Report Review
31 Reviews


bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear
August 7, 2018
Status: c169
Very lighthearted, very fun.

No real threats to the MC, I'd say her biggest issue is just dealing with being stuck with Bear everything.

The series is a bit slow moving, I'd say it's more slice of life and heartwarming than action packed.

Hell, half the fun is that the MC is wearing an embarrassingly cute bear costume while doing everything.

But the series avoids many of the traps these Isekai novels fall into.

  • Isn't constantly concerned with the game setting and constant skill gaining/reports, once you get past the beginning bunch it's pretty rare.
  • Isn't overly concerned with converting everything from new world money into yen and being amazed by how much they made (seriously can't stand how many novels do this).
  • MC doesn't spend a bulk of the time lying about everything trying to hide themselves so they can be superheroes and isn't the oblivious to consequences give everyone second chances type.
  • MC is fairly intelligent and doesn't spend huge swatches of time being locked by their past worlds behavior (Oh no I can't talk to girls, oh no I was a loser and picked on, oh no I want to lead an ordinary life and GO HOME). Her behavior feels entirely natural and she straight up is glad about her new life experiencing things she never would have before.
  • The author is very self aware of most of the tropes and is pretty upfront about focusing on fun first and foremost instead of deep world building or serious arcs or hidden plots.
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
June 4, 2018
Status: Completed
While the novel is addictive and I love the setting, there was 2 things that each knocked off a star. Basically around the time he gains access to his human form for large periods of time the novel slowly goes downhill.

The first is that I really didn't care for his girlfriend at all, she had no character or interactions with him beyond being a waifu.
Spoiler

He lies to her constantly. He NEVER tells her more than the bare basics of his trait. He never trusts her. It's just lies, minor jealousy fit, bedroom makeup time, repeat. Pretty much all of the other girls were better written.

[collapse]

The second bit is the ending, I found it really unsatisfying. Not terrible just empty.
Spoiler

I loathe resets, and this one isn't even fully resolved beyond a "things are looking up". And both the end "fights" are like a short paragraph.

[collapse]

Oh and as one extra tidbit, after he becomes big and powerful he does very little to power up the world to help fight back beyond a few very powerful very rich people. It's very much a power trip, but an annoying one.
Spoiler

Mostly it's just his own organization he builds up and that takes place behind the scenes typically (as in briefly mentioned but not really written). Which would be fine, but he knows the freaking world is ending soon. He even waits 2 months to hold a press conference to warn that things are accelerating after finding out.

[collapse]
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
I Became a Hero in a Pandemic
July 3, 2018
Status: c64
Lewd s*x scenes are okay.

The basic premise is okay.

Translation is freaking terrible. To the point where I can't complain about many other things because I'm not sure if it's being conveyed correctly from the source. Is the MC a simple re**** or the authors attempt at a typical japanese protag? Because he really feels like he's a re****, not as an insult as in literally slow minded and simple. Lots of minor continuity errors like how the zombies will eventually die of starvation because their metabolism is still moving that... more>> is mentioned several times as how humanity just has to outlast the zombies. Yet it must be 6 months later now there's no mention of zombies starving to death or looking haggard. But I'm just not sure if it's something the author did on purpose or a typical web novel oversight due to the translation. Same with the many situations of we did X because we were worried about Y yet Y suddenly becomes ignored as the author does what he wants or Y is just extremely arbitrary.

The MCs... experiments... are really ****ed up if you will pardon my french. Again due to the translation I'm not sure if it's being conveyed correctly, but even past that filter it was just painful to read and also felt like a very badly thought out experiment. And than the results are just ignored for the most part since he never tries to make use of the findings on any other zombies later on (never looks for any that don't have obvious injuries). That entire mini arc is very much just wtf.

Spoiler

His semen cures zombies, and his blood ends up killing them. I really want to know what would happen if a male was bitten in front of him or if a 400 pound ugly old lady was. Not because that's my kink, but because somehow it's always a sexy middle or highschooler that it happens to...

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
What the hell did I just read? Too bad it's a dead translation, the basic premise is pretty interesting and I want to read more. Seems like deep down the MC knows he's not right in the head as well. And god knows he has good reason why he is the way he is.

But like the other reviews mention, damn are the women evil. Even after they know his terrible past they still beat the crap out of him ruthlessly or set him up for another beating for little to... more>> no reason. I get that it's mostly for comedic effect, but it's a CONSTANT theme through every chapter to the point that I agree with the MC and think they must be tsun for him.

"If your gender does not fall under potato, I will never respond to your confession." <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
Everyone Else is a Returnee
June 4, 2018
Status: Completed
While it is a power fantasy, it's also pretty fun and the world is interesting. About my only complaint is towards the end.
Spoiler

All the planets merging into one mega planet made zero sense to me.

[collapse]
Otherwise it's great. Yes it is a harem, but honestly it's not as bad as most of them out there and it's a very slow building one not a I WANT TO BEAR YOUR CHILDREN BECAUSE YOU WERE SORT OF KIND OF NICE TO ME ONCE sort of thing.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
The Experimental Log of the Crazy Lich
June 1, 2018
Status: c180
The basic idea is pretty solid, and there's some great parts, but I just can't continue reading it. Not sure if this is the authors first writing or what, but the flow is absolutely terrible. While I understand it's all world building, the constant sidetracking to explain the setting or past history has become beyond irritating. It is literally just interjected throughout anywhere the author feels it might be relevant and breaks events and plot lines. And 9/10 of it is completely unneeded to the point where anything important is... more>> just buried in all the fluff.

Which is sad because I actually like the characters and the plot has some nice zigs and zags even if the author does occasionally lose track of himself or run on "fun" tangents mid event. But this war arc has killed my will to continue. With the characters all over the place and the MC now doing some stupid singing trying to coax magical ice horses for several chapters now, I'm just done. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
Not terrible but nowhere near good. Waaay too predictable, you can see what the author is going to do every step of the way. Characters are also pretty one note and follow the usual tropes. No new or interesting character twists if you've read any other light novels. And I like romantic bits normally but the setup for each scene was so obvious that it wasn't much fun.

And the MCs base idea is terrible. He really thinks he's going to stop the war that way? He knows what his superiors... more>> and the other uber holy warriors are like. And he still thinks that plan would actually do anything...

Also the super convenient neutral territory between the 2 enemies, wtf? It already embodies what they both want yet the author only uses it as a place for the two to meet each other. Think that's the main problem with the story, far too much feels contrived by the author instead of feeling natural. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
This 3 isn't because it's terrible. Honestly I straight up laughed out loud in places. It's more because in general the story is rather meh. There's barely any interaction with other players, or even people in general, so far 90% of it is solo or with her friend from school. Just feels like a missed opportunity honestly.

I will also confess I am a bit jaded with the mmo novel genre, so skill ups and new OP abilities bore the hell out of me, these type stories are at their best... more>> when the MC is doing interesting stuff with their existing abilities and thinking outside the box. Here it's a mixed bag. The MC is doing hilarious stuff with her abilities, but things move so fast that it feels like instead of mining the potential of existing abilities the author just tacks new ones on top as fast as he can.

But the beginning is freaking amazing, and various places are a blast to read. Mostly when it's Maple being Maple. But at the same time too many stretches just get boring. Honestly it kinda reminds me of Kuma Kuma Kuma Bear in humor, but not as fleshed out. Honestly this sounds like a pretty **** mmo to play, the mechanics just don't really work. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
Darenidemo Dekiru Kage Kara Tasukeru Maō Tōbatsu
September 24, 2018
Status: v1
Pretty solid read so far. MC is a badass which is fun and has an interesting viewpoint. Heroes party is delightfully quirky. And it is a blast watching the MC have to lead everyone by the hand while dying inside at how useless they are.

However about midway through the novel takes a bit of a dive. And now it's all about him wearing masks and having to hide himself to help them from the shadows. Which I found a LOT less interesting.

And the hero does get really damn annoying. While... more>> I understand he has his reasons for why he does a few of the things he does, but in the end he acts like a complete noob that is going get everyone killed as he refuses to work out his own issues. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
Eh it's okay, beginning is more fun than later on. Basically anything takes ages to happen, really doesn't feel like there was 200+ chapters of content here. In general the MC is surprisingly decent for an isekai novel. Not a giant pervert. Not a huge wus. Actually sleeps with one of the girls (yet not the rest even though it would be A-okay). Main things against it were:

-The constant focus on the side character duo. They are rather amusing when encountered but I don't need whole chapters dedicated to... more>> them. Later on it feels like there's 3 separate stories moving at once because yet another character is now being followed and it's annoying. And the MC getting annoyed at them acting lovey dovey and sending out wind slashes at their feet is just stupid after the first few times, he has his own freaking harem with 2 girls he KNOWS like him. Get pissed about them being complete idiots instead.
Spoiler

-The sister. ~50 chapters of teasing her entry. ~100 chapters for them to meet up after said entry. And than like 10 chapters before she's ****ing kidnapped. REALLY? I was looking forward to the yandere personality of hers being added to the mix instead of just an "oh I tested you and you passed and now I'm gone" thing. Extremely dissatisfying.

[collapse]

-The jobless "class" itself. I see what the author was going for but it just feels like a stretch to me. If restrictions were added to make them seem like "part time temp jobs" or only parts of jobs were represented than it would be fine. This freely swapping things around multi-jobbing constantly seems more like an "all jobs admin" than a "I have no job" type thing. Even taking into account that it's a bug job it's kind of off putting. All in all a decent series and didn't feel like a waste of time to read. But not really great either. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
Comfy and cute for the most part. Very much a slice of life novel that's slow moving.

I really liked how the MC is powerful, but only compared to normal people. He's still far below any of the heroes party. And his attitude is even better, he fits his role of being a guide to a T. The relationship he builds is great and is just fun to read.

Plot spoiler below. Basically worrying about a potential tonal shift that might happen.

... more>>
Spoiler

I'm rather worried about what's going to happen when he gets found by the hero party. He loves and misses his sister and she legit needs him since the hero trait has killed most of her feelings. Most of them didn't even want to kick him out and/or knew he was the glue that kept the party moving and want him back. But doing so will ruin his shop and probably screw up his budding relationship and kill most of what makes this series fun to read. Hopefully the author has this planned out and isn't just making things up as he goes.

[collapse]

On a random note I'm not sure why the synopsis even mentions "Together with the Half-Elf Carpenter living downtown", since he's just a friend that reappears several times and I wouldn't call him a main character by any means. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
Nidome no Jinsei wo Isekai de
July 20, 2018
Status: c86
Really enjoyed reading it. Pretty fun group dynamic and the cast is solid and each has their own personality that is more than just varying types of dere for the MC. MC is refreshing as well. Smart. Has no problems killing or making heartless decisions for the good of his group. Isn't a bleeding heart that has to save everyone. Isn't the usual dense harem protag, even if one is building around him much against any interest of his. Helps he has solid reasons for not... more>> going the distance with any of them. About the only complaint I have is that the author gets a bit too into the MCs thought processes so you have several pages of deciding what to do in a situation. While it might in actuality be only a few seconds of time, it just feels odd having 2 pages of discussion before entering the big creepy door for example. Minor but it happens often enough to be noticable. Minor spoiler with another minor complaint:

Spoiler

And the fact that one of the reasons he decides to go to the world is new and interesting food there. Yet so far it is literally just him remaking things from earth and being thrilled about it. Oh this is the new name for rice. Oh this is basically a potato. With the MCs personality I would think he should have decided he needed to drop kick God again at least once by now since he has YET to eat something delicious made by someone not related to him.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
Because I’m a Weapon Shop Uncle
July 1, 2018
Status: v2c24
Really liked the idea behind it. And the first volume was fun enough. However the second volume completely kills that momentum and throws a twist in that is unneeded and not entertaining to read. Feels like it becomes a completely different story, one that has little to do with the series original idea, and I doubt I'll continue following it.

Volume 2 spoiler below.

... more>>
Spoiler

Basically the MC was summoned into this world, but into the betrayed heroes dead body. Second volume has the original owner of the body waking up and taking control again (even though he wants to stay dead). Than most of the volume devolves into him chasing after his lost romantic interest to say farewell or whatever.

Would have been far far better just having the MC deal with the problems of walking around in the heroes former body.

[collapse]
<<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
The Spearmaster and the Black Cat
November 30, 2018
Status: c87
Has some interesting ideas, but in the end is pretty meh and I have no interest in reading further.

He's a vampire that has no downsides, especially after leaving the caves early on (the MONSTER being a virgin counted... really?). It also barely comes up other than being able to regenerate all damage instantly. So why even make him a freaking vampire? Basically he's so OP that he's never in any danger and can just brute force his way through everything. And it's not a fun crazy OP it's a boring... more>> zero tension OP.

MC is the upfront pervert type. Which is fair enough I guess, but his willingness to do anything and forgive anything for a cute girl gets old after awhile. And like others have said he has a tendency to half ass everything until everyone is dead or dying, even the ones important to him, and than he actually uses his skills.

Author has a serious case of ADD. Tons of minor plot/quest threads are constantly scattered around or encountered and than ignored. Or one is suddenly followed while the something important gets put on the back burner (usually due to a cute girl being involved) and time stops for the important thing somehow. This isn't as noticeable early on, but once he's going between cities it gets pretty bad. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
Sairin Yuusha no Fukushuu Hanashi
November 6, 2018
Status: v2
Not terrible but felt pretty unsatisfying. I couldn't bring up enough interest to keep reading what's been translated honestly.

The "pure" demon king that wants a revenge too but seems to be the authors brakes for the hero. The hero that is a complete re**** and plays his hand early against his first target, and fails to kill him TWICE, but is like oh I knew about the robe and had worked out ways around it. I mean finally during volume 2 he gets a revenge... but even that was pretty... more>> weak really.

Basically the author is too soft and the hero couldn't plot his way out of a paper sack. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
An A-Ranked Adventurer’s “Slow-living”
October 25, 2018
Status: c38
Really cute and fun. More slice of life and slow paced, there's barely any action at all. But I enjoyed it a lot and it's great to see that the author isn't afraid of progressing things.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
I Became the Hero’s Bride!
September 24, 2018
Status: Completed
Pretty fun read, but keep in mind there's really no action.

I will say there are some yaoi undertones (which very much is not my sort of thing), mostly because the prince was an insanely feminine acting and looking boy before the change. Especially in his interactions with the hero. But he does full on become a girl, an insanely hot one might I add, and it can't be reversed so it's more gender bender at the end.

Half the fun is in the other characters, they are all delightfully insane. I... more>> think the hero is the only full on normal person really. Like EVERYONE is bat**** crazy. Even the prince is a bit out there mostly because of their own gender confusion even before becoming a girl. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
September 24, 2018
Status: Completed
So.. the MC is insanely refreshing in this novel. She is an absolute blast to read and had me in stitches far too often. The author really aced this character and made her viewpoint offbeat and weird without seeming like he is trying too hard or reducing her to re**** level actions. The ending is also great and the underlying story makes complete sense and I was very satisfied.

I will say that the synopsis for this isn't entirely accurate. Without spoiling too many things there IS a grand purpose to... more>> all of this, and she never really thinks that last line of " (Why do I always get picked up by the same person every time I reincarnate? Haaaa...) ". It's more like "YAY master found me again!", largely because her reincarnations aren't cut and dry repeats.

Also a few of the arcs do get a bit annoying or boring and could have probably been cut. You can only watch her rebuild her power so many times before it gets irritating, but the saving grace is that she is just as pissed about it.

And lastly there are a few loose ends or oversights. Nothing too terrible but I felt like the author forgets about a lot of characters as soon as they are out of sight, even though the MC should care about them a lot. The dandelion girls, the obviously fast handling of sesame, her female disciple with the special veins, the boy from the very beginning, and so on. Sometimes they reappear, but even than it's a quick shove off to the side a lot. To be fair though every novel introduces even more characters.

If I took any one thing from this series, it's that if I ever meet a woman with a reverse harem I should run for the hills to the other side of the world if possible. Even more so if I am a woman as well. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
The Man Picked up by the Gods
August 29, 2018
Status: Completed
After a great opening and setup it felt like the author dropped the ball hard.

I really dislike the main character. He is allowed to do no wrong, EVERYTHING he does/says has people patting his back. The author wrote him as a master of all trades, magic, magic research, melee combat, life skills, and several crafting professions. He feels like a character from Skyrim with all this done in seriousness not as a jokey character. His slimes are used as a crutch because they can do everything and just need water... more>> or sunlight to live, so there's always just some NEW sort of nifty slime skill that can do X or Y for free. The only reason his businesses even function is because of that crutch. I mean sure at first it's fun, but 4 volumes later it's still happening.

I hate the authors writing style. Everything is narrated by the MC instead of experienced. There's no fumbling through crafting processes or learning how to do X, it's all described afterwords by the MC that he had done X. And most dialogue feels very basic and barebones with common polite exchanges making up the bulk of it. It just felt like there was few actually interesting interactions over the course of the series.

And keep in mind that the author dropped this series after running out of ideas and is now remaking it. Which of course is going to happen when you write your MC as a master of every freaking skill with the personality of a polite radish. I personally have zero interest in reading the remake since I felt no progression for the author over the course of the books, in fact his narrative habits felt even worse by the end. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
bkwrm
bkwrm rated it
Starchild Escapes Arranged Marriage
August 15, 2018
Status: c266
Eh it's okay.

I rather like the concept behind it, and parts of it are great fun to read, but it has a few issues.
    • For the large amount of chapters there's really not much story progress that happens. Many of the fights just get dragged on for too long.
    • Not a big fan of the Trials concept. Basically 70%+ of the novel so far takes place in dreams where the MC grows stronger but there is very very little progress in the plot or relationships during this time.

      Well in fact there IS progress in the relationships, but it is almost all reset since everyone else barely remembers the dream upon waking beyond vague impressions.
Love the MCs personality, love the base plot revolving around trying to avoid getting killed by girls that love him, and the cross dressing doesn't really bother me since I thought it had a logical reason.

But about midway through the 3rd Trial I just started getting bored knowing it was like 100+ chapters that were about to get reset soon.

Spoiler

On a side note I feel the stars are trying to teach him how to make a harmonious harem instead of the warpath he has always walked.

Which is interesting since it's the opposite of most of these novels.

[collapse]
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report