Report Review
13 Reviews


azuron
azuron rated it
Reborn As a System
July 22, 2018
Status: c21
A really well-written and well-translated novel, one that should be able to satisfy any yaoi-lover as long as they are not prejudiced towards any of the genres/tags.

So far, the story is pretty engaging. An interesting and unique aspect of this novel is the presence of a background story (or post-arc) that is equally as engaging and relevant as the arcs.

There is a good chemistry between the so-called system Shi qing and the main lead Qing Mo. Their scenes together are ample and manages to evoke the reader's interest, but not... more>> enough to be oversaturated and nauseating.

Characters are pretty well developed owing to good background description and do not come off as bland or one-dimensional.

Overall, worth a read. Not only because amidst the sea of "system administrator" tagged novels it has its own niche and manages to stand apart from them. But also because the story and characters make it an enjoyable read. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Shift! The Side-Character Heroine
July 9, 2018
Status: c109
Skip first 2 paras to directly go to the facts.

My 2 cents: Ah where do I even begin. I know. Well, there are certain things in life which are so bad, so really really bad, that they become a novelty instead; a source of a twisted enjoyment obtained from the feeling "oh how bad can it get? Let's continue." And that is exactly what made me stick until the aforementioned chapters.

Qidian International- An extremely professional platform dealing with "legitimage" and "legal" translations of chinese novels has a certain brand value... more>> associated with all it's subsidary novels. So, when such a renowned publisher endorses such a... ludicrous piece of ill-timed joke, it really questions their sincerity. It also puts forth a question "What the hell was the translator smoking when he or she picked up such a... garbage?"

Plot: Now, coming to the actual novel. The introduction itself screams "turn back bro... dont waste yo' time". Incoherent, incorrigible and illegible. You will understand nothing. Someone must have held the author at gunpoint and forced them to write a world travel novel because, all we get is a garbled collection of sentences not even bothering to describe the powers of the protagonist, instead jumping straight into an even deeper quagmire, which brings us to the next part, the body of the novel.

For people who have read the recent quick transmigration novels or "FOD" one can expect the arcs to have a bit of originality, right? A little bit of cliches are unavoidable. We dont get that. What we get instead, is a butchered and reassembled collection of cliches along with... get this... FAMOUS JAPANESE ANIME PLOTS deconstructed! Thats right! **** copyright law! **** the readers! This is the fun part because it was so bad that it was funny and I was forced to give a star for this. And arcs get progressively worse. Oh right. You want nicely wrapped giftpack... a story that flows, right? Too bad you won't get that. Instead, what you get is a "hot-mess" (as someone else described) where the protagonist frequently dives to and fro from the real world into story world whenever she feels like it. And when she doesn't? We get a COMPLETELY IRRELEVANT DESCIPTION of the real world which we could care less about. And these "intermissions" add absolutely zero value to the plot and are boring a.f. Mostly they span across multiple chapters. You get the jist.

TL;DR: Boring, short, cheap arcs, and redundant, long, nauseating post-arcs.

Characters: The protagonist is bland, one dimensional and extremely shallow. As for the side/supporting characters, they are zero-dimensional: Points in the story whom you will never notice, and if you do, will quickly forget. Protagonist has no redeeming qualities, a vague, poorly defined special power, and breaks character often. Poor world-building and bland storytelling does not improve our impression of her.

Overall, poor story, bad world building, ridiculous ideas, extremely bad execution. Forget a flowing story, this felt like being dropped in the midst of a stormy sea- moving to and fro, drowing and flailing. I would be amazed if someone can even stick to 10 chapters of this epitome of stupidity. Even my 10 year old sister can write better stories than this. Skip it, unless you like cringe-worthy novels. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Return of the Female Knight
February 7, 2019
Status: c9
The format of this novel is pretty fascinating and the multitude of images makes the story more fun to read.

It is too early to say about the characters or the plot, but the translator did an amazing job. The emotional parts are really gripping. I don't think I will be getting bored of this, anytime soon and really looking forward to it. Also it doesn't use any of the common troupes of this genre so it's kind of a fresh storytelling.

For those who like romance and time travel (second chance),... more>> this is a pretty decent read. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
February 8, 2018
Status: c230
Repetitive, same old face slapping comedy routine in every arc.

The opponents are always like: Hey, what can a young man like you possibly know about the ancient/profound art of *insert xianxia profession here*?

Then the same 'ol face slapping begins and afterwards, all hail our MC.

I am dropping this because there is no reason to continue this. I know that even face slapping comedies have something or the other that attracts the reader and keeps him hooked. It may be a side character, a romantic interest, etc. But unfortunately for this... more>> one, glorifying the MC is all there is to it.

Will recommend till chapter 30. Will not recommend further <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Rebirth: Degenerate Slave Abuses Tyrant
June 25, 2018
Status: c20
Excellent start. MC is likeable and strong. No ML introduced yet but the translation is well done and there is no fluff yet. I hope three translator can maintain this speed.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Rebirth and Redemption
June 5, 2018
Status: c4
As someone completely unaffected by the rape tag, I am unable to understand how a novel with such a nice premise has a rating lower than 3.5. Although the translator used present tense a lot of times, the lack of an editor makes it completely understandable. Because, when a chinese text is MTL-ed, the entirety is written in present tense.

As far as the story goes, so far I am loving it. Rebirth- check. Responsible and protective gong and delicate yet strong shou - check. And I hope there is a... more>> little bit of face slapping, but a short, sweet novel where everyone is happy from beginning to the end is fine by me. I really hope that the translator is not scared off by the low ratings and continue it. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Rebirth of the Rich and Wealthy
February 15, 2018
Status: c12
This looks great so far. MC is caring for her family while prudent towards her enemies. She doesn't drastically go guns blazing and face punching those who harmed her. She uses her brain to come out of predicament, and, when the opportunity arises, an amazing face slap is born.

Her family is really nice too, and she utilizes them perfectly. Good read so far.
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Need to Propose to Seven Men What to Do!
July 9, 2018
Status: c23
An engaging story and a superb translation. So far I am loving it. A unique, yet good chinese novel is hard to find with all those reborn empresses and harem lords swarming around. And yet this one lives upto the expectations.

There is plenty of focus on world building and character design. But the meticulousness of the descriptions, does not in any way, eclipse the awesomeness of the story. And neither is there an unnecessary info dump that makes you feel "aww man".

The shameless yaoi protagonist is pretty quirky too. Overall,... more>> worth a read. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
I Want To Enjoy A Country Life!
July 24, 2018
Status: c21
Good plot material in the beginning and middle parts, great fap material towards the ending.

Story: An entertaining and light-hearted short read, with very little fluff material, and a well planned out, simple, yet not juvenile plot.

Characters: Multiple POVs, when done correctly, can be an amazing literary device and significantly boosts the entertainment value of a novel, rather than a monotonous 1st person perspective or an unimmersive 3rd person perspective, as observed in Game of thrones, which is exactly what we get here.

Not only do they augment the novel, but... more>> also, add a depth to the characters, all of whom, are likeable. Despite them falling into cookie-cutter tropes, one cannot help but like them. I am glad that the "modern world knowledge" is not stretched too much (unlike what RTW did) .

Tl;dr: Worth a read assuming you love yaoi and are 18+ <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Qinglian Chronicles
April 26, 2018
Status: c11
Loving this novel. Has an interesting premise much like UPX. Let's hope it stays that way until the end. Yaoi is love :p

Edit: Since I am translating this myself, I don't think my vote counts anymore. Still, NU doesn't let anyone delete their comments.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
The Lover’s Prattle
February 4, 2019
Status: v1 epilogue
Arc 1 review:

A short and sweet arc, with well fleshed out characters. The translator's vocabulary is excellent but does not overdo it, leading to a perfect story. The lack of exposition does not create a sense of dissonance and incompleteness. Instead, it makes the reader focus on the core plot instead of extraneous expositions.

Character dynamics is pretty amazing, and I love how the male lead can maintain a delicate balance of cordiality and politeness with his ex. Every character, every event seems realistic and the relationship between the leads develop... more>> gradually over time. In general, I tend to be indifferent towards vanilla heterosexual love stories, however this one just hits the mark. The side characters also receive suffucient exposure.

Great job, author and translator. I highly recommend this novel, or at the very least, volume 1 of it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
I’ve Transmigrated Into This Movie Before
January 13, 2019
Status: c2
I had immense hope for this novel seeing the 5 star reviews and reading the summary. Unfortunately after reading the 2nd chapter, I am dropping this. I shall refrain from rating the novel too low since translation quality is good enough. However one might wonder about the blatant contrast between the reviews and overall ratings.

If I had to guess I would say that the initial attitude of MC and even her mother towards her malicious grandmother is extremely off-putting. This is clearly not ancient china settings where the characters are... more>> unable to resist the oppressive demands of their so called elders. Also it's inconceivable how a "movie empress" was unable to fight back against an old woman, not to mention her daughter willingly acts submissive towards her indirect murderer. The main lead (I hope he is) is nothing to write home about and is extremely off-putting.

This review is solely based on the premise/pre-arc and I will not be going into the arcs, simply because my initial impression of the characters is so so so bad. If you can ignore the flawed characters, and can pass through the initial hurdle of illogical submissiveness and maliciousness, you should be able to get into the arcs, in which case your opinion will fall into the 5-star bracket. But if you are completely unable to relate to the characters and completely loathe every single one of them, there are plenty of other novels to choose from that floats your boat.

[Disclaimer: This review portrays my subjective opinion as a reader, and only as a reader] <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
azuron
azuron rated it
Ore no Negai wa
July 28, 2018
Status: Completed
It's like a visual novel- same start, yet two different endings.

Chapter 1 is nice, funny and kinda sweet route.

Chapter 2 is dark, brutal and cruel route.

Both have the same moral where the MC is punished for his greed. The first chapter is a slightly funny punishment. Chapter 2 was the worst punishment I can ever imagine.

Worth a read.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report