Report Review
21 Reviews


chencking
chencking rated it
Overgeared
November 4, 2017
Status: c65
It'a a great story. The MC breaks the game's balance by obtaining a Legendary class 2 years earlier than the developer's planned, and the other players are floundering to get Epic classes, which are two tiers lower.

The MC is a bit of a NEET because all he does is game, but he perseveres in-game, and he puts incredible labor in order to succeed, and by now he is establishing himself as a pro-gamer. The interesting thing about this is that unlike many other MCs, Grid (his in game name) is... more>> incredibly unlucky, and no matter what he does something goes wrong. For example, often times, he receives a really rare quest, but this triggers a counter-quest among other players, and on the verge of victory, something will go wrong and he'll fail. The failure will blindside you, but it's never unwarranted.

TGrid's family is likable - they don't respect him as a NEET, but they won't abandon him either - and there is some great humor. I'm rating this 5/5 off of its current merits, and we haven't even gotten to the development. The TLer says the novel doesn't get really good until chapter 100 or so. The MC is also maturing nicely; he got out of debt and stopped dreaming of showing up at a reunion in a fancy sports car. Hopefully his new dream isn't quite so silly. I know he won't stop persevering.

PS: One thing I really like is he doesn't pull any of that being Korean makes him a super-grinder and combat expert BS. He labors, but there has yet to be much combat, and he isn't that good at it anyway. He'll probably get better, but I'm happy he's bad for now. Much more realistic than certain other novels. <<less
54 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Red Packet Server
June 7, 2017
Status: c67
Very repetitive and boring. The author throws mini-arc after mini-arc, and for every one somebody makes trouble for the MC, at which point he, one of his new harem members or one of his brothers-to-be-abused-for-life uses how rich they are to slap the villain's face.

The MC starts poor, but within a few chapters he becomes rich so conveniently that I can't help but consider this a get rich quick fantasy for middle/working class Chinese readers. There have been signs the currency of focus may shift to years of cultivation what... more>> with the packet group, but even so I doubt the plotline will undergo any significant change.

Furthermore, the romance is terrible, even for those stories such as MGA. In other similarly sh*tty stories, the author will contrive ways to get rid off old harem members while the MC runs around collecting new ones. In Red Packet Server, it's as if except for some predetermined very small cliques, they will never meet each other. The MC might as well be living multiple lives. To give an example, I was extremely annoyed that after
Spoiler

getting a lover, the MC and his lover went to their respective homes. And then they forgot about each other. A few dozen chapters and much flirting on the MC's part later, they stumble across each other and finally remember "oh yeah, we're in a relationship! Let's go on a date." Neither cared to pick up a phone and call for the last week or something.

[collapse]

Furthermore, the story isn't all that funny! At first, the red packets gave some laughs, but now the deities are too dumb and the packets too convenient to be funny. I mean seriously! The deities can use a Chinese phone app from Earth but can't find said Earth? Furthermore, MC needs some random Deus ex Machina? No worries! He can send a gofer for some cigarettes and the deities will bow at his feet. And do so next time as well. And the time after that. And so on. I picked up Red Packet Server because of the setting's striking similarities to the stellar Cultivation Chat Group. It fell far short. I do not recommend this novel, though no doubt I will be reading a few chapters every blue moon or two (boredom does that).

I've never been one for going around the 5 point scale, but while I don't think this novel is a 1/5, 2/5 feels too generous. 1.5/5. Be happy Red Packet Server; I am starting to use decimals in my ratings mainly because of you. <<less
22 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
After Transformation, Mine and Her Wild Fantasy
December 29, 2018
Status: v2c61
This novel not only has an interesting premise, it also takes an ingenious spin on the transmigration aspect. At first thought, one would think Tyre is a transmigrated male who now has a female body. But in several jarring moments we find that, for one reason or another, he does not have the memories of a transmigrator. To him, having two bodies is all he has ever known. And while the male personality appears to be dominant, you can see that having two bodies to control is affecting his emotional... more>> quotient, turning him into a dunce.

I love the story for its comedy and action, but there is also a story: currently, Tyre and Lunaria are looking for a way to recover their memories. And to spice it up, there is a good amount of foreshadowing of what his memories might bring about. For example, despite struggling now there are hints that
Spoiler

some of the top powers that be are also transmigrators, and recovering his memories might bring him to their level

[collapse]
.

Anyway, I recommend trying the novel out. The translators markedly improve after their first few chapters and fix their terminology. The story is fun, characters are not neglected, and everyone improves, not just the MCs. The hive conscious is made good use of and the author adds depth to many of the standard cliches, if you care to read into their behavior. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Fishing the Myriad Heavens
July 24, 2017
Status: c47
The beginning and premise are interesting, but the MC is way too entitled. A guy harasses him, so he takes a revolver and tries to assassinate him. The bullet hits bullet-proof glass, so he begins the I-must-become-stronger cliche. At least other MCs have a decent reason behind their pursuit of strength, but Fishing in the Myriad Heavens' MC is impossibly to empathize him. I'm just reading for those funny little chapters about Bei Feng's (the MC) restaurant, but since after ~2 meals he inflated his prices by 100 times to... more>> cater to those rich martial artists, it doesn't seem I'll get any restaurant chapters.

PS: MC has the long-lost son of martial arts family setting, but no suspense there. We find out what happened the chapter something happened. Even MGA did a better job with the MC's background. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
This is a great novel. The characters are well-fleshed, and while there is some romance the novel largely limits itself to the father-daughter dynamics between Willem and the fairies. The plot is interesting, but not dragged out. In fact, for later volumes it is even a tinge fast, especially volume 4, but it avoids becoming an info drop.

The downside, however, is that it is depressingly sad. There is a balanced mix of feels, but the author always makes sure that following a heartwarming moment, he sinks you into the throes... more>> of loathing despair. The guy has a vendetta against his characters, and unlike those novels you can trust in the MC to succeed, they drop like flies. You should read this novel. It's interesting. But you'll end up empty and begging for more. Curse that author. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Seeking the Flying Sword Path
October 29, 2018
Status: c552
First, this is an IET novel. However, I feel that unlike the other novels, it doesn't have that peaceful cultivation that I love his novels for. Instead, though, the interactions are much more mellowed here. Qin Yun never really leaves his homeworld. We have the usual fights, but some are resolved without fighting. He doesn't hesitate to call for help, and rarely resolves situations single-handedly. That makes the novel 4/5 for me.

What makes it 5/5 though, is the Meng Yiqiu arc. In that arc, I had the same feeling feeling... more>> towards cultivation as in IET's other novels. I enjoyed his life and trembled in excitement when we got a continuation. I loved that arc. It, alone, made the novel 5 stars.

PS: I will address 2 other things. First, I really appreciate that the MC is not trying to be special. A major part of the story line is
Spoiler

Qin Yun must create his own sword immortal cultivation technique. There is one, but he is not allowed to learn it (unless he reincarnates) as he comes from another lineage. He keeps failing until

[collapse]
I feel that sets it aside from the other IET novels. He doesn't have a cheat technique.

Secondly, most of the criticisms here criticize minor plotlines and generalize to the entire novel. The courtesan Not Red Yet mentions? Qin Yun doesn't obsess over her. She
Spoiler

turns him down and he accepts that

[collapse]
But IET has not stuck Qin Yun with a similar object in 500 chapters, so why exacerbate a minor issue? <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Tempest of the Battlefield
October 24, 2017
Status: c134
It's a decent choice for when you have nothing, and I mean nothing, better to do, but there are plotholes everywhere. The author never sticks with one characterization of his characters, and is prone to saying one thing but pretending it never happened later. Also, it reeks of nationalism but has a gaping lack of logic and common sense. Read only if extremely bored.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Absolute Choice
January 31, 2017
Status: c136
The author kicks off the story by saying he's deadset on making his story unpredictable and take the path untrodden, and he meant it. Shi Xiaobai is neither weak nor dense, but he isn't predictably OP either. At every twist, I draw on my extensive experience reading banal Xianxia and WNs and predict one twist, but Absolute Choice veers and surprises me with something completely different. The chapters also progress quickly - peanut-gallery filler chapters are rare, and the author also knows how to make you care for the side... more>> characters. The story, characters, plot, translation - everything is a perfect score in my books.

PS: I have heard plenty of complaints about what people consider pointlessly annoying Chuunibyou, but work your through it! Within a few chapters the author fleshes out the Chuunibyou and gives it a purpose, and later tones it down too. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Martial God Asura
March 13, 2018
Status: c600
The author made Chu Feng a s*xist piece of crap propped up by deus ex machina. He disguises it well, but the novel is only good until the disguise comes off. For me, that happened when I got 10 full chapters of Chu Feng calling every man who spoke a retard, and babying every pretty girl he could lay his eyes on. Of course, all the girls were geniuses in his eyes and had a crush on him. Let alone that the men were actually behaving smarter than the women.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Praise the Orc!
August 8, 2017
Status: c101
This story isn't stellar, but rather very solid. The MC has one of those ex-military settings, but he joins a chivalric orc warrior society rather than dash around killing everyone. From the beginning, the story emphasizes how real the NPCs are and continues developing along those lines. Ian is rather removed from the players - as of this time, he's considered a NPC and met with maybe half a dozen players - and while other players wander around grinding, he constantly has a clear goal driving him. As he completes... more>> one goal, he will obtain a new one, ensuring the plot is driven and focused. The author includes the rest of the world in the story, but for future arcs I predict. This story is the legend of the orc, to the point where at ~ch 50 you may even forget Ian isn't an orc. I know I did. Try the story. I recommend at least until the first major plot twist; preferably the second.

Also no, this is not like LMS. Weed just grinds his skills for volumes upon volumes. Sure he gets quests, but in the end it's all about grinding his skills. If I ever pick LMS up again, it'll likely be for the romance between Weed and what's-her-name under extreme boredom. Praise the Orc doesn't need romance to keep me reading. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Stranger’s Handbook
February 23, 2017
Status: c97
Great novel. There's some action but mostly comedy. The comedy is good, and unlike most isekai tensei novels, this series doesn't rely on the knowledge from the past making you OP trope. It can get a bit confusing remembering who is who at times, but that should be limited to side-characters only.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Breakers
January 30, 2017
Status: c48
I'm giving a 5 for its potential. Entering a game world is by no means an original setting, but the MC enters as a character that did not truly have a role previously. On top of that, rather than having a background to lean on, he is stuck competing against the two heroes from the game.

With this setting, you can tell the MC cannot draw on his foreknowledge freely like other series do, but the author still mixes in little tidbits to keep the setting alive and bring focus to... more>> minor characters. The minor characters are developing, and they're not being thrown to the side for characters he has used in the game. All this would normally just be 4 stars for me, even if I'm being lenient and rating off potential, but the simple fact the MC does not walk around profiteering off of Earth technology is an automatic +1 for me. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Martial King’s Retired Life
September 13, 2018
Status: v5c0
The plot's simple and comedic. It's not deep. There are a few points of intrigue, but the novel has yet to stray from comedy. It's written for laughs, and the best way to decide if you'll like it is to try reading the first 2-3 chapters
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
The Inverted Dragon’s Scale
January 15, 2018
Status: c276
Spoiler

“Who knows?” Lin Canghai’s face was twisted with a wry smile, looking around. “To tell you the truth, just when I was landing I was frightened, I thought I was dead. After all, this is Weak water, maybe we have been killed by the Weak water, leaving only our soul——”

“He also let me slap him in the face.” Qiandu stabbed.

“You slapped him?”

“I slapped him.” Qiandu said.

“——”

[collapse]

This kind of simple humor is why I love IDS so much. It’s not as funny as other comedies, but its humor is simple and realistic. The action is the same way. The story is full of fantastical things, but the plain tone makes it feel much more real than other xianxias. If I had to liken this to a series, then I’d have to pick Ze Tian Ji, which I like to think as a high recommendation.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Dungeon Hunter
January 6, 2017
Status: c242
The novel has a great start. I read the entire series in one day. The middle is strong, and there is plenty of foreshadowing indicating an interesting story that I believe could have easily gone some 500-700 chapters. However, the author got sick and had to cut the story short; there are more unresolved plot points than resolved plot points. Dozens of characters the author developed are written off with a line or two, and the author couldn't even keep the logic consistent towards the end. This novel is especially... more>> disappointing because of all the potential it had before the author cut it short. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
December 14, 2017
Status: c413
The MC is very active and shows off a lot, at least once he enters the spotlight in the story. The first hundred or so focuses on his students, his cheat, and the world-setting, but he still appears plenty awesome. Once he enters the spotlight though, there's lots of faceslapping. The author likes using the peanut gallery faceslapping technique, but he always uses a peanut gallery of one so it's not too bothersome. The novel is plenty humorous, and I like the side-characters as well. The MC has his share... more>> of straight-up fighting, but clashes are generally more about competing in your other skills than beating each other to death. Plus, most characters actually forgive each other, which is amazing for a CN cultivation novel.

Also, the MC doesn't really scheme. He's rather straightforward, but he doesn't come off as stupid. I wouldn't compare it to ISSTH, because ISSTH felt chiefly surreal to me, but the humor does remind of AWE. It reminds me most of the early HN1F arcs. The MC is not weak like Lin Feng was, but I love the humor and the behavior can be strikingly similar. Generally, the people he encounters aren't weak, but they're neither overwhelmingly strong, nor cliche stepping stones. Anyway, I definitely recommend trying Library of Heaven's Path. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
Battle Frenzy
November 18, 2017
Status: c62
I just started this, but I'm really loving it. There are glaring similarities to Tempest of the Battlefield plot-wise, but the characters couldn't be more different! Wang Tong drove me insane; 60 chapters in and I still like Wang Zhong. I'm surprised myself at how fine I am with Wang Zhong and Carolyn, considering how abrupt it was. Hopefully this doesn't become a harem. Thanks to whoever's translating

It's probably more of a 4, but a good, new CN is rare enough that I'll give it 5
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
I would give this 5 stars, but the grammar is a bit off so 4 stars.

Anyways, our MC is a high-school otaku playing a video game known as ZD. In game, he is part of a 6 player female-only guild, which somehow has one male character. However, that's not MC-kun; MC-kun is a nekama playing a female character. However, the male character, Hugues, pushes MC-kun into an offline meeting by threatening to propose (in-game). (Un) Surprisingly, it turns out Hugues is an alt, and MC-kun must pretend to be him.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking
Galactic Dark Net
January 30, 2017
Status: c145
The story and execution are decent. The characters are interesting, and while there is a love interest, the author doesn't push the romance. The problem is the battles. Every single battle comes down to one basic formula: Han challenges opponent stronger than him! Han is pressed! Han goes for a double suicide! Han turns OP and wins! A miracle saves Han's life! Author rolls a dice to decide Han's power-up! And then the author rinses and repeats for every following battle. The first few times the battles are original; following... more>> that they're a drag. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chencking
chencking rated it
My Death Flags Show No Sign of Ending
September 19, 2016
Status: c21
It is a good read. Instead of using a goofy MC like many other of stories of this genre have done, the author instead uses the Harold's (the MC) foul mouth to affect the game's events.

The first few chapters are too technical and Harold's mouth excessive making the chapters a chore to read, (after the first 2-3 chapters I just skimmed until the heroine appeared) but around chapter 6 or 7 the story picks up and becomes interesting. Harold's mouth mellows, and the chapters become more decisive.

If those... more>> first few chapters weren't such a struggle, I would of given this a 5/5, but they are so 4/5. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report