Report Review
26 Reviews


chibiheaven
Spoiler

So yeah, as you can see I've gotten way farther into this novel than is healthy.

I couldn't bring myself to give it a 2 star rating though because in the end, I do enjoy the very large universe that is revealed as the story progresses. It also has a way of making me a stupid grinning fool. And the cliffhangers... Oh the cliffhangers... Make me burning sometimes.

In any case, there are very few 'character types'. Same kind of reactions all the time which can be annoying... Or just boring... Or you just ignore it. The goofy foolish type is quite rampant in this novel, as is the tough old men that actually feel like children inside. Also the amount of people that seem to mindlessly fall in love for and/or worship to the MC can be overwhelming (I forgot what word I was going to use...).

Is the love relationship bland and boring? Indeed. In fact the most infuriating moments I have experienced from a novel were from precisely this one; An appaling little amount of trust between the couple af crucial points in their relationship when they seem to be oh so head over heels in love. This isn't a relationship, it's just a really stupidly poor way to make drama. It does have its endearing and cute moments.

BTW, the male lead is just so utterly perfect and such a genius the MC literally becomes stupid and can't think for herself (mentioned often in the novel, so I guess at least the author knows how stupid she is I guess?).

The constant descriptions of certain (ahem) characters beauty, intellect an/or luck are also a constant reminder of the author's desperate attempt to lengthen and meet their word targets (unfortunately).

In the end, things get pretty repetitive (and redundant). All in all, I'll likely keep reading. I've learned to skim through all the time wasters, like skipping reaction shot scenes of every character (One Piece anyone?) in anime.

Read at your own discretion. Good luck.

[collapse]
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
Warning: This novel progresses very very slowly.

03/12/2018 Update
So, I actually caught up to around ch 3500 last month and honestly it's been such an enjoyable read with great, but incredibly slow, character progression. I honestly enjoy the interactions between the characters, especially the chemistry between Ye Jian and the ML. I love their relationship; Ye Jian is not pampered and works her ass off in her long road of catching up to the ML while he does his hardest to knock everything she needs for survival into her head.... more>> Highly recommended. -------
01/10/2018 Update
So, I finally got around to checking up on the status of releases and have since caught up to c.33. I have to say I've enjoyed what I've read so far. I'm excited to read something based in the military of the 90's, which I feel has already put the novel apart from others. No real development as of yet, besides already encountering the male lead!

---------
It's unfortunate that there are already 1 star ratings for a novel with only one chapter. The summary interested me, so I decided to give it a shot. The first chapter and likely the next few are about her previous life. Our MC is a base and low janitor at a hotel. She lives her life at the bottom of society because of a female cousin who ruined her life since she was 14 by framing her of seducing a teacher and 'stealing' everything she has from our MC, Ye Jian.

It's difficult to gauge how the story will go at this point. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Rebirth and Rise: The Campus Business Woman
March 27, 2018
Status: c950
Was generally very unimpressed with the story. Interaction between characters is just bland, unimaginative, and honestly repetitive. The way she goes about recruiting each of her executives and employees is practically the same; ... more>>
Spoiler

She always finds then in bad circumstances whether it be because they were ditched by sh*tty two-faced lovers or are a failing business.

[collapse]

In any case, the story takes a weird turn because of the obvious repetition in the story. So what was the author's solution?
Spoiler

They decided to spice it up with supernatural beings; vampires, dragons, ghosts, and enlighten beings (aka people who can cultivate).

[collapse]

The male lead is a yes man, and his character is honestly so boring.

I'd give this a 2.5 at most. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
Interesting read. I have a soft spot for cute children so I guess I'm biased from the get go. Only four chapters so far so I can't judge the male lead who hasn't appeared yet nor has anything really been revealed at all.

Have high hopes!
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
The Cold Regent Keeps a Fox as a Consort
June 6, 2018
Status: c210
The characters in this novel feel so flat and honestly the main leads (as well as the male rival and the antagonists) infuriate me to no end. The main lead especially just seems to have a one track mind and constantly runs into trouble while never learning from her mistakes. Time and again she gets herself into sticky situations and waits for the male lead (s) to save her.
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
This story was heartwrenchingly sad - broke my heart and made me cry like a baby. The end was just so bittersweet.

I see many similarities between this novel and Bu Bu Jing Xin, except that this one doesn't end in tragedy
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Poison Genius Consort
January 26, 2017
Status: c47
Just started reading. It's an interesting story and I appreciate that the main character is not a undercover agent in her previous life. While she does have an out-of-place "hidden mechanism" in her body that acts like a storage and has a poison warning system, it does not make her OP. A part of me wishes she could just leave the city and just travel on her own. But I guess her goal is to just simply reside in the the palace and not have to worry about food and... more>> living necessities. I really hate the male lead. And the other male interests don't really appeal to me either. Hoping character development gets better as it goes.

I rated this 3 because I'm willing to continue reading, even though I'm not raving about it. Hope that makes sense. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
Decent read. You get everything you expect, and the romance is sub-par at best. The male lead very uncharacteristically instantly fell in love with the MC -- and intensively doted on her, which made the relationship feel cheap. Personally did not feel like a novel relationship and was generally very cookie cutter in terms of how most transmigration stories go. Perhaps you could say I'm simply jaded, and this novel was at the backlog of too many similar stories before it. I do, however, have a significant soft spot for... more>> children in these stories so that was a plus!

Very Mary Sue, as expected. There wasn't anything too exciting. I rate 3 since I did end up reading substantially into the story. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Release that Witch
June 16, 2017
Status: c321
I was skeptical, but thought I should give this a try despite the description not really appealing to me because of the glowing ratings - and thank God I did! This is an amazing read and is a breath of fresh air, it seriously does not read like a Chinese novel. The author and the translators are awesome.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
The King of Hell’s Genius Pampered Wife
January 24, 2017
Status: c390
Edit:

With a few more chapters under my belt now, I think I can conclude that I absolutely hate the male lead and honestly can't see how any remarkable relationship could possibly form with the way the male lead acts. I realize that it's a common trend for the male lead to think themselves above others and believe females should prostrate themselves and be at their beck and call. It's just unsettling to me, and a bit forced.

------

The MC is really overbearing. Some people might be into that, I... more>> suppose. Technically I shouldn't have rated yet since it's still a bit too early for me to judge how I feel about the story in generally. So far, it's started off pretty stereotypical with the female assassin transmigrating into a previously useless female's body and arousing the interest of the intended male interest. I will continue to read and change my rating accordingly. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Empress with no Virtue
January 12, 2017
Status: c83
I was stuck between a 3 or 4, if I could give half ratings I would've.

This story can be pretty funny and I enjoy their interactions for the most part.

The female MC is cute and lovable, while the male lead really is just... I'm just glad he changed for the better. Though I can understand where the author is coming from in regards to some things that happened while he was still 'learning' about feelings and love.

... more>> An enjoyable read that makes me chuckle.

Warning: The translations are mediocre at best and have not been editted (unfortunately). However props to the translator for making the novel available. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
The Untouchable President
September 20, 2018
Status: c710
This is a cute story if you can get past the beginning. Definitely not a novel to take seriously; it bears all the similarities to novels of the same genre witht the usual tropes.

What I enjoy is really how non-dramatic everything is. All the couples are cute, harmonious, and considerate for their partners - which means I can have peace of mind, not cry or be resentful, and really just enjoy the interaction.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
You’re Beautiful When You Smile
December 30, 2017
Status: c18 part2
I've barely started and I'm already hooked. Will update with more detail once I get farther. I have to say though that the pro-scene and League of Legends got me interested, as I've been an avid player since the game came out!

The novel has a lot of game jargon that will probably be confusing along with the game knowledge.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Picking Up a General to Plow the Fields
June 9, 2017
Status: c1451
The story was quite interesting in the beginning, but as I got further in I began to dislike how the author chose to continue the story progression. The continuous drama I felt really held the story back, and I disliked how the moment one issue was solved another immediately came in it's place. The female lead also seemed to just... Forget about lessons she learned previously and constantly found herself in situations she should have never been in.

The antagonists were very one dimensional, cliche and were your typical disillusioned villain.... more>> They were annoying and got old very fast. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Memory Lost
January 23, 2017
Status: ch 42
A very nicely translated novel.

I never knew I could like a mystery/investigation novel so much. I can't be a good critic on the genre since this is my first novel of this type.

I really like the interactions between all the characters. It also poses a serious controversial question of where the line is between a good and a bad person... And the actions they take. It's a bit twisted, but I like it.

There hasn't been much revealed about the past yet (as of ch 42). Though I get a feeling... more>> there's a connection between the current case antagonist (T, serial killer) and the main couple.

You basically go into this novel knowing they're going to be a couple, but it's not clear whether they were the couple 5 years ago. All clues currently point to that conclusion however there might be a twist to it just to add some drama (please no).

This is a romance novel, but it's very subtle and the progress is slow. It focuses a lot on the crime cases themselves and builds the relationship between the two through quiet interactions.

I'm liking it so far and have given it a rating of 5 for now. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
The story is pretty generic and follows the usual tropes and cliches that come with these types of stories along with questionable narrative presentation.

There is almost no flow as the story jumps around and it becomes difficult to piece together the information the author is trying to convey. All of this on top of sub par translations made for one confusing story.

Unless you're like me, and looking for a quick read to kill time then I would probably look else where for a more enjoyable read that you expect to... more>> commit to. This is not it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Rebirth of the Film Emperor’s Beloved Wife
September 17, 2018
Status: Completed
A relatively short novel that was just a lot of fluff and no drama! Nice light read that I enjoyed.

Initially I wasn't very keen on the system that was introduced, as I felt it really ''cheapened" the story progression by basically implementing a quest or mission type system.

... more>>
Spoiler

The system itself gave some really odd gadgets and knowledge that really, in my opinion, left a lot of loose ends that were never really 'resolved' before the end of the story. It felt more like a gimmick. I was slightly disappointed with how unresolved the system existence was by the end; I had expected Yanyi to at least tell her husband about it despite the few hints she had already dropped.

[collapse]

The story eventually got increasingly cheesy and the 'quest' progression very frequent. Some people may get annoyed at the constant online forum responses that felt repetitive.

But you know what! I still enjoyed it, love the Su family members and I finished this novel refreshingly.

I did not read the additional very short sequel which focused on the daughter.

<<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Mei Gongqing
January 16, 2017
Status: c112
An interesting read. I find the style of writing is very different from other second chance revenge stories wherein the main character actually has very little control over her fate. The romance is a bit confusing to me.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Jun Ye Can’t Help But Tease His Wife
February 23, 2019
Status: --
The novel started out interesting but steadily devolved into a pile of garbage as the MC and ML become uncomfortably lustful alongside a clear diversion from the original storyline. Even if I treat this as a comedy, it's still difficult for me to enjoy the bland personalities of all the characters. Seemingly all of them are just childish despite their mature age.

The later half of the novel made me feel uncomfortable with how our MC lusts over the ML and is constantly trying to kiss him and have s*x with... more>> him. It just became incredibly annoying because they can't seem to keep their hands off each other. I didn't read this novel for an incredibly sappy and lame love story, as the army aspect of the novel seems to have been shoved to the side.

I was hoping for something like The Military Female Soldier With Unwavering Stubbornness but with faster progression and was sorely disappointed. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chibiheaven
chibiheaven rated it
Why Harem Intrigue When You Can Just Raise a Dog Instead
September 25, 2018
Status: Completed
So I actually finished this novel some time ago, but had an urge to re-read to refresh my memory.

This was a short and interesting novel that, in my opinion, provided a very fresh perspective on the intrigue of the harem. You follow the emperor who, in a way, was too clever and conceited to see through the treachery of his bedside companions.

By putting him into the lowliest life form to exist within the palace, he became eexposed to the darkest sides of the harem of which he knew existed but... more>> was never of his concern.

This story really drives the point in that your enemies know you best, and it shows in how well our MC, Meng Sangyu, dissects the actions of the Emperor and her general apathy to the sad life she has been forced to live because of her family status.

A lovely read that really tugged at my heart on many occasions as Meng Sangyu and the Emperor slowly overcome the past and further understand their hearts. The ending was abrupt but I felt it was fitting. As usual, I regret that there weren't any further cute ineractions with the children, but those are my own selfish wishes. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report