Report Review
15 Reviews


arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
My Fiance is in Love with My Little Sister
September 15, 2016
Status: c26
I'm up to chapter 26 in the raw, currently the latest chapter as of 9/15/16.

I decided I wanted to write a review but I'm awful at putting my thoughts into words. So, I'll give you a list of why you should read it (or at least wait intensively for the translations to come out). (I ended up writing a lot anyways, and the lost only has two things lol.)

- Ilya
Ilya is the protagonist, whose fiancé is in love with her little sister. Throughout the story, she witnesses the... more>> two fall in love and lives her life as a person in between their relationship. However, inevitably, she dies, only to come back to the starting point of their love story, and her back to being stuck in the middle. Through the many hardships, discoveries, traumas and mistakes she lives through, she really matures as a character.

She's not like a normal shoujo-type protagonist. For the good that she has (her undying devotion and loyalty of love towards her fiancé), she also has plenty of darkness in her heart.

I personally find her to be very relatable, and I can really sympathize with her. When she feels pain, I feel pain. When she grieves, I grieve for her. I think the issues she deals with would be pretty relatable to anyone. Things like unrequited love, an inescapable fate, pressure received from society, inferiority complexes, low self esteem, betrayal, etc.

I advise readers to be careful as she can be unreliable as a narrator (as you can see in a later arc). Keep in mind that this is first person, she is only speculating on how others see her, along with how she views herself. Her self esteem is not very high in the first place, and she has an inferiority complex towards her sister (not really a shock considering the stark differences in their treatment). Her expectations have also died somewhat. When she assumes something about other people, take it with a grain of salt.

As for other characters, sure. Al is definitely one of the best side characters, but others will be love or hate I guess. So far, each character has proven to be important in advancing Ilya's character growth, and I am looking forward to more interactions between everyone. (I feel like a M.)

- Story
The story itself is very interesting. Like I said before, it follows Ilya as she repeats her life of being stuck in between two people in love. It can get depressing as hell, but it expands on the "love" that is (not) around Ilya, and how it's not just butterflies and rainbows. Watching over Ilya is heartbreaking, but I feel like I'm awakening my M side because I'm so invested in the story. I just really want Ilya to be happy!! ;A; There are also some mysteries to unravel, such as: Why is Ilya reincarnating? Why always to the certain spot? Who is the mysterious Karasu? Why can't Ilya just be happy, Author-san?! (♯`∧´)

In the end, read this if you're looking to cry or be in angst. This story is great, but it's bad for my heart, really. If you can't wait and you're going to read the raws, have lots of tissues nearby.

I really wish that there will be a happy ending, but given the way this story goes... *sobsobsob*

Also, I really hope she doesn't go through with this political marriage and end up with fiancé-kun. Putting aside some assholery, he doesn't seem too bad as a person, but he doesn't appreciate Ilya or truly see her, even though he is basically her entire meaning for living. It's sad, stop hurting yourself, Ilya. ;-;

I don't have much hope in the romance department except for Karasu. He seems to be the only decent choice right about now, but is he even human? (Not that I have a problem against human-nonhuman relationships.) <<less
91 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
Kumo Desu ga, Nani ka?
May 16, 2016
Status: c260
@scandalf
If only you knew...

Well, I've been keeping up with this since Turbo was translating it, and I gotta say, it's fascinating. The writing technique can get pretty complicated with all these different perspectives, but of course, Kumoko is best.

I remember the first time I read the side stories. "What? Who the hell is this guy? Harem bastard. Hurry and get back to Kumoko!" I felt a very, very strong urge to get back to Kumoko's cute and thrilling antics. But, if you skip then you'd be failing to see... more>> the bigger picture. Once the plot twist gets in, the side story gets really interesting, and you get a lot of ambiguous information thrown at you. And, when it reaches the climax-- cliffhanger.

Ah, it stills kills me. I want to find out what happens next but the chapters haven't been updated past 260 ;-;

The start is kinda slow, but in the beginning you're in it to see Kumoko being cute, amazing and grinding. Who knew a spider could be so cute, right?

If you're not into that, I won't blame you. Once the story really starts to pick up though, it's amazing. If you're going to start it, then I recommend at least reading until the "Hero's" side story is finished. Then we'll see who's complaining that this story is boring.

To fully grasp this story, Baba Okina presents in lots of little clues in multiple perspectives. Finally, the last key holder (who inevitably is also a tease since she's unreliable as a narrator) is Kumoko, who has all the power and knowledge, but still hides it from us. If you're not going into this prepared for a long ride, then you'll be missing out on the true storyline. <<less
47 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
Sansheng, Wangchuan Wu Shang
February 29, 2016
Status: --
This story.

THIS STORY.

Honestly, folks. If you're into romance and you haven't read this yet, you're missing out. On a lot.

... more>> Although a little bit simple, this story is beautifully written and translated. Much, much thanks to the hard work of the people who made this and the translations possible. Throughout all of these lives, it's clear that Moxi and Sansheng really, really love each other. They're just so dear and sweet and OTP ya know?

The cincher for me though, is that even though I'm not much into those tragic romances and dramas, and even though I barely get emotional for fictional works like anime and these novels, this seriously got me to tear up and get my throat all painful and clenchy.

Really though, it's a good and lovely read, and it's short so it won't take up too much of your time (ALTHOUGH I ACTUALLY WISH IT WAS LONGER SOBSOBSOBSOB) so you've got nothing to lose. What are you waiting for?! <<less
24 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
Seijo no Maryoku wa Bannou desu
July 27, 2016
Status: c3
Honestly I don't know why this has such a low rating.

It's not even past 10 chapters yet, you haters. There's not enough content to judge.

That being said I rate it a 5 to balance out a little. There's no reason to be spiteful and rate it a 1, jeez. Support the translators a little, Rie is just trying to learn Japanese.

About the story itself, well, it starts out pretty generic. Lady summoned together with cute girl and gets ignored by Prince. Reminds me of Heibon, but unlike Heibon the people... more>> around her aren't complete arseholes and she continues to stay at the royal castle as a researcher/pharmacist where she creates slightly more effective potions due to her Saint power.

As its only chapter 3 so far it's hard to get a good feel on it but it could be going down a route where she creates miracle cures or becomes a legendary alchemist or such. It's too soon to judge, but we'll just have to wait and see. <<less
21 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
You’re Gonna Break the Engagement? Right?
September 16, 2016
Status: oneshot
It's about a noble girl who is engaged to the crown prince, but really, REALLY doesn't want to be. Then, she is called to meet him and he tells her he wishes to break the engagement. All that's left is to sign the papers, but will things really go that easily?

It's a simple and short story that features your typical dense-ish female lead and a "perfect" prince. It's not the best thing out there but it's light and funny, not a bad way to waste your time.

The translation and story... more>> itself leave a little to be desired, but it's their first time translating and apparently, English is not their first language. It's always better to have more translators than not, so please be encouraging. :3 <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
Fairly decent considering it's hentai.

For once, the guy doesn't seem to be a loser and takes care to keep the woman in mind when they're in the middle of the act. His personality is pretty nice.

The plot is kinda unbelievable, seeing as all his brothers died and now he has to make babies like crazy so they can fight off demons and orcs and stuff. Mystery is, how and why they all died? It's a story revolving around s*x though, so I won't expect much out of the plot.

The assassin... more>> lady at first kinda irks me (since I'm female and all) but the second (real First Lady) Knight Iona was better, since she clearly has a will of her own, isn't always giving lip service and thinks of things other than cocks and baby juice. Strong females are always a plus. <<less
9 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
Well, being the translator of the series, I gotta rate it a 5 haha 😂

But seriously though, I like this series a lot. The summary explains the story, but I feel like it doesn't go in enough depth... So I will summarize what goes on here!

The story follows a cute little toddler girl named Nema. She's been reincarnated by God to decide whether or not to destroy the human race at the new world she's going to. It's because the humans over there are discriminating against the other races, acting... more>> like they're the superior race. Receiving a cheat to be loved by all non-human creatures, she's reincarnated as a baby. Nema doesn't really care about that in the beginning, and is all about fluffing and petting animals. The first 20ish chapters (ages 0-4) basically fall in this period and are all world building and laying the foundation for the plot.

Chapters beyond 20 (when she's 5 and up) are when she starts getting more involved with the original purpose of why she was reincarnated to that world. She interacts with the other world's sentinent species and starts getting dragged by the political? undercurrents that have been plaguing the world thus far. (She's still a child at the point I'm at though.)

I haven't actually caught up with all the chapters currently released, but I'm working on it.

All in all, the story has some solid world building, and the characters are likable. Some chapters are short, other side get really, REALLY long... Plus, there are a lot of cute moments with Nema, and there's petting time with fantasy animals!! I try to keep an encyclopedia for all the new animals/terms, but it's hard to keep up with since there's so much new information in almost every chapter...

Give it a try if you're looking for something new to read and judge it yourself. Maybe don't judge the translations (since I know I'm not the greatest OTL) but maybe you'll like it. :3 <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
Venerated Venomous Consort
November 5, 2017
Status: c146
Edit// I read up to date (currently c146) just to make sure I wasn't being hasty, and I stand by my initial opinions.

Honestly I'm not sure what to say... I try to give at least 10 chapters before I really judge whether I like a story or not, but I've read 32 chapters in and feel like I've just wasted my time. 32 chapters might not seem like enough considering these chapters are fairly short, but I don't think I'll be continuing this... Maybe if I'm super desperate.

I rated 2... more>> stars because it's not "get this thing out of my sight" terrible, but also doesn't have anything redeemable enough to break into "average-normal" 3 stars territory.

Pros:

... Are there any?? Fast translation maybe.

Cons (this might get lengthy) :

- Plot

It started off kinda interesting, where MC is in a perilous situation and has to find a way out of it. But honestly, 30 chapters in and it's downhill... Author, are you underestimating the intelligence levels of your audience?

I mean, I'm an easily pleased reader. Give me something interesting and I'll go on auto mode and won't complain. But the plot armor and the scheming is just not up to snuff. Basically, the IQ and abilities of everyone else is lowered to make the MC look good. Add in some ass-pull abilities/luck-logic to grant to the MC so she can get things done quick and easy, and that's basically how all the conflicts have been resolved so far.

- Writing

Another issue in itself is the writing. Don't get me wrong, the translations are ok (tho I can't really say anything since I don't know Chinese). But this author is a classic case of "Tell, don't Show."

Spoiler

There is a part in ch 30 or something where the author entirely glosses over the matter of MC finally getting some maid servants from her evil stepmom.

She weeds out the spy using a trick and punishes her severely and sells her away. She presents the evidence to her father too so her stepmom can't say anything about it. Then she proceeds to use some psychological mojo on her other servants to make them paranoid that they'll be ratted out if they're a spy, and they end up coming out to her themselves...

Mine is a little more summarized, but that is practically what you get in the actual text.

[collapse]

Definitely one of the least well-written works I've read of this genre... The chapters are short as well, and the pacing is downright horrible. Is the author a newbie at this or something? To be honest, I found myself laughing out loud at how ridiculously cliché the story developed at numerous intervals.

- Characters

These characters are about as original as a mass produced popsicle stick.

It's been 30 chapters and all I've seen is a Mary Sue MC, a typical cold and ruthless ML (presumably), your typical "I don't care" Dad who hates MC because of her mother and cuz she's trash, a scheming step mom-daughter duo who are white lotus b*tches, an idiot Prince who wants to break the engagement with MC cuz he's sleeping with her sister, and this perfect (?) nice guy Prince who's probably more than he seems and has already taken a liking to MC (but why) but will probably fade out later anyways. Everywhere I look, it's cookie cutter, cookie cutter, cookie cutter...

It's fine to use tropes, but with nothing original or with no good writing, how are you supposed to capture your audiences' attention??? How are you supposed to stand out from all the other generic stories already out there that you're taking tropes from??? I honestly don't understand why this has reviews with 5 stars????

I mean, you can tell me that I need to read more, or that it gets more interesting later on... But honey, it's been 30 CHAPTERS. I think I've got a good grip on the author's writing style by now, and it's just not cutting it...

If you're desperate for a generic genius female assassin transmigrates into trash young Miss who is hated by her family and rises to kick ass and make everyone worship her/take revenge, then this might be for you. But seriously, this feels like one of the lower quality ones... There are better ones waiting to be read out there. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
To be entirely honest, this is not a good story.

I debated on whether I should rate it as 3 stars for average, but I feel it just doesn't quite make the cut. The initial concept was interesting, but everything else is just... bleh.

I initially thought it'd be more dark when I first picked it up, but I'm not here to complain about that. By the way, if you ARE looking for something more dark/serious, then this isn't the story for you, go back, stay away.

Anyways, the story has bad writing.... more>> By bad writing, I'm not talking about the translation or anything.

Everything just seems... forced. The world building is weak, the plot (?) itself isn't interesting, the characters are poorly written, some dialogue, actions and misunderstandings seems really forced, the writing is vague, the whole thing feels kinda like a wish fulfillment story thanks to the MC, plot holes haphazardly covered up (but not really) etc. I certainly don't feel like there was a lot of planning going into this story when the author was writing it.

The plot itself leaves a lot to be desired. How do I say this... It's so simple, it's a wonder why the other characters (who are supposedly more capable) not doing anything to stop it in its tracks beforehand it gets out of hand?? I mean, then there wouldn't be a story, but still.

Spoiler

Ok, so I read up to ch28 right?

The evil King's plan is basically revealed to be: make up some priestess BS; summon stupid people they can control and pretend one of them is the priestess; instigate said priestess to advocate the war; spread propoganda about not believing in priestess = sin so they can kick out the people who advocate peace; conscript all fighting citizens to their army, but meanwhile treat them like crap (because that's always a good idea, right?) ; wage war on dragon kingdom and win!

Seems like there might be more to the plan from where I read, but honestly I got bored of it...

The dragon king conducted espionage, but practically did nothing else. No negotiations (tho that wouldn't have worked), no contacting the non-pro-war nobles and maybe manipulating things so they'd sit on the throne (which would've been a better thing for all the countries honestly, if the humans were going to be human supremacist pricks), apply pressure on the human government with sanctions or whatnot, or even outright kill the stupid source before you things escalated to actually going to war, but they basically just sit and watch for TWO years as the country goes to sh*t... *facepalm*

What are you people doing, running a country...

[collapse]

Frankly, this light setting doesn't suit this whole "kingdom conspiracy to go to war" thing, and the author doesn't seem to be any good at writing them either. Anyways, it doesn't match even if you try to force it, so please stop trying author-sama. I mean, I get why the plot isn't heading down this road (since the ML is the king of a neighboring nation and MC has grudges against the human nation that summoned her) but it's really forced and contrived and out of place. Please just stick to your comfort zone, or think of something more thrilling and elaborate or reasearch more before you try and put politics into the story...

Ruri, our MC, suffers a bad case of Mary Sue as well. Beautiful, smart, multitalented and everyone likes her... =_=

Spoiler

Theres a part where I cringed (it's untranslated as of yet) where Ruri goes to the kingdom that summoned her and looked at a normal village. It's near the time when the war is going to star up, and people were starving in poverty with soulless eyes.

Now, what does Ruri do after seeing this?

She wordlessly walks into the village in human form. Without speaking to the villagers who don't pay attention to her because they're too busy being poor, she casts magic that grows fruit trees and uses wind magic to distribute it to everyone else. Then leaves.

When asked later by her spirit pet? Thing why she did it, since it'd have no effect on the people at all, Ruri replies that she knows, it's the country's job to fix the problem, but she just couldn't leave them like that.

It's just... cringe.

I mean, her actions might be noble, but the way it was delivered seemed so MC centric and self-centered... Maybe if at least the author pulled the poor beggar child bumping into her either trying to mug her for money or beg for food cliche, and THEN she had gone and done that, it wouldn't be as bad. But Ruri literally walks into the village, unprovoked and making minimal contact with the villagers at all, and does her life saving mojo. What happens after those fruit trees stop possessing food has nothing to do with her, apparently.

IT JUST FEELS SO PRETENTIOUS!!

You can give a man fish and feed him for a day, or you can teach a man to fish and feed them for life. What Ruri did was the former. She didn't inspire them to live (like a good protagonist would) or give them purpose, or even try to help them out of their predicament. All she did was give them food that's would last for who knows how long and help them stave off the hunger. It's not like they'll get seeds from those magic trees (who knows how long it'll take for them to grow too), it's not like they suddenly have enough energy to go farming or hunting, it's not like their brothers and husbands will come back from being forcefully conscripted into the army, it's not like the soulless look in their eyes will go away from just an apple or two...

In the end, other than trying to look good, what did she really accomplish here??

[collapse]

Ruri seems to think her only flaws comes from Asahi sticking around her, but I can think of a few more (like your personality, for example).

Seriously, when the chance to complain about how Asahi ruined her life by just being around her comes up, Ruri doesn't hold back. And Asahi, dense as a brick, doesn't even care and just keeps going at her. Wth? I don't have any sympathy for either of them really, but whenever Ruri complains about Asahi, the people around Ruri who treat her good are like, "oh my god, that's terrible, you poor girl" and take her side...

Why??? She is badmouthing a person you've never met, who hasn't done anything towards you and who Ruri knows doesn't have any ill intent towards her. How can you just accept that? No discomfort either, they agree with her unconditionally...

I can't relate, I can't sympathize, I don't really like the MC or the supporting cast...

All in all, it's poorly written and needs a lot of work.

I wouldn't recommend for serious reading, but it it's every once it a while then it's not a terrible way to pass the time with. Just, it's not that good either. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
The synopsis/title is pretty confusing, but basically it's about a Holy Maiden having multiple dreams about another her and the Hero fighting against the Demon King army and having a romance meanwhile, and how she (the non-dream unpopular woman who's not in a relationship with the hero version) reacts to their (alter her x hero's) lovey-dovey flirting in the non-dream world. I guess my explanation is pretty confusing too...

Fairly entertaining, and hey, there's even a lesson stuck in there. Definitely give it a try if you have time.
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
My Hero
July 25, 2017
Status: short story
Recommended!!

I went in not knowing what the story is about but I have absolutely no regrets about reading it!

Basically it's about two childhood friends, one is a normal guy and one is the hero chosen to defeat the spirit king. It's very narration based (character summarizing events) but that doesn't take away from the story, because the point of the story is to explain why the childhood friend sees the other as their hero.

Don't worry if you're not into BL/Yaoi, this isn't that Type of story. The guys have such... more>> a nice bromance though, I was surprised at how touching this story actually is. ;-;

Anyways, give it a shot. I did and I wasn't disappointed. :3 <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
At first I was skeptical of all these 5 star reviews being a some sort of Qidian conspiracy... but after reading it, it's actually rather interesting.

Just kinda think of it as a somewhat xianxia plot (kinda), but sci-fi and with a crossdressing MC haha. Honestly tho, it's pretty refreshing to see a female in this type of "manly" setting. Crossdressing hijinks are something to look forward to too ;3

Basically our MC Ling Lan dies at 24 due to a long term illness. Before her soul can scatter, she's saved by... more>> this super advanced AI thing and dragged through space and time into the future (not the future where the AI is from tho). In that future, there's mechas and hover cars and cultivation and such. Ling Lan has a golden finger with super good body constitution and spiritual power and a training system and a good lineage, but things don't go so easy for her in this military dominated society. Seems like it'll head into politics/interstellar war territory too, so that's something I'm looking forward to.

Not sure if you can consider our MC as a Mary Sue, but it's a nice change from all those vengeful female assassins and doctor geniuses these Chinese female protagonist novels are usually plagued with. She's cool and kickass in her own way, not to mention that since she's crossdressing, she shouldn't have to be subjected to the weak and pretty stereotypes for females you see a lot... then again I can't read ahead (dunno a lick of Chinese) so I can't guarantee anything. Let's hope the male lead doesn't stick to the stereotypes either.

Give it a shot up to 34 if it peaks your interest, then switch over to Qidian if you feel like it has enough worth to continue. The translation quality of both have been really satisfying so far. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
Wishing Happiness unto an Idiot Sister
November 26, 2017
Status: --
It's a really cute story about a "helpful" big bro and his hopelessly stupid dimwitted little sister as he gives her advice and plays matchmaker. Short, cute and sweet. Recommended!
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
The Good for Nothing Seventh Young Lady
November 25, 2017
Status: c325
While I don't hate the story, the writing is kinda... Well, there's a lot of superfluous word cramming in there to up the count. The chapters are also really short, and the pacing is really long (not in a good way), and the villains leave a lot to be desired right now...

IMO, it's not a novel you can enjoy while waiting for a new tidbit a day. You have to REEEEEEEEAAAALLYYYYYY stock up and read in one go to get the best reading experience.

It's not a bad time waster, just... more>> that once you catch up, it'll get a little torturous. Especially since the author likes to end each chapter with mini-cliffhangers, so yeah, stock up. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
arashi-chan12
arashi-chan12 rated it
The Death Mage Who Doesn’t Want a Fourth Time
November 20, 2017
Status: c100
I, for one, am enjoying this very much. One of the better isekai stories in my opinion. The writing and translation are good and the story itself is pretty interesting. I'm glad I gave it a try instead of brushing it off because I thought it wouldn't suit my tastes.

If I had to say my problems with it, then maybe that there are too many women characters falling for our shota and it's hard to keep track of them all. Can't decide whether I want the pacing to stay the... more>> same or go faster either, but all in all it's a good novel.

And to people who are complaining about his punishment for the first village and dropped it because of that:

Spoiler

???

Do you want the MC to die??? He's a freaking infant who is greatly hindered by that asshole god Rodcorte from growing more powerful and basically cursed him with a sh*tty life of bad luck and misfortune, so much so he'd rather kill himself than live.

Sure, he can slaughter the village. He wanted to too.

But what about after?? What about Priest Gordon and Heinz who are WAY stronger than him right now?? Who are a HUGE threat to his life???

Make a mysterious event happen => have some people investigate but have no clue about what happened = Life is safe for now, revenge carried out

Make mysterious event happen that kills people => have people-- STRONG people, people out of his power league right now-- hunt him down ruthlessly BECAUSE he killed a WHOLE town of people => revenge carried out, but large chance that he'll die and just end up face to face with Rodcorte again.

He had to hide from Gordon for two months living on earthworms and sh*t, what makes you even remotely think that he can just arrogantly kill as he pleases and get away with it scot free???

Not to mention, the more attention he garners, the higher up the people noticing him will be ranked. He did get noticed by gods further on, but that was when he had already built a base for himself and had made allies. He'd have to face against evil vampires following evil gods who can sic 6000 elite soldiers on them + vampire subordinates with super strength and speed and thousands of years of life and fighting experience while he's not even 1 year old yet, you know?? If you think you could survive that as a baby who just started out in the world less than a year ago, then I'd like to see you try. =_=

No point in carrying out revenge if they'll end up taking you down with them. That's not revenge, that's just stupid.

[collapse]

Spineless MCs are a thing, but it's better than idiot MCs who don't think of consequences and do something outrageous to draw dangerous amounts of attention to them when they're severely underpowered and can't contend on the global scale yet. <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report