Report Review
9 Reviews


applebeans
applebeans rated it
Banished to Another World
May 21, 2018
Status: c246
This type of story is my FAVORITE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

BtAW difference from most transmigrating novels I read:

  • the plot is to survive and thrive in the savage (stone age?) world; hundreds of chapters... which means.. ADVENTURE!!!
  • some aspects of living is simpler than now, other aspects are harder..
  • there are tons of character to care about.. The main character Yan Mo is the driving character of the story, I see him explore and go to places and achieve stuff, and it makes my investment in the story stronger. Even really trivial things makes me excited!
MC... more>> (Yan Mo) has the ability, but he's also so hardworking (this is not spoiler if you read tags.. as you should). It's hard not to root for him! With this many chapters the character growth is not bad, relationships are allowed to grow naturally. Expect betrayals, heartbreaks, old and new love, family, master-disciple (my favorite!!), politics, alliance!

before I started reading Founder of Diabolism I didn't know novels like this, like Banished to Another World existed in danmei too, that handles relationships like this one, and is so serious about research and details in the story. Millions of thanks to the translators, old and new, who let me discover this and continued to share this story with us!!

spoiler about character development and story below

Spoiler

To be honest, I was expecting the characters to slip to stereotypes around 100ish but delighted to find they only grew more. Maybe I speak too soon, but right now it's great. ML Yuan Zhan is a dear puppy. Also nothing against full-on yandere characters, but constantly trapping your lover to be with you all the time always pokes me in that 'this is not alright' spot.. slightly unhealthy and always makes it feel unrequited, forced. Instead, when the main characters spend time away from each other only to come back together again, you feel the inevitability of that pair and you can relish the comfort they feel when they are finally back home.

Yan Mo (again) is so sly and black-bellied but he has to restrain himself because of the system and this duality adds another layer to the relationship between the characters. Although he's supposed to be scum... he really doesn't feel like one, he can sacrifice quite few but it's for good of many, and aren't we all that way to some extent? sometimes you ask yourself if he is reforming slowly or if it's still just the guide..

[collapse]

TL;DR I love Yan Mo with all my soul <<less
12 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
applebeans
applebeans rated it
President, Our Egg Is Lost
June 4, 2019
Status: Completed
The premise is good, the execution is lacking. It's not 'good', but not 'poor', an alright read when you want some cute smooth mpreg. First half is more exciting. I was a bit disappointed because the latter half feels rushed and MC doesn't do much after they got together. It feels a bit like being on a roller coaster, but after the anticipation-building ascend you get a smooth small ups and downs

...... Much Longer version:

... more>>
Spoiler

(+) The best part is that MC cares a lot about his babies, and he's a badass strong demon who everyone sees as a Beautiful Lamp.

(+) When MC doesn't like something he really shows it.

(+) ML physically weaker than MC, says sorry, and can get drunk!

(+) Cute babies, and the interactions before and after they're born.

(+) I really like the demons' names and fights.

(-) MC flips between weirdly sharp and weirdly idiotic. After ch 25+, I don't know where he got his knowledge and he also gets more dumbed-down, having the mind of a middle-schooler. I wish the author could've fleshed out his thoughts more.

(-) The modern cultivation part is glossed over. It only appears when convenient, even though it could've been one of the best things about this novel (COUGHMoreMpregDemonsCOUGH or just daily demons). Feels like a convenient excuse to have MC lay eggs and to make us freely hate his love rivals. The summary promised everyday struggles of defending the egg from demons, and I wanted that.

(-) Side Characters revolves heavily around the Main Characters.
There is a mentor character who's very close to MC, but never looks for MC whenever he runs off alone for months (especially after his first trip when he possibly were wronged by humans, no concern at all), and MC also never looks for him when he had nothing the mentor can help out with. People around MC either wants to do him or punch him (i.e. his flatmates) and after they had appeared enough to move the plot along, they disappear without a trace. Also, I can get why ML will easily accept MC is demon, but his parents never saw his true form, and when the egg had some changes it was never in front of them, so I don't know why his mom would believe ML's story right away.

(-) Word vomit/chapters with nothing but sleeping and eating. After MC/ML got together the story sped up, paragraphs either say too little or too much in one chapter, progression feels unnatural.

(+/-) ML can read as a money idiot because of how he spends (MC is a pheasant not a crow or dog, I don't see why he would like the big-ass diamond ring) and a crazy lover, threatens to end lives and tear down buildings if the common people doesn't complete his tall request. You see him spend money more than he does something CEO-like, so it feels like 'where's all this money coming from??' Sure he stays up to work, but for someone this rich, he takes a lot of vacation.

(-) rushed + illogical development for the first son's love line. Disregards every other available man in the universe and the pre-established rule for demons.

(-) Chicken Run gets more annoying the more it's mentioned.

[collapse]
<<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
applebeans
applebeans rated it
Why Not Soar Your Majesty
April 17, 2018
Status: c53.1
Tang Xiao (MC) is stupidly adorable, shameless, and has dirty mouth... She's quite complex being all sorts of things at once, most times she rushes forward without thinking and courts trouble! But she'll still surprise you
the three-dimensionality of MC definitely made me adore her even more!!
ML is very natural in his love, and I never feel like it comes out of nowhere.

  • If you're interested in chinese language, the jokes and slangs would be a plus and add to enjoyment, if not, it might be hard to go on, it's pretty heavy on these slangs.. plenty trash talk as you'd expect from gaming characters
  • This is all fluff, and easy to read, the characters are entertaining! Don't look for complicated plot here, it's pretty straightforward, can read while commuting, or in queue, if you're careful about the person behind you seeing the dirty jokes..... so far I haven't seen NSFW, only dirty jokes... I'm sure the TL will tell us if there are any (+ Tl is so nice and easy to chat with!)
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
applebeans
applebeans rated it
If You Don’t Fall In Love, You’ll Die
June 6, 2019
Status: Completed
The story is fun, engaging and cute. Ye Chen is a nice boy, and Ren Jing is a gentle and kind soul. There are different types of missions and it's a bit random, so that makes it exciting. The words used is cute quick and without excess, not too over dramatic and never too callous. The characters themselves are good people! They're easy to like

I like most of it, and especially that it made the dramatic afternoon-drama twist later believable, JUST a bit put off of threatening people to fall in love or they'll die. I'd rather they fall in love without the system. It's almost like there's too much focus and credit put on the system.

The main couple has a wonderful love, but supporting characters' personalities and stories... more>> are not really great. Maybe when you read the main couple's story will make up for it. Minor characters' chats are a delight though~ <<less
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
applebeans
applebeans rated it
Our Second Master
April 17, 2018
Status: c7
I love this one, it's pretty short, probably will leave you crying for more
it starts out pretty roughaveragely, and grows sweeter as you read. A dash of angst and swoony male lead..

moderate spoilers ahead
-
-
Don't be fooled by the cover okay! It's not centered to face slapping, not at all, it's all fluffy romance
True core is of course the female lead: weak, average looking, simple, humble (being a non-noble), and her heart is true.
She turned this story around. (A real rare normal female lead!)
... more>>
Spoiler

I love her, despite not being OP/elegant/drop-dead gorgeous/tall, and rich/successful. She demonstrated the power of love and support (not to be mistaken as being doormat.... she's masochist.. I think). Because we are reading from her point of view, we can read her thoughts too, and I laugh at some of them. Also I'm sure most reviews mentioned all this, but the omission of other povs made me like this novel even more

[collapse]
makes it easier to put yourself on her shoes, while analysing every single detail she noted
Spoiler

MC-ML's love grows over time and changed them... living while leaning on each other is very touching..

[collapse]
feel free to read this in public, there's no nsfw, only onion ninja
even now my heart squeezes thinking back to some of the passages <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
applebeans
applebeans rated it
Sharing Rain and Dew
April 17, 2018
Status: c8
Heehee! I love reading this, enjoyable even after multiple reads
Oh, I have such soft spot for undying love and short sweet stories!!!
rebirth is very focused, not much other elements like face slapping/killing cannon fodder (because it's short)
highly recommend, pretty sad, you might cry so don't read it in public if you cry easily!

I'd like more chapters, sure, but what would the story be? I think wrapping it early is best...
P.S. MC's brothers are so cute
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
applebeans
applebeans rated it
Blooming Romance
June 6, 2019
Status: Completed
Stability of writing and nice characters that kept their brains earned it 4+, but the dramatic points dragged it down to 3.5+. Bit bumpy in the beginning-middle part but the characters will keep you coming back.

Slight spoiler:

... more>>
Spoiler

(+) story is fresh and fluffy, the setting of the world is realistic.
Even if the mpreg is not explored much it was handled pretty well, not just used to make MC/ML have babies and then forgotten completely.

(+) Interesting and not Sue characters.
Younger sweet doting ML and there's my favourite mentor-mentee relationship (pity it only appears once/twice). Mature and thoughtful relationship between main couple, such a delight to read~
Interaction with their child is cute without being overly showy. They are mature parents who doesn't spoil their child mindlessly, and we even get to see the kid grow up and learn about the world. The child's love future is left open, a peaceful HE. (I like this too! I don't want to think about babies getting married after I had just read about their parents TBH)

(+) Ending is written well, quietly beautiful like fluttering petals!

(+) Supporting characters have their own lives and thoughts, and capable of changes. I don't often like --everyone is gay--plots because it's easy to make it cheap.

(+/-) A lot of drama, but each progression still make sense in terms of cause and the characters involved. I only don't like that it's so heavy with sad, like I'm being spoon-fed telenovela. So much crying, so much self-imposed angst.....

[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
applebeans
applebeans rated it
A Slight Smile is Very Charming
April 17, 2018
Status: shan side story 5
This wasn't in my fave read, it's been some time and I forgot few details (part of why it's not in my fave)

I remember some parts from the drama, at least... uh.. pretty cute, have to admit I like KO and Meiren more (side couple)

Fantasy-like light read, author is very sweet and knows how to ground the romance to real life. It reads like it could be happening right this moment somewhere in china.
Supporting characters are cute and make you look forward to them coming back, female... more>> lead has a group of friends who supports her, and this is an important addition that made this novel memorable to me (drama disappoints in this department)
you root for MC, because she's very capable, down to earth, and clever (right away you see she has high-level wife attribute - haggling)

things that dragged down my enjoyment:
Spoiler
  • I always feel a lack of connection to the character, and the MC being near perfect and very stable didn't help
  • We don't see much of ML's character, really, and the story starts off abruptly
    probably the drama messing with me.. but he doesn't emote much, does he? I don't have a big impression about his motives/goals or feelings
  • ML's love seem to come out of nowhere, I can't understand it
    You can tell me love comes without notice, I say novel about love kind of has to tell you where that love starts and how it bloomed. otherwise it's similar to OP characters, feels cheap -- Just to contrast, I enjoyed let's eat shan-shan, it has more meat in the story, for me.
  • not that fun to reread
[collapse]
<<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
applebeans
applebeans rated it
The Shameless Prince
April 17, 2018
Status: oneshot
Funny oneshot, I wish there's more
daily life of
Spoiler

sorcerer and shameless prince

[collapse]
So there are three princes in this fairytale, (their names immediately made me laugh)
one is strong, the second is studious, the third is shameless to the point of being shameful.
It's a cute crack read... the nsfw part omitted, but the implication still able to make someone blush
This has a lot of potential, actually I would love to read more, if the author do expand it, I hope the names change lol
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report