Report Review
13 Reviews


apaulose
apaulose rated it
A Monster Who Levels Up
December 12, 2017
Status: c80
An interesting story with decent characters compared to similar stories. Chapters aren't too long and updates frequently so I would recommend it I suppose. Not a lot of exposition or world building. Main character's Monster forms are reasonable in strength but have totally overpowered crafting abilities. Goblins are potion experts and Orcs are expert blacksmiths (Not sure if dwarves exist...). Humans seem to suck at both of these things.

Another interesting thing is how the monster forms evolve. They don't evolve based on reaching a certain level but rather based on... more>> achieving random conditions that the MC doesn't learn about till he achieves them. It could involve becoming famous, Saving someone, almost dying, eating a certain monster or item, it is totally unpredictable. You can perceive this as a difficult obstacle because there's no obvious way to evolve no matter how hard the MC works, or you can see it as really convenient since the MC seems to luck into most of the conditions pretty easily just by doing whatever he wants.

This is one of the stories where most people are good people, if a little boring, so don't expect people to try and assassinate or enslave the MC just because he mildly offended them. It's not that kind of story and most people generally like the MC.

System tends to reward MC for being a good person. Though that doesn't mean there aren't incentives for just killing people. We don't know because the MC doesn't want to kill innocent people regardless. So far the MC hasn't tried to seriously injure anyone even when they attack him in his monster form. <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose rated it
He’s the Legendary Guard, Isn’t He?
June 19, 2017
Status: c8
I like it but I feel like the description is misleading. I assumed he lived in a normal world and got some amazing power. In actuality people who have awakened fantasy type abilities are not uncommon in his world. Ward seems to be a unique class though. His girlfriend is rank A and he is rank E. It is heavily implied that he'll grow to have the power of an S-rank.
2 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose
Close Combat Mage
July 7, 2018
Status: --
It's been a pretty long time since I read this so take my review with a grain of salt. I really enjoyed the premise but I gave up on the story when the characters personality started to turn a lot darker. I remember thinking that it was a sudden shift but don't take my word for it. Based on the other reviews the MC got a lot worse after I stopped reading. If you feel like reading it anyway I have to say that I did like the early magic... more>> system in this fic. I thought about rereading it b/c of the reviews that said it eventually becomes reminiscent of one piece (Which I love) but the similarities seem superficial and too far in to be worth it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
The premise is interesting but there is almost no world building so we still have no real context for the MC's abilities, there is a huge amount of convenient coincidences, and the romance is just awful. Maybe it gets better from here.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
It's pretty bland. The premise seems dark but the MC turns out to be really op from the start. She easily gains op allies as well. Also I was hoping the whole budding doctor thing would be a more major aspect of this but one of her op powers can instantly heal lost limbs so I doubt she'll ever really use her medical knowledge if magic can do things like that.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose
The Book Eating Magician
January 9, 2018
Status: c246
It seems like it will move slowly at first but really accelerates after about 40 chapters. At that point the MC goes from major event to major event. He's already a big deal by chapter 50 or 60. At this point he's near the same level as the top mages in his country. And this fact is public knowledge.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose rated it
Thriller Paradise
January 8, 2018
Status: c91
So the MC lives in a futuristic world where virtual reality exists and copyrights have all expired. He suddenly develops a mysterious illness that makes him lose the ability to feel fear. He enters this virtual horror game that inserts players into horror situations, some of which are based on popular horror movies or novels (basically terror infinity without the high stakes and with more changes to the plots). From there till around chapter 100 the plot is mainly about him completing these games for fun. He has no interest... more>> in being the top player but the games themselves are well written enough to provide some tension. We also get clear hints that the game is hiding something but we only really start exploring that after chapter 100. It feels like it might start to get really convoluted but who knows. I'd say it's worth a read.

Also the author sometimes interrupts the story to provide exposition. Somewhat annoying but it's effective and you get over it quickly. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose rated it
Harry Potter and the Rise of the Ordinary Person
December 11, 2017
Status: c7
Yeah not very good so far to be honest. I'm OK with OP characters but this feels like the world is just bending to his will. The writing style kind of feels obnoxious to me. The author spends a lot of time trying to justify his choices and act like what is happening is realistic when it really isn't. One example from the first chapter is that the protagonist realizes he has no money.

"But how would one earn money?

Playing the stock markets of course!

The stock market! You’re joking with me!... more>> That’s what the readers must be thinking! How would a little magical high schooler be able to earn any money from the stock market? Not even his underwear would be left after!"

Then he says it would totally work out because he has future knowledge and the next chapter he's suddenly got plenty of money.

This kind of thing happens a lot. The author points out plot problems then tries to justify them but really just makes them harder to ignore by spending several paragraphs talking about them.

In another chapter the author is talking about how the MC works hard and masters the author talks about how the MC managed to learn the entire Hogwarts curriculum in 1.5 years. This is definitely hard to believe but it is a fanfiction so it's not like we're unwilling to go along with it. But then he says

"What! You’re kidding me. Some readers must think I’m purposefully giving the main character hacks. But to be honest, as the author, I, am an impartial, objective, realistic (ten thousand words omitted after this) kind of person. I believe the all seeing eyes of the various readers will also be able to see this... " <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose rated it
Doom Lord
August 21, 2016
Status: c28
It's true that the first few chapters are painful to sit through but the grammer gets better and you can really tell that the translator is trying to improve. Plot is good and it's nice to see one of these stories where most people are still good at heart. Usually you end up with a world where decent people are super rare.
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose rated it
Overgeared
December 1, 2018
Status: c117
The recipe for overgeared:

-Take the legendary moonlight sculptor

-Alter the tone and general atmosphere from dramatic and sometimes dark to comedic and somewhat cringy

... more>> -Decrease the tension by about 90%

-Replace the main character with a mentally handicapped person

-Replace the strange sculptor class that is challenging to master but has incredibly high potential with a class that essentially starts out as a master blacksmith that can forge expensive items with no effort or training and allows the MC to forge legendary items and gain godlike battle skills with a little bit of effort and training. The MC would literally be a millionaire within a few month of getting his class if he weren't an idiot.

No one who's read the moonlight sculptor can avoid seeing the connections and a lot of people are calling it a rip-off or a watered down version. However the actual experience you get from reading this novel is completely different. If you like comically overpowered and shameless MCs going on mostly light-hearted adventures then you will enjoy this fic. I've heard it changes a lot at some point but I've passed the 100th chapter and I haven't noticed any major shifts other than the fact that the MC now has op battle abilities to match his crafting ones and that he is slightly more careful. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose
Throne of Magical Arcana
August 24, 2017
Status: c105
It's a fun story but despite how much the MC says music is just a cover for him it feels like the story so far focuses more on music than magic. I guess it's just a slow build up though. At some point he'll leave the musical city he's been living in and then it won't be a center point.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose rated it
I’m Really a Superstar
August 17, 2017
Status: c767
It's a fun read. I didn't expect to like it as much as I did.

Positives

It's fun to read and not nearly as repetitive as you might assume

... more>> MC may not be the best person but his enemies are a lot more annoying so its fun to watch them be wrong.

MC can be very selfless sometimes

MC is self aware that none of his accomplishments are his and this makes his gloating more shameless and funny than just arrogant

Negatives

The MC doesn't really use his system that well in my opinion. He severely underestimates the powers of stat boosts and items. Normally I'd agree that skills are the best but he kind of takes it to an extreme. Plus he barely ever uses luck boosting items when doing his lottery even though it works so well the first time.

His nationalism is close to if not past the point of racism. He also became an actual cyber terrorist for a while. This was mainly for revenge against foreign hackers but is implied to have destroyed the lives of many innocent people. Even he feels bad about it for a little while. Try not to think about it. This is a comedy.

I'm kind of getting tired of the whole...
Everyone: He's done amazing things but he couldn't possibly do this thing
MC does the thing
Everyone: We won't underestimate him again

s*xting subplot is kind of cringeworthy <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
apaulose
apaulose rated it
The Skill Maker
August 21, 2016
Status: c5
Great Story. Likable Characters for the most part. Interesting ability that seems and is OP but has enough of a learning curve that it doesn't ruin the power balance. MC feels and reacts like a normal person.
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report