Report Review
29 Reviews


calebra
calebra rated it
The Strongest Guild Master Founded a Nation in a Week
October 30, 2017
Status: c96
Well, it's another one of those wish-fulfillment stories with herbivore protagonists who gets eaten (sexually) and at times, even abused by his own subordinates. Series like this makes me wonder if the author is a hetare or a masochist.

That aside, the story progression and characters are very bland. Really nothing special about it and they introduced so many characters so quickly that you get overwhelmed by them. This made it hard to remember others with semi-regular appearances in the story. But I read this series in the first place because... more>> of the kingdom building and they just started on that, so my opinion might change after a few more chapters or arcs (hopefully not that long), hence, the 3-star rating. Though if the quality of the story (or main character) doesn't improve, I might drop the series then.

Only read if you got nothing better to do with your time. Or you're a sucker for whipped guys, I guess.

UPDATE: (1) How to say this. Pretty much all the enemies so far are stupid? What I mean is, they're so aggressive and they don't even collect information first. They just go straight to attacking and having the tables turned on them and in the end they're all "OOHH DRAGON KNIGHT-SAMA!!". It's the same sh*t for all the new people he meets every single time. It's either they end up worshiping him right away or after they get beaten down pathetically. And some of these are high officials with important positions that needs to use their brains.

(2) For someone who decided to build a kingdom, I wonder why he never even thought about marriage or such. For sure, some stupid nobles will send their daughters to have a connection with him. And now he's acting all dumbfounded and helpless when the idea of marriage with another country's princess is brought up. He was presented as someone that's more or less smart but he didn't even think this would happen? Wtf.

I have dropped this series. I'm so ****ing done. <<less
16 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
Oh no. It's this one. This made me feel various complicated feelings. My emotions went up and down through every chapter. It made me feel sick, excited, happy. Made me question the morality of the characters (and myself at times for even continuing on reading this lol). It's a dark yuri (harem) story. This review is spoiler-ish because of the warnings I've included.

If you really can't stand extreme bullying, gore-ish scenarios, rape - then you probably shouldn't check this one. If you're able to go through those though,... more>> this can be quite an enjoyable read.

It's not an R18 novel but the way those specific scenes were written will make you think otherwise. There's also plenty of incest so go back now if you hate that.

Spoiler

The main girl is also overpowered so don't expect much difficulties in regards to enemies (though it wasn't really something they focused on so you'll probably actually forget it as you read the story). They'll most likely fall in the end. Men will definitely be killed or become something.. Not human.

[collapse]
So if you feel offended about the idea of men being eradicated from the world, then you should also forget about reading this.

It might not be much for the others and I might just be weak but this series was seriously like a ride of roller coaster for my emotions. It was fun at times but on another hand it also made me squeamish. I still enjoyed it quite a bit but my rating for this should be around 3.5 stars. I also think it might be fun to go read this again but at the same time I end up remembering the scenes that made my stomach turn lol. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Nidome no Jinsei wo Isekai de
May 20, 2017
Status: c55
One of the points in this series some people are having problems with, is the issue with his supposedly erased memories. While I think that knowledge and memory are 2 different things, like how you'll still be able to use a toilet when you're an amnesiac, I have decided to think that when he talks about things of his past life, it's just an instinctive or gut feeling he gets when he experiences things. Like he'll automatically think a bath is a normal thing that should be taken everyday and... more>> the food are too bland and cheap compared to "normal". Though there are parts where he has too many information about certain things that makes you think, "Huh? You sure your memory is wiped clean?", I've decided to ignore those points to enjoy this story (lol).

This is a story about an old man reborn after a satisfying death in another world filled with swords and magic. A god has asked for his help to put back the balance in her world. He ended up being lured by the food in that world so he agreed and thus, he started his second life as an 18-year-old "Lost" (people from other worlds).

It's a good read if you like protagonists that don't hesitate to kill and are strong. He was an amazing swordsman from his original world and he has also been gifted to be able to use magic. It's an isekai adventure story with another gourmet protagonist. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Dragon’s Bloodline
September 7, 2017
Status: Completed
Ooff. Well this series was a pretty good read to be honest. That is, up until the big reveal on the "Great Collapse", and everything went to sh*t.

While it might not be that bad of a development if you think that there are just some things that will never go your way no matter how strong you are, there are a lot of biases shown in the last arc. It seems the author really hate certain countries or they really just wrote those events because of, as I mentioned earlier,... more>> "not everything goes your way" idea.

The ending was bittersweet. Honestly made me quite a bit melancholic. A bit sad that they didn't mention what happened to other specific characters and there are also quite a few questions that popped up in the end.

Some points I thought of:

Spoiler
    1. Ria will follow the God Dragons role. Protecting the world. When the time comes for her spirit to end - just like Valis' - will she be able to rejoin the soul cycle because she was originally a "human" or will she just cease to exist like all natural born God Dragons after they reach the limit of their existence?
    2. What happened to Serge and Chris? I actually liked this couple and so, didn't end up disliking his arc.
    3. It was mentioned that Demon Lords do not exist anymore. I wonder how much their civilization progressed for them to think that Demon Lords, God Dragons, etc are just myths now.
    4. I thought they were gonna mention or reveal Ria's other-other life (since it was mentioned that he was reincarnated before by the God of War) or at least hint on to what kind of life he led then.
    5. I guess the reincarnators killed the gods that blessed them with gifts and gave them a chance to live a second life huh? Was expecting the series to show a battle between Ria and the gods who reincarnated her actually.
    6. In the end, everything just moves forward even if you don't want it to. Even if someone important or you love leaves you first. Things progress. Doesn't wait for anyone. Life isn't only filled with happy things. There are numerous events that will surely enrage or sadden you. Irina just looking straight ahead and starting her own adventure in her very long life, after watching, learning, experiencing things in Ria's time, was a pretty good end to it.
[collapse]

It's an okay read for the first few arcs. Developments are fast and confrontations conclude quite easily (unless it's the main problem that is being dealt with in the whole arc). Honestly, not something I'll recommend to someone because there's quite a high possibility of them hating the whole series because of the last arc like most of the other readers. If you're bored and want to gamble and see if the story will piss you off or not, then do check it out. I actually loved the romantic developments between
Spoiler

Ria's wives and Serge's partner.

[collapse]

On another note, I honestly never liked the Demon King. At all.

UPDATE: I checked the author's Syosetsu page. There are multiple stories related/connected to this one so some of them probably answers some of my questions (like Ria's past lives, what happened after this timeline, etc). <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Death March kara Hajimaru Isekai Kyusoukyoku (WN)
February 2, 2017
Status: v14 intermission 4
Definitely my favorite series right now. It seems that some people think it doesn't have a plot and they just cook and eat (which is kinda true) but there is a story. Hell, there's a lot of unanswered questions popping left and right as it progresses. Mainly,

... more>>
Spoiler

1. Satou is not a reincarnated or summoned person, so how did he get there?

2. Before saving Baron Muno territory, Satou dreams about a girl with the hair color that keeps changing and she also said that they've met many times in different worlds - they always have an encounter. She also curses him to only attract loli girls. (She also mentioned something about a dragon god being offended by a human male, stuff happened, he ascended to godhood and he took the dragon god as his bride. Dragon god is mentioned a few times later on by the others.)

3. One of the demon lords mistook him for someone he knew and when they went to the fallen city of the sky, there was one portrait of a god that looked like the adult Satou.

4. A loli god appeared before him saying something along the lines of "Just stay the way you are, my hero". He also received a sword from a god.

So in the end, who is Satou really?

[collapse]

If you want something light hearted with an OP protagonist who will probably never lose, and a good story with a variety of characters, I highly recommend this series. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou (WN)
February 2, 2017
Status: c135
I don't really understand all the hate this series garners but it isn't that bad. I guess most people started reading this because of the dark themes in the first arc / volume. If you want those heavy, revenge centered plots, this isn't for you. It kind of becomes light hearted in the latter part. It still has action but the events of the story is definitely lighter compared to the beginning.

Also, for me, best girl is
Spoiler

Shizuku

[collapse]
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
Don't expect anything deep hidden in the plot. It's a simple and fun slice-of-life story about an overpowered guy just trying to live his everyday life with his beloved house and apple trees whilst getting involved with various "strong" people and creatures in that world. He'll literally win all the fights quite easily so don't expect any hardships here. If you want to take a break and read something fun and light-hearted with none of those dark plots, then you should check this out.

A plus for the main guy being... more>> an adult / grown-up and not being a typical wimpy or perverted virgin. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Slave Harem in the Labyrinth of the Other World
February 2, 2017
Status: c219
I honestly couldn't decide whether to drop this series or not while I was reading it. I was leaning more on dropping it but I'm the type who wants to finish whatever stuff they started if I already invested enough time on it.

This might just be a difference in opinion but my main problem was that this guy mainly thinks with his d*ck.

Sure, he actually takes extra precautions for their safety. I don't mind that. But
... more>>
Spoiler

that one time he suggested getting a housemaid just so he can increase his harem number ticked me off a bit. Though it might just be because I thought it was impractical and stupid to waste money for such a thing when he has his usual slaves to work on that when they're not busy.

[collapse]

Second problem is, wow, too much repetition. In the scenarios, the words, the thoughts, the sentences. You name it. It came to the point where I started skimming or ignoring those repeated lines. And also, it felt like I was put in the shoes of a pervert who only wanted to expand his harem.

And one last thing that bothered me a bit,
Spoiler

the noble elf that took interest in him for some reason? Why? He realized it was him, big deal. It was enough to make him invite the main guy to his office to start a small talk? I let it go with the thoughts of "because the elf guy was branded as an eccentric and impulsive man" but I highly doubt that scenario would smoothly transition to them talking like that in the elf's room.

[collapse]

Though there's one scene I enjoyed quite a bit. It was when Sherry
Spoiler

got drunk and became dere. B E S T

[collapse]

Well, if you don't mind the stuff I mentioned then go check this series out. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Isekai Maou to Shoukan Shoujo Dorei Majutsu
February 2, 2017
Status: v2 afterword
It started off as another average isekai series and it has its fun moments. There are some inconsistent information in the story such as the part where Diablo stated in his thoughts that he can't read or write the alphabet of that world but then in the following scene it was mentioned that he read the terms of agreement because he can't be too careful.

But I really started struggling reading this series when

... more>>
Spoiler

Shera's (elf lady) brother came to visit them to take her back and something about talking with her alone to persuade her to come back with him to their kingdom. I mean, who even just agrees to that? Elf prince says that he stepped into their territory even though it's "dangerous" when just earlier he told them that their country was already full of elves and if he doesn't come back on time, they'll start killing the ones living there. That's a f*cking threat right there for f*ck's sake. And you guys just decided to leave her alone with a guy like that? Something's wrong with your brains.

Second issue is the state knight. Why oh why would you guys decide to trust such a suspicious person who is obviously trying to wring out information from you people? A person that says "I can't leave people who have secrets they can't tell someone else alone like that!" is pretty much waving a banner with "SUSPICIOUS" written on it. That, or she's just a nosy f*ck and scenarios with those kind of characters rarely ends well.

[collapse]

Anything else besides most of the actual important stuff that progresses the plot in this story is actually a bit enjoyable. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Asuka of the Scarlet Sky
July 12, 2017
Status: c77
Quite unexpectedly enjoyed this one mainly because of Thunderbolt. She's very adorable and quite a bit innocent. I don't understand why the main guy likes Asuka though. No impetus or anything for him to fall for her. Heck, even Captain Risty might be a better "Master" for him. But he still chooses Asuka because of "love". There's not enough explanation or reason for him to feel that way for her so it's unsatisfying.

There's plot progress on the side besides the ero scenes so you don't really get bored. There's enough... more>> mystery to some characters too (like that narcissistic hero they met on Arc 3). It's not a bad series but not something you'll regret missing to read. I skimmed through some of the ero scenes though.

Check it for the ero or if you're bored and have time.

NOTE: I want more Thunderbolt! <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
To Deprive a Deprived Person
June 13, 2017
Status: c165
It was alright in the beginning but the latest chapters are just bad. Too many things happening and plot advanced way too much without explanation on what happened. Literally he just suddenly ... more>>
Spoiler

have a bunch of powerful subordinates and he now has a private island and considered as king? What.

[collapse]
The author is doing flashback scenes to explain these but it doesn't erase the fact that it's crappy story progress. The first few arcs were pretty enjoyable but the latest ones are no good in my opinion. Hope it becomes better later on. Current plot is making me too lazy to continue reading this series. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
I thought it was gonna be some laid back story about an overpowered farmer but after 9 chapters of going "I'LL STAY AS A FARMER MY WHOLE LIFE", a few words from his village's chief and he's all, "Oh, okay. I'll try living another life then besides farming.". Wow. Where did your "solid" determination and will go? He's the type of character that says "I won't do it!" but does it in the end anyway. This trait can be seen as cute or good in some stories but it's poorly... more>> executed here it actually irritated me. This guy is probably the type to be forced to do things and get involved in troublesome events for no good reason other than being forced by his surroundings.

Also, the princess honestly annoys me so far. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Genjitsushugi Yuusha no Oukoku Saikenki
February 2, 2017
Status: v2 epilogue
I highly enjoy management / city building genres and this series is up to a good start.

Souma is a great guy. Though he does think that living a normal life is the best so he only thinks being crowned as a king is a huge bother. Nevertheless, he decided to make the country prosperous instead of doing a half-a*s job as a ruler.

The harem is not forced and the characters are all interesting people. While it's shown that he's doing a great job as a king, in the second volume,... more>> it was revealed that Souma is
Spoiler

"breaking", and the person himself hasn't noticed it. We then realize that he's still, in the end, a normal person after all.

[collapse]
And I find this quite impressive.

It's a good series if you're into kingdom building genres with a bit of romance at the side. The plot is not overly fantastic but it is still definitely a good read.

Also hoping it gets an official English paperback edition so I can buy it and add it to my collection. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
The Guild’s Cheat Receptionist
May 20, 2017
Status: v1 ss part2
Might not be for the people who wants the main protagonist to show off how powerful they are. This is a story about a Japanese boy reincarnated into a very powerful elven girl that she's basically like a god now if you read her specs and abilities. She decided to hide this fact from people though and live a comfortable and normal life as an adventurer guild's receptionist.

Because of her beauty and knowledge, she is popular with both male and females. We don't know if there'll be any romantic developments... more>> and whether she'll go with women because of her past life as a man, or go with men because of adjusting and accepting her new life.

It's a good read if you're okay with stories with the main protagonist hiding their abilities with a slice-of-life feel to it. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
A bit unusual from the overpowered summoned hero protagonists you usually find. The main guy, Masaru, is your average Japanese NEET who decided to one day, find a job for himself. He ends up being teleported to another world and he was told that that world will end up being destroyed 20 years from now.

Masaru, while his growth level is definitely faster than the others, still encounters difficult obstacles on his adventurer's life. He gets scared of dying, he gets beat up by monsters at times, but he definitely grows... more>> with all these experiences. While it can be pathetic sometimes, it's not entirely a bad thing. So, there's definitely character progress in this story.

There's also fast development in the romance front compared to other isekai titles and he eventually gets
Spoiler

4 wives later on.

[collapse]

It's a good story if you don't mind the protagonist occasionally being beaten by monsters and out shined by the others in his party, because they're definitely growing with all these experiences - level and knowledge wise.

I only have 2 problems in this series so far:

    1. Ellie can be annoying at times. She's a sweet girl deep down but geez. I guess that's a noble lady for you.
    2. It can actually get annoying when he gets beat up by monsters. He's getting strong but it's still a bit annoying hahaha.
Other than that, it's a good read if you want character development, good romance, and other world adventures. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
Eh? What is this? The first volume was okay and seemed like there's potential for the story to grow but I'm starting to think that the main guy is just an idiot?

The current chapter I'm in is when he ... more>>
Spoiler

established a club. What? You don't know what kind of club you want to make but you start it up anyway with these dangerous looking students? They're basically worshiping you and intimidating others to not waste your time. Instead of stopping these stupid flow of events (aka the club building with no specific goal in mind yet), you just stare at them and let it continue. Are you sure you'll be fine as the future feudal lord of your land?

[collapse]

Now, he's appearing as just someone who can give good ideas to make a land prosperous and talented in multiple things but dumb at managing or maybe even talking to people. Kinda disappointing. Expected more from this series.

Trying to read the rest of the chapters and will update this again next time if ever I change my opinion of it.

Giving it a 3 because I more or less enjoyed the earlier chapters. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Hisshou Dungeon Unei Houhou
February 2, 2017
Status: c32
There's not much to comment on yet with only a few chapters translated, but what I can say so far is that the main guy isn't stupid and he's not a pushover
... more>>
Spoiler

(at least not towards the people he's not interested in - he was pretty soft towards Labiris).

[collapse]

With the current progress of the story though, it definitely looks like it'll develop into an interesting plot. I'm looking forward for more chapters and will update this review again when I have read a sufficient amount of them.

Check it out if you're into dungeon building and witty main protagonists. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Arms Otome
June 6, 2018
Status: Completed
Honestly, this could be considered as one of my favorite yuri reads. So much potential with my favorite tropes included. But it was cut short. It ended way too early. She only got around 5 (I don't quite remember) Arms and her story ended then. They basically finished a huge fight and it ended with the author saying something like "their adventure of collecting Arms continued on" or something.

It was still a fun read though. Their interactions and how Yato finds the Arms precious, the Arms' desire to protect her... more>> and also how they adore her. The flow of the story and the battle scenes were good and this really would've been such a great story to read again and again if only it was longer.

It's short but it's fun. Oh and of course, don't expect any serious romantic yuri developments. Just yuri fanservice, for those who are wondering. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
calebra rated it
Re:Monster
May 20, 2017
Status: v2d93 ss
I actually put this one on-hold. It's a story about a human from a world different from ours - filled with people who have ESP - who was killed by a yandere girl and revived as a goblin in another world. He, then, started his new life, evolving and becoming a strong being as the story progresses.

My few problems with this is:

    1. It's kinda hard because they keep changing names when they evolve.
    2. The main guy kills for no reason other than wanting to eat them and acquire their skills. Annoying how he keeps thinking a lot of beings are just literally food unless you're useful to him alive.
So, around book 4 or 5, I got bored and annoyed reading this in the main guy's view and decided to start on another series instead. I will still read the later chapters eventually but it's not a priority for now.

Read it if you have lots of time to spare. Oh, and if you like the fact that he's strong and gets lots of wives and children.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
calebra
While I find the development of the land and people's livelihood interesting, the main protagonist can be, well, a bit naive. Or maybe just a bit too careless for his own good considering that he might get killed in that world.

Kazura is a normal Japanese person who, one day, won the lottery. Yes. He instantly became rich with a lucky draw. He decided to retire and live in an old house his family owns in the countryside. As he starts his life there, he realizes that one of the rooms... more>> connects to another place - another world. It hasn't been modernized yet and people have lately been experiencing famine because of the recent war. He decided to help them with his money that he won from the lottery. That's basically the story.

Considering how he quit his job and now has no other source of income, he sure has been recklessly spending his money to improve these people's live. While I am not against helping them, I just find it naive or just really stupid for him to do this considering how he realized that he actually can't take the nutrients from the food of that world so he still has to eat the ones from his original world unless he wants to die. He's also, as I mentioned earlier, careless, that it makes one think "when will he blow his cover" instead of "will he blow it". Let's hope he doesn't get threatened or anything when that time comes.

It's a fun read if you ignore those points I mentioned earlier. He ends up improving the lives of the people living there because of his modern knowledge, food and tools. Read if you like these kinds of stories. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report