Report Review
30 Reviews


craBebe
craBebe
Sevens
May 16, 2016
Status: v9c137
This was a rough read and I eventually just lost interest. My main issue probably stems from the MC, his interaction with his harem and the blind idiocy which he regularly exhibits. He has his moments of greatness, but for the most part he seems to just bumble along. The pacing of this story feels extremely slow and most of the time I'm waiting for him to finally just get over himself so things can move along.

I have to admit that this story has a fantastic villain. His sister really... more>> makes your skin crawl and her sheer sadism coupled with being completely OP makes her for an extremely compelling villain.

Which is what makes the MC's faults that much more blatantly obvious, I understand that he's meant to undergo some character development but this development is remedial at best. This coupled with his inability to manage his harem (not in the s*xual misogynistic sense, but in the basic personal interaction sense) makes for a very frustrating read.

In short, the MC's shortcomings, poor interpersonal relationships and overall poor pacing made for a frustrating read. That said I still read 9 volumes of it so it has its merits, but I couldn't stand any more of the MC. <<less
31 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Arena
June 3, 2016
Status: c27
Got ourselves another RPG Death-game. If you've read Gantz or Terror Infinity and are looking for more of the same this is a good one to go with. Only downside is the chapter release rate.

Story's good so far and I see a tremendous amount of potential for the future, interested to see just which direction the author wants to take this series. All in all, a solid read and I recommend it to anyone who's a fan of the death-game genre.
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
The Desolate Era
May 15, 2016
Status: --
Anything by IET is fantastic and this is probably my favorite work of his. The scale that DE has compared to his other works feels much more vast, and the world building feels much more fleshed out than some of his other works. Easily one of my favorite reads right now and one I look forward to on a daily basis. If you haven't picked this one up yet, just do. IET's an absolute master when it comes to xianxia and it's remarkable how he's able to pace his story... more>> so well given the chapter to chapter release format.

Give it a go if you haven't yet, you won't regret it. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Child of Light
May 20, 2016
Status: --
This was an exceptionally terrible read riddled with terrible, TERRIBLE, western fantasy cliches. The only explanation I have behind this is that eastern readers aren't familiar with sword and sorcery epics so this guy just ripped off a bunch of old western fantasy tropes, stuck them in a novel and because the mythos was new to the eastern audience he created something "new" and "different".

Having consumed most decent fantasy novels before I started reading any of the Chinese WN stuff this novel really stood out as being exceptionally awful. Aside... more>> from the cannibalized tropes and content (mages, dragons, elves, dark elves, swords of light, hero of light etc. Etc.) the story isn't even well written. There's no real reason behind the hero's power, he's basically walking around in a Gundam suit of plot armor and his entire purpose in the story is so stupidly overpowered and cliche it's painful to read.

I have no idea why this is on Wuxiaworld as their website seems to adhere to a certain standard which this one certainly doesn't meet. Highly unrecommended. I can however see why it's on Radiant Translations. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Dominion’s End
May 18, 2016
Status: v2 prologue
This series is f*cking fantastic. It's your typical Zombie Apocalypse, gender-bender with superpowers. The only downside is the fact that there's only one volume and I have no idea if/when it will be picked up again. Fantastic series though, wish there were more like it.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Terror Infinity
May 14, 2016
Status: --
Easily one of my favorite series I've read in a while. If you've ever enjoyed the premise of Gantz you'll love this one. The initial premise of "going into horror movies" kinda threw me initially, making me think "can the author really not come up with his own material?" But as you get into it, it makes for a really interesting read especially if you're familiar with the movies some of their missions take place in.

Where this series really shines is in some of the intellectual battles that take place... more>> between the respective team leaders and their counterparts. This is probably one of my favorite aspects of this series, is how some of the characters use their knowledge of the movies to hypothesize ways to exploit the plot to their advantage. It's done really well and lets the reader think about some movies in ways they never would have thought about them before. This coupled with the absolutely fantastic upgrade/loot system makes for a really exciting read. Really looking forward to future updates. A0123 does a fantastic job with the translation. Definitely a highly recommended series, one of the most interesting I've read in a long time.

If you're getting sick of the same old xianxia, inner qi cultivation, sect story line this is a nice breath of fresh air. There's not very much in the way of good sci-fi, alternate stories out there being translated so this makes for a good one. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
The Nine Cauldrons
May 17, 2016
Status: c117
If you've ever read anything by IET then you know what you're getting into. This is equivalent to his previous work and perhaps one of his more interesting reads given that his MC is a bit more complex than the typical "hard-working youth" of his previous books (CD, ST, DE).

A fun read so far and I have no doubt that IET will continue to deliver a fantastic read, the guy can really do no wrong in my eyes.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
The King of the Battlefield
June 3, 2016
Status: c14
Really enjoying this. It's basically the exact same synopsis as Reincarnator without the ridiculous MC and confusing plot lines (so far). We've got a cold and calculating master assassin who finds himself transported 40 years into the past following his death. He then sets off to change his life and use his knowledge of the future to become OP.

There aren't very many chapters yet, but so far I like the direction the story is headed. Looking forward to a continued read!
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Master Hunter K
October 19, 2016
Status: c8
I like it so far. It's got much more of a tournament feel to it than other survival novels like Reincarnator and Everyone Else is a Returnee have. Looking forward to more releases, a really good start.
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Paradise of Demonic Gods
September 26, 2016
Status: c32
Really enjoying this so far. Very excited to see what happens to the MC in the future after he made his deal, and whether or not it will become as crippling as it seems on the surface. A true revenge novel with an ironwilled MC, there are questions of conspiracy in the background as he pursues the pinnacle of power.

So far it's been a very good read, and the translation is done very well. Hoping the translation frequency continues at this extremely satisfying pace!
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
World of Cultivation
June 8, 2016
Status: c269
This is an absolutely fantastic novel. It's slower paced than it's xuahuan counterparts, but man, this novel does world building and character development well.

This is a novel with layers built into it, rather than a string of fights interspersed with cultivation.

Much of the novel centers around exploration of craft, sect politics, kingdom/army building, and layers upon layers of foreshadowing.

If you've gotten sick of the typical cookie-cutter xianxia, give this one a try. It's a bit slower paced, and not as action packed, but it's got a good amount of humor... more>> and some exciting cultivation. It also has probably one of the best "master/disciple" relationships in any novel I've read so far.

One of my favorite new reads. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Awakening
May 19, 2016
Status: c32
I was very disappointed in this series. The premise was fantastic since I love immortality/reincarnation stories, but this is really about as slice-of-life as it gets. He does the most mundane things and a thousand year old immortal hanging out with a bunch of middle school/high school students just makes for very boring interactions. The ease with which he solves any and all conflicts remove any sense of drama in the story, I'm all for an OP MC but it doesn't really work in this case. Maybe it gets better... more>> at some point, I would be interested to find out the reason behind his immortality and specifically what his purpose is. But having the ultimate grand-master in human history solving the problems of high school students made for a very boring read.

Check out Genius Sword Immortal if you're interested in the same concept with more action (although I'm not entirely sold on this series either.) <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Galactic Dark Net
May 15, 2016
Status: c71
Fantastic read. So refreshing to see something new out there. I have no doubt that there's plenty of diversity for untranslated novels, but when it comes to the stuff translators are choosing now they're all the same transmigration/xianxia/sect/cultivation novels. Galactic Dark Net is a fantastically unique story that keeps the same action/adventure/level up nature that we all know and love, but puts it in a fantastical alternative sci-fi earth without copying any of the overdone tropes that pop up in so many other wuxia novels.

Check it out if you're sick... more>> of reading the same thing over and over and looking for something new, highly recommended. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Parallel World Pharmacy
September 26, 2016
Status: --
What began as an interesting premise and novel quickly devolved into the MC introducing every modern health development imaginable. It's understandable that this medieval society would need these innovations, but the sheer number that the MC introduces becoming overwhelmingly tedious. Listening to how the MC is going about the widespread implementation of oral hygiene, and the manufacturing of tooth brushes got really old really fast. It seemed like the author was just scrolling through wikipedia looking for medical innovations and arbitrarily having the MC implement them.

I understand that all these... more>> things are marvels to society and things we take for granted now-a-days, but the implementation of every medical marvel quickly makes for extremely boring reading. It was an interesting approach in the beginning, but when that's all the novel amounts to things get really boring really fast. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Transcending the Nine Heavens
May 18, 2016
Status: c192
Very good series. A lot of comedy, psychological manipulation and tactical maneuvering involved in this series that makes for a very enjoyable read.

My one issue with this series is:
... more>>
Spoiler

that after the MC revives he simply "decides" he'll become a tactical genius the likes of which the world has never seen, as if that's something you can just make a decision about doing. Just because he has a lifetime of experience and happened to be friends with a master tactition does not mean he can all of a sudden become one.

[collapse]

The fact that most of the plot hinges on this one plot point is somewhat bothersome, but if you can suspend your disbelief to get past this point then it's a fantastic read. Still worth 5 stars, highly recommended. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Doom Lord
August 27, 2016
Status: c41
This is your typical "survival apocalypse with rpg elements" novel with the added twist that there's a solid city building element tacked on. I get the feeling that the majority of the bad reviews are coming from the poor translation, and that's warranted. The first 20 or so chapters are really rough, and even at my current point there are still quite a few errors popping up, but grammatical errors aside I'm still really enjoying the read. What saves this novel is the city management aspect, I absolutely love base... more>> builders and this novel manages to scratch that itch better than most other novels out there. It pretty much reads as a city building mmo and that's basically it. If you're looking for basically any of the elements they talk about in a writing class (plot, character development, world building, etc) you're not going to find it here. You will however, find a pretty entertaining city builder read. So if you like upgrades, building construction, recruitment, city defense, territory expansion, and a whole myriad of RPG elements, you'll probably enjoy this read. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Demon’s Diary
May 15, 2016
Status: --
I'm looking forward to how this story develops. So far it's been all about cultivation, but it will be interesting to see what happens after the MC's foundation is established and he begins to cultivate some more relationships between himself and other members of his sect/people of the world.

That's probably one of the only things that this novel is lacking is relationships between other characters, so far all characters outside of the MC have been forgettable and we've only really gotten to know him.

Outside of that, the MC's background coupled... more>> with his experiences in the sect has been very interesting. Fortuitous encounters and his exploration of those encounters have also been exciting to read. It feels like the translator has increased the frequency of updates for this story so it has been easier to get sucked in, all in all a good read and one of the more interesting novels on GT. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Battle Through the Heavens
May 13, 2016
Status: --
A very good series with some interesting characters. Some of the arcs tend to drag, but often follow up with some extremely exciting moments (for instance the Misty Cloud/Three Year Reunion arc). I find myself losing interest for a few chapters, then coming back and getting sucked back into the story. It doesn't keep me eagerly anticipating the following release like some other series do, but it's still a really good read. If you've worked your way through the top 10 on NU, definitely give this one a read. In... more>> fact, everything on WW is worth a read. Check it out! <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Emperor of Solo Play
September 4, 2016
Status: c42
After the VR train wrecks that were LMS and Zhan Long, EoSP comes as a refreshing breath of fresh air in an otherwise stagnant genre. So far it's fantastic, really looking forward to where the story is going. The MC has a comfortable level of OPness and he hasn't become completely broken yet. The mixture between his past experiences and his present discoveries makes for a good blend that keeps the story interesting without it feeling like the MC is just cherry picking his way through the game. It's also... more>> got a nice level of humor to it that has made for some enjoyable moments. No romance yet, but I hope it comes at some point. Either way, definitely give it a go of you're interested in VR. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
craBebe
craBebe rated it
Undefeated God of War
June 24, 2016
Status: c65
Great novel. The MC reminds me of the child-like savagery of the Little Guy from PW or Goku from the original Dragon Ball, with a dash of Luffy from OP. He's a very simple tyrant who loves to fight and train, and the world the author creates for Tang Tian to inhabit is beautifully imagined, based on the notion of dividing the "world" into constellations. Fang Xiang is really a fantastic author in that he manages to weave backstory, foreshadowing, and unseen plot threads throughout the novel giving it exponentially... more>> more depth than you average xianxia novel. So far this one has been a lot of fun and it's a great new addition to the TN stable. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report