Report Review
9 Reviews


ccostin93
ccostin93 rated it
A Certain Middle-Aged Man’s VRMMO Activity Log
March 31, 2016
Status: --
A fun read.

Compared to other VRMMORPG stories out there, here the MC is living a leisure life.
Instead of fighting all day long, completing quests, meeting deadlines, he just lives his life inside the fantasy world.

As of chapter 37, the accent is on crafting/innovations and defining the unique play style.

It looks promising, with hopefully more interesting fact revealing themselves.
17 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ccostin93
ccostin93 rated it
Child of Light
November 15, 2015
Status: v12c29
Edit: Finished reading

The story starts ok, the pace a little slow, but otherwise a good setting and character development. The world description is very good (magic levels, magic types, etc) and the way the MC cultivates is way too funny.

The problem is that the action seems written by a 7-year-old. The relationship between the main character, Zhang Gong, and the other characters is, nicely put, innocent and immature. For those parts, I simply read between the lines and skipped the 5th-grade details. I can't blame that author, because the story... more>> starts when the MC is very young and trying to make him act too mature might ruin the story another way. For those that like this type of story, I recommend 'Close Combat Mage', which also has a very young MC. Another thing that bugged me is the ending, which was too abrupt and forced. It seems like even the author got bored with Zhang Gong stupidity and decided to simply end the story.

I definitely recommend this book for small kids. Is has everything, from blind trust to true friendship and love. In the end, the book theme is the fight between light and darkness, good vs evil, etc. Overall, the author stayed true to the character, maintaining the innocence that only kids have and ending up with a fairy tale. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ccostin93
ccostin93 rated it
The Alchemist God
February 20, 2016
Status: --
Nice story with massive potential.
VRMMORPG to real life, alchemy, warrior training, gods. It combines some of the most popular concepts very nice. It started strong, but now it's pretty much abandoned, with 1 chapter/month at best.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ccostin93
ccostin93 rated it
Martial Emperor Reborn
October 26, 2015
Status: --
The author pretty much took ideas from a couple novels and fused them into one.

The martial, or magical realms are way too vague and too many, not to mention hard to remember. The author also tries to explain something about meridians for martial qi/energy and meridians for magical energy, which is extremely hard to understand and mostly pointless to the story. On another note, the MC is extremely OP and I am pretty sure INSANE. If the MC was an insane person in a sane world, I could understand. But... more>> the MC is a crazy motherf*cker in an even crazier world. The other characters are well too underdeveloped and because of this their decision/actions are have to follow.

If you have yet to start reading it, DO NOT! <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ccostin93
ccostin93 rated it
World of Cultivation
November 15, 2015
Status: --
A very nice story, where the MC takes a more unique path to attain immortality.
Lots of interesting developments and the MC has a perfect personality. He is not too smart, not too dumb, nor does he have a heaven astonishing talent. Just a little above average guy trying to get money so he does not die of hunger.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ccostin93
ccostin93 rated it
Battle Frenzy
January 9, 2018
Status: c252
The story has a very likable MC and the world is incredible. I really enjoy reading each chapter.

As many have already said, the pace is slow and there is a frequent appearance of filler paragraphs or even chapters. Honestly, I don't really mind the fillers. Even when the author repeats some stuff, one can easily quick read (skip) the paragraph and just concentrate on the actual story.

Definitely one of the best worlds I've ever seen. Monsters, powers, semi-sci-fi. It has everything, but the world is as such they don't actually... more>> negate each other, which is my opinion is an incredible thing. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ccostin93
ccostin93 rated it
Upgrade Specialist in Another World
January 20, 2016
Status: --
Xianxia novel with failed reincarnation, weak MC, revenge plot, some game elements. The usual.

The MC is different, but it's still too soon to tell if this is good or bad. But anyway, the author is quite good. He combined so many elements, some not found in classic Xianxia, without making the story seem stupid.

I started it cause it's translated by Heman (original translator of ST - first Xiantia for me) and I am curious.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ccostin93
ccostin93 rated it
Bringing The Farm To Live In Another World
February 27, 2016
Status: --
Interesting story.
The superpower the MC got is way too OP, but nothing can be done about it.

What makes this novel unique, and popular (considering it has over 5000 chapters) is that the story is not about fighting and the MC can't kill a fly, let alone a warrior or mage. This story concentrates on economy and more specific on agriculture. I'm guessing the author is a big fan of Farmville.

Also, one of the best MTL out there. If the translator did not say he is using MTL, then I... more>> would not have known. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
ccostin93
Nice story.

A refreshing story, easy to read (the chapters are short compared to other novels) and understand.

The MC is a little too much of a blockhead for my liking, but otherwise interesting.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report