Report Review
9 Reviews


cocoajuppie
I cried from laughter (and the occasional sad moment) when reading this novel. One of the best BL comedies I've read. The system has personality, the female leads aren't evil/two-faced, and the MC is capable though emotionally dense. The premise is simple:

... more>>
Spoiler

MC gets sent to universes where his job is the Supporting Male Lead—a fate of loving the Female Lead from afar while supporting the romance of the Male Lead and Female Lead. Despite his best efforts, the MC fails his job in spectacular ways because the Male Lead has already fallen for him, and intends to follow him from universe to universe. (RIP MC's paycheck)

[collapse]

My thoughts on the ML:

Spoiler

Except for the end of the fourth arc, where I think his jump in intimacy with the MC borders on "Not okay/How old is our MC?/Is this legal?", I don't think he's a bad ML. He's honest but at the same time devilish. He does knowingly frustrate the MC's efforts in the second and third arc, but he takes responsibility for his actions and addresses the MC's grievances as best as he can.

I'm sure if he could take the MC to a cafe or the movies without getting the both of them erased by 'regulations', he'd pick that over making the MC fail at his job. That said, I can't wait for karma to kick in for the ML in the next arc hahahaha...

[collapse]

There are no revenge/dark storylines so far. Definitely recommend. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cocoajuppie
cocoajuppie rated it
Ti Shen
June 6, 2018
Status: c38
MC is cool, but I couldn't stand reading (who I'm guessing will be) the ML.

... more>>
Spoiler

ML already has a hospitalized, in-a-coma boyfriend, whom MC is playing a body double for.

ML declares he wouldn't fall for the body double, but then starts viewing MC ambiguously.

He accuses MC of trying to seduce him—reading too much into the MC's actions—and that just left a bad taste in my mouth around chapter 11.

I persisted for MC, but ML continued to be a jerk with degrading moral integrity, pointing in the direction of a cheating bastard. No matter if the original boyfriend is actually "evil, " that wouldn't excuse anything. ML's boyfriend deserves better.

[collapse]

MC deserves better. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cocoajuppie
cocoajuppie rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
October 30, 2018
Status: c806
Reading this novel's like taking a walk; it's something to clear your mind rather than pump you up with adrenaline. Like the title says, the story follows the MC on his journey to immortality with a mix of action, intrigue, and copious amounts of worldbuilding.

Some things that might affect your enjoyment:

    • The romance. Even though I'm biased to the ship, I wouldn't say Han Li's "relationships" are well-developed. It feels like the author involves Han Li with women just because he can.
    • It's a rather lonely journey. Except for the beginning and later on, Han Li has few companions to balance out his character. The tags sum it up well: cunning, hard-working, loner, and ruthless protagonist.
    • The pace. As I've alluded to, it's not fast but it fits the story. I think the author has done well showing Han Li's advancement and the passage of time.
I was looking for something "different" when I decided to read this story, and that's what I found. Read it and you'll know if that's true for you too.

Spoiler

Objectively 4 stars, but I like it so :P

[collapse]
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cocoajuppie
cocoajuppie rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
July 23, 2018
Status: c170
I was curious about all the five star ratings, but I found this transmigration novel wasn't my cup of tea. If you like revenge and a little face slapping, that's this novel in a nutshell.

There are 16 arcs for 16 different worlds:

... more>>
Spoiler
  1. Inheritance: **** Don't know how I feel about a kid getting together with his guardian, but since the relationship only seemed to happen when the MC was older, I guess it's fine.
  2. Painter: ***** Nice.
  3. Crown Prince: ***** Also good.
  4. Rich Second Generation: *** ML was a creep, but the arc had a satisfying face slap.
  5. Ger 1: *** Poor ML, lol.
  6. Songwriter: ** Lukewarm. I'm sure the song choices are cooler to a Chinese audience.
  7. Ger 2: *** Kind of hilarious at the end. (When your lover has Zero Exp. lmao)
  8. Reality TV: * I found it tedious (every chapter seemed to be a repeat of the last chapter), so dropped it halfway and skipped to the 9th arc.
  9. Zombie Apocalypse: ********* My favorite. MC and ML don't even do the deed. Just pure love.
  10. God of Light: ** MC makes an OOC personality... bleh. Hating and more hating in this arc.
  11. ABO: *** I felt MC was annoyingly dense. There's a cute side character, and then you never see him again...
  12. Cultivation: *** Ok.
  13. Corporate Leaders: **** Good.
  14. Piano Prodigy: ** Everyone has to be evil. No. Exception.
  15. Emperor: **** ML was ridiculous, but funny.
  16. Real World: Based on the real world visits interspersed throughout the later arcs and the first chapter of the arc, I wasn't interested in reading the rest.

(The above are unofficial arc names. Counting the 9th arc as five stars for calculations, the 15 arcs average to three stars overall.)

[collapse]

I would recommend arcs 1-3 (intro and probably the sweetest arcs) ; 5 and 7 (a new world type I've only encountered here) ; 9 (the best arc) ; 13 (a refreshing role reversal) ; and 15 (for laughs). Jumping from arc to arc shouldn't be a problem, but I think arcs 1-3 should be read in order for the best effect. The 5th arc also establishes the world type used in the 7th arc.

Bottom line: Revenge is a dish best served for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Someone has to be evil for the "villain" cannon fodder counterattack. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cocoajuppie
cocoajuppie rated it
Lawless Gangster
June 13, 2018
Status: c83 part6
I like gangster stories, but they can be really dark. This novel is on the brighter side. It doesn't shy away from the messed up reality of criminal life, but it doesn't focus on it exclusively except towards the end, spending several chapters explaining the antagonist's demise (My least favorite part of the novel—not surprising because it focuses on my least favorite character and it seems to wrap things up too neatly—but it's all in the name of character depth so I'll deal. The extras more than make up for... more>> it *waggles eyebrows*).

This is a beautiful love story. It's not all roses and sunshine the first time they meet, and it still isn't roses and sunshine until much later. But I didn't find it angsty, things do get better, and the main couple's relationship develops very naturally as they navigate through the inevitable dangers of ML's life. Given the setting, I think the couple has plenty of sweet moments.

There are some things that aren't explained in the end, but it doesn't change my overall appreciation of the story. Those tidbits are trivial in the face of the characters' happiness. I'm not just being overly biased.

Spoiler

Does it matter who the MC's real father is? To me, it doesn't matter one iota because knowing the answer wouldn't change the ending.

I had some other questions, but rereading chapters 22-23 (ML meets ZJJ and beats up MC), I came up with my own conclusions and it just makes me appreciate the characters more:

MC says Du Yan San Ge isn't his grandfather (even though he is) *squarely* to ML's face to test if ML actually researched him, which he hasn't because ML proceeds to beat him up. When MC gets asked about the actual lie (his grandfather saying "The path they walk may be different from ours but just like us, they are humans"), only then is he ashamed to face ML and admit it's a lie.

In the extras, we learn ZJJ told ML that Du Yan San Ge was her grandfather. I asked myself, why did ML believe her? The answer is actually really simple: even the police believed ZJJ's grandfather was Du Yan San Ge, so who would know the truth that Du Yan San Ge actually escaped being imprisoned except for his immediate family, close subordinates and their families (i.e., ZJJ) ? The imprisoned "Du Yan San Ge" was actually ZJJ's grandfather, so ZJJ didn't lie to ML and he would believe her.

[collapse]

Bottom line: MC gives an award-winning performance, ML is adorable, and it's a happy ending. Even though the antagonist is disgusting, he's not completely dishonorable, so you won't have to worry about reading something extremely nasty. Persevere and the sky clears. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cocoajuppie
cocoajuppie rated it
Rebirth of a Supermodel
November 7, 2018
Status: c237
An overbearing CEO-type ML that respects his lover 👏👏👏 They feel so rare _ (:з」∠) _

Besides the equal equal relationship, you have yourself a strong (but not OP) protagonist, a novel that lays out the worldbuilding neatly, and tons of fluff/dog food/PDA near the end. Comedy is the strong suit (bantering ftw) ; the drama is fairly light (no angst), but there were a few parts that moved me to tears. The face slaps aren't much different from what you'd read in other novels.

... more>>
Spoiler

All of the antagonists—even the main antagonist—are small fries. But I liked the incident of the first major (read: so-so level threat) antagonist because his actions had a reason beyond jealousy and hatred. The second major antagonist... If you haven't read brainless death seeking before, you might find it interesting, but otherwise it's old hat.

I wasn't gonna mention the main antagonist, but then I thought that would be triply pitiful. He is just too sad. His presence is even less than the first major antagonist. He was never in the MC's eyes—except for the MC to fulfill the last wish of the person he transmigrated into. He's definitely not a good person, but as is common in the face slapping genre, there's no humanity. Of course, he has a bad ending.

[collapse]

You can understand the novel without knowing much about fashion or fashion shows, but I looked up terms sometimes and watched a few runway videos to better picture the setting. Definitely wasn't trying to look up hot supermodels cough

Overall, an enjoyable read. 10/10 would eat mushrooms again. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cocoajuppie
cocoajuppie rated it
Screen Partner
July 11, 2018
Status: c31
If you're looking for a nosebleed, this series is a high contender. I might've read a few scenes more than once *cough cough* Anyway, it isn't AV filming every single chapter. There's a plot, things start off rough for the MC, but overall the story is short and sweet. MC's character is solid as well as his character development. As for ML, I had to actively suspend disbelief when it came to his character during one occasion. He is a good ML and he didn't do anything bad, but his... more>> behavior just didn't jibe with the image I felt the story built up for him.
Spoiler

There are many ways to write gap moe for a seemingly cold dude. For me, the "cute" fell flat and knocked the awesome factor/rating down.

[collapse]

If the book cover and a smutty love story appeals to you, by all means enjoy ♡ <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cocoajuppie
cocoajuppie rated it
Heroic Death System
May 30, 2018
Status: c46
Oh my god, too good. There are more chapters released, but unedited chapters aren't posted here. (Just keep clicking 'next chapter' on the translator's site~) Finally found a BL transmigration/system novel where the MC

Spoiler

fails a system task and gets punished!

[collapse]

A very fun read. ML in the second arc is way too funny in my opinion. I accidentally saw the titles for the future arcs... And now I shall quickly forget, lest I torture myself while camping.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
cocoajuppie
cocoajuppie rated it
Beloved Marriage in High Society
July 21, 2018
Status: c29.2
Update c29.2:

... more>>
Spoiler

The beginning (even with the MC-meeting-ML chapters not translated) caught my interest, and the very cute MC has a few hurdles to overcome before he gets together with ML. At the current point in the story, it is really... all... fluff. Fluff is fine, but there hasn't been much conflict/plot progression ever since the couple got their marriage certificate. For me, it's hard to see where the story is going (besides an old "love rival" possibly popping up). It'd probably be more satisfying to let translated chapters build up before continuing since the pace is halved with full chapters being released in two parts.

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report