Report Review
11 Reviews


archigoel
archigoel rated it
Library of Heaven’s Path
December 29, 2016
Status: c132
I have read ahead till c132.

It's very entertaining till now, and there are awesome "Face slapping" scenes. But, I don't like the direction book is going:

1. Whole story is "modelled" around Face-slapping, which though may feel good initially, really makes the story very silly. Till now I just see events to show how great "MC" is. These kind of stories dont hold my interest very long.

2. MC can learn anything at click of button (like NEO did in Matrix). My favourite part in Xianxia is where MC spends countless efforts... more>> to learn and achieve a skill. Here power and skill is gained like in western novels - u gain power immediately, without any effort.

Author seems to be writing for the subscriptions and I don't see long term coherent plot here. Also, MC has started getting "Super arrogant", which I absolutely despise. <<less
110 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
archigoel rated it
Magic Chef of Ice and Fire
January 4, 2016
Status: --
I have read this book quite further using SYSTRANS. ... more>>
Spoiler

Story starts out fine but as plot progresses, MC becomes increasingly ruthless. Eg: MC searches for a Job, a restaurant owner insults him and doesn't hire him. Pissed, MC goes back in night to kill that person.

When I read the scene, I was seriously distressed. Do people in China think such behavior is GOOD?

Similarly their are couple of more incidents like this. It really put me off the book.
Chef is someone who feeds others, not kill others on smallest issue.

[collapse]
<<less
56 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
archigoel rated it
A Record of a Mortal’s Journey to Immortality
January 7, 2016
Status: --
This book is very good in the initial stages, but as you approach 250+ chapters, you quickly start getting BORED. MC is absolutely concerned with himself. Story remains true to the title... telling how MC is progressing, but after some point, I just dont care about him. Frankly, story becomes absolutely damp squib.
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
archigoel rated it
Cultivation Chat Group
August 15, 2016
Status: c630
I have read ahead using systranslate and IMHO, it one of the best Books out there. Especially if you have already read a lot of xianxia, this would be like a breath of fresh air. It is humorous in nature and author has written this beautifully.
15 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
I don’t know why any body will rate this book high, I just didn’t like it. The plot settings are so simple and inconsistent that it just didn’t make any sense. The magic system has many flaws, and the story just doesn’t get you excited. Everything seems to happen in easy pace. Even for Jap novels with their pastel reality, this one is one of the worst stories I have read.
13 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
archigoel rated it
Ze Tian Ji
January 1, 2016
Status: --
Simply the best Xianxia out their. Frankly this story has spoiled most of the xianxia works for me. After reading this I realize how stupid, shallow and pathetically vengeful MC’s in normal Xianxia are. I have read this till 718 chapters (using systranslate), and all complaints about powerup etc will be addressed. If I EAT Tomatoes works are 90% powerup techniques, getting treasuers with 10% of story mixed, then “Way of Choices” is 90% story with 10% other random stuff.
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
archigoel rated it
God and Devil World
December 28, 2015
Status: --
Books start was simply great. I read further into the story (using systranslate). Author quickly changes gears from Post Apocalatic/Fantasy elements which made the story great.

MC quickly powers up and goes on a very nauseating EGO Trip.

eg:
In once scene, new army recruits break & run away while facing a monster. Afterwards, MC has them shot in COLD BLOOD. Just 3-5 months ago he was a normal person, now he becomes ruthless as an old general.

That such tripe is liked by readers is frankly amazing.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
archigoel
Release that Witch
October 19, 2016
Status: c378
This is one of the best Novels I have read, and one of the few I have kept in track with Raws (including Cultivation Chat Group, Ze Tian Jie, Five Way Heaven).

This reads much like western novels, where a persons reincartion actually matters. MC uses modern knowledge to slowly transform the world. Writing shows the deep research author has done to write the book.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
archigoel rated it
Close Combat Mage
January 1, 2016
Status: --
Seriously most unrealistic and idiotic book I have ever read. Usually MC is reincarnated so has knowledge of previous birth so his exceptional growth makes some sense. But here a normal 8 year old gets and does things which is absolutely “ILLOGICAL” in the story framing.

Some people point to lack of fights. I am fine with it and even initially enjoyed it when MC developed Beauty magic. BUT as soon he gets money and power, he gets full blown Machiavellian. All the schemings and disgusting stuff. And he is only... more>> 8 -10 years old at this time.

Frankly I have read 1000+ western novels and in NONE of the series/books does MC goes on power trip or become egotistic and ruthless. BUT in most (except very few) of the xianxia, all the MC as soon they get the POWER, become incomparably ruthless and egotistic. Frankly most of MC are even worse than villians in western books.

Why does chinese authors have such mentality? <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
archigoel rated it
My Disciple Died Yet Again
February 11, 2016
Status: --
Very Nice Story. I have read till Chapter 78, and story has been simply fun. It will be interesting to see how author will continue this pace in future chapters, but till now if you have been bored of standard Xianxia's, this one will refresh you.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
archigoel
Super Epic series. Although I have only read till end of Part 1, story seems to be very good.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report