel as Red Packet Server, but I was wrong.

It's worse. way worse. I don't know which novel came first but it feels like the Invisible Dragon version of Red Packet Server. And not in a good way. In the first chapter alone, he gets dumped by a bitch for no reason, grows an extra arm and his reaction is I will use this extra arm to get more red packets....

Nope.
32 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Possessing Nothing
August 25, 2017
Status: c38
Can I just say, I consider myself a veteran when it comes to second chance novels. And it's always the same. Man goes back to the past and immediately becomes OP in some way or the other. Usually, he knows high level techniques or has some kind of divine artifact with him. Of course he always has some kind of highly specific knowledge that can make him filthy rich.

This is different. Period. The MC is basically a talentless hack with a severe inferiority complex. Initially, he doesn't have much ambition... more>> and just wants a slightly better life.

When he gets high level techniques, he can't master them easily because well... he is a talentless hack.

But he meets people who change him and he struggles to overcome his past mentality. He takes the hard path because he doesn't have convenient plot armour.

This is slowly becoming one of my favourite novels.

5 stars <<less
23 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
War Sovereign Soaring The Heavens
May 15, 2017
Status: c13
I've only read 12 chapters but the character has already crippled 2 young masters and has his first harem member. The first chapter was dedicated to the greatness of the MC's first life and after he reincarnated, happily gains the memory of this world's greatest martial emperor. Then the tropes pile on. Enough said. I hoped that Qidian would have picked a less cliche novel to translate given the choices they have
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Supreme Uprising
November 12, 2018
Status: c18
Standard CN with a slightly interesting take on a system. But the story is way too rushed, going from trope to trope with no pauses.
Spoiler

In ten chapters, his stats double, he defeats his bully, gets scouted by an elite academy, buys a new house and slaps half a dozen faces.

And then he starts improving even faster. The author has no sense of proportion whatsoever

[collapse]
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Terror Infinity
May 18, 2016
Status: v14c2
When this novel first came out, I read a couple of chapters and then dropped it. I regret it like hell now.

One of the best stories I've read, both online and published. The characters are well developed and you can relate to the MC. He isn't a stock xianxia sociopath, neither is he a 'I won't kill anyone' type character. There is a good balance of seriousness and comedy. The MC's plot armor isn't very thick. You can feel that there is a genuine struggle to survive against horrible odds.... more>> He even fails (gasp) every once in a while, and makes bad decisions.

Actions have consequences in this novel, and power comes at a price. It is a refreshing change from perfect OP MCs with good luck falling in their lap. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Plundering the Dao of the Immortal Journey
May 16, 2017
Status: c31
I'm conflicted about this one. The premise is confusing. A cultivator is about to get his soul destroyed. So he somehow gets a soul from earth to go back in time with his memories. It's like the author couldn't​ decide what to do with the MC so he added a bit of everything.

The story is alright after that, but a few poems get butchered along the way. There are also some issues with the language which is unclear at times. I'm not sure if this is an issue with the... more>> translation or the original story. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Reborn – Super Chef
April 5, 2018
Status: c117
Not a bad story if you ignore the ridiculous setting. Just ignore the Vegetarian terrorists and the Gourmet police, replace them with whatever makes sense to you and it's a pretty fun read.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Forty Millenniums of Cultivation
April 12, 2018
Status: c530
An awesome story. The setting is pretty standard with tropes galore: reincarnated MC, school exams, contribution points, missions, mechas and what not. But it's really well done. There aren't many arrogant young masters, well, not too many. Most of humanity is united against a common foe so there's not much time or patience for that. There are a few friendly proffesional rivalries along the way.

The MC is likeable, despite being a complete maniac at times. The side characters are reasonably well developed for a Chinese web novel, and I love... more>> the female lead. At this point I don't think the translation is at that point, so I won't mention much rather than the fact that the romance is based on friendship and respect, and not the starstruck-hero-keeps-saving-the-beauty type.

The action is pretty good too. He's always going up against opponents who are genuinely much stronger than himself. He loves plotting and setting traps. He gets seriously injured alot but always comes back for more.

Then there is the artifact refining. It's his ultimate goal, and a large part of his fighting style. Even though he's a strong fighter, he's even better and crazier when he's refining. This isn't just swords and spears. There are guns, spaceships, mechas railguns and all sorts of cool stuff. The MC is also fond of modifying stuff and that's when sh*t really hits the fan.

I'm not saying the story doesn't have flaws. There are. But I can't think of any now and thats good enough for me to rate it 5 stars. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
The Skill Maker
March 12, 2018
Status: c85
I like this novel a lot. That probably has something to do with the slightly introverted MC coming into his stride and becoming OP. It seems to be a feature in a lot of novels I read. The Koreans in general, do that well, balanced between the megalomaniac Chinese and the loosey-goosey Japanese types in novels. But often, Korean MCs turn into these paranoid dark loners with few actual connections and too many secrets. It's depressing.

So, obviously, this novel is not like those. It's about a guy who awakens his... more>> hidden talents, finds people he can trust, endures hardships, works hard and isn't a complete d*ck. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Evolution Theory of the Hunter
April 28, 2016
Status: --
One of maybe 5 new Korean novels I’ve added to my list in the last month. As of chapter 17, I’m really loving this. The story is progressing nicely and doesn’t have that rushed feeling to it that some novels, especially chinese ones have. A lower class, hard working protag slowly powers up living in a world where there is a huge difference between classes based on wealth.

Also, the exposition and world building comes in bearable doses and doesn't feel uncomfortable.

Translator is doing a good job with this: grammatically clean... more>> without losing the author’s style, although they seem to be converting money to dollar amounts. Nice of them to make the effort, but I’m not really sure how I feel bout that. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
God’s Song
April 21, 2016
Status: --
Early days yet, but promising. The MC is an orphan, handsome music otaku who is participating in a reality TV style music competition. I'm looking forward to seeing what happens next.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
criticalmind
criticalmind rated it
Legend of the Cultivation God
April 14, 2016
Status: --
I've read ahead for a few chapters, but the story becomes a bit complex for MT.

It's well written, with plenty of character development, unlike most xianxias. Right now, it seems more like a slice of life story than a martial arts novel. But as a result, all the characters in the story are well fleshed out. You can relate to them and understand their motivations.

Spoiler

The MC doesn't even start learning martial arts till around chapter 50, so don't expect too much action.

[collapse]
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report