Report Review
30 Reviews


bushwhacker2k
So the premise is perfectly fine, it's totally workable for an Isekai story... Then the author says "screw it" and tosses it out the window.

Despite starting with the absolute minimum stats possible and being locked at level 1, he goes into a dungeon by himself armed with one little wooden spear and no other equipment and mows down monsters by the hundreds. Already the author has completely destroyed the premise of him being locked in as a super weakling.

Then he finds a way to get stronger and he starts to... more>> really use it... at first... then he gets bored and stops training his stats and instead finds a gun and focuses completely on the gun (why he would focus on a weapon that his stats can't affect and requires consumables items when he has already found a way to increase his base stats, I have no idea).

Then the author introduces some disgusting enemies just to justify the existence and use of the gun.

Then I got fed up with the author not fleshing out any story, any purpose, any intention of getting stronger, any interesting RPG elements, and stopped reading.

I suggest you pass this one up. <<less
29 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
I've been giving it a chance but it's so vapid, shallow and black-and-white that I just can't put up with it anymore.

Main character is a "god" except that he acts only for the benefit of humans (which he and 5 other gods made in this world). It makes no sense in context and the only way it could "work" is if readers find his attitude relatable because he acts like other shounen-type protagonists (one-sided, morally self-righteous- not to imply every shounen protag is so badly written).

He gets outraged that the... more>> gods want their creation to worship them and demands that all gods immediately stop interfering with humans on their world forever. Unsurprisingly the other gods don't agree to immediately ditch their creation and just leave (to his surprise).

The story could still work even with such a shallow background story, if the author focused on developing characters through interaction to make them relatable and interesting... but the characters are just as flat as the premise.

I'd give this one a pass if you have any standards. <<less
14 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
I Shall Seal the Heavens
January 3, 2019
Status: c700
It starts off so well. The main character is interesting and fairly unique, and the progression happens at a pretty good rate. He seems intelligent and I like how he specifically doesn't talk during combat.

The only significant problem through the early part is the lack of romance, even when he's surrounded by obvious love interests. Even when he's basically devoted himself to a girl he loves, they never really spend any time together and they're constantly pulled apart, to the point that their relationship has no real depth to it.... more>> It gets to the point that they've been alive for literal centuries and have only even LOOKED at each other a handful of times yet they're both convinced the other is the love of their life (which I wouldn't have a problem with if they'd actually properly spend time together instead of just paying lip service).

For the rest of the story, chapter 518 is when everything goes downhill.

The author abandons most of what makes the story good and instead just uses cheap narrative tricks for emotional manipulation, like forcing drama and tension constantly.

Spoiler

Meng Hao 'dies' repeatedly, for over a hundred years each time, making the time he's spent outside of these timeskip segments seem so minor as to be pointless.

He constantly has to rush around to save someone or something important to him which is in immediate threat of death.

His parents show up then make excuses as to why they won't help him when someone way more powerful than him is actively hunting him.

Even before all this, he never spends time with his friends/loved ones anymore. Even the comedy relief characters who are technically always with him NEVER show up. It's so desolate, lonely and boring that it raises the question of what he's even trying to do by cultivating? Does he want to just spend eternity alone, as an immortal virgin?

At the chapter I stopped reading, 700, it's been literal centuries since he's seen numerous significant people who are important to him or at least consider him important to them. For cultivators who are already hundreds or thousands of years old, this isn't as big of a deal, but many of those people were under one hundred years old when he last saw them, would they even have strong memories regarding him considering the minor amount of time they have spent together?

Long, hundred, or even thousand year timeskips can be acceptable in the right context, but he's so isolated from everyone else that it's just become boring.

[collapse]
<<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Pure Love ✕ Insult Complex
April 26, 2018
Status: c437
I feel like this story was practically tailored for me.

This is almost certainly the best harem story I've ever read. Other stories tend to d*ck around with pseudo-harems or can't focus properly on the good parts of the harem. This is that harem story I've always wanted but could never find until now.

This is easily going in my all-time favorites.

(No Netorare at all, but there is Netori)
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Path to Heaven
January 1, 2018
Status: c62
Protagonist lets a girl on his side almost get raped and then she gets killed for no reason. He could do something, he just didn't.

Story was going fine, character was acceptable (a little scruffiness and selfishness =/= letting an allied girl get raped/murdered, please don't play apologetics for garbage writing), author just suddenly had a stroke and decided to make a retarded chapter.

(Also, Translation Nations website is buggy and won't let me make an account. I wanted to comment on the website itself but I couldn't.)
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
Premise is acceptable: protagonist and his entire class get teleported to a dungeon-like place and most of them are split up. They all have skills, but the protagonist has cheat skills.

It could have worked, but the human relations were totally nonsensical. Everyone he came across was either evil, retarded or guaranteed to die. It doesn't help that, despite the fact that he had ample opportunity to help others he never bothered.

There's no background personality to explain the course of actions the protagonist takes, he just acts out.

Also from what I've... more>> heard this was dropped by the original author as of chapter 29.

Don't bother, there's nothing of value here. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Goblin Slayer
July 31, 2017
Status: v2 prologue
Not fantastic so far.

Stupid children as adventurers, an irresponsible (but presumably knowledgeable) receptionist, and to top it all off there are side-stories already despite that volume one is basically a slightly long single chapter.

On the other hand, the main character himself (Orcbolg?), the Goblin Slayer, seems interesting. He's capable and experienced.

It's too soon to give a proper judgment on how good the series is, but I remain optimistic.
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Because Janitor-san Is Not a Hero
March 12, 2016
Status: --
Where in the world is the awesome art cover for this from? Even if I have complaints about poor translations- the opening story itself is such a vague mess with no characterization or ANYTHING happening that it becomes extremely difficult to read on. Not much has been translated of this thus far, but from the few chapters I've read I can at least say with confidence that this has an amazingly empty, slow beginning.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Breakers
May 27, 2018
Status: c214
My verdict: Very Not Bad.

It's not exceptionally interesting, but for the most part there isn't anything overtly wrong with it either.

The characters are likeable enough for the most part, no one is particularly deep...

Except my single biggest complaint is that the author won't stfu about how everyone wants Carack's d*ck. It's really out of place and distracting (plus unfunny).
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Shinka no Mi
June 1, 2017
Status: c30
The premise and beginning of the story was pretty promising, and it seemed like actual progress was going to happen... but the author seems to think his writing is a lot better than it actually is. The protagonist acts like a complete buffoon despite his absurd overpoweredness and so many unfunny 'gag' type things occur that add nothing to the story at all and only play on overused and unfunny tropes.

It would be a miracle if the story ended up being half-decent past this point.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Everlasting Immortal Firmament
December 20, 2017
Status: c189
(I suddenly realized I neglected to update my review a while ago, despite it being very out-of-date)

I recommend reading Chronicles of Gu Hai first, it's the prequel which explains some of the setup to this story and it's relatively short, but quite good. The ending part of it feels fairly rushed, but I think the author is still covering up some of the important events there which haven't been explained even at ch189 of THIS story. The first portion is completely about grand strategy in a conflict between... more>> two kingdoms, it has practically nothing to do with Xianxia at all. But it's actually really good! It does a fantastic job of setting up the protagonist and how fearsome his head for strategy is!

After that segment, he properly becomes a Xiantian cultivator and the story proper begins to unfold. His incredible knowledge of strategy and comprehension of human psychology never ceases playing an important role in the story, largely setting this apart from other Xianxias (or nearly any other stories at all). One of the more interesting things is that the protagonist is NOT young. Despite these stories being about people trying to attain immortality and living hundreds or thousands of years, they almost always start with teenage protagonists (which is weird IMO). He's a seventy year old man with a wealth of life experience and an extremely interesting and mature perspective.

I HIGHLY recommend this story.

(Not sure why the release schedule has gotten so slow but after a nearly 6-month drought, suddenly a new chapter was released 3 days ago! Hope for the future~) <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Against the Gods
November 15, 2017
Status: c613
The story really shines when Yun Che is chewing someone out for being evil and dominating with words alone. I really feel like those segments are the most enjoyable parts of the story.

The protagonist is genuinely likeable, but it can be pretty frustrating when things can't just be dealt with and it has to be a long, drawn-out process (it makes me feel like I'm watching One Piece, blegh).

It's enjoyable when he uses his disguising ability or knowledge of medicine, but it doesn't happen nearly often enough. This is actually... more>> a really significant letdown, when I'm reading a reincarnation story, the protagonist is supposed to utilize his past life experiences to get an edge- but farther in the story he does this less-and-less.

I'd say the single biggest problem with Against the Gods is that the author CANNOT deviate from the status quo for more than a short-segment. Yun Che must ETERNALLY be the underdog. The bad guy ALWAYS has to be within inches of victory. It's really annoying because the scenario plays out pretty much the exact same way in every iteration.

The biggest problem with this repetitive formula is that once you realize how formulaic it is, it becomes clear that it's a cheap emotionally-manipulative technique. It doesn't feel like a genuine story is being told and instead it's like the SAME story keeps being REtold. It has serious diminishing returns, until eventually the readers simply won't care anymore.

Another thing that bothers me is when the author rubs our faces in how close to immiment doom Yun Che's friends and family are while he's miles away or busy. It wouldn't be as significant a point if he didn't do it so often.

I finally realized the important fact that Jasmine is stupid when:

Spoiler

She took the Evil Infant's Wheel of Myriad Tribulations because she was confident she could suppress murderous, jealous or angry urges. This is ludicrous because those are practically the only things she feels.

It's like she's asking for trouble.

[collapse]

Ultimately, the story is overall quite enjoyable, but it has some seriously obnoxious parts. The author's inflexibility in regards to his story-flow are the greatest impediment to the story. I'd still recommend this, but it's committed too many writing sins to be one of my all-time favorites.

One final note: get used to Yun Che sitting back and letting a situation go on without doing anything once you get farther in the story. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Green Skin
August 3, 2017
Status: c44
Very similar to Re:Monster (which is significantly older).

Overall I have been enjoying the story but I find the excessive violence towards humans who are simply trying to survive to be really off-putting. It doesn't feel justified, and it doesn't feel like it even tries to justify it.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Zhanxian
December 30, 2017
Status: c102
This is 90% repetitive talking about how using this chi cultivation technique will awe others and give incredible results, and about 10% talking and actually doing things (like fighting).

The important stuff (the character interactions and conflicts) are so minimal and overshadowed by the verbose nothing that it feels like it doesn't really have any substance.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Womanizing Mage
December 26, 2017
Status: c608
(Revised my previous review)

Fantastic.

The start of the story is a little rough, but once it gets going it's really good.

The protagonist gets TONS of women. Practically every notable female he meets who isn't already taken becomes his (some would consider that a negative, but it's pretty refreshing to me, haha). There's a LOT of romance, flirting and s*x. It gets to the point that:

... more>>
Spoiler

He is known across the entire continent as an incredibly romantic person who flirts with practically every woman he meets and all the most beautiful women in the land are in his harem.

[collapse]

His women are almost entirely accepting of the fact that he absolutely has a huge, and growing, harem. Some even go a step further:

Spoiler

One of his women says he can take her little sister as his woman too (which he eventually does) and one (who he's already deeply involved with and has had s*x with numerous times) even says her widowed mother is in love with him so he should get with her too.

[collapse]

Initially the story makes it seem like the protagonist will be completely unstoppable almost right from the start, but it quickly turns out he's got a long ways to go before he becomes truly powerful. He does continually get more powerful and IMO the rate of growth is acceptable.

He's generally quite powerful compared to his enemies, but sometimes he is outmatched. He usually comes out ahead regardless though.

One thing I find refreshing: there are VERY few instances of people making moves on his women. The setting is not insanely rapey like some other stories (which may be ironic considering the start of the story).

Unrelated to the review, but I've had a bizarre feeling of deja vu reading this story and there are some segments I swear I've read before despite the fact that their upload timeframe makes that basically impossible (unless someone tinkered with my memories). <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Chronicles of Gu Hai
December 20, 2017
Status: c24
Great prequel for Everlasting Immortal Firmament. (Not actually sure why this is separate from it since it's a continuation and this is so short.)

The first portion highlights his skill as a merchant, the second highlights his stragetic ability, both in boardgames and in warfare.

The latter portion of the warfare segment and the following chapters come off as extremely condensed, this is probably my only complaint of this story. I don't know when this was made in relation to EIF, so this might have preceeded it or it might have... more>> been made later to fill in some blanks.

I highly recommend this and EIF (even though only 24 chapters of EIF are translated as of this review).

EDIT: I forgot to mention an important point! This story has practically nothing to do with Xianxia whatsoever! That aspect doesn't come into play until around chapter 20 of EIF (the sequel) ! <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Chaotic Lightning Cultivation
December 18, 2017
Status: c239
Be warned: This protagonist is not clever. He's not smart. He consistently isn't careful of obvious dangers and doesn't make much of an effort to protect those he cares about.

Additionally, there may not be a single actually 'good' character in this entire series. Everyone seems to be mostly selfish and definitely murderous.

But even after that, it's still enjoyable enough for me. It's a fairly solid Xianxia (+ s*x).
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Bringing The Farm To Live In Another World
December 15, 2017
Status: c53
The premise is totally workable (though it is overpowered to the point that it removes most of the tension). It's not a combat buff, so the author would have to innovate with how the protagonist becomes successful and survives.

My biggest hangup is the narrative perspective and constant repetition.

Everything is stated, "Then he did this and they were surprised. This happened and they went here." Novels are best told from a first-person perspective, where the readers can embrace the perspective of the protagonist and their feelings, like they're experiencing the story... more>> through them.

The repetition gets really annoying, to the point where it feels like there's no progression of the story. Yes, I understand that his farm is powerful and that grandma is a magician, you don't need to remind me every chapter. With story-telling like this, it's almost understandable that there are over 7000 chapters... <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
Cult of the Sacred Runes
November 11, 2017
Status: c166
I really like this series, in many ways it's very similar to Tales of Demons and Gods.

... However, on several occasions I've seen really atrociously bad writing.

He doesn't tell people what he should be telling them; people don't understand what the signs of a demon are, despite having years of experience fighting them personally; and he delays dealing with important things for no obvious reasons- and gets immediate bad repercussions because of it.

I still like the series but the segments where people are just being stupid are really painful to... more>> read. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bushwhacker2k
bushwhacker2k rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
September 21, 2017
Status: c74
Solid Isekai story. The protag has spent the entire novel up to this point (chapter 74) as a child (and will likely continue to do so for quite a while longer), though he IS steadily aging (which is pretty unique, most stories they either don't age or they age through long timeskips).

My only two major complaints:

1 - This isn't really a "harem" story (not yet, certainly). Pretty much all the females he spends time with are in relationships with others and he's young even at chapter 74 (which is the... more>> latest chapter as of this review).

2 - The cooking segments bore me to death. I wish Isekai stories would stop beating this dead horse trope already. We get it, you like Japanese food, stop writing about it in Isekai novels.

I highly recommend this, a very enjoyable Isekai novel. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report