Report Review
36 Reviews


chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Remarry, No Way!
February 1, 2018
Status: --
Grats to the translator for doing a good job. Thats what the one star is for. Now could you please drop this and pick up something else.... Everything horrible about this novel has been listed above, so the author gets so many negative points. I can understand picking an angsty novel but a completely abusive, irredeemable male lead is not worth reading about, a female lead who is suffering from stockholm syndrome is even less worthy.
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
The Legendary Master’s Wife
April 13, 2016
Status: --
Amazing!!! This is well done because its not all smutty, cliched BL... the characters are amazing. As a fan of both Yaoi and Xuanhuan, I give this an A+++ Now I want to erase my memory and read it all over again :3
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
OMG!! This is amazing! I mtl'd this and I obviously missed a couple of points but all in all It was one of the most satisfying reads I have ever seen. FL is a transmigrator. The fact that he falls in love with her as a dog and discovers the cruel nature of the concubines he loves and the ugliness of his children all builds up to when he finally gets his body back after he dies as a'bao.
Spoiler

Then he proceeds to regain his throne and clean out court and woo the FL. He is already in love with her but she is still as she was at the beginning of the novel. It is unique to see his devotion and the fact that he pulls out all stops to show her his heart <3 <3 there are misunderstandings when he replaces the drugs she was drinking with good medicine but of course she is skeptical (duh!) The part I loved the most was that after 13 years.. Yes! It takes 13 whole years!! He always tells her he loves her but she has never responded and at the very end during this festival he is on one side of a bridge /river and she is on the other side and she had an epiphany, she cups her hands and yells that she loves him. They have three kids; 9th prince who becomes the crown prince, 10th prince who is being trained by his mom's military family and the 11 th princess (who looks like mom).

[collapse]
This is a must read!
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
FFF-Class Trashero
March 6, 2019
Status: c33
Refreshing read!! This is how novels are meant to be not those unreal isekai, harem-building, hotbeds of self-righteousness that breed like roaches that are so prevalent around here. You will love this MC! Love to hate him or hate to love him or just plain love him <3 <3 <3 He reminds me a bit of Gu Yue Fang Yuan (RI) .
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
History’s Strongest Husband
February 5, 2019
Status: c243
MC is brilliant and funny and so shameless he is in the realm of meng hao (ISSTH), zuo mo (WOC) and Bai xiaochun. He is weak and afraid of pain but he is vain, intelligent (x1000), cunning and crafty and very politically savvy. He is also OP. I bet you are thinking about how you've seen all that before but what blows me away is that he has a way of roping in actions taken an arc or three back and tying them into current plots and plans and does... more>> it in a way that makes you marvel. Now, what makes it iffy for me is that he is too lecherous and the lewdness, while it was presented in a comedic manner to begin with became dry and overdone. One of the main character settings is that he marries into the Noble family and will stay there as a soft rice bucket and will be completely faithful and loyal to his wife but
Spoiler

he gropes and eventually sleeps with her personal maid (even though she had been offered by the wife that was when they had not decided to make the marriage real but he does it after they have begun to fall in love and work on being a true couple) ; he sleeps with this pirate queen (of course he was innocent as aphrodisiac was involved and she raped him as she is known to be a strong woman) -this I dont pin on him; he sleeps with the emperors daughter (again aphrodisiac) he has these amazing medical abilities and he cant dilute an aphrodisiac or be careful while he is drinking outside considering how many enemies he has??? And all the while espousing how much he loves his wife and doesnt want to hurt her or make her cry WTF?!

[collapse]

One of the major selling points for me in this book is the political machinations involved...I love watching these chess masters play these convoluted games. Enemies and friends change like fads, it is being on your toes all the time. It also has an aspect of reality with the cruelty involved since that is how it actually went down in those time periods and people died... not like some other novels that ring of utopic ideals.I am using mtl to read this and I have been unable to put it down.... despite the bits that make me fume, it is an amazing read. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Warlock of the Magus World
January 13, 2018
Status: c1200
Are people rating the character or the writing? If this is not to your taste, skip on over to an isekai-nakama wankfest and sing kumbaya till the cows come home. If you want a truly ambitious, cold-blooded protagonist who really owns the title.... read this. Leylin had goals from the beginning and everything he did led to the achievement of said goals.... no getting sidetracked by waifu (bloodline carriers in leylins' eyes) drama or angsting over needless morality that would have been completely OOC, he was all about getting... more>> stronger and attaining truth/eternity. He is also not an android, he does care about his descendants/bloodline; don't get ticked off just coz he is not bouncing babies on his knees and playing googoo gaga.... he is a bonafide patriarch!/founder of a bloodline and he acts like it. Is the chip OP? Yes, as OP as one of those old grandpas who are walking talking encyclopedic cheats. The AI does not, as one of the previous posters said, do all but f**k for him.... it grows with him and he uses it effectively and efficiently.

Anyway, TL;DR.... MC is an adult character that is rare in this genre. He may have transmigrated into a teenage body but his thinking process did not regress like 98% of MC's do. He has an OP cheat that he makes use of (haters gonna hate) ; he is not a care bear... he is the guy that will dissect the care bear, he never pretended not to be that guy.... it is obvious from the get go. Read this with all this in mind and you will enjoy the hell out of our warlock <3 I know I did!! <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
The Perfect Destiny
March 3, 2019
Status: c40
I tried liking this. I was very surprised that I didnt so I put it aside and came back later but this MC and system annoys me to no end. It is the damnest thing. His settings are so annoying... he is so thirsty and stupid; I have been spoiled by intelligent characters that when I run into this type, I just cant! The translator is amazing and the book is good but not my cup of tea. Do not let my review turn you off, it could be your... more>> cuppa. <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Shift! The Side-Character Heroine
March 3, 2018
Status: --
A novel where the translator has to give cliff-notes due to the confusion therein; plus the blatant insertion of MC using qidian website (reads like a how to qidian), read this only when you are waiting for something else. My head hurts from trying to figure out what all is happening here. There is no fluidity in the writing and the ideas are all over the place. Crack fic/parody in my opinion so far..... but am at ch10 so meh!

Edit at ch 21: somehow coming together and finally beginning to... more>> get the jist of it. It is basically a semi-transmigration story, no system as we know it so far..... still a parody, I mean at one point she is wishing to enter kishimoto's Naruto..... this is a good filler read. I would upgrade rating to 3 stars.

Edit at ch130 : Wow! It has really picked up and now that we have more to go on, it is making so much sense...I love it. Give it a shot, there is a reason I went from 1 star to 5 stars!!! This female MC is among my top three female MCs and top 10 all time MCs. I am leaving this review as is so you can see how your train of thought might go. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Martial World
June 20, 2016
Status: c291
Ok... this is a pretty straight up xianxia. It has good progression and the characters so far are okay.... the cliffies though ?! The MC is pretty good seeing as he is not transmigrated or reincarnated...I should warn you though, the plot armour is strong in this one. All in all, this is a pretty decent read and it updates on a regular basis... yeeaaahh!!
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Holding On to My Man
May 2, 2018
Status: c3
I just found this one and I like it. A true white lotus here, completely shameless and unafraid to sell meng! To live a good life, ... more>>
Spoiler

In order to complete the task, in the future he must resolutely listen to golden thigh's decision, follow gold thigh's policy, comply with golden thigh's instructions, and hold on to this gold thigh!

[collapse]
I find the character to be interesting in that we can see that he is a very logical thinker and knows how to use what he has wisely. Gonna wait for more so as to give a better review. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
A Demon’s Path
April 18, 2018
Status: c71
This story is underrated. The MC is not the regular kind of character we are used to. He has a rough childhood that leads him to dabble in business with a certain brothel, a mysterious background and a cheat that is not OP so far. He does have his own talents in medicine concocting and I do like that he has that necessary shamelessness that I think is essential to a cultivator. It is a decent read because we get to see a character that is growing before our eyes... more>> and we see the impact that a change in environment causes but his inherent persona still shines through. Give it a shot. The translator is doing a good job and it kinda sucks that people aren't giving the attention I think it deserves. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Dominating Sword Immortal
January 18, 2017
Status: c149
This is not as bad as some of the reviews are making it out to be. Is it comparable to ISSTH, no! But it is a solid read, with good progression, it doesn't have a ridiculous MC who has plot armor to the heavens instead we have a cool, calm and mature MC who knows not to go pissing everyone off and instead doing what needs done. Lack of excess is what makes DSI a good read and if you have been around NU long enough and are familiar with... more>> the genres, you will definitely appreciate this. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Cult of the Sacred Runes
June 29, 2016
Status: c89
This is amazing....I never read it before since the synopsis isn't all that awe-inspiring but wow!! when I did, I like where this is going. The MC is a breath of fresh air (a rarity in this genre)... the only other MC comparable to him imho is Lin Ming (MW) if only for the lack of overbearing arrogance; I like that this is not a harem and he seems to be loyal to one love interest. To everyone that said he gets ton of knowledge unfairly, what the hell genre... more>> are you expecting this to be... cheat items are a must!!
Spoiler

I think they need to tell him that he has a supreme rune resonance asap that could let zi yan's family let them get together.

[collapse]
<<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
World of Cultivation
May 15, 2016
Status: c245
Amazing, funny, can't wait to see where it is going!! I like that it is not cliche xianxia and there are no one-dimensional characters littering the place. I really like Lil' miss... the mystery in this book is killing me! It really became Wu Kong formation school haha :D
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Can Someone Please Explain This Situation
June 27, 2018
Status: c10
Yet another JP "Humble noble"MC. I am such a holy mother, I will eat with the servants and clean this giant mansion together with them; I will eat like a peasant since I am oh so humble. This is supposed to be our MC who is now a duchess but was also born a noble... sheesh! I would understand if it was one of those white lotus transmigrated Japanese chicks (whose IQ's are in the double digits and even the smart ones are smart only in comparison to rocks) who... more>> try to change an entire way of doing things not because its wrong but it suits them that way. She knew what she was getting into; he told her from the beginning, she was meant to save face/ keep his reputation but wtf is she doing?! Dropped this like the turd it is! The 3 stars is for the translator but this story is sh*te! <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Brother-in-Law, I’m Pregnant!
February 5, 2018
Status: c32
This author is something else. Kudos to the translator who has made it pretty clear that he also gets uncomfortable with some scenes but plans to finish translating the book. I am disappointed with the fact that plot-wise, this could have gone nicely but it ended up being a smutty, pwp with an asshole seme and a pathetic uke who is beyond dumb and has no redeeming features whatsoever. The 4 stars I gave were purely for the translator. This is a no-go for a fujoshi like myself... all Danmei... more>> gods must be weeping at the travesty that is this novel. Flower-hole, little jade stem, flower- heart.... tsskkk!!! <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
So far the story is kinda meh!!! The MC is nothing new and we can already predict the kind of ML we will have. Read this if you have nothing better or if you are stacking chapters elsewhere. The translator is doing a good job but they could have picked another more interesting story. This brand of writing has been overdone.
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Venerated Venomous Consort
November 15, 2017
Status: c182
The translator is doing a good job but the story is not worth it. MC is typical assassin/mary-sue thrown into trash re-incarnation with all the fixings (wicked step-family, worthless/uncaring dad, fiance that wants to toss her to the side... oh! and there is a OP tool/power-up; can't wait for the usual mystical pet to show up) ~^-^~ Reverse harem as usual just coz and if this hasnt gotten formulaic by now.... argghhh the chapters are short as hell but TL speed is amazeballs. This is not exactly wipe my ass... more>> worthy but pretty close <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Talisman Emperor
November 8, 2017
Status: c107
I am leaving a review simply because of the terrible ones. This is a good novel and is very promising so far. Read it and don't let the terrible reviews keep you from a solid piece of work. I like this MC and he is quite relatable. Will update later on....

Update 05/03/18 ch 361

Good translation quality but it is becoming a chore reading this. He was fine at the beginning but MC has now gone down the route of the generic YY MC. Insane power-ups, tournaments galore and jade like... more>> harem beauties.... will admit that the writing quality has dropped since we can kinda guess what will happen from this point on. Will shelve this, since the upcoming tournament seems to be one that will take almost 50 chaps or so given precedent, and pick up once I have enough stacked chps. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
chekanalia
chekanalia rated it
Emperor’s Domination
September 19, 2016
Status: c189
There is no middle ground in this one. You either love it or hate it!! This MC is millions of years old and acts like it. He has his way of doing things and he will not compromise for anyone. He is not swayed by beauties and become stupid as hell because some jade-like beauty appears (as in any other novel) He sees only potential cultivation. 10/10 for me!
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report