Report Review
17 Reviews


charysa
charysa rated it
I Have Medicine
May 5, 2018
Status: c1085
Read the raw version and enjoyed the entire story.

The "system" tag on the story's title isn't a typical system, per se. ... more>>
Spoiler

The MC's system is actually an inheritance artifact that's disguising itself as a system so as to more easily interact with its host, who comes from a modern world and was initially a fish out of water in the cultivation based world.

[collapse]

I would say it's a romance centered BL (yaoi, shonen ai) story, but the relationship is a very slow burn. MC doesn't realize his feelings for ML have gone from platonic to romantic until about 300 chapters in, and they don't confess to each other until another 100 more chapters, and they don't do more than smoochies/petting for almost another 200 more chapters beyond that (more than halfway through the whole novel!).

On the other hand, the slow progress of the relationship means we get to see it grow organically, going from employee-patron, to surrogate siblings, to most trusted BFF, to secret crush, to dates and kisses, to rolling the sheets, to old married couple. There's no angst for angst's sake, no character-torture for drama, no convoluted misunderstandings, no rivals in love... maybe it's not everyone's cup of tea, but I liked the fluffy romance that forms the backbone of the story.

The overall plot actually progresses steadily for a thousand-chapter story. There's not much feeling of needless repetition even as our boys go from world to world as they rank up. Elements from the earlier worlds/sections actually turn out to be relevant or foreshadowing for things in later arcs. Earlier settings aren't forgotten even as the focus moves onward. <<less
59 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Ascending, Do Not Disturb
December 30, 2018
Status: Completed
I've read the entire story in the raws, and enjoyed every minute of it. This is a xianxia world that I would like to be in, where the orthodox sects are the good guys because they are filled with *good* guys, none of that edgy hypocrites crap. Where cultivation means also cultivating your virtue, and naturally weeds out people who are out for shortcuts to power. Where people can still be flawed and have interpersonal or inter-sect conflicts, but still have that bottom line that they won't cross.

I also loved... more>> the characters in this. Not just the MC and the ML (who are adorable characters themselves), but the supporting characters are all well written too. The MC's sect, her master and sect brothers/sisters are all hilarious every minute they're on screen. The other "rival" girls in the cultivation world are all unique from one another, none of them being a stereotypical caricature, and several of them even undergo *character growth* through the story.

The only ones who are sort of one-dimensional are probably the villains, and even then, we get hints of the complicated backstory that caused the villain boss to become what he is (or perhaps he was always that way and the sob story is just his own rationalization).

If I were to say there were any flaws with the story, I would have to say that the second half isn't quite as strong as the first half. This author's strength is in her character building and slice of life story telling, which is what the first half consists of.

Afterwards, the string of misunderstandings between the MC & ML (where one or both are silently pining for the other) and between them and their masters, became a bit forced as it went on. But at least the misunderstandings weren't drawn out for *too* long, before they finally got together.

The stuff after that concentrating on a "main" plotline dealing with the villain boss feels very rushed and haphazard though. It feels like the author was running out of ideas and just wanted to rush to the end. So you had all these skips and cheats to quickly level up the MC, so she and ML can have the final showdown with the villain boss. It honestly did feel hamfisted, and I would have been more comfortable with just a timeskip, honestly. However, the quality is not such that I'd take off a star for the overall story, which I still liked. <<less
40 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Fields of Gold
June 19, 2019
Status: Completed
I found most of this story to be quite adorable, especially the earlier parts when the MC is still a prepubescent child and the setting is restricted to the small seaside village she grows up in. Watching their immediate family break away from the evil step-grandmother and the useless grandfather, and working together (at MC's "inspiration") to build a better life is quite heart warming. Some spoilers...

While at first glance, even the MC thought she got sent back to the historical Ancient China, this actually takes place in a slightly... more>> alternate version of Ancient China, due to...
Spoiler

... the fact that MC is not the only transmigrator around. The current emperor and his grandfather are also both transmigrators, and they've already butterflied a lot of big changes into the annals of history. This is a Ming Dynasty which has built a great navy and preempted Europe in the Age of Sail. MC is the only one who got a golden finger with her transmigration though.

[collapse]

While there are a great many handsome young men who may have potentially fallen for the MC, she only ends up with one love interest. I'll spoil that now, it's
Spoiler

the young prince they rescue from the sea in the beginning chapters. Of course, he then disappears for 200+ chapters before returning to Chinese shores. Afterwards, it takes some more time before he realizes that he's fallen for the MC. And then even longer for MC and her family to accept his suit (since she's so young and the difference between their status so vast).

Also, even though he's not a transmigrator, the ML has a cheat of his own. He is able to read other people's emotions, and later, thoughts. People like transmigrators are immune to this ability, though. The way ML awakened to this power in his childhood was traumatic, and it was uncontrollable earlier on, causing him to have berzerker fits. Of course, MC is the ray of light who is able to bring him out of his berserk state.

[collapse]

The first half of the story takes place almost entirely at her home village and the nearby town. The second half moves to the capital, where the MC starts wielding her cheat and her knowledge for the betterment of the people (while also making "some" money on the side with her side businesses).

There are some flaws I personally found in this story... One is the weird reverse harem charm that the MC has. I don't mind animals liking her because that was well explained by her cheat. But all the exceptional young men in the story getting a crush at first sight on a prepubescent girl who's not even noted to be especially beautiful...I didn't think that contributed anything to the story, especially after it became clear who she would end up with fairly early on.

Another flaw is that while it makes sense for MC to sometimes talk brashly because her modern sensibilities have no sense of the taboo subjects of the era (like whenever commenting about nobility/the imperial house), it stretched disbelief that she'd always get away with this with no consequences. Especially after she arrived at the capital a controversial figure in the eyes of the nobility/court. Either someone with the brains and adult mentality like hers should know better than to speak loosely, or she should've had to face some kind of consequence at least once. But eh. This is something of a mary sue MC. <<less
39 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Golden Age Legitimate Fei
February 20, 2018
Status: Completed
Read the entire untranslated work and enjoyed it very much. The MC is likeable, and the ML is not bad. There's a lot of warfare action interspersed with the court intrigue, which keeps things from dragging too much. The MC being apparently special forces in her past life, and thus introducing various facets of modern military doctrine and training to the ML's elite troops was an interesting touch.

There's also a touch of mystery, as it turns out the MC is not the only transmigrant to this universe.
Spoiler

Apparently, the founding emperor of the previous dynasty was a visitor from the real world too. In his fake imperial tomb, he left a note that has the location of the real tomb written down in English, which only the MC could read. Then in the real tomb, they find books and drafts of modern weaponry, as well as early experiments into explosives and guns. Though, the story is realistic in that the empire isn't advanced enough to immediately start mass producing guns yet, so only one gun show up near the end of the story.

[collapse]

My favorite character is the MC's eldest cousin, Xu Qingchen, who has the appearance of a saintly gentle young master, the skills of a political genius, nerves of steel, and the bravery to waltz in and out of enemy territory without any martial skill to depend on. Also, girls - often martially capable ones - keep on trying to press marriage suits onto him, to the bemusement of the MC and the amusement of the ML.

The villains of the story are hit and miss. Some are rather two one-dimensional, especially all of the female villains and the two Chu emperors (a paranoiac and a narcissist). Only a few of the antagonists are actually interesting, including the two guys both claiming to be Lin Yuan, and the ML's strongest military foe, Zhengnan Wang.
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Death Progress Bar
March 4, 2019
Status: Completed
Blitzed through several stories written by this same author, and this one has got to be one of the best among them.

For one thing, the characterization of ML is not a yandere cardboard cutout that gets jealous of any male/female/sentient critter that MC pays attention to. No, this ML is an actual mature person that I can actually visualize as a realistic human being. Someone who I can visualize as being part of a healthy relationship with another person without being squicked out or wearing out my SoD. He's also... more>> one of the few ML's out there that I honestly like as a person in and of himself, a person who is capable and rational, honorable and a hidden idealist... and basically not a character that's just defined by how well he plays the role of MC's boyfriend.

Going back a little more on the topic of Suspension of Disbelief, there's only a few places in this story where it gets stressed out. One is the background setting of "legal" international crime rings, which kinda sorta got explained near the end so I can gloss over it. The other is MC's police background... which... honestly seems to just be there as a plot device, to be trotted out to "explain" certain specific behaviors or reactions... but which doesn't actually mesh well with MC's personality that we see on screen. But overall, that dissonance only very rarely pops up, so most of the time, it could be ignored.

The development of the supporting characters are also something that was very well done by this story. MC's brothers all got a lot of attention by the narrative, and they also all grow as people over the course of the story as they get to really know the new MC and revisit their past choices. ML's inner circle also all got unique characterizations to go with them, such that it's never confusing which person the story is referring to, even when half their name is just a number. In addition, the detail put into digging up the backstory of the previous generation even ended up turning the MC's dead father from a mysterious figure to a fleshed out...... eh, madman. And then there's the enemy gang leaders, the ambitious government liaison, and so forth. They all shine.

Near the end of the story, there's a span of time where it gets very... sad and the tone is oppressive. But worry not for those who dislike tragedies. Because we do get a... bittersweet happy ending at the end. And then another real happy ending in the epilogue chapters. It takes time to get there, and everyone is forced to grow up some in the mean time, but the effort is what makes the final result something to cherish. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Quickly Wear the Face of the Devil
February 20, 2018
Status: --
I managed to find an online txt of the published version of this story (untranslated, of course). It contains a smattering of extra NC-17 s*x scenes for the various existing chapters. There's also three extra worlds and an extra side story featuring the supporting male lead in ch14. Two of the extra worlds immediately follow ch15 (Cuckold Emperor) : Evil wuxia grandmaster x Shaolin monk, then Juvenile fox spirit x Imperial regent wangye. One more extra world is basically a honeymoon adventure after the end of the main plot in... more>> the "real world", and features some kind of were-animal planet. I thought the wuxia world one was quite good, but the other two extra chapters were kinda gratuitous. The side story is... YMMV depending on if you liked the supporting male lead from ch14, I guess; I didn't, so I found it to be kinda meh.

Anyway, the original online version of the story (which this translation is based on, I believe) reads quite well on its own without the additional sections in the published edition. Each world don't drag on, and generally contribute well to the overarching meta-plot. There's a lot of hints and foreshadowing on what the ML actually is, and on re-reading earlier chapters, it's fun to observe how the ML has always been acting towards his nature, and in retrospect it seems only natural for the kind of entity the ML is to fall for a destructive hacker like the MC. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
The Script is Not Like This!
April 18, 2019
Status: Completed
This is really more of a satire/crack story than it is a romance story. You read it for the laughs, and there is a lot of laugh points, not for the BL (there's no real *actual* romance in it).

The POV character is a gong/top, but he spends the much of the story avoiding getting with the official shou character. The guy he ends up with doesn't show up immediately, but it's easy enough to figure out who he is soon enough. (The only other sane man in these worlds...)

The... more>> only flaw I can think of in this story is the ending. A bit too abrupt, and doesn't really conclude the various loose ends I and other readers might be wondering through the story. Still, at least it does conclude, rather than drag on until the humor isn't funny anymore. So I'll give it that. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Cannon Fodder Counterattack System
February 20, 2018
Status: Completed
Went ahead and read the whole thing in the original chinese. It's the closest story I've found so far to the pacing and feel of QWTFOTD. Though, of course, it's not exactly the same. The main difference is that QWTFOTD is focused more on action and has more suspenseful plots, including the overreaching meta-plot. This story is more focused on relationship development, which (slight spoiler) is also related to its different meta-plot. It's less about the suspense and action and more about the romance, which is nice on its own... more>> for someone just as interested in the BL parts. <<less
10 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Transmigration: Raising the Child of the Male Lead Boss
August 14, 2019
Status: Completed
This is actually a really good romance story. There's lots and lots of fluff, the only misunderstandings occur at the very beginning and are quickly addressed, no angst, no tragedy, not even bloody revenge. It's about choosing to live well and falling in love.

MC was a snake spirit who lived in a zoo, and spent most of her time reading tr*shy novels and watching dramas on the tablet/smartphone secreted away in her den. Then one day she died and then transmigrated into a novel she had read recently, as the... more>> canon fodder tragic victim character, before the host did herself in and got divorced from the male protagonist (also current ML). So of course she avoids the original plot and decides to hug the ML's leg, doing her best to turn around the misunderstandings that had been causing a rift between him and original host, and fixing her relationship with their kid.

The majority of the story are about how MC's... odd point of view (due to being former snake) causes a lot of humorous situations, and the sheer cuteness of her interaction with original host's (now hers) five year old child. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Back to the Sixties: Farm, Get Wealthy & Raise the Cubs
May 7, 2020
Status: Completed
Just finished speed reading this story. I'm amazed that some parts of it passed censorship, especially since a lot of the historical references are directly named rather than using vague euphemisms.

The general tone of the story is very much a slice of life, following MC and her family from year to year, all the way from raising three little buns on her own to getting them married off and starting to raise the grandchildren generation. The early parts when they're still living in the country feels a bit like Fields... more>> of Gold, in that it seems to be all about the food. But then I guess in that era, food is the only thing that gets people excited, lol. Later on, as the story setting transitions to the Capital, it's more about building up businesses.

The pacing of the story isn't too bad for a narrative that has to cover such a long period of time. There are some parts which dragged or wasn't as interesting in my personal opinion, but still managed to keep my interest to continue reading. What I like best are the characters, specifically the relationships and the interactions.

MC is very much a strong modern woman who is perfectly able to balance what she is and isn't willing to compromise with the reality of the times she's living in. She's not perfect, but she's oh so relatable. Her husband feels a lot like a supporting character than a co-star, and objectively speaking has some flaws, but still feels like very much a match made in heaven to the MC, and their fluff is adorable. The relationships between MC and her sons is both funny and enviable. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
I Trick Even the Lames to Stand Up for Me
April 7, 2020
Status: Completed
This story feels like it's an episodic-ish supernatural detective series... on crack. No, seriously, the humor is very well done and creates a bright counterpoint to some very serious social commentary and a dark horror setting.

I loved the warm and fuzzy family interactions that surround the MC, which serve as a great counterpoint to the sheer inhumanity (and that's not just talking about the undead) he comes across in his adventures. This is also a story which flouts the cliche of the evil step-family. Here, the MC's step-mother is his... more>> co-conspirator whenever trying to cajole something out of his father, and his younger step-brother is his number one fan. There's also his "family" of adopted supernatural orphans, which all come with interesting backgrounds.

By contrast, the BL romance feels much more understated. It's not that romance is totally absent from the story - sweet interactions with the ML do bubble to the foreground here and there - but it often isn't the story's focus. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Madam, Your Sockpuppet is Lost Again!
April 6, 2020
Status: c641
I read the author's other quick transmigration story, and the tone/character design feels very much similar. Except, the character here is even more outrageous than in that one, since Qin Ran is younger Ye Shanhua and doesn't have a quick transmigration background to help excuse all the variety of her skills.

I mean, some of her skills, like maybe drawing and music composition, you might be able to chalk up to natural talent. But where does she get the time to squeeze in all the other skills and supposed accomplishments? Programming... more>> an AI from the ground up takes more than just typing speed. Then there's becoming hand to hand combat master, despite having no formal teaching, by doing a year of fighting cage death-matches. It just... very much strains SOD. You have to turn your brain aaalllll the way off in order to enjoy a lot of the setup conceits of this story.

Then there's the story's tone and pacing, which takes a really heavy hand at trying to create suspense/mystery. I mean, it feels like very single person talks in the most vague way possible in order to create/maintain misunderstandings. People will refer to each other as "my cousin" or "a doctor" as much possible, and no one will ask for that person's full name; or somehow will hear "Mr. X" and never think to ask for the full name, and never draw the connection to famous person X or famous Doctor Y. Once or twice is suspense, but having everyone do this all the time is just... feels like a ham-handed way to extend the story length.

The other problem is that it feels like the story is just written for the "OMG he/she is/knows/is related to WHO?" reactions, and the actual plot line is really anti-climatic. The face-slapping that you want to see after reading about the annoying antagonist never happens. The protagonists never actively go after their foes until after someone's been put into the hospital, and sometimes not even then.
Spoiler

MC's scummy white lotus sister is the cause of half her PR problems in the story, but all MC does is counter the attacks and come out on top of the PR fights, and then never even investigates who was the source of this stuff. Her dad's long lost half-brother teamed up with her sister to mastermind the accident that put her little brother in the ICU, and all they did was put the middleman in jail, and nothing ever gets done about the masterminds because "there's no proof". Every time you see the ML's eyes go cold because something bad happened to the MC, you expect him to take revenge on her behalf, but nothing really comes of it.

[collapse]
This kind of thing happens again and again... and it just feels unsatisfactory. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Coming of the Villain Boss!
August 5, 2019
Status: Completed
It's inevitable that this story gets compared to the author's other story, "Side Character Transmigrations: The Final Boss is No Joke" but really, they are not *that* similar aside from being BG quick transmigration stories with an OP female main character.

If we really have to compare, then I do admit that the MC in this story is a little less likeable than Shi Sheng, particularly in the earlier arcs where her most notable characteristic - gluttony - is overemphasized. I do feel that MC's characterization improves slowly in the later... more>> arcs.

On the other hand, I do like the ML of this story over Feng Ci, even though he doesn't even show up until arc 3, doesn't choose to try and woo MC until arc 6 (for ulterior motives), and they don't truly enter into a genuine relationship until arc 9. Note: the "male leads" from the first two worlds are not the ML of the story, they are "native" NPCs of the world who originally had hidden feelings for the character that MC displaced, and those feelings came out due to the changes MC made by her presence.

Anyway, I like the ML of this story better because he has agency which Feng Ci never did
Spoiler

as a system-based quick transmigrator himself

[collapse]
. He has his own hidden goals, his own ambitions, his considerations, and we get to see some of the mental process of him actually choosing to invest emotionally into MC. It makes it fun to watch him and MC dance around each other, testing each other, and then finally choosing each other despite all the risks and unknowns they know that the other poses.

So, four stars for the overall stories. Then +1 star for the ML. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
Read up to ch2971 in the raws (Mermaid world pt23) and my thoughts are so far...

The storytelling of the first introductory world is of much lesser quality than many of the other arcs/worlds, IMO. It made me put down the story twice, once in the translated version, once in the raws. It wasn't until I ended up just skipping it altogether and start reading directly from the second world/arc, that this novel managed to hold my attention for the next 2800+ chapters.

Another warning I should put out there is that... more>> there is no romance in this story, so anyone reading this story for that should not bother. The MC firmly does not believe in true love, and in fact has to repress her instinct to flinch or break away from any romantic contact from the BF/husband/lovers of the person she's transmigrated to. In fact, this author seems to be very anti-romance, as the majority of the worlds that the MC travels to actually seems to prove there's no such thing as true love, and in fact, the vast majority of MC's missions show love as something that is easily sacrificed for power, greed, reputation, and other things. It is something of a novelty compared to other stories that are hinged on the true love between the MC and the ML though.

Spoiler

From the chapter mid-thousands, early two-thousands, more an more of the narrative will be spent on the MC's adventures in the world of the system and system-users, as she tries to advance herself, build her own world, and endures various setbacks. These parts are a bit YMMV. I found them interesting at first because the MC starts interacting with other system-users and sometimes go on group missions to various worlds. But later on, I feel like the MC seems to get dumber every time she's outside of the mission worlds, like she's just asking to get herself killed, and often times acting just like the idiots that she looks down on and acts against during her missions.

That said, there's still a lot of interesting world building, and some very cool mission world arcs that I really liked. And it did hold my attention all the way to ch2971 (which is the current chapter as the story is a WIP). So I'm giving this novel an overall 4.

My favorite arcs are:

The second one as the emperor's sister, which was able to capture my attention for the rest of the novel, and also introduced the interesting emperor guy who actually pops up again later, more than once.

"That Phoenix Guy" arc, where the unfaithful/murderous husband the MC puts into jail later commits suicide and then becomes a fellow system-user, much to MC's (later justified) paranoia.

"The Merchant's Daughter" arc, where due to an incident in the previous mission, MC is directly dropped into a mission without any system help, which includes getting background info on who she is and what her goal is supposed to be. She has to figure it all out and deal with the unknown danger with only what skills she's retained so far.

"Demon Sect Lady" arc, where MC kills off the original ML of the world right after she arrives, and spends the rest of the arc trolling the entire rest of the setting.

That time the MC transmigrates in as the male emperor (not even the first time she's cast into a male body) and has to deal with a harem full of transmigrators, wild system-users, rebirths, etc.

The war arc that takes place in the system-level place between-worlds, where MC and a bunch of other high level mission takers get basically drafted to defend their corner of the multiverse against... bugs?rats? It's the first time we get to see a lot of the other major departments of the overreaching organization that manages the system-users.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
I think this story is very much a YMMV (Your Mileage May Vary) type of story. I wouldn't compare it to QWTFOTD at all, because it's very different in many aspects. If I were to describe it, I would call it a female power fantasy.

The MC is different from the MC of many other BG/system/world hopping stories in a combination of several things:

  • Given the choice, the MC always prefers not to resolve issues with physical conflict (even though she's a spec ops agent and really really good at fighting/war/etc.), but rather by contributing so much to the society in general that she makes herself integral to the nation/civilization and thus puts herself on a higher socio-political level.
  • In the face of cliche schemes that you see among female characters in plots (defamation, framing, reputation smearing, white lotusing, stealing boyfriends, etc.), MC's response tends to be just to ignore any such social based attacks, but rather to improve herself and standing so that these attacks just wash off her.
  • The male lead very rarely acts as MC's golden finger. More often, she's able to get most of her accomplishments done without him, or just with him as a supporting character. In fact, there's very little romance mentioned in the text, and a lot of her relationship with ML is left up to subtext and implications.
I say it's a female fantasy because the MC seems like a role model for modern feminism. She's highly successful in very competitive careers without the need to rely on men, to the point of national/international acclaim. She defeats her opponents just by being so gosh darn excellent rather than by physically attacking anyone (while standard face slapping is cathartic to read about, most female readers are unlikely to see themselves as able or desiring to do the same in the protag's shoes).

Now, there are some truths to the... more>> other critics of the story. The general gist of things do get repetitive, especially in the arcs that take place in modern settings. However, I do think there are a smattering of interesting world setups, and the ways that MC adapts to excel in them, which kept me interested. I do wish there's a little bit more romance with the ML, but I can get lots of that from other BG quick transmigration stories. Read this story for its strengths, and leave it if it's focus isn't your cup of tea, I guess. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Rebirth Of A Virtuous Wife
July 6, 2019
Status: Completed
I'm generously rounding up to 4 stars, though it's more like a 3.5.

On its face, this is a popcorn romance story that seems pretty clearly designed to let the reader easily step into the shoes of the main character and enjoy her cinderella experience. There are some interesting side characters, some of whom even get their own separate novels (this author has 4 stories set in the same setting and time frame). The humor is mostly cute.

However, when compared to some of the author's later stories though, the flaws in... more>> this one becomes more apparent. The MC is a little too "ordinary" and too passive (emotionally and intellectually) to feel like a proper fictional protagonist. The ML's characterization is lacking, his main quirk overemphasized, and his hidden backstory is not fully explored to the reader's full satisfaction (or at least, not to mine), unlike some of the other MLs in later works. The narrative just drops major plot hooks without a care
Spoiler

such as the barbarian prince who swore revenge against our MC & ML, and whom the ML certainly had every intention of eliminating. He had every sign of being a villain boss, but that plot thread just vanishes afterwards, and the border war fades out to become a footnote. It wouldn't even have been an issue if there wasn't all that buildup and suspense to begin with. I even checked the other stories in the setting to see if it got continued there, but nada.

[collapse]

For those readers who liked the romance part of this story but found the characters/plot a bit lacking, I would better suggest this author's later romance stories. I'll will note that this author does have a habit of writing MC's that are either transmigrated or have a golden finger (or both), and ML's with some kind of mental issue (OCD, prosopagnosia, schizophrenia, etc.) due to childhood trauma. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
charysa
charysa rated it
Noble Wife Wants No Love
May 5, 2020
Status: Completed
I loved the humor in the first half of the story. There's a crack filled juxtaposition of the MC's acting versus her inner thoughts, which often leaves the ML speechless because he can't actually yell at her for the things she's thinking. It's also satisfying to see the MC handle her way through the typical female catfight scenarios without ML being her knight in armor, and actually knock some sense into him by shoving his own blind arrogance into his face.

Unfortunately, the second half of the story devolved into the... more>> much more stereotypical CN romance between an entertainment circle actress and her CEO husband. And I also feel like the original novel female protag (who became the antagonist to our MC/ML's romance) got forcibly blackened by the author in order to show off the MC. It's like the narrative just switched the roles of the "female protagonist" and "poisonous female supporting character" between the original story and the current story... which is, eh. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report