Report Review
11 Reviews


aiji
aiji rated it
Heaven Official’s Blessing
December 27, 2018
Status: Completed
After reading this novel, no doubt, I've officially become this novel's author's fan. I gave this one a full 5/5.

[Wall of words, incoming..]

STORY:

Having read the author's other two novel's (FOD and The Scum Villain's Self-Saving System), I must say the story's execution and pacing is quite similar to FOD's, which contains an interesting plot, intriguing chain of events, action-packed scenes, and unexpected plot twist. The fluffy/cute and heartwarming moments is also present. Though they have these mentioned similar elements, this story's premise and universe is completely different, which you... more>> can't help but be emerged and ride along in fascination and amazement.

As expected, the author did a great job in establishing a brief background of the MC, giving you an idea what his character is like which aids you in understanding why he do what he does, giving you a preview of how his world works. And yes, gods and ghosts/demons are present here.

The pacing is not too slow, and not too fast either. Just enough to give room for the necessary details for the story's development. But please we warned of the looong flashbacks and sad stories along the way as their bitter history unfolds. Though long, it's not at all boring. If you don't have a fragile heart (unlike me) and can stand heartbreaking scenes, I suggest you finish it until the end.

The story is not that too complex, I think. But a little deep. The only problem I encountered was the poor english translation I was reading painfully, and also had a hard time distinguishing names.

CHARACTERS:

Same with the MC of FoD's Wei WuXian, Heaven Official's Blessing's MC (Xie Lian) is very likeable, as they are both witty, caring, lovable and.. A little dense (which I truly love about them 'cause it adds to the 'kyaa..!!' factor). The only difference is, though Xie Lian is also a little shameless sometimes when it comes to his personal actions and decision-making, for me, towards others, he's too.. 'pure'. He's so kindhearted that you'd feel the urge to protect him at all cost, but also scold him at the same time. But he's not weak, mind you. He's just a selfless-type of god. But, by being so, sometimes invites harm and hurt himself in the long run. If you continue to read up until the end of the novel, you would somehow feel and understand why the ML (Hua Cheng) harbor such kind of feelings towards the MC. He is such a precious bun.

Speaking of Hua Cheng, the male lead (the 'smooth criminal'), I have a mixed feeling about this guy. At first, I was simply intrigued about the small description regarding him as the ".. Mysterious demon who rules the ghosts and terrifies the Heavens" and "this demon king has been paying attention to him (Xie Lian) for a very, very long time". I was like, "???".

If you think that Lan WangJi's (of FOD) love and devotion to Wei Wuxian is admirable enough to categorize as "eternal" and unrivaled, Hua Cheng's devotion to Xie Lian is in a completely whole different level. As in. To the point of sometimes you would pause for a moment and think of his actions as a little.. creepy. But in the end, you would only think of him as a very loyal guy, full of unconditional love and devotion for the MC. Like Lan Wangji, they don't have to say long and corny and cheesy words to express how they feel for the other. They just express it through their actions, which leaves you speechless in awe and admiration. This is what I like with the author's way of writing—you don't have to read straight from the ML's mind. Their action is enough for you to understand their intention and feelings, then just sigh and cry at corner, saying to yourself, "I also want this type of guy.." They got my utmost respect.

The side characters are all likeable, especially the ones who are frequently interacting with the MC (his two hot-tempered, cats and dogs-like "attendants" whom he had to babysit with extreme patience). The funny scenes mostly happen when they are around. Their reactions are gold!

OVERALL..

All in all, this is a pretty good read. The conclusion is good, but how I wish.. (See spoiler), but nevertheless, I'm very satisfied. The extras/side stories are especially good, too. JUST A WARNING: you might get a diabetes!

Spoiler

.. How I wish, at the later chap, their long-awaited reunion should have ended with a kiss, coupled with whispers of sweet-nothings or something..

(Although I'm a newbie when it comes to reading shounen-ai/yaoi novels, but I think that should've happened at least, right..?)

Oh well, it's just me. It's still a happy-ever-after story, nonetheless. Congratulations to Hua Cheng, especially. I think he received more than what he could have ever hoped for in the end.

*wipes tears of joy*

[collapse]

If you're a fan of fantasy/xuanhuan genre with likeable characters, a good dose of comedy, pure love (or eternal love?) story, and *ehem* not minding a mild BL story, give this novel a try. You won't regret it. <<less
11 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
Faraway Wanderers
January 24, 2019
Status: Completed
".. So freaking beautiful! A masterpiece! A perfect 5/5! Re-read! Re-read..!", said by my exaggerating heart that's still can't seem to move on.

Though still suffering from the empty feeling caused by reading this one hell of a masterpiece as an aftermath, I'll try to make this review spoiler-free as best as I can... and less emotional.

STORY:

... more>> The description provided for this novel is pretty straightforward and simple. It's like it's saying, "Here's the protagonist. Let's follow him!"— And that's it. But what's really in store for me?

To be honest, had I not happen to read decent reviews (and also mentioning my favorite characters Wei WuXian and Xie Lian xD), I wouldn't put this novel in my reading list by just the description. And to give my share what this novel is all about.. yes, we're going to follow the MC and his mini "crew" as they try to solve a certain mystery. Despite wanting to live a simple and carefree hourglass life, the MC found himself getting entangled in a rather complicated and bloody situation he didn't expect, which greatly changed his life. A mix of adventure, action, mystery, colored with supernatural elements. Actually, it somehow reminds me of Heaven Official's Blessing with the mentions of ghosts, disguises, with 'adorable' MC (Zhou Zishu might kill me for this), and a 'crazy' ML (yep), BUT with a totally different plot.

It's so nice to spot a story with an air of certain 'depth' to it. I felt lucky, as reading these types is rather rare. With an engaging plot, interesting main characters with solid substance, I have to admit the author did a great job connecting me firmly to the story, thus, effectively and successfully stirred my emotions as I read on. I like the author's writing style. I think I'm gonna 'stalk' his/her other works...

One more thing I like about this is how the *cough* 'romance' element is splendidly portrayed and developed here. Slow and sweet, and definitely not forced. You may accuse me of being too 'conservative' for a BL reader, but I enjoy not too explicit portrayals more, unlike some authors I know who describes every single thing in a thousand words when the couple is doing the R18+ stuffs, and sometimes not just once, but many times! I don't know if it is just me but the way of 'touch' and 'kiss' as described by the author here is enough to hold my breath unconsciously while reading. I'd say this is pretty much 'wholesome', good for those who prefer a 'mild' BL story. Just don't mind the shamelessness of the ML when he's teasing the MC (but you'll lose a lot, though). Very light and blends well with the story's other major elements. Hope to read more with a similar style, really.

For a 70+ chaptered novel, this is well-paced. I enjoyed the whole journey. It's also not too hard to MTL too, because it has less names/titles and places, so it's much smoother to read as you edit through, unlike the other wuxia themed novel I know.

CHARACTERS:

Ah, a perfect set of characters! I can't praise this enough!

A cute and adorable MC and ML... No, not that kind of 'cute' because the two are both already adults.

Why 'cute' then? Well, for one, the MC is a tsundere. What's more cuter than a grown man acting tough and spewing curses everytime but deep inside possesses a soft heart? The ML knows that well so he used it to his own advantage (Curious? Read until the end. It's funny and sweet) . It's so nice to find a tsundere MC that is not annoying, unlike a certain MC I know from a certain novel. On the other hand, the ML is such a child. I mean, despite his shamelessness, unpredictable and crazy character (he's crazier than Hua Cheng xD), deep inside, he's just a lonely child. All he needs is someone like the MC to quiet him down and be his reason to continue living. He's 'disgustingly' funny and, thankfully, NOT a yandere. And though they're always 'fighting', they compromise and... and then we get what we want (hehe). I just love the two. So sweet. Now, whenever I hear the word "steam" and "braise", I smile and remember these dorks.

And for the side characters... very colorful—but with a darker shade. This has many unique and memorable characters. Some are crazier than the ML. I remember most of them by their ruthlessness and bloody method, if not ended up mutilated in a brutal way. A certain "couple's" death shocked me the most. I didn't really expect that. Very memorable. Tsk.

I praise the author for pooling a good set of characters, each have their own motives and circumstances, giving background and reasons why they do what they do.

OVERALL:

(No) thanks to this, for the nth time in my life, I doubted the reviews and the genre listed up there, panicking maybe someone forgot to include the 'tragedy' genre! That's how engaging this was for me. I was laughing one moment, then facepalming with a red face next, then found myself dying from worrying to the point of almost jumping to the last chapters to ensure that it's a happy ending. Ah, what a roller-coaster ride...

In short, I enjoyed reading it so very much. This is a very good read.

So, if you're tired of reading novels with too many 'fan service' and would like to try a little serious but not too heavy a drama (I think? Haha), with funny, unique, and cool characters and amazing story, why not give this a try?

I highly recommend it. <<less
8 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
Accompanying the Phoenix
January 6, 2019
Status: Completed
"He knows that he shouldn't pick it up, but can't let it go...

Finally gave up his heart, but was reluctant...

Ah.. the more pure, the more persistent..."

... more>> There's so many unforgettable bittersweet lines on this novel. And because my heart was pleasantly 'tortured', I'm giving it a perfect 5/5.

STORY:

This story is like "Chicken Run" and "Romeo and Juliet" story combined.

No, I was just kidding. But there really is a 'chicken' who likes to run away and a 'complicated' love story.
To be honest, I almost drop this novel. I don't know if it is the author or the translator's fault but reading the earlier chapters was an excruciating experience. But I persevered. And good thing I did. I hope you all do the same. The translation may not be the best, but rest assured that the author's writing style is excellent.

Why excellent? Because my heart got attacked in all kinds of directions with every cold, sharp instrument possible. It's not only once that my heart got squeezed and cried. I don't know if I was just too emotional due to hormonal imbalance or whatsoever while reading it, but just to inform you, I was reading an MTLed version (chapter 27 onwards), so there's no way the english translator's interpretation could influence me in any way. Seriously, I was ruthlessly stirred.

But to set your expectations, this is not all about drama. Yes, there are touching scenes here and there, but there is also a good amount of funny scenes and action—a very good narration of the action scenes. And don't be fooled by the episodic kind of pacing at the earlier chapters. I tell you, there's a deeper story lurking behind. And although all throughout the story, the romance feel is a little prominent, for me, that's what make this novel that great.

The pacing is good, the story is not that too complicated, but I must say that the 'complication' revolves around the two main characters. Even I had my fair share of complicated feelings and worries as I progress, to the point of dropping it even though I'm already nearing the end. That's how emotionally invested I was.

CHARACTERS:

The chicken... I mean, the MC, Shen Li, is not your typical shoujo protagonist. She's a woman. A very strong woman who you could categorize under the "hot-tempered" types BUT she's well in control of herself (well, most of the time). She knows what she wants, knows her place and responsibilities, and willing to make sacrifices. I got nothing to dislike about her.

And the ML... Ah, the ML! I have so much to say about this ML. He reminds of Ye Xiu (of The King's Avatar) in terms of personality. The carefree, easy-going type... But no, there so much more about this guy. This guy, who is always bathing in vinegar (though he himself is not aware), is loveable but curse-worthy at the same time. My teary moments were all caused by him. His lines.. his lines! He's so cool yet detestable. But who can blame him? No one can blame him. We can only blame the circumstances, the stars, the moon, the heavens... (ah, it's very hard to maintain a spoiler-free review! Please forgive me 'cause that's the only way I can express some 'contents' without directly spoiling) . He's not one of those 'rapey' types. In fact, he's a gentleman. Too gentlemanly for his own good. But what's truly admirable about him is his courage.

As for the side characters, there's nothing much to say. The only note-worthy is the "general" who is very close to the MC.

OVERALL:

This is a very, very good read. I highly recommend it.

If you're a fan of action, fantasy, comedy, with a little touch of drama, try this one. BUT be sure you have your tissue boxes beside you to wipe your tears... and sweat. Yes, 'sweat' because there's a *cough* 'steamy' scene on this one.

Oh, it has a happy ending so don't worry, and give this a try. <<less
6 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
After browsing my "Completed" list, my eyes caught this title sitting at the very bottom, bearing the longest title in the list—but can't remember what the story is all about. I checked, and went "oh", and gnashed my teeth automatically. It was a novel I happen to 'finish' few weeks ago.

Browsing down the reviews, it seems this section has become a battle of stars..? I found a very funny and interesting rant review, and even gave it a like (dang, that was a good laugh, haha) . And upon... more>> checking the date, it was just posted recently. (Reviewer yo, where were you when I was in my most desperate time? Had I read yours before, I wouldn't have wasted my time reading this one...)

Maa, I originally intended not to leave a review for this one and just totally forget about it after reading (and was half-successful), but for the sake of those newbie BL readers like me that do still have a very 'delicate' taste and easily get traumatized, I'm leaving this one as a warning—and future reference should you decide to become a hardcore fujoshi.

I gave it 3/5. Why?

STORY:

The description provided is very misleading, especially the lines under the 'ludicrous story'. But yes, the 'villain', which is the ML, is really villainous, though.

So how should I describe the story..?

A mess. Very messy. Everything is a mess! The story, the content, the writing style, and even the translation itself! Why the translation? Well, to be clear, I didn't have a problem with the translator's way of translating. In fact, I like it. The problem is their personal problem with the 'robbers' (unconsented posting of their works to other sites) which greatly affected my reading experience. I mean, fonts ever-changing and text-turned-image flashing before my eyes really do hurt. Very excruciating. But since reviews are to be made for the story itself, not the translation, the minus point didn't go to that minor issue.

The story execution, as all the other reviewers have already pointed out, it's good, engaging, and really got an entertaining cultivation and adventure vibe, until we get to the last two volumes. I don't know if it's just me or the author's way of properly handling a seemingly promising story-turned-"oh boy, I was wrong", but regardless, I really felt duped. Maybe the problem is really on me, not the author's writing style, since the "smut" genre is screaming there but I chose to ignore it and eventually suffered the consequences. But still, every story, regardless of the genre, deserves a good, if not, an "official" ending, right? It seems to me that the latter part of the novel is just the author peeling his/her skin off and showing us what's really his/her intentions are—which is to give form to his/her fantasies through writing or simply satisfy the readers' cravings for fan service.

The author's writing style may be okay for a frequent smut-yaoi readers, but I would like to go on and say my piece: giving details is good, but please leave the 'gross' details like body fluids and 'cleaning process' out! I was twitching my face and gnashing my teeth in cringe all throughout whenever the main characters are doing their R18 stuffs. Is this supposed to be s** education? Skimming and skipping chapters was my only escape. But since I was at fault for entering a genre I'm not familiar with, I can't complain more about the ever-so-present H-scenes, which kept on ruining my excitement and anticipation of what's gonna happen next to the 'plot'. It truly made me curse "WTF is happening?!".

So, my ultimate grudge against the author would only be the very bad story progression. Like what. the. hell.

Plot, where art thou?

CHARACTERS:

*Sigh*

I like (liked?) the MC. He is the only reason why I persevered and continued, constantly curious what's going to happen to him at the end... But where's the end? I read and read, and even MTLed the extras that are not yet translated (yep, extra 5 is not the end). But oh boy, another WTF. Author yo, that's it?! I would like to congratulate the author for being such a good troll. Those extras confused me more. Ending, where art thou?

The MC's personality is likeable. I think, next to the MC of Every Day the Protagonist Wants to Capture Me (I dropped the novel, though) , the MC exudes what a genuine transmigrator supposed to be like. Always questioning, not accepting everything as readily since 'Hello..? I'm a modern man from a modern world. This is not normal!'. I thought I finally found a successful read, until he became dumb. The moment he acted 'irrational' and started exchanging corny nothings with the ML you don't know why or out of what, the cringe crawled in, until I finally felt numb. What a big disappointment.

And the ML, where in the world can I encounter a 'decent' yandere?! If not the rapey type, why do they have to be so greedy and disrespectful towards the MC? At first, I didn't like the ML, the young version of him, and that changed as the story progresses... until he reached his adult form, and I didn't know what kind of impression I should give him anymore! MLs being possessive is fine; it adds to the thrill, yes, but this ML also seems like oozing with too much libido. What a dangerous combination. I really pity the MC (but he became dumb and ever accepting so we should think it's also fine, huh?) . But well, this is 'smut', should we expect less? Overall, for me, there's nothing much to like about the ML. For all his 'waiting sacrifices' for the MC, I should admire him, right? Just like how I felt for Lan WangJi and Hua Cheng? But due to his kind of maniac personality, I just couldn't connect and fully sympathize with him. It's like everything that he does is so that in the end he could have *** with the MC after. Argh! I'm so dirty-minded...

And for the side characters... was there any? Well, there's nothing much to say except the 'official' protagonist of the novel (per MC's POV) doesn't serve anything much. Several side characters were introduced as part of the mini adventure at the earlier chapters. I thought it was good. They did a great job in keeping our hopes up, and kicking us down.

OVERALL:

Overall, giving all the considerations, it's an "OK" read. But personally, I can't say I 'like' it because I got a little 'traumatized' after reading it. Just not my cup of tea.

I guess I won't try another novel with a shining "smut" genre anymore, unless for 'studying' and 'exploration' purposes. To be honest, I'm also having second thoughts about the "yaoi" genre, too. I thought, why the The Founder of Diabolism is good but this is not? Considering they are both under the same genre, which is yaoi? But well, that's my personal problem. Every author is unique and have their own writing style. But (no) thanks to this, recently, I'm only touching novels with shoujo or shounen-ai genres out of fear.

For final words: this novel is obviously not for everybody. If your level of cringe is low and couldn't stand hardcore H-scenes, don't read this one. I should also warn you that for a completed novel, it's a bit lacking when it comes to a 'proper' conclusion. You have to draw it yourself and decide for yourself. Very convenient, right? Or you may just simply go and agree with the author when he/she says 'this' is the end.

BUT, if you're the type who enjoys and only after the 'steamy' scenes (and LOTS of it), by all means... <<less
5 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
The Villain’s White Lotus Halo
January 5, 2019
Status: c89
Ohh.. so painful.. I felt betrayed...
This was very traumatic...

I would like to give it a 2/5. But for the sake of effort, I'll give it a 3/5.

STORY:

... more>> A very interesting plot—yes, as what you can see at the description. So I took a bite.

The story started off good. In fact, very good. The translator (and the author?) did a good job in describing what the setting looks like; used tons of figures of speech beautifully. The characters, especially the MC, was hilarious. It looked very promising. Until I read on...

Ah, this is so frustrating. Like I said, it started off good. Though I didn't know what's in store for me, it was entertaining and intriguing (at first), so I couldn't help but read on, curiousity piquing. Until right at the middle, it seems as though the author got lazy and decided to abandon the ship. That's what I felt. Suddenly, I was lost, didn't know what's going on, and why it's even happening. It's like everything's all over the place, and you don't know where the story is heading anymore. There are lots of shifting of scenes. And so finally, out of frustration, I decided to drop the novel. I could no longer continue.

Oh, my head aches again...

CHARACTERS:

Characters... I think this is where the problem all started.

The MC was funny. I liked his internal monologue. Until the author decided to hide what the MC was thinking, and turn it into yours truly's point of view!

Around chapter 80+, I could no longer connect with the MC. For me, it seems like suddenly he acted so OOC. Since the author decided to entrust the 'judging' in my hands, in my point of view, suddenly the MC acted kind of 'irrational', and made me curse "WTF are you doing?! Why aren't you questioning things anymore all of a sudden?!". Maybe if I'm just after the fan service (*cough* if you know what I mean), I'll just shrug it off and say, "at least I got what I want". But sadly, no. In every novel that I read, in every anime that I watch, I invest more to the MC's essence. If he or she's not 'consistent' enough, I will eventually lose interest and feel there's no point in continuing.

And the ML.. *sigh* I can't say much. Because he is not outstanding enough, he's just like the rest of the side characters. For me, the author failed to establish a solid character for him. I wasn't able to connect with him at all. There's nothing to hate about him—but there's nothing to like, either. He's like a plain, white wall. A pity.*sigh*

As for the side characters, they were depicted beautifully at the start of the story. I even searched and liked their official character design. So beautiful. But, that's all there is. In the end, for me, the main characters are more important. But sadly, I got disappointed.

OVERALL:

For those who are curious: yes, this has a pinch of comedy (but only at the beginning), lots of action, and *cough* 'steamy' scenes. Romance? I didn't feel a thing. Though there's a clear mention here and there, it's not convincing enough. To put it bluntly, I don't find their 'romantic' interaction romantic at all. Happy ending? I'm not sure. I dropped this so I have no idea.

Maybe this isn't really for me...

For final words: personally, I really can't recommend this, given the flaws I've stated above. But I won't stop you from reading this, either. After all, everyone has their own preference and taste...

And level of tolerance. <<less
4 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
Thousand Autumns
February 17, 2019
Status: Completed
Q: How to make the corniest confession and proposal sound like a joke?

A: Say it the Yan Wushi-way.

Next to Faraway Wanderers, this has become my new wuxia novel favorite. I gave it perfect 5/5.

... more>> STORY:

First off, the "Yan Wushi" there mentioned in the description is not the MC; he's the ML. I would also like to add that if you're going to read this awesome story, condition yourself that this ML is so despicable and black to the bone. That's his nature, and we have to settle on that. I would like to thank the author for 'warning' us beforehand so we wouldn't be too shocked and despise him to the core as he relentlessly 'bully' our cinnamon roll MC, Shen Qiao.

The story is a mix of history, politics, action (LOTS of awesome action!), and *cough* romance. And if I may add, comedy (seriously, why not add comedy tag there as genre? The main characters' interaction is hilarious!). Although I mentioned "history" and "politics" as part of the elements of the story, it's very mild. Not too complicated (though I admit I googled the name of the dynasties mentioned, and to my surprise, they did exist! And yeah, through that I 'accidentally' read a spoiler XD), but deep. As advice, all you have to memorize is the two major dynasties of the North, and the other one at the South, and also the names of the factions/sects supporting them because the story heavily revolves around them, as the main characters make their way to pursue their goal.

Under the wuxia genre, story and plot-wise, for me this is one of the best. Excellent set of characters, intricate yet not so hard to follow politics and change of events, superb action scenes, solid romance build-up—this is just excellent! There's really nothing much to criticize, but I would like to point out the 'conclusion' part of how the two 'properly' ended up together—which surprisingly can be read in the EXTRA chapters. I don't know what the author was thinking but I find it... weird? After reading, I was like, "That's it..?" Some extra stories are also 'weird' (what's more normal is when they are discussing about politics, LOL) . It's feels kind of out of place. Anyways, overall, the ending is satisfying. Happy ending is happy ending. And I would like to thank the English translator for giving us the chance to get a peek of this awesome Chinese novel. Although I find it weird to read a kind of western titles/addresses in a Chinese novel (personally, I prefer to see the pinyin reading accompanied by a footnote), it's still good.

Overall, I like the author's writing style. And I honestly hope to read more of his/her works. Though I just finished reading this through MTLing and through the help of my little Chinese language knowledge, I can say that it's very smooth and fluid (it's funny that I can judge the author's way of writing through dissecting their masterpiece in its raw form, haha). And if you're going to try MTLing this on your own, worry not. It got like around less than 200 place names/titles/addresses, etc. to edit to get a smoother output.

CHARACTERS:

Of all the Chinese novels I have read so far, this contains one of the most interesting and colorful characters. Powerful "masters", despicable and likeable "villains", transient side characters that will make you cry, certain characters you will really wish to die (I got two in my list). Oh, special mention to the ML's "very capable" apprentices. And of course, there's our main characters with "extraordinary" relationship (yep, that's how the two describe it themselves). All in all, a very solid set.

The MC, Shen Qiao, is like Xie Lian of Heaven Official's Blessing. Kindhearted, selfless, pure, and extremely good-looking. But behind the angel-like countenance, a powerful and bad-ass tiger lurks. Oh, but unfortunately though, they are also a disaster-magnet. Our MC here used to live in 'heaven', but due to a certain event have experienced 'hell'. Despite all hardships, he gathered himself up and remained true and honest as he naturally was. It's quite disappointing to know that the ML also contributed to this hardships 'intentionally' by playing the 'devil', tempting him to curse mankind and bring out the worst in him, and also inhumanely treated him as his 'guinea pig'.

So, does that mean we got a weak MC? Nah. He can be ruthless if he wants to, but he always chooses to follow his beliefs and principles. And his beliefs are heavily influenced by his nature of being soft-hearted and generous. Oh—and he also possesses insurmountable level of patience and tolerance, especially towards the ML. Some may think that the ML bullies our MC too much, but for me, since MC is already an adult, calmly don't take everything to heart, and most of the time just choose to ignore ML's quirkiness, I decided to take it neutrally and enjoy how they're going to stick to their personal beliefs about the 'human heart'.

What about the ML? Well, Yan Wushi is a version of Wen Kexing of Faraway Wanderers—but 10 levels higher when it comes to shamelessness, eccentricity, ruthlessness, and unrivaled level of arrogance reaching the cloud 9. Yes, this is the ML. Sounds like not so ML-like but as I mentioned earlier, that's his nature. But of course, since the public usually don't like and won't accept such characters as one of the mains or deserving to be paired up with our precious bun, that's where the character development comes in. I don't like putting spoilers but let me assure you that the MC and ML's character development here is solid. And to put some points to the ML's 'redeeming' qualities, he's smart (very!) and hilarious! (especially in chapter 50 onwards). He's so shameless and thick-faced that you couldn't help face palming while laughing at his crazy antics (I'm not gonna lie, I prefer these types of characters as ML over those saintly-types, which I brand as 'boring white wallpaper', or those selfish and rapey yanderes).

To give a good preview of the relationship of the two, they don't necessary like and trust each other (at first). But due to a common goal, they stick and look after each other (in japanese term, it's called "kusareen"). A very unromantic relationship.

Given his rotten personality, how the hell did the ML fall for the MC?!

As I said, I don't like putting spoilers, but...

[SPOILER! Sounds like a spoiler. Read at your own risk]

Spoiler

Hah! ML did fall. Yan Wushi dug his own grave and jumped down voluntarily. For the first time in his life, he made an 'exception', and before he knew it, he turned into an 'admirer' who would 'court' and manage to 'confess' and 'propose' the normal way, but sadly no one would believe him because he got a bad record of saying and treating everything as a joke. And then he even became a good 'actor', even employed the acting prowess of his own 'very capable' and supportive apprentices just to get the MC's attention!

It was a success, though.

Curious? Continue reading the novel until the end. Chapter 100 onwards is where the ML's shamelessness reached a whole new level; relentlessly smearing the romantics' lines black. Just pray hard that the translator won't drop the story if you don't plan to MTL it on your own *wink*

[collapse]

OVERALL:

A very good read.

I'm not fond of history subjects. And definitely not interested in any politics-related topics. But this story is so awesome and very well-written that I couldn't help waking up early and leave the office always on the dot just to read this one for a good whole week.

So, if you're the type who enjoys superb action scenes, interesting storyline, characters with depth, comedy, and don't mind reading slow romance and a *cough* 'mild' BL story ("kiss" is mild, right? It's a hot one, though XD) , I highly recommend this. You won't regret it. <<less
3 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
Scapegoat Sister Vs Second Prince
February 8, 2019
Status: Completed
Ah, this is the 'proper' way to ruin a mediocre love story...

---

The plot, though sounds different, pretty much follows your typical shoujo formula: cute, fluffy, though not surprisingly got overused clichés, still buyable because that's what makes it enjoyable to read or watch, and leave us with a happy feeling. The first few chapters are quite funny. Also pretty much predictable and mediocre though, but you won't feel the urge to drop it right away despite that. Well, that is— if you don't have anything else to read. It's... more>> very light. So very light that it's not worth rereading for me.

As for the characters, there's nothing much to say aside from they are quite likeable and cute. Sadly though, I couldn't 'connect' much to them and get the 'feels' I usually get when reading/watching shoujo works. And it's all no thanks to the horrible translation.

Yes, as pastime, reading it is well-worth it if not for the frustrating reading experience. I'm talking about the terrible translation from chapter 5 onwards, as though I was reading a mere fan comment retelling the story! So careless! I mean, why the need to use lots of question and exclamation marks???!!! It's like there was no editor available and bothered to give it even a single glance before publishing. As you struggle through, you can't help but feel like you're reading a totally different novel. Each characters' established identity was completely lost! How frustrating! I honestly think reading it in raw or MTLing it on your own is much better than reading the translated version. I kind of feel bad for the author for this 'injustice'...

To be honest, I really find it hard to judge and give a fair rating since this was obviously butchered by the last translator. So, giving consideration to the story's uniqueness and overall appeal for 'enjoyment', I'm giving it a 3/5. Not bad, just 'OK'.

If you're planning to read it, bring a bag of patience and tolerance. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
The King’s Avatar
January 5, 2019
Status: c1175
After the mania withdrawal had finally subsided resulted from binge watching/reading Mo Dao Zu Shi, I decided to watch this what I consider "the second donghua (anime) " of my entire life a few months ago (yeah, that's already 'last year' >.<) —The King's Avatar. I found the story unexpectedly enjoyable, so after reaching the end of the ONA series, I jumped to the novel version right away. And boy, it was sooo good.

And though I haven't finished reading it yet, I think reading about more than 1000+ chapters is... more>> enough to pass a solid judgment of 5/5 to this one.

STORY:

This is the story of a god... I mean, "god" when it comes to gaming, specifically to the game called "Glory". And yes, this novel is categorized under "Sports" genre, but not your usual sports since the story revolves around pro-gaming. There's no transmigration or whatsoever vibes on this one since here, we are following the "journey" of the protagonist—in reality— towards the "summit".

Since this is about game, there are tons of terms here which some may find unfamiliar or completely have no idea at all, which can lead to lots of confusion or difficulty in visualizing what is happening unless you are a gamer, or at least have played MMORPG games and the like before. It is truly a shame to skip, or worst, drop reading this novel entirely just because of this very reason.

Though it looks like it would take you forever to finish reading this due to the number of chapters, each chapter is really not that long. Promise. And before you know it, you have already completed a couple of chapters and already hooked, and won't be able to stop. Its pacing is just right. There's no heavy drama or too complicated turn of events—except for the seemingly unexpected and unthinkable outcomes you will see along the way due to the "shamelessness" and very cunning way of thinking of the MC.

Though I started out watching the animated version, the difference between the actual novel against the donghua is not a problem at all. I got nothing else to criticize or complain about except for the not yet finished translation and really got little interest to the "seasonal ranking" parts of the story which I skip. (Now just waiting for the final chapter to pick this up again. I'm sure MTL-ing won't do any justice, so...)

CHARACTERS:

Ye Xiu a.k.a Ye Qiu.

Yes, God Ye Xiu. He's the one!

This MC is so cunning. A genius!

I'm a sucker for "from bottom-to-top" type of stories so I got hooked in an instant. But this is not like your typical shounen-ish kind of story since the MC is already an adult, plus he is actually strong. As in really strong from the start. An "OP", if that is the best way to describe him. But he got it all from years of experience, passion, dedication, and maybe inner talent. It's not his fault.

What's interesting about him is how he handle his "banishment" coolly, with no resentment of any sort at all, and instead focus his all attention to his goal. Though hurt, he chose not to show it, moved on, and passionately heads towards his goal. Surprisingly or unsurprisingly, he's got a carefree and easy-going attitude, but when it comes to playing, he's so cool, so badass! All his opponents are coughing blood!

As for the side characters, though inevitably quite too many, I got no problem distinguishing who is who since most are well defined and the author did a good job putting unique personalities for each major casts. Most are likeable and very adorable (*cough* Blue River).

OVERALL:

I really enjoyed reading this one. You can feel your adrenaline rush soaring just by reading it.
The characters' shamelessness, the hilarious trash-talks, the battle of wits... totally worth-reading!

I understand that this type of genre is probably not for everyone (.. maybe I should thank myself for playing Ragnarok before XD), but if you want to witness a different kind of "coolness", try this one.

I highly recommend it. <<less
1 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
Man from the Wild South
February 16, 2019
Status: c7
Infuriating.

Of all the chinese novel I have read so far, I think this has the most 'irritating' female MC. And because of that, take this 2/5!

STORY:

With the provided description, I guess we all get a brief idea of what this story is all about. It started off good. There's no problem with the translation. Nice pacing. Very smooth. Until the story gets darker and darker, and I didn't feel like reading anymore because the main characters irritated me to the max due to their immature actions, especially the MC. I... more>> lost all interest after reading chapter 7, and when I tried to skim and peek until the last chapters, my irritation remained. Why? Still because of the MC. She's a big "What...?" to me.

This story is full of angst. Angsty because the main characters made it to be so. Tsk.

CHARACTERS:

Ah, this is where the problem all started...

I abhor the MC with all my heart. At first, I thought she was good, until she did things that raised my eyebrows. I mean, come on! Sure, the ML tricked her, but she shouldn't act as though she's not at fault as well. Like what she did at chapter 6 (why take marriage so lightly, girl???) . I didn't also like how she act so immaturely. Though the ML is despicable, and equally immature, he's more tolerable given his nature, so I somehow understand him. But the MC? Dang, she's the manifestation of the female lead I hated the most in every fictional story!

OVERALL:

I didn't enjoy it. The MC annoyed me to the max. It's angsty. Someone complained about this originally not having a shoujo tag before he read it (to his great regret), so he put one out of courtesy for the future readers, but I think this should have a josei tag under the genre instead. There's nothing fluffy about this one! In fact, some contents are quite disturbing and only fit for mature readers (though the main characters are quite immature themselves).

Obviously, and unfortunately, I didn't get, or rather, 'failed' to see the positive points the 5-star reviewers saw. Oh, poor me...

Maybe I'm just overly sensitive. Or was expecting too much. But hey, I was supposed to enjoy it, right? The fun part, the comedy...

Just where... ? <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
Flowers Reflecting The Sky
January 20, 2019
Status: Completed
Short, but good. I'll give it a 5/5.

STORY:

Since this is mystery one, I can't give away any more information about the plot so you just have to rely what's already written in the description. All I can say is this is a well-written short mystery novel. I don't know if it was because of the translator's way of translating, but I really think this is very well-written—pace-wise, character casting, and story execution, right from the start up to reaching its conclusion.

To be honest, reading a mystery-themed novel with a mere... more>> 27 chapters is like a gamble for me, since this could leave the reader feeling lost due to plot holes that might pop up here and there, and rushed and forced inserts just to say the mystery has been solved and the story has ended. Fotunately, it turned out to be a 'successful' read, and I felt very satisfied. No heavy drama, has hilarious scenes and characters, and with a little touch of romance, I think this is very light.

CHARACTERS:

Oh, the characters... I got trolled.

Dang, I was fooled by the MC! I was literally cursing him for the first few chapters because he was acting not so MC-like at all! I mean, he's like a perfect example of a dumb MC I always hate in any entertainment media that I instantly drop with disgust. But lo! Surprise, surprise... He turned out to be a very likeable one. Very clever... and quirky. He's very unpredictable and ruthless as well, so I guess sometimes he really deserves a good kick from the ML (and from me).

And the ML... my congratulations. He's my favorite character here. So witty and adorable. So brave and aggressive... but surprisingly ended up at the bottom under the clouds and rains. That was really a surprise.

As for the side characters, I wasn't expecting that this novel has this many funny and interesting side 'couples'. Good thing this is not in a modern setting and they're all 'manly' so I didn't feel a slight cringe while reading.

What a really weird world. I'm worried about their future number of population.

OVERALL:

For someone who just picked this out randomly to test and see what a Wuxia genre truly like, it turned out to be a very enjoyable read (yep, my original purpose was to confirm if the characters in a wuxia world are 'that' brutal since the first wuxia themed novel I read and currently put on-hold is too brutal, so I need to know if that is normal before continuing). I'm so glad I picked this one.

So if you want to read a short mystery and action-themed novel with a little touch of comedy under a not so complicated plot, I highly recommend this underrated piece of gem. You won't regret it. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report
aiji
aiji rated it
It’s Because You Said There Would Be Candy!!
January 17, 2019
Status: Completed
A short review for a very short story...

It was funny and entertaining. There's no complicated plot nor drama. Or even any note-worthy action. Sadly though, there's no romance as well. I would like to take down that 'romance' genre listed there. There's a hint, yes, but not enough to consider it as 'existing' since the protagonist and the ML (?) didn't interact that much. The conclusion (?) left me hanging. I got trolled!

I really didn't expect that it was that short. And also didn't expect that it will be... more>> executed in a storytelling kind of way. But overall it's good. The premise is so interesting that should it get adapted into anime, I would definitely watch it.

The only advice I can give you if you want to give it a try is don't expect too much, because it's just a very short, simple and light story.

If you're currently overwhelmed by too much angst and brows-knitting complicated plots of the novels you are reading, consider reading this as your good break. <<less
0 Likes · Like Permalink | Report