Report Review
10 Reviews


charysa
charysa rated it
I Have Medicine
May 5, 2018
Status: c1085
Read the raw version and enjoyed the entire story.

The "system" tag on the story's title isn't a typical system, per se. ... more>>
Spoiler

The MC's system is actually an inheritance artifact that's disguising itself as a system so as to more easily interact with its host, who comes from a modern world and was initially a fish out of water in the cultivation based world.

[collapse]

I would say it's a romance centered BL (yaoi, shonen ai) story, but the relationship is a very slow burn. MC doesn't realize his feelings for ML have gone from platonic to romantic until about 300 chapters in, and they don't confess to each other until another 100 more chapters, and they don't do more than smoochies/petting for almost another 200 more chapters beyond that (more than halfway through the whole novel!).

On the other hand, the slow progress of the relationship means we get to see it grow organically, going from employee-patron, to surrogate siblings, to most trusted BFF, to secret crush, to dates and kisses, to rolling the sheets, to old married couple. There's no angst for angst's sake, no character-torture for drama, no convoluted misunderstandings, no rivals in love... maybe it's not everyone's cup of tea, but I liked the fluffy romance that forms the backbone of the story.

The overall plot actually progresses steadily for a thousand-chapter story. There's not much feeling of needless repetition even as our boys go from world to world as they rank up. Elements from the earlier worlds/sections actually turn out to be relevant or foreshadowing for things in later arcs. Earlier settings aren't forgotten even as the focus moves onward. <<less
34 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Ascending, Do Not Disturb
December 30, 2018
Status: Completed
I've read the entire story in the raws, and enjoyed every minute of it. This is a xianxia world that I would like to be in, where the orthodox sects are the good guys because they are filled with *good* guys, none of that edgy hypocrites crap. Where cultivation means also cultivating your virtue, and naturally weeds out people who are out for shortcuts to power. Where people can still be flawed and have interpersonal or inter-sect conflicts, but still have that bottom line that they won't cross.

I also loved... more>> the characters in this. Not just the MC and the ML (who are adorable characters themselves), but the supporting characters are all well written too. The MC's sect, her master and sect brothers/sisters are all hilarious every minute they're on screen. The other "rival" girls in the cultivation world are all unique from one another, none of them being a stereotypical caricature, and several of them even undergo *character growth* through the story.

The only ones who are sort of one-dimensional are probably the villains, and even then, we get hints of the complicated backstory that caused the villain boss to become what he is (or perhaps he was always that way and the sob story is just his own rationalization).

If I were to say there were any flaws with the story, I would have to say that the second half isn't quite as strong as the first half. This author's strength is in her character building and slice of life story telling, which is what the first half consists of.

Afterwards, the string of misunderstandings between the MC & ML (where one or both are silently pining for the other) and between them and their masters, became a bit forced as it went on. But at least the misunderstandings weren't drawn out for *too* long, before they finally got together.

The stuff after that concentrating on a "main" plotline dealing with the villain boss feels very rushed and haphazard though. It feels like the author was running out of ideas and just wanted to rush to the end. So you had all these skips and cheats to quickly level up the MC, so she and ML can have the final showdown with the villain boss. It honestly did feel hamfisted, and I would have been more comfortable with just a timeskip, honestly. However, the quality is not such that I'd take off a star for the overall story, which I still liked. <<less
18 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Golden Age Legitimate Fei
February 20, 2018
Status: Completed
Read the entire untranslated work and enjoyed it very much. The MC is likeable, and the ML is not bad. There's a lot of warfare action interspersed with the court intrigue, which keeps things from dragging too much. The MC being apparently special forces in her past life, and thus introducing various facets of modern military doctrine and training to the ML's elite troops was an interesting touch.

There's also a touch of mystery, as it turns out the MC is not the only transmigrant to this universe.
Spoiler

Apparently, the founding emperor of the previous dynasty was a visitor from the real world too. In his fake imperial tomb, he left a note that has the location of the real tomb written down in English, which only the MC could read. Then in the real tomb, they find books and drafts of modern weaponry, as well as early experiments into explosives and guns. Though, the story is realistic in that the empire isn't advanced enough to immediately start mass producing guns yet, so only one gun show up near the end of the story.

[collapse]

My favorite character is the MC's eldest cousin, Xu Qingchen, who has the appearance of a saintly gentle young master, the skills of a political genius, nerves of steel, and the bravery to waltz in and out of enemy territory without any martial skill to depend on. Also, girls - often martially capable ones - keep on trying to press marriage suits onto him, to the bemusement of the MC and the amusement of the ML.

The villains of the story are hit and miss. Some are rather two one-dimensional, especially all of the female villains and the two Chu emperors (a paranoiac and a narcissist). Only a few of the antagonists are actually interesting, including the two guys both claiming to be Lin Yuan, and the ML's strongest military foe, Zhengnan Wang.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
February 20, 2018
Status: --
I managed to find an online txt of the published version of this story (untranslated, of course). It contains a smattering of extra NC-17 s*x scenes for the various existing chapters. There's also three extra worlds and an extra side story featuring the supporting male lead in ch14. Two of the extra worlds immediately follow ch15 (Cuckold Emperor) : Evil wuxia grandmaster x Shaolin monk, then Juvenile fox spirit x Imperial regent wangye. One more extra world is basically a honeymoon adventure after the end of the main plot in... more>> the "real world", and features some kind of were-animal planet. I thought the wuxia world one was quite good, but the other two extra chapters were kinda gratuitous. The side story is... YMMV depending on if you liked the supporting male lead from ch14, I guess; I didn't, so I found it to be kinda meh.

Anyway, the original online version of the story (which this translation is based on, I believe) reads quite well on its own without the additional sections in the published edition. Each world don't drag on, and generally contribute well to the overarching meta-plot. There's a lot of hints and foreshadowing on what the ML actually is, and on re-reading earlier chapters, it's fun to observe how the ML has always been acting towards his nature, and in retrospect it seems only natural for the kind of entity the ML is to fall for a destructive hacker like the MC. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Death Progress Bar
March 4, 2019
Status: Completed
Blitzed through several stories written by this same author, and this one has got to be one of the best among them.

For one thing, the characterization of ML is not a yandere cardboard cutout that gets jealous of any male/female/sentient critter that MC pays attention to. No, this ML is an actual mature person that I can actually visualize as a realistic human being. Someone who I can visualize as being part of a healthy relationship with another person without being squicked out or wearing out my SoD. He's also... more>> one of the few ML's out there that I honestly like as a person in and of himself, a person who is capable and rational, honorable and a hidden idealist... and basically not a character that's just defined by how well he plays the role of MC's boyfriend.

Going back a little more on the topic of Suspension of Disbelief, there's only a few places in this story where it gets stressed out. One is the background setting of "legal" international crime rings, which kinda sorta got explained near the end so I can gloss over it. The other is MC's police background... which... honestly seems to just be there as a plot device, to be trotted out to "explain" certain specific behaviors or reactions... but which doesn't actually mesh well with MC's personality that we see on screen. But overall, that dissonance only very rarely pops up, so most of the time, it could be ignored.

The development of the supporting characters are also something that was very well done by this story. MC's brothers all got a lot of attention by the narrative, and they also all grow as people over the course of the story as they get to really know the new MC and revisit their past choices. ML's inner circle also all got unique characterizations to go with them, such that it's never confusing which person the story is referring to, even when half their name is just a number. In addition, the detail put into digging up the backstory of the previous generation even ended up turning the MC's dead father from a mysterious figure to a fleshed out...... eh, madman. And then there's the enemy gang leaders, the ambitious government liaison, and so forth. They all shine.

Near the end of the story, there's a span of time where it gets very... sad and the tone is oppressive. But worry not for those who dislike tragedies. Because we do get a... bittersweet happy ending at the end. And then another real happy ending in the epilogue chapters. It takes time to get there, and everyone is forced to grow up some in the mean time, but the effort is what makes the final result something to cherish. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Cannon Fodder Counterattack System
February 20, 2018
Status: Completed
Went ahead and read the whole thing in the original chinese. It's the closest story I've found so far to the pacing and feel of QWTFOTD. Though, of course, it's not exactly the same. The main difference is that QWTFOTD is focused more on action and has more suspenseful plots, including the overreaching meta-plot. This story is more focused on relationship development, which (slight spoiler) is also related to its different meta-plot. It's less about the suspense and action and more about the romance, which is nice on its own... more>> for someone just as interested in the BL parts. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Fields of Gold
June 19, 2019
Status: Completed
I found most of this story to be quite adorable, especially the earlier parts when the MC is still a prepubescent child and the setting is restricted to the small seaside village she grows up in. Watching their immediate family break away from the evil step-grandmother and the useless grandfather, and working together (at MC's "inspiration") to build a better life is quite heart warming. Some spoilers...

While at first glance, even the MC thought she got sent back to the historical Ancient China, this actually takes place in a slightly... more>> alternate version of Ancient China, due to...
Spoiler

... the fact that MC is not the only transmigrator around. The current emperor and his grandfather are also both transmigrators, and they've already butterflied a lot of big changes into the annals of history. This is a Ming Dynasty which has built a great navy and preempted Europe in the Age of Sail. MC is the only one who got a golden finger with her transmigration though.

[collapse]

While there are a great many handsome young men who may have potentially fallen for the MC, she only ends up with one love interest. I'll spoil that now, it's
Spoiler

the young prince they rescue from the sea in the beginning chapters. Of course, he then disappears for 200+ chapters before returning to Chinese shores. Afterwards, it takes some more time before he realizes that he's fallen for the MC. And then even longer for MC and her family to accept his suit (since she's so young and the difference between their status so vast).

Also, even though he's not a transmigrator, the ML has a cheat of his own. He is able to read other people's emotions, and later, thoughts. People like transmigrators are immune to this ability, though. The way ML awakened to this power in his childhood was traumatic, and it was uncontrollable earlier on, causing him to have berzerker fits. Of course, MC is the ray of light who is able to bring him out of his berserk state.

[collapse]

The first half of the story takes place almost entirely at her home village and the nearby town. The second half moves to the capital, where the MC starts wielding her cheat and her knowledge for the betterment of the people (while also making "some" money on the side with her side businesses).

There are some flaws I personally found in this story... One is the weird reverse harem charm that the MC has. I don't mind animals liking her because that was well explained by her cheat. But all the exceptional young men in the story getting a crush at first sight on a prepubescent girl who's not even noted to be especially beautiful...I didn't think that contributed anything to the story, especially after it became clear who she would end up with fairly early on.

Another flaw is that while it makes sense for MC to sometimes talk brashly because her modern sensibilities have no sense of the taboo subjects of the era (like whenever commenting about nobility/the imperial house), it stretched disbelief that she'd always get away with this with no consequences. Especially after she arrived at the capital a controversial figure in the eyes of the nobility/court. Either someone with the brains and adult mentality like hers should know better than to speak loosely, or she should've had to face some kind of consequence at least once. But eh. This is something of a mary sue MC. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
Read up to ch2971 in the raws (Mermaid world pt23) and my thoughts are so far...

The storytelling of the first introductory world is of much lesser quality than many of the other arcs/worlds, IMO. It made me put down the story twice, once in the translated version, once in the raws. It wasn't until I ended up just skipping it altogether and start reading directly from the second world/arc, that this novel managed to hold my attention for the next 2800+ chapters.

Another warning I should put out there is that... more>> there is no romance in this story, so anyone reading this story for that should not bother. The MC firmly does not believe in true love, and in fact has to repress her instinct to flinch or break away from any romantic contact from the BF/husband/lovers of the person she's transmigrated to. In fact, this author seems to be very anti-romance, as the majority of the worlds that the MC travels to actually seems to prove there's no such thing as true love, and in fact, the vast majority of MC's missions show love as something that is easily sacrificed for power, greed, reputation, and other things. It is something of a novelty compared to other stories that are hinged on the true love between the MC and the ML though.

Spoiler

From the chapter mid-thousands, early two-thousands, more an more of the narrative will be spent on the MC's adventures in the world of the system and system-users, as she tries to advance herself, build her own world, and endures various setbacks. These parts are a bit YMMV. I found them interesting at first because the MC starts interacting with other system-users and sometimes go on group missions to various worlds. But later on, I feel like the MC seems to get dumber every time she's outside of the mission worlds, like she's just asking to get herself killed, and often times acting just like the idiots that she looks down on and acts against during her missions.

That said, there's still a lot of interesting world building, and some very cool mission world arcs that I really liked. And it did hold my attention all the way to ch2971 (which is the current chapter as the story is a WIP). So I'm giving this novel an overall 4.

My favorite arcs are:

The second one as the emperor's sister, which was able to capture my attention for the rest of the novel, and also introduced the interesting emperor guy who actually pops up again later, more than once.

"That Phoenix Guy" arc, where the unfaithful/murderous husband the MC puts into jail later commits suicide and then becomes a fellow system-user, much to MC's (later justified) paranoia.

"The Merchant's Daughter" arc, where due to an incident in the previous mission, MC is directly dropped into a mission without any system help, which includes getting background info on who she is and what her goal is supposed to be. She has to figure it all out and deal with the unknown danger with only what skills she's retained so far.

"Demon Sect Lady" arc, where MC kills off the original ML of the world right after she arrives, and spends the rest of the arc trolling the entire rest of the setting.

That time the MC transmigrates in as the male emperor (not even the first time she's cast into a male body) and has to deal with a harem full of transmigrators, wild system-users, rebirths, etc.

The war arc that takes place in the system-level place between-worlds, where MC and a bunch of other high level mission takers get basically drafted to defend their corner of the multiverse against... bugs?rats? It's the first time we get to see a lot of the other major departments of the overreaching organization that manages the system-users.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
The Script is Not Like This!
April 18, 2019
Status: Completed
This is really more of a satire/crack story than it is a romance story. You read it for the laughs, and there is a lot of laugh points, not for the BL (there's no real *actual* romance in it).

The POV character is a gong/top, but he spends the much of the story avoiding getting with the official shou character. The guy he ends up with doesn't show up immediately, but it's easy enough to figure out who he is soon enough. (The only other sane man in these worlds...)

The... more>> only flaw I can think of in this story is the ending. A bit too abrupt, and doesn't really conclude the various loose ends I and other readers might be wondering through the story. Still, at least it does conclude, rather than drag on until the humor isn't funny anymore. So I'll give it that. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
I think this story is very much a YMMV (Your Mileage May Vary) type of story. I wouldn't compare it to QWTFOTD at all, because it's very different in many aspects. If I were to describe it, I would call it a female power fantasy.

The MC is different from the MC of many other BG/system/world hopping stories in a combination of several things:

  • Given the choice, the MC always prefers not to resolve issues with physical conflict (even though she's a spec ops agent and really really good at fighting/war/etc.), but rather by contributing so much to the society in general that she makes herself integral to the nation/civilization and thus puts herself on a higher socio-political level.
  • In the face of cliche schemes that you see among female characters in plots (defamation, framing, reputation smearing, white lotusing, stealing boyfriends, etc.), MC's response tends to be just to ignore any such social based attacks, but rather to improve herself and standing so that these attacks just wash off her.
  • The male lead very rarely acts as MC's golden finger. More often, she's able to get most of her accomplishments done without him, or just with him as a supporting character. In fact, there's very little romance mentioned in the text, and a lot of her relationship with ML is left up to subtext and implications.
I say it's a female fantasy because the MC seems like a role model for modern feminism. She's highly successful in very competitive careers without the need to rely on men, to the point of national/international acclaim. She defeats her opponents just by being so gosh darn excellent rather than by physically attacking anyone (while standard face slapping is cathartic to read about, most female readers are unlikely to see themselves as able or desiring to do the same in the protag's shoes).

Now, there are some truths to the... more>> other critics of the story. The general gist of things do get repetitive, especially in the arcs that take place in modern settings. However, I do think there are a smattering of interesting world setups, and the ways that MC adapts to excel in them, which kept me interested. I do wish there's a little bit more romance with the ML, but I can get lots of that from other BG quick transmigration stories. Read this story for its strengths, and leave it if it's focus isn't your cup of tea, I guess. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report