Report Review
90 Reviews


auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Jun Ye Can’t Help But Tease His Wife
July 23, 2018
Status: c200
An adorable story so far. I'm hopeful that it won't become all dark and gloomy in the later half of the story like some other ones I've complained about. The romance is pretty damn adorable, and I do hope that they will be able to solve the ML's disease, even though it was what catalyzed their interaction. Love the MC's and ML's families, especially the MC's brothers. Her elder brothers are so sis-con that it's hilarious, plus how the younger brother gets ganged up on and beaten by all of... more>> the elder brothers. I do wish the MC were a little stronger and smarter and less naive though, but I guess that's what the ML likes about her? But the MC is 25 years old already, why do I feel like she reacts and acts like a teen most of the time. Emotional immaturity, ai. Bing Translate is pretty readable, thank god. Due to lack of time, I'll be skimming through more series, but I will definitely be back to finish this one. <<less
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
The Big Landlord
August 5, 2018
Status: Completed
This story has been quite a ride, and I've enjoyed every step along the way. Ai, recently in my search for new good BL, I've started having to read more and more raws with Bing Translate. The raws for this were especially elusive. Not sure why. But I found them, and couldn't stop until the very end.

I love the main couple here. The MC is basically OP, and he is very smart. Please. I love smart MCs. I really enjoy when the protags can use their modern knowledge to succeed... more>> in their transmigration, and the MC definitely succeeded here. He used his brains and his resources/backing quite well to accomplish what he wanted, and was handsome and physically strong to boot. The ML is also OP, though not as well-rounded as the MC. Of course, he doesn't have to be. Much of his OPness is built up before he meets the MC, mostly focusing on being crazy intelligent and crazy strong. He might not have the knowledge/awareness of business or science-related research of the MC, but he is pretty damn fast at learning it, and never hesitates at supporting the MC with money, politics, or people. Their relationship is so sticky and adorable, and the ML is possessive but gives the MC total freedom to do his own work. Plus sometimes the ML just doesn't have to do anything so he just helps the MC and takes care of him. It's a mutually beneficial relationship, and one that turns 1+1 to more than 2. Honestly, I love this couple so much. The ML gets so shameless when he's with the MC, and the MC puts up with him all the time.

Of course, I have to shout out the supporting characters as well. We get to see so many couples that the MC and ML are good friends with come together, with plenty of gay couples as well. Likely inspired by our low key yet high key couple. The extras are adorable in showing how they act later, though we usually don't get much details on how the gay couples get together. I do find the new emperor being one of them quite entertaining though. Oh right, the MC's younger brother is adorable and super sticky, and he and his cousin (?) are so cute together.

Loved reading this for the plot, the business enterprising, the warring, and the romance. The addition of another transmigrator was an interesting point, though it didn't make too much of a difference in the overall scheme. The gradual unearthing of the ML's countless loyal spies definitely made for interesting reveals. I also appreciated that the MC does tell the ML eventually about his transmigration, since there are plenty of suspicious points ("what's a nervous system??"). Love this, and recommend.

Edit (1/2019) : Just reread this story after quite a long break from LNs, and it's still as good as ever. If you don't like OP MCs, stay away. Also, there are probably 2 big topics in this LN, 1 of which is the action and strategy/fighting which gets quite complicated, and 2 which is romance (lots of it). There are couple of loopholes that I'm still a little confused about like what happened to the Ziwei emperor in the end? Did I miss something the second time around? But w/e, you have to really love the MC and ML's relationship, or else you won't be able to stomach their constant showing love. I also really love the side couples, more than ever. There are a few couples I would have liked to see more fleshed out so that we don't just see them constantly fighting and arguing, but that's fine. Still recommend. <<less
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
I’m Scattering IQ to the Protagonist
August 23, 2018
Status: Completed
Since I have a very large, possibly life changing exam in less than two weeks, naturally I should best prepare for it by reading totally relevant light novels. For the past month I've been browsing through jjwxc for quick wear, my most recent obsession. Specifically BL quick wear ofc. In the past week or so, I've probably gone through around 5 different BL quick wear novels, not finishing any of them, after a string of around 5 other pretty damn good ones. Do you know how hard it is to... more>> find a BL quick wear where 1. The MC doesn't just immediately have to leave after he finishes the task/has to die or have a tragic fate in every world, 2. The MC is affectionate and loving toward the ML instead of being a cold and emotionless person without love, 3. The MC is OP and black-bellied instead of being a weak naive dumbass, and 4. There's some sort of actual interesting plot in the worlds and slightly in the overall story instead of being some sort of matchmaking system or something like a lot of the BL quick wears?? Of course, the presence of large gold fingers is also a major plus. And the inclusion of modern/ABO/interstellar/apocalypse worlds. Probably bc I've read so many cultivation LNs, I've been more enthusiastic about those worlds rather than cultivation/animal ones. Oh and of course, I appreciate smut. Tho these quick wears rarely have much in the way of that, but I did find one earlier that did include more on that so < ( ̄︶ ̄) > (kaomojis have started growing on me after reading so many adorable BLs with prolific use of them)

But yeah, this has been on my reading list for quite the while now, and after a period of slight frustration, I found that it actually conformed to my requests quite a bit, and quickly blew through this. While the worlds didn't include everything I wanted/the plots weren't ideal, I did find it quite interesting, esp the interaction between the MC and the system. I often find these naive systems really annoying, but the MC being OP made up for it. The love between the MC and ML is adorable, and the possessiveness of the ML is always a great addition. Plus the MC seems to quickly also get really attached to the ML, and this reciprocity always makes me happy. Though the previous premise of scattering IQ doesn't quite last past the third world, instead turning into a sort of reverse the plot of the original owner, I do enjoy that. Probably due to my wish for some sort of plot in the worlds instead of just romance, I've been quite drawn to the cannon fodder BL quick wears, since reversing the cannon fodder fate counts as a quite interesting plot point, and the MC is usually relatively strong and smart in those cases. This one didn't disappoint. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Entertainment Industry’s Gourmet Food Service
August 3, 2018
Status: Completed
Loved this story. The synopsis sounded pretty hopeful, and the story definitely didn't disappoint. I've always enjoyed these BL slice of life-esque stories (favs include Rebirth of Supermodel and CIFB), and it's always nice to have something extra added to it to spice things up. I've always a sucker for interesting space stories, usually in the apocalypse, but while it's not too large of a plot point here, the space is used quite effectively.

I love the MC and ML here. The MC is nervous at the beginning, not quite sure... more>> why, but he gets pretty confident and smooth with the ML as they grow closer and eventually get into a relationship. The MC is pretty OP here, and the balance between his cooking/restaurant and his acting/modeling was smooth. Idk if I might have liked seeing some more of either side, though I would have liked more chapters with epilogues of the children or the future of the couple. The ML is the typical OP business/political guy, though I don't actually see him helping out the MC too much, unlike in other stories. Instead, he basically transitions into a stay at home dad halfway through the story, which is endearing.

I'm personally a fan of Mpreg. I mean, the downside of BL is that they can't have children, and while some couples don't want anything to come between them so they're perfectly fine with that, I'm sure some of these BL men would like to have children. Usually, though, Mpreg is through Omegaverses, which I'm usually not a fan of. I just don't like relationships or behaviors being influenced and forced by those hormones. Omegaverses are just full of drama and angst. While the Mpreg is pretty far-fetched here, I was a pretty big fan of it, and it does become an important and adorable part of the plot.

I wish these BL stories had more translated chapters! All this Bing Translate is making me dizzy. But the MTL for this is not bad at all, and just thinking about some of the food makes you hungry. Especially when you're on a diet. Recommend. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Overlord (LN)
March 28, 2018
Status: v12 afterword
Honestly LOVE LOVE this book. Took a while before getting around to writing a review for Overlord, since I've mostly been thinking of it as an actual book instead of a light novel.

I would say this is probably the 2nd? Light novel I've ever read, so there's definitely some sentimentality there (right after the King's Avatar). Watched the anime, and after rewatching several times decided that I wanted to know more. I didn't regret it.

The MC is OP af, which is so satisfying. Plus he is OP from the start,... more>> so there's no cultivation and rank up BS at the beginning. And the side characters are all amazing and OP as well. I love seeing him dominate over the rest of the world, especially with his genius Demiurge and Albedo. I'm this satisfied even without any ostensible romance, which is a rarity. The comedic moments are great as well. I'm pretty addicted to this series (probably reread 3 times so far?), though volume 12 should be split with volume 13, so there's definitely some cliffhangers there. Looking forward to the next volume! <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
The Captivating Crown Prince
March 15, 2018
Status: c209
Super excited for a reverse harem novel after reading a streak of harem novels. I feel like MC has the ideal reverse harem, with 5 super beautiful and powerful guys doing everything they can to help her out. Loved it and started reading the raws, but after a while I just got super bored and to be quite honest, really frustrated w the MC:

The MC is super cold, which I usually love bc no one needs those weak whiny female MCs. But it gets to an extent that I just... more>> feel super bad for the 5 men in her harem, like they're literally desperate and she's just blocking off her heart to them. I get that she's super traumatized by her past and the betrayal, but for hundreds of chapters I felt so bad for the peach blossom guy for being rejected constantly just bc of his eyes which he can't even control. I'm sorry dude. This girl is just an ice block. Though I guess I was also super frustrated by having to MTL the raws. I don't care about the fact that the MLs fell in love with the girl like on first sight (it's pretty satisfying actually) but dang this MC just brings up so much drama bc of her icy heart that I'm just shaking my head while having a headache from MTL. Dropped. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
The Antelope and Night Wolf
August 5, 2018
Status: Completed
Hmmm. I would say I both love and hate this story. Conflicting feelings are rampant.

Honestly, I really like the MC's personality. He's pretty damn strong mentally, considering what he's been through in his past, and almost always cheerful and happy and determined. Plus his shamelessness is pretty damn amusing, and the interactions with the other people online are absolutely hilarious. I literally couldn't stop myself from laughing multiple times while reading. To my surprise, I wasn't as big a fan of the ML as I usually am, likely due to... more>> what I'm gonna discuss.

While I really do enjoy the romance and the humor and shamelessness here, I guess I'm just not as comfortable/as big a fan of fetishes or BDSM, so when I kept reading about the MC literally falling over and drooling over boots, I was pretty creeped out most of the time. Plus with the S&M relationship, idk, seeing the ML "torturing" and "controlling" the MC for their pleasure wasn't exactly the most romantic or enjoyable for me. But that's only because I don't understand the draw of it at all, and likely also bc I can't imagine being as unguarded or helpless as the MC during those times. But these aspects are written quite well, so people who are fans of these two areas would likely enjoy it.

Lots of angst in certain parts. The MC has really suffered, both mentally and physically, and when they were going over his past, I definitely started tearing up pretty intensely over what happened. Though I guess based on what happened, the MC is happier with the ML than he would have been if they hadn't been designed. My last annoyance is that both of them never really confessed to each other, and the bad gaming equipment trope is used a couple times to foil the very rare attempts to do so. Overall, a short and pretty enjoyable read. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Long Live Summons!
March 25, 2018
Status: c630
Love, love, love this book. Brings me back to Womanizing Mage, though YY is much slower in managing to get to home base with his girls. I am a big fan of the MC: OP, shameless, clever, and pretty courageous. The ideal MC. The girls are all pretty amazing as well, with each one stronger both physically and mentally than the other. The summoning system is pretty reminiscent of Pokemon, which is quite entertaining and pretty unique from the cultivation of most of these books.

Really enjoy the light-heartedness (so far)... more>> of the novel, though I am slightly put off by the fact that he has so many fights with people who are way above his capabilities and has to hide each time. Can't they space out their fights so that he can handle them?? I guess the author does this to stop him from seeming *too* OP, though that might just be me. Romance is pretty good, though I would have like it to be a lot faster (each girl takes at least a hundred chapters to be wifed). I would like to know what happens later in the novel, but the plot is pretty convoluted and the MTL is quite confusing, so I'll be waiting. Maybe if there are more chapters translated in the future I'll keep reading. Paused. <<less
7 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Back to the Apocalypse
July 31, 2018
Status: Completed
A fast but very satisfying read. Big Rebirth of MC vibes, with the MC reborn to around a year before the apocalypse, then meeting someone strong who they are able to support to the top. I think both MCs had the space cheat as well. I'm a pretty big fan of the MC here, though he's not that smart as I would usually like, likely due to his previous life's total uselessness. He's definitely grown up and matured a lot from his past life, but there's not much you can... more>> do with a poor foundation. The ML is set up as someone half evil half good, but when they meet it seems like the ML totally indulges the MC, which is adorable. There's not much drama, whether relationship-wise or danger-wise, though I did sometimes get frustrated by how many times the MC denied the ML. I wonder if the MC would ever tell the ML about his rebirth. It'll be a little sad if he doesn't. Though I am happy that he did tell the ML about his space secret relatively early on, and they are pretty damn attached to each other. The ending is kind of anticlimactic lol, with befriending sentient zombies (reminds me of God and Devil World, if I'm not remembering incorrectly), and then just blowing up one of the MC's bigger enemies. Would have liked some epilogues about their relationship, but still satisfied. Recommend. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Superstar Aspirations
July 29, 2018
Status: Completed
Alright, bear with me here. Since I read Rebirth before this, and these two novels are relatively similar, most of this will be based on a comparison between the two. Brief disclaimer that Rebirth is one of my absolute favorite novels now, so even though I do slightly prefer Rebirth over this, Aspirations is still an amazing amazing story.

The main reason why I prefer Rebirth is mostly just based on the MC and ML personalities. MYxXZ is more of a bickering couple, with two strong and hilarious personalities. They're stingy... more>> and totally in love, so they would never adopt. This also means that they revolve almost 100% around each other—in Rebirth, we never really meet XZ's family, and MY doesn't have a family, and they might have friends but I don't remember seeing any really close best friends. RYxQC is not the same. If I were to look at their relationship dynamic, I would say QC is on the losing side most of the time, as long as we're not talking about physical battles. Both XZ and QC are cold/scary MLs, but QC has that disgustingly meng side as his trumpet, while XZ's trumpet is still as domineering, though with a healthy dose of dog food. But no meng. I also feel like RY's personality is slightly softer than MY's, plus QC's quite close family and both of their really close friends in the Qin Crazy group, so while RYxQC are still really attached to each other, I don't get the sense that they are completely attached as with MYxXZ. You can kind of also tell the relationship dynamic from the fact that QC was the only one who fell in love first, while both MY and XZ felt a draw towards each other upon first sight. MYxXZ are not the type to say sweet things to each other like "I love you" or "I miss you" or stuff like that, preferring to communicate through their actions. But RYxQC are totally the opposite. I feel like confessing to each other is all they do sometimes.

Something I'm slightly disappointed by is that RY never told QC about his rebirth. XZ already knew about MY's, plus MY further explained it to him, so it feels like RY is just hiding it from QC. IT's not a big deal, but as with RY threatening QC so that he can hide the Qin Crazy group from him, I was just a little disappointed that RY told QC that he would tell him everything but still hides certain things from him. I feel pretty bad for QC most of the time lolol, something XZ would never suffer from. Also, why couldn't they make more of a connection to Rebirth? Sad! The only connection was RY appearing on Muse. Given the year is around 2040s, and Rebirth was around 2020s, I guess MYxXZ would be in their 40s to 50s? The supermodeling career is shorter than the acting career, I suppose. Also. Also. Why was the ending extras couple so sad? I thought it would be some nice and sweet side couple, but they made me start crying T^T. I demand dog food! Instead I almost got glass residue with a knife! I have no idea if I'm using this Chinese slang correctly but after you've read it so many times in the Weibo comments, I've come to start using them. Recommend.

Edit: Almost forgot to mention the most important part. This author MCH writes some of the best yaoi s*x scenes ever, man. Read at ck101 to not miss any of this juicy goodness. I would have to say, even though I do prefer Rebirth, the s*x scenes in Aspirations are more... adventurous. ;) <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
National School Prince Is A Girl
July 21, 2018
Status: c1666
Currently on chapter 1666/1923:
... more>>
Spoiler

Another novel I love and hate. Especially all of these long ongoing novels. I dislike those cliffhangers, man. Why isn't it completed? I want those HEA!

I am a big fan of the MC. Gender bender novels, particularly ones where the girl is confident, shameless, handsome, and clever, are amazing. I get very salty whenever gender benders are shy and weak, especially when they become shy and weak and easily embarrassed boys. But here the MC is tall and handsome enough to bewitch all genders and all ages. Silver hair also sounds amazing, though for sure IRL it probably wouldn't look as good as it's written. Also, the concept of her monthly period being painful is used twice to add complications, and then never again addressed. Also can I say I totally love her car and would like to order one for myself pls.

I would say that the worst thing about this is the amnesia. I really dislike when amnesia is used, since it really bothers me. I feel like memories make up a person, and especially when the ML gets totally amnesia'd, I felt really painful for the MC. It's hard suffering through the distrust and constant fear of your lover leaving and forgetting about you, possibly even turning against you on someone else's whims. So yeah, I disliked the amnesia trope. Also, I quite enjoyed the gaming aspect of the story, which reminded me of TKA, but later it seemed like everyone just started retiring all over the place. Plus they even dissolved the team. What exactly was the reasoning for that? Bc the ML got his wish, they just randomly dissolved the team?

I do believe that after the ML regains all his memorizes, aka the last 1/5 of the story, was much better slice of life instead of constantly worrying about his amnesia. Plus the MC and ML are aboveboard together and sugary. I do really enjoy all of the side characters and couples, but I do wish that they could have focused on the MC and ML even more bc obviously I care about their sugar a lot more than all of the other couples. When can I see the MC in college? Is she even going to college? I have no idea what's happening. This is why I don't like ongoing series. But the MTL has been pretty good, and the amount of tears I've shed over this has been substantial. Will come back to see what happens. Chapter numbers are totally wonky though.

[collapse]
<<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Honey Stewed Squid
June 30, 2018
Status: c1
I need to amend my requests for female MCs from being smart to having both a high IQ and a high EQ. I've only read the first few chapters and the last 10 chapters of this story, and I'm already dying of second-hand embarrassment here. Your chasing after the guy is torturing me, the reader, much more than it's hurting you. Sigh. One would think that before playing a game, she would at least look through a couple manuals/guides right? Right? Please, tell me how this high IQ person is... more>> so idiotic. Also, I feel like the ML has way too much of the power here, esp since the female MC can't do anything. This is the result of doting on your kids too much, guys. Of course, since this is only based off of around 15 chapters that I could stomach, at the extreme ends of the story, this probably isn't a real review. But I don't doubt that I would have been KO'd by embarrassment in the middle. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Very Pure and Ambiguous: The Prequel
May 28, 2018
Status: Completed
Ah...I haven't read a stallion light novel in a while, and VPAATP reminds me of why I enjoy the genre. This story is pure fun and wish-fulfillment, what's there not to enjoy when reading for the laughs?

After a period of emotional and angsty novels (BL genre am I right), I decided a good old harem novel would do the trick. VPAATP did not disappoint. Especially at the beginning, I got good FOD vibes, where the OP MC uses future knowledge to quickly rise and exact revenge on their previous lives.... more>> You call their revenge tactics plagiarism? Who cares? It's still immensely satisfying to see all the face-slapping that occurs, and for one I find it enjoyable that there's not much serious obstacles since no one needs over the top drama. The story is quite chill and amusing, with the classic stallion tropes of infinitely loyal brothers and friends and wives. Thank god the new reborn MC is OP, courageous, shameless, and clever, since I would probably pull my hair out if I had to read about his dense and timid old self. Naturally our MC must conquer every girl who sees him, which is always really satisfying and a booster to our MC's ego. But after a while, you're just like pls MC with your status can you not add every single single pretty woman you meet to your harem? Have some standards at least! I was also a little iffy about the 17ish wives deciding together to not have any children after LY—do they not want to have children of their own? 17 women sharing a single child is a little overwhelming to say the least.

A welcome and addictive read—LNMTL is pretty good, and maybe I should just keep reading stallion novels, since LNMTL seems to have more of those in store ;) A great story for when you don't want to move your brain too much but still get enjoyment and amusement, which I definitely did. Would recommend. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
I’m Not Shouldering This Blame
August 2, 2018
Status: Completed
This novel was surprisingly amazing. As in, it's been a while since I've read a light novel with such an intense and interesting plot. I feel like the plot and world building and setting was quite unique and gripping, and since I enjoy spoilers I definitely liked following along the summaries while reading the story itself.

Even though the romance probably isn't as sweet or cavity-inducing as in the previous BL or romance stories I've read recently, it's still quite endearing and adorable. Not too much is known about the MC's... more>> background (at all), but he is shown as a pretty gray character, just wanting to live a simple and comfortable life. Actually it seems like the MC and ML had opposing starting points, and are now flipped (from MTL, seems like MC came from a rich family but was orphaned (?), and ML came from a poor family but is now obviously rich and famous). The MC has a pretty cold and emotionless personality, but he does have high IQ and EQ (as does the ML), which makes the romance and interactions between the two enjoyable rather than frustrating. They are both quite smart people, so even when they later earn their powers, they are able to work together quickly and carefully to survive. Of course, the ML is the light to the MC's darkness, shown in many different ways. He seems to be pretty much a perfect human. Enough said.

Honestly, the setting of the story as a book kind of reminded me of TRAP, and made me question whether all their fates were decided, given how much everything seemed to be influenced by the book. While the villains didn't die in the end, it seems like interpersonal relationships and events (the MC and ML being together, certain inventions, etc.) did occur. Free will, or fate? A quite intriguing question, and the use of the transmigration trope in this way was quite interesting, and pretty reasonable from the transmigrator's point of view.

MTL was pretty easy to understand, thankfully. The novel definitely dragged me in, and while the MC and ML don't seem to be as OP as they are claimed to be (what's with all the monsters immune to them huh), they are still plenty powerful, especially the MC. Love their trust in each other, and love this story. Recommend. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
You’re Beautiful When You Smile
June 30, 2018
Status: Completed
I frickin love this. Huge TKA vibes, especially bc of the esports plot. I've grown to really enjoy stories about esports, probably bc video games are so prevalent IRL. I have many friends who are obsessed with LoL, and while I don't know much at all about the game, I don't really need to. I love that the FL is a pro gamer, and that she was a really strong girl, both mentally and in terms of gaming skill. Being the only girl in a competitive space is difficult, something... more>> I've also experienced a lot in my math competition days. The pressure and need to be better is pretty intense, even when it's not explicitly or intentionally made to be that way. I think TY really experienced that, and she was able to succeed, something that I find really important in supporting girls everywhere. I personally can't really relate to the FL's petite kindergartener vibe, but I'm sure that only compounded her problems. Sigh.

The ML is a somewhat OP, possessive, jealous, etc alpha, and I love the interactions between the FL and ML, a lot of fluff there in the later half of the story. Though I would have liked a more explicit buildup of feelings between the ML and FL (I kind of thought it was happening but I couldn't really see too many signs) esp since the ML is frickin tsundere lmao (though tooth-achingly mushy when he wants to be). HOWEVER. I'm very angry now after finishing the 191 chapters bc there's no epilogue?? Why does the story just end when they win? Hello? Isn't this story like half romance? You gotta show me their happy families! We didn't even get to meet the ML and FL's parents! What's going on here?? I was seriously frustrated by this frickin ending. You can't just give me a spoiler about what the ML wants to do for the rest of their lives and not actually write out some sort of HEA after the win! Pls!

Sigh. I would still seriously recommend this story for the romcom and esports vibes, though don't expect to get diabetes epilogues, unfortunately. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
Definite A+ for the many smexy scenes and thanks to bread for hashtagging those chapters. I feel like Japanese ecchi novels are always written for elementary students in terms of the writing itself (obviously not the content). Maybe it's lost in translation, but the writing is really simplistic and vocabulary is extremely limited. I wouldn't say I really understand the story at all or the attempt at a plot, but the fem-dom scenes kind of turned me off, along with the weakness of the MC. This is no RtK with... more>> an OP MC and a need for a counter. Overall, not terrible. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Grasping Evil
March 27, 2018
Status: c67
This novel was solidly meh for me, despite having all the tags that would usually attract me to a novel. Read this during a very stressful and busy day, perfectly solved by spending hours reading this novel.

For me, this was pretty bland, maybe I just had much different expectations/standards than some of the other raving reviews. I expected a harem, but until around 70 chapters MC is basically romancing 1 girl, and she's literally 13. Some reviewers say this is a hot and steamy novel, but the s** are basically... more>> just 1-2 sentences? He enslaves some people but barely 1 sentence is written about him "cultivating" with them. The MC is not great with girls, his master who was originally pretty strong and manages to get OP literally 1 second later becomes almost dead. So many really anti-climatic, really unsatisfying moments. MC is pretty weak and somehow keeps having to fight really OP end-game people, which seems really idealistic and gives some unnecessary levels of stress. Saw a spoiler about MC having good friends, but none of them have appeared so far, so MC is just a loner with some really personality-less girls who we barely see him interacting with. Where is the steaminess?? Where is the harem??

Okay so I might just not be there yet for the much-desired harem and romance. Not much is translated, and to get there I would probably have to spend a long time reading through a bunch of philosophical arguments about Dao and a bunch of really disadvantaged fights where he barely survives and then maybe I will manage to get to some harem members with possibly 1-sentence s** scenes. I also have nothing against the villainous lead, some of my fave MCs are pretty evil and shameless, but I would appreciate it if he had more personality? Maybe a sense of humor? Maybe if the members of the sect were actually evil instead of making me confused with evil and righteous sects? The MC is claimed to be a genius, but I don't really see anything about him being smart and clever besides consulting the inheritance knowledge from the Immortal Emperor. Dropped. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
The King’s Avatar
March 15, 2018
Status: Completed
Not going to lie, I'm an obsessive fan of The King's Avatar. Found the anime on MAL one day and decided to take a chance on a Chinese anime. It was super weird listening to a language I was actually familiar with instead of tuning out Japanese, but I was instantly hooked on TKA. Ye Xiu is the BEST. I love OP MCs and face slapping, and Ye Xiu totally delivered on that.

I've probably rewatched the anime like 5 times, and after 2 times I decided I needed more, so... more>> I picked up this novel. This was the first light novel I've ever read. I don't even play video games, and probably totally su** at it, but I found the esports scene really fascinating. These people are all adults, so there was no needless relationship or other drama, and the prospect of a literal gaming GOD training people and hiding his identity due to him finding fame unnecessary and honestly super tiring was really frickin exciting. I loved reading through his struggles and OPness in literally destroying his enemies, and decided to MTL the raws bc I couldn't wait for one chapter a day to be actually translated. Constant headache, but worth it. I would have liked for the book to continue past his win, but I'm happy regardless.

READ THIS NOVEL! You don't need to even like playing video games, and honestly it was probably better for me not knowing how to play so that I wouldn't be analyzing the flaws in the game. Read this for its slice-of-life-like personal life, face-slapping action, and most importantly Ye Xiu's sarcastic and hilarious personality and interactions with the rest of the gaming celebs. His confidence in his skills is just so satisfying. Honestly their interactions are some of the funniest and best parts of this novel. Also read this for the feels! So many feels! Real life sucks, and having a gaming career is hard, man. I would know, bc I've read TKA. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
One Hundred Ways to Become a God
August 10, 2018
Status: Completed
Another great fast wear story. I would rank this close to if not equal to FOD, and I feel like it's also almost closer to slow wear? Each arc is much longer, around 25 chapters or so, which is like 2 arcs in those usual fast wear stories. I quite enjoyed it, especially since it wasn't as fast-paced by squeezing an entire plot into like 10 chapters, so there was more to focus on the romance between the MC and ML, though still less smut. Sad. But yeah, I liked... more>> that the MC and ML are always able to find each other pretty quickly, and even though I definitely liked certain arcs better than others, and I would have preferred if there were more arcs where the MC face slaps people and shows off his talents, the change of pace is still pretty nice. The ML is as usual, adorable, and the MC is pretty great and indulging as well. Gotta say I'm still pretty confused about what exactly the ML is in the reality arc, but it doesn't really matter. Recommend. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
auroraRMC
PiCrazy31415 rated it
Rebirth of a Supermodel
July 28, 2018
Status: Completed
Decided to read some BL before the end of my LN phase, and this is definitely a new favorite. I love this novel so much. I think it's the perfect story, tbh.

MC is perfect. He's the uke but he's strong. He's OP at what he does, clever, confident, black bellied yet approachable. Literally he's clawed his way up to be the very best in his previous life, and his previous life is quite tragic, though to no one's fault. But luckily, the MC was able to bring his talent and... more>> personality, combine it with the OP body, and become totally dominant. The ML is adorable as well. He's as usual domineering, possessive, etc., but he doesn't push the MC up to the top. He controls himself pretty well, only supporting the MC (quite lavishly) from the back, and just acting as his biggest brain-dead fan in general.

Often the story was really amusing. The glaring weaknesses of the MC (acting and cooking and handwriting) are in no way smoothed over, which quite dramatically sets the MC up in a more human manner by saying you see this perfect supermodel has these total failures. I've also found myself a big fan of these modern novels, if only for the absolutely hilarious Weibo or Weibo-esque fan comments. I live for these comments. I think I've seen them probably in the MWFRL universe stories, GoM or GoC stories, and then here, and possibly in other ones. They're just hilarious and so relatable. Plus all the kaomoji really add impact to the comments. Sometimes I wish our celebrities were that dog food-like or hilarious on Weibo. Or possibly they are. These are the times I regret not brushing up on my Chinese enough.

The romance is still one of my favorite parts though. The MCxML might not be one of those cavity-inducing couples that say I love you all over the place, but they fall for each other and don't hesitate to make that known to each other. I don't deny that they're really perverted (some of the best s*x scenes ever, and I'm the type to look for those) and absolutely a black bellied bickering couple, but especially later in the story I definitely started crying multiple times from their indirect proclamations of love. Plus in the extras when the ML sees and accompanies the MC's previous life, which I thought was quite new, I also became quite emotional. Oh yeah, many thanks to those who suggested reading on ck101, or else I might have missed the extras. I skipped the LCxST (?) ones, just bc I was too invested in the main couple to care about them, though I'm sure they're really good.

Sigh. Frickin love this story. It's definitely risen to one of my top 5 light novels ever. We'll see if the other one is as good. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
1 2 3 5